Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 12:28:05 PM

Title: Atlantic - documentary
Post by: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 12:28:05 PM
Finally got to watch this excellent documentary in its entirety last night on RTE1 last night (if you haven't seen it, do yourself a favour and watch it on the RTE player). Despite the fact that not a lot of the content relating to Ireland was new to me I was still tremendously angry after watching it and still am. Frankly anyone who thinks there's a justification for voting for FF or FG needs to watch this. Similarly, fans of the three card trick that is the EU need to think about this when evaluating "all the good" membership of that cabal has done us.

I hope people like AZ can understand why I'm so angry at our country and what a f*cked up mess it is. I deeply love our country and the greatness we should be reaching for. That's why I can't stand for the shittiness that we have to make do with and swallow all the time.

The bottom line is this - not only do FF and FG (and Labour since the 80's) not care about ordinary people, they actually despise us. I truly believe that. Yes, there are some lower level politicians who are "well intentioned"  ::) idiot sheep but I'm not giving them a pass for being stupid. Look what's happening all around us. People say "what's the alternative" which saddens me. That's a conditioned groupthink response, the one fed to us by O'Reilly and to a lesser extent the state broadcaster (I can't believe they were allowed show this documentary last night). Failing and repeating the same process is the definition of stupidity.
Title: Re: Atlantic - documentary
Post by: PW Nally on December 09, 2016, 12:53:09 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 12:28:05 PM
Finally got to watch this excellent documentary in its entirety last night on RTE1 last night (if you haven't seen it, do yourself a favour and watch it on the RTE player). Despite the fact that not a lot of the content relating to Ireland was new to me I was still tremendously angry after watching it and still am. Frankly anyone who thinks there's a justification for voting for FF or FG needs to watch this. Similarly, fans of the three card trick that is the EU need to think about this when evaluating "all the good" membership of that cabal has done us.

I hope people like AZ can understand why I'm so angry at our country and what a f*cked up mess it is. I deeply love our country and the greatness we should be reaching for. That's why I can't stand for the shittiness that we have to make do with and swallow all the time.

The bottom line is this - not only do FF and FG (and Labour since the 80's) not care about ordinary people, they actually despise us. I truly believe that. Yes, there are some lower level politicians who are "well intentioned"  ::) idiot sheep but I'm not giving them a pass for being stupid. Look what's happening all around us. People say "what's the alternative" which saddens me. That's a conditioned groupthink response, the one fed to us by O'Reilly and to a lesser extent the state broadcaster (I can't believe they were allowed show this documentary last night). Failing and repeating the same process is the definition of stupidity.

The Arranmore fisherman brought to court for potentially catching wild salmon as the Lithuanian registered Dutch super trawler dumps 4,000 tonnes (four thousand tonnes) of small fish was depressing to watch. He almost admitting the futility of his and his community's lot.
Post by: bennydorano on December 09, 2016, 12:55:15 PM
Must get a look at it.

Is Ireland falling out of love with the EU??
Post by: BennyCake on December 09, 2016, 02:24:40 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 09, 2016, 12:55:15 PM
Must get a look at it.

Two forced referendum replays in 20 years suggests yes.

Would Brexit impact be as bad for the South if they told the EU to get stuffed too? Isn't it the obvious solution? Their biggest exports are to Britain, so get the feck out of the Nazi Club.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 09, 2016, 02:56:01 PM

Watched it last night, great documentary although very depressing. Interesting to note that after tax write offs, etc., the corrib gas will return almost nothing to the exchequer directly. You can somewhat understand giving away the fishing rights, perhaps the value wasn't fully understood and they were at least getting something in return. Nothing of the sort with exploration rights.

For me though, the overall message is the neglect of peripheral regions in favour of the large urban areas by the government here and across the world - Brexit & Trump played on this neglect in a negative fashion.
Post by: screenexile on December 09, 2016, 03:10:08 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on December 09, 2016, 02:56:01 PM

Watched it last night, great documentary although very depressing. Interesting to note that after tax write offs, etc., the corrib gas will return almost nothing to the exchequer directly. You can somewhat understand giving away the fishing rights, perhaps the value wasn't fully understood and they were at least getting something in return. Nothing of the sort with exploration rights.

For me though, the overall message is the neglect of peripheral regions in favour of the large urban areas by the government here and across the world - Brexit & Trump played on this neglect in a negative fashion.

Indeed they played on the neglect which nobody doubts. What people doubt and with good reason so far is exactly what are Teresa May and Trump going to do about these neglected people??

Trump gave Carrier tax incentives admittedly to keep 800 jobs but there's no mention of the other 1200 odd shipped to Mexico!!

May has dropped corporation tax rate... that'll help all the poor communities in the North!!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 03:25:17 PM

The oil thing can be rectified in large part at the stroke of a pen only the political will is not there. This fairy story of "oil companies won't drill" if you up the CT or demand better terms is another great lie bought into by the masses. When we were forced to pay 42% of Europe's bank debt we should have said, right so, 50% corporation tax for oil companies (as our Labour minister of the early 70's had set up - similar to Norway) but no - screw the ordinary Joe to the floor. Restart emigration. Wreck peoples lives. The sheep will still vote us in.

While I'm at the stats - we "own" 25% of Europe's fishing waters but have 4% of the quotas. The whole thing is criminal and people need to wake up.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 03:27:49 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 09, 2016, 02:24:40 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 09, 2016, 12:55:15 PM
Must get a look at it.

Two forced referendum replays in 20 years suggests yes.

Would Brexit impact be as bad for the South if they told the EU to get stuffed too? Isn't it the obvious solution? Their biggest exports are to Britain, so get the feck out of the Nazi Club.

I think the option needs to be explored. Especially in light of the illegal interference with our Taxation regime - our last vestige of sovereignty. I think we might be better off if we leave with a cogent, well thought out pland but one thing's for sure - if we lose the Apple case we have no choice - we must leave the EU. Otherwise we're totally fcuked.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 09, 2016, 03:34:57 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 03:25:17 PM

The oil thing can be rectified in large part at the stroke of a pen only the political will is not there. This fairy story of "oil companies won't drill" if you up the CT or demand better terms is another great lie bought into by the masses. When we were forced to pay 42% of Europe's bank debt we should have said, right so, 50% corporation tax for oil companies (as our Labour minister of the early 70's had set up - similar to Norway) but no - screw the ordinary Joe to the floor. Restart emigration. Wreck peoples lives. The sheep will still vote us in.

While I'm at the stats - we "own" 25% of Europe's fishing waters but have 4% of the quotas. The whole thing is criminal and people need to wake up.

Absolutely agree. It's not like they can just go elsewhere and drill for this oil/gas. Always suspicious when you have the likes of Ray Burke and Bertie involved in changing those laws too.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 03:49:07 PM
They should be in jail for the rest of their lives for what they've done. The damage they and their party and their sister party FG have done to the people of this country is indescribable.

We need to grow up as a country and show FF/FG the door. For good. Encourage good, community people with the right motives who are answerable to no one but their constituents.
Post by: J70 on December 09, 2016, 04:06:59 PM
I don't know Seanie... is there or has there ever been a sustainable political system where politicians WON'T sell out their own mothers? Where vested interests won't shape the public dialogue and start whisper campaigns to discredit anyone opposing them? Especially in this day and age of "fake news" and enough morons out there with access to the internet and conspiracy theories designed to channel their clueless, aimless anger at their lives?
Post by: Declan on December 09, 2016, 04:31:32 PM
QuoteWe need to grow up as a country and show FF/FG the door.

Latest polls give them 57% of the vote and in the last general election they got just over 50% so looks like the rest of the country aren't on the same wavelength
Post by: magpie seanie on December 09, 2016, 04:38:05 PM
Quote from: Declan on December 09, 2016, 04:31:32 PM
QuoteWe need to grow up as a country and show FF/FG the door.

Latest polls give them 57% of the vote and in the last general election they got just over 50% so looks like the rest of the country aren't on the same wavelength

What did they get in 1970's/1980's? The graph is thankfully going in the right direction though not quick enough.
Post by: BennyCake on December 09, 2016, 05:39:15 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 09, 2016, 04:06:59 PM
I don't know Seanie... is there or has there ever been a sustainable political system where politicians WON'T sell out their own mothers? Where vested interests won't shape the public dialogue and start whisper campaigns to discredit anyone opposing them? Especially in this day and age of "fake news" and enough morons out there with access to the internet and conspiracy theories designed to channel their clueless, aimless anger at their lives?

There's no repercussions for politicans who are elected and wreck the place. Voted in amid promises galore, and walk away with the country fecked and their own pockets lined. Then another cowboy gets in and does the same. They'd think twice about their antics if the people rose up and dragged them from Leinster house by the bollix. Only then might you have a better run country.
Post by: J70 on December 09, 2016, 06:21:43 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 09, 2016, 05:39:15 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 09, 2016, 04:06:59 PM

There's no repercussions for politicans who are elected and wreck the place. Voted in amid promises galore, and walk away with the country fecked and their own pockets lined. Then another cowboy gets in and does the same. They'd think twice about their antics if the people rose up and dragged them from Leinster house by the bollix. Only then might you have a better run country.

How do you accomplish that though?

Does anyone REALLY believe campaign promises? Even if genuine, any politician has to get past the web of vested interests and opposing politicans. They all have to compromise and horse-trade.

Plus, your picture of a "better run country" might not coincide with your neighbour's.
Post by: Olly on December 09, 2016, 11:54:48 PM
Just get on with it lads. You voted them in. Even if you'd vote the other ones in it'd be the same. Life is brutish.
Post by: armaghniac on December 09, 2016, 11:59:05 PM
Quote from: Olly on December 09, 2016, 11:54:48 PM
Just get on with it lads. You voted them in. Even if you'd vote the other ones in it'd be the same. Life is brutish.

Better than being in the Brutish Empire, all the same.
Post by: Olly on December 10, 2016, 12:00:42 AM
I don't think so. We're happier up here. The southerners are eternally angry about everything.
Post by: trileacman on December 10, 2016, 12:21:26 AM
Quote from: Olly on December 10, 2016, 12:00:42 AM
I don't think so. We're happier up here. The southerners are eternally angry about everything.

Agreed.

You haven't it that f**king bad. Stop whinging.

If the quality of life in Ireland is so poor for you f**k off to Lesotho or Angola or Yemen. People love to bitch about their lot, my aunt does a bit of occasional volunteer work with poverty ridden South Africans. The stories and photos she could show you about life for those poor would give you a real kick up the arse.

You're more than well enough off and it's pathetic you can't seem to recognise it.
Post by: armaghniac on December 10, 2016, 12:23:22 AM

Everyone who lives north of Camlough is sourer than last weeks milk.
(https://sluggerotoole.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Jim-Allister-interview-screen-grab.png)

Post by: Denn Forever on December 10, 2016, 11:54:20 AM
It is amazing how similar ae times the Newfoundland accent was so similar to the Irish accent.

Proof that St Brendan discovered America way before the Spanish.
Post by: OgraAnDun on December 10, 2016, 01:58:12 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 10, 2016, 11:54:20 AM
It is amazing how similar ae times the Newfoundland accent was so similar to the Irish accent.

I thought some of them were Irish emmigrants that had been living for a long time in Canada for a while.
Post by: armaghniac on December 10, 2016, 02:58:13 PM

2 + 2 = ∞

Post by: Hound on December 10, 2016, 09:30:51 PM

There's absoutely no doubt the fisherman were the one sector absolutely screwed by our EU membership.

But the nonsense in the oil part really let the documentary down. Norway's 50% tax rate sounds great, but they also give 50% refunds to exploration ventrues that are unsuccessful. Which is fine for them, because the vast majority are successful. Unlike Ireland, where the vast majority are unsuccessful. If we had the same regime as Norway, we'd be far more broke than we are!

It's still up in the air whether there will be any profits from Corrib. Billions spent by the exploring companies. It's utterly ridiculous that some people suggest they should not be able to offset their costs against their income, like every other business is allowed to.
Post by: muppet on December 10, 2016, 09:38:45 PM
Hound, the suggestion most people made was that they some royalties.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 11, 2016, 01:02:05 AM
Quote from: Hound on December 10, 2016, 09:30:51 PM

There's absoutely no doubt the fisherman were the one sector absolutely screwed by our EU membership.

But the nonsense in the oil part really let the documentary down. Norway's 50% tax rate sounds great, but they also give 50% refunds to exploration ventrues that are unsuccessful. Which is fine for them, because the vast majority are successful. Unlike Ireland, where the vast majority are unsuccessful. If we had the same regime as Norway, we'd be far more broke than we are!

It's still up in the air whether there will be any profits from Corrib. Billions spent by the exploring companies. It's utterly ridiculous that some people suggest they should not be able to offset their costs against their income, like every other business is allowed to.

There's one huge difference with exploration companies though - they can't move to another country to drill for this oil & gas in the same way that say Intel can go anywhere to build their microchips. That difference means they should bettreated differently from a tax point of view, if they don't want to drill then fine, whatever's there will still be there in 100 years time
Post by: BennyCake on December 12, 2016, 12:33:32 PM
I knew the EU had fcuked the fishing industry in ireland, but just not to that extent. Makes you wonder why Ireland would still want to remain in the Nazi Club. Is it any wonder the UK voted out. Time for the Irish people to demand their own referendum and get the feck out.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 12, 2016, 02:14:08 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 10, 2016, 12:21:26 AM

Agreed.

You haven't it that f**king bad. Stop whinging.

If the quality of life in Ireland is so poor for you f**k off to Lesotho or Angola or Yemen. People love to bitch about their lot, my aunt does a bit of occasional volunteer work with poverty ridden South Africans. The stories and photos she could show you about life for those poor would give you a real kick up the arse.

You're more than well enough off and it's pathetic you can't seem to recognise it.

So if there are people worse off than you then you lose the right to argue for things to be better? That's pretty fucked up logic there.
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 12, 2016, 03:25:45 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on December 10, 2016, 01:58:12 PM

I thought some of them were Irish emmigrants that had been living for a long time in Canada for a while.

I saw a documentary that was made in the 70's about Newfoundland and their Irish connection, from what I recall there was a strong link with immigrants coming over form the Waterford region.
Post by: Fuzzman on December 12, 2016, 04:15:15 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQc43b4OsRg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Newfoundlanders
Post by: Hound on December 12, 2016, 09:39:50 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 12, 2016, 12:33:32 PM
I knew the EU had fcuked the fishing industry in ireland, but just not to that extent. Makes you wonder why Ireland would still want to remain in the Nazi Club. Is it any wonder the UK voted out. Time for the Irish people to demand their own referendum and get the feck out.
While the fishermen got fecked over royally, many other sectors did well out of the EU - agriculture being one example. Politically the farmers were far better connected than the fisherman, so got much better deals.

Although whether we should remain in the EU if UK leave is a legitimate question to ask. We could also be forced out if tax harmonisation of some sort if foisted upon us. I think we'll be better in if we can, but we'll need to set up alliances with others when the UK leaves, in particular the Scandinavians, to ensure Germany and France don't run it all for their own benefit. The latter two certainly seem to be using the tax controversies and the UK leaving as an opportunity to push their own agenda more forcibly.
Post by: BennyCake on December 12, 2016, 09:58:22 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 12, 2016, 09:39:50 PM
While the fishermen got fecked over royally, many other sectors did well out of the EU - agriculture being one example. Politically the farmers were far better connected than the fisherman, so got much better deals.

Although whether we should remain in the EU if UK leave is a legitimate question to ask. We could also be forced out if tax harmonisation of some sort if foisted upon us. I think we'll be better in if we can, but we'll need to set up alliances with others when the UK leaves, in particular the Scandinavians, to ensure Germany and France don't run it all for their own benefit. The latter two certainly seem to be using the tax controversies and the UK leaving as an opportunity to push their own agenda more forcibly.

The big farmers maybe. Most small farms have gone though. Small producers supplying small shops and markets are gone. Another thing that's wrong is the amount of food that can be grown here is imported from EU. Therefore making our growers irrelevant, apple growers, strawberries, potatoes, among them. All those jobs gone. Local producers fecked because of EU.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 13, 2016, 10:35:42 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 12, 2016, 09:58:22 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 12, 2016, 09:39:50 PM

The big farmers maybe. Most small farms have gone though. Small producers supplying small shops and markets are gone. Another thing that's wrong is the amount of food that can be grown here is imported from EU. Therefore making our growers irrelevant, apple growers, strawberries, potatoes, among them. All those jobs gone. Local producers fecked because of EU.

This is what we need here. A sensible discussion about our future and the pros and cons of our membership of the EU. Personally I think we need to look at all the options and make people aware there have been and are huge negatives to our membership. The general consensus here and certainly among the political ruling class is that it has been nothing but good.

I've always been sceptical. my Dad loves saying "there's no such thing as a free lunch" so I always wondered why we were getting these big structural funds. Obviously the spending power of the 4 million of us is pretty inconsequential in the greater scheme of things. It was the fishing they were paying us off for. I think the EU has been a zero sum gain for Ireland with one exception - our ability to attract large MNC's would not have been possible outside the EU. They're getting pissed off now because it's going on too long and they'll eventually bring in tax harmonisation. We cannot accept that at any price. Our relationship with Britain - for good or for bad - is crucial and we'll be very isolated when they leave if we cannot do our own special deal with them. They're feckers but they're better than Germany and France.