GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 29, 2017, 12:52:13 AM

Title: Leinster Minor Football Championship 2018
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 29, 2017, 12:52:13 AM
http://leinstergaa.ie/competitions/electric-ireland-leinster-minor-football-championship-2017/
Title: Re: Leinster Minor Football Championship 2018
Post by: redsetanta on April 30, 2018, 09:53:10 AM
Makes sense that it's still referred to as minor.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on April 30, 2018, 04:00:13 PM
Anyone know what they are like or have the panel?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 07, 2018, 02:43:00 PM
Laois leading 0-8 to 0-3 at half time. Good solid looking team and should win this one. Very unlucky not to have two goals on the board but the backs are on top and if the forwards step it up a bit they will win it.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 07, 2018, 03:43:19 PM
Got out with a win despite every effort from the ref to give Longford the win. He gave them some very soft frees when they were 8 points down and almost got them the win but Laois held out for a 1-12 to 0-11 win. Good display from these lads who look to be a very useful team. This game should bring them on a good bit.
Post by: Unison on May 07, 2018, 04:12:16 PM
It was disappointing the way they faded in the second half. Management made a lot of changes. I wonder did hat disrupt them?
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 07, 2018, 05:00:59 PM
Hard to know what to make of that . Longford missed more than enough in the second half to win. Dublin , Meath and Kildare seem to be way ahead of the rest judging by the results.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 07, 2018, 11:53:45 PM
They were a bit naïve at times and also a bit unlucky with two goal chances hitting the post. Hate blaming referees but in my opinion he took pity on Longford when they were nine points behind and gave them everything. Loads of frees in scorable positions and dishing out a few yellows to us for very little.

That gave Longford the momentum to come back at us and in truth they were good enough to do that and could have caught us in the end. I thought we were fairly strong and with a few more games to come I can see that team improving.

There was a challenge game about to take place for the Laois U-20's v Roscommon in the Centre of Excellence after the minor game, anyone know how it went ??
Post by: FiveStars on May 08, 2018, 10:17:52 PM
20s well beaten in the end
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 09, 2018, 12:23:05 AM
Quote from: FiveStars on May 08, 2018, 10:17:52 PM
20s well beaten in the end

Thanks for that FiveStars, that's not a good result for our next generation of seniors coming up. I saw the Rossies warming up and they looked very big and super fit...
Post by: SCFC on May 10, 2018, 03:06:28 PM
Didn't get to this one. Any standout players? Anyone look like a future senior?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 22, 2018, 01:43:59 AM
Laois v Wexford   
Innovate Wexford Park, Wed 23rd. 7pm.

1. Tom Wright (Ballylinan)
2. Sean Greene (Emo)
3. Mikey Bennett (Portarlington)
4. Ciarán Byrne (Ballyroan-Abbey)
5. Niall Carey (Portlaoise)
6. Cathal Bennett (Portarlinton)
7. Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally)
8. Ben Conroy (Portlaoise)
9. Josh Lacey (St Joseph's)
10.Enda McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey)
11.Sean O'Neill (The Rock) (Captain)
12.Darragh Galvin (Portarlington)
13.Rioghan Murphy (Portarlington)
14.Damon Larkin (Portlaoise)
15.Oisin Byrne (Arles-Killeen)
Post by: redsetanta on May 24, 2018, 10:15:44 AM
Second win for the minors last night.

Next up Carlow followed by the big clash with the Lilly's. Meath gave the dubs a beating in the other group.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 24, 2018, 02:57:49 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on May 24, 2018, 10:15:44 AM
Second win for the minors last night.

Next up Carlow followed by the big clash with the Lilly's. Meath gave the dubs a beating in the other group.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/05/23/laois-survive-late-wexford-rally-to-claim-second-win/
Post by: Unlaoised on May 24, 2018, 04:43:23 PM
I was down there not a great performance but should have been out of sight sooner...

One thing to notice of this team is how quick they are to send in direct ball but sometines its when the player is marked or has no chance of  getting on to it!

I'm all for kick football but it needs to be done at the right time !
Post by: Don Draper on May 25, 2018, 08:39:10 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on May 24, 2018, 04:43:23 PM
I was down there not a great performance but should have been out of sight sooner...

One thing to notice of this team is how quick they are to send in direct ball but sometines its when the player is marked or has no chance of  getting on to it!

I'm all for kick football but it needs to be done at the right time !
Let it in ta f**k and less of your fansy shite
Post by: redsetanta on May 30, 2018, 12:08:52 PM
First of the Carlow trilogy this evening? Laois into semi's if they win.
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 30, 2018, 01:27:25 PM
Ye if Laois win tonight they are into the semis which means the last group game against the strongest team Kildare won't matter.
Post by: redsetanta on May 30, 2018, 10:57:38 PM
Struggled against Carlow this evening before getting a draw.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 30, 2018, 11:08:20 PM
Carlow Minors play the mass defence also, just goes to show how ordinary teams can be so difficult to break down using it.
Kildare destroyed Carlow last day, Carlow only scored two points in the hour..
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 30, 2018, 11:53:53 PM
Lacey at midfield and Larkin at centre foward tried hard but that's the weakest I've ever seen Laois at at minor level
Post by: SCFC on May 31, 2018, 08:25:16 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on May 30, 2018, 11:53:53 PM
Lacey at midfield and Larkin at centre foward tried hard but that's the weakest I've ever seen Laois at at minor level
They're not great but one point I'd make is they are all 16 and 17 not like the old minor teams which were all 17 and 18.
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 31, 2018, 11:15:09 AM
I think a lot of them are over age next year according to a source of mine . ( 10 of the starting 15 are overage next year)
Post by: justinn on May 31, 2018, 02:34:53 PM
Carlow senior football coach Steven Poacher has hit out at the "disgusting" criticism the county's minor footballers received after their Leinster championship defeat to Kildare last week.

The young Barrowsiders went down to the Lilywhites by 14 points after registering just 0-2 over the hour but responded last night by securing a 0-10 apiece draw against Laois after having led by three points in the closing stages.

Speaking to the Irish Examiner after the game, Poacher lashed out at some of the "terrible press" the team has received recently.

"They drew 10-all after being absolutely trawled disgracefully through the media last week for a bunch of 16-year old lads," said the Down native.

"Getting destroyed because someone was trying to fulfil his own self needs and his own popularity. It's disgusting what goes on sometimes.

"I would love if some of these people would actually come and take a session and look at the work these lads do. Those young lads that got terrible press for their performance against Kildare, I watched them play the end of last year in Newry at U15 level and they beat Down by 10 points."

He added: "They were playing a Kildare team that was a full year, mentally and physically, bigger than them. Kildare beat Wexford the week before by 15 points. So, the lads only got a couple of points. So what? They are building for next year."
Post by: Don Draper on May 31, 2018, 02:40:51 PM
Quote from: justinn on May 31, 2018, 02:34:53 PM
Carlow senior football coach Steven Poacher has hit out at the "disgusting" criticism the county's minor footballers received after their Leinster championship defeat to Kildare last week.

The young Barrowsiders went down to the Lilywhites by 14 points after registering just 0-2 over the hour but responded last night by securing a 0-10 apiece draw against Laois after having led by three points in the closing stages.

Speaking to the Irish Examiner after the game, Poacher lashed out at some of the "terrible press" the team has received recently.

"They drew 10-all after being absolutely trawled disgracefully through the media last week for a bunch of 16-year old lads," said the Down native.

"Getting destroyed because someone was trying to fulfil his own self needs and his own popularity. It's disgusting what goes on sometimes.

"I would love if some of these people would actually come and take a session and look at the work these lads do. Those young lads that got terrible press for their performance against Kildare, I watched them play the end of last year in Newry at U15 level and they beat Down by 10 points."

He added: "They were playing a Kildare team that was a full year, mentally and physically, bigger than them. Kildare beat Wexford the week before by 15 points. So, the lads only got a couple of points. So what? They are building for next year."
A p***k of a man
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on May 31, 2018, 09:20:33 PM
Is he saying Carlow are playing U16 in minor cship?
Post by: Don Draper on May 31, 2018, 11:01:32 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on May 31, 2018, 09:20:33 PM
Is he saying Carlow are playing U16 in minor cship?
No, 16 year olds are necessarily U16.

What he's saying is 'blah blah blah, me me me me me me, blah blah, I'm a ****, blah blah, look at me, blah blah'.

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 27, 2018, 01:18:12 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DgolxO8W4AAQxpn.jpg)
Post by: Chrimtain on June 27, 2018, 08:38:36 PM
Another really disappointing result tonight. How we have fallen since we won a Leinster minor championship with the likes of John O'Loughlin and Donie Kingston. Will Laois ever be competitive at underage level again?

Is the work being done at under age level?

We are going to fall very far behind the rest very soon.

Post by: Chrimtain on June 27, 2018, 08:42:59 PM
Its all very fine making progress at senior level, but if there is nothing coming behind them we will soon return to Div 4.
Post by: redsetanta on June 28, 2018, 11:06:13 AM
Wicklow had a fine win against Dublin yesterday fairplay to them.

The manner of the defeat against Kildare is the worry as it was a big loss.

A county like ours is not going to produce world beaters every 2 or 3 years. We were fortunate that we had so many good players emerging at the same time back in the mid 90's.

No doubt more work has to go into coaching at early underage. The best we can hope for atthe moment is that each minor team can produce a couple of players who will improve and bring somethig to the senior set up in the next couple of years.
Post by: Chrimtain on June 28, 2018, 01:50:33 PM
When you see Wicklow beating Dublin and Offaly really putting it up to a very good Meath team, you have to wonder why we are continuing to fail abysmally. Its worrying.
Post by: Laois Rising on June 28, 2018, 04:06:47 PM
Laois were blessed with how the two groups were drawn this year. In reality that Laois team would struggle to finish fifth if they had been placed in group A. Wicklow, Offaly, Meath and Dublin would all easy defeat our minor team. They beat Longford the first day out after getting off to a fast start. Longford were clearly the better team once they settled and had there been another couple of minutes left in that game probably would have claimed the victory. Still though with how results seem to be panning out there is every chance Laois will end up in the semi-finals. That was the goal at the start of the campaign and once there you never know what might happen. I have the feeling that Donnacha Phelan might fall into the bracket of a lucky manager rather than a good manager. As a supporter I would never say know to a bit of luck.

On a side note-Meath play Wicklow in their remaining group game. They are already guaranteed top stop. If they win Dublin will more than likely sneak second spot. If they lose then Wicklow progress. They have beaten Dublin once already in the competition-not easy to beat any Dublin side twice.
Post by: Don Draper on June 28, 2018, 04:47:30 PM
I suspect Meath might make a few changes for that Wicklow game.
Post by: Chrimtain on June 28, 2018, 08:33:24 PM
There seems to be no urgency to solving the problem at under age level in the county. Its pretty frustrating.
Post by: Laois Rising on June 29, 2018, 11:28:14 AM
I don't necessarily agree that we are doing anything wrong at underage compared to other counties. The fact is that all counties now have very professional underage set-ups. In light of that the bigger counties with the bigger picks are the ones that are more than likely to succeed e.g. Kildare, Meath and Dublin. Every so often a team outside of those in Leinster might have a couple of outstanding footballers come through together that will break the status quo. The biggest problem in Laois and it has been highlighted by posters here time and time again is the pathetically small number of youngsters playing GAA in Portlaoise. A town and surrounding environs of well in excess of 20,000 and the potential this provides is being badly wasted. It's ridiculous to think that the two Arles clubs with two two teacher schools between them have provided nearly as many seniors to Laois county football team as Portlaoise has in the last decade. If we are to be successful at underage then something needs to change and a proper strategy implemented to reinvigorate GAA in our main town.     
Post by: Laoiseabu on June 29, 2018, 01:13:15 PM
U16s bet by 30 points by Tipperary
Post by: clonadmad on June 29, 2018, 02:39:59 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on June 29, 2018, 01:13:15 PM
U16s bet by 30 points by Tipperary

in football!!!!!

when did this happen?
Post by: beano on June 29, 2018, 06:36:59 PM
Lads a bit of perspective needs to be had in relation to our minor team . Yes we were badly beaten by Kildare but that doesn't mean they are bad footballers! What is letting us down is our strength and conditioning , Kildare and dublin are ahead of the game at underage level in Leinster. We need to up our game in s&c. Example three years ago Kildare beat us in s Leinster final and this yEar we should have beat their under 20 team . I rem in 1997 we only beat Kk with a last min goal. If they had of lost would we have had a different view of that team ??
Post by: Butch Cassidy on June 29, 2018, 06:50:04 PM
Best thing that can be done is to appoint a full time S&C coach to oversee all teams in both football and hurling
Post by: clonadmad on June 29, 2018, 07:32:33 PM
Friend of mine is involved in a predominantly football club in  the west division in Tipp,since last October they have started paying a qualified club member €50 per session to run athletic development sessions with their u12/14/16's as lads are being left behind by their team mates who are in divisional and county development squads.

Post by: Laoiseabu on June 29, 2018, 10:23:43 PM
Yes it was in football , not sure when but it was very recently in the last week or two
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 03, 2018, 10:10:13 PM
Laois through to the semi finals next Saturday at 12.00 in O'Moore Park after Wicklow defeat Meath
Post by: redsetanta on July 04, 2018, 11:33:17 AM
Kildare beat Longford in our group.

Great for Wicklow to have beaten Meath and Dublin in the group stages. If they could beat Kildare and get to a Leinster final it would be great for their county.

We must have a decent chance of beating Meath.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 11:58:51 AM
We have a decent chance of beating Meath ???😂😂 SERIUOSLY ? They are dark horses for an all Ireland this year . They had their second string out against Wicklow last night as they are already through . Kildare absolutely destroyed us last week.
Post by: Don Draper on July 04, 2018, 12:05:55 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 11:58:51 AM
We have a decent chance of beating Meath ???😂😂 SERIUOSLY ? They are dark horses for an all Ireland this year . They had their second string out against Wicklow last night as they are already through . Kildare absolutely destroyed us last week.
Laois by 5
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 12:10:47 PM
Jaysus Don your some man for sarcasm 😂😂
Post by: Don Draper on July 04, 2018, 12:16:18 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 12:10:47 PM
Jaysus Don your some man for sarcasm 😂😂
You're an awful pessimist. Laois never feared Meath.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 12:21:19 PM
True when we had good minor teams we never feared Meath but losing to Kildare by 17 and luckily drawing with Carlow it's hard to be optimistic. They certainly won't fear us anyway. They gave us an awful dressing down last year at u16 which would be the same lads this year.
Post by: Don Draper on July 04, 2018, 12:59:32 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 12:21:19 PM
True when we had good minor teams we never feared Meath but losing to Kildare by 17 and luckily drawing with Carlow it's hard to be optimistic. They certainly won't fear us anyway. They gave us an awful dressing down last year at u16 which would be the same lads this year.
Were you far off making the panel?
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 01:28:08 PM
I'm over age for minor don long overage . But yes I have been on minor  panels before . What about yourself Don? Can't bate a good mid Wednesday chat 😂😂
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 04, 2018, 01:28:40 PM
I feel a bit of chemistry between us Don 😂
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 07, 2018, 12:20:39 AM
Meath have made thirteen changes in personnel for tomorrow's Leinster MFC semi-final clash with Laois at O'Moore Park.
After changing twelve for Monday's defeat to Wicklow, only centre-back Conor Harford and midfielder Adam Reilly keep their places in the starting 15.
Manager Joe Treanor reverts largely to the side that beat Offaly to qualify for the knockout stage with the addition of goalkeeper Sean Brennan and captain Matthew Costello.

Meath (Leinster MFC v Laois): Sean Brennan; James O'Hare, Harry O'Higgins, Cathal Hickey; Conor Farrelly, Conor Harford, Sean Coffey; Adam Reilly, Cian McBride; Darragh Swaine, Matthew Costello, Bryan McCormack; David Bell, Luke Kelly, Luke Mitchell.
Subs: Eoin Griffin, Luke Newe, Oisin McCloskey, Killian Hogan, Killian Price, Colin Hawdon, Adam Treanor, Niall Smullen, Brian O'Hanlon.
Post by: Unlaoised on July 07, 2018, 01:55:25 AM
Watch out for Matthew Costello a superb footballer
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 07, 2018, 02:09:36 PM
Absolute hammering...

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/07/07/laois-suffer-heavy-meath-defeat-to-end-leinster-minor-campaign/
Post by: redsetanta on July 07, 2018, 02:48:19 PM
Serious beating alright. How'd the other game go?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 07, 2018, 06:54:46 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on July 07, 2018, 02:48:19 PM
Serious beating alright. How'd the other game go?

Match changed to 2.00 p.m. on Sunday in Newbridge.
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 09, 2018, 03:36:27 PM
Terrible hammering- what was the story- heard players were dropped ?
Post by: Don Draper on July 09, 2018, 03:39:53 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on July 09, 2018, 03:36:27 PM
Terrible hammering- what was the story- heard players were dropped ?
No point dropping them now, arent we out of the yoke?
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 09, 2018, 04:03:34 PM
Before obviously
Post by: OTF on July 10, 2018, 10:21:02 AM
 I saw a few minutes of this on TG4 last night, WTF is going on ?
Post by: Chrimtain on July 10, 2018, 11:45:30 AM
It was bad enough to be at the match on Saturday, but to watch the highlights on TG4 last night was embarrassing. For a county that was the envy of many other counties as they regularly reached and won Leinster and All Ireland championships at minor and under 21 level not so along ago, it is disappointing to see the depths to which we have sunk at under age level now. Yet, it does not seem to be of concern to our County Board. Complacency seems to have set in with seemingly no accountability regarding the coaching that is being provided. For me, it is not an excuse that we are a small county which cannot compete with the big counties, particularly when you look at the improvement that is clearly taking place in Offaly and Wicklow. When are we going to wake up and do something about this problem? Very soon it will be a problem at senior level because we will not have the players to replace the guys who are reaching the end of their senior inter county careers.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2018, 11:53:58 AM
There is being work put in at underage level particularly at development squads. But the bottom line is at the moment we just don't have the lads to compete . Did you ever hear the saying you can't turn an ass into a racehorse . Check out Michael Duignans opinion on development squads on twitter and I'd agree with him.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 10, 2018, 12:02:07 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2018, 11:53:58 AM
There is being work put in at underage level particularly at development squads. But the bottom line is at the moment we just don’t have the lads to compete . Did you ever hear the saying you can’t turn an ass into a racehorse . Check out Michael Duignans opinion on development squads on twitter and I’d agree with him.

Does that mean that young lads are not playing the game in sufficient numbers in the county?
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2018, 12:48:02 PM
Playing numbers are not as high as before for example more clubs in the county are struggling to field underage teams especially clubs going on their own without amalgamation . But that wasn't my point ,my point is that out of the lads that ARE playing we don't seem to have the ones good enough to compete with the likes of Meath, Kildare and Dublin in Leinster . That was never the case in Laois until recent times. The introduction of development squads has obviously not improved anything only make youngsters feel from an early age that they aren't good enough when they see their piers making it and not themselves. It basically makes things too competitive for youngsters too early and kids lose interest . They should be let develop at their own pace as everyone is different and I'm telling you now we have lost a few half decent players just because some critic over an u15 development squad told a 14 year old " he wasn't good enough" . Back in beanos time and Munnellys , Chris Conway, Kevin Fitz, Tom Prendergast, Colm Browne etc there was no such thing as development squads and their talent just shone through in the end . Now we are bringing in 13 year olds and we just aren't getting quality lads to come through anymore . Underage structures is not the problem people . The quality just isn't there in abundance anymore . And anyway who hires these "bluffers" to run these squads ???
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 10, 2018, 01:25:15 PM
The best thing that can happen now is a review take place from Minor-U20-Senior and approve management teams asap so they can begin preperations for 2019. We can not be in a position where U20 managements are only being put in place 2-3 months after the likes of Dublin are up and running. The minor result was horrific but pressing a panic button is not the right call either.
Post by: les Antiques on July 10, 2018, 01:56:47 PM
Would give Phelan and O'Loughlin another year each . Nothing gained by changing those positions next year . A bit of continuity needed .
Post by: Chrimtain on July 10, 2018, 05:56:04 PM
No sign of an improvement in the near future. In fact it looks like things are getting worse........

http://hoganstand.com/Laois/article/index/287716?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2018, 10:38:42 PM
They also  lost to Tipp by 30 points two weeks ago the u16s. So where is the evidence that these development squads actually make players into good players?
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on July 10, 2018, 11:45:32 PM
Surely Tipp played their Deveopment squad v us and they are clearly making it work. If lads get disheartened and give up from not making an underage development team then maybe its their attitude thats the problem not the dev squad?
Post by: Nameless on July 10, 2018, 11:48:28 PM
Development squads are definitely the way to go. If they're not working then it's because the set up isn't right. The very least these development squads should produce is highly athletic, fit and strong young players. Have we seen that?
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2018, 11:55:50 PM
The bottom line is we obviously don't have the players at minor or u16 level . Minors hammered by Meath and Kildare and the u16s hammered by Tipp and Wexford. Well if a development squad is aimed at producing strong athletic players its obviously not working for us. Meath walked through us from start to go finish and seem to have a few decent lads coming through.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2018, 11:59:34 PM
Could someone tell me is there a difference between the way a development squad is ran in Laois compared to Meath or Kildare ?
Post by: Nameless on July 11, 2018, 12:04:57 AM
The answers are staring you in the face, that's if you've actually gone to any Laois underage games?
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2018, 12:13:42 AM
I'd be of the opinion we should as a county be pumping more resources into the secondary schools of the county as regional "centres of excellence" and to disband with development squads altogether until minor. Schools such as Knockbeg , Portlaoise CBS, Colaiste Iosagain , mountrath  , Heywood, Mountmellick and Clonaslee , with the aim to develop footballers within these schools and to make them challengers and hopefully winners of their various grades in schools football. This is where footballers should develop rather than picking 30 you should be looking to develop around 200 each at the 3 age groups of under 14.5, 16.5 and 19 . Coaches should be assigned to these schools to work alongside the great work done by teachers such as Chris Conway, Stephen Attride in Knockbeg and Atch Whelan in Clonaslee amongst others and be exposed to S and  C and top level coaching when they are part of their school squads . This should have a positive impact on club football too within the county .I believe it's an area being neglected by the county board from my experience involved with school teams .
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 11, 2018, 12:25:07 AM
Not exactly nameless . Kildare and Meath beat us at minor I was at both games . Development squads aside they might just have better bigger more physically imposing more skillful players than us anyway. Both those counties are picking from bigger pools of players than us too so they can afford to pick that sort of player if you know what I mean. A Meath man told me that before any of those guys went into development squads they knew they were going to be a good bunch .
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 11, 2018, 12:26:27 AM
Like I said before a dev squad is not gonna turn an ass into a racehorse.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 11, 2018, 12:30:29 AM
That's a fair enough point Pablo Escobar . More youngsters need to be got interested in the game and that can be done is secondary and primary schools .
Post by: Chrimtain on July 15, 2018, 09:47:41 AM
Laois under 16s lost to Carlow yesterday  :o :o
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 15, 2018, 01:00:40 PM
By much ?
Post by: Don Draper on July 15, 2018, 01:01:05 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 15, 2018, 01:00:40 PM
By much ?
Congrats on beating Kerry yesterday.
Post by: on the hop on July 28, 2018, 11:26:41 PM
U-16's beaten by 12 points by wicklow
Post by: Don Draper on July 30, 2018, 07:30:26 AM
Quote from: on the hop on July 28, 2018, 11:26:41 PM
U-16's beaten by 12 points by wicklow
Wicklow are a coming side, the garden is about to bloom. No shame in that result.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 30, 2018, 08:25:41 AM
There was a time when losing to Carlow and Wicklow at underage level would have been unthinkable. But now, apparently, its acceptable. 
Post by: The PRO on July 30, 2018, 09:52:46 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 30, 2018, 08:25:41 AM
There was a time when losing to Carlow and Wicklow at underage level would have been unthinkable. But now, apparently, its acceptable.
You do understand the term "wum"?  :)
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 30, 2018, 11:10:00 AM
The garden is about to bloom? That Wicklow side only drew with Wexford . We were hammered by Wicklow, Wexford , Carlow at this level  and people see nothing wrong with it . Not to mention Tipp bet us by 30 points back a month ago. Wake up. Just to repeat Wicklow , Wexford , Carlow , Tipp . Imagine what  Dublin , Galway , Kerry, Kildare, Meath, Mayo etc would do with us . Its a crazy situation at moments really
Post by: Butch Cassidy on July 30, 2018, 06:39:31 PM
Who is over the u16s? County board need to appoint an S&C coach to oversee all levels in both hurling and football. It was alarming to see the difference in pace and power Meath and Laois u17s
Post by: clonadmad on July 31, 2018, 01:23:12 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on July 30, 2018, 06:39:31 PM
Who is over the u16s? County board need to appoint an S&C coach to oversee all levels in both hurling and football. It was alarming to see the difference in pace and power Meath and Laois u17s

I am blue in the face from saying this.

Last feb,I went in to see the Laois U17 hurlers doing an indoor session,the amount of lads who couldn't do one correct push up or struggled to do 1 pull up was eye opening.

I spoke afterwards to a coach from outside the county who was there and he said that Laois were 10 years behind any of the top 10/12 counties in the country in terms of S&C and Athletic development.

Post by: steven seagal on July 31, 2018, 02:53:23 PM
QuoteCounty board need to appoint an S&C coach to oversee all levels in both hurling and football.

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by this, whether you want one S&C coach to implement a programme and be on-site for every squad in both codes, or someone to work with all the other S&C coaches and 'oversee' it in that regard?

It has often been said that one S&C coach should be appointed to take charge of all county teams directly, but I got chatting to an S&C coach a few years ago and asked him about that, and he said it's totally unfeasible. The workload would be enormous and it would be unrealistic to expect them to look after all squads in both codes, because they'd be working 7 nights a week.

What he put to me as the alternative is a High Performance Director, someone to co-ordinate between all the different coaches being used by the county teams, to make sure best practice is being implemented etc. They could dip in and out of each age group then, and when the county season is over then they would have more time to meet players or make sure they are sticking to whatever programme they are on.

Again, that all sounds great written down, but finding the money to pay someone and finding the right candidate would be tricky. You'd need someone with a background in nutrition or diet as well, because that's a big part of a proper S&C regime too. We definitely need to up our game on that aspect of development squads though, it's frightening to see the difference between Laois players and Dublin/Kildare/Meath at minor level in football. It's almost reckless to be sending some of our lads out to try compete with them.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 31, 2018, 03:10:17 PM
I was looking at Monaghan last night on TG4. They were huge for u17s. They looked like u21s.
Post by: vetoldthe on July 31, 2018, 07:10:48 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 31, 2018, 03:10:17 PM
I was looking at Monaghan last night on TG4. They were huge for u17s. They looked like u21s.

And i was looking at Meath last night, there were huge to.

A kildare man that in the know, told me kildare are specially
picking Big players at a young age for there development squads
they may not be the best players at that time but with good
coaching they will improve over time, and that going on for the
last few years,  and there are now strong at senior, u20 and u17 and fair play to them.
Post by: Don Draper on July 31, 2018, 10:20:29 PM
Quote from: vetoldthe on July 31, 2018, 07:10:48 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 31, 2018, 03:10:17 PM

And i was looking at Meath last night, there were huge to.

A kildare man that in the know, told me kildare are specially
picking Big players at a young age for there development squads
they may not be the best players at that time but with good
coaching they will improve over time, and that going on for the
last few years,  and there are now strong at senior, u20 and u17 and fair play to them.
Football is fucked so
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 31, 2018, 10:48:44 PM
Quote from: steven seagal on July 31, 2018, 02:53:23 PM
QuoteCounty board need to appoint an S&C coach to oversee all levels in both hurling and football.

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by this, whether you want one S&C coach to implement a programme and be on-site for every squad in both codes, or someone to work with all the other S&C coaches and 'oversee' it in that regard?

It has often been said that one S&C coach should be appointed to take charge of all county teams directly, but I got chatting to an S&C coach a few years ago and asked him about that, and he said it's totally unfeasible. The workload would be enormous and it would be unrealistic to expect them to look after all squads in both codes, because they'd be working 7 nights a week.

What he put to me as the alternative is a High Performance Director, someone to co-ordinate between all the different coaches being used by the county teams, to make sure best practice is being implemented etc. They could dip in and out of each age group then, and when the county season is over then they would have more time to meet players or make sure they are sticking to whatever programme they are on.

Again, that all sounds great written down, but finding the money to pay someone and finding the right candidate would be tricky. You'd need someone with a background in nutrition or diet as well, because that's a big part of a proper S&C regime too. We definitely need to up our game on that aspect of development squads though, it's frightening to see the difference between Laois players and Dublin/Kildare/Meath at minor level in football. It's almost reckless to be sending some of our lads out to try compete with them.

100% correct. It would be like expecting the GDAs to prepare the Laois U15/17/21 intercounty teams.
I think a formal link in with Carlow IT is the way to go. I'm sure M. Dempsey would be willing to help set this up. We have lots of 3rd level students going in there every year. Target the handful that are proficient but not playing intercounty themselves. Tie them in pairs in with development squads. Decent pocket money on offer. Latest thinking and access to first rate facilities for testing etc 1/2 times per year.
By all means appoint a Director of High Performance who is able to differentiate between the needs of hurling and football.
But let's make use of intelligent, skilled and trained young people at 3rd level. Rather than paying them to babysit at summer camps!!

Post by: Oblivious on August 01, 2018, 09:51:49 AM
Its worth noting that the current Minor squad had 12 under 16's on the panel.
During the recent round of matches against Wexford, Carlow and Wicklow only
a limited number of these players were playing for the under 16's. I cant comment on
the other county's but on Saturday all the Wicklow minors were down with their
age group. Laois had 4 subs and Wicklow had 15 sitting in their dug out. Bear in mind
its a development squad but in the recent matches you are not comparing apples
with Apples in results as it has been a depleted squad. The Fr Manning competition
in September will be a true reflection of where that age grading is. The same applies to the
Minor squad , the size and strength of other counties is significantly bigger than Laois but
some of the larger counties have the numbers to have 60-80 players on development squads and then
whittle them down to 30. You also are running two development squads for Hurling and
Football and other counties may not have the same challenges.Most of the other counties
at minor level would be running 15 players age 17 where Laois would have a mixture
of 16 and 17 year olds.       
Post by: SCFC on August 01, 2018, 11:57:56 AM
Quote from: Oblivious on August 01, 2018, 09:51:49 AM
Its worth noting that the current Minor squad had 12 under 16's on the panel.
During the recent round of matches against Wexford, Carlow and Wicklow only
a limited number of these players were playing for the under 16's. I cant comment on
the other county's but on Saturday all the Wicklow minors were down with their
age group. Laois had 4 subs and Wicklow had 15 sitting in their dug out. Bear in mind
its a development squad but in the recent matches you are not comparing apples
with Apples in results as it has been a depleted squad. The Fr Manning competition
in September will be a true reflection of where that age grading is. The same applies to the
Minor squad , the size and strength of other counties is significantly bigger than Laois but
some of the larger counties have the numbers to have 60-80 players on development squads and then
whittle them down to 30. You also are running two development squads for Hurling and
Football and other counties may not have the same challenges.Most of the other counties
at minor level would be running 15 players age 17 where Laois would have a mixture
of 16 and 17 year olds.     
Thanks for that. A bit of context. But no denying we have a lot of catching up to do in coaching and development.