Kerry V Dublin

Started by magickingdom, July 26, 2009, 06:51:09 PM

Quote from: Bogball XV on August 05, 2009, 12:52:16 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 05, 2009, 12:23:20 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 05, 2009, 12:19:50 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 05, 2009, 12:03:47 AM

So to be crude but what the f**k are you basing that on?  Dublin are in a tail spin, no underage success, no AI in years .no AI final is the same amount of years. The only glimmer is the back to back club All-Irelands and course half of these players are culchies .
That's bollox that half of the players are culchies - I don't think the Dubs are that far away, what you have to get the players to realise is that they have to make it happen, that they have to leave every ounce of effort in their being on that pitch, there's no point in running around half heartedly challenging and then coming in with dirty slaps later because you are all frustrated that you have fcuked up another year.  Just watch the tackling from Dublin in the first 30 secs of yesterday's game, it's pathetic (although the gooch goal should definitely have been a free out for his push on his marker, and who knows what way things would have gone then).

Poetic license . As for the rest blah ,blah, blah . I've been hearing that for 15 years.
I disagree, this is the first time in 15 years that you've got a few decent natural forwards, dublin's problem this past while is that they've not been finding any of these lads.  Remember, tis the best full forward line in football ;)
Great .I'll post the following in the herald tomorrow

Wanted 4 forwards, 2 midfielders and 6 backs .

Quote from: Gnevin on August 05, 2009, 12:58:04 AM

So to be crude but what the f**k are you basing that on?  Dublin are in a tail spin, no underage success, no AI in years .no AI final is the same amount of years. The only glimmer is the back to back club All-Irelands and course half of these players are culchies .
That's bollox that half of the players are culchies - I don't think the Dubs are that far away, what you have to get the players to realise is that they have to make it happen, that they have to leave every ounce of effort in their being on that pitch, there's no point in running around half heartedly challenging and then coming in with dirty slaps later because you are all frustrated that you have fcuked up another year.  Just watch the tackling from Dublin in the first 30 secs of yesterday's game, it's pathetic (although the gooch goal should definitely have been a free out for his push on his marker, and who knows what way things would have gone then).

Poetic license . As for the rest blah ,blah, blah . I've been hearing that for 15 years.
I disagree, this is the first time in 15 years that you've got a few decent natural forwards, dublin's problem this past while is that they've not been finding any of these lads.  Remember, tis the best full forward line in football ;)

a goalkeeper wouldn't do any harm either, cluxton is an annoying wee p***k and whilst he's not a bad shot stopper, he's nowhere near as good as he thinks he is.

paddypastit

orangema. Don't know where he came from but had cause to 'do business' with him a few years ago in respect of a work gig and he came across as insufferably arrogant. He writes about soccer and rugby also as an 'analyst' and IMO is just as clueless there but that particular condition doesn't seem to be either a failing or an impediment in his profession.

As for the Magee comment re Kennelly and the passing, I have to say that I thought the man doing most of the cross fireld passing was Galvin.  I recall three in the second half with Kennelly doing something similar once.  It may not always be pretty but you have to say that Galvin is one serious footballer.  Mind you I heard one lad in Croke Pk yesterday evening suggesting odds on himself and O'Leary lasting ten minutes on the field if they were to meet again in an AIFC!!

As for Dublin and the 'best full forward line' - in fairness the two Brogans and Davoren together might just havce that potential...

Alsoi, what odds Keaney and Ryan heading back to the hurling which was aftyer all their first game in both cases... I'd be surprised if Daly wasn't tipping them on the shoulder?

come disagree with me on http://gushtystuppencehapenny.wordpress.com/ and spread the word

Quote from: Bogball XV on August 05, 2009, 01:22:35 AM

a goalkeeper wouldn't do any harm either, cluxton is an annoying wee p***k and whilst he's not a bad shot stopper, he's nowhere near as good as he thinks he is.

Aye sure he won does 3 All stars by default . ::)

The Aristocrat

Well if Tyrone dont win, il be happy, jesus id even cheer for Meath against them.

Whelan- a true God, nice elbow. Should of hit him harder.

Thank you

Goodbye.

I just couldnt resist. 99% of Dubs are sound, but I just hate bullies and love to see them get their comeuppance!

Pure disaster for the Dubs but I have no doubt that they'll be back next year. I presume Jayo, Whelan and Ryan could call it a day?

They were caught badly today by a Kerry team on fire. No side in the country would have been able to match the form they were in.

1993-Cork scored 5-22 against Mayo in the Si Semi Final

1994-Mayo get beaten by Letrim in the Connaught Final

1996-Mayo are one hop of a ball away from lifting Sam.

I spoke to a bunch of Dubs and they think it will take 5 years to rebuild. Bollix-get a few new players and the right manager and you might be in with a shout next year. 

Dont stop believin.................

Quote from: tyssam5 on August 04, 2009, 07:47:13 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 04, 2009, 06:23:47 PM
Quote from: rrhf on August 04, 2009, 05:19:27 PM
After yesterday can we now dismiss the notion that Dublin Kerry was a close sporting rivalry.  Dublin have had the dubious pleasure of being Kerrys bitch for the last 60 years.   Reminds me of the Monty Python sketch in the "meaning of life" when the teachers play the kids and kick them up and down the field.  Kerry will always find teams to bully and humiliate.  Thank God Tyrones not one of them.   

you haven't a clue what your on about. dublin have something like 22 ai's tyrone have 3 and thats the maths at the minute. if tyrone win another 3 in the next decade then maybe they'll be something more in terms of rivals but thats a bit off yet. playing dublin will always be as good as it gets for kerry..

as for dublin yesterday people are reading way to much into it, they didnt become bad footballers yesterday it just didnt happen for them on the day and we've all been that soldier, kerry got walloped/hocked/humiliated by meath a few short years ago. thats football. if they meet next year it could be a different result

I mind them all like it was only yesterday!
1899 (the great 3 in row side!)

1908 (3 in a row!)

1923 (3 in a row!)

In fairness the Dubs were good in 70's as well and I actually do remember their last AI in 1995 when they put Tyrone to the sword! Hope that roll-of-honour cheers them up at this dark time!

Would you listen to the aristocrats and their three AI's - savour this period - how did the previous 117 years work out for ye?

QuoteWould you listen to the aristocrats and their three AI's - savour this period - how did the previous 117 years work out for ye?

More interested in the next 117 years to be honest and I am sure Tyrone will clock up more All Irelands in that time, and on recent showings alot more than Dublin will.

What's this thread about?

Quote from: Zapatista on August 05, 2009, 08:44:21 AM
What's this thread about?

Bitter gobshites showing their class?

Listen with interest to the despair of the Dublin fans and maybe thats the start of the long road back.  For those who think Dublin need footballers they have again missed the point.  Dublin need to reinvent a system of play which means they dont lose big leads quickly against good teams and let big teams build up a head of steam against them.  Put it like this if Mc geeney had the Dublin gig they would have played a tighter more defensive game with fast well supported attacks.  No one can tell me theres less talent in Dublin than Kildare (underage success?) But when KIldare play for Mc Geeney they all look good, because they know what they are doing.  If you blame players in this instance players who have deservedly dominated their provincial championship for 5 years and have brought their county to having a punt at all Ireland success.   There are obvious weaknesses in the lay out of this Dublin team.  I see plenty of flair and by God it looks good when the goings good but who are the worker bees - this to me was why Shane Ryan was outsatanding over the last few years - he stood out with his work ethic.  Look at  Galvin, Dooher - absolute heartbeat of their teams.  This is wher it all needs to start, theres always room for the wonderful skills of the Brogans.  Cluxton is a rock, Bastick was an accident waiting to happen.  I think the management need to look at themselves and if they feel they can input.  I see Dubs questioning winning Leinster and its usefulness and blaming the extra week before the Tyrone game last year.  There was no delay this year for Kerry and the same thing happened.  Nobody learned and I have no doubt that the management had scoured the county looking for talent, maybe they simply didnty notice the worker bees and just went for higher profile men.  Next year Davoren will be back, Ryan needs to be talked to, Id talk to whelan next year as well, beacuse he dosent deserve to go out like that - hes not a starter but he can contribute.  After Davoren was injured could Whelan have contributed at f/f with the Brogans around him.     If Mc Geeney had mangaed Dublin or Mickey Harte or possibly Jack O Connor then they may well have taken Kerry on Monday - they certainly would have made an aifinal over the past 5 years.  Armagh 02, Mayo 06, Tyrone 05 were all there for the taking at stages The championship is never as interesting after the Dubs leave.  I also belive that they fell foul of a massive Kerry PR operation involving punditry management and players but thats not my story to tell.      

Quote from: Gnevin on August 05, 2009, 01:52:46 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 05, 2009, 01:22:35 AM

Aye sure he won does 3 All stars by default . ::)
they like to throw allstars to provinical winners from time to time and with cluxtons showboating he gets noticed.  Nah, seriously, he's decent enough, but his attitude seems to be all wrong, always running out to get involved etc.  It's a personal thing, I just don't like the cut of his jib!

Most people are expecting Jayo and Whelo to retire - why would they ? I'd say they'll go for 6 Leinsters in a row. Create more records.

By the way, how many championship matches has Jayo played ?