Barcelona - things to see and do?

Started by GalwayBayBoy, February 12, 2007, 10:57:11 PM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2010, 12:31:48 PM
went to port aventura while away this summer. The park is very good and would be mainly adult based rides. would recommend going on a week day as the weekends are usually bunged. would also recommend spend the extra few bob on the express ticket. though you only get to use it for once per ride. (i think)

longest i waited was 40 minutes and it was worth it. its the ride you'll see on entering the Park. the food in the place is grand also with themed regional food.
You okay to get on all the rides?

You didn't hello the other week in Croke Park although you looked half shot!

The Wedger

Quote from: girt_giggler on January 09, 2008, 09:12:13 AM
we found 3/4 wee irish bars in a wee side street just off La Ramblas. There was a Mcdonalds & KFC at the bottom of the street (La Ramblas sie). they were pretty decent. 
Why bother going to Barcelona if you are going to go on a crawl of Irish bars and eat American fast food?  ;D

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 03, 2010, 08:46:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2010, 12:31:48 PM
went to port aventura while away this summer. The park is very good and would be mainly adult based rides. would recommend going on a week day as the weekends are usually bunged. would also recommend spend the extra few bob on the express ticket. though you only get to use it for once per ride. (i think)

longest i waited was 40 minutes and it was worth it. its the ride you'll see on entering the Park. the food in the place is grand also with themed regional food.
You okay to get on all the rides?

You didn't hello the other week in Croke Park although you looked half shot!
aye even managed one or two of the night rides ;)

was well shot on Sunday!!!

Don Johnson

Bookmark just to read up later on best places to go for a group of lads.

Send me a PM when you need any info.

Don Johnson

Any advice for a group of about 20 lads heading for a stag this weekend? Other than watch the pockets etc.

We are staying in the SB Icaria hotel just beside the beach so plan on staying round the beach / port area most of the time. Some choice of food places down there so any recommendations are helpful.

Because of the pickpockets etc we are definitely avoiding the Ramblas at night, maybe head for a walk on Saturday during the day just.

Quote from: Don Johnson on March 20, 2018, 11:38:58 AM
Because of the pickpockets etc we are definitely avoiding the Ramblas at night, maybe head for a walk on Saturday during the day just.

Now there are some episodes of more serious things in Barcelona, but the proper response to pickpockets alone is to put stuff out of reach, changing where you go is excessive.

Any advice for a group of about 20 lads heading for a stag this weekend? Other than watch the pockets etc.

We are staying in the SB Icaria hotel just beside the beach so plan on staying round the beach / port area most of the time. Some choice of food places down there so any recommendations are helpful.

Are you serious? Twenty lads on the tear and you're afraid to walk down the main boulevard in Barcelona?

This sounds like the tamest stag party on record, Don.

Quote from: Hardy on March 20, 2018, 05:07:39 PM

Are you serious? Twenty lads on the tear and you're afraid to walk down the main boulevard in Barcelona?
They don't want their hooker money lifted on the first day. Disaster!

Don Johnson

Quote from: Hardy on March 20, 2018, 05:07:39 PM

I've been on it at night before when I've had a few and the amount of ones all over you offering you women and drugs is ridiculous. When you are airlocked it would be easy pickings for them to steal my phone and wallet - I've had it done before on stag dos, an easy target after drinking all day.

Both nights we are planning on staying down at the clubs and casino at the beach just near our hotel.

Quote from: Don Johnson on March 20, 2018, 10:12:25 PM
I've been on it at night before when I've had a few and the amount of ones all over you offering you women and drugs is ridiculous.

That's nonsense. Unless you're walking around with a flag saying "I'm an idiot, rob me" you'll be absolutely fine. Keep wallets and phones in your front pockets etc.

The hookers and dealers have no interest in you unless you engage them. Just say no thank you, keep walking after initial contact and they'll leave you alone..

Where you're staying is just a short hop from the Barceloneta and the old town but there will still be plenty of residents about. If you get on like a bunch of eejits in the middle of the street in the middle of the night, be aware that it is not uncommon for them to f**k eggs at you from their balconies.

Transport wise, buy yourself a T-10 metro ticket. This covers metro, rail and bus and a single trip is interchangable on it all. Costs €10.20.

For getting to and from the airport, use the Aerobus company rather than the train as the train is miles from the terminal and doesn't really being you where you need to do. Costs €10.90 and can be bought online in advance and will bring you to Plaça Catalunya in about 25 mins. From there take the L1 metro (red) to Marina and you've a short walk to the hotel.

Food places, in general avoid the chiringuitos (beachside bars) as they'll either be a rip-off, terrible, or both. Ciutat Comtal near Plaça Universitat os a decent spot for large crowds.

If you want to go to one of the big clubs by the beach, go see them during the day and they'll sort you out with free entry and maybe a free drink as well. The places are shite and extortionate but maybe decent for a stag. Sala Razzmatazz near you is a good nightspot, depends if there's a gig on or not.

If you need to clear the head, go to the church up at Tibidabo for the view of the city. Uses your T-10 to its max - metro, train, funicular, bus. Takes about 40 mins to get up there.

One final thing - it Is not warm here at the minute. I wouldn't expect to do much sunbathing.

Oh, and if buying beer in shops/supermarkets, get Estrella Galicia (of the 1906 version if it's available). Much nicer than Estrella Damm.