Twitter

Started by irunthev, July 16, 2009, 12:27:56 PM

Ditched Twitter, thought the political stuff on it was abolutely toxic. Do not miss it at all.

Eire90

yep seems like musk wants to shove politics down peoples throats.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 20, 2023, 10:58:14 AMWhat would you really miss by not being on it?
GAA score updates/line ups but already score beo,WTS and other apps are taking their place in that regard.

Quote from: Blowitupref on September 21, 2023, 03:01:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 20, 2023, 10:58:14 AMWhat would you really miss by not being on it?
GAA score updates/line ups but already score beo,WTS and other apps are taking their place in that regard.

Yeah it's the only thing I used it for but now it won't let you see the latest posts unless you're signed up

AustinPowers

Has Twitter changed recently?

I only really use it   for scores , football news etc , but up until a few days ago , I was absolutely bombarded with posts from  accounts I don't even follow. I would say  one in ten posts  was  from someone I followed. Frig me , but it was  annoying

Now, this last couple of days , I'm not getting any unknown posts, just the  accounts I follow , plus the odd advert.

Has Dickwad  Musk finally  wised up or is this just  a temporary thing?

There's For You and Following tabs top of page Austin sounds like for a day or two you were on the For you tab where they fire any oul shite at you eg the nosiness gets the better of you and u tip into Bryson's latest rant then next thing you get the pleasure of seeing all his posts.

Following is the way to go for your sanity

AustinPowers

How do I get rid of those Temu b+++++++ds from my  timeline?

Their ads are like that bloody U2 album , they just  won't feck off!

Joined Bluesky during the week, looks like old Twitter (not an accident presumably), see how it progresses

The posts by Musk are making me move from Twitter too.

I'm just worried about missing out on football scores on Bluesky.

clonian

Quote from: Orior on November 16, 2024, 07:35:51 PMThe posts by Musk are making me move from Twitter too.

I'm just worried about missing out on football scores on Bluesky.

I'm the same - still jump on twitter for scores and stuff but I'll use bluesky for normal interactions

Mad Mentor

I deleted the app a month ago and haven't missed it. The ratio of shite to useful info was just too high.

I'm waiting to see do news outlets, clubs, etc start posting to Bluesky.
Threads is a mess and all the blowhards announcing the move from X are on the 3rd round of it...
They were all off to Mastadon last year. Blindboy and the likes "getting off this hellsite" but then he realises he has to build up from scratch so stays...

X is still the best job for rolling news and sport updates. If you have some cop re bots and trolls it's grand too.
It's not a place for debates.

Don Cockburn

Until GAA county accounts start posting the scores on Bluesky, it will never take off.