Car Problems!!

Started by downgirl, January 04, 2009, 08:34:55 PM

You're welcome, and just make sure that you don't get ripped off when getting it sorted -- it's not that big a job at all, just a bit of electrical tracing.

gawa316

Anyone have an idea and how much it is to fix or replace an alternator?

Caid

Quote from: BenDover on November 27, 2009, 08:36:16 AM
Bit of advice please lads - woke up this morning to find the hazard lights on my partners renault clio 1.2 flashing away like a good one, put the key in the ignition and tried to start it but nothing then tried to do a rolling start from the driveway but still nothing. I'm thinking that the battery is flat but i was telling someone else about this and they've mentioned the immobiliser might be on, anyone else any ideas?

Dump your partner
When my country takes her place among the nations of the earth...then may my epitaph be written

tyrone girl

Quote from: gawa316 on December 02, 2009, 04:37:44 PM

Maybe in around the £100 mark - though could be wrong. I remember a while back my car was having probs starting pretty regularly and thought it may have been that. Turns out it only needed new battery but i think it was anything from £80 to £120 people told me for altenator.

Quote from: gawa316 on December 02, 2009, 04:37:44 PM

Cost me £300 2 years ago in Greenhill Auto, Belfast.

tyrone girl

Oops im probably way out then

gawa316

Shite I hope its not as much as that. I have the feckin worst luck with cars and could do without having to fork out that much with xmas and a baby on the way

Caid

When my country takes her place among the nations of the earth...then may my epitaph be written

£300 hundred sound a bit much. 

At most 2 hours labour.  Breakers yard maybe to get an altenator but Good motor factor or a motor factor speciallising in your car e.g. OTTO in Dublin that specialises in German Cars would be a good place to start.

Why do you think it is the Altenator?   As Tyrone Girl said it was the battery at fault.  Get someone who knows to have a look at it.

Reality is gawa we all have a feckin nightmare keeping a car on the road....it really is a ballix

Bring back cars with less electronics and cheaper parts please

Sorry it wasn't Greenhill it was Greenaway http://www.greenawayelectrics.co.uk/. Still £300 though.

small white mayoman

Quote from: theskull1 on December 02, 2009, 05:08:41 PM
Reality is gawa we all have a feckin nightmare keeping a car on the road....it really is a ballix

Bring back cars with less electronics and cheaper parts please

thats for sure did the nct on my car back in september cost me about 700 squid to get it through but i thought to myself happy days at least its ok for 2 years and no fear of me getting 5 points on my license low and behold i find out that i have to have it done again in january as it was not tested before in that previous 2 year period so i booked in in straight away and feck me they found a list more problems with the car that didn't show up 8 weeks ago  ??? and it going to cost me a ball more money in order for it to pass again   >:(
All Ireland Champions 2006 & 2007

gawa316

Quote from: Denn Forever on December 02, 2009, 05:06:13 PM

Why do you think it is the Altenator?   As Tyrone Girl said it was the battery at fault.  Get someone who knows to have a look at it.

Was in town (Enniskillen traffic!!!) when radio went off, then lights on dashboard started flashing, then tried to indicate whoch wouldn't work, power steering stopped working and finally the engine cut out.

Had a word with mechanic and thats what he thought it was, he's picking her up later

Sounds like the power went out of the Battery.  Means either the Battery is Kaput or there may be a problem with the alternator.

The alternator charges up the Battery as the engine runs, so if the alternator isn't working, the power of the Battery is drained away by the lights, radio and eventually the power to the spark plugs and so the engine stops.

The thing to do is ask to see that the new or repaired alternator is providing power.  The alternator should be providing a charge around 12V.  This can easily shown to you by the Mechanic using a simple multimeter.  Ask to see what charge it is supplying.

Best of luck.

gawa316

Quote from: Denn Forever on December 02, 2009, 08:15:41 PM
Sounds like the power went out of the Battery.  Means either the Battery is Kaput or there may be a problem with the alternator.

The alternator charges up the Battery as the engine runs, so if the alternator isn't working, the power of the Battery is drained away by the lights, radio and eventually the power to the spark plugs and so the engine stops.

The thing to do is ask to see that the new or repaired alternator is providing power.  The alternator should be providing a charge around 12V.  This can easily shown to you by the Mechanic using a simple multimeter.  Ask to see what charge it is supplying.

Best of luck.

Cheers for that.

Must take a night course at the local tech and learn all about this stuff, cause haven't a clue