GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Derry => Topic started by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 08:47:54 AM

Title: There,ll never be a hurl in Bellaghy
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 08:47:54 AM
County chairman (Seamus Mc Cloy) declares there, ll never be a hurling stick in Bellagy. What are ye afraid of ???
Title: Re: There,ll never be a hurl in Bellaghy
Post by: Overthebar! on September 04, 2009, 09:16:48 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 08:47:54 AM
County chairman (Seamus Mc Cloy) declares there, ll never be a hurling stick in Bellagy. What are ye afraid of ???

tell us more here ha ha derry...
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 10:02:25 AM
The answer is when you look at the clubs who have both. We would rather be specialists in one than average[or below average in two].
Post by: cameltohill on September 04, 2009, 10:09:47 AM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 10:02:25 AM
The answer is when you look at the clubs who have both. We would rather be specialists in one than average[or below average in two].

ill take the bait here.

bellaghy are by no means a specialist football club. a distinctly average football team in the decline if you ask me...
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 04, 2009, 10:18:38 AM
Quote from: cameltohill on September 04, 2009, 10:09:47 AM

ill take the bait here.

bellaghy are by no means a specialist football club. a distinctly average football team in the decline if you ask me...

these words have been used a lot recently, a semi-final next week would be a decline that Swatragh would love.
Post by: orangeman on September 04, 2009, 10:19:16 AM
I know a good few Hurls down tround there.
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 10:32:56 AM
Quote from: Overthebar! on September 04, 2009, 09:16:48 AM

tell us more here ha ha derry...
.This was a by quote by Seamus Mc Cloy to a very well known Lavey dual player. He also went on to declare that Bellagy had the most county c,ships in Derry. He was corrected later that week at the Lavey annual dinner that Lavey had more... 5 football, 17 hurling, 15 camogie...etc. Howls of laughter ensued
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2009, 10:37:04 AM
I always thought that Bellaghy was a fairly big club.

What sort of numbers of adult playing members would you be talking about?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 04, 2009, 10:38:21 AM

and damm right he is.

burn the hurls
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 10:40:31 AM
Big numbers but not alot of men Johhnyc.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 04, 2009, 10:40:51 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 04, 2009, 10:37:04 AM
I always thought that Bellaghy was a fairly big club.

What sort of numbers of adult playing members would you be talking about?

we have 2 senior teams (3 until recently but the county board fcuked that up)and underage right down to u/6
Post by: Mario on September 04, 2009, 10:43:09 AM
We are good at both
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 10:45:28 AM
As the Big Show says " Gaelic footballs like homosexuality... ok among consenting adults, but should be discouraged among children".
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 04, 2009, 10:46:35 AM
Quote from: Mario on September 04, 2009, 10:43:09 AM
We are good at both

do you think so
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 10:49:30 AM
HERE HERE Mario. Da quadruple... minor football and hurling senior football and hurling. yeeehaa
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:19:51 AM
Anyone who would even attempt to equate a hurling or a camogie title with a senior football title in Derry is seriously deluded. A hurling title would equal a junior championship and a camogie would be a junior reserve title.
By the way, where has Max gone when you need him most?
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:32:02 AM
tell it to Brian Cody tone
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 11:33:59 AM
To my mind clubs like Lavey and Dungiven/Kevin Lynches are the best clubs in derry in terms of their GAA ethos.

For years they have stood strongly for both codes rather than take the easier road of focusing on one.

They are the better gaels for having followed the vision of Michael Cusack et al in the 'preservation and cultivation of national pastimes'.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 04, 2009, 11:34:24 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:32:02 AM

i think he means a hurling title within derry,regarded as much the same as a football title in kilkenny
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:37:10 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 11:33:59 AM
To my mind clubs like Lavey and Dungiven/Kevin Lynches are the best clubs in derry in terms of their GAA ethos.

For years they have stood strongly for both codes rather than take the easier road of focusing on one.

They are the better gaels for having followed the vision of Michael Cusack et al in the 'preservation and cultivation of national pastimes'.

In a word
"BALLS"
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:37:54 AM
touche Drum lol
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:39:52 AM
Coleraine too Whiskey credit to ye
Post by: screenmachine on September 04, 2009, 11:41:38 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:32:02 AM

Brian Cody is involved with hurling at Premier League Level.  We are dealing with Vauxhall Conference Level in Derry to be honest.  It always riled me at a hurling game when say a corner back for example got the ball and pucked it down the field say 20 or 30 yards.  You'd get the odd shout from the crowd, 'That's the hurlin'.  Now if we're congratulating Senior hurlers for being able to stike a ball 20 yards then it shows the level we're dealing with.

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 04, 2009, 10:18:38 AM
Quote from: cameltohill on September 04, 2009, 10:09:47 AM

ill take the bait here.

these words have been used a lot recently, a semi-final next week would be a decline that Swatragh would love.

Don't get carried away Hoof, ye's have played three second division outfits to get to this stage, your hardly world beaters but time will tell.  IMO there'll be an average side in the final this year with yourselves and the Loup trudging your way to the semis, two teams in decline if you ask me but sure good luck to the pair of ye's!  ;)
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:43:15 AM
Sure they are two different clubs in Dungiven... St,Canices/Kevin Kynches... two different clubs, two different pitches... both clubs always fighting with eachother! And then throw in your soccer club!  ;D
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 11:44:45 AM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:37:10 AM

In a word
"BALLS"

slightly more eloquent than parroting the number of football titles bellaghy have won but still poor enough retort.

you are the poorer gael for abandoning your national heritage for the soft option of playing football
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:46:35 AM
Derry football have cornerbacks who haven,t kicked the ball in four years. Maybe it should be called handball lol.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:48:52 AM
No wonder the GAA is in the position in Derry that it is at the moment when you have people from Coleraine/ Portstewart lecturing Bellaghy on National Heritage!  ;D
The next thing you'll have someone from Steelstown or Limavady! ;D
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:51:20 AM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:43:15 AM
Sure they are two different clubs in Dungiven... St,Canices/Kevin Kynches... two different clubs, two different pitches... both clubs always fighting with eachother! And then throw in your soccer club!  ;D

I see, no response Ha Ha! Truth begining to hurt!
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:53:24 AM
all the best players on dual teams football squads play hurling. I rest my case.
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 11:58:43 AM
The deafening sound of silenceTone
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:59:57 AM
Just to requote McCloy " There'll never be a hurl in Bellaghy"
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:00:24 PM
sure only a simple fellow would proclaim himself the greater gael because his club won a lock of football titles.

the gaa was established to preserve our culture and heritage in the face of adversity

bellaghy have abandoned their national heritage for the simple path, dominion of one code - ye are the poorer cousins of the derry gaa fraternity
Post by: theskull1 on September 04, 2009, 12:01:00 PM

And that is the truth

Football people who say "burn the hurls" cannot be considered as "real GAA" folk in terms of the ethos of the orginisation. The biggist threat to hurling doesn't come from soccer or rugby by from people who consider themselves to be GAA men.

But lets face it winning is more important to these people than an upholding any ethos
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:01:29 PM
How many were at the semi finals in Celtic Park last Sunday? Embarrassing!
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:03:56 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:00:24 PM
sure only a simple fellow would proclaim himself the greater gael because his club won a lock of football titles.

the gaa was established to preserve our culture and heritage in the face of adversity
bellaghy have abandoned their national heritage for the simple path, dominion of one code - ye are the poorer cousins of the derry gaa fraternity

Don't make me fecking laugh.
Bog men!
This is the 21st century!
Move on!
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:05:49 PM
More than was at the football the week before. Alot of those real gaels will also be there on the 13th to watch the football also.
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:07:21 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:01:29 PM

less in number, but greater gaels all!

football is the simple sport for the simple folk - hence the high numbers.

Like viewing figures for the x-factor, quantity does not always mean quality  ;D
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:08:13 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:05:49 PM
More than was at the football the week before. Alot of those real gaels will also be there on the 13th to watch the football aslo.

You are the parasites of the GAA. Use the money made by the footballers! No wonder Dungiven call themselves the Magpies!  ;D
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:10:14 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:03:56 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:00:24 PM

Don't make me fecking laugh.
Bog men!
This is the 21st century!
Move on!

you should take your own advice when proclaiming the greatness of bellaghy!  ;D
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:10:25 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:07:21 PM

Like viewing figures for the x-factor, quantity does not always mean quality  ;D
Bullshit.. any game that uses weapons and you have to wear helmets can't be called a sport! ;D
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2009, 12:12:47 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 11:59:57 AM

This man is currently county chairman I believe.

He's obviously entitled to his opinion but it should in no way cloud his judgement in such a post as he has to be supportiive of all codes under his jurisdiction and the way club hurling fixtures have been handled in Derry not to mention Brian Magillians outburst last year at how the county hurling team was treated you'd have to question him on that.
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:13:11 PM
The county boards biggest expenditure is the county football team. a waste of money. too many bellaghy men involved to be successful. don,t waste any more money on them . buy hurls for the bellaghy children instead.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:13:50 PM
Have a think about Derry Hurling!

Everybody south of the border stuffs Antrim.#

Antrim stuffs Down

Down Stuffs Derry

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Give it up and stop spending our money which could be used to develop football!
Post by: Franko on September 04, 2009, 12:13:58 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:10:25 PM

Bullshit.. any game that uses weapons and you have to wear helmets can't be called a sport! ;D

Aha... so thats the issue... come on tfal, admit it, ye wouldnt have the balls for it...!!  :D :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 04, 2009, 12:15:07 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:08:13 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:05:49 PM
More than was at the football the week before. Alot of those real gaels will also be there on the 13th to watch the football aslo.

You are the parasites of the GAA. Use the money made by the footballers! No wonder Dungiven call themselves the Magpies!  ;D

I presume you are just trying to be controversial, a bit silly imo.

the whole hurling v football debate is also daft, as despite having much the same rules, they are very different games.
You just cannot compare.

Ha Ha Derry might be a bit of a headbanger but he is merely pointing out that for whatever reasons, Bellaghy dont and wont play hurling.

You could argue that for a team solely concentrating on the one game, they should be winning championships. But that would be glossing over the complexity of whats involved in teams winning championships.

The same batches of players in the dual clubs generally play football and hurling. I dont see any rows between the KL's and Canices in dungiven, they were sharing pitches a month ago so unless all has fallen through since then, this level of symbiotic cooperation remains.

Lastly - I've heard the big show say a lot of things - havent heard him say 'its my round lads' for a wee while !  ;) :D
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:16:37 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:10:25 PM

verily.... it is greater than sport. we dont need a crowd of spectators to take pride in coming through a battle of a hurling game.  ;D

not footballers merely but hurlers as well. not hurlers merely but footballers as well  ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 04, 2009, 12:17:26 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:13:50 PM
Have a think about Derry Hurling!

Everybody south of the border stuffs Antrim.#

Antrim stuffs Down

Down Stuffs Derry

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Give it up and stop spending our money which could be used to develop football!
then theres the bellaghy co board chairman that wont give money to the Derry hurlers to improve upon that record ! (which they have done in recent times -with KL's unlucky not to win an ulster title and the ensuing antrim champions not far off winning through to the AI finals themselves afterwardss - so the standard of hurling in Derry by the KL's at least - is obv not that bad!)

Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:18:01 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 04, 2009, 12:12:47 PM

This man is currently county chairman I believe.

He's obviously entitled to his opinion but it should in no way cloud his judgement in such a post as he has to be supportiive of all codes under his jurisdiction and the way club hurling fixtures have been handled in Derry not to mention Brian Magillians outburst last year at how the county hurling team was treated you'd have to question him on that.

Don't start us on McGilligan.... he has been an embarassment to the GAA in Derry over the last few years with his outbursts. McCloy should have suspended him last year.
Post by: theskull1 on September 04, 2009, 12:18:32 PM
A flippant comment was used to bring up a very serious point. tones want to stick with the flippant rather than deal with the serious point. No point discussing with dead head like that
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:21:10 PM
bellaghy 'men' wouldn't have the guts to take a rap across the knuckles on a cold february evening in fuckknowswhere in the ulster league.

your 21 titles would be given little respect then, TFAL  ;D
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:22:02 PM
he buys a round in mc reynolds every year after the county final every year lynchboy. you musta missed the monday session.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:25:48 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on September 04, 2009, 12:21:10 PM
bellaghy 'men' wouldn't have the guts to take a rap across the knuckles on a cold february evening in fuckknowswhere in the ulster league.

your 21 titles would be given little respect then, TFAL  ;D

You boys stick with your ulster hurling league, we'll stick at what we do best....... WIN SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIPS!
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:27:19 PM
derrys last and only all ireland football title was backboned and i really mean backboned by hurlers like mc gilligan. since they have done away with the dual player they are not compeditive.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 04, 2009, 12:28:28 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:22:02 PM
he buys a round in mc reynolds every year after the county final every year lynchboy. you musta missed the monday session.
I'd be a happy boy too if I only paid for a round once a year !

Only joking - Big show's a gent.
Post by: JohnDenver on September 04, 2009, 12:29:49 PM
If you's are going to shout about supporting GAA heritage on all fronts then you have to include Scór, handball and rounders all into that bracket.

You could say that as bellaghy have a handball alley then they are doing as much as a team with only football and hurling.

There are very little clubs who would have accomodated all five aspects.  I think Lissan would be the closest but AFAIK they don't have a handball alley anymore.
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:31:22 PM
were you at the semis lynchboy?
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:33:01 PM
dungiven have all but the rounders.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 12:45:30 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:33:01 PM
dungiven have all but the rounders.

What they lack in rounders, they make up for in headers!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 04, 2009, 01:07:47 PM
I Remember big red, Mal McTaggart from Dunloy, married to a Bellaghy woman, who came over a number of years ago and tried to get it going, but i just never took off. I love the game myself, and there will be as many in the bar in Sunday watching the AI as there will be for the football, myself included (and drumanee)
Post by: KingLarsson on September 04, 2009, 01:13:25 PM
Hurlin is for gaylords! Its just crazy cricket!!

UP DA TONES!!!!!!!
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 01:27:46 PM
Quote from: KingLarsson on September 04, 2009, 01:13:25 PM
Hurlin is for gaylords! Its just crazy cricket!!

UP DA TONES!!!!!!!

My sentiments exactly Larsonn  ;D ;D
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 01:29:55 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 04, 2009, 01:07:47 PM
I Remember big red, Mal McTaggart from Dunloy, married to a Bellaghy woman, who came over a number of years ago and tried to get it going, but i just never took off. I love the game myself, and there will be as many in the bar in Sunday watching the AI as there will be for the football, myself included (and drumanee)

Why did it not take off....... because no one in Bellaghy liked playing it.

Of course everyone will watch the AI final... the two best teams.

Try watching Derry play Armagh!!!
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2009, 01:42:07 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast link=topic=13645.msg635400#msg635400
/quote]

Tried watching Tyrone V Derry in casement this year, even Brolly was struggling for positives in the face of Spillane's anti northern barrage.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 04, 2009, 01:43:37 PM
some derry v armagh football matches havent been powerful either
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 04, 2009, 01:45:01 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 04, 2009, 12:31:22 PM
were you at the semis lynchboy?
couldnt make it - we had a match ourselves. Will be at the final.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 04, 2009, 01:47:02 PM
folks its pointless trying to compare two different games like football and hurling.

as for either being entertaining - well the teams dont go out to entertain. they all go out to win
- its incidental if the game happens to be entertaining !
Post by: Nemo on September 04, 2009, 02:40:27 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 01:29:55 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 04, 2009, 01:07:47 PM

Why did it not take off....... because no one in Bellaghy liked playing it.

Of course everyone will watch the AI final... the two best teams.

you mean they couldnt play it, unlike football its a much harder to get a grasp off.

as someone said it a bit daft trying to compare two different games.

IMO the reason its more popular in Ulster is cause its much easier to play and is promoted much more widely than Hurling.
Post by: theskull1 on September 04, 2009, 03:09:32 PM

Hurling
Seriously slow learning curve which requires persistence and dedication (i.e long term commitment to keep at it from the parents) in the early years before a kid "gets it"
Requires specialist coaching skills, making it harder to introduce into a club for the first time
More expensive for both club and parents (balls, sticks, helmets)

Football
Football can be fun from the off....BECAUSE the kid can do it from the off. Not to say it doesn't require commitment to be good at it but a kid finds the game easier to pick up.

If you've played both at the right standard, regardless of medals won, hurling is the more enjoyable to play when played right. I don't know many dual players who would say different
Post by: Spirit of 94 on September 04, 2009, 03:35:04 PM
http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_jivAa_mSkDM/SnAS8sZptII/AAAAAAAAAiQ/5e1g7ibaVKE/s400/007.jpg&imgrefurl=http://derrycoaching.blogspot.com/2009/07/gaelic-start-taster-camp-visits.html&usg=__KE92wVIYzNn7pC7PrJQPp4VrO0k=&h=300&w=400&sz=17&hl=en&start=2&um=1&tbnid=pWCrMv6zUfOgEM:&tbnh=93&tbnw=124&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dbellaghy%2Bhurling%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26um%3D1

Ahem.  :D  :D
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 03:45:53 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 04, 2009, 03:09:32 PM

Hurling
Seriously slow learning curve which requires persistence and dedication (i.e long term commitment to keep at it from the parents) in the early years before a kid "gets it"
Requires specialist coaching skills, making it harder to introduce into a club for the first time

Football
Football can be fun from the off....BECAUSE the kid can do it from the off. Not to say it doesn't require commitment to be good at it but a kid finds the game easier to pick up.

If you've played both at the right standard, regardless of medals won, hurling is the more enjoyable to play when played right. I don't know many dual players who would say different

Absolute Balls!
Much more difficult to play football.
Compare...
A small ball which can be held in palm of hand and therefore impossible to lose possession.
It is able to be hit with a large stick so can be sent long distances.
Can be thrown up and hit with the same hand
can be kicked and even thrown into the goals
you are allowed to run as far as you like.
pucks out don't have to be taken of the ground
you dont have to bend below waist high to pick it up.
a well trained monkey to play that game
come to think of it............. ;D ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 04, 2009, 03:50:25 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 03:45:53 PM

Hurling

Football

Absolute Balls!
Much more difficult to play football.
Compare...
A small ball which can be held in palm of hand and therefore impossible to lose possession.
It is able to be hit with a large stick so can be sent long distances.
Can be thrown up and hit with the same hand
can be kicked and even thrown into the goals
you are allowed to run as far as you like.
pucks out don't have to be taken of the ground
you dont have to bend below waist high to pick it up.
a well trained monkey to play that game
come to think of it.............
;D ;D
sounds like its a game perfectly earmarked for yourself !

sure go on and show them all how easy it is ! ! !
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 03:58:53 PM
Curling is more exciting!! ;D
Post by: Franko on September 04, 2009, 04:51:31 PM

Hurling
Requires bravery  :)

Football

Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 04, 2009, 05:11:29 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on September 04, 2009, 04:00:49 PM
TFAL I didnt realise it was possible to make yourself a bigger cnut that you already have displayed but it seems possible, I recall many Bellaghy men coming to us to to play hurling in the past so Mc Cloy is talking through his arse when its clear young fella in Bellaghy want to play hurling, also, as for Camogie your girls could only dream of the success of Lavey Camogiers 3 Derry's in a row going for their 2nd ulster in a row.

Bellaghy might be a more successful Football team than Lavey but we are 3 times more successful a club as Bellaghy.
[/b][/size]
Southderry..... 1.Careful with the language
                      2. Dream on son and stop embarrassing yourself and the people of Lavey
Post by: truebluewolfetone on September 04, 2009, 07:12:11 PM
THERE IS PLENTY OF HURLS FLOATIN ABOUT BELLAGHY,,, I KNOW A PAIR OF LADS WHO PLAYED SENIOR HURLING FOR SWATRAGH, ONE HAD TO QUIT BECAUSE OF SERIOUS INJURY, THE OTHER WON A LEAGUE AND ULSTER LEAGUE MEDALS LAST SEASON UP THERE  ;D
Post by: Two Hands FFS on September 04, 2009, 07:48:26 PM
Sure didnt the current Bellaghy manager help lead a school Hulring team an All Ireland Colleges in the past year??? I'd say that be as close as he'll get to an All Ireland
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 04, 2009, 10:26:54 PM
Didn't the silkily skilled footballer, but mediocre manager Damien Cassidy wield the hurl in his youth?

A boy in work says that Cass played for a well-known neighbouring club and may even have played hurling for Derry also.
Post by: the green man on September 05, 2009, 12:40:08 AM
In fairness to Bellaghy, they are average at the old football carry on, which they will admit to themselves. When it comes to pure GAA terms they are quite remedial. The first club to ditch hurling, and the first club to take 'the soup' and ditch the language.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 05, 2009, 12:41:30 AM

Hurlings loss i'm sure  ;D
Post by: the green man on September 05, 2009, 12:50:55 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on September 04, 2009, 10:26:54 PM
Didn't Damien Cassidy wield the hurl in his youth?

Sure he's half north antrim himself anyway. Phonsie wouldn't have had it any other way

EDIT: can we not have this in the Derry thread?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 05, 2009, 09:01:51 AM
Quote from: the green man on September 05, 2009, 12:40:08 AM
In fairness to Bellaghy, they are average at the old football carry on, which they will admit to themselves. When it comes to pure GAA terms they are quite remedial. The first club to ditch hurling, and the first club to take 'the soup' and ditch the language.

do you really want to get into a argument about "taking the soup"? ;)
Post by: Captain Black on September 05, 2009, 04:27:02 PM
McCloy censors referees too, time to get him out.
Post by: RedDragon on September 05, 2009, 04:36:40 PM
wat does taking the soup mean??
Post by: under the bar on September 06, 2009, 01:34:05 AM

Quotewat does taking the soup mean??

Red Dragon it refers to famine times when the irish dissenter could go to the local church and receive a bowl of soup in return for denouncing their faith.  Explains by and large why Donegal, Tyrone & South Derry remained true but impoverished whilst Armagh & Down prospered in servitude to the crown.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 07, 2009, 11:13:48 AM
After watching the AI final yesterday, could some of you hurling people inform of why there is any need for a referee in that game, other than throwing in the ball at the start of each half of course.
Post by: theskull1 on September 07, 2009, 12:16:21 PM
Fair play to you for sticking it out the whole way through, to ponder that one
Post by: cameltohill on September 07, 2009, 12:18:01 PM
tones have you ever kicked a football for bellaghy?
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 07, 2009, 02:26:33 PM
Quote from: cameltohill on September 07, 2009, 12:18:01 PM

did I ever kick a ball for Bellaghy? Let me tell you, I can hardly walk with the weight of medals in my pocket!  ;D. Only for me Damian cassidy wouldn't have been half the footballer.. I did all the donkey work.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2009, 03:42:25 PM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on September 07, 2009, 02:26:33 PM
Quote from: cameltohill on September 07, 2009, 12:18:01 PM

did I ever kick a ball for Bellaghy? Let me tell you, I can hardly walk with the weight of medals in my pocket!  ;D. Only for me Damian cassidy wouldn't have been half the footballer.. I did all the donkey work.

Your words!
Post by: Aerlik on September 07, 2009, 08:10:08 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on September 04, 2009, 10:26:54 PM
Didn't the silkily skilled footballer, but mediocre manager Damien Cassidy wield the hurl in his youth?

A boy in work says that Cass played for a well-known neighbouring club and may even have played hurling for Derry also.

Sure did, and big Danny played a bit too.
When you consider the very recent origins of Gaelic Football then consider the national sport of hurling, you can't compare them.

As Tom Nott from Cork once said, You can give a sealion a football and it will juggle it, but it can't hold a hurl.

I've just watched the replay with my son...he's amazed too.
Post by: truebluewolfetone on September 07, 2009, 09:46:27 PM
LADS HURLING IS A GREAT GAME, NO DOUBT ABOUT IT, I WAS AT THE MATCH YESTERDAY, I WISH FOOTBALL COULD BE PLAYED THE SAME WAY
Post by: The Doire Geal on October 30, 2009, 06:35:38 PM
hurling and football can be played in the same town... Dungiven for example, most hurling championships with 22 and 4th most football titles with 7, which equals 27. not bad going. and also right down the age groups with the U16's doing the double, football and hurling so it can be done
Post by: Zulu on October 30, 2009, 07:36:06 PM
While I'm a big dual man myself I've come to the conclusion that clubs are better off concentrating on one code and if a club is currently a single code club, then it should remain so. It also appears to me that football only clubs get hammered for this by some folk but hurling only clubs don't get the same heat at all.
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 30, 2009, 09:12:25 PM
Quote from: Zulu on October 30, 2009, 07:36:06 PM
While I'm a big dual man myself I've come to the conclusion that clubs are better off concentrating on one code and if a club is currently a single code club, then it should remain so. It also appears to me that football only clubs get hammered for this by some folk but hurling only clubs don't get the same heat at all.

Quite rightly Zulu and the reason is simple. Hurling being the harder sport to take up and become proficient at is more of an 'endangered species' than football. Football is flourishing relative to hurling. Typically, clubs and counties can produce football teams much easier than hurling teams.

For example we in derry dont need another football club to give the sport a big boost, but hurling would be crying out for more teams (as we have 8 hurling teams vs 38 football teams). Even big hurling counties have plenty of football teams, by and large.
Post by: ONeill on October 30, 2009, 11:58:16 PM
Disgraceful attitude.

Clubs should offer all codes of the association if the interest is there. Too many are overly-concerned with results and silverware. If a 10-year old would rather hurl for Bellaghy than kick a ball, that's a great development.
Post by: Owenbeg on October 31, 2009, 01:24:56 PM
Joe Cassidy has won back to back titles with Ulster schools hurling titles wit Cross and Passion!!! Mabye some hope for hurling in bellaghy, remember playing against Mickey McGoldrick, he was a good hurler with the swa, would lve to see hurling in bellaghy, but needs to be feed through the schools to start
Post by: Drumanee 1 on October 31, 2009, 01:39:55 PM
Quote from: Owenbeg on October 31, 2009, 01:24:56 PM
Joe Cassidy has won back to back titles with Ulster schools hurling titles wit Cross and Passion!!! Mabye some hope for hurling in bellaghy, remember playing against Mickey McGoldrick, he was a good hurler with the swa, would lve to see hurling in bellaghy, but needs to be feed through the schools to start

wee mick played hurling with swatragh?never knew that.to be honest i can never see hurling being played in bellaghy,there is so much effort being put in at underage at the minute and that wont guarantee success at senior level in the coming years so i cannot see where we are going to get the men/women prepared to put that same effort into hurling where we have no record of success at all.
Post by: The Doire Geal on November 10, 2011, 03:54:26 PM
tonesfirstandlast.. what u do best is wining championships

aha, can't even compete these days, most under-age teams in the B, clearly a club in demise!

Dungiven/KL, win under-age titles in hurling, if not final, senior titles! also compete and win under-age football titles and u21, senior semi final and finals last 5 years.

Bellaghy should take up hurling, least they will have an excuse why there so unsuccessful these days!
Post by: saffronog on November 12, 2011, 08:47:18 PM
Bellaghy could and should play hurling, the coach is there already, ie there senior football manager.