Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Angelo

Quote from: Snapchap on December 14, 2020, 08:13:31 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on December 13, 2020, 11:17:27 PM
But murdering civilians was a central, integral component of the PIRA's campaign, that's just a fact

And therein lies the central lie upon which you base your entire hypocrisy. The overwhelmimg majority of PIRA operations were directed against British security force personnel/infrastructure and against commercial targets where no life was lost. The sort of small scale daily attacks that didn't make headlines in the Free State. It's already been pointed out here that the Old IRA actually killed a higher proportion of civilians. Just consider the absolute savagery with which the Old IRA pursued a campaign of disappearing victims (most of whom were innocent). Somewhere between 100 and 200 people. Numbers that absolutely dwarf the number disappeared by the Provos in a fraction of the time. So like I say, hypocritical bull. The savagery of the Old IRA campaign is excusable to you. It doesn't matter to you how many civilians they killed or disappeared. When presented with the reality of what they did, the best you can do is come out with "yeah but it was a shorter war". Gold medal standard mental gymnastics.

The other key lie in your waffle is that the PIRA campaign stopped being justified "some time in the seventies". But of course, it's very easy for a sanctimonious Free State p***k to believe such when he/she wasn't getting harrased and abused on the roadsides on literally a daily basis by the British State, well into the 90s. You never experienced the sinking feeling in the pit of your stomach when you saw the red torch of UDR patrol wagging your car to stop on a quiet road at night and not knowing if you would still be alive on the other side of it. To Free Staters, that is probably (to borrow a phrase) "just another northerner sob story" but to people like me it was the psycologically traumatic reality of going about daily life in this part of the world, well into the 1990's. No doubt your reality of living through the conflict was hearing what your Section 31 state censored media decided it was OK to tell you about; and now, years later, you are just unable to countenance the possibility that your notion of truth in relation to the conflict could be compromised having been informed about it by said censored media. Your argument also patently ignores the reality that were it not for the IRA campaign, the level of peace and equality we have today simply wouldn't exist and was not available to achieve "sometime in the seventies". It's often been said that the Brits had to be bombed to the negotiating table but that's not just something people say glibly. The fact is that the bombing of Canary Wharf literally only happened because the John Major government was refusing to take attempts at talks in any way seriously.John Major wasn't PM in the seventies.

Excellent post and you can get ready for a barrage of mental gymnastics as Sid will defend murdering civilians on one hand while getting up his soap box to vilify those who did on the other.

GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

tiempo

Quote from: Rossfan on December 14, 2020, 09:48:51 AM
Who are ye going to "reunify" with?

I know you want to retain Roscommon as a demilitrized zone for quislings, with that in mind maybe you could unify yourself with Hertfordshire, seems more your cup of tae

Dont give up the day job Tiempo ;D.
Can't see a majority in the 26 voting to "reunify" with the Angelos, Snapchaps and others of similar abusive mindsets.
Hard to see them convincing many of the 20% "others" in the 6 Cos either.
Marylou will have to tell a lot of her crew to stay at home and stay quiet for a year before any referendum.

Meanwhile

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40190259.html

Angelo

Quote from: Rossfan on December 14, 2020, 11:04:19 AM
Can't see a majority in the 26 voting to "reunify" with the Angelos, Snapchaps and others of similar abusive mindsets.
Marylou will have to tell a lot of her crew to stay at home and stay quiet for a year before any referendum.

Meanwhile

Why should he?

When the leader of the state is going around leaking documents to friends and picking his friends for high ranking judicial jobs and gets exposed on it. He tells a fairytale and the press suppress it.

GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

tiempo

Meanwhile

Erstwhile, a dip into the bin of Sammy Wilson quotes

"The GAA is the sporting wing of the IRA"
"I don't care if [gays] are ratepayers. As far as I am concerned they are perverts"
"Taigs don't pay rates"
"They [Sinn Féin voters in the Oldpark area of Belfast] are sub-human animals"

But in the shires of Roscommon you denounce FF/FG entering government with SF, but in the 6co's you expect SF to enter power-sharing coalition with the DUP.

Sorry what was your point again?

But murdering civilians was a central, integral component of the PIRA's campaign, that's just a fact

And therein lies the central lie upon which you base your entire hypocrisy. The overwhelmimg majority of PIRA operations were directed against British security force personnel/infrastructure and against commercial targets where no life was lost. The sort of small scale daily attacks that didn't make headlines in the Free State. It's already been pointed out here that the Old IRA actually killed a higher proportion of civilians. Just consider the absolute savagery with which the Old IRA pursued a campaign of disappearing victims (most of whom were innocent). Somewhere between 100 and 200 people. Numbers that absolutely dwarf the number disappeared by the Provos in a fraction of the time. So like I say, hypocritical bull. The savagery of the Old IRA campaign is excusable to you. It doesn't matter to you how many civilians they killed or disappeared. When presented with the reality of what they did, the best you can do is come out with "yeah but it was a shorter war". Gold medal standard mental gymnastics.

The other key lie in your waffle is that the PIRA campaign stopped being justified "some time in the seventies". But of course, it's very easy for a sanctimonious Free State p***k to believe such when he/she wasn't getting harrased and abused on the roadsides on literally a daily basis by the British State, well into the 90s. You never experienced the sinking feeling in the pit of your stomach when you saw the red torch of UDR patrol wagging your car to stop on a quiet road at night and not knowing if you would still be alive on the other side of it. To Free Staters, that is probably (to borrow a phrase) "just another northerner sob story" but to people like me it was the psycologically traumatic reality of going about daily life in this part of the world, well into the 1990's. No doubt your reality of living through the conflict was hearing what your Section 31 state censored media decided it was OK to tell you about; and now, years later, you are just unable to countenance the possibility that your notion of truth in relation to the conflict could be compromised having been informed about it by said censored media. Your argument also patently ignores the reality that were it not for the IRA campaign, the level of peace and equality we have today simply wouldn't exist and was not available to achieve "sometime in the seventies". It's often been said that the Brits had to be bombed to the negotiating table but that's not just something people say glibly. The fact is that the bombing of Canary Wharf literally only happened because the John Major government was refusing to take attempts at talks in any way seriously.John Major wasn't PM in the seventies.

This is true.

Derry won the All Ireland in 1993.  As thousands of supporters made their way home late on the Sunday night from Dublin, they happened upon a traffic jam in the middle of Cookstown.

A British Army checkpoint had backed the cars up the whole way along the (very long) main street.  This was targeted harassment on it's own but the kicker is that this traffic jam conveniently allowed mobs of drunken Loyalists to stone the supporter's cars, loaded with families - jubilant men, women and children.

The Army continued to stop the cars and left the people in the firing line.  They pretended not to notice the Loyalists.

Things like this cause things like Canary Wharf.

Reminder to Sid - this was 1993.

Edit:  You would not have heard mention of this on RTE that night.  Hypothetically, had Kerry supporters been stoned by angry Dublin fans at Newlands Cross, it would have been plastered all over your news.

sid waddell

But it's not a lie - you just brand it a lie because you don't like the truth, because the truth offends you

The IRA killed 644 civilians

They killed more Catholics than any other single entity in the Troubles did

Civilian slaughter was an integral part of their campaign

Your justification for this civilian slaughter is the same sort of justification as the US used for the slaughter of civilians in Iraq

The argument that the PIRA campaign brought peace and civil rights is complete balderdash - they only brought decades of immeasurable grief and pain

The PIRA campaign held back civil rights in Northern Ireland for decades, it killed any sort of hope of a normal politics

What your post is is a sob story from a supporter of civilian murder - you - to justify that civilian murder

You're from alone on this forum in doing that

It's sunk cost fallacy

Ironically, the Loyalist butchers who went around slaughtering young Catholic girls in mobile shops and lads walking home from pubs would offer the exact same justification as you do for civilian slaughter - it was "necessary"

But it wasn't necessary, it was totally futile

You can't face up to the truth because to do that would be too tough mentally, so you decide to carry on fooling yourself that blowing up Marie Wilson, shooting Joanne Mathers and blowing up Jonathan Ball was justified

Then, predictably, you get the right wing nationalist circle jerkers who are trapped in the same circle of utter denial gathering round to offer moral support for your denial, like it's a children's playground - this is genuinely the way Sinn Feiners on this board approach "debate" - children's playground backslapping and cheering for anybody who issues justifications for a nearly three decades long campaign of insanity

You didn't address the hypocrisy about the murder of Ronan Kerr and the attempted murder of Peadar Heffron

Sinn Fein now condemn these appalling acts yet they eulogise Warrenpoint and the blowing up of RUC officers in their cars

Yet there is zero difference

Did you yourself support the murder of Ronan Kerr and the blowing up of Peadar Heffron?

From your post and the tone of its rhetoric, one would have to assume you did support those crimes

Did you?

sid waddell

Quote from: Franko on December 14, 2020, 12:38:39 PM

This is true.

Derry won the All Ireland in 1993.  As thousands of supporters made their way home late on the Sunday night from Dublin, they happened upon a traffic jam in the middle of Cookstown.

A British Army checkpoint had backed the cars up the whole way along the (very long) main street.  This was targeted harassment on it's own but the kicker is that this traffic jam conveniently allowed mobs of drunken Loyalists to stone the supporter's cars, loaded with families - jubilant men, women and children.

The Army continued to stop the cars and left the people in the firing line.  They pretended not to notice the Loyalists.

Things like this cause things like Canary Wharf.

Reminder to Sid - this was 1993.

Edit:  You would not have heard mention of this on RTE that night.  Hypothetically, had Kerry supporters been stoned by angry Dublin fans at Newlands Cross, it would have been plastered all over your news.
I got stopped by the Brits coming out of Clones when Dublin played Derry in 2003, just over the border on the Cavan road, about a mile from the Diamond

Big guns hanging around their necks

By this rationale I could then justify a future 28 year bombing, shooting and maiming campaign from 2003 on

We can all play that game

Given the quoted passage here relates to something that happened in September 1993, it would appear to imply regret that the first ceasefire happened less than a year later

Because if its a justification for why the 28 year PIRA campaign happened, it's also a justification for continuing it

One of the best posts I've ever read here.

sid waddell

Quote from: tiempo on December 14, 2020, 12:37:12 PM

Meanwhile

"I don't care if [gays] are ratepayers. As far as I am concerned they are perverts"
"Taigs don't pay rates"

But in the shires of Roscommon you denounce FF/FG entering government with SF, but in the 6co's you expect SF to enter power-sharing coalition with the DUP.

So Sammy Wilson talking shite is a justification for 28 years of murder?

The Sinn Feiners on this board talk the exact same sort of moronic, rabble rousing shite as Sammy Wilson does

Two sides of the same coin and they totally refuse to see it

Sunken costs

sid waddell

Quote from: RedHand88 on December 14, 2020, 01:06:31 PM

Another circle jerker  ;D

Children's playground stuff, the Sinn Fein way - and this from the same guy who was defending the caging of children in the US by the fascist Trump regime, laughing at it

Red Hand 88 didn't lick it up off the ground, he was taught from an early age that blowing up children was just fine

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: RedHand88 on December 14, 2020, 01:06:31 PM

you need to get out more

Snapchap

Quote from: sid waddell on December 14, 2020, 12:57:29 PM
But it's not a lie - you just brand it a lie because you don't like the truth, because the truth offends you

The IRA killed 644 civilians

They killed more Catholics than any other single entity in the Troubles did

Civilian slaughter was an integral part of their campaign
Except I wasn't lying. They killed 644 civilians. That doesn't change the fact that the overwhelming majority of their attacks were directed, as I already said, at British security force personnel/infrastructure and on commercial targets with no loss of life. The Old IRA killed a higher proportion of civilians than the Provos, yet you are the one making excuses for this ("oh but that was as short conflict")

Your justification for this civilian slaughter is the same sort of justification as the US used for the slaughter of civilians in Iraq
Can you quote where i justified killing civilians? Good man, I await with interest.

The argument that the PIRA campaign brought peace and civil rights is complete balderdash - they only brought decades of immeasurable grief and pain

The PIRA campaign held back civil rights in Northern Ireland for decades, it killed any sort of hope of a normal politics
I've already outlined the Major Government's approach to talks, and the consequences of it. maybe you can explain to me how we'd have gotten to where we are today without an armed campaign up until that point?

What your post is is a sob story from a supporter of civilian murder - you - to justify that civilian murder

You're from alone on this forum in doing that
Again, front up and post where I said it was OK to murder civilians. If straw man nonsense is all you have, then kindly f**k away off and 'debate' elsewhere. I don't accuse you of supporting murder of civilians, despite the fact that you have repeatedly made excuses for the savage nature of the Old IRA campaign which resulted in the deaths of huge numbers of civilians.

Ironically, the Loyalist butchers who went around slaughtering young Catholic girls in mobile shops and lads walking home from pubs would offer the exact same justification as you do for civilian slaughter - it was "necessary"

But it wasn't necessary, it was totally futile
And here we go again. I didn't say murdering civilians was necessary. Post the quote where I said it was.

You can't face up to the truth because to do that would be too tough mentally, so you decide to carry on fooling yourself that blowing up Marie Wilson, shooting Joanne Mathers and blowing up Jonathan Ball was justified.
Where did I say those deaths were justified? You refuse to condemn the Old IRA campaign. If I was to engage in straw man arguments, then I'd argue that that must mean you believe the Old IRA murder of Ellen Morris, a 54 year old mother of 15, shot dead in her own kitchen, was "necessary" or "justified".

Then, predictably, you get the right wing nationalist circle jerkers who are trapped in the same circle of utter denial gathering round to offer moral support for your denial, like it's a children's playground - this is genuinely the way Sinn Feiners on this board approach "debate" - children's playground backslapping and cheering for anybody who issues justifications for a nearly three decades long campaign of insanity
So if posters post comments in agreement with my original reply, it was clearly orchestrated by me? Away and cop yourself on. If you want to debate with me, then debate what I've said, not what you think I've said, or what other people have said in response to me.

You didn't address the hypocrisy about the murder of Ronan Kerr and the attempted murder of Peadar Heffron
If you are too f*king thick to understand that the RUC had been disbanded, and a peace process not only possible, but bedded in place, when those murders happened, then I can't help you. Like I asked above, maybe you'd be so kind as to tell us how the RUC might have been disbanded, British troops gone, and peace and equality in place, were it not for the IRA campaign. And that's a serious question. Outline precisely how that might have been achieved for us all.

Did you yourself support the murder of Ronan Kerr and the blowing up of Peadar Heffron?
No more than you did. I lived through the troubles with a family. I only believed conflict was justified when there was no alternative. Those attacks were by a group that disagrees fundamentally with that analysis. You might argue that there was an alternative from "sometime in the seventies". For a third time, I'll challenge you to spell it out step-by-step.

From your post and the tone of its rhetoric, one would have to assume you did support those crimes.
F**k off you warped little Free State p***k.

Quote from: tiempo on December 14, 2020, 12:37:12 PM

Meanwhile

"Taigs don't pay rates"

What's the "shires of Roscommon"?
There are a lot of Shines down the South end.
Don't thinking any are involved in politics though.