Recent posts

General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by Captain Scarlet - Today at 07:44:27 PM
I am not sure where to stand on Poch at Chelsea. Some fans on the Guardian who seem to know their stuff are heavily critical of him and his choices, but they have bought some absolute tools.
I mean there seem to be a lot of unlikeable people with them and the money spent doesn't mean they are, or ever will be, decent players.

It's like they bought a load of Antonys. A lad who had a stint and then got mad money, but can't actually perform week in week out.

Chelsea will have another mad clear-out and buy another load of talent who are dirt.

Is there any hope of a City slip?
General discussion / Re: Name your three favourite ...
Last post by armaghniac - Today at 07:21:41 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on Today at 05:34:35 PMUnder Pressure, clear no.1. Understated and elegant composition ramped up with a roaring baseline.

Crazy Little Thing Called Love, just a genius song. Plenty of songs have wanted to be it. But nothing sounds like it.

Not sure anyone could really leave Bohemian Rhapsody out. It and Queen are symbiotic.

Not every day that we agree, but this is spot on.
GAA Discussion / Re: Connacht U20 and U17 champ...
Last post by Blowitupref - Today at 07:16:54 PM
15 minutes played in the Connacht U20 Semi final. A flying start for Galway.

Galway 0-10 Sligo 0-1.

Half time Galway 0-13 Sligo 1-2.  Last score of the half a Sligo goal.
General discussion / Re: The DUP thread
Last post by dec - Today at 06:43:09 PM
with his christian fish symbol

General discussion / Re: The DUP thread
Last post by armaghniac - Today at 06:37:10 PM
Quote from: marty34 on Today at 05:19:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on Today at 03:31:17 PM''His wife Eleanor Donaldson, 58, is facing four charges including aiding and abetting the offence.''

Does that mean turning a blind eye to what was going on?

I've noticed that none of the papers are referring to him as ''Sir''

Does he still get paid as a MP etc.?

He hasn't yet been convicted of anything. This will take a while, and there may well be an election before this process takes its course. MPs are eligible to receive a loss-of-office payment if they lose at an election, but I suppose he would have to run in the election to get that. There is also a winding-up payment to close the office etc,. he might not get that if he resigns so better to wait for an election.
General discussion / Re: Overused words
Last post by AustinPowers - Today at 06:33:24 PM
"Staycation"

Feck,  but  that term  does my head in
GAA Discussion / Re: Murder of a GAA Chairman
Last post by Itchy - Today at 06:26:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on Today at 09:23:40 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on Today at 12:45:04 AM
Quote from: paddyjohn on April 23, 2024, 09:11:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 23, 2024, 03:00:44 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 23, 2024, 02:19:48 PMI remember at the time it sent chills through the whole  nationalist community. Just listening to Talkback and Trevor Birney talking about and how attacking someone like Sean Brown was a deliberate ploy as he was decent and could not be associated with any paramilitary organisation. It was purely to put fear and Terror through a whole community by striking at its centre.

We had just won the AI and had beaten Bellaghy in the Ulster final before Christmas 1996. There was a crew of us living in Belfast and we had close relationships on and off the field with a lot of the Bellaghy lads. It struck hard. I remember travelling home at the time and we regularly changed out pick up spots etc. Going to matches in Lurgan and that was always a concern as well. How the f**k was that normal? 

Unfortunately we normalised it at the time and adopted

My dad handed me the book The Shankill butchers when it came out

Made me read it before I headed out that weekend, needless to say that put the willies up me for that period of heading out! 

Absolutely horrible book. Really tough. I read the book called committee. Really opened my eyes as a teenager growing up.

Only policeman you trust is a dead one.

Haven't read the Shankill butchers but did read the committee.
Certain well know  car dealerships at the fore.
If I remember right they have the oath taken by orange order members in the back cover too.

McPhilemy later had to retract on any involvement by those two and it cost him a few quid too from recollection. It was very messy as Trimble also took them to court too I believe. Must be 30 years ago!

I think Sean got a few himself

https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/mar/31/northernireland.sarahhall
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by tbrick18 - Today at 06:00:13 PM
Quote from: grounded on Today at 05:48:07 PM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 10:24:41 AMI dont think Mickey Harte will be too upset that Derry are out of the Ulster. They have the medals from the last 2 years in their pockets. Its all about SAM for them now. They get a nice 4 week break to get themselves ready. I would not be writing them off at all.

100% correct.

I really hope this is the case.
The weight of expectation will have lightened a bit after that defeat.
But time will tell what it has done to the players in terms of confidence. MH needs to learn to change tactics in-game if we are to have a serious chance at it.
GAA Discussion / Re: Murder of a GAA Chairman
Last post by tbrick18 - Today at 05:57:40 PM
This sad case is just an example of the norm with regards to policing at that time and for decades before it.
Makes it all the more satisfying how the political landscape has changed here since that time.

The Brown family have had a lot to endure and unfortunately for them it's difficult to see how they ever get closure let alone justice.
British government, even today despite the changes, only looking out for themselves and their own rather than everyone they are meant to govern equally. I can only assume some senior tory/military names would be in the frame should the detail come out.
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by grounded - Today at 05:48:07 PM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 10:24:41 AMI dont think Mickey Harte will be too upset that Derry are out of the Ulster. They have the medals from the last 2 years in their pockets. Its all about SAM for them now. They get a nice 4 week break to get themselves ready. I would not be writing them off at all.

100% correct.