GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Owen Brannigan on July 26, 2018, 07:41:44 PM

Title: McKenna takes a major swipe at Galway
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 26, 2018, 07:41:44 PM
Ewan McKenna has taken a fair shot at the gamesmanship of Galway and points to Paddy Tally as a factor in changing the nature of Galway's game.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-why-are-the-nasty-and-spiteful-tactics-in-gaa-right-now-passed-off-as-a-skill-37157511.html (https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-why-are-the-nasty-and-spiteful-tactics-in-gaa-right-now-passed-off-as-a-skill-37157511.html)
Title: Re: McKenna takes a major swipe at Galway
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 26, 2018, 07:42:46 PM
Yes BennyHarp, another thread on the ruination of the game!
Post by: Duine Eile on July 26, 2018, 07:45:32 PM
At least he didn't call us fancy dans, that would really have hurt. Also, who is Eoin Brannigan?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 26, 2018, 07:52:27 PM
Headline should read more like this:

Journalist struggling for relevance attempts to make up a sensationalist article in search of relevance

** See Bernard Flynn for further study
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 26, 2018, 07:54:01 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 26, 2018, 07:41:44 PM
Ewan McKenna has taken a fair shot at the gamesmanship of Galway and points to Paddy Tally as a factor in changing the nature of Galway's game.
The nature of Galway's game has changed since Kevin Walsh became manager, Tally only fine tuned things this year. The watershed moment for their county board was that heavy 2013 defeat to Mayo.
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2018, 10:04:52 PM
McKenna hates everything, everything is shite, hates life, hates himself. A nothing journalist, a cod, a fool.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2018, 10:26:38 PM
He hates you now.
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2018, 10:30:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2018, 10:26:38 PM
He hates you now.

He can join the queue. Kimmage is giving me loads on the other thread as well lol!
Post by: Main Street on July 26, 2018, 11:31:37 PM
I thought it a good article and reflected my exact thoughts about the Flynn sending off and also about the red card for Fintan Kelly in Monaghan's league game. At the time I thought it was farcical that the high tackle combined with a late deliberate hit on Kelly was ignored but focus went on Kelly's (alleged) retaliation which was enhanced by some Galway player in apparent agony on the turf.
In both those examples the refs had seen everything and chose their actions with deliberation.  There's a blatant dysfunction with refereeing of such incidents and Galway are exploiting it to some effect.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 26, 2018, 11:44:53 PM
There was nothing alleged about it, Kelly kicked Gary O'Donnell and deserved his red.
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2018, 04:04:24 AM
Quote from: trailer on July 26, 2018, 10:30:58 PM
He hates you now.

He can join the queue. Kimmage is giving me loads on the other thread as well lol!

Literally all but maybe two people don't agree with you.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2018, 06:51:24 AM
  https://twitter.com/JoeDromgoole/status/1022531276413317120?s=09    (https://twitter.com/JoeDromgoole/status/1022531276413317120?s=09)
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2018, 07:32:00 AM
Lord Linnane of Ballinderreen  said years ago that you win nothing without a few tinkers. Is any of this stuff new? Kilkenny and Mayo recently had extensive ball winning skills.
Post by: dublin7 on July 27, 2018, 07:32:44 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 27, 2018, 04:04:24 AM
He hates you now.

It must be tiring trailer carrying around that chip on your shoulder all the time.

He does have a point though that if  officials see 2 lads pulling out of each other they almost always take the easy out way out and hand out 2 yellow cards. A lot of the time it's players trying to make a run, being held and they end up in tussle through no fault of their own. It's way too easy for a player to get his marker booked in the GAA.
Post by: sid waddell on July 27, 2018, 07:59:45 AM
Who is Declan McCurry?

Is he anything to Darren McClure?
Post by: redhandefender on July 27, 2018, 09:57:08 AM
Trust the Monaghan clown up above to cry about his man getting sent off! McKenna must have some monaghan blood in him somewhere a complete moan!

Having read plenty of his articles I doubt hes ever kicked a ball. Has made a character of himself and sticking with it despite it making him look like a complete tool, just like brolly
Post by: Main Street on July 27, 2018, 11:23:20 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 26, 2018, 11:44:53 PM
There was nothing alleged about it, Kelly kicked Gary O'Donnell and deserved his red.
Some striking action with the foot, red card for sure, the galway player made a meal out of it and ref ignored both the high tackle and the late tackle on Kelly. As with a host of other incidents in GAA, the refs ignore the agressive targetting but focus on the last offence, the retaliation. The refs are not only endorsing the agressive goading but also rewarding it. I prefer the rugby attitude of dealing with both and the rugby ref taking a more serious stance re the the aggressor than the retaliation.
Post by: blanketattack on July 27, 2018, 11:56:09 AM
Being able to get an opponent sent off is now as an important a component of match preparation as kick out strategy and accurate forwards.
There are blank cheques arriving through Brian Dooher's letterbox as we speak.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 27, 2018, 02:24:09 PM
Gone are the days when the hard man on the team would hit a hard mostly fair belt, now its underhand toxic even verbal shit, any thing that will get an advantage and reading the reaction here to a very good and true article it reflects the general changes in society and attitudes, the fact that it is being coached and encouraged and is generally accepted as being smart reflects badly on our games  and people that condone it.
Galways record of having opposition players sent off in the current season is remarkable and maybe they will get their All-Ireland medals and the glow of such an achievement will mask the cheating and indecent behaviour that helped them achieve their goal. This very same behaviour is destroying our games and is a very poor model for our children whom our games are supposed to lead and inspire.
Mask it as you will, shoot the piano played if you wish but for the games sake and for the sake of the gaa patrons and members in general speak out and admit what is happening right in front of our very eyes. 
Post by: trailer on July 27, 2018, 02:54:58 PM
All teams cheat. Including Kildare. All teams want to get that extra edge. No one team is cleaner than the other. This is championship football. It's eat or be eaten.
McKenna is pissed as it was Kildare who were this weeks victims. He has a very clear agenda, not only against Galway but against the GAA in general. I wouldn't give the asshole the oxygen.
Post by: Throw ball on July 27, 2018, 03:09:28 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on July 27, 2018, 02:24:09 PM
Gone are the days when the hard man on the team would hit a hard mostly fair belt, now its underhand toxic even verbal shit, any thing that will get an advantage and reading the reaction here to a very good and true article it reflects the general changes in society and attitudes, the fact that it is being coached and encouraged and is generally accepted as being smart reflects badly on our games  and people that condone it.
Galways record of having opposition players sent off in the current season is remarkable and maybe they will get their All-Ireland medals and the glow of such an achievement will mask the cheating and indecent behaviour that helped them achieve their goal. This very same behaviour is destroying our games and is a very poor model for our children whom our games are supposed to lead and inspire.
Mask it as you will, shoot the piano played if you wish but for the games sake and for the sake of the gaa patrons and members in general speak out and admit what is happening right in front of our very eyes.

I agree with much of what you say. I was reading John Morrison in Gaelic Life yesterday and he was saying how children should be encouraged to show sportsmanship. That word seems to have gone missing in sport today. Picking on Galway alone though does seem a bit unfair.

As an aside Armagh and Tyrone under 20s were slaughtered for the melee earlier in the summer. We cannot do that and ignore goading, sly digs etc.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 27, 2018, 05:01:32 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 27, 2018, 02:54:58 PM
All teams cheat. Including Kildare. All teams want to get that extra edge. No one team is cleaner than the other. This is championship football. It's eat or be eaten.
McKenna is pissed as it was Kildare who were this weeks victims. He has a very clear agenda, not only against Galway but against the GAA in general. I wouldn't give the asshole the oxygen.
It happens to be Galway in the dock on this occasion, there are several more examples  of teams at this stuff some to a lesser extent, Galway have taken this to a level we have not seen for a few years because its constant from start to finish, the statement all teams cheat is paramount to comparing a petty criminal to a bank robber, making excuses for this filth in our game and decrying McKenna using his perceived agenda as an excuse does not change the fact that this problem exists and should be stamped out immediately.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 27, 2018, 05:11:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 27, 2018, 04:04:24 AM
He hates you now.

:-\
Post by: TheOptimist on July 27, 2018, 05:17:06 PM
Kildare can have no complaints after their gamesmanship up in Derry
Post by: Duine Eile on July 27, 2018, 05:45:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 27, 2018, 11:23:20 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 26, 2018, 11:44:53 PM
Some striking action with the foot, red card for sure, the galway player made a meal out of it and ref ignored both the high tackle and the late tackle on Kelly. As with a host of other incidents in GAA, the refs ignore the agressive targetting but focus on the last offence, the retaliation. The refs are not only endorsing the agressive goading but also rewarding it. I prefer the rugby attitude of dealing with both and the rugby ref taking a more serious stance re the the aggressor than the retaliation.

Some striking action with the foot, yes a kick! It happened in front of me, Gary O'Donnell was on the ground a bit of a scrap broke out and Kelly kicked G O'D in the arse, it was comical!
Post by: mup on July 27, 2018, 06:07:09 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on July 27, 2018, 05:17:06 PM

Was that in 2010 when we beat them by 11 points or this year when we beat them by 8?
Post by: TheOptimist on July 27, 2018, 06:21:36 PM
Quote from: mup on July 27, 2018, 06:07:09 PM

Was that in 2010 when we beat them by 11 points or this year when we beat them by 8?

It was this year when you best us by 8
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 27, 2018, 06:59:52 PM

I wasn't at it but I believe Kildare went up there determined not to be bullied like they were against Carlow and were expecting a traditional tough Derry battle. What transpired was that Derry had gone a bit soft and the battle was a bit one sided. Kildare should have got a couple of black cards but that is down to the referee. Mark Lynch was rightly sent off for stupidity.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 27, 2018, 08:11:01 PM
MDM might not be the most popular but this shows how far Galway have come in a short time from the days of Padriac Joyce.

https://twitter.com/JoeDromgoole/status/1022531276413317120?s=09  (https://twitter.com/JoeDromgoole/status/1022531276413317120?s=09)   
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on July 27, 2018, 09:19:33 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 27, 2018, 06:59:52 PM

I wasn't at it

Excellent contribution. Tom fool.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 28, 2018, 09:13:09 AM
Was at that Derry game and Kildare committed 5 head high tackles and dragged any player down bearing down on nets! I not mention the getting to know u bit at the start, can hardly cry when the other team does it on them!
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 31, 2018, 04:01:58 PM
I can't say I've paid too much attention to his ramblings in the past but is he always like this?

I saw on Twitter call Galway a massive group of cowards, a nasty bunch of cheats and topped it all off by calling Eoghan Kerin a low life. He's certainly gone well over the top. 

Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2018, 04:34:42 PM
While I was annoyed myself at the start, I think it's high time for Galway folk to stop giving that couch watching spoofer any more oxygen on social media, has he even attended a single Galway match this year I wonder? He's showed himself up for the hypocrite he is on his Twitter account since the "article" was published.  If he wants to have a crusade against "dark arts" or whatever name you wish to put on it then work away, he's just interested in running down a particular county, using deliberately inflammatory language to cause an affront, incite reactions and garner more page clicks, with the bonus of trying to set a narrative for their remaining championship games, presumably with the intention to undermine their chances. We've seen this same shtick umpteen times through the years and will no doubt again before the current inter county season is over.
No doubt he'll have another gleeful cut at the Galway footballers whenever their championship exit happens and best of luck to him with that, it's all he's got left GAA wise to look forward to this summer in fairness.
Post by: galwayman on July 31, 2018, 05:20:34 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2018, 04:34:42 PM
While I was annoyed myself at the start, I think it's high time for Galway folk to stop giving that couch watching spoofer any more oxygen on social media, has he even attended a single Galway match this year I wonder? He's showed himself up for the hypocrite he is on his Twitter account since the "article" was published.  If he wants to have a crusade against "dark arts" or whatever name you wish to put on it then work away, he's just interested in running down a particular county, using deliberately inflammatory language to cause an affront, incite reactions and garner more page clicks, with the bonus of trying to set a narrative for their remaining championship games, presumably with the intention to undermine their chances. We've seen this same shtick umpteen times through the years and will no doubt again before the current inter county season is over.
No doubt he'll have another gleeful cut at the Galway footballers whenever their championship exit happens and best of luck to him with that, it's all he's got left GAA wise to look forward to this summer in fairness.
This lad writes in his article about Tyrone's "Declan" McCurry and Galway's "Eoin" Brannigan.
Straight away that tells you all you need to know about his knowledge of gaelic football.
Waste of oxygen.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 02, 2018, 02:34:38 PM
I came across this quote from former Donegal defender Eamon McGee on the current Galway senior Football team.

"I watch the Galway footballers now & I'm starting to dislike them. That's a good sign.
They're annoying other teams & getting in their faces.
It's something Galway needed to do in order to compete.
They'l drive on and be fully focused now. They're in a place now where they don't give a damn about being liked. All they want is silverware.
Paddy Tally is being credited - or blamed! but this is Kevin Walsh's vision & Tally is only helping to facilitate it."

Post by: imtommygunn on August 02, 2018, 04:14:06 PM
In an argument with someone on twitter he has a picture of a galway guy (the FB I think) where he says this is evidence of the Galway full back punching the Kildare guy in the mouth.

The Galway full back is not punching the Kildare guy in the picture (he may have his finger in his mouth but that is a different story!).

The guy is an absolute idiot who is trying to gain attention for himself (again). You would think listening to him that Galway were the worst team that had ever played sport. I would doubt they're even the dirtiest team out there but that doesn't suit his story.
Post by: screenexile on August 02, 2018, 04:51:22 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 27, 2018, 06:59:52 PM

I wasn't at it but I believe Kildare went up there determined not to be bullied like they were against Carlow and were expecting a traditional tough Derry battle. What transpired was that Derry had gone a bit soft and the battle was a bit one sided. Kildare should have got a couple of black cards but that is down to the referee. Mark Lynch was rightly sent off for stupidity.

Indeed young Flynn was goaded into it but Lynch was sent off for stupidity when both did EXACTLY the same thing!!!!

Post by: MayomaninRos on August 02, 2018, 08:58:57 PM
I've seen Galway play live 3 times this year. They are one of the most if not the most cynical team I have ever seen and I've been going to games for 25 years. You need to be at a game to really appreciate it. Their off the ball stuff is constant and unrelenting. They are largely getting away with it though because they are Galway and they don't have a reputation for this kind of play. I have no problem with Galway adopting these tactics, what I have a problem with is the referee, his 2 linesmen and 4 umpires facilitating it. It is a good thing that Ewan is writing about and highlighting their antics because they need to be held to the same standard as everybody else. By the way I seen Kildare knock us out of the Championship and have no complaints about the way in which they play the game. They are far less versed in the "dark arts" in my humble opinion.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on August 02, 2018, 10:05:31 PM
Poor enough hatchet job from McKenna on Fitzmaurice today, trying to get revenge for O'Sé's hatchet job on Cian O'Neill the day before the Carlow game. Can't see it having the same effect.