GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: J70 on May 21, 2012, 03:30:57 PM

Title: Donegal V Derry Ulster Quarter Final June 16th
Post by: J70 on May 21, 2012, 03:30:57 PM
Rematch of last year's final. Haven't kept up with Derry but I would assume the Bradleys will play and are in decent form? Murphy will be back for us, but will he be fully fit and back in top form?

Can't see us getting as handy a win as last year, but I would hope that our defense will keep Derry quiet enough for us to nick it.  Revenge is a fine motivator, but will John Brennan stubbornly stick to his traditional style of football like last year?
Title: Re: Donegal V Derry Ulster Quarter Final June 16th
Post by: sheamy on May 21, 2012, 03:54:37 PM
Paddy has a dodgy knee and Eoin is nowhere near fit. Add that to the most porous defence in div 2 and this will be like a walk on Bunbeg beach for Donegal.
Post by: cadence on May 21, 2012, 04:42:38 PM
by all accounts we were sloppy, coughing up a lot of ball against cavan and will need to improve if we're to beat derry. will be a good game this one. really looking forward to it.
Post by: Keane on May 22, 2012, 12:07:52 PM
I don't think Derry are anywhere near as bad as they're generally made out to be on this forum, but they really need a full squad to compete with the best of the rest in Ulster.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 22, 2012, 04:37:39 PM
Derry are not as bad as they are being made out to be.
If we had everyone, or even 90% of our players fit I think we'd push anyone in Ulster.
Our injuries do seem to be starting to clear up, but we're an unknown quantity going into this game.
No idea who will be fit and if the team will be able to gel with the players returning from injury before the match.
It could be that Derry pull it all together for that match, or we could get an absolute tanking.
We should have both Bradleys, Gerard O'Kane, Dermot McBride, Mark Lynch, Danny Devlin all available by then and most of them have been missing for large parts of the league yet they will probably still make up the spine of the team.
Then add in a host of other players at various stages of fitness after injury. At the very least we should have a stronger panel by the time this match comes around, I just hope we can pull it together in time.
Post by: screenmachine on May 22, 2012, 05:57:56 PM
Derry won't be fit enough to match Donegal's system or style of play.  Donegal will slowly etch up a 3-4 point lead which won't be relinquished, if Donegal score a goal to go three or four points up we're fucked.  They'll crowd out the defence and Derry won't be able to break it down as has been the case for the past decade when anyone plays a blanket defence against Derry.

There's a few ways Derry can win this.  Nail a few of Donegal's key runners early on.  Judging from last weekends match Derry will need to put a Joe Diver or Patsy Bradley shaped hole in Mark McHugh, Karl Lacey and maybe Frank McGlynn - all three seemed to be all over the pitch against Cavan for about 50 minutes of the game by which stage it was over.  Dublin removed Lacey last year and Donegal weren't as effective.  Cynical, but it'll be interesting to see how well a few boys would run up and down the pitch after being emptied, dead legs, etc.

All in all though I think Donegal will win handy enough by 4-5 points unless Derry get very cynical or have got a lot fitter since the league stages.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on May 22, 2012, 07:08:37 PM
Quote from: screenmachine on May 22, 2012, 05:57:56 PM
Derry won't be fit enough to match Donegal's system or style of play.  Donegal will slowly etch up a 3-4 point lead which won't be relinquished, if Donegal score a goal to go three or four points up we're fucked.  They'll crowd out the defence and Derry won't be able to break it down as has been the case for the past decade when anyone plays a blanket defence against Derry.

There's a few ways Derry can win this.  Nail a few of Donegal's key runners early on.  Judging from last weekends match Derry will need to put a Joe Diver or Patsy Bradley shaped hole in Mark McHugh, Karl Lacey and maybe Frank McGlynn - all three seemed to be all over the pitch against Cavan for about 50 minutes of the game by which stage it was over.  Dublin removed Lacey last year and Donegal weren't as effective.  Cynical, but it'll be interesting to see how well a few boys would run up and down the pitch after being emptied, dead legs, etc.

All in all though I think Donegal will win handy enough by 4-5 points unless Derry get very cynical or have got a lot fitter since the league stages.

Typical dirty Ballinascreen
Post by: seafoid on May 22, 2012, 08:39:53 PM
Match preview

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZYyx3HC1sk
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2012, 01:07:19 AM
did someone say a good game?? nobody in donegal that nite for the McKenna cup cup brutal stuff, it be tight, but be damn horrible to watch and i put it no other way, derry will set up the same way as donegal, they have been trying it out early on in the mckenna cup but McCamley which had been earmarked as positioning himself in front of the back 3 has been injured  along time and looked the only one capable of playing this defensive postion from midfield, i expect to see about 4 changes in the derry team from the last league game but not give much away, derry league runs another wk or 2, we likely to pick up a few injuries along the way,we went back slightly from last year in terms of a panel but have the fire power to win the game, though donegal gotta have the edge at home, this been up in celtic park might have fancied it then though we havent been good there either recently
Post by: POBreaslain on May 31, 2012, 11:26:33 PM
Murphys back! Nice one. Hopefully he can play a good part against Derry. I'm not sure that he'll last the 70 mins though. Fingers crossed he doesn't get injured again.
Post by: oakleafgael on May 31, 2012, 11:31:45 PM
He wont be needed. There is no need for the Derry supporters to play the poor mouth on this occassion. I haven't known a time when there was less expectations in the county team. Gerard O'Kane is a big doubt after a hamstring injury on top of the other problems with injuries. I just can't see any way that Derry can get the better of Donegal.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 31, 2012, 11:42:43 PM
think u beat us if Murphy playing or not, Derry just not going overly hot all year, i keep expecting them to click into gear come championship as they played half interested through the league games, have missed 1 game in 2yrs (Mckenna cup last yr at cavan) and i couldn't tell you what the Derry line up will be! couple of starters likely out injured, team be the same as the league i would think , though scullion will come in at corner back, other corner no idea, pity Brendan of ballinascreen/kildare is still injured, Gillis will stay in nets given the change to the square ball rule this yr, Craig likely be no.6 though i would have tried him at corner back in the league but he was injured and never tried there, and go with C Kielt at 6,midfield will be friel with either mccloskey or diver,up front , no idea, lynch be halfward, and the 2 Bradley's in the full forward, O`Boyle likely in there too, given the rule change but he wasn't on form past few Derry games, so Derry be same or there abouts, dont know whether that be enough, had we the 2 Bradley's for the ulster final last year i would have been so confident but Derry lost players and form, where as donegal have improved, the kildare game last year brought them on leaps and bounds. Donegal to win through in a low scoring game, that be terrible to watch, and know what i be at it anyway!! Just hard to know what u get with Derry on the day to tell you the truth!!
Post by: Oak Leafer on June 01, 2012, 09:38:57 AM
I think Dermot McBride will be a massive doubt also having picked up an injury again in a club game last week.

Agree with other Derry posters, hard to fathom how in under god we can beat Donegal.

In other years, you could always be optimistic about Derry producing one of their better days and causing a shock, however in my mind Donegal are playing a system that is now second nature to them. They are also ahead of Derry in terms of fitness and conditioning.

I think because of the way Donegal play it will be tight regardless. We must avoid the concession of any goals to stand any chance.

Did i read yesterday that Rory Kavanagh is a doubt? He would be a loss to Donegal.
Post by: POBreaslain on June 05, 2012, 12:02:41 AM
Good news for Kavanagh
04 June 2012

Donegal manager Jim McGuiness expects Rory Kavanagh to be fit for Saturday week's Ulster SFC quarter-final against Derry.

A scan revealed that the long-serving midfielder sustained partial tears to two ligaments on his left ankle when playing for St. Eunan's against Ardara in a Donegal SFL game last Sunday week, but with intensive treatment, McGuinness is confident he will be ready for the Ballybofey showdown.

"He's making good progress and we're hopeful he'll be available for the Derry game," he told The Irish Daily Star.

The news regarding Michael Murphy is also positive after he returned to training last week following groin surgery in March.

"Michael is back out on the field, but it will take him some time to get back up to the level of the other players as he's been out now for nine weeks. We'll monitor him closely, but he's had no recurrence of the injury - which is a great starting point."

Paddy McGrath (quad muscle), David Walsh (calf) and Anthony Thompson (hamstring) are also carrying injuries at present, but aren't thought to be in any danger of missing the Derry game.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 08, 2012, 09:45:09 AM
McBride, and O'Boyle definitely out for us and Eoin Bradley is extremely doubtful all due to injury.
Gerard O'Kane is supposed to be making progress on his return from injury but I'd imagine he'd be doubtful too.
Not looking good for us at all at the minute. We're in dire need of O'Kane and McBride in defence IMO as we've really struggled without them this year.
It's all on the day, but it's looking like we're going to be quite a bit off our first team for this game so I wouldnt be at all confident.
Post by: Derry Optimist on June 08, 2012, 07:18:15 PM
I totally agree with all the sentiments as expressed by tBrick 18 re the Derry/Donegal championship game on Saturday week. It would appear highly unlikely that the four key players that he mentioned will be fit for that  match. So unless we get lucky for a change it would seem we will have to pursue the Qualifier system for the third time  in four years at the first stage. If we do lose, hopefully, everyone will be fully fit and willing to do their best for their county in the Qualifiers. Compared to any other of the thirty two counties,as far as I can ascertain, Derry have had more of their key players missing for the fourth championship in a row. I  thought Damian Cassidy was decidedly unlucky with the unavailability of so many top players during his tenure but John Brennan has arguably fared worst in this regard. However, we will always live in hope.Doire Abu.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 12, 2012, 07:56:52 PM
I take it all back, Brennan says we're in good shape.
Derry by 6 points.  ;D
Post by: J70 on June 12, 2012, 08:00:15 PM
Murphy and Kavanagh doubtful for us. Maybe not so clearcut an outcome as some are predicting.
Post by: sheamy on June 12, 2012, 08:54:35 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 12, 2012, 07:56:52 PM
Derry by 6 points.  ;D

:D Some craic alright
Post by: J OGorman on June 12, 2012, 09:04:21 PM
Quote from: sheamy on June 12, 2012, 08:54:35 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 12, 2012, 07:56:52 PM
Derry by 6 points.  ;D

:D Some craic alright

Thank christ..didn't want to be sitting in the Villa Rose after another batin

Derry for Sam (not sure what year)
Post by: rrhf on June 12, 2012, 10:06:46 PM
I have a haunch for Derry this year.  I think they,ll take Donegal.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 12, 2012, 10:59:52 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 12, 2012, 10:06:46 PM
I have a haunch for Derry this year.  I think they,ll take Donegal.

That's the post-match meal sorted then.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 14, 2012, 12:00:35 PM
Derry team to play Donegal:

gillis
mc camley
mc caigue
sean leo
barry
craig
scullion
friel
diver
lynch
lynn
gerard
gilligan
paddy
emmett

Post by: armaghranger12 on June 14, 2012, 04:04:56 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 14, 2012, 12:00:35 PM

gillis
mc camley
mc caigue
sean leo
barry
craig
scullion
friel
diver
lynch
lynn
gerard
gilligan
paddy
emmett

Has none of them players got  2 names
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 14, 2012, 04:07:48 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on June 14, 2012, 04:04:56 PM

gillis
mc camley
mc caigue
sean leo
barry
craig
scullion
friel
diver
lynch
lynn
gerard
gilligan
paddy
emmett

Has none of them players got  2 names

yes - sean leo
Post by: sheamy on June 14, 2012, 04:09:49 PM
their second names are all 'sur'. There's no point typing that out 15 times.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 14, 2012, 06:42:11 PM
sure i might as well do that
1. Barry Gillis
2. John Mc Camley (Play in front of the fullback,)
3. Chris Mc Kaigue
4. Sean Leo McGoldrick
5. Barry McGoldrick
6. Mark Craig
7. E Scullion (play cormer back)
8. Michael Friel
9. Joe diver
10. Mark Lynch
11. Enda Lynn
12. Gerard O`kane
13. Conleith Gilligan
14. Paddy Bradley
15. Emmett McGuckin

Post by: Agent Orange on June 14, 2012, 11:44:46 PM

gillis
mc camley
mc caigue
sean leo
barry
craig
scullion
friel
diver
lynch
lynn
gerard
gilligan
paddy
emmett

Does he not play for Tyrone?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 15, 2012, 12:11:21 AM
i see we at page 2 of this thread and armagh tyrone on page 35, sign of the expensive internet and lack of reception in donegal lol, plus us derry lads have no support though an odd critical supporter on here, tyrone and armagh must picked up alot support with their all ireland wins or the internet deals alot cheaper round mid ulster!! think we manage page 4 for saturday lads!!!
Post by: rrhf on June 15, 2012, 12:21:33 AM
Surely somebody here has a love for or in these 2 counties. They used to say you could get your first kiss in donegal your first sh@g in Derry and your first wife in Tyrone.
Post by: POBreaslain on June 15, 2012, 05:57:08 AM
I hope that this gets us to page 3 lads! I can't say that I've ever heard that expression before RRHF but it wouldn't have anything to do with The Grill in Letterkenny would it? Shift one doll inside, shag a Derry doll out the back and then head home and hook up with a Tyrone bird on the bus maybe? ;-)
Post by: riptorn on June 15, 2012, 09:47:37 AM
Donegal by at least 5! Worst Derry team that I can remember! Woeful! Haven't got the players.

In my opinion John Brennen should have been down on his hands and knees begging players like Fergal Doc, Enda Muldoon and definitely Kevin McGuckin to stay on for another year. Only in Derry would such players walk away from the county set-up so easy.
Post by: James062 on June 15, 2012, 11:04:05 AM
what will the Donegal team be like ? will Murphy start ?
Post by: J OGorman on June 15, 2012, 11:45:28 AM
Quote from: riptorn on June 15, 2012, 09:47:37 AM
Donegal by at least 5! Worst Derry team that I can remember! Woeful! Haven't got the players.

In my opinion John Brennen should have been down on his hands and knees begging players like Fergal Doc, Enda Muldoon and definitely Kevin McGuckin to stay on for another year. Only in Derry would such players walk away from the county set-up so easy.

I'd say it wasnt easy for any of the three to walk away. It was big big commitment for each for over a decade esp with work, weans etc. Three great players who'll be badly missed. I find it tight getting out the door for an hour of astro mid-week!

Its far from the worst Derry team I can remember...Derry GAA Est 1993
Post by: theticklemister on June 15, 2012, 12:38:52 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 15, 2012, 11:45:28 AM
Quote from: riptorn on June 15, 2012, 09:47:37 AM

I'd say it wasnt easy for any of the three to walk away. It was big big commitment for each for over a decade esp with work, weans etc. Three great players who'll be badly missed. I find it tight getting out the door for an hour of astro mid-week!

Its far from the worst Derry team I can remember...Derry GAA Est 1993

Balls; Derry estabilished as far back; they came good in 1993. But a lot of barren years in between.
Post by: J70 on June 15, 2012, 05:28:14 PM
Ther's no way Derry will be as bad as many here are predicting. This will be a tight game and, especially if Murphy and Kavanagh don't make it, one that Derry could win.
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on June 15, 2012, 09:04:06 PM
1. P Durcan
2. P McGrath
3. N McGee
4. F mcglynn
5. K Lacey (capt)
6. A thompson
7. L Mcloone
8. N gallagher
9. R kavanagh
10. R bradley
11. M mchugh
12. C toye
13. P Mcbrearty
14. C McFadden
15. D walsh

Shouldn't be too far off mcguinness's starting line-up for tomorrow evening I reckon...........
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on June 15, 2012, 09:16:21 PM
Monaghan v Tyrone ladies at 3.15pm, unusual curtain raiser for a sfc game, anyway let's hope the rain stops around 4.30pm so we can enjoy the game without getting freezing and soaked. Last time against Armagh in the league ballybofey was miserable
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 16, 2012, 12:26:34 PM
McGuinness expecting different Derry
16 June 2012

Donegal manager Jim McGuinness isn't reading anything into Derry's indifferent Allianz League form.

The Oak Leafers only narrowly avoided relegation to Division 3, but McGuinness is expecting them to be a totally different proposition when they visit MacCumhaill Park for this evening's Ulster SFC quarter-final.

"Derry won the last time they played a championship match in Ballybofey. They have a lot of quality in the forward line and they have five fine midfielders in PJ McCloskey, John McCamley, James Conway, Joe Diver and Michael Friel," he told The Donegal Democrat.

"They have a lot of quality all over the field and it is going to be a difficult assignment. They are our neighbours and a derby match and it is all set up for a good game of football. We also know that a lot of their top players did not play in the league and that they will be a different proposition altogether on Saturday evening.

"Neither Paddy or Eoin Bradley played in the league; Gerard O'Kane did not play in the league either and Conleth Gilligan is also fit again. All those players are back so it is going to be a much different Derry we will face on Saturday compared to that which played in the league.

"They carry a serious threat as we know from last year's Ulster final. They also feel that if they had the two Bradleys in last year's Ulster final that they would have won and a few of them have gone on record and said as much."

For someone who claims to analyse his opponents in such detail I'm surprised at that comment!
Title: Aimsir
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 01:09:48 PM
(http://p.twimg.com/AvgowkyCEAAcqxm.jpg)
Title: An Pháirc
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 01:51:54 PM
(https://p.twimg.com/Avgt8gmCMAEmFsO.jpg)
Post by: Estimator on June 16, 2012, 04:49:56 PM
Any links for those in exile?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2012, 04:51:32 PM
Under 28 points 8/11, in that weather thats a certainty. Donegal wont win by much but don't score much either
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 04:52:21 PM
Micheal Murphy starts.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 16, 2012, 04:56:30 PM
Quote from: drici on June 16, 2012, 04:52:21 PM
Micheal Murphy starts.
His first game for months i wonder can he keep the pace for 70mins.
Title: Anois
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:08:28 PM
Dún na nGall 0-01  Doire 0-00
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:10:02 PM
Dún na nGall 0-01  Doire 0-01
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:11:16 PM
Dún na nGall 0-02  Doire 0-01
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:14:35 PM
Dún na nGall 0-03  Doire 0-01
Post by: rrhf on June 16, 2012, 05:16:24 PM
Thats a better Tyrone strip than tyrones
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:21:25 PM
Dún na nGall 0-04  Doire 0-01

Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:26:30 PM
Dún na nGall 0-04  Doire 0-02
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:29:54 PM
Dún na nGall 0-05  Doire 0-02

Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:32:28 PM
Dún na nGall 0-05  Doire 0-03
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:33:20 PM
Dún na nGall 0-05  Doire 0-03

CÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚLLL
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:33:55 PM
Dún na nGall 1-05  Doire 0-03
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:35:38 PM
Dún na nGall 1-05  Doire 0-04
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:39:19 PM
Dún na nGall 1-06  Doire 0-04
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:39:57 PM

Half Time
Post by: moysider on June 16, 2012, 05:40:30 PM
Rotten belt there on Murphy by Diver. Deliberate attempt to take a class player out.
Title: http://thescore.thejournal.ie/live-derry-v-donegal-ulster-sfc-489767-Jun2012/?ut
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 05:52:34 PM
17.41 – Half-time; Donegal 1-06 Derry 0-04 Michael Murphy taps it over to get his name on the scoresheet for the first time with the last stroke of the game — a converted free. The players trot in and the crowd of 11,000 file out for a well deserved warm drink.

17.37 – Donegal 1-05 Derry 0-04 Put these words in order: Bradley. Free. A. Scores. From.

17.35 – GOAL!  Donegal 1-05 Derry 0-03

Daylight. Conor McFadden made an excellent, incisive run to the byline and tried to punch the wet ball over the bar. It instead drops to Leo McLoone, who sweeps it home.

17.33 – Donegal 0-05 Derry 0-03 Donegal's Anthony Thompson bursts forward and lands a lovely score for Jim McGuinness's side before a quick, long ball causes problem in the famous Donegal defence and they give Bradley a chance to tack on another one with a free. Which he does. 30 minutes on the clock.

17.29 – Donegal 0-04 Derry 0-02 "Donegal are strangling this game," sighs Marty Morriessy. Derry have got the deficit down to two points thanks to a Paddy Bradley free kick however and are enjoying their fair share of possession.

17.23 – Donegal 0-04 Derry 0-01 Patrick McBrearty stretches the Donegal lead to three points with a nice, well-worked point with the provincial champions now looking in control with 20 minutes on the clock. McBrearty is sitting his Leaving Cert exams at the moment and in no way does that make me feel inadequate.

17.18 – Donegal 0-03 Derry 0-01 Colm McFadden kicks a free, having been fouled himself, to open up a two-point lead for Donegal after 12 minutes or so. Moments later Conleith Gilligan fails to do likewise, missing a free from further out down the other end. The crowd look absolutely soaked but the game has been lively enough so far.

17.12 – Donegal 0-02 Derry 0-01 Mark Lynch levels it up and gets the Red Hand ticking over with a lovely score in tough conditions before a bright-looking David Walsh opens his account down the other end.

17.09 – Donegal 0-01 Derry 0-00 Colm McFadden makes amends moments later as he taps over a straightforward free, which was awarded generously by the referee. The champions are up and running.

17.08 – Missed opportunity for an early score as Michael Murphy confounds any sharpness concerns as he's quick off the mark to feed Colm McFadden but his punched effort is flagged wide. Conditions are wet and wild. More importantly Karl Lacey is wearing white boots.
Post by: western exile on June 16, 2012, 05:57:38 PM
Remarkable that all the half time stats (bar the score)  are the same for both teams
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:05:23 PM

5 minutes gone - 2nd Half
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:06:14 PM
Dún na nGall 1-07  Doire 0-04
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:09:11 PM
Dún na nGall 2-07  Doire 0-04

CÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚÚL
Post by: Agent Orange on June 16, 2012, 06:09:48 PM
Game over. Derry are absolutely dire, worse than Oisins commentary.
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:11:31 PM
Dún na nGall 2-07  Doire 0-05
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 16, 2012, 06:13:21 PM
Derry very poor, the second goal means the game is already over.
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:14:58 PM
Dún na nGall 2-08  Doire 0-05
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:16:56 PM
Dún na nGall 2-09  Doire 0-05
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:19:26 PM
Dún na nGall 2-09  Doire 0-06
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:20:18 PM
Dún na nGall 2-10  Doire 0-06
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:23:23 PM
Dún na nGall 2-11  Doire 0-06
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:24:52 PM
Dún na nGall 2-11  Doire 0-07

Post by: nobackdoor on June 16, 2012, 06:25:15 PM
Derry are being beat by triple scores. They must be the worse team in Ulster. 
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:26:04 PM
Dún na nGall 2-12  Doire 0-07
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:30:58 PM
Dún na nGall 2-12  Doire 0-08

Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 16, 2012, 06:32:03 PM
Will Derry bother showing up for the Qualifiers? This sounds like a putrid performance!
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:32:54 PM
Dún na nGall 2-13  Doire 0-08
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:35:58 PM
Dún na nGall 2-13  Doire 0-09
Title: Toradh
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:36:25 PM
Dún na nGall 2-13  Doire 0-09

Sin é
Post by: Blowitupref on June 16, 2012, 06:38:25 PM
No matter how matter how poor Derry were 2-13 in those conditions is good scoring by Donegal.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 16, 2012, 06:39:00 PM
Derry are cat.
Title: http://thescore.thejournal.ie/live-derry-v-donegal-ulster-sfc-489767-Jun2012/?ut
Post by: drici on June 16, 2012, 06:40:52 PM
18.38 – And that's your lot. The referee blows it up and we can all move on with our lives. It's the qualifiers for Derry, who have a lot of work to do while it'll be Donegal in the provincial semi-final. But we could have told you that half an hour ago.

18.35 – Donegal 2-13 Derry 0-08 Patrick McBrearty curls one high and inside the post. Frank McGlynn wins the RTÉ man-of-the-match award. With 68 minutes on the clock, I don't think anyone would mind if the referee blew this one up. How good are Donegal though?

18.31 – Donegal 2-12 Derry 0-08 Ulster journalist Ryan McALeer tweets: "Not that Derry are offering much resistance, but Donegal have a far better rounded attack this year. Will take some stopping." In the meantime, Patrick McBrearty is denied a goal by the butt of a the post and up the other end Paddy Bradley is denied by a superb Paul Durkin, one-handed stop.

18.27 – Donegal 2-12 Derry 0-07 Brian Bradley drives forward and has the confidence to drill the ball over the bar, moments after Paddy Bradley scored from play. Despite that, with over 10 minutes sill remaining, Derry fans are streaming out the gate.

18.24 – Donegal 2-11 Derry 0-06 Michael Murphy is back. He's just registered his third score of the game with 58 minutes or so elapsed.

18.21 – Donegal 2-10 Derry 0-06 "This is turning into an exhibition," says Marty from the gantry as David Walsh floats over another free for Donegal. 52 minutes on the clock. Derry look really poor, don't they?

18.16 – Donegal 2-08 Derry 0-05 Michael Murphy has added his second point of the game from a free and this tie looks over, in truth.

18.13 – Donegal 2-07 Derry 0-05 Derry open their second-half account through Paddy Bradley again — that's his fourth of the game by my count. But they'll need more than one man tapping them over when required if they're to get back in this game.

18.10 – GOAL! Donegal 2-07 Derry 0-04 McFadden buries it. But the move started way out the field when three gold jerseys crowded out the Derry possession.  Fine move.

18.07 – Donegal 1-07 Derry 0-04 It took five minutes of the second half but Donegal corner back Frank McGlynn open the scoring
Post by: nobackdoor on June 16, 2012, 06:43:48 PM
They should have a Christy Ring equivalent in the football where the likes of Derry & Kilkenny footballers could realisticaly compete for some silverware.

The Derry boys wouldn't beat snow of a rope.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 16, 2012, 06:49:40 PM
Quote from: nobackdoor on June 16, 2012, 06:25:15 PM
Derry are being beat by triple scores. They must be the worse team in Ulster.
In fairness they were playing one of the best in Ulster today.
Post by: riptorn on June 16, 2012, 07:04:09 PM
i fecking called it!!! destroyed!!! Brennan out to f**k! Ignorant hure!
Post by: babarino on June 16, 2012, 07:05:05 PM
Something's serious wrong in the Derry camp. As others have said worst performance ever.

The same players and manager looked very good last year and if they hadn't been hit with injuries could have taken Ulster.
Post by: riptorn on June 16, 2012, 07:09:46 PM
Ballinderry won the county championship last year easily and impressed with an amazing second half performance against cross....

1 player from that team made the Derry cut... yes muldoon and mcguckin (massive miss, big manager should have begged) retired

Brennan hasn't a clue!
Post by: north down on June 16, 2012, 07:25:14 PM
Can't remember a worse Derry performance and I've been watching football for nearly 40 years now. Donegal did take their scores well in the second half but there was really no effort at tackling or putting pressure on the ball.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 07:42:06 PM
Donegal have the wind in their sails. The Anglo Celt and an AI semi-final last year made them believe in McGuinness! McGuinness has proved he takes no sh1t and this has made his ship stable. Derry have been floating in no-where land a couple of years now and this showed today. Donegal have a plan and a mission, Derry have neither!
Post by: J70 on June 16, 2012, 07:53:12 PM
Worst Derry performance I've ever seen. Was it because we were so good or that Derry just couldn't be arsed putting in the hard work? Guess we'll find out in two weeks. It was like a meaningless league game the way Donegal players were streaming through unchallenged late in the game. And even as early as McFadden's goal, Derry were outnumbered about 6 to 4 in their own half as Donegal broke! Very happy with the ease of the victory, but hard to know where exactly we stand in the greater scheme. Definitely in with a great chance in Ulster though, assuming McGuinness keeps the boys' feet firmly on the ground. Great to see the backs getting up the field on the break, something that a lot of the pundits seemed to miss in all their expert analysis last year.
Post by: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 08:05:44 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 07:42:06 PM
Donegal have the wind in their sails. The Anglo Celt and an AI semi-final last year made them believe in McGuinness! McGuinness has proved he takes no sh1t and this has made his ship stable. Derry have been floating in no-where land a couple of years now and this showed today. Donegal have a plan and a mission, Derry have neither!

got to the ulster final last year

Derry have been hit this year by key players retiring, injuries throughout the league which had the back 6 changed about constanly, would affect many teams, plus quality players in derry are not in the squad 
Post by: North Man on June 16, 2012, 08:08:36 PM
eddie d, who r these quality players
Post by: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 09:06:54 PM
Quote from: North Man on June 16, 2012, 08:08:36 PM
eddie d, who r these quality players

doherty, collie devlin, wilkinson, conor nevin,
Post by: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 09:09:52 PM
Quote from: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 08:05:44 PM

Derry have been hit this year by key players retiring, injuries throughout the league which had the back 6 changed about constanly, would affect many teams, plus quality players in derry are not in the squad

Yes, but so have Monaghan, Fermanagh and Antrim been in Ulster finals the last couple of years.

''Derry have been hit this year by key players retiring, injuries throughout the league which had the back 6 changed about constanly, would affect many teams, plus quality players in derry are not in the squad'' Only goes to prove Derry are in a no where place at the moment!
Post by: cadence on June 16, 2012, 09:10:54 PM
well done to our lads, commiserations to derry. must be tough being them right now, but maybe it'll lead to a renaissance for them like it did for us.

@ drici, thanks for the commentary... work commitments meant i wasn't able to watch or even listen to the game and had to sneak to the jacks to check the score on here on me phone.

relieved murphy's back and came through unscathed as well. shaping up nicely again the year.   
Post by: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 09:23:17 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 09:09:52 PM

Yes, but so have Monaghan, Fermanagh and Antrim been in Ulster finals the last couple of years.

''Derry have been hit this year by key players retiring, injuries throughout the league which had the back 6 changed about constanly, would affect many teams, plus quality players in derry are not in the squad'' Only goes to prove Derry are in a no where place at the moment!
[/quot

quoting me proves nothing, you said last couple of years  :)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 16, 2012, 09:48:15 PM
just in the door, what you say??
that was f**king brutal, am gona call a spade a spade, the worst i seen in many years, taking in the tyrone hammering round 2004 too, thoguh the league form all year was a sign of things to come!!
strangest team line out i ever seen! Barry McGoldrick at Fullback? actually done ok but he never played there before, why not try him there though the league?? Young McCamley at wing forward, hes a defensive midfielder, though he drop back but didnt the whole game, what was the point playing him up front when he doesnt play there! E Lynn played the whole league at corner forward then wing forward the day, they are totally different positions, play him in the corner or nothing! The lack of fight from the team team was shocking, reminded me of ireland against spain the other night!! give up long before the final whistle and playing with injured players. At least 5 of the derry players are only back from long term injuries and shouldnt have started, the excuse for lack of fitness of some of the others, well the fitness trainer will have to answer for that, the team have been off the pace in the league all year too, Donegal made the same mistake with Murphy too who was well of the pace too,Chrissy McKaigue had a good game , may been the only one but derrys game plan or lack of one was a shocker!! very disappointed as a die hard supporter who misses very few games but that game would nearly break the most die hard of supporters, no player goes out to play bad, but you need effort, fight, pride in the jersey, not just to wear one but the fact that you should be good enough to wear one and nobody taking it off you!! People talk about begging certain players back, why?? if anybody wanted to play for derry they be on the panel,why should a county team beg players to play for them!! Today is def one of derry footballs darkest days!! But derry will need to find a way forward, last year derry played good open football, and this year we expected the same with a more defensive performance!!they went so far back from last year, its hard to put  a point on why this has happened! Hell not gona think about it any more, time for a drink, think i deserve one after getting soaked watching that!! but alias i know i be there the next day as am sure many else will be!! will we get another 300 spartans for the next day like the armagh game a few years ago
Post by: screenmachine on June 16, 2012, 10:09:47 PM

Bar the larger scoring gap I hate to say it but I kind of told you so.  ;)  Derry effectively stopped Mark McHugh but all the effort that went into stopping him seemed to free up the rest of the Donegal defence which ran riot charging up the field.  The main difference I seen today was in the tackle.  If Derry got over Donegal's 65 they were hassled, harried, not allowed to kick or fist pass.  It was extremely difficult for Derry to do anything of any use through a combination of Donegal's great defence and Derry's ineptitude!

At the other end of the pitch, after the first twenty minutes or so Donegal could kick pass, hand pass or just run it where they wanted, work a position and inevitably score.

Another major factor I thought was the kickouts.  How many times did Durcan run up like he was going to bomb it out and nicely slice it to a wing half forward running onto it, worked a charm every time he done it.  On the other hand, how many times did Gillis run out and bomb it out.  Erm, well every time really, even when McGee was winning midfield on his own at a canter.  No variation at all - not to place a lot of the blame for the defeat on Gillis alone, just noticed the different plan that both teams/keepers seemed to have in place.
Post by: J70 on June 16, 2012, 10:13:09 PM
I sympathize with the Derry people. We've been exactly where you are after awful, soul-destroying hammerings many times, including in recent years. Its only two years since Crossmaglen. Whatever you say about his tactics, a strong leader and organizer like McGuinness can work wonders.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 10:13:29 PM
Quote from: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 09:23:17 PM

Ah, but it does. You have said all the things that are affecting Derry at the moment and have been slowly part of their decline!
Post by: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 10:38:26 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 10:13:29 PM

Ah, but it does. You have said all the things that are affecting Derry at the moment and have been slowly part of their decline!

again u said last couple of years, last year derry could have won ulster, had the bradleys not been injured, agree?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 10:51:09 PM
Quote from: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 10:38:26 PM

again u said last couple of years, last year derry could have won ulster, had the bradleys not been injured, agree?

Totally agree, the Bradleys (especialy Paddy) are very important to Derry and last year could have been the year. When i say that Derry have been in no where land, I'm not saying they have been at the bottom or the top! They've just been floating between both. As i said ''Donegal have a plan and a mission, Derry have neither!''
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 16, 2012, 10:53:34 PM
Quote from: screenmachine on June 16, 2012, 10:09:47 PM

Bar the larger scoring gap I hate to say it but I kind of told you so.  ;)  Derry effectively stopped Mark McHugh but all the effort that went into stopping him seemed to free up the rest of the Donegal defence which ran riot charging up the field.  The main difference I seen today was in the tackle.  If Derry got over Donegal's 65 they were hassled, harried, not allowed to kick or fist pass.  It was extremely difficult for Derry to do anything of any use through a combination of Donegal's great defence and Derry's ineptitude!

At the other end of the pitch, after the first twenty minutes or so Donegal could kick pass, hand pass or just run it where they wanted, work a position and inevitably score.

Another major factor I thought was the kickouts.  How many times did Durcan run up like he was going to bomb it out and nicely slice it to a wing half forward running onto it, worked a charm every time he done it.  On the other hand, how many times did Gillis run out and bomb it out.  Erm, well every time really, even when McGee was winning midfield on his own at a canter.  No variation at all - not to place a lot of the blame for the defeat on Gillis alone, just noticed the different plan that both teams/keepers seemed to have in place.
Noticed the same thing myself, decent keeper that Barry is , he has never had any variations in his kickouts
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 16, 2012, 11:05:16 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 16, 2012, 10:13:09 PM
I sympathize with the Derry people. We've been exactly where you are after awful, soul-destroying hammerings many times, including in recent years. Its only two years since Crossmaglen. Whatever you say about his tactics, a strong leader and organizer like McGuinness can work wonders.

The best teams have the best managers. McGuinness v Harte makes for a good tactical battle.
Post by: eddie d on June 17, 2012, 01:23:35 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 10:51:09 PM
Quote from: eddie d on June 16, 2012, 10:38:26 PM

Totally agree, the Bradleys (especialy Paddy) are very important to Derry and last year could have been the year. When i say that Derry have been in no where land, I'm not saying they have been at the bottom or the top! They've just been floating between both. As i said ''Donegal have a plan and a mission, Derry have neither!''

ah rite, fair enuf
Post by: emmetryan on June 17, 2012, 01:50:24 PM
Hi guys, I've put together a tactical take on yesterday's game here:
http://action81.com/blog/?p=5888
Post by: Rawhide on June 17, 2012, 02:18:29 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 16, 2012, 11:05:16 PM

The best teams have the best managers. McGuinness v Harte makes for a good tactical battle.

The best teams have good footballers with good managers, in that order. Mc Guinness nor Harte would turn Derry into an Ulster championship winning team, why because they haven't the players.
Post by: cadence on June 17, 2012, 03:23:37 PM
Quote from: emmetryan on June 17, 2012, 01:50:24 PM

bookmarked! loving your column btw. the 45-45 tactic better explains what was happening in our games last year than all the other so-called punditry put together imho. i've only been able to see us against cavan in this year's championship, but it's noticeable that we've done work on our transitions from when we win the ball to getting it up into a scoring position. our game against the dubs in the league was the first time i saw us under mcguinness letting loose more players for counter attacks. i thought one of the reasons we became unstuck that day was the space out wide, especially our right defensive flank. dublin shifted the ball really quickly that day when they broke our counter attacks up and the swarm/defensive cover couldn't get into position quickly enough to cover threats on the flanks when the ball was got there at speed. it's asking a lot of the same players to operate in the swarm and take part in lung-bursting counter attacks. against cavan, the variety of players we have going forward has upped from the dublin game in the league. i'm sure i saw neil mcgee get a point against cavan, although i had a few pints in me and that may have been an illusion. the point i'm trying to make is that mcguinness has figured out a way of making our transitions into scoring areas less taxing on certain players by widening out that responsibility to others it seems. i think that's what's been happening, although it may all be an illusion and we could just be playing sh'ite football all along.   
Post by: donegal_abu on June 17, 2012, 04:40:02 PM
Cadence

It wasnt the drink, Neil McGee did score ! And was maiking plenty of burst forward yesterday aswell. Same with McGlynn in the last two games.  alot of rotating going on, neil mcgee and mcglynn making bursts forward and then sometime neil gallgher in watching their place. very promising to have 9 different scoreres yesterday.. not as dependant on murphy and mcfadden... important to have those players that can kick a wee point here and there, cud be crucial in tight game
Post by: donegal_abu on June 17, 2012, 04:45:34 PM

Brilliant! Thats a true analysis of the game, not a lazy "jump-on-the-bashing-wagon" analysis.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 17, 2012, 04:51:03 PM
Quote from: Rawhide on June 17, 2012, 02:18:29 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 16, 2012, 11:05:16 PM

The best teams have good footballers with good managers, in that order. Mc Guinness nor Harte would turn Derry into an Ulster championship winning team, why because they haven't the players.

Most would have said Donegal didn't have the players before McGuinness arrived. First Ulster title won last year for 19 years & as said above on the receiving end of some soul destroying hammerings.

Post by: cadence on June 17, 2012, 06:18:08 PM
Quote from: donegal_abu on June 17, 2012, 04:40:02 PM
Cadence

It wasnt the drink, Neil McGee did score ! And was maiking plenty of burst forward yesterday aswell. Same with McGlynn in the last two games.  alot of rotating going on, neil mcgee and mcglynn making bursts forward and then sometime neil gallgher in watching their place. very promising to have 9 different scoreres yesterday.. not as dependant on murphy and mcfadden... important to have those players that can kick a wee point here and there, cud be crucial in tight game

haha... that's reassuring... i nearly choked on me pint when i saw him score. he can play a bit, and like mcglynn, is as fit as fiddle.... our fitness and physical presence in general looks top notch. we look like we're on a mission. players must be absolutely loving it. i'm hyped up about us and the summer ahead. can't help it. 

the only thing i'm a bit upset about these days is the less mouthin' going on about us. bring back slating donegal!!! more fuel for the fire!!!!!
Post by: donegal_abu on June 17, 2012, 07:37:02 PM
Quote from: cadence on June 17, 2012, 06:18:08 PM
Cadence

haha... that's reassuring... i nearly choked on me pint when i saw him score. he can play a bit, and like mcglynn, is as fit as fiddle.... our fitness and physical presence in general looks top notch. we look like we're on a mission. players must be absolutely loving it. i'm hyped up about us and the summer ahead. can't help it. 

the only thing i'm a bit upset about these days is the less mouthin' going on about us. bring back slating donegal!!! more fuel for the fire!!!!!

hahahah :D He's going forward a lot this year... mad a good few runs yesterday ! Good to see him an d frank scoring!! Bth fit as fiddle and able to force their way through anything.. Neil isn't called the ram for nothing!!! Defo look like we're on amission and the boys are in great shape. so fit, strong and mentally prepared. far ahead of where we were this time last year even. Looking good so far. I know derry and cavan have been 2 poor teams so far but we're looking well so we are!

ahahaha your right there.. i'd say it spurs jim & the lads on even more when we're being slated alright!!! Although I was looking on hoganstand forum.. lot of dubs on slating us... I can smell the fear from here haha;)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 17, 2012, 07:39:47 PM
Fair play to Donegal, I thought they were excellent in their win yesterday........................even though Derry were poor, Donegal drove the victory home........................looking stronger than last year, physically and in an attacking sense

Oul Jim loves that all in black tracksuit  ;)
Post by: cadence on June 17, 2012, 08:24:33 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 17, 2012, 07:39:47 PM
Fair play to Donegal, I thought they were excellent in their win yesterday........................even though Derry were poor, Donegal drove the victory home........................looking stronger than last year, physically and in an attacking sense

Oul Jim loves that all in black tracksuit  ;)

you love jim in that oul tracksuit.
Post by: emmetryan on June 17, 2012, 08:37:20 PM
Thanks lads for the comments on the analysis, much appreciated.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 17, 2012, 08:41:33 PM
Excellent informed article
Post by: cadence on June 17, 2012, 08:41:51 PM
Quote from: donegal_abu on June 17, 2012, 07:37:02 PM
Cadence

hahahah :D He's going forward a lot this year... mad a good few runs yesterday ! Good to see him an d frank scoring!! Bth fit as fiddle and able to force their way through anything.. Neil isn't called the ram for nothing!!! Defo look like we're on amission and the boys are in great shape. so fit, strong and mentally prepared. far ahead of where we were this time last year even. Looking good so far. I know derry and cavan have been 2 poor teams so far but we're looking well so we are!

ahahaha your right there.. i'd say it spurs jim & the lads on even more when we're being slated alright!!! Although I was looking on hoganstand forum.. lot of dubs on slating us... I can smell the fear from here haha;)

i thought we've looked in even better shape physically this year too. and i suppose the players have to be. there's no-one being carried because everyone puts a shift in to make it work. it's more nuanced and varied work now though, but it doesn't look like the work rate has dropped significantly. hopefully, in games that are tighter and more challenging physically, it'll mean we have enough in the tank to play hard right to the end. be tough to beat. even the oul dubs, with their penchants for us in our trackies, will be pleasantly surprised if nothing else i'm imagining.   
Post by: cadence on June 17, 2012, 08:47:31 PM
Quote from: emmetryan on June 17, 2012, 08:37:20 PM
Thanks lads for the comments on the analysis, much appreciated.

killer analysis emmet. written so well.... u r d man!
Post by: donegal_abu on June 17, 2012, 09:30:58 PM
Quote from: cadence on June 17, 2012, 08:41:51 PM
Cadence

i thought we've looked in even better shape physically this year too. and i suppose the players have to be. there's no-one being carried because everyone puts a shift in to make it work. it's more nuanced and varied work now though, but it doesn't look like the work rate has dropped significantly. hopefully, in games that are tighter and more challenging physically, it'll mean we have enough in the tank to play hard right to the end. be tough to beat. even the oul dubs, with their penchants for us in our trackies, will be pleasantly surprised if nothing else i'm imagining.   

Ah i'd say there wud be plenty more in the tank when it's needed. they just look so fit and i have heard from people who atteneded training that what they go through on those nights is mental. so intense. we were extrememly fit last year (Kildare game wouldnt have turned out as it did if we werent) and we're even further ahead this year. every man has obviously been putting in hard work in the gym aswell. we will be very hard to break down, especially now that we are scoring more
Post by: Orchardman on June 17, 2012, 09:58:10 PM
Donegal won't be beaten this year, sam is for the hills again
Post by: rrhf on June 17, 2012, 10:11:48 PM
I can't believe how few headlines they are making.  They are cruising and destroying all in front of them.   I can't see them stopped .
Post by: cadence on June 17, 2012, 10:14:26 PM
Quote from: donegal_abu on June 17, 2012, 09:30:58 PM
Quote from: cadence on June 17, 2012, 08:41:51 PM
Cadence

Ah i'd say there wud be plenty more in the tank when it's needed. they just look so fit and i have heard from people who atteneded training that what they go through on those nights is mental. so intense. we were extrememly fit last year (Kildare game wouldnt have turned out as it did if we werent) and we're even further ahead this year. every man has obviously been putting in hard work in the gym aswell. we will be very hard to break down, especially now that we are scoring more

good to hear they look even fitter than last year. that and the tactical changes should make us more of a problem. we'll see how it pans out, but i think you're right though, we'll still be hard to break down and more difficult to stop in attack.     
Post by: cadence on June 17, 2012, 10:45:47 PM
@ orchardman and rrhf...

i'm impressed by how we're playing. as far as winning it, i'm guessing the players will have their feet firmly on the ground and they'll be focussed, but i'd want them to have a ruthlessness about them too. confident in themselves that they can go out and impose ourselves in the games ahead. i think it's difficult to say how we'll square up against the usual suspects with our new tactics. the whole are we leaving ourselves too open when we commit to attacks is freaking me out a wee bit. ah, the good aul' days... you knew where you stood with the swarm defence.