Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 118cmal on February 03, 2009, 01:08:38 PM

Title: Valentine's Day
Post by: 118cmal on February 03, 2009, 01:08:38 PM
I was just wondering if anyone had any tips for a good Valentine's Day present for the girlfriend?

To be honest I think the whole day is a marketing farce but at the same time I want her to feel special, and wouldn't want her to feel left out. 

Like most, the money is quite low at the minute and I'm not bad at cooking so I'd say i'll be cooking rather than eating out anywere, but does anyone know of any nice gift I could get her also?
Title: Re: Valentine's Day
Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 01:11:20 PM
Going out for a meal on Valentines night is a joke. Set menus, rushed in pushed out. I'd rather cook then go out for a meal a night or two later, I did that last year.

Wouldnt be big into buying gifts for this particular day, a nice card with a thoughtful message from your good self on it.  She'll appreciate that.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 03, 2009, 02:00:32 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on February 03, 2009, 01:08:38 PM
I was just wondering if anyone had any tips for a good Valentine's Day present for the girlfriend?

To be honest I think the whole day is a marketing farce but at the same time I want her to feel special, and wouldn't want her to feel left out. 

Like most, the money is quite low at the minute and I'm not bad at cooking so I'd say i'll be cooking rather than eating out anywere, but does anyone know of any nice gift I could get her also?

Is this for the farting Tyrone girl?
Post by: the scenic route on February 03, 2009, 02:06:47 PM
ill tell you what i cant stan valentines day, but the girlfriend likes the whole idea of it. couple of years ago took her for a subway on valentines day didnt really go down to well   ;D

But the price of food on that night i think i might cook her a meal and then maybe go out a couple of nights after and a card would be tops its tough enough to gather money together as a student at the minute without this pile of shite of a day thrown into the mix
Post by: Maguire01 on February 03, 2009, 03:21:17 PM
Who says romance is dead?  :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 03:33:03 PM
Valentines Day is a joke...
Any man that goes and spends money on flowers or dinner just because its that day are seriously under the thumb in a big way IMHO and really need to grow a set...
I tell you what for those of you who are stupid enough to spend a fortune on roses,I have some growing in my back garden I'll sell them for €5 a rose  ::)
Post by: leenie on February 03, 2009, 04:25:07 PM

sometimes it really is the thought that counts......

cook her favorite meal, watch her favorite film, buy her favorite wine, and make a c.d compilation of all her favorite songs!

the attention to detail and knowing what she likes will be better than a present...

and for bonus points talk about marriage and babies.......
Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 04:30:13 PM
Quote from: leenie on February 03, 2009, 04:25:07 PM

sometimes it really is the thought that counts......

cook her favorite meal, watch her favorite film, buy her favorite wine, and make a c.d compilation of all her favorite songs!

the attention to detail and knowing what she likes will be better than a present...

and for bonus points talk about marriage and babies.......

Good thinking leenie, as that will lead to the most practical way of making babies  ;)
Post by: downredblack on February 03, 2009, 04:44:53 PM
Got the wife a charm bracelet there for her birthday , Pandora I think they are called . Takes the pressure off for birthdays , anniversaries , valentines , dog house presents for the foreseeable . Just get a charm  . Job done .
Post by: maggie on February 03, 2009, 04:57:17 PM
I would highly recommend a links of london charm bracelet- if shes worth investing in that is.
(http://www.buychinawholesale.co.uk/images/Double%20Dices%20Links%20Of%20London%20Sweetie%20Bracelet%20LSB017.jpg)

As your man said-you can get a charm on birthdays/christmas then to add to it.

Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 04:58:10 PM
How much would that sting ye?
Post by: cavan4ever on February 03, 2009, 04:58:37 PM
its look awful in my opinion.
Post by: leenie on February 03, 2009, 05:00:06 PM

mr t wouldn't have a look in if that was filled with charms!
Post by: Treasurer on February 03, 2009, 05:00:28 PM
Not a fan of charm bracelets I must admit.
Post by: maggie on February 03, 2009, 05:01:38 PM
A Cavan person saying it doesn't look good.
Now if thats not an endorsement, I don't know what is.........! :P

Post by: maggie on February 03, 2009, 05:07:55 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on February 03, 2009, 05:00:28 PM
Not a fan of charm bracelets I must admit.

Would tend to agree with you Treas, but this bracelet is very popular at the mo and IMHO it is gorge.
Im bidding on one on ebay for £40 as we speak- (i have to buy my own val day pressies  :'( )
Usually its about £100-£150.
Post by: ludermor on February 03, 2009, 05:08:13 PM
Anybody dig up the thread from An Fear Rua, there was some great suggestions there!!
Post by: leenie on February 03, 2009, 05:13:18 PM
imo......... bulters chocolates are the biggest waste of money... so don't get her them...

nearly 30 euro for a box of eight! (only time i ever contemplated asking for the receipt) but then again i don't like chocolate!

I got a card once with some lovely sentiments written that alot of thought had went into,  and it was much better than the present....

but i'd be an old romantic!
Post by: maggie on February 03, 2009, 05:19:33 PM
Quote from: leenie on February 03, 2009, 05:13:18 PM
imo......... bulters chocolates are the biggest waste of money... so don't get her them...

nearly 30 euro for a box of eight! (only time i ever contemplated asking for the receipt) but then again i don't like chocolate!

I got a card once with some lovely sentiments written that alot of thought had went into,  and it was much better than the present....

And i'm all about the bling.
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2009, 05:20:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 03:33:03 PM
Any man that goes and spends money on flowers or dinner just because its that day are seriously under the thumb in a big way IMHO and really need to grow a set...
I tell you what for those of you who are stupid enough to spend a fortune on roses,I have some growing in my back garden I'll sell them for €5 a rose  ::)

LL I didn't have you down as a gardener.
Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 05:21:23 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 01:11:20 PM
Going out for a meal on Valentines night is a joke. Set menus, rushed in pushed out. I'd rather cook then go out for a meal a night or two later, I did that last year.

Wouldnt be big into buying gifts for this particular day, a nice card with a thoughtful message from your good self on it.  She'll appreciate that.

I got a card once with some lovely sentiments written that alot of thought had went into,  and it was much better than the present....

I am good  8)
Post by: ludermor on February 03, 2009, 05:46:18 PM
Great stuff Fionntamhnach!! That thread is legendary!
Post by: Franko on February 03, 2009, 05:48:19 PM
Some of the stuff on that thread is priceless!! ;D :D
Post by: screenexile on February 03, 2009, 05:52:25 PM
Valentine's is a pure joke. My favourite of all time is my Mum and Dad. My Mum's Canadian and my Father met her over there. When she asked him about it first he said he'd never heard of it and when she explained all to him he said they'd never had it over here.

She says she gave him a right tongue lashing when she found out the ruth. She had let him away with it for years at that stage!

Just right too!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 06:22:03 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 03, 2009, 05:20:53 PM

Ah yeah I like to dabble with it now and again...
Gets me out of the house so I don't have to listen to her banging on about getting engaged  ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 06:25:55 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 06:22:03 PM

Gets me out of the house so I don't have to listen to her banging on about getting engaged  ;)

Could be worse, she could be banging on about getting engaged to somebody else!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 06:26:52 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 06:25:55 PM

How would that be worse  ???
Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 06:28:38 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 06:26:52 PM

She's a very lucky girl  :-\
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 06:33:32 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 06:28:38 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 06:26:52 PM

She's a very lucky girl  :-\

And I remind her every day just how lucky she is...
Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 06:34:22 PM
 :D I'd say you do!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 06:51:11 PM

Well said! It's the most idiotic day of the year.  It's when Hallmark/Cadbury/Thortons or whoever team up to fleece the simple ones in society, I say good luck to them.
Post by: rossie mad on February 03, 2009, 07:28:45 PM
its up there with xmas and  mothers and fathers day as the biggest money making scams of all time.i have a serious predicament this year as the powers that be in the gaa fixed the ros limerick national league game for 14 feb.went home to herself after offaly game last sunday and declared that we were going to limerick for valentines.she asked why i went head long in saying that the rossies were playing.even offered to spend a couple of nites in hotel down there.went down like a lead baloon.she started talking to me again this afternoon. ::) i now know i shud have kept queit about the game.seemingly after all these years im finding out that this bloody day does actualy mean sumthin to her.a few years ago i thought id be the real romantic and i splashed out 80 notes on flowers delivered to her at work.a few weeks after we were in tesco she turns around and she points at sum excuse for a boutique of flowers and declares that i should have bought the flowers there instead and save my money.i nearly strangled her there and then.so now i have to make a choice go to a game i really want to go to or incure the wrath of a very strong willed woman and thats a mild description of her. :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 07:43:14 PM
Quotea few years ago i thought id be the real romantic and i splashed out 80 notes on flowers delivered to her at work.
WHAT!
80 quid on Flowers?
f**king Hell.  If I took my woman home a bunch of flowers worth 80 quid she'd beat me round the head with them for wasting the money!

A lot of yous remind me of the boys I work with.  Said on here before, thursday and friday at work is spent discussing whether they'll be allowed to go for a  pint after work on Friday, all day Monday is spent discussing the silent treatment they got until Saturday lunchtime because they were a hour late home on Friday (and I mean a hour, not falling in the door in the early hours of saturday morning).  What their girlfriends arent allowing them to do this week is also a major topic of conversation.
I use to to think it was an English thing but judging by some of the posts here it's not. 
Post by: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 07:49:23 PM
pints and his "woman" pictured earlier
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40999000/jpg/_40999678_dudley2_300bbc.jpg)
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2009, 07:51:17 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 07:49:23 PM
pints and his "woman" pictured earlier
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40999000/jpg/_40999678_dudley2_300bbc.jpg)

Couldn't be Pints, he can't cook.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 07:59:27 PM
Double cross I thought you were posting under "Cúig huaire" now?

Post by: leenie on February 03, 2009, 08:02:52 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 05:21:23 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 01:11:20 PM

I got a card once with some lovely sentiments written that alot of thought had went into,  and it was much better than the present....

I am good  8)

;)  SSSssssshhhhhh!!!
Post by: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 08:07:00 PM
Sorry but my Irish isnt great.  ;) Maybe you cold translate for me.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 02, 2009, 09:19:32 PM
I think I could carry out the perfect murder, I think about it often.

The only thing you could murder is a bargain bucket.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 08:08:39 PM
You read anyone's posts but mine?  ::)
Post by: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 08:20:18 PM
Who do you think about murdering fatty? All those poor Presbyterians who lost their life savings? Those "British" people you work with, who dont see you as a foreigner, or anyone else who doesnt share your warped view of the world  :D
You really sound like a pleasant chap.  ::)
Post by: rossie mad on February 03, 2009, 08:21:05 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on February 03, 2009, 07:28:45 PM
its up there with xmas and  mothers and fathers day as the biggest money making scams of all time.i have a serious predicament this year as the powers that be in the gaa fixed the ros limerick national league game for 14 feb.went home to herself after offaly game last sunday and declared that we were going to limerick for valentines.she asked why i went head long in saying that the rossies were playing.even offered to spend a couple of nites in hotel down there.went down like a lead baloon.she started talking to me again this afternoon. ::) i now know i shud have kept queit about the game.seemingly after all these years im finding out that this bloody day does actualy mean sumthin to her.a few years ago i thought id be the real romantic and i splashed out 80 notes on flowers delivered to her at work.a few weeks after we were in tesco she turns around and she points at sum excuse for a boutique of flowers and declares that i should have bought the flowers there instead and save my money.i nearly strangled her there and then.so now i have to make a choice go to a game i really want to go to or incure the wrath of a very strong willed woman and thats a mild description of her. :-\
Said on here before, thursday and friday at work is spent discussing whether they'll be allowed to go for a  pint after work on Friday, all day Monday is spent discussing the silent treatment they got until Saturday lunchtime because they were a hour late home on Friday (and I mean a hour, not falling in the door in the early hours of saturday morning).  What their girlfriends arent allowing them to do this week is also a major topic of conversation

in fairness pints me and herself are fairly laid back so the above isnt the case wit me.just pointing out the fact that most years she cudnt give a fiddlers about valentines but this year she does because i put the rossies before her.

Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 08:23:18 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 08:20:18 PM
Who do you think about murdering fatty? All those poor Presbyterians who lost their life savings? Those "British" people you work with, who dont see you as a foreigner, or anyone else who doesnt share your warped view of the world  :D
You remind me of 5ivetimes.  You wouldnt be a coward too by any chance?  :D
Post by: leenie on February 03, 2009, 08:25:13 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 08:20:18 PM

politely i ask ... could you please bugger off and not ruin this thread... its irritating and annoying!

many thanks
Post by: ziggysego on February 03, 2009, 08:28:40 PM
No woman's worth it lads. Get something with the money for yourselves.
Post by: downgirl on February 03, 2009, 08:33:38 PM
rossie mad, you are just right putting the match first, sure Valentine's Day is so commercial it's unreal.  I would only be delighted to be taken to the down match on valentine's...hope that doesn't make me a mucksavage!!  :D
Post by: Dubh driocht on February 03, 2009, 08:45:27 PM
The only place to take your valentine is to Rathangan for the 2.30 throw-in against Glasdrumman for Celebrity Banisteoir, to see the club with the smallest catchment area in County Down take on the Kildare Division One champions from 2 years ago.If that isn't romance on a GAA Discussion Board, what is ?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 09:07:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 03, 2009, 08:28:40 PM
No woman's worth it lads. Get something with the money for yourselves.

There goes a man who has been bitten more than once............
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 03, 2009, 09:14:11 PM
Some guys seem a little cynical here, treat your lady right...dinner, dancing, flowers, sweets and a nice card.

Then a month later is your day March 14th. ;)

www.steakandbjday.com
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 09:16:25 PM
QuoteSome guys seem a little cynical here, treat your lady right...dinner, dancing, flowers, sweets and a nice card.
Look, her mother will be here for all next week! That's present enough.

I'll probably not get anything on steak and bj day though
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 03, 2009, 09:21:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 09:16:25 PM
QuoteSome guys seem a little cynical here, treat your lady right...dinner, dancing, flowers, sweets and a nice card.
Look, her mother will be here for all next week! That's present enough.

I'll probably not get anything on steak and bj day though

Pints, you beat down on the other guys for being Pu$#y Whipped(for a lack of a better term) , stand up and tell her it works both ways.

Her mother is her present and a nice fillet (pun intended) is yours. ;)
Post by: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 09:49:29 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 08:23:18 PM

I never walk away from a challenge bubba  ;) Now run along to Mod3 and tell him the big boys are picking on you again.  :D :D :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 09:50:32 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 03, 2009, 09:49:29 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 08:23:18 PM

I never walk away from a challenge bubba  ;) Now run along to Mod3 and tell him the big boys are picking on you again.  :D :D :D

Post by: ONeill on February 09, 2010, 11:21:54 PM
This is cheap, but it does the job - http://www.pumahardchorus.com/
Post by: The Gs Man on February 09, 2010, 11:38:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 09, 2010, 11:21:54 PM

Stolen.....
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 09, 2010, 11:58:23 PM
it's flippin depressin how much my boyfriend hates valentines day. too much to ask for a card and a teddy like?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2010, 12:00:59 AM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on February 09, 2010, 11:58:23 PM
it's flippin depressin how much my boyfriend hates valentines day. too much to ask for a card and a teddy like?

Yes.
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 12:07:51 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2010, 12:00:59 AM

Yes.

load of shite. it's not that much effort, it's one day in a year.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 10, 2010, 12:14:03 AM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 12:07:51 AM

Yes.

it is not, there's birthdays and anniversaries and christmas and all sorts of present shopping torture.

why do you need a card and a teddy?
Post by: illdecide on February 10, 2010, 12:23:37 AM
Unless you're 16 or under the only thing you should be expecting is a good rogering. no cards, no flowers, no gifts just a day like every other day ::)
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 12:27:30 AM
i'd be happy enoug
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 10, 2010, 12:14:03 AM

Yes.

it is not, there's birthdays and anniversaries and christmas and all sorts of present shopping torture.

birthday was ruined, anviversary was ruined, christmas was decent, last years valentines day was a sham. it's just nice to make a bit of effort, i'm puttin in the effort of makin him dinner and all, what'll i get after, groped and fell asleep on.
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 12:28:07 AM

Yes.

Why do you need Valentine's? Wouldn't it be much more romantic for him to do something special off his own bat and not because of a bunch of shops getting together and creating this commercial non-holiday to extract more money out of people? God forbid the shop don't have a reason to take money off us behind Christmas and Easter, lets slap an excuse inbetween that.
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 12:34:21 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 12:28:07 AM

Yes.

Why do you need Valentine's? Wouldn't it be much more romantic for him to do something special off his own bat and not because of a bunch of shops getting together and creating this commercial non-holiday to extract more money out of people? God forbid the shop don't have a reason to take money off us behind Christmas and Easter, lets slap an excuse inbetween that.

i'm not expectin a present for easter?
i never expect presents, i'm suprizingly easy pleased! i'm not demanding he takes me out for a 4 course meal thats been booked for months and then out for cocktails and dancing after.

if yous can't get the motivation to do something romantic on a day yous are warned is coming, comes on the same date every year, how are yous supposed to come up with something off your own bat?

not that it matters this year anyway, there's football on.
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 12:39:47 AM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 12:34:21 AM
i'm not expectin a present for easter?
i never expect presents, i'm suprizingly easy pleased! i'm not demanding he takes me out for a 4 course meal thats been booked for months and then out for cocktails and dancing after.

if yous can't get the motivation to do something romantic on a day yous are warned is coming, comes on the same date every year, how are yous supposed to come up with something off your own bat?

not that it matters this year anyway, there's football on.

Sorry, I've this problem a lot. Some people misunderstand what I say.

I didn't mean you were expecting a present at Easter. I just meant shops filled their stalls with Eggs and other nonsense to sell.

To me, it's not romantic to do something for Valentine's because it is expected of me. I'd sooner treat a lady special on a different day.
Post by: Duine Eile on February 10, 2010, 12:54:36 AM
Valentine's Day is the most commercialised day of the year and it's just stupid IMO. Why should you need a set day every year for a bit of romance? It's a load of nonsense.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 10, 2010, 07:28:57 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on February 09, 2010, 11:38:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 09, 2010, 11:21:54 PM

Stolen.....

HaHa Listen to the Italian one, its class!
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2010, 08:35:22 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on February 10, 2010, 12:54:36 AM
Valentine's Day is the most commercialised day of the year and it's just stupid IMO. Why should you need a set day every year for a bit of romance? It's a load of nonsense.

Too true. I wouldn't be seen buying a teddy for anyone.
Post by: maggie on February 10, 2010, 08:49:02 AM

Wise up.
What age are you?
(WUM)
Post by: haranguerer on February 10, 2010, 08:53:16 AM

I'd say him hating Valentines day so much is probably a reflection on the entire relationship...
Post by: Larry Duff on February 10, 2010, 08:56:56 AM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 12:27:30 AM
i'd be happy enoug
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 10, 2010, 12:14:03 AM

Yes.

birthday was ruined, anviversary was ruined, christmas was decent, last years valentines day was a sham. it's just nice to make a bit of effort, i'm puttin in the effort of makin him dinner and all, what'll i get after, groped and fell asleep on.

You seem like a torture, looking a load of shite for valentines day and complaining about an "anniversary" being ruined - what were you expecting? You're not married = no anniversary

Post by: rossie mad on February 10, 2010, 09:54:04 AM

I think this years one hasnt as much commercialisation as the last few years simply because the shops know they wont sell near the same stocks so it shouldnt be that hyped up this year.
Total money making racket and the first one before we have easter, mother and father days and so on.

will probably be just a normal sunday for us with nothing planned and me and the young cub will probably make mammy a card this year.
Flowers no dinner no hotel/break no present no.

I will pop up to the local chippy and buy sunday tea and give the whole family a treat.
that in my mind will be as good as any over the top priced meal r flowers.

I will
Post by: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 10:18:57 AM
Rossie, I would say the simple gesture of you and your son making a card and a family chippy would mean far more to her than the empty gesture of popping to the shop for a card, flowers and even a teddy.
Post by: Hardy on February 10, 2010, 10:34:43 AM
When did the f****n'  teddies come into it? Have the teddy companies muscled in on the card scamming operation and the flowers and chocolates rackets?
Post by: rossie mad on February 10, 2010, 10:37:59 AM
Well i should know by sunday if i dont have a black eye :D
Seriously tho its a non event in my eyes and to a large extent in her eyes too but a gesture would not go a miss either.

I heard a story about the florists in ireland this year not dealing with inter flora this year as they are saying inter flora selling a dozen red roses at 50 euro is too cheap and that they wont sell them for them.

If its true it sums up what the day is for me and shows up what a money making racket it is.
Post by: 118cmal on February 10, 2010, 12:49:42 PM
Its a complete joke!

I buy a bunch of roses avery 6 weeks or so for my girlfriend and she really appreciates it and feels special.  They cost around £5 from ASDA or Tesco.  IMO, anyone who would pay over €50 for a bunch just because it's Valentine's day needs their head examined.

This year we'll prob just cook a nice dinner, exchange cards, and have a nice bottle of wine.

No need for any of the rest of that nonsense.
Post by: tyrone girl on February 10, 2010, 02:45:29 PM
In all honesty who wants teddies and chocolates and all that ? Or maybe im weird - but that carry on doesnt do it for me  :-\
Post by: Minder on February 10, 2010, 02:49:42 PM
I usually get a lie in on a Sunday morning, I hope to f**k it isn't jeopardised due to it being Valentines Day and the little lady under the illusion she is getting to stay in bed.
Post by: illdecide on February 10, 2010, 03:28:08 PM

1. My darling, my lover, my beautiful wife:
                                           Marrying you has screwed up my life.

2. I see your face when I am dreaming.
                                          That's why I always wake up screaming.

3. Kind, intelligent, loving and hot;
                                          This describes everything you are not.

4. Love may be beautiful, love may be bliss,
                                      But I only slept with you 'cause I was p!ssed.

5. I thought that I could love no other
                                           -- that is until I met your brother.

6. Roses are red, violets are blue, sugar is sweet, and so are you.
                             But the roses are wilting, the violets are dead, the sugar bowl's
                                                empty and so is your head.

7. I want to feel your sweet embrace;
                                       But don't take that paper bag off your face.

8. I love your smile, your face, and your eyes
                                              Damn, I'm good at telling lies!

9. My love, you take my breath away.
                                        What have you stepped in to smell this way?

10. My feelings for you no words can tell,
                                              Except for maybe 'Go to he!l.'

11. What inspired this amorous rhyme?
                                              Two parts vodka, one part lime.

Post by: fitzroyalty on February 10, 2010, 03:28:55 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 10, 2010, 12:23:37 AM
Unless you're 16 or under the only thing you should be expecting is a good rogering. no cards, no flowers, no gifts just a day like every other day ::)
CORRECT
Post by: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 05:09:46 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 10, 2010, 08:53:16 AM

I'd say him hating Valentines day so much is probably a reflection on the entire relationship...

:O the cheek!
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2010, 05:47:49 PM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on February 10, 2010, 05:09:46 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 10, 2010, 08:53:16 AM

:O the cheek!

A good oul snog should do you takeyourownpath.
Post by: Niall Quinn on February 10, 2010, 05:50:38 PM
I actually miss the day completely this year. I fly out of Vancouver on sat 13 and arrive in Sydney on the morning of the 15. It's perfect.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 10, 2010, 06:04:40 PM
takeyourown, what was wrong with the birthday and anniversary?

valentines day is hardly mentioned in my house.

though you know what's the worst, people sending or receiving flowers to places of work!
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on February 11, 2010, 02:31:52 AM
http://www.pumahardchorus.com/
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 13, 2010, 04:34:09 PM
Walked in to the shops early this morning, and it freezing, and met an oul man coming back in one of those electronic buggie things they do have with a blanket around him and a bunch of roses in his front basket. 
Post by: Family guy on February 13, 2010, 06:07:40 PM
Running late,just home from wrk been busy all week,wats a good late pressie?? :( bottle of lube bound 2 do the trick  ;D
Post by: illdecide on February 13, 2010, 07:10:13 PM
Quote from: Family guy on February 13, 2010, 06:07:40 PM
Running late,just home from wrk been busy all week,wats a good late pressie?? :( bottle of lube bound 2 do the trick  ;D

Go home and give her the hairy side of your hand and tell her "thats you're Valentines present, now where's my dinner"
Post by: new devil on February 13, 2010, 08:07:43 PM

She wouldn't need it  :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2010, 08:37:29 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 10, 2010, 02:49:42 PM
I usually get a lie in on a Sunday morning, I hope to f**k it isn't jeopardised due to it being Valentines Day and the little lady under the illusion she is getting to stay in bed.
It's not mothers day so why would she be expecting a lie in. St Valentines day is for the men too.
Post by: Family guy on February 14, 2010, 01:36:07 PM
Quote from: new devil on February 13, 2010, 08:07:43 PM

She wouldn't need it  :P

Haha i like your style new devil.hows the weather in chicago these days??
Post by: Orior on February 14, 2017, 04:25:35 PM
So, who got cards today?
Post by: illdecide on February 14, 2017, 04:36:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 14, 2017, 04:25:35 PM
So, who got cards today?

I'll not know until i get home from work...i'm so excited.
Post by: ziggysego on February 14, 2017, 04:37:37 PM
So, who got cards today?

I got a letter from the doctor today.
Post by: laoislad on February 14, 2017, 04:38:32 PM
A day for gobshites.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2017, 04:39:27 PM
So, who got cards today?

I got my wife one. She got me one too.
Post by: No wides on February 14, 2017, 04:43:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 14, 2017, 04:38:32 PM
A day for gobshites.

Postman's back must have been broke going to your house then.  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 14, 2017, 07:07:40 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 14, 2017, 04:37:37 PM
So, who got cards today?

I got a letter from the doctor today.
A french letter?
Post by: seafoid on February 14, 2017, 08:13:39 PM
A day for gobshites.
I agree. Marketed to death
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 14, 2017, 08:23:17 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 14, 2017, 08:13:39 PM
A day for gobshites.
I agree. Marketed to death
+1 lads marketing nonsense and the day should be scrapped like Arthurs day was.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 14, 2017, 08:25:42 PM
No cards or flowers bought. I did text her earlier to tell her to buy flowers and a card for herself if she wanted. I'm not a total animal.
Post by: laoislad on February 14, 2017, 08:51:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 14, 2017, 08:25:42 PM
No cards or flowers bought. I did text her earlier to tell her to buy flowers and a card for herself if she wanted. I'm not a total animal.
I did give herself an envelope this morning alright. It was the ESB bill.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 15, 2017, 11:39:06 AM
Heard on the radio yesterday.
My granddad's doctor told him it was OK to have sex at 75
He was delighted as he only lives 2 doors down at 79
Post by: Orior on February 15, 2017, 12:28:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 15, 2017, 11:39:06 AM
Heard on the radio yesterday.
My granddad's doctor told him it was OK to have sex at 75
He was delighted as he only lives 2 doors down at 79

That's an old Bob Monkhouse joke, which proves that good jokes can be enjoyed by all ages, gender, socio-economic groups, auditors and so on an so forth.

(Why do auditors never smile when you crack a joke in their presence?)
Post by: leenie on February 15, 2017, 12:50:30 PM
A day for gobshites.

Ur a miserable aul sod .. u'd think you'd be happier being free and all that ..
Post by: No wides on February 15, 2017, 01:26:33 PM
Quote from: leenie on February 15, 2017, 12:50:30 PM
A day for gobshites.

Ur a miserable aul sod .. u'd think you'd be happier being free and all that ..

Post by: ONeill on February 15, 2017, 05:41:47 PM
Treated her to Barcelona and Paris. Great game.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 17, 2017, 03:41:30 PM
Did she treat you to Munich?