Stag do

Started by haveaharp, January 08, 2009, 01:05:06 PM

bigfrank

quick reply dougie..good villa man u see :) u are about the 20th person to speak kindly of edinburgh..have never been but its drivin a hard case at the minute....been to liverpool few times..never on stag...lads that live beside me went there last summer on stag and loved it...said it class in summer time..concert square etc......been to newcastle and blackpool on stags.....loved newcastle and hated blackpool lol

Edinburgh would be a good call then frank if most of you have never been. Good atmosphere about it and if you are into that kind of shit there is plenty to do and see. Also birthplace of James Connolly! 

Yep can't go wrong with Edinburgh & if you didn't like Blackpool i can't imagine U'll like Liverpool?

bigfrank

u ever been to a stag in blackpool before ross??? i didnt hate it...just not a great city...very run down...old holiday resort...not very impressive plus ugly women :) Few good bars etc dont get me wrong and we made most of what we had...just would never go back on one lol

Quote from: bigfrank on January 13, 2011, 11:40:44 PM
u ever been to a stag in blackpool before ross??? i didnt hate it...just not a great city...very run down...old holiday resort...not very impressive plus ugly women :) Few good bars etc dont get me wrong and we made most of what we had...just would never go back on one lol

Blackpool is a haven for stags/hen parties some love it others not so much, IMO it's one of the best nightlife cities in Northern England though the women in Blackpool seem to be of the older category

Manchester,Liverpool are decent cities to party you could do both if you have a full weekend planned?

Lone Shark

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 08, 2011, 07:41:56 PM
Has anybody been to either Galway or Kilkenny for a Stag Do? Which would yis recommend?

My info could be a little out of date here since it's been a while since I've been to Kilkenny, but my honest answer would be neither. Kilkenny is grand if you want to keep it quiet enough, but it's too focussed around Langtons, and on any busy kind of night you either have to be in red early, or else queue for ages, neither of which is suited to a stag.

There used to be issues with closing early too on account of a strict superintendent reacting to fights. I've no idea if this has been lifted or not but I'd explore it before booking anything. The town generally doesn't like stag/hen dos since they got too many of them from Dublin. You might meet with difficulty.

I live in Galway and while there are some great pubs, the good ones don't let stags in either and getting into a nightclub is a nightmare with any gang of lads, unless you can be pretty sure most of them will be stone cold sober.

If you've never been, Carrick on Shannon is rock solid, and actually Tullamore is a good spot for these things as well. Either of those you could start in a rural pub and work in if you wanted to do so - Leitrim village has a lot of houses for rent that is only a few miles from Carrick, but they're in a self contained area, so if the party carries on back at the house, there's no neighbours to annoy.

Joxer

Anyone Reccomend accomadation in Westport?

Peiople are telling me the Wyatt?

EDIT:  BINGO HoWebsite quoting me ridiculous price!  Save me ringing up asking on here!  ;D

Quote from: Joxer on January 18, 2011, 02:34:27 PM

Peiople are telling me the Wyatt.  Anybody tell me how much it is?

I'd be fairly confident their website would have a good stab at it  ;)

I would recommend http://www.mccarthyslodge.com/ good location,decent prices & can get your own kitchen if needed.

Quote from: ross4life on January 18, 2011, 06:08:33 PM

I would recommend http://www.mccarthyslodge.com/ good location,decent prices & can get your own kitchen if needed.

They are going on a stag,what would they need their own kitchen for?
Must be boring stags you go on everyone sitting around a kitchen baking buns.

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 18, 2011, 06:25:52 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 18, 2011, 06:08:33 PM

They are going on a stag,what would they need their own kitchen for?
Must be boring stags you go on everyone sitting around a kitchen baking buns.

Ohh that reminds me.. make sure you bring a good pair of oven mitts.

Brick Tamlin

Headin over to Newcastle this weekend on a stag.
Any advice where to avoid and where to visit?
All ideas welcome.

Newcastle seems to have two main areas for socialising.

The area around the Gate mall is buzzing; there must be 10 bars in the mall itself, and stag central Sam Jacks and Tiger Tiger are right beside.  This is a younger crowd up this end of town, 17-25 year olds. Lots of jailbait.

About half a mile down the road is the Quayside area, which seems to be favoured more by 25-35 year olds. There's bars, pubs and nightclubs on top of each other, and the legendary Buffalo Joes is just over the bridge. It's tacky as hell, but is full to the brim of stags and hens. There's a good kebab shop opposite the Sea nightclub :)

Buffalo joes is closed now.

For late, late drinking, aspers casino at the back of the gate is your spot.

Quote from: thewobbler on February 15, 2011, 12:10:00 PM
Newcastle seems to have two main areas for socialising.
The area around the Gate mall is buzzing; there must be 10 bars in the mall itself, and stag central Sam Jacks and Tiger Tiger are right beside.  This is a younger crowd up this end of town, 17-25 year olds. Lots of jailbait.

About half a mile down the road is the Quayside area, which seems to be favoured more by 25-35 year olds. There's bars, pubs and nightclubs on top of each other, and the legendary Buffalo Joes is just over the bridge. It's tacky as hell, but is full to the brim of stags and hens. There's a good kebab shop opposite the Sea nightclub :)

You have the following for a start
- Gate/Bigmarket
- Percy Street and Haymarket
- Grey St/Quayside
- Central Station/Pink Lane/Centre for life
- Osbourne Road/Jesmond

Depends what sort of nightlife you are after though and all as busy as each other.