How do people in the North see the South ?

Started by seafoid, August 20, 2024, 09:59:59 AM

Quote from: Brendan on August 20, 2024, 06:13:15 PMThere's an awful lot of arselicking of the British monarchy from free staters, disturbing so it is

All international celebs get fawned over - Hollywood actors, music stars, world leaders, often to an embarrassing level. 
Charles, Camilla, William, Kate Middleton, Meghan, et al. are seen as Hello magazine A-listers and not the puppet masters and string pullers of an occupation.

Brendan

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 21, 2024, 11:37:46 AM
Quote from: Brendan on August 20, 2024, 06:13:15 PMThere's an awful lot of arselicking of the British monarchy from free staters, disturbing so it is

All international celebs get fawned over - Hollywood actors, music stars, world leaders, often to an embarrassing level. 
Charles, Camilla, William, Kate Middleton, Meghan, et al. are seen as Hello magazine A-listers and not the puppet masters and string pullers of an occupation.

They're symbolic of the occupation though

burdizzo

Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on August 21, 2024, 09:43:41 AMI thought we were supposed to be North men South men comrades all. Nationalists for so long were not seen as equals in the North and now it seems like we are not seen as equals with the rest of the people on this island. Very disappointing thread.

Uh, it's how northerners perceive southerners, not how southerners perceive northerners? Or you think there should be no distinction, or what?

Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on August 21, 2024, 09:43:41 AMI thought we were supposed to be North men South men comrades all. Nationalists for so long were not seen as equals in the North and now it seems like we are not seen as equals with the rest of the people on this island. Very disappointing thread.
We are the same but partition is a fact. We done own how long it will last. There was a story during the PlOlympics about RTÉ being unable to broadcast in the North because of tv rights. Is access to RTÉ important? Does the Angekus have any resonance? Does 6 county teans winning all Irelands generate interest outside the 6 counties?

Rte access in Olympics was a big thing seafoid. The focus was on British athletes where we had to watch it and you couldn't see interviews with Irish athletes or even some of them competing.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 21, 2024, 12:33:32 PMRte access in Olympics was a big thing seafoid. The focus was on British athletes where we had to watch it and you couldn't see interviews with Irish athletes or even some of them competing.

Very true there Tommy, and the time TV3/Virgin Media or whatever they were called at the time, had access to the AI championship games yet wasn't available in large parts of the North was a stain on the GAA.

Mr Burns better be careful with who wins the rights next time.

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: burdizzo on August 21, 2024, 12:16:13 PM

Uh, it's how northerners perceive southerners, not how southerners perceive northerners? Or you think there should be no distinction, or what?

In terms of mindset there should be no distinction. No different than anyone from Donegal to Cork or Louth to Wexford. But yes the island is partitioned and there are practical differences because of that such as the RTE thing.

Pub Bore

Quote from: seafoid on August 20, 2024, 09:59:59 AMWhat aspects of the State in the North are annoying to nationalists?
What aspects of the South are attractive ?
What aspects of the south are not attractive ?

What aspects of the State in the North are annoying to nationalists?
The use of "Ireland" to mean the 26 counties only.  Nordies may not be part of the state but we're part of the nation.

People are good craic and despite the myth, in my experience, are generally pretty well disposed to northerners. Good business environment, good roads and infrastructure (compared to the north).

FF and FG, the Healy Raes, what Dunphy called "Official Ireland"

AustinPowers

Quote from: Pub Bore on August 21, 2024, 05:05:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 20, 2024, 09:59:59 AMWhat aspects of the State in the North are annoying to nationalists?

The use of "Ireland" to mean the 26 counties only.  Nordies may not be part of the state but we're part of the nation.

People are good craic and despite the myth, in my experience, are generally pretty well disposed to northerners. Good business environment, good roads and infrastructure (compared to the north).

That would be  the  biggest issue  for a lot of people

I would tune into Newstalk sometimes to try to get some vibe on what's happening in the freestate.

Partly that and partly because I cannot listen to anything on Radio Ulster.

Things that have occurred to me over the years. None of which are necessarily true, but struck my mind.

The main one is that Newstalk (and therefore, I assume its listeners) are bizarrely overfascinated with American politics, to the point that Ireland might just be an offshoot of the US. I just don't that get that one myself. America is fundamentally broken. It's a model we should be avoiding.

The second one is that Newstalk (and therefore I assume its listeners) know very well that the two party political system is failing Ireland, to the point that urban Ireland doesn't really have an identity anymore. Pretty much any large Irish town could be swapped with any English town and nobody would notice. The housing crisis (and it is a crisis) will never resolve itself under these political structures, because the personal gains for politicians (from being multiple property owners, from subtle and less subtle bribes and kickbacks), are too entwined with keeping this ball a rolling. But Newstalk (and I assume its listeners) prefer this political situation over trying something different that might just be better.

I suppose what I'm heading towards here is that Ireland had a chance to forge its own identity in this world. To be unique. Maybe to be brilliant. But it seems so utterly influenced by its shitty neighbours left and right, that it is now just the same. Maybe with a healthier balance sheet at the moment, but just the same.

Us up north don't have the luxury of plotting our own course in the world. I doubt we'd do it much different if presented the chance either. But given the choice I'd live to see Ireland a country with a slower pace of life, and a greater focus on community and family. Being de facto slaves to money and material dreams; that wasn't Ireland's calling.

I'm meandering so I'll stop.

AustinPowers

Good points wobbler

One thing  I've noticed, as you  said, is towns all looking the same. Not only  in Ireland and Britain, but Europe and further afield.  All you see is  Starbucks, McDonald's, nandos,   and countless other multinational  munching shops.

The world has been commercialised to death by these f€ckers.

A year or two  ago,  there was a video going around where  dozens of cars were queuing and tooting at a  doughnut drive thru place at 3 or 4 in  the morning.  Quality and prices at independent cafes/fast food outlets might be so much better around the corner but people  seem to flock to these  cnuts.

I get this is  only a small issue compared to housing and the likes , but  it's worth mentioning

PS. Maybe some one can confirm this , but there is  somewhere in Australia (Melbourne possibly), where they  shun the likes  of Starbucks, Nandos in favour of supporting the local  outlets.  It would be good  to see more of that

Quote from: AustinPowers on August 21, 2024, 06:29:18 PM

Who do ye want us to vote for?
Shinners presumably?

To kind of answer that one Ross.

I've never voted for Sinn Fein in my life. Not even tactically. I just don't like their approach to elections, scaremongering and tub thumping.

That said voting up here was always a charade and is now little more than a census by another name.

If my vote actually meant something beyond that - which it would if I moved a couple of miles down the road - I'd likely consider voting for them. Because they would seem to be less worse than what's there.

Both Sinn Fein and Ireland froze in the most recent elections, at least that's how I read it. The fear of change is very very real. I guess Irish people - or the majority of them anyhow - kind of like the English way of life, so long as they're not directly under English rule. Certainly there's tens of thousands of them couldn't wait to take on the role of unjust landlord.

Quote from: thewobbler on August 21, 2024, 06:57:23 PMI would tune into Newstalk sometimes to try to get some vibe on what's happening in the freestate.

Partly that and partly because I cannot listen to anything on Radio Ulster.

Things that have occurred to me over the years. None of which are necessarily true, but struck my mind.

The main one is that Newstalk (and therefore, I assume its listeners) are bizarrely overfascinated with American politics, to the point that Ireland might just be an offshoot of the US. I just don't that get that one myself. America is fundamentally broken. It's a model we should be avoiding.

The second one is that Newstalk (and therefore I assume its listeners) know very well that the two party political system is failing Ireland, to the point that urban Ireland doesn't really have an identity anymore. Pretty much any large Irish town could be swapped with any English town and nobody would notice. The housing crisis (and it is a crisis) will never resolve itself under these political structures, because the personal gains for politicians (from being multiple property owners, from subtle and less subtle bribes and kickbacks), are too entwined with keeping this ball a rolling. But Newstalk (and I assume its listeners) prefer this political situation over trying something different that might just be better.

I suppose what I'm heading towards here is that Ireland had a chance to forge its own identity in this world. To be unique. Maybe to be brilliant. But it seems so utterly influenced by its shitty neighbours left and right, that it is now just the same. Maybe with a healthier balance sheet at the moment, but just the same.

Us up north don't have the luxury of plotting our own course in the world. I doubt we'd do it much different if presented the chance either. But given the choice I'd live to see Ireland a country with a slower pace of life, and a greater focus on community and family. Being de facto slaves to money and material dreams; that wasn't Ireland's calling.

I'm meandering so I'll stop.

I have a microsoft account on my computer so I get Irish celebrity news when I open a new tab.It is appalling. Class Z selebrities give their news. It's all arseways but it  is linked to the economic system and it will change when the economic system changes. The Republic has 2 economies. One is the multinational one and the other is where most of the people live and work.

The Civil war was fought between FG types and nationalists who imagined a different type of country, including the North . Maybe we will get that next time. House prices have to collapse first.

Some shite on here. The days of Aran jumpers and pints of porter are long gone lads. More boys in the south drinking Heineken and watching Man United.