Garth Brooks and Croke Park : Boss to intervene?

Started by armaghniac, January 20, 2014, 01:13:53 PM

Am I right in saying that the Dublin City Manager who refused the gigs is neither elected nor a political appointment? 

If so what kind of 'democratic' society do we live in when one individual  has the power to make decisions such as the one he did, with no right of appeal?  Moreover how is said individual able to tell the Oirachtas that should he be Judicially reviewed he will use tax payers money to uphold his decision which seems contrary to the view of the elected city council?

Muck Savage

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2014, 08:34:52 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 15, 2014, 08:30:28 PM
Seriously has Garth brooks give a reasonable explanation why he cannot do 3 nites, as he was originally going to do 2? We blaming everybody under the moon but at the end of the day, brooks has not given a explanation why he cant do 3, so i leave the blame with him.
His reasoning is that he has (wrongly) sold tickets for 5 nights and people on 2 nights would lose out. Choosing which 2 nights to lose millions would be like choosing his favourite child.

So instead of looking after 3 kids and giving up 2 he decides to dump all 5.

Is there not some legal obgilation for him to play 3. He signed up to do them originally provided planning was given, then a 4th and 5th were added based on demand - again assuming planning was given. 1-3 got planning 4-5 didn't. So what is the legal status of him packing in the first 3?

This is a story of a lot of greedy people, everyone involved.

Quote from: moysider on July 16, 2014, 01:14:58 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 15, 2014, 10:24:20 PM
When was it actually applied for though?

5 gig event obviously. That is what was put to the council I assume. They hardly would put in a multiple choice 2/3/4 application? The DCC fucked up this big time by acting cute. They thought they would appease the residents that moan and get a compromise event on. Fair play to the yank. At least he saw through the usual Irish solution to an Irish problem. Bullshit. The problem was presented as a bully trying to get a way past legistlation. It turns out there was no legistlation to prevent the concerts! unbelievable. And it s as if he didn t know that before he made his decision. You couldn t make it up.
Dublin CC must be some rolling in cash.

Lets see.

Golden Goose: Listen Dublin/Ireland I can lay ye 5 golden eggs - all solid boss.

DCC: No. We can t cater with that amount of gold at all. 3 golden eggs is all we can deal with now. The country is awash with gold and we can do without the bother of much more.

Golden Goose: Well lads, its the five eggs or none. Else I ll have to lay my eggs elsewhere.

DCC: Keep yer gilden f**king eggs. We don t need them. We re a rich city already, we are. Besides, we don t like the sound of you re honks.

There was an application for 5 concerts, there were several objections (albeit some of them are now allegedly fraudulent) by the residents on the grounds that concerts on five consecutive nights would be too much of an imposition on their lives. The council took this into account and three concerts were granted.

If you compare it to an application for building a house - you apply to build a mansion on the top of a hill, the council review your application and any objections which come in and are likely to grant you permission for a bungalow off the crest of the hill - is this "f*cking up by acting cute"? Or following the planning guidelines and taking into account the views of stakeholders in the process??

References to how much money this was likely to generate are entirely irrelevant - the planning laws don't (and shouldn't) take into account how much money is likely to be generated from something. Or should we bend our laws any time someone comes knocking with a "golden egg"??

Exactly macdanger. Goldenegg irrelevant or you're illustrating you just flaunt laws for money.

Dcc getting a lot of flak here. Aiken promotions are the bad guys from what i can see.

Its simple
2 nights were scheduled -akins/gaa would have told Brooks dont worry about the licences we will sort it
tickets start to sell,  Brooks management see how well they sell, phone call to Akins to put on another night
They see that sales are still going well so this is where greed takes over by all involved. I have no doubt that it come from Brooks management to push for the as the extra capital would help with world tour. Aikens and the Gaa seen the pound signs and thought the council would have no choice but to allow the 5
They were wrong and the council have sent out a clear message that it doesnt matter how big u think you are they will not be pushed over.

Quote from: David McKeown on July 16, 2014, 01:46:46 AM
Am I right in saying that the Dublin City Manager who refused the gigs is neither elected nor a political appointment? 

If so what kind of 'democratic' society do we live in when one individual  has the power to make decisions such as the one he did, with no right of appeal?  Moreover how is said individual able to tell the Oirachtas that should he be Judicially reviewed he will use tax payers money to uphold his decision which seems contrary to the view of the elected city council?

You obviously never heard of the Mahon Tribunal.

Quote from: David McKeown on July 16, 2014, 01:46:46 AM

Should all planning applications go through the Dail?
Maybe we could just abolish all planning restrictions and biggest wallet wins.

Quote from: Hereiam on July 16, 2014, 11:42:59 AM
Its simple
2 nights were scheduled -akins/gaa would have told Brooks dont worry about the licences we will sort it
tickets start to sell,  Brooks management see how well they sell, phone call to Akins to put on another night
They see that sales are still going well so this is where greed takes over by all involved. I have no doubt that it come from Brooks management to push for the as the extra capital would help with world tour. Aikens and the Gaa seen the pound signs and thought the council would have no choice but to allow the 5
They were wrong and the council have sent out a clear message that it doesnt matter how big u think you are they will not be pushed over.

Can I just ask, why did Brooks ever stop playing his local bars? Why did Aiken move on from shows in parish halls? Why do I, and presumably you, work longer hours to earn more money than we need to survive?

I hate people talking absolute shit about 'greed'. Wake up, this is the world we live in, and if thats how you define greed, then we're all greedy.

THE MIGHTY QUINN

It all boils down to the begrudging attitude of some people. Rather than look at the rich man and think' I wanna be that man', better to look at him and think, ' I wanna get that b**tard'

Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on July 16, 2014, 01:05:43 PM
It all boils down to the begrudging attitude of some people. Rather than look at the rich man and think' I wanna be that man', better to look at him and think, ' I wanna get that b**tard'

I posted this a few weeks ago.

"From the very outside looking in, five nights appeared to be OTT, especially in light of the one direction concerts a few months ago.
I think part of whole mindset issue is the socialist type of mentality that exists in Ireland and other places in Europe.
I often get the impression that a lot, not all Irish people would prefer to see people in business fail rather than succeed."

Pauric Duffy's contribution to the Dail committee today is pretty damning of DCC.

The fact that DCC made a decision based on what included bogus complaints from local residents, as well as the fact that the man making the decision also had a personal interest in the area i.e. his son lives in the Croke Park area (according to RTE news last night), should be grounds enough for the decision to be scrapped.

Quote from: joemamas on July 16, 2014, 01:20:47 PM

I posted this a few weeks ago.

"From the very outside looking in, five nights appeared to be OTT, especially in light of the one direction concerts a few months ago.
I think part of whole mindset issue is the socialist type of mentality that exists in Ireland and other places in Europe.
I often get the impression that a lot, not all Irish people would prefer to see people in business fail rather than succeed."

This may be true. And I would add that in The States someone's business going bankrupt is seen as education, in Ireland it is seen as a failure label for life.

However there have to be limits. There is a process here, maybe it is flawed, but if Brooks continued adding concerts ad infinitum would it still be ok?

U2 only played 3 concerts in Croker maximum and never 3 in 3 nights (they played 3 in 4).

To be honest that is bullshit.

There's protocol to go through. Just because you have more money than other people or will generate more money doesn't make exception. If you make exception then you make one rule for one and not one rule for all. That's a bad precedent to set.

People have messed up here due to greed. That's it plain and simple.

There are begrudgers here who gave some guy money to go to court. Who these people are I've no idea. Perhaps they caused the whole thing but if it'd have been done right it'd never have been a problem.

Jeepers Creepers

Garth Brooks we are talking about here!?