Author Topic: NFL Division 1 2023  (Read 95625 times)

• View Profile
Re: NFL Division 1 2023
« Reply #1800 on: March 26, 2023, 11:23:31 PM »
All eyes now to castlebar
Monaghan 2 up and Armagh losing
That makes yet  another Seafold wrong call against Monaghan. You're so hopeless Seafold that you're having your ass whipped by a stopped clock :D
Monaghan will be even worse next year with Dublin and Derry joining the party.

Jaysus Christ, did a Monaghan lass break your heart in your younger days? You always seem to take such a negative slant on Monaghan and write them off before every competition
I think there is something wrong with Monaghan, same as the poster above. The return on talent has been poor. Monaghan were shite against Galway this year even though we were the ones relegated in 2021. We got to an all Ireland final straight outta Division 2 last year. The best Monaghan did in the last 10 years was a semi.

You're not living in the real world pal with these points. The "return on talent" for a county the size of Monaghan has been very good tbh. Obviously I'd like to win everything but realistically that's a monumental task for the likes of us, it makes no sense to compare is to the larger counties when you boil it down to numbers and resources. We're very much a team in transition which has both a handful players nearing the end and a rake of young lads with little experience - comparing them to the present Galway side is nonsense tbh given that context.

Everyone wrote us off at the start of the league (like the past several years), and they'll do so again next spring. Makes no odds to us, the goal was to blood a number of the younger players against the top teams and we achieved that. It's not all about the here and now like you're acting, but it's nice to be there again next year too.
I think size is a cop out , honestly. Losing to a mediocre Tyrone in that semi final was a sign of a psychological  problem.  Offaly is also small and they won 3 all Irelands.
Monaghan have a decent team about once a generation and something has to change if the next team is going to go further than a semi final.
Would you ever go away to fck, ;D    you're the one who condescendingly kept spouting on about Monaghan punching above their weight.
You're a sham, Seafold.
I'm not from Tuam. Monaghan is one of the few serious counties who haven't won an all Ireland. Usually there is a psychological reason where there is a glass ceiling.

https://youtu.be/33Mr5JV49tg

But do carry on.
Lookit

• View Profile
« Reply #1801 on: March 26, 2023, 11:36:00 PM »
I think size  is a cop out , honestly.Losing to a mediocre Tyrone in that semi final was a sign of a psychological  problem.  Offaly is also small and they won 3 all Irelands.
Monaghan have a decent team about once a generation and something has to change if the next team is going to go further than a semi final.

Monaghan has the same population as Carlow. Carlow finished 6th in Division 4. Do you think size is a cop out for Carlow also?

Carlow is a smaller version of Kildare.

Monaghan last year and the year before found ways to beat both Galway,Dublin to avoid the drop and probably wouldn't have matter who they played today as they'd find a way to win as they really come alive in round 7.

While Monaghan have admirable spirit and more than a few good players they'd have got it tough away against Mayo, if Mayo had needed the win as much as Monaghan.

straightred

• View Profile
« Reply #1802 on: March 26, 2023, 11:43:22 PM »
That makes yet  another Seafold wrong call against Monaghan. You're so hopeless Seafold that you're having your ass whipped by a stopped clock :D

Jaysus Christ, did a Monaghan lass break your heart in your younger days? You always seem to take such a negative slant on Monaghan and write them off before every competition
I think there is something wrong with Monaghan, same as the poster above. The return on talent has been poor. Monaghan were shite against Galway this year even though we were the ones relegated in 2021. We got to an all Ireland final straight outta Division 2 last year. The best Monaghan did in the last 10 years was a semi.

You're not living in the real world pal with these points. The "return on talent" for a county the size of Monaghan has been very good tbh. Obviously I'd like to win everything but realistically that's a monumental task for the likes of us, it makes no sense to compare is to the larger counties when you boil it down to numbers and resources. We're very much a team in transition which has both a handful players nearing the end and a rake of young lads with little experience - comparing them to the present Galway side is nonsense tbh given that context.

Everyone wrote us off at the start of the league (like the past several years), and they'll do so again next spring. Makes no odds to us, the goal was to blood a number of the younger players against the top teams and we achieved that. It's not all about the here and now like you're acting, but it's nice to be there again next year too.
I think size is a cop out , honestly. Losing to a mediocre Tyrone in that semi final was a sign of a psychological  problem.  Offaly is also small and they won 3 all Irelands.

Monaghan have been very good for more than a generation now. And size is absolutely a huge factor. No other 'small' county has got anywhere near their level for a long time. I think they're remarkable to be honest. You're talking nonsense
I have family there and go to the odd club game. They live and breathe GAA. At the moment they are the benchmark for counties that claim they can't compete with the big boys. They won't have enough to win an AI but 10 consecutive years in D1 is a remarkable achievement for such a small county. Meath and Kildare come to mind. With their populations they really should be doing better. Monaghan shouldn't be in d1 but they are and they are there on merit.

• View Profile
« Reply #1803 on: March 26, 2023, 11:44:09 PM »

Would you ever go away to fck, ;D    you're the one who condescendingly kept spouting on about Monaghan punching above their weight.
You're a sham, Seafold.
I'm not from Tuam. Monaghan is one of the few serious counties who haven't won an all Ireland. Usually there is a psychological reason where there is a glass ceiling.

https://youtu.be/33Mr5JV49tg

But do carry on.

The fact that Monaghan are seen as 'serious contenders' is some going.

• View Profile
    • Balllyholland Harps GAC
« Reply #1804 on: March 26, 2023, 11:44:25 PM »
I think size  is a cop out , honestly.Losing to a mediocre Tyrone in that semi final was a sign of a psychological  problem.  Offaly is also small and they won 3 all Irelands.

Monaghan has the same population as Carlow. Carlow finished 6th in Division 4. Do you think size is a cop out for Carlow also?

Carlow is a smaller version of Kildare.

Monaghan last year and the year before found ways to beat both Galway,Dublin to avoid the drop and probably wouldn't have matter who they played today as they'd find a way to win as they really come alive in round 7.

While Monaghan have admirable spirit and more than a few good players they'd have got it tough away against Mayo, if Mayo had needed the win as much as Monaghan.

Course they would have.

But if your survival on the final day depends on other results, then that’s on you and you alone.

——

Forker’s tackle was one of those things that happens. Looks bad in replays but if you’re playing a match and it happens, you shrug it off. The defender has no way of knowing if the attacker is going to go through him, around him or beneath him, so stands his ground. Nobody hurt. Move on.

WhoDat

• View Profile
« Reply #1805 on: Today at 12:21:26 AM »
Not a great result for Mayo today despite the Farney heroics.

Joe Brolly was just saying in the paper today that Mayo were now the real deal and I believed him upto 2pm.

Mayo effectively turned it into a challenge match. In saying that despite a good league when the likes of Kerry, Dublin, Galway to name three get up to speed Mayo won't be near the All Ireland in my opinion. Mayo have looked a fair bit ahead in conditioning, maybe only matched by Derry.

Kerry, Dublin and Galway don't have to play a Division One team (who retained their Division one status) in a Championship match in 2 weeks time.

Good point and it's probably the reason Mayo are a bit ahead. However my point was it's all about the All Ireland for Mayo and I don't think they'll be near it when the other contenders catch up by June, early July.

ah i think they will be. kerry don't look right to me and are an injury or two away from crisis, dublin lacking an identity and calling on old stalwarts reeks of desperation from dessie. don't see either getting over the line.

galway are going very well and in my opinion will win the championship. they are close to being the finished article. mayo could go close as i think a few of their players will prefer the drier ground come summer.

tyrone are there too. could take a scalp but don't see them finishing the job.

They (Mayo) are going in the right direction. There will always be a doubt, because they are Mayo. Just like Kerry always get mentioned in the business end because they are Kerry. Not sure about Galway. Next week will tell a small tale for both counties. Galway holding the advantage as they have a Plethora of weeks off after and can leave it all out on the Pitch!

Can't fault McStay so far. He has done rather well. Also his his PR skills are excellent (he's been at that stuff a long time). He knows the right things to say.

well for the best part of 10 years, mayo have been involved in the business end of championship. i believe they'll be there again this year. their squad looks on the young side for the most part so might still be a bit too green to get over the line, but they'll be there or thereabouts in my view.

kerry could get taken out early, i really could see them getting caught like that early on.

The Subbie

• View Profile
« Reply #1806 on: Today at 01:22:24 AM »
Monaghan are brutal. Add in the suspension of 2 players and McManus playing little to no football this last while. Armagh will be fine

Oooooo  :o  :o  :o  ;D ;D ;D