Recent posts

Tyrone / Re: Tyrone Club Football and H...
Last post by superstar_ - Today at 09:43:59 AM
Quote from: easty88 on April 15, 2024, 10:47:26 PM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on April 15, 2024, 09:39:49 AMJim Devlin Cup Round 1

An Charraig Mhor Naomh Colmcille 1-07 1-08 Galbally Pearses
Fianna Oileán an Ghuail CLG 1-11 0-14 An Droim Mór Naoimh Damhnait (Dromore 5-4 on Penalties)
Dungannon Thomas Clarke GAA 1-11 1-11 Domhnach Mór Naoimh Pádraig (Dunganannon 5-3 on Penalties)
Pomeroy Plunketts 3-06 1-08 An Eaglais, Naomh Pádraig
Coill an Chlochair Naomh Mhuire 0-13 0-13 Errigal Ciaran (Errigal 3-2 on Penalties)
Ardboe O'Donovan Rossa 0-08 1-06 Trí Leac C. Naoimh Mhic Artáin
Clonoe O`Rahilly's CLG 2-13 0-03 Edendork St Malachy's
Loughmacrory St. Teresa's 1-04 5-14 Omagh St Enda's

Sum strange results yesterday? Can we read anything into them?
Loughmacrory should be concerned. Missing their 3 U20s and Donaghy on the seniors but Omagh also down men shows the lack of depth Lough have in their squad. They have lost a few important players to emigration and their must be internal fear of a relegation battle. Be a lot of expectations on McElholm and McCullagh this year.
GAA Discussion / Re: Who will win 2024 All-Irel...
Last post by Dunneroyal - Today at 09:41:59 AM
Dublin.
GAA Discussion / Re: Leinster Senior football c...
Last post by Dunneroyal - Today at 09:41:12 AM
Look for all the greatness of Colm he is not a county manager that's where we start. Was Andy ? Yes. He had a cv backing that up with the minors. (You don't always need that) he has done well with Antrim with limited players, he won the Dublin , Leinster and all ire club titles. And he got an average Meath team to div 1, and super 8s. Did he make mistakes? Absolutely. Was he a abrasive person? yes.
Colm is generally a nice guy, comes across has a harmless man bit like the drunk uncle at a wedding. Quote Latin etc.  great with kids. But these are top level athletes, he has better players to chose from than any manager since 2010. He'd be grand as the face and voice of Meath football in management if he had the right people behind him ie top level coaches. If  frayne Conlon and Morris were in majority of other top level counties they'd be stars. Who in their right mind lets outfield players kick high ball into players the size of Conlon. That we did over and over again on Sunday. And to stand on sidelines and let that continue is criminal.
I believe that majority of this Meath panel will not only beat dubs over next 5 years but also win Leinster and challenge for Sam. IF we put the right people in charge. The right people might not be those who we all know and loved growing up ie Colm Trevor and of course the living legend that is Sean. I personally believe that a trio of Cathal O'Bric (minor all ire winning manager) current u20, along with Marcus Brennan and Connor Gillespie is the future of Meath. The review at years end MUST thank Colm for his efforts and say best wishes going forward, I'm sure he can return to RTÉ but for the sake of a talented bunch of players and Meath football as a whole. We need this change.  Another year will likely do untold damage. Enough
GAA Discussion / Re: New Jerseys?
Last post by lfdown2 - Today at 09:11:22 AM
It come from old celtic mythology where maroon was considered the colour of victory, it was also said that those wearing maroon were always facing west, subsequently 'West'meath and Galway adopted the colour.
GAA Discussion / Re: Joe Brolly
Last post by clonian - Today at 09:01:39 AM
Quote from: ck on April 15, 2024, 11:14:08 AM
Quote from: Mario on April 15, 2024, 10:36:15 AMHe wrote an article the week before the league final saying it would be a success if Derry get within 6 points of this amazing Dublin team. Since then he's made a few comments that it's only the league. Then on his podcast last week he said he'll support those Derry lads no matter what as they are giving everything for the jersey, it's just Mickey Harte he doesn't like, but a few months ago he was saying no Derry player is good enough to start the Dublin team. The quality just isn't there and processed football can only get you so far.

From a football point of view he wants nothing more than Dublin to hammer everyone and he can then somehow link it to Pat Gilroy.

As a Dungiven man I find it very hard to listen to him these days. He is a walking contradiction. He's not stupid and I suppose he is staying relevant as we are talking about him so he's probably achieving what he set out to do.

I struggle to listen to Brolly anymore too. Used to enjoy him but he comes across now as slightly unhinged. Uses his platforms to target those who he hates incl Derry players and strikes me as a man who is content when Derry lose, he's not a real supporter. It's pretty clear to me of those who he targets have all one thing in common, he's highly jealous of them. He only ever has one objective and that is to make everything about him!!

That last podcast annoyed my head and I usually like the podcasts. I'm 100% a GAA man 1st and foremost but the constant it's nothing unless the GAA do it is bollox. My lads go to the local soccer club and they're very much a community club and do a lot for the people in the area and are absolutely delighted that they had a load of lads and girls from the surrounding GAA clubs playing with them.
He hadn't even the humility to check the history of the people he mentioned in it. "Do you think Gary Neville and David Beckham give a shit about Man Utd after they left them?" No wonder people from other sports don't like the GAA
GAA Discussion / Re: GAA crowds
Last post by clonian - Today at 08:53:10 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on April 15, 2024, 06:17:02 PM
Quote from: clonian on April 15, 2024, 03:46:48 PM
Quote from: ardtole on April 15, 2024, 03:16:05 PMLast year in Clones was probably my worst experience following Down, and I've seen both Wicklow and Sligo putting us out in the backdoor.

The weather, the hammering the lack of facilities in Clones, its a ground no longer fit for purpose, anyone saying otherwise is wearing rose tinted glasses and thinking of the good oul days.

A few weeks later I was in Thurles for the Tailtain cup, Tipp v Limerick in the hurling was on after as part of a double header. The contrast in atmosphere, facilities, organisation etc was stark.

Having said that il more than likely be in Clones on Saturday week.

Lads still think it's a session incoming or you have the ex players now pundits still thinking about the glory days on that pitch. I don't think it would take an awful lot of investment to tidy it up a bit with facilities and pathways etc. You're never putting more covered areas though.

I've got soaked in Clones some times over the years. Only really remember 1 nice sunny day, 94 Ulster final v Tyrone.

But you went home  with a lump after    James Mc Cartan's boot landed on your  head?  ;)

It's  the roads  to and around  Clones I have more of  a problem with. It would be a  great day out if  the train network extended to  Clones, but  there's no hope of  that happening

I was on the other side so missed that.

The roads in are shite, I wrecked 2 tyres on the way home last year too ffs - only remembered that now.
Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by Saffsof82 - Today at 08:33:33 AM
Thing that puzzles me about our senior team is R McCann (creggan). Enda had him as our main free taker and he was very reliable, but Andy won't let him near a dead ball and the number of scorable frees we missed against Down would have easily won the game, Dommo, mcquillan, mick, paddy all hit frees against Down, seemed no clear policy.
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Tones - Today at 08:22:54 AM
Derry have already won 2!
General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by johnnycool - Today at 08:10:53 AM
Quote from: jcpen on Today at 05:51:00 AMEverton blessed that there is 3 teams worse than them yet again. They will avoid relegation.

They need two more wins and with Forest up next at Goodison I'd suggest that needs to be one of them, but Forest are a better all round team so Everton may well be looking for the other three to keep fúcking up.

Quote from: square_ball on Today at 08:09:09 AMAnd Sean Dyche lucky that Everton have no money to sack him. 1 win in 15 games is atrocious form.

The boardroom is in limbo, so theres no one capable of sacking him due to the new ownership saga which is another mess in itself...
General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by square_ball - Today at 08:09:09 AM
And Sean Dyche lucky that Everton have no money to sack him. 1 win in 15 games is atrocious form.