Best Ever Line in GAA Commentary

Started by CD, September 08, 2013, 05:16:57 PM

Galway's Joe Rabbitt was chasing Tipps Pat Fox during an All Ireland final and the commentry went along the lines of

" Pat Fox gets the ball, he moves inside, Joe Rabbitt is chasing after him, there's something you'll never see, a Rabbit chasing a Fox!!"

Lads, anyone who has ever heard F-ing Eddie Moroney's famous commentary of the Tipperary U21 Football Final between his own Aherlow and Eire Óg Nenagh knows that this is a seminal video for one liners. The whole video is a compendium of them.

"A chance for the 'Bear', but No! He decides to Ballloooonn it out into the corn field".
"'There's no crut to that bollox at all" (aside What?, What? Sure he hit him!) back to commentary "Come on Ref!!"
"He's gone, sent off, the man with the sore knee" (A nenagh lad with a knee bandage)
"Lukey, Lukey, lovelly Lukey" (Luke had a score).
"Ah Jaysus, I'm dying. We were at a funeral yesterday and it was a long one, but sure we gave him a good send off".
"Give me drink of that lemonade. I think I'm going to be sick".
After the drink " And the ball goes out and .... buuurrrrppppp.....it's a line ball to Nenagh" (Or Naynah).

Ad infinitum. Aherlow won as well, which was 'The finest day for Aherlow in GAA circumstances'.

declan85

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 09, 2013, 01:19:33 PM
Lads, anyone who has ever heard F-ing Eddie Moroney's famous commentary of the Tipperary U21 Football Final between his own Aherlow and Eire Óg Nenagh knows that this is a seminal video for one liners. The whole video is a compendium of them.

"A chance for the 'Bear', but No! He decides to Ballloooonn it out into the corn field".
"'There's no crut to that bollox at all" (aside What?, What? Sure he hit him!) back to commentary "Come on Ref!!"
"He's gone, sent off, the man with the sore knee" (A nenagh lad with a knee bandage)
"Ah Jaysus, I'm dying. We were at a funeral yesterday and it was a long one, but sure we gave him a good send off".
After the drink " And the ball goes out and .... buuurrrrppppp.....it's a line ball to Nenagh" (Or Naynah).

Ad infinitum. Aherlow won as well, which was 'The finest day for Aherlow in GAA circumstances'.

From that same commentary:
"and the referee is looking around and acting the mickey"

It might sound strange but Marty's commentary on the radio was excellent yesterday. Unlike Ger, Marty sounds genuinely passionate about the game. I'm just watching the match now and Canning's commentary seems very dead in comparison.

It's definitely probably one of the greatest commentaries in GAA circumstances.

(Careful - sound file):
http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney/wavs/gaamatch.wav

The full set:
http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney
Modify message

A free a free, a free to the Rossies.....and on goes the Roscommon champion. The leader of the flock. The pride and joy of all the Rossies. The man that annoys and yet persists. The man that rants and yet you must listen to. Where are the options ? Willie Heggarty or Brian Strokestown. We had Micheál but now we have the repeat call. Á chairde gael, fáilte 'is céad ag mo leithéid.

Stevie g 8

M O'M and all his made up commentary lines.Did anyone actually ever hear them.Classic line by Marty yesterday

Quote from: Stevie g 8 on September 10, 2013, 01:57:54 AM
M O'M and all his made up commentary lines.Did anyone actually ever hear them.Classic line by Marty yesterday

I am guessing they were before your time.

Quote from: Hardy on September 09, 2013, 05:57:55 PM

It's definitely probably one of the greatest commentaries in GAA circumstances.

(Careful - sound file):
http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney/wavs/gaamatch.wav

The full set:
http://www.iolfree.ie/~eddiemoroney
Modify message
the full video is on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHc2pC-ug7c&list=RD02iHc2pC-ug7c

It's like a top class comedy performance combined with a silent football match in the background

RandyDupree

"Christie out of the game..Mulligan, They've got to work a score from this. Mulligan. Options to his left, Still Mulligan..Mulligan..WHAT A GOAL!!"

"17 points to 15. Is there a goal in this game yet? It's a free to Offaly. With the time they are taking, you'd think they were winning by two points. Tomás O'Connor......"

Donegal are ahead by 3, I told them I would call up to see them on wednesday, Declan Bonner makes it 4, I think I'll go on Monday.

Crete Boom

Quote from: Syferus on September 09, 2013, 03:15:17 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on September 09, 2013, 03:08:01 AM
When Mannion scored his fisted goal against Kerry, the co-commentator (I think it was McStay) said he 'tomahawked' it into the net. Hilarious!

Leave K-Mac alone. No wonder he's the only man alive to coach the green and red to a senior AI if the rest of ye are so easily assumed >:(

Well no as usual you are wrong ::).Being county specific Tommy Lyons coached Ballina ( wearing green and red as if you didn't know since your own club Ballagh play us in yours and mine county championship all the time ;)) to a senior All Ireland club in 2005. Disregarding Mayo on the same day James Stephens of Killkenny won the senior hurling club wearing green and red and I would wager they had a manager too who more than likely is still alive.
It makes sense that you love all things St Brigid's since they have a Mayo management team and wear the colours of your true county being a Ballagh man ;D.

Stevie g 8

Quote from: muppet on September 10, 2013, 08:49:23 AM
Quote from: Stevie g 8 on September 10, 2013, 01:57:54 AM

I am guessing they were before your time.
afraid not,I even remember the king of them all Michael o,hehir