Boxing Day

Started by Eamonnca1, December 26, 2013, 11:15:34 PM

ardal

The origins of "Boxing Day"?

Apparently it comes from when the Victorians boxed up all their unused / eaten food on Christmas day and gave it to the poor on the Saint Stephen day

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 27, 2013, 11:45:29 AM
What do our atheist Southern brethren call Boing Day/St Stephen's Day?

The day after xmas.

ardal

Born and raised in the north and for the last 20 odd years have spent Christmas in donegal (from donegal stock) but feel odd calling the 26th st stephens day..I call it boxing day but wouldnt overthink it. Dont feel any less irish :-)

An la arna mharach

Any Wren Boyeens out there? Yahoooo

Everybody just calls it Stephens's Day.

The only time I ever heard St Stephen's Day was when I opened up free state papers and there was the Christmas TV guide. Our ones always called it Boxing Day and thought nothing of it.

I think it a bit odd when I hear people call a hurley a 'hurl,' but I don't let it get to me.

Quote from: Hardy on December 28, 2013, 11:49:37 AM

Everybody just calls it Stephens's Day.

I call it Stephens Day even over here in the United Kingdom. Then again I'm Western not Southern, defo an atheist though. Was only in the last 5 years that I learnt that folk up North call it Boxing, still find it bizzare that the British term is used up there.

Then again I find it weird Northerners call hurling hurley and say youse instead of ye. Ye are defo weird feckers up there. By the way what is all this craic with "we" for small, are ye all from Ayrshire or Dumfries?

Quote from: Syferus on December 28, 2013, 01:32:51 AM

Anseo! Lá an Dreoilín!

Quote from: Syferus on December 28, 2013, 01:32:51 AM

You didn't have Wren Boys in your area, did you?
I thought you would have had mummers instead.

Wran Boys always in Ros.
I think they start becoming mummers as you go North through Laythrum.

Aristo 60

I think there hould be a movie trilogy:

Christmas Day
Christmas Day II : Boxing Day
Chrsitmas Day III : St Stephen Strikes Back

Quote from: Rossfan on December 29, 2013, 07:01:50 PM
Wran Boys always in Ros.
I think they start becoming mummers as you go North through Laythrum.

Dingle is some spot for the Wran....mad crack this year despite the weather.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 28, 2013, 11:07:59 PM
By the way what is all this craic with "we" for small, are ye all from Ayrshire or Dumfries?

It's wee, not we.

My only problem is its overuse. "Do you want a wee bag?" says the girl on the checkout. I started talking to her about how everything was "wee" these days. She says "Here's your big change."