Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

QuoteWe've had one red card since 2006 - its as good a disciplinary record as any team in the county I'd say.

And how many assaults outside discos?

Aye pints right enough I'd forgotten that GAA clubs are responsible for everything anyone from their village (allegedly) does for every waking minute fo their life.

How do you know what happened anyway? You not a bit old for Laceys? Sure maybe Seany'll come back and yis can take turns in blaming the priest for the whole affair.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 17, 2008, 12:17:56 AM
Aye pints right enough I'd forgotten that GAA clubs are responsible for everything anyone from their village (allegedly) does for every waking minute fo their life.

How do you know what happened anyway? You not a bit old for Laceys? Sure maybe Seany'll come back and yis can take turns in blaming the priest for the whole affair.

Ah the oul Cullyhanna stance, I suppose it was a "few scuffles"?  I do happen to think a club is responsible if several of their players take an issue they have with another club to a disco and they should step in.  You've some neck on you to come on here and talk about your discipline record, I'll have to give you that one.

Btw, allegedly? Why what happened tacadoir, something different from what the whole of south armagh is talking about? Is Conal Quinn a liar? 

QuoteI do happen to think a club is responsible if several of their players take an issue they have with another club to a disco and they should step in.

Can't be done Pints. How the in name of Jaysus is a club supposed to know what all their members are at every night of the week? Should they keep your number on speeddial so they can keep up with the gossip?

QuoteIs Conal Quinn a liar? 

I don't know the fella but i assume not. And I should point out, that I was very relieved to hear he wasn't nearly as badly injured as the rumour mill initially suggested. My point is that, apart from those who were there, anybody preaching about what happened is dealing in second hand accounts at best, and gossip and innuedo at best.

What happened that young fella is a disgrace. Now we all know that there's been fighting at discos for years and years but sadly lately the idea of it being left with a few punches (which isnt to be condoned but is also unlikely to do anyone any serious harm) isnt always the case. There are a small minority of thugs who seem to see it as a badge of manhood to kick fellas on  he gorund or similar cowardly acts. I've been on the receiving end myself and know the dangers. People who behave liike this need to be dealt with by the appropriate authorities but they aren't confined to any one village, area, religion or country and to suggest that it is up to a sports club to deal with this sort of activity is as utterly ridiculous.

No one expects a club to take responsibility for what their members get up to, I'm saying as it was football related the club needs to have a look at it.  The 'bridge have looked into it.  Have Cullyhanna? I doubt it. 

You keep talking about second hand accounts, there are plenty of people who were there so no one is in any doubt about who was involved and who the ring leaders where, they were probably playing for you tonight. 

twotwocharlie

Taca are we talking about the same cullyhanna.
rose coloured glasses and all that.
mc keever is a very good player but should leave out the high elbows and going in with the knee to a man on the ground.
mackin is an average player how he got so long on the county the lord only knows.
your club has never condoned the thugs within and that a sorry fact.

twotwocharlie

Sorry uladh if my scribblings are not up to your standards but you must take into account they are intended for beyond drumill bridge.
Any best of luck in the championship.
p.s i see s.reel has been infected with a violent virus found mostly in roaming packs. safety in numbers and all that.

Yes I Would

dont you mean condemned???

What happened was wrong. Parents are responsible for what their children get up to at discos and bars, not football clubs. If charges are brought and stick, will then justice will be served. It is known that their is a small element of thugs around Cullyhanna who may have footballers within their ranks, and senior players, club members should do their best to discourage them from getting involved in unruly actions. All football clubs are their to try and keep young lads away from this sort of activity, and Cullyhanna, i believe are no different.  

doire na raithe

Quote from: twotwocharlie on May 17, 2008, 09:41:25 AM
mc keever is a very good player but should leave out the high elbows and going in with the knee to a man on the ground.
mackin is an average player how he got so long on the county the lord only knows.

Jesus Christ this guys an idiot.

it is bloody ridiculous to hold an entire football club accountable for teenagers who row outside a disco.

more than that, it is ridiculous to label the entire membership of a club as thugs because of the actions of a few in the parish who may or not be members of the club.

Aportioning any part of blame to the parish priest beggars belief.

obviously feelings are running high over the issue but a bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss

YesI would
QuoteWhat happened was wrong. Parents are responsible for what their children get up to at discos and bars, not football clubs. If charges are brought and stick, will then justice will be served. It is known that their is a small element of thugs around Cullyhanna who may have footballers within their ranks, and senior players, club members should do their best to discourage them from getting involved in unruly actions. All football clubs are their to try and keep young lads away from this sort of activity, and Cullyhanna, i believe are no different.
Ha!  I would agree with you completely if the issue wasn't about football. 

Quoteit is bloody ridiculous to hold an entire football club accountable for teenagers who row outside a disco.
Uladh, teenagers weren't rowing outside a disco! Several lads from Cullyhanna, led by two fo their players - targeted a Silverbridge player, firstly inside the place and then outside for no other reason other than he was a Silverbridge player.  CUllyhanna are happy for these to represent them and I assume you're happy for them to represent Armagh.  If Conal Quinn played for Dromintee I guarantee your view would be different - maybe you're theone that needs a bit of prespective.
Personally I wouldn't blame the priest, I know seany said something about him at a time but I don't think he blamed him, just said that he didn't help matters and although he's defended them and their actions always - I don't think he'd make much difference.

crossfire

The Silverbridge faithful will be happy that the "home" team won, for a change, last night.

Quote from: crossfire on May 17, 2008, 11:26:26 AM
The Silverbridge faithful will be happy that the "home" team won, for a change, last night.
Ah come on crossfire did that take you all night?!!

Quote from: doire na raithe on May 17, 2008, 10:14:07 AM
Quote from: twotwocharlie on May 17, 2008, 09:41:25 AM

Jesus Christ this guys an idiot.

myself and twotwocharlie have clashed several times on this thread but I have to ask, again, what in that statement isn't true? (assuming he means condemned). 

Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 17, 2008, 11:20:09 AM
Uladh, teenagers weren't rowing outside a disco! Several lads from Cullyhanna, led by two fo their players - targeted a Silverbridge player, firstly inside the place and then outside for no other reason other than he was a Silverbridge player.  CUllyhanna are happy for these to represent them and I assume you're happy for them to represent Armagh. 

you do realise that your assertions have no basis in law and therefore what is right and wrong?