Started by caprea, February 01, 2018, 11:45:56 PM

Quote from: Syferus on March 26, 2018, 06:10:40 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 26, 2018, 06:08:35 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on March 26, 2018, 05:02:40 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 26, 2018, 04:54:53 PM
Quote from: AQMP on March 26, 2018, 04:49:33 PM
"Judge Smyth is now going through some of the inconsistencies in the woman's account like the fact she initially told police Blane McIlroy came into the room with his trousers down. She told jurors he was 'completely naked'.

When you come to consider whether her account is true, you must avoid making the assumption that because she said something different to someone else, the evidence she gave to you is untrue.  Experience has shown that inconsistencies in accounts can arise whether a person is telling the truth or not because memory can be affected in different ways and may have a bearing on a person's ability to take it in, register it and recall it".

You might say that applies to the defendants too, but here the judge was specifically referring to the complainant.

Her mate was barfing in the jacks before all this kicked off......how much alcohol did the unfortunate victim have on board?

Let he without sin cast the first stone.

Haha....take it very handy these days myself, but if she was hammered, it could explain the inconsistencies

Or.. you know, she might have had a traumatic experience..

Or a combination of both

Sweeper 123

Quote from: whitey on March 26, 2018, 08:18:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 26, 2018, 06:10:40 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 26, 2018, 06:08:35 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on March 26, 2018, 05:02:40 PM
"Judge Smyth is now going through some of the inconsistencies in the woman's account like the fact she initially told police Blane McIlroy came into the room with his trousers down. She told jurors he was 'completely naked'.

When you come to consider whether her account is true, you must avoid making the assumption that because she said something different to someone else, the evidence she gave to you is untrue.  Experience has shown that inconsistencies in accounts can arise whether a person is telling the truth or not because memory can be affected in different ways and may have a bearing on a person's ability to take it in, register it and recall it".

You might say that applies to the defendants too, but here the judge was specifically referring to the complainant.

Her mate was barfing in the jacks before all this kicked off......how much alcohol did the unfortunate victim have on board?

Let he without sin cast the first stone.

Haha....take it very handy these days myself, but if she was hammered, it could explain the inconsistencies

Or.. you know, she might have had a traumatic experience..

Or a combination of both

or maybe she is just lying

She might be lying. The lads are definitely lying though.

Quote from: gallsman on March 26, 2018, 09:34:03 PM

But was anyone raped?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2018, 09:50:07 PM

But was anyone raped?

I've no idea. My point is that the jury will have to decide if she's lying. They KNOW some of the lads are lying. Whether that's because they raped her and covered it up is a different matter.

Quote from: gallsman on March 27, 2018, 12:21:49 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2018, 09:50:07 PM

But was anyone raped?

I've no idea. My point is that the jury will have to decide if she's lying. They KNOW some of the lads are lying. Whether that's because they raped her and covered it up is a different matter.

Did the girl lie about knowing PJ or the other girl walking in?

sid waddell

Which "mate" was this, now?

The "mate" who wasn't her mate at all?

A couple of weeks back you were saying that it was the complainant that was getting sick, so this is the second time you've displayed yourself unaware of a basic fact regarding the same specific detail of the case.

You'll get there in the end.

Maybe.

Quote from: sid waddell on March 27, 2018, 01:16:50 AM

A couple of weeks back you were saying that it was the complainant that was getting sick, so this is the second time you've displayed yourself unaware of a basic fact regarding the same specific detail of the case.

Maybe.

LOL......youre very touchy.....does shagging paralytic drunk birds hit a little close to home for you?

I misread the original newspaper article and another poster corrected me and said no, it was her friend. Maybe he was wrong too.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/rape-trial-ireland-rugby-player-olding-embarrassed-of-immature-boasting-whatsapp-messages-36685172.html

One of the parties involved had 22 alcoholic beverages

Someone else is projectile vomiting in the bathroom

The victim herself has given conflicting evidence and contradictory statements

If she too was impaired, that would possibly explain the inconsistencies

Owen Brannigan

It isn't called the demon drink for nothing!

Heading for a hung jury, no way anyone could navigate through this mess and come to a decision with which they can be completely happy.

Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 27, 2018, 07:40:07 AM

Heading for a hung jury, no way anyone could navigate through this mess and come to a decision with which they can be completely happy.

Will it be well hung tho....

Quote from: whitey on March 27, 2018, 02:56:11 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on March 27, 2018, 01:16:50 AM

Maybe.

LOL......youre very touchy.....does shagging paralytic drunk birds hit a little close to home for you?

I misread the original newspaper article and another poster corrected me and said no, it was her friend. Maybe he was wrong too.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/rape-trial-ireland-rugby-player-olding-embarrassed-of-immature-boasting-whatsapp-messages-36685172.html

One of the parties involved had 22 alcoholic beverages

Someone else is projectile vomiting in the bathroom

The victim herself has given conflicting evidence and contradictory statements

If she too was impaired, that would possibly explain the inconsistencies

Why don't you read some facts before posting up horseshit here? It's well documented the amounts of alcohol taken by the alleged victim and others in this case. And none of her friends were in the house.

Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 27, 2018, 07:40:07 AM

Yeah, if this board is representative of the jury then a hung jury must be odds on (after a couple of bouts of fisticuffs in the jury room!)

Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2018, 08:59:08 AM
http://www.irishnews.com/news/2018/03/27/news/one-in-eight-victims-waiting-almost-three-years-for-justice-in-northern-ireland-s-grossly-inefficient-court-system-1288208/
A very damning but unsurprising report......

"He found PSNI file quality is so poor that the majority of Crown Court case files examined either had "errors or omissions meaning the Public Prosecution Service (PPS) were unable to make a prosecutorial decision... or contained significant omissions in the core evidence provided".

The report details "heightened stress and inconvenience (imposed) upon victims, defendants and witnesses", with two thirds who attended court ultimately not required to give evidence."

They totally botched this one too. If they'd acted like police rather than the samaritans when interviewing the girl, it's more likely they would have either gotten a conviction or the case would never have made it to court, depending on her answers to the all too obvious questions that were never asked.