Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 06:33:54 PM

Title: If one was to buy beer in Newry
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 06:33:54 PM
where would the cheapest off-licence be?
Title: Re: If one was to buy beer in Newry
Post by: fred the red on May 12, 2009, 06:35:26 PM
At a guess, sainsburys.

what type of beer you after?
Post by: mikasas on May 12, 2009, 06:37:47 PM
Yeah Sainsburys would be the cheapest by a longshot.
Thats if your not after specific beers and would take advantage of the offers.
Post by: thebigfella on May 12, 2009, 06:38:28 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 06:33:54 PM
where would the cheapest off-licence be?

Stay away from Tesco's, you wouldn't want to bring down the Republic.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 06:43:22 PM
Heineken, Budwieser, Miller and Corona.

What time do Sainsburys start selling alcohol at?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 06:46:18 PM
Avoid Newry to many tail backs in car parks.
I went about ten miles further on to the Sprucefield shopping place near Lisburn and there is a Sainsburys there too with no traffic at all hardly..
The drink is very cheap..
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 06:50:17 PM
Cheers TRL, would traffic be bad mid-week on a Tues or Wed morning?
Post by: thebigfella on May 12, 2009, 06:58:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 06:46:18 PM
I went about ten miles further on to the Sprucefield shopping place near Lisburn and there is a Sainsburys there too with no traffic at all hardly..

It's about 30 miles  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 06:58:31 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 06:50:17 PM
Cheers TRL, would traffic be bad mid-week on a Tues or Wed morning?

We went up the north on a tuesday morning,we passed Newry around 9am and traffic was building up,most were Southern reg cars..
There were a few southern reg cars in Sprucefield too but it was a breeze getting in and out of the place.
For the sake of a half an hours drive more I think it be worth it.
Got loads of wine and beer for half nothing,eg 3 bottles of Mateus wine for £10,I think one bottle here is €14, and I got 15cans of Carling for £10 also..
Post by: Shortso79 on May 12, 2009, 06:58:51 PM
Midweek you're grand Dinny

They restock during the night - so morning time is best - avoid the rush hour morning time though

U can buy it in the morning no probs

I'll ring them and tell them you're coming.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 06:59:27 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on May 12, 2009, 06:58:21 PM

It's about 30 miles  ;)

Is it? It didn't seem that far
Post by: mikasas on May 12, 2009, 07:01:20 PM
Spuscefield is a right wee drive on up the road if your just looking drink, but I suppose you could call into the outlet on you way up/down and make a day of it.
different beers on offer at different times they were doing a deal not so long ago where you bought 2 packs of 20 beers for £20. thats a snip and considering the value of the Euro you couldn't really do any better.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 07:03:52 PM
Cheers Lads, I'll ring in advance so as I'll probably be buying around 30 cases of beer.
Post by: mikasas on May 12, 2009, 07:08:55 PM
Thirst Dinny? fcuk me that will be some party!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 12, 2009, 07:11:54 PM
Tescos were doing cases of Magners there a week or so ago for £7, some job, I got four just to tide me over...

Check to see what offers are on first...
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on May 12, 2009, 07:13:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 07:03:52 PM
Cheers Lads, I'll ring in advance so as I'll probably be buying around 30 cases of beer.

I worked in said Sainsbury's for 5 years.

We hated your type! You'll probably ring up and expect special treatment because your buying so much yet you don't realise we can't stock the shelves fast enough so we couldn't really care less who buys it and how much they buy!
Post by: mikasas on May 12, 2009, 07:19:21 PM
Would it be bottles or cans?
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 07:23:57 PM
QuoteWe hated your type! You'll probably ring up and expect special treatment because your buying so much yet you don't realise we can't stock the shelves fast enough so we couldn't really care less who buys it and how much they buy!

Yea, someone has the curtesy to inform a place that they are looking to buy a fairly large order and are hoping that the shop can facilitate them rather than coming in and just expecting the beer to be there for them. When you finally return to school to finish your eductation you probably shouldn't look for a career in Customer Relations Management.

Again thanks for the advice lads.

Post by: Ping Pong Santa on May 12, 2009, 07:26:16 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 12, 2009, 07:23:57 PM
QuoteWe hated your type! You'll probably ring up and expect special treatment because your buying so much yet you don't realise we can't stock the shelves fast enough so we couldn't really care less who buys it and how much they buy!

Yea, someone has the curtesy to inform a place that they are looking to buy a fairly large order and are hoping that the shop can facilitate them rather than coming in and just expecting the beer to be there for them. When you finally return to school to finish your eductation you probably shouldn't look for a career in Customer Relations Management.

Again thanks for the advice lads.

Just phoning the BWS manager now to let him know some Mexican will be coming up looking for 30 cases of beer and to make sure and be conveniently out of stock.
Post by: The Worker on May 12, 2009, 07:42:48 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 12, 2009, 07:11:54 PM
Tescos were doing cases of Magners there a week or so ago for £7, some job, I got four just to tide me over...

Magners light, no doubt?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 12, 2009, 08:13:01 PM

Shouldn't you have been informing us of this when the offer was still?! See all the cider companies are really hard selling pear cider. Anyone tried it, or is it for the ladies?
Post by: thebigfella on May 12, 2009, 08:53:51 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 12, 2009, 08:13:01 PM

Shouldn't you have been informing us of this when the offer was still?! See all the cider companies are really hard selling pear cider. Anyone tried it, or is it for the ladies?

Kopparberg has been around for ages - the pear is rocket fuel and very easy drunk.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 12, 2009, 08:58:59 PM
My woman is at home at the minute, has been in Newry the last two days (spending my money no doubt!), she says there's not one about it, not one about Sainsbury's either.  So Newry may be alright for you Dinny. 

Oh and LL, 10 mile?  :D :D
Post by: Maguire01 on May 12, 2009, 09:01:49 PM
Definitely not worth the hassle (or petrol) driving up to Sprucefield.
Post by: cavan4ever on May 12, 2009, 09:07:29 PM
Is there anywhere online for checking the prices of the beer in theses places.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 09:46:31 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 12, 2009, 09:01:49 PM
Definitely not worth the hassle (or petrol) driving up to Sprucefield.

What hassle is there driving on a motorway ?
Certainly would rather it than being stuck in queues for a few hours.
We stopped in that Banbridge place on the way back it's not a bad place either..

Post by: Trevor Hill on May 12, 2009, 10:02:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 09:46:31 PM

Its a dual carriageway, not a motorway.

For anyone buying beer in Newry there are a number of smaller Off Licenses on the outskirts of Newry that may not be just as cheap as the big supermarkets, but you will still get great deals compared to southern prices and you wont have the hassle of going in or near the Quays or Buttercrane. JRs Off License is on the old road just north of the border, about 2 miles from the Carrickdale Hotel. There is another Off License in Cloughouge and then the Drink Link, which is about 200 yards past Cloughouge roundabout, heading down into Newry.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 10:08:02 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on May 12, 2009, 10:02:25 PM

Pedantic Pat......
Post by: Trevor Hill on May 12, 2009, 10:14:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 10:08:02 PM

Pedantic Pat......

Typical southern motorist, who wouldnt know a motorway from a "b road", then again Sprucefield is only 10 miles from Newry  :D

T
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 10:17:32 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on May 12, 2009, 10:14:00 PM

Pedantic Pat......

Typical southern motorist, who wouldnt know a motorway from a "b road", then again Sprucefield is only 10 miles from Newry  :D

T

Your a strange man...... :-\
Post by: AFS on May 12, 2009, 10:17:55 PM

Pedantic Pat......

It would be an insult to motorways all over the world to refer to that shitty, roundabouted, roadworks riddled, stretch of road as a motorway. Nearly half of it is down to single lane at the minute, pain in the fecking arse.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 10:19:24 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 12, 2009, 10:17:55 PM

Pedantic Pat......

It would be an insult to motorways all over the world to refer to that shitty, roundabouted, roadworks riddled, stretch of road as a motorway. Nearly half of it is down to single lane at the minute, pain in the fecking arse.
You Nordies are very sensitive about roads and distances...
Post by: comethekingdom on May 12, 2009, 10:23:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 10:19:24 PM

Pedantic Pat......

cos they are the worst drivers in ireland! ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 12, 2009, 10:44:45 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on May 12, 2009, 10:14:00 PM

Pedantic Pat......

T
It's funny because it's true.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 10:46:38 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on May 12, 2009, 10:23:04 PM

Pedantic Pat......

Its funny because it's true
Post by: Trevor Hill on May 12, 2009, 11:24:56 PM
Its sad when people who didnt have to sit a driving test criticise our driving  ::)
Thereallaoislad, the next time your are on the motorway to Sprucefield you can pull in to the inside lane, it goes all the way to Sprucefield as well  ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 12, 2009, 11:34:14 PM
You could be in Crossmaglen in 10 minutes from the motorway at Dundalk Dinny. Struck me at Christmas there that it wouldn't be a bad option for Southerners looking drink in sterling prices without the hassle of Newry. Won't be as cheap as Sainsbury's but super valu wouldn't be too bad at all I wouldn't ahve thought.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2009, 11:34:56 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on May 12, 2009, 11:24:56 PM
Its sad when people who didnt have to sit a driving test criticise our driving  ::)
Thereallaoislad, the next time your are on the motorway to Sprucefield you can pull in to the inside lane, it goes all the way to Sprucefield as well  ;)

:D Your a sensitive aul feck
btw What people didn't have to sit a driving test  ???

Post by: balladmaker on May 13, 2009, 12:19:16 AM
Heard of a prestigious Co. Dublin hotel, selling UK bottles of Budweiser over the bar, which were marked 'Part of a multipack, not to be sold seperately'.  So I reckon they were purchased in the north for about 50p a bottle, and sold in the hotel bar for a nice profit per bottle!!!

Post by: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 08:19:18 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on May 13, 2009, 12:19:16 AM
Heard of a prestigious Co. Dublin hotel, selling UK bottles of Budweiser over the bar, which were marked 'Part of a multipack, not to be sold seperately'.  So I reckon they were purchased in the north for about 50p a bottle, and sold in the hotel bar for a nice profit per bottle!!!

Seemingly that's rampant, a mate of mine is a distributor and told me to go North as it would be cheaper than anything he could offer.  :o
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 13, 2009, 08:22:58 AM
Curley's is much cheaper than Sainsbury's.
Post by: bendurback on May 13, 2009, 08:46:17 AM
I wouldnt say its much cheaper. In truth if it's boxes of beer you want theres very little difference in prices betweeen Sainsburys, Dunnes and Curleys. All three tend to have similar offers on beer.
Tescos in Banbridge are running a good offer on bud, stella and carlsberg at the minute. Box of 15 for £7.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 13, 2009, 09:00:00 AM
I'd agree with Laoislad Dinny, go on up to Sprucefield (despite what they say, it's only 20 mins or so, and it's better than sitting waiting for those lights in Newry, or trying to get a parking spot). 
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 13, 2009, 10:00:40 AM
one should check out enniskilen for vino , one should

Asda.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 13, 2009, 10:01:06 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on May 12, 2009, 10:23:04 PM

Pedantic Pat......

You're having a good laugh there! Drivers down south are significantly worse - hence the need for advertisements to explain motorway driving (and in particular, the use of the right-hand lane). And it gets worse the futher south you go. I was coming back up from Kerry last week and spotted someone coming down a motorway sliproad towards oncoming traffic - seemingly oblivious to the row of flashing lights!
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 10:08:56 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 13, 2009, 09:00:00 AM
I'd agree with Laoislad Dinny, go on up to Sprucefield (despite what they say, it's only 20 mins or so, and it's better than sitting waiting for those lights in Newry, or trying to get a parking spot). 

Hmm, 20 mins up 20 mins back, that's 40 minutes but I trust the Mexican advice considering I now know why Nordies drive so fast it's because they actually think they're good drivers but you're not you're cack, too fast and too dangerous....
Post by: rage on May 13, 2009, 10:19:29 AM
Feck i've been driving that road quite a bit this last few weeks and it's the Southern Reg cars that are always overtaking at a very high speed, the problem the nordie businessmen seem to have is that they cant simply drive home without feeling the need to text someone ive noticed
Post by: Donagh on May 13, 2009, 10:32:48 AM
Let's face it the nordies speed in Mexico and Free Staters speed when they go north. I'm no problem admitting a certain frustration to having to limit myself on the A1 in those 40 mph zones, while I watch the southern reg cars zoom by. I'm sure they feel the same when I'm overtaking them while averaging 90 mph from the (now toll free) M50.
Post by: gawa316 on May 13, 2009, 10:52:36 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 13, 2009, 10:00:40 AM

Asda.

Shush this place is busy enough without anymore coming up
Post by: FermGael on May 13, 2009, 10:59:44 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 13, 2009, 10:00:40 AM

Asda.

It's going to be busy enough this weekend LynchBoy with our 22000 all ticket affair in Brewster.
Do not need any more traffic.  It's an island town after all
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 13, 2009, 11:05:29 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 10:08:56 AM

Hmm, 20 mins up 20 mins back, that's 40 minutes but I trust the Mexican advice considering I now know why Nordies drive so fast it's because they actually think they're good drivers but you're not you're cack, too fast and too dangerous....

That's alirght Dinny, a Longford man and a Laois man will know more about Newry than the locals.  Though to be fair I didnt know there was a motorway between Newry and Sprucefield that knocked about 20 mile of the journey. 

Typical freestaters, think they know it all. 
Post by: haveaharp on May 13, 2009, 11:13:41 AM
When heading along the motorway between Dublin and Dundalk the amount of southern drivers stuck in the outside lane with no one on their inside, tootling along around 60mph is ridiculous. Learn to drive on a motorway.
Post by: bendurback on May 13, 2009, 11:19:51 AM
You'll not get from Newry to Sprucefield in 20mins, i drive this road everyday and I have to agree that the freestaters think they own the fast lane, frustrating as hell!
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 13, 2009, 11:21:50 AM
Quote from: bendurback on May 13, 2009, 11:19:51 AM
You'll not get from Newry to Sprucefield in 20mins, i drive this road everyday and I have to agree that the freestaters think they own the fast lane, frustrating as hell!
No no no, say nothing, they know best  ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 13, 2009, 11:37:48 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 10:08:56 AM

Its half an hour from Newry to Sprucefield if you're even close to obeying speed limits.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 11:45:04 AM

QuoteIts half an hour from Newry to Sprucefield if you're even close to obeying speed limits.

It's true what the say Nordies can't agree on anything, Sprucefield is bigger though so decisions decisions.....
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on May 13, 2009, 12:20:58 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 11:45:04 AM

QuoteIts half an hour from Newry to Sprucefield if you're even close to obeying speed limits.

It's true what the say Nordies can't agree on anything, Sprucefield is bigger though so decisions decisions.....

But Newry's off licence is bigger and will be better stocked.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on May 13, 2009, 01:05:41 PM
Alright then which one of you robbed the cash in transit van on the Newry - Belfast road?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 13, 2009, 01:13:29 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on May 13, 2009, 12:20:58 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 11:45:04 AM

But Newry's off licence is bigger and will be better stocked.
Yep - Sprucefield off-licence is actually pretty crap.
Post by: rage on May 13, 2009, 01:20:01 PM
Tesco offlicence in the 24 Knockbreada branch is excellent, always great deals on wine and beer, and sure if you're coming as far as Sprucefield whats another few miles/kilometres?
Post by: Chrisowc on May 13, 2009, 01:31:27 PM
Quote from: rage on May 13, 2009, 01:20:01 PM
Tesco offlicence in the 24 Knockbreada branch  is excellent, always great deals on wine and beer, and sure if you're coming as far as Sprucefield whats another few miles/kilometres?

Couldn't be anymore than 25 mins from Newry.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 01:34:47 PM
Quote from: rage on May 13, 2009, 01:20:01 PM
Tesco offlicence in the 24 Knockbreada branch is excellent, always great deals on wine and beer, and sure if you're coming as far as Sprucefield whats another few miles/kilometres?

Well going by a few of the posters here it be too far  :D
Post by: thewobbler on May 13, 2009, 01:45:21 PM
There really are some mad suggestions in here. Pure mad.

1. Driving beyond Banridge is madness. Yep the traffic in Newry is horrendous, but adding an hour to a journey (Newry - Sprucefield and back) is crazy. That's a lot of sitting in traffic, and it's not as Euro friendly when you get there.
2. There is a Tesco in Banbridge which you can't miss when taking the second junction into the town. This is only 15 minutes from Newry max, is easy to get parked at, and will have the same offers as any other Tesco in NI.
3. Sainsbury and Tesco are good value if you are not fussy. If you are quite happy with the Australian wine of the week, or whatever lager is on offer, or whatever spirit is on offer, then they're your ticket. On the whole Curleys is a better off licence than Sainsbury (better selection, better selection of offers) and doesn't require going into the dreaded Quays complex. Asda kicks all arses, but you've a long way to go to find one after Newry (namely Kilkeel - the best part of an hour's round trip after negotiating Newry's traffic).
4. If you know what you're after, you should give Anjo Wines a phone (http://www.anjowines.com). They're a wholesaler, but are happy to serve to anyone off the street as long as you're buying in some sort of bulk (i.e. beer in packs of 12, not individually, etc). If you phone in advance, they'll have the order ready for you and will pop it into your car/van/truck for you. They're 2 minutes out the Belfast Road from Newry, so you'll not even be across the border for half an hour in total. You can also negotiate a price with these fellas (and tell them wobbler sent you).

Post by: DennistheMenace on May 13, 2009, 03:02:31 PM
Banbridge Tescos is your best bet, just watch up for the pointless double ramp when entering and watch out for those nasty children collecting for charity, they'll turn you to stone if you look at them in the eye.
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 13, 2009, 08:00:12 PM
I would be a fairly regular user of the A1 and it is fair to say that the majority of the bad driving is done by free staters. Having said that, it is also fair to point out that the vast majority of cars I have seen pulled over recently by Ulster's finest (presumably for driving infractions) have been free staters.

When I see a southener pulled over, I slow down, roll down the window, beep the horn and shout "Take it down from the mast". This helps brighten up my day and shortens what is a horribly tedious journey.
Post by: ExiledGael on May 13, 2009, 10:02:51 PM
 :D :D
Post by: comethekingdom on May 13, 2009, 10:25:28 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on May 13, 2009, 11:13:41 AM
When heading along the motorway between Dublin and Dundalk the amount of southern drivers stuck in the outside lane with no one on their inside, tootling along around 60mph is ridiculous. Learn to drive on a motorway.

The reason southern cars drive at the speed limit in the outside lane is to sicken the arrogant nordies who think its perfectly accecptable to do 90 or 100mph on the M1 and get away with it. Before the motorway opened it was a max 40 or 50mph on the old N1 and you couldn't overtake. Now 90 or 100 isn't fast enough for them ! Hard to bate a bit of civilian policing! ;D
Post by: armaghniac on May 13, 2009, 10:30:14 PM
Couldn't be anymore than 25 mins from Newry.

The reason southern cars drive at the speed limit in the outside lane is that they are trying to get to Knockbreda from Newry in 25 mins.