GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2023, 08:00:27 PM

Title: MAYO v ROSCOMMON - Connacht Football Championship - Quarter-Final
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2023, 08:00:27 PM
Ok time to move on!

Have a feeling this will be as silent as the League Final with Posts!
Title: Re: MAYO v ROSCOMMON - Connacht Football Championship - Quarter-Final
Post by: Rossfan on April 02, 2023, 11:27:59 PM
I know it's only oul Hurley stuff but today's U20 game ended
Ros 12-20
Tyrone 3-7.
We'll hardly bate Mayowestros by as much next Sunday ;D
Post by: highorlow on April 02, 2023, 11:37:41 PM
Just in from the pub now. All good 🤙
Post by: seafoid on April 03, 2023, 02:51:43 PM
The clash of the titans. Ros won their first 3 in D1 but then eased off, presumably because they were doing more training.
I would expect the Ros forwards at championship pace to put up a good score. Mayo can't be too different to yesterday. They will bring their organised chaos A game.
Post by: weareros on April 03, 2023, 03:16:47 PM
I hope the ref Mr. Mooney (who punished us severely a few years ago when he overturned a free that would have kept us in DIV 1) will be strict on what I see as the most annoying aspect of the modern game, the stealing of yards on marks and frees. No disrespect to Ryan O'Donaghue who is a fine footballer, but he is one of the worst offenders. He stamps on the ground as if to say well that's the spot where I will kick from and the ref thinks, well he just stamped on the ground so all is well. ROD then proceeds to kick the ball from a mark nowhere near where he stamped, often ten to twenty yards from where the mark was called or foul committed. There's no other sport that would tolerate this but it's rife in GAA. I have never seen a ref call it yet.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 03, 2023, 06:19:36 PM
Galway was competitive yesterday by holding Mayo who are been free scoring this year to a low score and if they were a bit more clinical from the goal chances created they could have won.  Roscommon's best chance is doing similar in defence while hoping to be less wasteful or not making the Colm Reape MOTM. In the league game last month Roscommon conceded 1-16 which included a total gift of a goal if a similar score or more is conceded this Sunday I would expect Mayo to win by 4 to 6 points.   
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2023, 10:16:09 AM
DB
https://www.youtube.com/live/wiK00TdojtA&t=4725
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2023, 11:11:02 AM
Roscommon love taking the neighbours down a peg especially when it is felt they may have a case of notions.
And they win around one in 5 titles so they are pretty good at it.
Post by: Rossfan on April 04, 2023, 02:10:10 PM
Ah but Seaf this year we're up against the League Champions and AI Champions elect.
Our only hope is that Mayowestros are preparing for the AI series and won't be bothered with the Connacht stuff.
Hopefully we'll keep it respectable Sunday :-\ :-[
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2023, 03:41:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 04, 2023, 02:10:10 PM
Ah but Seaf this year we're up against the League Champions and AI Champions elect.
Our only hope is that Mayowestros are preparing for the AI series and won't be bothered with the Connacht stuff.
Hopefully we'll keep it respectable Sunday :-\ :-[
We saw the turbo version in Feb. Plus Mayo aren't fluirseach when it comes to scoring. My image of the first 3 rounds is of Rossies rampaging in waves. I think it will be interesting. (https://www.irishtimes.com/resizer/BMsMO-KgTjW7G3PDOTWnNZlcVrQ=/1600x0/filters:format(jpg):quality(70)/cloudfront-eu-central-1.images.arcpublishing.com/irishtimes/4BPP5KZTYZBNPE6GEIYFHNB7OY.jpg)
Post by: Blowitupref on April 04, 2023, 04:18:58 PM
QuoteMayo aren't fluirseach when it comes to scoring

Mayo was the top scorers in Div 1 with 9-112 (139) 30 points ahead of the next best scoring team.
Post by: whitey on April 04, 2023, 04:58:55 PM
This has all the makings of an ambush

Rossies have nothing to lose
Post by: From the Bunker on April 04, 2023, 05:49:38 PM
Quote from: whitey on April 04, 2023, 04:58:55 PM

Are you joking me? They have a championship game to lose just like Mayo. They have something to lose.  A statement like that is unwittingly disrespectful to Roscommon football as if they are only there to make up the numbers. They are a Division One side (on Merit).
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2023, 06:38:52 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 04, 2023, 05:49:38 PM

Are you joking me? They have a championship game to lose just like Mayo. They have something to lose.  A statement like that is unwittingly disrespectful to Roscommon football as if they are only there to make up the numbers. They are a Division One side (on Merit).
As a Division 1 team, they have already qualified for the Sam Maguire so they don't have anything to lose if they choose to ambush Mayo.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 04, 2023, 10:47:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 04, 2023, 06:38:52 PM

As a Division 1 team, they have already qualified for the Sam Maguire so they don't have anything to lose if they choose to ambush Mayo.

What have Mayo to lose, that Roscommon don't have to lose? I'm a bit confused here.
Post by: weareros on April 04, 2023, 11:17:50 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 04, 2023, 10:47:38 PM

What have Mayo to lose, that Roscommon don't have to lose? I'm a bit confused here.

Whoever wins will be delighted and whoever loses knows they are a third seed in the group stages. As far as I can see, the loser on Sunday could still end up in the same group as the Connacht winner - and have more recovery time for any injuries to clear up. The toll of the Connacht draw of Mayo, Ros, and Galway on one side of the draw will do no favours to Sunday's winner. But traditional rivalries will not even care about that. It will be win at all costs, as it should be.
Post by: Piskin on April 05, 2023, 12:54:41 AM
Should be a close game and hopefully a good one.
Post by: larryin89 on April 05, 2023, 09:43:56 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 04, 2023, 11:11:02 AM
Roscommon love taking the neighbours down a peg especially when it is felt they may have a case of notions.

I suppose what's seldom is wonderful, 91 , 2001 and 2019 , have I left any out over the last 30 odd years ?
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on April 05, 2023, 10:01:54 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 05, 2023, 09:43:56 AM

I suppose what's seldom is wonderful, 91 , 2001 and 2019 , have I left any out over the last 30 odd years ?
2010 and 2017 anyway off the top of my head.
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2023, 10:22:17 AM
Quote from: weareros on April 04, 2023, 11:17:50 PM

Whoever wins will be delighted and whoever loses knows they are a third seed in the group stages. As far as I can see, the loser on Sunday could still end up in the same group as the Connacht winner - and have more recovery time for any injuries to clear up. The toll of the Connacht draw of Mayo, Ros, and Galway on one side of the draw will do no favours to Sunday's winner. But traditional rivalries will not even care about that. It will be win at all costs, as it should be.
I don't think being third seed is a big deal. Second seeds in Munster and Leinster are not going to be anything special.The 3 Connacht teams are probably in the top 8 anyway so  that should come out in the wash.
Post by: larryin89 on April 05, 2023, 10:32:49 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on April 05, 2023, 10:01:54 AM

That honour belongs to Sligo &longford in 2010 and Galway & Kerry in 2017
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on April 05, 2023, 10:44:51 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 05, 2023, 10:32:49 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on April 05, 2023, 10:01:54 AM

That honour belongs to Sligo &longford in 2010 and Galway & Kerry in 2017
My bad, thought it was Connacht titles in discussion! Rossies don't beat Mayo often at all for sure, better record against ourselves.
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2023, 10:47:19 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/04/05/sean-moran-questions-the-gaa-will-hope-are-answered-in-the-months-ahead/

Will Mayo ultimately be glad that they won the league? The answer to that remains to emerge but next Sunday's outcome will have a major bearing. The strong signals from the county are that the momentum of winning outweighs the benefit of a better spaced schedule.
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2023, 10:48:03 AM

See above. Apparently momentum is the currency in Mayo
Post by: larryin89 on April 05, 2023, 10:54:52 AM
Yeah I think it's clear from Rochfords rally call to supporters to turn up and make noise Sunday that it's route one they've chosen to go for . Of course that has a chance of failing a good chance with both ros and Galway to go to battle with but like I say I think it's clear as day management will be going full steam ahead Sunday . Ros will have their own aspirations though and will see this as a great opportunity of beating our bucks , you'd have to be concerned with the recovery time from a mayo perspective .

Personally think Galway will retain Nestor anyway tbh . A slightly better team than both Mayo and Ros are imho . Further down the road into their peak as an elite side .
Post by: whitey on April 05, 2023, 12:15:48 PM

Will you wind your horns in like a good fella

It was far from intended as being disrespectful....quite the opposite

Just look at the betting odds
Post by: rosnarun on April 05, 2023, 03:25:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 05, 2023, 10:47:19 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/04/05/sean-moran-questions-the-gaa-will-hope-are-answered-in-the-months-ahead/

Will Mayo ultimately be glad that they won the league? The answer to that remains to emerge but next Sunday's outcome will have a major bearing. The strong signals from the county are that the momentum of winning outweighs the benefit of a better spaced schedule.

yes because the league is a national Title and worthy of winning in its own right .
mayo are always favourites playing roscommon anyway so it didnt change anything.
The disrespect H have shown to the league by starting the championship a week later is no something mayo can do anything about
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2023, 03:52:53 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 05, 2023, 03:25:30 PM

yes because the league is a national Title and worthy of winning in its own right .
mayo are always favourites playing roscommon anyway so it didnt change anything.
The disrespect H have shown to the league by starting the championship a week later is no something mayo can do anything about

Even in the late 70s or 1980?
Post by: larryin89 on April 05, 2023, 04:01:46 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 05, 2023, 03:52:53 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 05, 2023, 03:25:30 PM

I doubt they were favs in the 70s or early 80s but from the start of new mayo era from 88/89 onwards to this day yes , mayo have dominated this fixture .

Even in the late 70s or 1980?
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2023, 08:41:19 PM
https://youtu.be/fKNeQ2Yvdz0
Post by: Blowitupref on April 06, 2023, 08:37:35 PM
Roscommon first with a published team.

The Roscommon senior football to play Mayo in the Connacht championship Quarter final has been published.

Conor Carroll - Oranmore/Maree
Conor Hussey - Michael Glaveys
Conor Daly - Padraig Pearses
David Murray - Padraig Pearses
Niall Daly - Padraig Pearses
Brian Stack - St Brigids
Eoin McCormack - St Dominics
Dylan Ruane  - Micheal Glaveys
Keith Doyle - St Dominics
Ciarain Murtagh - St Faithleachs
Ciaran Lennon - Clann na nGael
Enda Smith - Boyle
Conor Cox - Eire Og
Diarmuid Murtagh - St Faithleachs
Ben O'Carroll - St Brigids

Subs
Colm Lavin (Eire Og) Colin Walsh (Oran) Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels) Robbie Dolan (St Brigids)  Niall Kilroy (Fuerty) Ruaidhri Fallon (St Brigids) Eddie Nolan (St Brigids)  Donie Smith (Boyle) Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses) Cian McKeon (Boyle) Richard Hughes (Roscommon Gaels)

Post by: seafoid on April 06, 2023, 09:05:52 PM
John Maughan on OTB declared that Mayo had lost to roscommon following their 4 most recent National League Final wins.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQm6SPsxbx8&t=4120s
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2023, 11:11:07 PM
2019, 2001, 1970 and.......?
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 06, 2023, 11:59:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2023, 11:11:07 PM
John Maughan unable to read a stat correctly.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 07, 2023, 01:25:19 PM
Mayo just one change to the starting 15 and Cillian O'Connor returns from injury is named on the bench.

1.Colm Reape -Knockmore
2.Jack Coyne - Ballyhaunis
3.David McBrien - Ballaghaderreen
4.Donnacha McHugh - Castlebar Mitchels
5.Stephen Coen - Hollymount Carramore
6.Conor Loftus - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
7.Paddy Durcan - (C) Castlebar Mitchels
8.Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
9.Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
10.Fionn McDonagh - Westport
11.Jack Carney - Kilmeena
12.Jordan Flynn - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
13.Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
14.James Carr - Ardagh
15.Ryan O'Donoghue - Beal an Mhuirthead

Subs:
16.Rory Byrne - Castlebar Mitchels
17.Sam Callinan - Ballina Stephenites
18.Tommy Conroy - The Neale
19.Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
20.Frank Irwin - Ballina Stephenites
21.Darren McHale - Knockmore
22.Eoghan McLaughlin - Westport
23.Conor McStay - Ballina Stephenites
24.Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber
25.Padraig O'Hora - Ballina Stephenites
26.Paul Towey - Charlestown Sarsfield
Post by: seafoid on April 07, 2023, 02:02:54 PM
53-54 if Maughan is correct

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Football_League_(Ireland)
Post by: Blowitupref on April 07, 2023, 02:46:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 07, 2023, 02:02:54 PM
53-54 if Maughan is correct

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Football_League_(Ireland)

1954 Mayo beat Roscommon in the Connacht championship, Galway won that Connacht title. It's a longer wait for Mayo to win the Div 1 and Connacht title in the same year as winning Sam Maguire.  (1949)

Last time Mayo won NFL Div 1 title and Sam Maguire in the same year was 1936.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2023, 03:33:10 PM
There'll be none of them playing Sunday anyway.
Very strange to be having a big Championship game v Rhubarbia so early in the year. None of the 3 weeks of blather etc like used to happen on bygone days.
While both team are already qualified for the Sam Championship there are local bragging rights to be gained.
Will they be worth anything in June?

Hard to see us winning and I'm 50/50 on whwtyerv we'd be better off with 5 or 6 weeks to prepare for the AI series rather than 3 dogfights in Connacht.
Post by: seafoid on April 07, 2023, 05:29:12 PM
27 years later

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/maughan-has-no-word-for-giving-in-1.90627

Maughan has no word for giving in
CASTLEBAR BARRACKS. Late. Not too late. Should get away with it. Suddenly Maughan looms beneath a slatey lintel
By TOM HUMPRHIES
Sat Sep 28 1996 - 01:00
CASTLEBAR BARRACKS. Late. Not too late. Should get away with it. Suddenly Maughan looms beneath a slatey lintel. Instant presence.
Howya John.
Howya.
Busy?

No. Just waiting for you.
Maughan smiles to himself. He stretches out his hand and pulps your fingers.
Learn more

Late. Didn't get away with it.
Bruised fingers. He has a way with words, but a better way with body language. Words make up a small part of the overall impression he leaves you with.
Print fails here. You have to have Maughan in front of you to understand the charisma. See him and you understand why grown men run through walls just to make John Maughan happy.
Words, though. He can dismantle sentences like rifles. He speaks about words. The art of using soft words about hard things. Things he's had to say. He understands the hardware.
For example, certain players aren't part of this year's great adventure in Mayo. Players with big names around the county are sitting high in the stand watching the parade. Maughan gave them their chances.
I marked his cards," he says of one celebrity absentee.
He did too. He took him aside and marked those cards.
"Think carefully now. It's your choice. If you want to miss this match. Just think carefully now. I'd like it if you came along."
He recounts this in the tones of a game show host encouraging a contestant to come back again next week. He stretches and sighs. Shakes his head.
"Jesus, it was plain enough what was going to happen next."
Suddenly it's Goodfellas. "You think `I'm jinny,'" says Joe Pesci. "Yeah, I think you're a very funny guy," says Ray Liotia.
"So I said to him: `Look. Just don't come back'." And Maughan smiles to himself again. "No messers. I'm very serious about that."
No messers. John Maughan is 34 and perhaps tomorrow will be the day that divides his life into two parts. Before the All Ireland. After the All Ireland.
Few people ever come to such a bridge in their lives but Maughan has a genius for handling people and a genius for football. He has the stature of the athlete he once was and the presence of the natural leader he is.
Thirty four years old and these past two weeks have been his greatest test. Having brought Mayo to the borders of the promised land he has had to herd his team home to Mayo and get them set again.
Tomorrow he thinks they will breach the borders. Tomorrow might he the day which divides his life into two parts.
ON the way to the drawn game two weeks ago John Maughan and his selectors, Peter Forde and Tommy O'Malley, shared the car drive to Dublin. As is their wont before big games they visitalised everything that might happen. How the game would unfold in certain sectors. What would happen if a player was sent off, two players, injuries.
Big match days are a pleasure for control freaks. Maughan organises the motor cycle escort from Westmanstown, checks the injuries, sets his watches, notes what time the team will arrive at the round, what time they will hit the pitch. Everything unfolds as it should. Even in the course of a game, every contingency that can be covered is covered. Maughan, O'Malley and Forde plan every detail.
Two weeks ago they laid contingencies for everything except a draw. When the whistle blew John Maughan had to think quickly.
He hustled his players in out of the mayhem of Croke Park to the sanctuary of the dressingroom and filled the void of anti climax with his voice.
It's six years since he first addressed a senior intercounty team. He has never found it daunting. He was 28 when Clare came looking for him to manage their footballers. Nine players showed up on the first night. Only a fool would have felt nervous amidst such disarray. He remembers that on the eve of Clare's first game against Tipperary he was "wittering on a bit" and drew his comments to a close suddenly.
He can't remember, though, ever feeling ill at ease with players or not being up to the demands of the occasion. Never anything but certainty.
So two weeks ago he buried his own disappointment, gathered his Mayo team together and subtracted the dejection from their thoughts. "That's the first half," he told them, "we've come from division three to within minutes of an All Ireland and it's still hanging there for us to claim. There is still 70 minutes left but if we take anything away from here it's not that we drew a game we should have won but that we know we are good enough."
He went around and spoke to players individually, shaking hands and patting sweaty backs. There was the odd casualty to be spoken to also. That could wait.
The press were banging on the door and the players minds were still racing but he bellowed his message out. Then the doors opened and he lost the team until Monday morning when he spoke to them informally before the lunch in the Burlington Hotel hosted by the GAA.
"You need to get your message in before they head out and their mothers and fathers and girlfriends and. friends hit them with their opinions.
On Monday morning too he spoke at length with John Casey. Maughan's full forward had come to Croke Park with a summer's worth of good reviews. Then he'd been blown away. Maughan had to tread carefully.
"Yeah, John Casey had to be spoken to. The following, morning did that and then again during the week. He was disappointed. We sat down and talked about it and eventually we picked him up again. We rationalised it, tried to ascertain why. Were there any contributing factors. If everything was OK with him. Being positive, I would point out to John that he is still a good footballer. One bad game doesn't mean you can't go out and do it again. We talked as well about the service John got, what made it hard for him to make an impact. John will be OK."
Home then. On Tuesday night he took the team to the beach in Enniscrone.
To clear his own head he arrived an hour or two before the team did and walked the beach taking the air. He loves Enniscrone. By the time the players cars starting arriving he felt good.
"I was in jolly form. I saw the lads coming in, I could read their body language. The dejection was gone, they were piping, ready to go. We did a little run, shook the lactic acid out of the legs. I wanted them to go down there to the beach before I took them back to a football field. We went to the steamroom and a had a seaweed bath. Good crack. Thursday night then we came to Castlebar again with our heads cleared."
Last weekend then he took them to Clare for some serious work, some meetings and a look at the video. The had two tough training sessions, one in Sixmilebridge, the other in Cusack Park, Ennis.
EVERYTHING has been executed with the feel for perfection which is Maughan's hallmark. The team stayed at the Clare Inn because Maughan likes its leisure facilities. On Saturday he got them together to watch the video which he had already watched three times.
There were things which he wanted to point out to them.
Mayo played poorly. Thirty one attacks in the first half, 22 of them via the high ball. We are not, he stressed, "a high ball team."
They watched. Again and again the high ball dropped down on John Casey's head with snow on it. Colm Coyle dropped back for the breaks, Martin O'Connell moved in from the left for the same reason. Three Meath men. One Mayo man. All they had to do was render Casey immobile.
Maughan examined the congestion in the midfield, how Enda McManus was always there flaring with menace on the forty, how Colm Coyle dropped in behind him and how Trevor Giles swept right across that line. Every time Liam McHale or David Beady get the ball there was a thicket of Meath bodies in front of them.
Twenty two high balls.
He proceeded slowly through the last 10 minutes of the game.
Mayo's full forward line pulled forward line back into midfield. Ray Dempsey around the middle looking for breaking ball. Meath with Mark Reilly and Colm Coyle forward; Graham Geraghty dropped back, meanwhile, trying to rid himself of Pat Holmes.
Through all of this chaos one constant nagged nagged at Maugan. Mayo's kickouts were unvarying.
Each one aimed at Liam McHale, dropping over McHale's head and into Enda McManus's arms. Worse. A couple of Mayo attacks ended up with balls dropped short into the goalkeeper's arms. Bad day. Bad plays.
He takes the team out to Ennis the next day and works them hard. Watches them. Makes decisions.
Decisions. An eternity of decision this year. For the past couple of months he reckons his sleep patterns have been all messed up. He goes to bed most nights and his head is racing with football thoughts. Last week for example, take last week.
At the weekend he spoke to Kevin O Neill. Good footballer, nice guy. O'Neill played the last 90 seconds of the drawn game and with David Nestor struggling to make a physical impact O Neill might have burst into the team for tomorrow. He just had to prove it.
On Sunday morning in Cusack Park. Kevin O'Neill struggled in training. Playing on Gary Ruane, a no nonsense reserve defender O'Neill couldn't locate his form. Down the other end, meanwhile, Torn Reilly, the veteran, was scoring seven points. Decisions to be made.
Maughan, Forde and O Malley spoke at length on Sunday. Called each other again on Monday afternoon. By then football was getting in on Maughan's head a bit too much. He bolted for the escape route.
I called Audrey (his wife) from work on Monday evening, told her to get the kids ready and we headed out to the woods in Tourmakeady and just walked. Beautiful out there. You need to get away. At this time of the year every small thing can look like a crisis. Everything has to be done quickly. You have to recharge."
They walked the woods. He slept badly on Monday night. Spoke to O'Malley and Forde again on Tuesday. Bad day. Hard decisions.
Imagine that," he says. "How horrible that is to have to tell fellas that they won't be on. On Tuesday night I had to have a chat with David Nestor and with Kevin O'Neill."
"I had to tell David he wasn't playing, that his friend Anthony Finnerty was taking his place. I had to tell Kevin that he Just wasn't going well, and with the need for a balance of midfielders, defenders and forwards he wasn't going to make the subs. I called them to me after their shower before the team had something to eat. They must have known when they saw me crooking the finger at them. I spent Sunday night and Monday worrying about that. Then Tuesday lads give you everything and sometimes you have to do that to them. That was hard on them both.
He knows how they must both be feeling. At this level, football dominates life completely. He has cleared the panel out so only the obsessives are left. Through the winter he pushed lads to the limit, demanding more and more. He knows about obsession what it feels like, where to find it.
"Yeah. I'm pretty tired a lot of time these days. I go to bed and think about football. I'm not home as often as I should be. There are things I'd be supposed to do around the house, I'm having to gel fellas into do it for me. Other things suffer.
"Bringing the kids swimming or something, I just don't have time to do it. Kids are happy enough, I hope. Last Monday we went out to the woods. I know we should do things like that more often. I rang the local swimming pool to find out when they have the public hour, but I haven't got down there yet with them. I feel guilty. I don't do as much as I should. Time is at a premium.
"The bottom line is that you love it. I love it. Love football. Liking it isn't sufficient. Football has to be in the body and blood and veins. Life revolves around it. Football was on a par with two extra subjects in the Leaving I went away every weekend playing football from 13 years of age onwards. I joined the army and the first weekend I was off with the army team. In college, irrespective of what was on academically, I'd play football if it was there to be played.
I met Audrey after the Sigerson in 1984 at a party. She realised from the start what was involved. Weddings, christenings, anything. I went football training instead. I'm lucky that she understands that. I'm lucky to get the latitude. Lucky to be involved in all this."
You look at him and absorb the sudden burst of animation. You know why Kevin O'Neill and David Nestor told him they didn't agree but that they'd back him 110 per cent anyway. You know why fellas run through walls for him. You know that some people aren't lucky at all, they make their own luck.
TOMORROW, when the hurly burly starts, Tommy O'Malley will watch the opposition, Peter Forde will lookat the Mayo backs and notionally John Maughan will keep an eye on the forwards. Up in the stand Seamus Rodgers will view the big picture.
In this aspect of things, Maughan feels he is the weak link. He follows the hall too much, gets sucked in by the match. He remembers a few times this summer during big games lurching up and down the sideline trying to attract the attention of a player and glancing behind to see Peter Forde on his hands and his knees as calm and as absorbed as a child watching a trout in a pool.
They have done well this summer Maughan, Forde and O'Malley. One of them spots a weak link in the chaos of the game and the others hone in on the weak link for two or three minutes. "You see pretty quick when a guy is struggling," says Maughan. Then they act, pulling out one of the many options they have provided themselves with in the planning process beforehand.
"We all know what we will do, what we have planned for. We don't have to talk much. We've been playing the game, all day, every day in our heads for the past two weeks."
More than the game. Maughan has pictured the scenes of victory, the coming home, the jubilation, the bonfires. Two weeks more have made him fractionally more stale, he thinks, but in terms of the big picture what does two weeks mean?
"Forty five years, that means a lot. It means a lot to people here in Mayo. The bad years haven't sat well with us. Two weeks extra have been difficult but we are pushing on.
Tomorrow might be the day, the time when it all ends, when Connacht football walks tall and Mayo folk light bonfires and John Maughan's life becomes a story of two parts. He thinks so too. Too big a man to entertain doubts.
"We've decided that we are good enough. We've done everything we could. There will be no post mortems. That wouldn't sit well, either. I'm happy enough that I'm not going to be kicking myself to death for 10 years over things I should have done."
He stands up. Instant presence. Interview over. He strolls off towards the bridge, towards the next part of this final, towards the second half of his life
Post by: seafoid on April 07, 2023, 07:44:59 PM
Cake on the prospects

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVu8QG9FN8M
Post by: From the Bunker on April 07, 2023, 09:36:39 PM
I don't know why (i actually do) you posted that Seifoid? It'd be kinda like posting an interview with Bosco McDermott from the same era.
Post by: larryin89 on April 07, 2023, 09:54:00 PM
Weather is goin to make a complete balls of this clash .
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 07, 2023, 11:43:28 PM
On the weather we got really lucky during the league campaign. April is known for it's lots of rain and soft pitches and one of the reason why the championship in the past didn't start until the summer months with firm,dry pitches.
Post by: Mano on April 08, 2023, 12:27:52 AM
Mayo saving Sam Callinan for the championship clash next week. Msy be a bit of complacency in the Mayo ranks not selecting their best corner back.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 08, 2023, 12:42:47 AM
Quote from: Mano on April 08, 2023, 12:27:52 AM
Mayo saving Sam Callinan for the championship clash next week. Msy be a bit of complacency in the Mayo ranks not selecting their best corner back.
He's named on the 26 so might start yet and Callinan got a starting spot when Enda Hession got injured who started the FBD final and opening 4 NFL games
Post by: seafoid on April 08, 2023, 06:13:33 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 07, 2023, 11:43:28 PM
On the weather we got really lucky during the league campaign. April is known for it's lots of rain and soft pitches and one of the reason why the championship in the past didn't start until the summer months with firm,dry pitches.
The clubs will get the nice pitches
Post by: Armagh18 on April 08, 2023, 10:04:41 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 07, 2023, 11:43:28 PM
Think it rained enough in March to do a whole year!

I suppose the Connacht boys always have that dome if they're stuck
Post by: SouthDublinBro on April 08, 2023, 07:34:19 PM
Poor weather will def help Mayo.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 08, 2023, 07:49:37 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on April 08, 2023, 07:34:19 PM
Poor weather will def help Mayo.

Yes, our neighbours in Roscommon wouldn't be as used to poor weather.   ::)
Post by: Rossfan on April 08, 2023, 07:58:41 PM
Times have changed. In pre Covid times the Rhus would be up to page 20 by now!!
Come to think of it our crew don't seem too excited either :-\
Hopefully our lads give a good account of themselves and keep it interesting for as long as possible.
Post by: seafoid on April 08, 2023, 08:01:44 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 08, 2023, 07:58:41 PM
Hopefully our lads give a good account of themselves and keep it interesting for as long as possible.
There would have been  more than 7 days to get the posts going
Post by: From the Bunker on April 08, 2023, 08:07:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2023, 08:01:44 PM
There would have been  more than 7 days to get the posts going

Yes, there would be at least a month. But the post league final analysis has left only a couple of days of a build up (on the Mayo side anyway).
Post by: Armagh18 on April 09, 2023, 08:33:03 AM
Cute hoorism getting worse lol.
Post by: Rossfan on April 09, 2023, 12:10:04 PM
Mixed with realism.....
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 01:11:11 PM
On the other hand this is the best Roscommon team for a while.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 01:20:26 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0409/1376066-roscommon-need-to-be-brave-to-down-exciting-mayo/
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2023, 04:19:28 PM
Great to see two Sam Mguire teams in action in a high scoring contest.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 04:21:02 PM
Mayo's wides to scores ratio is nuts
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2023, 04:25:27 PM
Penalty was for foot block commentators...
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 04:36:40 PM
Ros were ready
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 04:37:06 PM
Never complain about Derry defensive fball again.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 09, 2023, 04:37:43 PM
Rossies playing game on their terms.
Post by: thewobbler on April 09, 2023, 04:38:48 PM
Great effort by Ros so far. Tackling in numbers and with intent.

Will be interesting how they react should Mayo get going and get ahead.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 04:40:46 PM
Galway won't mind that at all I'd say.
Lots of sore bodies on both sides by full-time.
Think this will go all the way to the wire.

Post by: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 04:40:57 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 04:37:06 PM
Never complain about Derry defensive fball again.

Every team in the country with the exception of Meath setup the same way defensively. A token forward stationed up front from time to time. Football hard to watch these days unless there's emotional attachment.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 04:47:43 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 09, 2023, 04:25:27 PM

Canavan in the studio saying the penalty was soft and saying it was for the 2nd tackle into the back. FFS

You can possibly understand the commentators missing it because the 2nd one was a fairly clear foul as well but shocking stuff for the lads in the studio to miss it.
Post by: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 04:50:04 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 04:47:43 PM

Canavan in the studio saying the penalty was soft and saying it was for the 2nd tackle into the back. FFS

You can possibly understand the commentators missing it because the 2nd one was a fairly clear foul as well but shocking stuff for the lads in the studio to miss it.

Rte commentators called it correctly once they'd seen the replay during the play
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 04:52:36 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 04:50:04 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 04:47:43 PM

Rte commentators called it correctly once they'd seen the replay during the play

Yeah - meant to say fair enough about commentators missing it in real-time/first-time round.

You'd wonder if any of the gang in the studio ever did any bit of reffing at all.
Post by: Itchy on April 09, 2023, 04:53:04 PM
I thought Mayo won Sam a few weeks ago against Kerry, what's this game about?
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 04:57:02 PM
Delighted for Ros to do so well so far. Davy Burke was Kildare's loss.
Mayo are a momentum team and they hit a road block.
Paddy Joe Burke must be enjoying himself.
Post by: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 04:59:21 PM
Be quite a few head injuries this half I'd say
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:10:23 PM
Roscommon not at this lie down crap in a few league games.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2023, 05:11:36 PM
That one from o'shea's point was as bad as it gets. No one near him.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:13:13 PM
Mayo have a bigger panel .
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:17:52 PM
So far the match is like the opposite of last week for Mayo who are still chasing
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2023, 05:19:31 PM
The Connacht championship is a great day for the gale.
Post by: screenexile on April 09, 2023, 05:20:09 PM
Rossies are hard to like with the tumbling and rolling and lying down to break momentum.

They've played well but Mayo are growing into this and the keeper is a liability!
Post by: WhoDat on April 09, 2023, 05:20:53 PM
something needs to be done about the fake head injuries
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2023, 05:25:27 PM
There were two fouls on Mayo forwards there and Roscommon went up and scored...
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:26:06 PM
Some point by Murtagh. 3 points in it.
Post by: WhoDat on April 09, 2023, 05:26:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 09, 2023, 05:25:27 PM

never saw a ref being star struck by roscommon
Post by: screenexile on April 09, 2023, 05:26:57 PM
Murtagh has a wand of a left foot!
Post by: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 05:27:15 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 09, 2023, 05:25:27 PM

Mayo been awarded 1 foul this half according to McGinley
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:28:27 PM
As much as it be a upset, Roscommon seem hard to like.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:28:32 PM
Ros are doing great work in defence and then counterattacking to score points. It's catenaccio.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:28:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 09, 2023, 05:19:31 PM
The Connacht championship is a great day for the gale.
Blame the ESRI report
Post by: thewobbler on April 09, 2023, 05:29:16 PM
Roscommon very good at midfield.

Another interesting refereeing performance.

I don't think he knows he's doing it but he's innately favouriting the underdog.
Post by: clarshack on April 09, 2023, 05:29:46 PM
Should that not have been a black card for Aidan O'Shea possibly even straight red?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:30:29 PM
Seriously if a man  has a head injury, keep him off for 10mins doing a assessment , it's outright cheating. Lying there trying to waste time when there's nothing wrong with you.
Post by: screenexile on April 09, 2023, 05:30:41 PM
O'Shea has zero brain cells. A stupid foul and then a blatant push in the back!

Then another 🤦🏼‍♂️
Post by: screenexile on April 09, 2023, 05:31:20 PM
Quote from: clarshack on April 09, 2023, 05:29:46 PM
Should that not have been a black card for Aidan O'Shea possibly even straight red?

Definite black he didn't connect with the head as much as the Rossie pretended so
Post by: Itchy on April 09, 2023, 05:32:10 PM

How the hell did he not get black
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 05:33:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 09, 2023, 05:32:10 PM

How the hell did he not get black

Stonewall black for me.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:34:01 PM
Roscommon Midfield won it, they were very good. Mayo didn't take their points when on offer. Hard to know if he favoured Roscommon but he wasn't given Mayo too many frees.
Post by: gallsman on April 09, 2023, 05:35:09 PM
This has been crazy football from Mayo the last 10 or 15 mins. Only two points down and running down blind alleys chasing goals. Nobody wanting to take a shot, Conroy most notably.
Post by: thewobbler on April 09, 2023, 05:35:37 PM
I was big Aidan and I was getting refereed differently to everyone else on the field, i wouldn't be long lashing out myself
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:36:45 PM
Mayo started training before everyone else.
Roscommon are at championship speed today. They have very good backs and very good forwards.
Post by: downtothecore on April 09, 2023, 05:37:13 PM
League form means nothing when it comes championship. Roscommon are better
Post by: Itchy on April 09, 2023, 05:39:13 PM
Well done Ros. Fully deserved, the left everything on the field. I had a sneaky suspicion Mayo were going to well too soon this year. But they've time to regroup and go again.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on April 09, 2023, 05:39:32 PM
Would the fake head injuries be a McHugh tactic? Donegal used to pick up a lot of head injuries during games especially if the opposition were gaining any sort of momentum. The Rosie's thoroughly deserved their win today, tremendous work rate.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:39:43 PM
Mayo key scoring forwards let them down there, had enough possession to win it. There Midfield was also very poor, Roscommon on top the whole game. Short turn around from the league def a issue, min, 2 week break required.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:40:02 PM
Quote from: downtothecore on April 09, 2023, 05:37:13 PM
7 days recovery from the League Final is still a joke
Post by: Chimley on April 09, 2023, 05:41:03 PM
Quote from: downtothecore on April 09, 2023, 05:37:13 PM

They were certainly better today. I'd be holding off on the post mortem for Mayo just yet though.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on April 09, 2023, 05:41:10 PM
Mayo players not signing autographs?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:41:17 PM
Mayo still go farther than Roscommon, come July
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2023, 05:41:32 PM
Had a feeling that would happen. Last week's league final win disguised the face that Mayo coughed up a whole pile of goal chances and Galway didn't take any of them. Roscommon took theirs today.
Post by: Substandard on April 09, 2023, 05:42:09 PM
So relieved with that, was afraid we'd get blitzed early and then steamrolled.  Some super displays, and we did all the negative stuff that needs to be done, whether you like it or not.  Mayo are still going to be a force, and for now we'll enjoy this and look forward to Galway.  Diarmuid Murtagh is an absolute diamond.
Post by: square_ball on April 09, 2023, 05:42:33 PM

It was the type of challenge the black card was introduced to cut out.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 09, 2023, 05:43:24 PM
Had the Rossies in my accumulator -- Leitrim & Cork let me down!  ;)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 09, 2023, 05:43:46 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on April 09, 2023, 05:35:37 PM
I was big Aidan and I was getting refereed differently to everyone else on the field, i wouldn't be long lashing out myself
Poor AOS didn't fool the ref today
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:47:51 PM
So Mayo win the League and lose in the first round  of the championship

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m63yLJPYSfo

Post by: cornetto on April 09, 2023, 05:50:16 PM
Well karma does exist and all the dodgy frees mayo got last week went the way of the rossies today.Galway will not fancy the trip to ros ommon,they certainly have an Indian sign over us.
Post by: bennydorano on April 09, 2023, 05:50:34 PM
Roscommon definitely well drilled and better organised team today, but will it really matter in the long run? They're now sitting ducks for Galway and the way things are going the AI Groups are going to be lopsided by the looks of things, a bit of luck in the draw could be as important as Provincial progression to a final. Good to see the game played with Championship intensity.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 05:51:12 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 09, 2023, 05:43:24 PM

One of the most obvious rules of football backing the last few years has to have been do not bet on Cork under any circumstances.

They will always let you down.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:52:21 PM
Davy Burke was one of the last managers appointed last year but he cemented Roscommon's place in Division 1, after years of yoyoing,  with a 3rd place finish and now has engineered this magnificent ambush of Mayo with the round robin stage to look forward to. Roscommon never won a game in the Super 8s but this year is different already .
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 09, 2023, 05:52:38 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 05:51:12 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 09, 2023, 05:43:24 PM

One of the most obvious rules of football backing the last few years has to have been do not bet on Cork under any circumstances.

They will always let you down.

Fair point, living and learning a chara.  :)
Post by: marty34 on April 09, 2023, 05:52:54 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2023, 05:41:32 PM
Had a feeling that would happen. Last week's league final win disguised the face that Mayo coughed up a whole pile of goal chances and Galway didn't take any of them. Roscommon took theirs today.

Plus didn't they only get 4 points from play last week.

Not good enough.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:53:05 PM
Galway still crying, it seems a good run in the league, having to play league finals with short turn around doesn't help a team. I wonder if a good run to Ulster or Connacht final will actually not be a Benefit come the round Robin.
Post by: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 05:53:18 PM
Quote from: Substandard on April 09, 2023, 05:42:09 PM
So relieved with that, was afraid we'd get blitzed early and then steamrolled.  Some super displays, and we did all the negative stuff that needs to be done, whether you like it or not.  Mayo are still going to be a force, and for now we'll enjoy this and look forward to Galway.  Diarmuid Murtagh is an absolute diamond.

Thing is, if its part of your game and team prep (as it certainly looks with Roscommon), it shows the team / management know they are limited. Not the mentality you want to be starting an AI campaign with  A Connacht victory, the odd group win, but that's the height of it.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 05:56:15 PM
What negative stuff, like lying down pretending to be hurt?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2023, 05:56:58 PM
Quote from: cornetto on April 09, 2023, 05:50:16 PM
Well karma does exist and all the dodgy frees mayo got last week went the way of the rossies today.Galway will not fancy the trip to ros ommon,they certainly have an Indian sign over us.

Not in the Hyde. Galway have a great record there.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 09, 2023, 05:58:21 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 05:53:18 PM

Thing is, if its part of your game and team prep (as it certainly looks with Roscommon), it shows the team / management know they are limited. Not the mentality you want to be starting an AI campaign with  A Connacht victory, the odd group win, but that's the height of it.
Ridiculous
All the top teams are masters of it - kerry, dublin, tyrone
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 05:58:58 PM
Bring in a match clock - stop it for all stoppages and bang the head injury problem disappears overnight - plus a whole host of others like bringing on subs in added time just to waste time and debates about how much time the ref will add on vanish immediately.

Works a treat in the ladies game.

Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 05:59:09 PM

They finished in the top half of division 1 . In Connacht, Galway and Mayo have bragging rights. Ros have to prepare for matches with either differently. They won't be afraid of anyone in the Round Robins and would be expected to get to the quarter finals.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 06:00:16 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 09, 2023, 05:58:21 PM

Ridiculous

The rules of football at present punish any honest player and reward those who cheat.

It's an embarrassment.
Post by: JoG2 on April 09, 2023, 06:03:53 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 09, 2023, 05:58:21 PM

Ridiculous

ALL teams are cynical, but the fake head injuries, multiples of them / half seems to be a real Roscommon trait.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2023, 06:06:48 PM
Did any Dublin players go down holding their head last week?
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 09, 2023, 06:08:36 PM
Well done Rossies, to hold the league champions and All-Ireland contender to a mere 0-10 in their own back yard is some going.
Post by: Estimator on April 09, 2023, 06:10:59 PM
Couldn't believe Mayo tactics for the last 15mins. (20 including injury time) Understand there was a good breeze, but attempting to run the ball every time through that defence was bizarre. Looking handy frees and on occasion penalties to get them over the line. O'Connor hit a great score from the wing and then they stopped shooting for points.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 09, 2023, 06:15:46 PM
Best and most organised team won. Winning Midfield gave them the platform to win. Hadn't won a championship game in MacHale Park since 1986 now two wins there in their last two championship encounters. 
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 06:21:24 PM
Mayo scored 4 points from play in the League final. I think it was the same today. Last week Galway missed 4 goal chances. This week Roscommon took 2.
So Mayo have a lot of work to do.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 06:31:20 PM
https://twitter.com/TheSundayGame/status/1645111219890581504
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 09, 2023, 06:33:25 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 06:21:24 PM
Mayo scored 4 points from play in the League final. I think it was the same today. Last week Galway missed 4 goal chances. This week Roscommon took 2.
Was it 3 championship debutants in the full back line and goals for Mayo? What management team does that?
Post by: thewobbler on April 09, 2023, 06:36:12 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 09, 2023, 06:33:25 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 06:21:24 PM
Was it 3 championship debutants in the full back line and goals for Mayo? What management team does that?

Their problem was in midfield in that they at most won 35% possession, and up front, where they played head down ball any time they actually got it.

Defence played soundly.
Post by: Tubberman on April 09, 2023, 06:41:53 PM
Well done to Roscommon, they were the better organised team and saw it out well.
Fairly braindead stuff from Mayo, plenty of effort but no inspiration.
If they had taken the early goal chances, I think it would have been a different game, but that's just making excuses.
Might be no harm in terms of games schedule, but frustrating for all concerned I would say!
Post by: galwayman on April 09, 2023, 07:01:11 PM
I'm not so sure winning Connacht is any type of advantage in the new format.
Granted you avoid Dublin and Kerry most likely in the group stages but sure 3 qualify out of that anyway.

Post by: Hound on April 09, 2023, 07:19:42 PM
It's better to win the league than not win it. Always a great achievement to win the Division 1 national title.

It's better to win your province than not win it.

But neither will matter a shite come the round robin.

No real advantage either to avoiding the big guns in the round robin.  Probably just means you'll avoid that big gun in the quarters.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 09, 2023, 08:04:44 PM
Well done the Rossies and congratulations to the Rossies on this forum.
I don't get the non credit Roscommon got for their League?

Roscommon game management was superb today. Lucky at times. But as they say the harder you try the luckier you get. Anyone blaming the Conditions, Referee, antics and style of play are looking for a kop out.

From a Mayo perspective Winning a League title and preparing for today was a bridge to far. Not the end of the world.
The six weeks off could be a blessing.

Mayo are a work in progress and today will dampen expectations and take the heat off Management and the players.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 09, 2023, 08:19:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 09, 2023, 08:04:44 PM
Mayo are a work in progress and today will dampen expectations and take the heat off Management and the players.

I dunno entirely about the second half of that Bunker. But we'll see.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 09, 2023, 08:22:22 PM
Well done to Roscommon who executed their game plan superbly, all of their players put in a monstrous shift. The intensity,pure grit and determination was simply better than Mayo.  3rd place team in Div 1 beating a team that won the league wasn't a big surprise but the rossies having such control of the game in the middle third was surprise and all the more impressive when you consider the amount of players they have lost to injury or currently overseas that could play there (Compton,Harney,Killoran,O'Rourke)

Defeat could well be a blessing in disguise for Mayo.  6 weeks to train and prepare for the All Ireland group stage and should at the very least be reaching the last 8 of the championship.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on April 09, 2023, 08:39:00 PM
Fair play to the Rossies, great result and deserved. On to the Hyde in two weeks now.
Post by: Halfquarter on April 09, 2023, 08:42:45 PM
Quote from: marty34 on April 09, 2023, 05:52:54 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2023, 05:41:32 PM

Plus didn't they only get 4 points from play last week.

Not good enough.

You could look at it like that I suppose.

But they were only beaten once in the League, in a dead rubber match,
so their scoring wasn't all that bad.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 09:12:55 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 09, 2023, 07:01:11 PM
Granted you avoid Dublin and Kerry most likely in the group stages but sure 3 qualify out of that anyway.

As a third seed Mayo will play the first seed away in their first game.
They will have a home game against the 2nd seed in their second game.
They will have a game at a neutral venue against the 4th seed.

If they had won Connacht,as provincial winner they would have a home against against the third seed.
Their 2nd game would be away at the 4th seed,
They would have a game against the 2nd seed at a neutral venue.

Also in terms of qualifying from the groups, while three teams qualify the team that wins the group gets the following weekend off while the 2nd v 3rd play each other (a home venue for the 2nd placed teams) and then the following weekend will play the quarter-finals against the 4 teams that top the group. Remember the stats about 6 day turnarounds in the qualifiers. Any teams who get to the quarter-finals from 2nd or 3rd place in the group stages will be heading into the quarter-finals having played the previous two weekends.

A team's chance of winning Sam increases a fair bit if they top the group and a team's chance of topping the group increases a fair bit if they go in as a number 1 seed i.e. wins a provincial title.

Winning a provincial title offers a big advantage
Post by: Blowitupref on April 09, 2023, 09:15:05 PM
Quote from: Hound on April 09, 2023, 07:19:42 PM
It's better to win the league than not win it. Always a great achievement to win the Division 1 national title.

It's better to win your province than not win it.

But neither will matter a shite come the round robin.

No real advantage either to avoiding the big guns in the round robin.  Probably just means you'll avoid that big gun in the quarters.

Any team in Div 1 their number 1 objective is staying up, winning it would be the added bonus.  The longer a team has Div 1 football the better their chances should be in round robin format.

Winning your province give teams a round 1 game at home and good start to any group format is half the battle.  Topping the group means more preparation time and one less game that your Quarter final opponent. It will be interesting to see how many of the provincial champions will top their group this summer. 
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 09:36:00 PM
The danger for Mayo would be coming across Dublin or Kerry earlier than the semi finals.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 09, 2023, 10:24:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 09, 2023, 09:36:00 PM
The danger for Mayo would be coming across Dublin or Kerry earlier than the semi finals.

+ Derry. 
Post by: highorlow on April 09, 2023, 10:57:43 PM
Congratulations to Roscommon. Best team won, by far, no complaints about the match itself.

A few points / questions on our own failings.

1- the McStay bounce is now over, that's clear from last week and today, has he the balls now to get us to regroup?

2- the Conor Loftus bullshit needs to end, he gave away the penalty and is a liability

3- the big O'Shea experiment didn't last too long, not much ball into him today , ?

4- are the like of Flynn, Mattie and a few more getting complacent and think they are certain starters?
Post by: Rudi on April 09, 2023, 11:28:56 PM
Blood & guts performance from Roscommon today. Enda, Diarmuid, McCormack, Murray & Conor Daly particularly impressive. Never seen a Mayo crowd as quiet. Roscommon management team played a blinder. Mayo cleaned out of midfield, some achievement for the Rossies, minus O Rourke,  Harney & Nolan.
Fair play, an enjoyable day in the rain.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2023, 01:32:08 AM

That would be a danger for Galway also.
Post by: seafoid on April 10, 2023, 06:06:48 AM
Obviously. But did it it not happen last year or the year before already ?
Post by: seafoid on April 10, 2023, 06:47:40 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/TomasORuanaidh/status/1645148415909584897
Post by: Hound on April 10, 2023, 08:13:09 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 09, 2023, 09:12:55 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 09, 2023, 07:01:11 PM

As a third seed Mayo will play the first seed away in their first game.
They will have a home game against the 2nd seed in their second game.
They will have a game at a neutral venue against the 4th seed.

If they had won Connacht,as provincial winner they would have a home against against the third seed.
Their 2nd game would be away at the 4th seed,
They would have a game against the 2nd seed at a neutral venue.

Also in terms of qualifying from the groups, while three teams qualify the team that wins the group gets the following weekend off while the 2nd v 3rd play each other (a home venue for the 2nd placed teams) and then the following weekend will play the quarter-finals against the 4 teams that top the group. Remember the stats about 6 day turnarounds in the qualifiers. Any teams who get to the quarter-finals from 2nd or 3rd place in the group stages will be heading into the quarter-finals having played the previous two weekends.

A team's chance of winning Sam increases a fair bit if they top the group and a team's chance of topping the group increases a fair bit if they go in as a number 1 seed i.e. wins a provincial title.

Winning a provincial title offers a big advantage
You're putting way too much emphasis on home advantage. How did that work out for Mayo yesterday? The stats show very little difference in home / away in the championship. '

For example in the 2 years of the Super 8 the home and away rounds worked out as follows:

Home wins 6
Away wins 9
Draws 1

The negative stat for 6 day turnaroud is for losers of provincial finals. No such statistical disadvantage for winners playing the following week.
Post by: seafoid on April 10, 2023, 08:42:06 AM
Mr Burke

https://mobile.twitter.com/TomasORuanaidh/status/1645144219302895618
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2023, 09:05:41 AM
Yesterday was a good day, great performance and victory.
Now for Galway who I suspect will be primed to put a halt to our gallop.

We'll worry about the Group stages when those draws are made.
In the meantime if we could manage it a Connacht Title would be very nice indeed.
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2023, 05:39:00 PM
Seafoid or anyone able to copy the full text?
https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/roscommon-show-stomach-for-battle-that-exposes-mayos-frailties-42425607.html
Post by: seafoid on April 10, 2023, 05:59:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 10, 2023, 05:39:00 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/roscommon-show-stomach-for-battle-that-exposes-mayos-frailties-42425607.html
Sorry, I don't have an Indo subscription
Post by: Blowitupref on April 10, 2023, 06:08:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 10, 2023, 05:39:00 PM
From EAMONN SWEENEY

Roscommon show stomach for battle that exposes Mayo
Talking point Burke sets up famous victory with a masterplan his courageous players execute to perfection

JOE BIDEN, Enoch Burke, Panti Bliss, Sally Rooney, Mary Robinson, Louis Walsh, your boys took a hell of a beating. Can you hear me, Joe Biden?

Robin Williams said that cocaine is God's way of telling you that you're making too much money. Roscommon are God's way of telling Mayo they're getting too cocky.

In 1970, 2001 and 2019 Mayo sides who'd just won the national league were instantly brought back down to earth by their neighbours. In 1986 and 1991 too, 'green and red' fantasies of All-Ireland glory were destroyed by less fancied Roscommon outfits.

The sound of Mayo voices prophesying Sam drift across the border, to Ballinlough, to Frenchpark, to Loughglynn, and Roscommon prepare to fulfil their traditional role as spoilsports. Yesterday in Castlebar, oops Mayo, they did it again.

You'll see better winning performances in this year's championship but you won't see a gutsier one. There are stronger football counties than Roscommon but none braver.

Defying

The least populated county ever to win an All-Ireland senior title have kept defying the demographic odds for the 80 years since. Their population is half that of Mayo, one third of Meath's and one quarter of Galway's. Cork have divisions with more people.

There are counties with bigger picks than Roscommon who limit their ambitions to lower division league titles and a Tailteann Cup run.

But the Rossies just don't know their place. They're also the smallest county to capture All-Ireland U-21 and minor titles and have made three of the last 11 finals in the former competition.

Roscommon look up rather than down. Their conviction that they belong at the top table is so infectious it masks the extent to which they overachieve.

Yesterday's triumph follows a third place top flight league finish by a team who'd been tipped for relegation.

This was your typical Roscommon ambush. The conditions turned the game into a dour duel reminiscent of the province's darker days. This was as old school Connacht as a Today Tonight report from the eighties showing emigrants flying out from Knock while 'Flight of Earls' by the Wolfe Tones played on the soundtrack.

The question of which team wants it most is crucial on such dogged days. No-one could have wanted a win more than Roscommon yesterday.

Their traditional obduracy has been ramped up by a remarkable young manager in Davy Burke who has brought the same edge to Roscommon that Diego Simeone did to Atletico Madrid. Roscommon were tough, determined and above all ruthlessly pragmatic.

They slowed the game down when in possession and sometimes when they weren't, imposing a stop-start rhythm which prevented the favourites from getting into the flowing stride previously evident under Kevin McStay.

Even with a strong wind behind them in the second half, Roscommon opted to defend in numbers and attack on the break, striking with the cool precision of a classic catenaccio Serie A side poaching away goals in Europe.

One passage of play when Mayo had closed to within two points with seven minutes of normal time left encapsulated the game as a whole. The favourites held possession for over two minutes and completed thirty-three passes as they sought to create a scoring opportunity into the wind.

Some of this passing was slow and lateral as Mayo tried to plot a path through the visiting rearguard. But there were injections of pace, switches of direction and drives at the heart of defence by Diarmuid O'Connor, Donnacha McHugh and Tommy Conroy.

Roscommon's ability to hold out under this pressure owed much to a well-organised defensive system. Yet it also required enormous courage and discipline from players as individuals. The thin yellow line bent and buckled but would not break.

When the outsiders finally forced a turnover, just three passes sufficed to set Diarmuid Murtagh galloping down the left wing to strike a superb point. Moments like that tell you whose day it is.

They'll also have alerted Kevin McStay to the magnitude of the task ahead of him. His opening months might have lulled him into believing Mayo football can be bound by the rules of logic.

You put together a good team, you get them playing well, you look like the best team in the country and you win things.

It's never that simple with Mayo. They specialise in making things as difficult as possible for themselves and their supporters. What else would you expect from a county whose idea of a fun holiday outing is walking up a stoney mountain in your bare feet?

Someone should have taken the new manager by the arm as the final whistle sounded and paraphrased the words spoken to Jack Nicholson at the end of Chinatown, "Forget it Kevin, it's Mayo."

The result will have little practical impact on Mayo's All-Ireland hopes. But the performance suggested their title chances have been greatly exaggerated. The McStay Project promises great things but not this year.

Composure

Mayo were grievously short of ideas when in possession and of composure when the game might have been rescued late on. For the first time since his retirement they felt the lack of Lee Keegan.

It's impossible to imagine Kerry or Dublin losing a game like this. It'll be interesting to see how Galway cope against a Roscommon side with the bit between its teeth.

The small county are living up to a proud tradition. There was a definite Harry Keegan feel to a back line where the fighting spirit of Pádraig Pearses' trio Niall and Conor Daly and David Murray echoed that of their erstwhile clubmate Heather Payne against the USA on Saturday night.

Murtagh's artistry on the ball brought Tony McManus to mind. And Enda Smith's powerful run through the Mayo defence before fisting the insurance point deep into injury-time was something Dermot Earley would have been proud of.

The best little county in football produces warriors in every generation. There's no one quite like them
Post by: seafoid on April 10, 2023, 06:16:52 PM
The Irish Times report

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/04/09/roscommon-give-mayo-a-rude-awakening-yet-again-after-league-title-win/
Roscommon give Mayo a rude awakening yet again as they execute perfect ambush
Visitors' tactics work out brilliantly as they stage brave raid on the league champions

Sun Apr 9 2023 - 18:48

Connacht SFC quarter-final: Mayo 0-10 Roscommon 2-8
A perfect ambush. Favourites Mayo had spent the previous week banishing thoughts of their warmly welcomed league final win over Galway and focusing on the Connacht championship visit of Roscommon to Hastings Insurance MacHale Park.

There had been the nagging precedent that their previous three league titles over a period of 53 years had each entailed losing to their neighbours in championship but all the more reason for wariness.

It may have encouraged Roscommon but there was more to this accomplished raid than superstition. Davy Burke's team had been targeting the match since the draw was made. Obviously Mayo had as well but as part of the All-Ireland shortlist and with a restorative league campaign, this provincial quarter-final may not have been uppermost in their thoughts.

"When I met Donie Smith first in November," said Burke afterwards, "he told me they'd be ready for Easter Sunday. They had it marked in the calendar a long way out, massive rivalry there. I'm not going to tell anyone about Roscommon-Mayo rivalry. They know more about it than I do."

Their game plan worked brilliantly. It was designed to make scoring as hard as possible for the league winners – no yielding easy space or conceding needless frees and to pressurise the ball carrier at all times within scoring range. A phalanx of defenders blocked the path to goal and pushed attacks out wide.

There were a couple of significant junctures. Had Aidan O'Shea, who caused the most trouble of all the forwards, been more ambitious with turnover ball in the 51st minute, Mayo might have been able to seize the lead, which would have been a telling response to a four-point deficit at half-time in a low-scoring match. Instead he opted for the safety of a point to reduce the margin to one

If that got the favourites back on to their opponents' shoulder, they never managed to kick for home. In fact it was Roscommon who picked off crucial scores, making smart use of counterattacks to stretch their lead back into something more comfortable. The one-point deficit was as good as it got for Mayo.

Then in the 66th minute, after a sustained spell of pressure moving the ball backwards and forwards, Tommy Conroy spied a gap in the defence that wasn't there and was dispossessed. The roars from the travelling support increased to a crescendo, as Diarmuid Murtagh raced away at the other end to kick a point for a three-point lead, 2-6 to 0-9.

It was symbolic of the difference between the teams. Mayo found it so hard to create chances that a big score never looked likely. In addition, it has been one of Burke's calling cards that Roscommon are tighter at the back. They averaged a concession of 0-13 in the league and brought that parsimony to bear here.

Even last week's Mayo success gave encouragement to Burke.

"Mayo scored 0-14 in Croke Park last Sunday and 10 came from frees and marks. We had to limit the frees. I thought last weekend they got a few soft ones as well. I thought the referee was brilliant today. We blocked up the middle, got physical with them but disciplined and see what happened."

The day was wet, windy and as unpleasant as any championship day might be. Initially Mayo were hitting their stride and had two goal chances in the opening 10 minutes.

Tommy Conroy was pushed wide by Roscommon goalkeeper Conor Carroll as he broke onto Ryan O'Donoghue's pass over the top in the fourth minute and could only attempt a fisted point which went wide. A few minutes later, O'Shea touched on a Paddy Durcan long kick to Stephen Coen but his shot cannoned off the crossbar and safely out.

If that suggested Mayo had goals in them, it was misleading. Roscommon's defence, well marshalled by Brian Stack, gave little away thereafter. At centrefield Enda Smith and Keith Doyle had the better of things, even though Diarmuid O'Connor worked hard.

The Roscommon pair did well under Carroll's long – in every sense – restarts, slipping up slightly at the end of the first half when the home side got a grip in a run of scores.

Two first-half goals proved critical. The first, a penalty, came about after a shot from Dylan Ruane was blocked by Jordan Flynn but Conor Loftus was deemed to have pushed David Murray in a contest for the rebound.

Enda Smith expertly dispatched the penalty in the 25th minute and just after Mayo had strung together a response – three unanswered points – Roscommon struck again. Donie Smith was alert to ball deflected loose by Jack Carney's block on Ciarán Lennon and drilled it back into the net for a 2-2 to 0-4 half-time lead.

It was further tribute to Roscommon's mental strength that although Mayo threatened that lead in the second half, they never impacted on it.

"From the time the ball was thrown in," said Mayo manager Kevin McStay, "we really had a sense that we could keep Roscommon off the goals and maybe get one ourselves and we applied the pressure. We had two great early goal chances and fluffed our lines and then Ros got through. Hats off to them. They were terrific and well done."

MAYO: Colm Reape (0-2, one free, one 45); Donnchadh McHugh (0-1), Conor Loftus, Jack Coyne; Eoghan McLaughlin, Stephen Coen, Paddy Durcan (0-1); Jordan Flynn, Diarmuid O'Connor; Fionn McDonagh, Jack Carney, Matthew Ruane (0-1); Aidan O'Shea (0-1), Ryan O'Donoghue (0-2, two frees), Tommy Conroy (0-1). Subs: Darryl McHale for McDonagh, Darren McHale for McDonagh (both 52 mins), Jason Doherty for McLaughlin, Conor McStay for Flynn (both 62), Cillian O'Connor for Ruane (69). Temporary sub: Cillian O'Connor (0-1) for McHale (53-69).

ROSCOMMON: Conor Carroll; Conor Hussey, David Murray, Conor Daly; Brian Stack, Niall Daly, Eoin McCormack; Enda Smith (1-1, penalty), Keith Doyle; Ciaráin Murtagh, Dylan Ruane, Ciarán Lennon; Donie Smith (1-0), Diarmuid Murtagh (0-6, four frees), Ben O'Carroll. Subs: Conor Cox (0-1) for D Smith (60 mins), Richard Hughes for N Daly (67), Niall Kilroy for Ruane (69), Cian Connolly for O'Carroll (72). Temporary subs: Cian McKeown for Lennon (53-ft).

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan).

Seán Moran
Seán Moran
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2023, 06:48:54 PM
Thanks Blowitupref.
Best little County in football
Don't know our place
Obdurate

Love it!
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2023, 09:49:46 PM
Time for Mayo to crawl back into their cave and hide for a Month and a half, let the media go back to forgetting about us. They wrote all they could write about Mayo football this week, last week and all the weeks during our League campaign. The circus has left town and moved elsewhere.  Out of sight - out of mind. They'll go back to talking about The Dublin's, the Kerry's, the Tyrones, the New York's, the Sligo's, the Clares, the Derry's, the Armagh's, The Galway's. It's hard to write a story about a team doing nothing. Talk of Mayo being No. 1 have vanished - just like that!

So here we are, no further forward and no less behind than if we had come through yesterday. There is something wrong with a system that does not reward winning when it comes to the AI championship. There is a sort of consolation from that. But in turn devalues the Provincial crown to a new lower level, the biggest devaluation probably since 2001.

The tinkering with the Championship probably has a goal of putting more emphasis on the two National competitions.
Post by: whitey on April 10, 2023, 10:01:18 PM
My earliest Football memories are of Mayo getting hammered in the Hyde by the Rossies in the late 70s

Dermot Earley, Harry Keegan, Tony Mc, Gay Sheerin, O Connor  are some of the names that spring to mind

In 1980 Roscommon were within a kick of the ball of the great Kerry team on the 80s

The following year Mayo made their "breakthrough" and they went up to Dublin and got beaten  out the gate by the same Kerry team. Mayo didn't even score in the second half they were that bad

Roscommon have a great tradition and have produced great footballers over the years and more importantly they have produced great teams

I said it on here last week that an "ambush" was on the cards.

I doubt Paddy Joe heard the Cuckoo in his travels yesterday and I'd say he was more likely to have stepped into a pothole full of water than into melting tar.

Credit where credit is due. That's what championship football is all about
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 10, 2023, 10:30:18 PM
I watched the game wanting to Roscommon to win but probably more neutral than anything else. Roscommon were very good in so many facets. Ball retentions, setting traps, squeeze defence, clinical etc... but no mention on here about the referee?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 10, 2023, 10:41:46 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 10, 2023, 10:30:18 PM
I watched the game wanting to Roscommon to win but probably more neutral than anything else. Roscommon were very good in so many facets. Ball retentions, setting traps, squeeze defence, clinical etc... but no mention on here about the referee?

Gaelic football must be the hardest sport in the world to referee. What's the point in bitching about any poor eejit that has to do an impossible job?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2023, 11:00:38 PM

Yes, Roscommon had to be admired for the way they went about their business.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 10, 2023, 11:18:12 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 10, 2023, 10:41:46 PM

Gaelic football must be the hardest sport in the world to referee. What's the point in bitching about any poor eejit that has to do an impossible job?
That is fair enough just for me he could of refereed it a lot fairer. He was incredibly harsh on Mayo and gave soft frees to Roscommon throughout. I still cant get my head around the off the ball free in the first min. It actually got to the point where I googled him and seen he reffed Sligo v Roscommon last year and sent off our player early harshly turning the game into a non contest. Roscommon will be hoping he refs their remaining matches. I don't think its an impossible job to be a fair referee.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 10, 2023, 11:24:02 PM

I thought the ref had a decent game to be honest. He wasn't fooled by lads (on both sides) diving at various points trying to win frees. He generally waved play on and called it right usually. Think he got the penalty call right as well. I would gladly have taken him over the buck the week before anyway.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 11, 2023, 12:01:22 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 10, 2023, 11:24:02 PM

I thought the ref had a decent game to be honest. He wasn't fooled by lads (on both sides) diving at various points trying to win frees. He generally waved play on and called it right usually. Think he got the penalty call right as well. I would gladly have taken him over the buck the week before anyway.
I thought he refereed the tackle, going down for the ball and in third man type stuff differently for both teams. He got the penalty right but I felt Mayo had to work a lot harder for their frees.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2023, 12:59:34 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 11, 2023, 12:01:22 AM

I thought he refereed the tackle, going down for the ball and in third man type stuff differently for both teams. He got the penalty right but I felt Mayo had to work a lot harder for their frees.

Mayo were fouling a lot more throughout the game. The two late throw up balls was foolish fouls by Aidan O'Shea.  Roscommon much more disciplined in the tackle.
Post by: highorlow on April 11, 2023, 01:03:08 AM
He's the same ref that cost Roscommon a certain league win in 2019 v Tyrone, he overturned a free he had given to Ross when the teams were level. Ross may have avoided relegation that year but for that decision.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 11, 2023, 07:47:28 AM

Yeah I would have said he had a decent game and got the vast majority of the calls right - the major one he got wrong for me was the yellow for AoS as opposed to black.

Post by: seafoid on April 11, 2023, 09:00:53 AM

Jim McGuinness

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/04/11/jim-mcguinness-after-all-the-hype-mayo-face-familiar-doubts/

Roscommon were ready physically, ready mentally – they were ready for the battle in the lion's den. They were at it from the first whistle and had all the energy and desire. They fought for every ball, won balls they possibly shouldn't have, attacked their own kickouts, were brave on the breaking ball, and they had an incredibly well organised defensive structure.

It was a great day for Roscommon, but I was left asking myself, where does all this leave Mayo? I don't subscribe to the theory they will benefit from a decent break now before the All-Ireland series because nothing beats winning, especially if you are a new manager trying to cultivate a winning mentality within a group.
Mayo finished the league with so many positives, they found new payers, Tommy Conroy returned, Aidan O'Shea looked rejuvenated, and they were one of the best conditioned sides around. Coming out of the league, there was a general feeling they were the top team in the country on current form.
So, Kevin McStay will have spent Sunday night tossing and turning in his bed, wrestling with what happened – a common predicament for Mayo managers for years.
The hype and expectation hase been replaced by a severe dose of reality. The challenge now is for Kevin to manage that because, for all the positivity of the league, he's actually back in the very same place as all of his predecessors, wondering, "how do I lift these lads again and get them over the line?" And those last five words are the most important ones – get them over the line.
We know Mayo will respond, because that is what they have always done, but what we don't know is if they are good enough to go all the way. In that regard it's not so much about getting over the line, it's about crawling over that line. A line that has haunted Mayo for longer than they care to remember.
That line might be metaphorical, but it's also very bloody real. And Mayo aren't any closer to crossing it after Sunday.

Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 09:31:53 AM
Did we hit peak and "win our All Ireland " Sunday?
Hopefully not and that it was just Davy's mantra of consistency acting out.
Feet back on ground though as we could have been 1-3 to 0-1 down in that 1st quarter.
We face a sterner test and better forwards the next day.
Post by: seafoid on April 11, 2023, 09:48:42 AM
Burke is a forward looking coach. He will have a different plan for Galway.
What would success look like? Getting to a quarter final ? Or a semi final ?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 11, 2023, 10:17:40 AM
To be honest I thought he was hard on Mayo. There were a number of pull bcks which are frees, he let go. My issue is, what is a free in a national league game should still be a free in the championship. But Mayo only have themselves to blame. They had plenty of ball and could took their points last 20mins, instead trying to run it into the nets. See O'Shea getting abit of flank while Ruane, and all the other forwards getting a free pass, and to me, it's them that cost them the game. Roscommon done well, have great forwards, still not convinced by their defence, which we see on a dry day. Only bug bear pretending to be hurt all the time.
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 11:06:05 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 11, 2023, 09:48:42 AM
In January success woukd have been seen as hanging on in Div 1, giving Mayowestros a game , making knock out stages and being competitive there.
Now it's winning Connacht and reaching Qtr Finals and be competitive there.
Post by: seafoid on April 11, 2023, 11:25:32 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 11:06:05 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 11, 2023, 09:48:42 AM
In January success woukd have been seen as hanging on in Div 1, giving Mayowestros a game , making knock out stages and being competitive there.
Now it's winning Connacht and reaching Qtr Finals and be competitive there.
Ros had a bad experience in the Super 8s. I think that was why McStay left. So presumably a strong performance in the Round Robins would absolve the sins of the Super 8s.
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 11:58:47 AM
With 3 out of 4 going through it's not a big ask.
It's how we do after that....
Post by: seafoid on April 11, 2023, 12:36:20 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 11:58:47 AM
There was also last year's mi-adh against Clare . Ros should be well able this year for the Qfs
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 11, 2023, 12:36:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 11:58:47 AM

Success for Ros this year is the same as it is for the rugby team at the World Cup - winning a quarter-final.
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 11, 2023, 12:47:23 PM

Brendan Cawley and Noel Mooney certainly refereed the game differently.

Only issue I'd have with Mooney was the time keeping especially in the first half where he added only a minute.
Post by: joemamas on April 11, 2023, 03:20:55 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on April 11, 2023, 12:47:23 PM

Only issue I'd have with Mooney was the time keeping especially in the first half where he added only a minute.

Watched the game back on Sunday night, so these are not random comments.
I thought the referee was absolutely pathetic.
The above in bold was one of many glaring decisions that made me come to that conclusion.
There were numerous stoppages in the first half, and in a game that tight, three or four minutes with a gale force wind matters.
First free (point) to Roscommon was utter nonsense, Mayo could not buy a free especially in the first half. Penalty decision was a 50/50 call was more clumsey than a foul, it was like what is being given in the premier league, any contact oh it must be a penalty.
In the second half, Aidan O Shea was penalized twice for winning a 50/50 ball at a throw up, his reaction the second time around was one of utter disgust.
Enda smith had his jersey tugged on the 55-60 yards line, genuine free, however he let he carry on for thirty yards, then Ref called the free and gave it to Roscommon from 30 yards out, basically a tap over free.
Apparently free count was over 2/1 in favor of Roscommon.
In conclusion, in fairness to Roscommon, they were more aggressive, more cynical stopping the play, (Ref again clueless to this), they cleaned up in the middle third and their forwards were more accurate, that is why they won, but in a game that tight,, 50/50 decisions really matter, Mayo got very very few of those.
The way Mayo set up yesterday, they would not have beaten Galway, so in reality it gives the players and management an additional two weeks to figure quite a bit out.
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 03:35:42 PM
You should consider being a full time comedian  ;D
Post by: Blowitupref on April 11, 2023, 03:36:43 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 11, 2023, 03:20:55 PM

The above in bold was one of many glaring decisions that made me come to that conclusion.
There were numerous stoppages in the first half, and in a game that tight, three or four minutes with a gale force wind matters.
First free (point) to Roscommon was utter nonsense, Mayo could not buy a free especially in the first half. Penalty decision was a 50/50 call was more clumsey than a foul, it was like what is being given in the premier league, any contact oh it must be a penalty.
In the second half, Aidan O Shea was penalized twice for winning a 50/50 ball at a throw up, his reaction the second time around was one of utter disgust.
Enda smith had his jersey tugged on the 55-60 yards line, genuine free, however he let he carry on for thirty yards, then called the free and gave it to Roscommon from 30 yards out, basically a tap over free.
In conclusion, in fairness to Roscommon, they were more aggressive, more cynical stopping the play, (Ref again clueless to this), they cleaned up in the middle third and their forwards were more accurate, that is why they won, but in a game that tight,, 50/50 decisions really matter, Mayo got very very few of those.
The way Mayo set up yesterday, they would not have beaten Galway, so in reality it gives the players and management an additional two weeks to figure quite a bit out.

The penalty was foul on the number 4 David Murray and just before it Paddy Durcan made a foot block, I'm not sure which the ref gave the penalty for but it was the correct call IMO.  Aidan O'Shea twice fouled his man on those throw up balls and player of his experience didn't or shouldn't be making those type of fouls.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 11, 2023, 03:43:14 PM
The penalty was the correct call.I do think there were some fairly dubious calls at the end but the penalty wasn't one of them.
Post by: Hound on April 11, 2023, 03:56:47 PM
The first jump ball was a very clear foul by AOS.
The ref was quite harsh on Ros to reverse the foul and order another throw ball.
The second foul wasn't as clearcut and he might have got away with it had that been the initial throw ball. But knowing the ref is going to be watching both players very closely for an early nudge so that he can be consistent, AOS needed to be a bit more clued in and not be the one caught giving the nudge.
Post by: weareros on April 11, 2023, 05:36:27 PM
Enda smith had his jersey tugged on the 55-60 yards line, genuine free, however he let he carry on for thirty yards, then Ref called the free and gave it to Roscommon from 30 yards out, basically a tap over free.

The referee was 100% correct per the rules of the game. Enda Smith kept driving forward as referee was playing advantage, and he was fouled a second time. The official rule below:

Foul Subsequent to Advantage Award
If, during the advantage period, a foul is committed by a player of the team which was originally fouled then the advantage is cancelled and a free kick/puck awarded for the "second" foul.

If, during the advantage period, another foul is committed against the team which received the original advantage, then a free kick/puck will be awarded for the "second" foul if it is considered more advantageous than the original.

Post by: joemamas on April 11, 2023, 06:05:12 PM
Quote from: weareros on April 11, 2023, 05:36:27 PM

The referee was 100% correct per the rules of the game. Enda Smith kept driving forward as referee was playing advantage, and he was fouled a second time. The official rule below:

If, during the advantage period, a foul is committed by a player of the team which was originally fouled then the advantage is cancelled and a free kick/puck awarded for the "second" foul.

If, during the advantage period, another foul is committed against the team which received the original advantage, then a free kick/puck will be awarded for the "second" foul if it is considered more advantageous than the original.

If he was fouled a second time, then we are in for one long summer of frees.
Post by: Rudi on April 11, 2023, 06:07:59 PM
Referee got the penalty call right, calls against Aidan O Se right. Got the Smith advantage correct, he did a very good job. The 1 minute added time at the end of first half a poor call by 4th official?
Mayo for whatever reason didn't have the stomach for the battle on this occasion,  Roscommon just wanted it more. Would be interesting to meet again later on. Hopefully we have Nolan, Cregg, Heneghan back would give us even more options. Impressed with impact off bench again, particularly ball carrying of McKeown.
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 06:36:23 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 11, 2023, 06:05:12 PM

If players don't foul the Ref won't have to give frees ;)
Was it only 11 frees given against our lads? Great disciplined defending.

Is it time for McStay/Rochford/McHale/Buckley to leave O'Shea on the bench?
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 11, 2023, 06:47:15 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 11, 2023, 06:07:59 PM
Referee got the penalty call right, calls against Aidan O Se right. Got the Smith advantage correct, he did a very good job. The 1 minute added time at the end of first half a poor call by 4th official?
Mayo for whatever reason didn't have the stomach for the battle on this occasion,  Roscommon just wanted it more. Would be interesting to meet again later on. Hopefully we have Nolan, Cregg, Heneghan back would give us even more options. Impressed with impact off bench again, particularly ball carrying of McKeown.

Lots of talk about O'Shea never getting the frees he deserves (got plenty last week), James O'Donoghue talk about it on a podcast last week about how O'Shea is unique in how he goes looking for that physical contact as opposed to trying to avoid a defender like every other forward does.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 11, 2023, 06:52:04 PM

When Roscommon played keep ball in the first half why did Mayo play a sweeper and sit very deep with the wind? Baffling tactics.
The high press is a huge feature of their game for turnovers yet they conceded possession and field space
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 11, 2023, 06:54:05 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 11, 2023, 06:05:12 PM

There was a clear tug on Smiths jersey right in front of the ref, easy decision for the ref.
Post by: joemamas on April 11, 2023, 07:21:46 PM
Possible jersey tug on Enda smith, certainly did not stop momentum as he had already turned away from Mayo goals, OK a free.
Donie Smith got two very very soft frees in first half, BS calls. Mayo got nothing similar.

Far Bigger issue IMO

Time keeping, I have access to GAA GO
just spent last hour going over first half, yes time to get back to work.
Every single stat below is accurate, otherwise I would not have bother to take the time to post,
anyone can please check for accuracy

stoppage                               Time play stopped
Penalty                               1 min 13 sec  (played stopped 23.04 restarted 24.17 ,smiths changed the penalty taker at the last second  ::) )
Roscommon free                           46 sec ( correct foul called on Jordan Flynn roscommon man injured play stopped 32.24-33.10)
Ref halted play                              35 sec ( Donie smith score s point from a free, then ref goes out to midfield stops plays warns two players 19.50-20.25 )
roscommon injury                          41 sec (Conor loftus wide then roscommon man down Roscommon medics on field  17.20-18.11)
Roscommon free out                       23 sec ( Aidan O shea overcarried  pushing and shoving ball not back in play for 23 sec 29.00-29.23)
next series sideline ball Mayo           42 sec (Aidan o shea knocks over Enda smith ref stops play goes in talks to umpires 29.26-30.08)

Total stoppages                            5 mins 48 sec 

Ref adds 1 fu*kin minute, he was even checking his watch at 35.30 to blow up, did he need to take a shite or something.
Almost five minutes less than he should have.
Absolutely unacceptable. He also motioned to stop his own watch on more than one occasion.
Mayo management must have been asleep on the sideline, how could they be so tuned out not be on top of it.
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 07:54:51 PM
I was surprised to see only 1 going up.
But both teams played for the same amount of time.
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 11, 2023, 08:41:47 PM
Roscommon deserved their win, there is no arguing that point IMO. They put their bodies on the line and got what they deserved in the end, fair play to them 👏
That was also the worst refereeing performance that I have seen since 2014. He was all over the shop, no consistency in his decisions whatsoever.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 11, 2023, 08:59:31 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on April 11, 2023, 08:41:47 PM
Roscommon deserved their win, there is no arguing that point IMO. They put their bodies on the line and got what they deserved in the end, fair play to them 👏
That was also the worst refereeing performance that I have seen since 2014. He was all over the shop, no consistency in his decisions whatsoever.
Mayo fans never complain about refs when they win.
As others have pointed out, 4 scores from play won't win a game.
Without COC on the pitch to win frees and convert them they lose a large % of their scoring totals
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 11, 2023, 09:19:53 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 11, 2023, 08:59:31 PM
Without COC on the pitch to win frees and convert them they lose a large % of their scoring totals
I am highlighting how inconsistent the ref was on Sunday, there is no doubt that Mayo were terrible all over the field, Roscommon deserved their win.
All players want is a ref to be consistent and that wasn't evident on Sunday. You could see how exasperated the players were getting at the end of the game.

Post by: UpMeeyo on April 11, 2023, 11:55:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 11, 2023, 07:54:51 PM
I was surprised to see only 1 going up.
But both teams played for the same amount of time.

I feel like every post has to be qualified by saying Roscommon were fully deserving of their win - Mayo were putrid - I counted 6 mayo turnovers and winning 2 opposition kickouts in that first half and we could only muster 4 points with the wind. In saying that one team had 5 extra minutes with the wind!

But to Joemamas timekeeping - can any referee tell me is it only time added on for injuries or does officiating also come into it? or is totally "at the referees discretion?"

the issue as always with reffing is consistency - whether its in-game inconsistency between two teams, but also 2 different referees will ref differently. I'm totally happy to admit Mayo got the soft calls in the league final - or rather Galway didn't get the soft calls - there was definitely two challenges on Damien Comer that were equal to what Mayo were getting frees for - either don't give mayo and Galway them or give both teams them. When the free count in the ros/mayo game ends 24-10 with very little malice, its hard to say there weren't inconsistencies (again - see above - don't think it would have affected the outcome)
Post by: UpMeeyo on April 11, 2023, 11:59:57 PM
Quote from: Hound on April 11, 2023, 03:56:47 PM
The first jump ball was a very clear foul by AOS.
The ref was quite harsh on Ros to reverse the foul and order another throw ball.
The second foul wasn't as clearcut and he might have got away with it had that been the initial throw ball. But knowing the ref is going to be watching both players very closely for an early nudge so that he can be consistent, AOS needed to be a bit more clued in and not be the one caught giving the nudge.

I think this suggests that if the rossie gave a nudge (for the second one, agree the first was free-awardable) the ref would have given a scorable free in? I dont think any ref is doing that from a hop ball.
Post by: weareros on April 12, 2023, 12:05:33 AM
Speculation but I feel if any more minutes were added in first half, we were more likely to score. On 34th minute Donie Smith scores goal. 35th minute Ros attack again and Niall Daly misses narrowly. Next attack Mayo spill ball after running into trouble, Ros play it around before launching new attack up left this time. Ref blows whistle just as Ros have overlap. Mayo I feel have lost all composure after the Smith goal, particularly as Ros were getting in behind a fairly raw Mayo fullback line. The half time whistle came at a good time for Mayo to regroup.
Post by: WhoDat on April 12, 2023, 12:10:15 AM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on April 11, 2023, 09:19:53 PM
I am highlighting how inconsistent the ref was on Sunday, there is no doubt that Mayo were terrible all over the field, Roscommon deserved their win.
All players want is a ref to be consistent and that wasn't evident on Sunday. You could see how exasperated the players were getting at the end of the game.

roscommon were given 24 frees while mayo were awarded 10. the difference in tackling between the two teams wasn't great enough to reflect that free count. it's tough to ref in those conditions but i think the ref was determined to not seem like a homer and ended up going way the other way. roscommon time wasted something terrible the whole game, clearly part of their game plan, but i don't know how you ref that with the rules around "head injuries", teams taking advantage of it.
Post by: joemamas on April 12, 2023, 12:33:50 AM
Quote from: joemamas on April 11, 2023, 07:21:46 PM
Possible jersey tug on Enda smith, certainly did not stop momentum as he had already turned away from Mayo goals, OK a free.
Donie Smith got two very very soft frees in first half, BS calls. Mayo got nothing similar.

Far Bigger issue IMO

Every single stat below is accurate, otherwise I would not have bother to take the time to post,

Penalty                               1 min 13 sec  (played stopped 23.04 restarted 24.17 ,smiths changed the penalty taker at the last second  ::) )
Roscommon free                           46 sec ( correct foul called on Jordan Flynn roscommon man injured play stopped 32.24-33.10)
Ref halted play                              35 sec ( Donie smith score s point from a free, then ref goes out to midfield stops plays warns two players 19.50-20.25 )
roscommon injury                          41 sec (Conor loftus wide then roscommon man down Roscommon medics on field  17.20-18.11)
Roscommon free out                       23 sec ( Aidan O shea overcarried  pushing and shoving ball not back in play for 23 sec 29.00-29.23)
next series sideline ball Mayo           42 sec (Aidan o shea knocks over Enda smith ref stops play goes in talks to umpires 29.26-30.08)

Ref adds 1 fu*kin minute, he was even checking his watch at 35.30 to blow up, did he need to take a shite or something.
Absolutely unacceptable. He also motioned to stop his own watch on more than one occasion.
Mayo management must have been asleep on the sideline, how could they be so tuned out not be on top of it.
Post by: joemamas on April 12, 2023, 12:44:39 AM
Quote from: joemamas on April 12, 2023, 12:33:50 AM

Far Bigger issue IMO

quote from MANFROMDELMONTE

so to be clear, as I mentioned in an earlier post, Roscommon were hungrier, smarter and they controlled the middle third of the field. That and a bit of luck is why they won.

The point I am making is you had a very incompetent referee and officials, if somebody wants to lay the blame on somebody other than the ref,  but FFS the not playing of almost 5 minutes of stoppage time wouldn't happen in an U14 game, Ten years ago, Offaly got a replay in an All-ireland hurling semi-final. No, I nor any other Mayo supporter would want a replay, just pointing out in a very factual way the pathetic inconsistency of the Ref. Remember Mayo did have a gale force wind advantage for the non played stoppage time.
In a game that was mostly a one two point game in the second other than the last five minutes, simply not good enough.
last two points, amazing with all the media analysis today that not one of them took the time to do an analysis of stoppage time not played in first half.
finally who was the guy standing next to Kevin McStay that had a stopwatch around his neck, it looks like it was as useful as the one Flavor Flav wears.
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/2c/Flavor_Flav_of_Public_Enemy.jpg
Post by: Rossfan on April 12, 2023, 12:48:34 AM
If we didn't have those  3 or 4 wides at the start of the 2nd half we'd have won by 7 or 8 points.
Post by: Hound on April 12, 2023, 08:15:06 AM

Far Bigger issue IMO

This is an example of people not understanding the rules rather than the ref getting it wrong.

Someone else mentioned that if we just brought in the stop clock like ladies, it would sort it out straight away. That person clearly never watches ladies football!

The only item above where the clock would have stopped in a ladies match was the 41 seconds for the Ros injury. And perhaps the last one depending on the circumstances. But unless the ref thinks there is deliberate time wasting, there is no time added on for frees, sidelines, yellow cards, etc. The other add on refs are supposed to do is for subs,  but based on actual time stopped rather than a 30 second rule, which some people mention but doesn't exist in GAA.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on April 12, 2023, 10:23:05 AM
The exact same tally from play won Mayo the league final!
Post by: Rudi on April 12, 2023, 01:30:19 PM
Watched the game last night on Rte player, referee made a few mistakes here & there, but generally did pretty well. I like Conor Carroll in goals for Roscommon & wouldn't want to see him changed, however he was extremely dodgy on Sunday. Diarmuid Murtagh was outstanding, Mayo couldn't cope with Enda. The amount of balls Roscommon put in around the back, on a better day could have lead to far many more scores.
Diarmuid O Connor had a great game for  Mayo. Mayo missed Hession & Brickenden in the full backline. Roscommon were far hungrier on the day. O Shea & Flynn are immobile liabilities.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 12, 2023, 01:31:28 PM
Diarmuid Murtagh is a fantastic player and has been ages. Dunno why he is not lauded a lot more than he is.

Also O'Connor is one of the best about.
Post by: Rudi on April 12, 2023, 01:47:44 PM
For a neutral or someone with a passing interest in football, probably was a hard watch. In the past Roscommon were great to watch, we scored 2 16 against Tyrone in Croke Park, only problem we conceded 4 24. Which would us Rossies rather? Davy Burkes tactical winners any day is the answer.
Conditions with driving wind & rain on Sunday made decent football impossible,  Roscommons deserve credit for very good ball handling.
Post by: seafoid on April 12, 2023, 02:35:32 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on April 12, 2023, 10:23:05 AM
The exact same tally from play won Mayo the league final!
Except Ros didn't allow as many frees