Started by Eire90, December 30, 2023, 04:25:24 PM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2024, 12:16:28 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 11:20:31 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 02, 2024, 11:49:32 AMGet it self-published MR2.

Not sure what the cost is though.

Didn't cost me anything when I did it. For print, they print on demand so you don't need to buy a big consignment and hope you can flog it. For Kindle, if you know HTML you can do it yourself, and if not then it shouldn't be hard to find someone who can do the formatting for you. I did it through Kindle Direct Publishing.

It's purely for my eyes only lol!!

They say everyone has a book in them, this was born out of covid...

Plenty time on my hands and something to keep me busy

I wrote down some stuff from memory as a kid growing up. Funny (to me and those that were there) memories of the shit we got up to during turbulent times.

Having me read it is enough, I've about 55,000 words down, probably over half way, should get it finished by end of year, might let someone cast an eye over it for some critique, and 'adjust' it

To have done that much is admirable. Fair play.

Eire90

Rishi sunak says eleciton wont happen to 2nd half of 2024

Quote from: Eire90 on January 04, 2024, 07:07:12 PMRishi sunak says eleciton wont happen to 2nd half of 2024

Grand, he'll be in California for Christmas.

toby47

How's all the new year stuff going 1 week in?

Dry January proving easy, or was it broke over the weekend?

Quote from: toby47 on January 08, 2024, 10:14:25 AMHow's all the new year stuff going 1 week in?

my dry "jan" going good so far. No coke or lucozade

God14

Quote from: toby47 on January 08, 2024, 10:14:25 AMHow's all the new year stuff going 1 week in?

Dry January still going good for me. I drink every weekend, so first hurdle passed. A few pangs for it, mild enough. Next weekend will be the tester.

Quote from: God14 on January 08, 2024, 11:29:34 AM

Dry January still going good for me. I drink every weekend, so first hurdle passed. A few pangs for it, mild enough. Next weekend will be the tester.

Not a dry January,  just a drier one!  Pint of Guinness yesterday when out for Sunday dinner and that's been that. Heading away this weekend so will have pints but that will be it till the end of the month. 3 runs done in 7 days so that's more important to me!

Olly

You'd need to be careful with dry January too. I had a brother who went dry in January and then never went back on the drink ever again. He become crabbit and was no crack at all, especially at functions. He took up guitar and yoga and then reading books. The last I heard from him he was doing the camino on his own and wasn't getting many likes on Facebook.
Access to this webpage has been denied . This website has been categorised as "Sexual Material".

Quote from: Olly on January 09, 2024, 10:05:32 PMYou'd need to be careful with dry January too. I had a brother who went dry in January and then never went back on the drink ever again. He become crabbit and was no crack at all, especially at functions. He took up guitar and yoga and then reading books. The last I heard from him he was doing the camino on his own and wasn't getting many likes on Facebook.

I'm glad to hear that you are well Olly, your lack of diarrhea was not obvious from your posts. 

toby47

Blue Monday.

2nd weekend of dry January complete (1st weekend was easy, this weekend wasn't easy..temptations were there Saturday) Feel far better for it this morning, up this morning for a 5k walk before work. Haven't been weighing myself but feel like a few pounds off.

Quote from: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 09:30:41 AMBlue Monday.

2nd weekend of dry January complete (1st weekend was easy, this weekend wasn't easy..temptations were there Saturday) Feel far better for it this morning, up this morning for a 5k walk before work. Haven't been weighing myself but feel like a few pounds off.

Should feel it in the waist of your trousers, I never weigh, it should be how you fit into your clothes, or how you feel when you wake and your skin complexion. There are so many ways to gauge a better diet and no drink!

I'm on wet January and loving it lol!

Too many things in Jan for me to go off it, but happy with not drinking during the week, trying to change my diet to more veg and possibly plant based meals

Wife watched this thing on Netflix, You are what you eat the twin experiment. All the stuff you know but changing those habits is the difficulty   

toby47

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 11:31:59 AM

Should feel it in the waist of your trousers, I never weigh, it should be how you fit into your clothes, or how you feel when you wake and your skin complexion. There are so many ways to gauge a better diet and no drink!

Too many things in Jan for me to go off it, but happy with not drinking during the week, trying to change my diet to more veg and possibly plant based meals

Wife watched this thing on Netflix, You are what you eat the twin experiment. All the stuff you know but changing those habits is the difficulty   

Yeah I notice it in the waist first, and the work shirts don't cling to the gut as much.

That's why I attempted dry Jan, because I haven't one event in January..so thought it was possible. Loads coming up Feb & March..so a break would be good.

God14

Quote from: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 11:36:15 AM

Yeah I notice it in the waist first, and the work shirts don't cling to the gut as much.

That's why I attempted dry Jan, because I haven't one event in January..so thought it was possible. Loads coming up Feb & March..so a break would be good.

Dry January still going strong for me. The pangs for beer were not half as strong as the previous two weekends. Not sure if ive lost weight, ive replaced lager & stout with other snacks and stuff
But more than happy, as i would class myself as a problem drinker

Quote from: God14 on January 22, 2024, 09:49:37 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 11:36:15 AM

Dry January still going strong for me. The pangs for beer were not half as strong as the previous two weekends. Not sure if ive lost weight, ive replaced lager & stout with other snacks and stuff
But more than happy, as i would class myself as a problem drinker
If you do start to struggle try a non-alcoholic alternative. You'll hit part of that pang by having a beer in hand.

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2024, 11:48:03 AMJust to have it in writing somewhere but almost certain I have done this on this forum before.

Aims for 2024 -

1. Give more to Charity (time and financially)
2. Better diet - i tend to binge and in the evening im letal. dpn't eat too many takeaways or drink much.
3. More excerise - get back out to the soccer and dads and lads gaa - changed jobs in August and not been out since. Run a 5km.
4. Drop 20-25 kgs. 121kgs now. I tend to spend the year between 111-121kgs like a yo-yo. achieved through 2/3. Alot more than others are hoping for.
5. Will hopefully have a healthy new addition to the family this year so need to do more with the 3 year old and help out more around the house.
6. Continue to boycott and encourage others to boycott Israeli goods/services etc.
7. Get a weekend away with he wife and a family holiday before new arrival.

I think that's all very achievable, weight lost the most difficult, it's been 8 years since I was sub 100kg but spend most of my 20/30s around the 100 mark. I'm 6'3.

In terms of elections, hopefully more socialist/left leaning governments around the world.

Hope everyone is doing well. I think I'm not doing too bad. End of the first month update.

1. Regular donation to MSF setup and setting one up for UNRWA. Havent done anything on the time piece yet.
2. Don't think I could have been more disciplined. No eating after 19.30, and happy with the healthier foods and don't miss the crisps etc.
3. failed miserably here, pretty much no exercise done bar maybe 4/5 walks.
4. down 7.5kgs, if I do half that in Feb I'll be happy.
5. Feel I'm doing more, must check with the wife, probably could do more.
6. continue to do this.
7. Away this weekend with the wife and family holiday booked for May.

Overall, mostly positive, ticked a few items completely off, i need to fit in excerise by the next update!, will help with 4 also.