Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: Gaffer on December 20, 2015, 12:44:25 AM
How did slab make sacrifices out of his own pocket?

He financed most of the South Armagh brigade's operations when NORAID was effectively finished in the states.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: Rossfan on December 20, 2015, 12:43:31 AM
You're missing the point entirely.
The war ended in 1998 with the people voting to accept the GFA.
Since then the Sinners/Provos have taken part in legitimate politics while maintaining a criminal empire.
Eejits like you can't see that such carry on is not on - esp if ye wish to be part of Government in the  now totally legitimised 26 Co State.

I'm not the one with the hypocrisy here, quite easy to see the way you're buttered though. You seem to be vehemently anti-SF? Why is that and how do your square if off with what seemingly is an acceptances of the establishment parties in the free state?

Because SF are
1 economically illiterate
2- still wedded to illegality while trying to say they are a normal political party
-
As for the "establishment parties of the free state" - they are establishment because the voters vote for them.

foxcommander

Quote from: Rossfan on December 20, 2015, 01:12:11 AM
Because SF are
2- still wedded to illegality while trying to say they are a normal political party
-
As for the "establishment parties of the free state" - they are establishment because the voters vote for them.

The same parties that continually sell their citizens down the river..because they are established is why people vote for them - vicious circle.
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: Rossfan on December 20, 2015, 01:12:11 AM
Because SF are
-

Economically illiterate?

Remind us which party was at the wheel when the country went into recession?

Welded to illegality? It's amazing the grasp of control Denis O'Brien operates in the free state and how untouchable he is, guys like you seem to accept white collar crime and doff your cap to it. You're a hypocrite but too stupid to realise it.

foxcommander

Quote from: Rossfan on December 19, 2015, 09:42:00 PM
Micky Martin has a letter in the paper today saying FF won't enter a Coalition

Reminds me of the TV show "The Word". He'll do anything to get into government. Even get into bed with Enda.
These are the opportunists that just want a little power and a lot of money. And you eejits fall for it every time and vote them in.

Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: foxcommander on December 20, 2015, 01:33:47 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 19, 2015, 09:42:00 PM
Micky Martin has a letter in the paper today saying FF won't enter a Coalition

Reminds me of the TV show "The Word". He'll do anything to get into government. Even get into bed with Enda.
These are the opportunists that just want a little power and a lot of money. And you eejits fall for it every time and vote them in.

Hypocrite and quislings - without even the remotest bit of intelligence to ever have the penny drop with them despite how clearly the matter is spelled out for them.

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 20, 2015, 01:36:46 AM
Hypocrite and quislings - without even the remotest bit of intelligence to ever have the penny drop with them despite how clearly the matter is spelled out for them.

Why don't you spell it out, so that we can all understand.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: armaghniac on December 20, 2015, 01:44:08 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 20, 2015, 01:36:46 AM

Why don't you spell it out, so that we can all understand.

I have spelled it out.

He is happy to oppose Sinn Fein, vehemently, for what he calls supporting criminality - but who does he vote for?

Parties that allow a white collar criminal like Denis O'Brien to elevate himself into the puppet master of the free state, consistently vote in corrupt politicians who are self-serving and happy to screw the working class man, lie, break promises and screw the ordinary working man without  remorse as they take home huge salaries.

He is a hypocrite and an extremely stupid one.

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 20, 2015, 01:54:36 AM
He is happy to oppose Sinn Fein, vehemently, for what he calls supporting criminality - but who does he vote for?

Parties that allow a white collar criminal like Denis O'Brien to elevate himself into the puppet master of the free state, consistently vote in corrupt politicians who are self-serving and happy to screw the working class man, lie, break promises and screw the ordinary working man without  remorse as they take home huge salaries.

Which laws did Denis O'Brien break? I accept that politicians are self serving, but Sinn Fein are no different in that respect, as episodes like O'Snodaigh's printers and the fiddling of NI MLA expenses showed. They are complete hypocrites, ranting about homelessness while voting to reduce the property tax in Dublin and elsewhere that might have provided some funds to do something about it. Elections in Ireland, like many other places, become a choice between self serving politicians who have some sensible policies and self serving politicians that have outright dangerous policies in many cases.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: armaghniac on December 20, 2015, 02:33:38 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 20, 2015, 01:54:36 AM

Which laws did Denis O'Brien break? I accept that politicians are self serving, but Sinn Fein are no different in that respect, as episodes like O'Snodaigh's printers and the fiddling of NI MLA expenses showed. They are complete hypocrites, ranting about homelessness while voting to reduce the property tax in Dublin and elsewhere that might have provided some funds to do something about it. Elections in Ireland, like many other places, become a choice between self serving politicians who have some sensible policies and self serving politicians that have outright dangerous policies in many cases.

Are you really that naive regarding Denis O'Brien? Do you really believe all those corruption allegations of a man who has amassed a huge fortune are without foundation? Seemingly you're willing to believe the allegations against Slab Murphy - so if it's good for the goose........

I don't think Sinn Fein are above reproach, there are certain elements I don't like about their policies and actions and there are no doubt elements of hypocrisy but it pales in significance to the other establishment parties of the 26. For one there's the fact that they only take home the average industrial wages which is about 4 times less that what the establishment parties receive - who conveniently don't want to change the pay structures for TDs. There's also the fact that many Sinn Fein members were involved in the troubles, made sacrifices for what they believed would better their people and community, whatever about the rights of wrongs of their actions - they showed a conviction of doing something they felt was for their right that was not self-serving. Could you imagine any of the establishment party doing the same? We know what happened Neil Blaney, the last politician with a bit of backbone from the establishment parties in the 26. It's easy for these people to pontificate about what happened in the troubles? Do you think crass imbeciles like Enda Kenny would have the same outlook had he grown up in the Creggan?

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 20, 2015, 02:47:04 AM
Are you really that naive regarding Denis O'Brien? Do you really believe all those corruption allegations of a man who has amassed a huge fortune are without foundation? Seemingly you're willing to believe the allegations against Slab Murphy - so if it's good for the goose........

I don't know of any particular thing Denis O'Brien has done which is illegal. Bill Gates has a huge fortune and I don't think him corrupt.

QuoteI don't think Sinn Fein are above reproach, there are certain elements I don't like about their policies and actions and there are no doubt elements of hypocrisy but it pales in significance to the other establishment parties of the 26. For one there's the fact that they only take home the average industrial wages which is about 4 times less that what the establishment parties receive - who conveniently don't want to change the pay structures for TDs. There's also the fact that many Sinn Fein members were involved in the troubles, made sacrifices for what they believed would better their people and community, whatever about the rights of wrongs of their actions - they showed a conviction of doing something they felt was for their right that was not self-serving. Could you imagine any of the establishment party doing the same? We know what happened Neil Blaney, the last politician with a bit of backbone from the establishment parties in the 26. It's easy for these people to pontificate about what happened in the troubles? Do you think crass imbeciles like Enda Kenny would have the same outlook had he grown up in the Creggan?

They collect the full wage and give some of it to the party, i.e. they act in their private interest not the public one. Some other politicians might give the money to their family and think this a good thing, but that is their interest and not the public one. Enda Kenny might have a different view had he been born in Derry, but John Hume showed that the different view is not necessarily the Sinn Fein view.

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 20, 2015, 01:03:12 AM

He financed most of the South Armagh brigade's operations when NORAID was effectively finished in the states.

He paid for guns and bombs that were used to kill/ maim people  in South Armagh? 

And NORAID did so beforehand?

Is that what you are saying?

It seems that Slab will now get a €5m tax bill, I hope he kept receipts for any expenditure.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: Gaffer on December 20, 2015, 08:07:58 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 20, 2015, 01:03:12 AM

He paid for guns and bombs that were used to kill/ maim people  in South Armagh? 

And NORAID did so beforehand?

Is that what you are saying?

Yes, he paid for guns and bombs - what do you think brought freedom for the 26 - happy clapping and the rosary? The Irish cause for independence is synonymous with guns and violence but the portrayal is very different depending on the ear.

If anything the Provos had more of a reasoning in their armed struggle than the IRA than preceded it.