Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orior on January 04, 2017, 11:59:36 AM

Title: Buying a new vehicle
Post by: Orior on January 04, 2017, 11:59:36 AM
I'm thinking of buying a new vehicle and am pondering over petrol versus diesel.

Does anyone know anything about emissions/noxious gases and british government plans to penalise diesel cars?
Title: Re: Buying a new vehicle
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on January 04, 2017, 01:27:47 PM
how much are you willing to spend?  Have you looked at a Hybrid option at all.  Was looking at the Tesla Model S (https://www.tesla.com/en_GB/models) - really nice for a full electric car and some really good speed benchmarks and miles on a full charge.  It looks good as well - however the price is probably way too high for the average buyer - in few years though would expect them to drop
Post by: Orior on January 04, 2017, 01:43:10 PM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on January 04, 2017, 01:27:47 PM
how much are you willing to spend?  Have you looked at a Hybrid option at all.  Was looking at the Tesla Model S (https://www.tesla.com/en_GB/models) - really nice for a full electric car and some really good speed benchmarks and miles on a full charge.  It looks good as well - however the price is probably way too high for the average buyer - in few years though would expect them to drop

Would rather not go hybrid.

QuoteDrivers of polluting diesel vehicles could soon be charged to enter many city centres across Britain, after the government accepted in the high court on Wednesday that its current plans to tackle the nation's air pollution crisis were so poor they broke the law.

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/nov/02/diesel-vehicles-face-charges-after-uk-government-loses-air-pollution-case (https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/nov/02/diesel-vehicles-face-charges-after-uk-government-loses-air-pollution-case)

Post by: Take Your Points on January 04, 2017, 01:49:27 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 04, 2017, 11:59:36 AM
I'm thinking of buying a new vehicle and am pondering over petrol versus diesel.

Does anyone know anything about emissions/noxious gases and british government plans to penalise diesel cars?

The Honest John website has two sections you might visit, the Real MPG section where readers log the actual mpg of their vehicles and the Petrol v Diesel calculator section where you can compare the costs of running a petrol and diesel version of the same car based on manufacturers' information and the real mpg from readers.

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/realmpg/ (http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/realmpg/)

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/fuel-calculator/ (http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/fuel-calculator/)

Unless you are going to keep your car for more than 3 to 5 years you should have no worries about being penalised.  However, the will be penalties for those in major UK cities where congestion charges are levied.  Buying secondhand could be an issue if there is any penalties for actual output from vehicles as older cars tend to produce more pollution.

The UK focus to date has been on CO2 output and not on Nitrous Oxide production.  The VW scandal was actually a focus on Nitrous Oxides which became a focus on actual mpg versus test conditions.  Nitrous Oxide is the most dangerous pollutant as it affects those with respiratory illness and can contribute to deaths.  Government is slowly moving towards it but CO2 production is still the focus because of internal agreements to lower greenhouse gas output.

From April this year there will be a major hike in the car tax levy and there has been little notice paid to this change.  As far as I know it will relate to new car bought from that date.  It was announced in March 2015 and most people do not realise.

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/road-tax/budget-2015-new-road-tax-rates-for-2017-onwards/ (http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/road-tax/budget-2015-new-road-tax-rates-for-2017-onwards/)
http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/road-tax/budget-2015-new-ved-bands-to-be-introduced-from-2017/ (http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/road-tax/budget-2015-new-ved-bands-to-be-introduced-from-2017/)
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 04, 2017, 09:24:00 PM
I'm selling my 2013 Hyundai IX35 2.2 diesel. Top of range- sat nav, sun roof, side steps, half leather seats, 4WD, 12 months manufacturers warranty. 80,000. £9,950 and she's yours.
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 05, 2017, 12:18:48 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 04, 2017, 09:24:00 PM
I'm selling my 2013 Hyundai IX35 2.2 diesel. Top of range- sat nav, sun roof, side steps, half leather seats, 4WD, 12 months manufacturers warranty. 80,000. £9,950 and she's yours.

Korean Lada...
Post by: Dougal Maguire on December 21, 2019, 02:16:04 AM
Thinking of changing the car. Hyundai Tucson it's 2016 with a year's warranty left on it. Fancied a Kona hybrid but don't think they're powerful enough to tow the caravan. Looking for something that would be around £10 grand along with my own. Currently considering a 2019 Tucson or Seat Ateca or a 2018 Mercedes GLA. Any advice would be appreciated
Post by: under the bar on December 21, 2019, 02:26:22 PM

What's the 0-60?
Post by: Ambrose on December 22, 2019, 12:08:10 AM
Quote from: under the bar on December 21, 2019, 02:26:22 PM

What's the 0-60?

You'd need a calendar to measure it.

A 2.2 IX35???
Post by: under the bar on December 22, 2019, 12:12:31 AM
Quote from: Ambrose on December 22, 2019, 12:08:10 AM

What's the 0-60?

A 2.2 IX35???

A bit like Liverpool matching United at WCC level?  11 years on?  ;D
Post by: Dougal Maguire on December 22, 2019, 10:21:10 AM
Quote from: Ambrose on December 22, 2019, 12:08:10 AM

What's the 0-60?

A 2.2 IX35???
You certainly would given the post is almost 3 years old 😂😂
Post by: tyroneman on December 22, 2019, 10:23:02 AM
Was thinking of buying a premium diesel suv for the first time next year (maybe one of the smaller in the Merc, Audi, bmw range)....around 1yr old...but are these likely to be virtually worthless in 5 years time when I go to trade in or sell?
Post by: under the bar on December 22, 2019, 10:30:06 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on December 22, 2019, 10:23:02 AM
Was thinking of buying a premium diesel suv for the first time next year (maybe one of the smaller in the Merc, Audi, bmw range)....around 1yr old...but are these likely to be virtually worthless in 5 years time when I go to trade in or sell?

The brand's you mention tend to hold their value.  Kia, Hyundai etc will probably be worth more as scrap
Post by: Denn Forever on December 22, 2019, 11:23:12 AM
Article might answer a few questions.

https://motorway.co.uk/guides/diesel-cars-should-i-buy-a-diesel
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2023, 08:01:37 AM
https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2023/0503/1380408-eu-ban-petrol-diesel-cars-2035-emissions-standards-euro-7/Ultimately, the ban in 2035 won't kill the majority of petrol and diesel models, but it will be caused by a simple financial decision by automakers as they react to tightening emission standards and fleet average efficiency requirements. This is already clearly reflected in the long-term development plans for the majority of manufacturers. Mercedes-Benz, Stellantis (Chrysler, Fiat, Peugeot, Citroen), Jaguar, Volvo, Ford and VW Group (Audi, Seat, Skoda) all plan to cease the sale of petrol and diesel models far ahead of the ban.
Post by: David McKeown on May 07, 2023, 11:36:32 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 07, 2023, 08:01:37 AM
https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2023/0503/1380408-eu-ban-petrol-diesel-cars-2035-emissions-standards-euro-7/Ultimately, the ban in 2035 won't kill the majority of petrol and diesel models, but it will be caused by a simple financial decision by automakers as they react to tightening emission standards and fleet average efficiency requirements. This is already clearly reflected in the long-term development plans for the majority of manufacturers. Mercedes-Benz, Stellantis (Chrysler, Fiat, Peugeot, Citroen), Jaguar, Volvo, Ford and VW Group (Audi, Seat, Skoda) all plan to cease the sale of petrol and diesel models far ahead of the ban.

I have had very bad experiences with electric vehicles and the lack of convenient and working charging points in recent years which I've found to be a real pity. My wife has a plug in hybrid and it's a complete joy to drive. With the mileage I cover and the nature of my driving I think I'm at least one car away from going fully electric and even at that I'm still concerned. I think the infrastructure really needs to keep pace with the car development now.
Post by: trailer on May 09, 2023, 05:14:17 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 07, 2023, 11:36:32 AM
https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2023/0503/1380408-eu-ban-petrol-diesel-cars-2035-emissions-standards-euro-7/Ultimately, the ban in 2035 won't kill the majority of petrol and diesel models, but it will be caused by a simple financial decision by automakers as they react to tightening emission standards and fleet average efficiency requirements. This is already clearly reflected in the long-term development plans for the majority of manufacturers. Mercedes-Benz, Stellantis (Chrysler, Fiat, Peugeot, Citroen), Jaguar, Volvo, Ford and VW Group (Audi, Seat, Skoda) all plan to cease the sale of petrol and diesel models far ahead of the ban.

I have had very bad experiences with electric vehicles and the lack of convenient and working charging points in recent years which I've found to be a real pity. My wife has a plug in hybrid and it's a complete joy to drive. With the mileage I cover and the nature of my driving I think I'm at least one car away from going fully electric and even at that I'm still concerned. I think the infrastructure really needs to keep pace with the car development now.

EV cars will never be mainstream. Anyone buying one would need their head looked at. They'll be obsolete before they catch on. Another fuel most likely hydrogen will outstrip them just purely because of the ease of refuelling. Who the f**k has time to wait on a car charging up? Not me anyway.
Post by: Windmill abu on May 09, 2023, 05:48:43 PM
I picked up my new T-Roc diesel from our local VW dealer yesterday. ;D I asked the sales rep if they were selling many electric vehicles. He said almost zero.
Post by: thebigfella on May 09, 2023, 06:51:05 PM
Quote from: trailer on May 09, 2023, 05:14:17 PM

EV cars will never be mainstream. Anyone buying one would need their head looked at. They'll be obsolete before they catch on. Another fuel most likely hydrogen will outstrip them just purely because of the ease of refuelling. Who the f**k has time to wait on a car charging up? Not me anyway.

They have caught on already  ???
Post by: snoopdog on May 09, 2023, 07:09:29 PM
Until the source your charging them with is renewable than it defeats the purpose. Why pay thousands extra for a car your plugging into charge from electric created by burning oil or gas.
Post by: Tubberman on May 09, 2023, 07:18:07 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on May 09, 2023, 05:48:43 PM
I picked up my new T-Roc diesel from our local VW dealer yesterday. ;D I asked the sales rep if they were selling many electric vehicles. He said almost zero.

Well now in fairness, Nordies wouldn't be know for their forward thinking outlook.
Post by: seafoid on May 09, 2023, 08:17:01 PM

Most people charge their cars overnight at home. It costs abut €500 per year in Ireland and is  considerably cheaper than petrol/diesel.
Post by: thewobbler on May 09, 2023, 08:30:01 PM

Of course they'll become mainstream. Seafoid has explained it well. Why would any manufacturer invest in 2 sets of technologies and maintain 2 sets of production plants and processes, when their customer only needs one?

Car manufacturers aren't controlled by petrol heads. They're controlled by accountants.
Post by: armaghniac on May 09, 2023, 08:40:24 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 09, 2023, 08:30:01 PM

Of course they'll become mainstream. Seafoid has explained it well. Why would any manufacturer invest in 2 sets of technologies and maintain 2 sets of production plants and processes, when their customer only needs one?

Car manufacturers aren't controlled by petrol heads. They're controlled by accountants.

People can only buy what is on sale.
New Battery technology will make range less of a concern in a couple of years
for instance, these lads claim to be ready to start production later this year, a 1000Km range would let you drive almost anywhere in Ireland and back and then charge at home. 
https://www.abc.net.au/news/science/2023-05-03/catl-announces-battery-to-make-electric-aviation-possible/102289310
Post by: NAG1 on May 10, 2023, 08:40:47 AM
The big driver of this will not be private owners buying EV. It will be fleet buyers and they are being incentivised to do so, so that will driver the car manufacturers to build more and more EV and the technology will improve on these as they develop mainly around the battery and range issues.

Hydrogen technology has been around a long time now at this stage, so it is a wonder why it hasnt made the leap already, must be more difficult than first imagined.
Post by: GJL on May 10, 2023, 08:52:51 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 09, 2023, 07:18:07 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on May 09, 2023, 05:48:43 PM

Well now in fairness, Nordies wouldn't be know for their forward thinking outlook.

Says the guy who can't even type a basic sentence without a mistake!
Post by: haranguerer on May 10, 2023, 09:18:20 AM
I've electric, love it. The big initial concern is the range, but having had it for over a year now inclined to think thats somewhat of a red herring. As Seafoid says, charging is done at home; the public network is generally for getting you home, if you look at it that way then 15 min on public charger is often enough when required. Obv won't suit some people; most of my driving is within 20 miles of home tbf, but there are regular enough longer trips and also have had it in Kerry for a week.
Post by: clonian on May 10, 2023, 09:19:58 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 09, 2023, 08:30:01 PM

Neil deGrasse Tyson said on a podcast (think it was Rogan) that over the next 20 years the change to EVs will be similar to the move to motor cars from horse & carriage. It's just going to happen whether you agree or not.
As stated by NAG1 business fleets will be the driver behind the change because. This will also have a knock on effect on the petrol/diesel vehicles available to buy 2nd hand in 2/3/4 years time.
I debated between petrol/hybrid/full EV and went with the EV. It drove better than the hybrid and it was nicely kitted out. Just ordered so don't have it yet but I think it makes sense in the long run. It'll be used by herself mostly and I'll have a diesel for my work stuff for a while yet.
Post by: clonian on May 10, 2023, 09:21:03 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 10, 2023, 09:18:20 AM
I've electric, love it. The big initial concern is the range, but having had it for over a year now inclined to think thats somewhat of a red herring. As Seafoid says, charging is done at home; the public network is generally for getting you home, if you look at it that way then 15 min on public charger is often enough when required. Obv won't suit some people; most of my driving is within 20 miles of home tbf, but there are regular enough longer trips and also have had it in Kerry for a week.
Did you get the proper charger at home or just the 3 pin plug?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 10, 2023, 09:31:17 AM
how many one day 250km+ journeys do  people actually do in a year in Ireland? one, maybe two?
most journeys are within 100km
Post by: johnnycool on May 10, 2023, 10:12:40 AM
Quote from: clonian on May 10, 2023, 09:21:03 AM

Extension lead out the window will do the trick.  ;D

I'm looking at a Kia all electric one, the Niro, but not sure I want to buy it outright... A three year deal and then hand it back is something I'd normally not entertain, but with the battery car I'm in two minds.

Post by: GJL on May 10, 2023, 10:20:52 AM
Anyone who has spare cash should go out now and buy a high performance petrol car and put it away in the back of the garage. It will be a great investment.
Post by: trailer on May 10, 2023, 10:24:26 AM
The only one I would consider getting is the Audi E-Tron as it looks decent. The rest of them are wild looking. You'd want to drive around in disguise in case someone saw you.

When the public see them for the gimmick they are, the 5% of the population who drive them will start to desert. There is the dirty mining process involved in the manufacturing of the batteries and the fact we still burn coal and oil to generate the electricity to charge the things. 

Post by: haranguerer on May 10, 2023, 10:44:39 AM

Proper charger,  would say that's a must. The 3 pin did rightly for the week in Kerry though

I'm leasing johnnycool - I think it makes sense even if not most financially efficient; the tech is changing rapidly so risky to rely on good second hand value imo
Post by: clonian on May 10, 2023, 11:06:38 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 10, 2023, 10:12:40 AM

Extension lead out the window will do the trick.  ;D

I'm looking at a Kia all electric one, the Niro, but not sure I want to buy it outright... A three year deal and then hand it back is something I'd normally not entertain, but with the battery car I'm in two minds.

I went with the lease - first time I've done it. I looked at the Niro but went with the Volvo XC40. The Audi Q4 was nearly an option but the new model came in and pushed it out of my price range.
Post by: GJL on May 10, 2023, 11:30:10 AM
Quote from: trailer on May 10, 2023, 10:24:26 AM
The only one I would consider getting is the Audi E-Tron as it looks decent. The rest of them are wild looking. You'd want to drive around in disguise in case someone saw you.

When the public see them for the gimmick they are, the 5% of the population who drive them will start to desert. There is the dirty mining process involved in the manufacturing of the batteries and the fact we still burn coal and oil to generate the electricity to charge the things.

https://youtu.be/Krs1oiydrbI (https://youtu.be/Krs1oiydrbI)
Post by: armaghniac on May 10, 2023, 02:44:27 PM
Quote from: trailer on May 10, 2023, 10:24:26 AM

Only about half of electricity comes from coal and oil and this proportion is diminishing.
Post by: clonian on May 10, 2023, 03:01:15 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 10, 2023, 10:44:39 AM

Proper charger,  would say that's a must. The 3 pin did rightly for the week in Kerry though

I'm leasing johnnycool - I think it makes sense even if not most financially efficient; the tech is changing rapidly so risky to rely on good second hand value imo

I've got a few months to sort out a charger, 6 month waiting list, so I'll get some prices. The 3 pin charger is handy to have if you're stuck though.