Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: StGallsGAA on June 26, 2014, 07:28:01 PM

Poll
Question: Will John W Henry have him back in the doors of Anfield?
Option 1: Of course, he's world class and Liverpool have no chance without him. votes: 36
Option 2: Not a chance, Henry will off-load before he drags the club into the gutter. votes: 18
Title: Has Suarez Kicked his last ball for Liverpool? Will John Henry have him back?
Post by: StGallsGAA on June 26, 2014, 07:28:01 PM
I reckon Luis has kicked his last ball for the 'pool......agree or disagree?
Title: Re: Has Suarez Kicked his last ball for Liverpool? Will John Henry have him back?
Post by: BennyCake on June 26, 2014, 07:42:50 PM
A liability. His ban probably cost Liverpool last years title. He'll miss longer next season. Out ta feck, Nibbles.
Title: Re: Has Suarez Kicked his last ball for Liverpool? Will John Henry have him back?
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2014, 08:10:45 PM
If John Henry tried to sell him with the poor squad Liverpool have and with a ban reducing any asking price he is the highest calibre of idiot. For what, good PR? He's not running for election FFS. Someone who runs a franchise as good as the Red Soxs should know better.
Post by: T Fearon on June 26, 2014, 08:16:58 PM
Of course they will have him back, just as the equally immoral mancs welcomed Cantona back.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 26, 2014, 08:21:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 26, 2014, 08:10:45 PM
If John Henry tried to sell him with the poor squad Liverpool have and with a ban reducing any asking price he is the highest calibre of idiot. Someone who runs a franchise as good as the Red Soxs should know better.
Depends what you value him at Syferus. I would have him at 45-50max today. What would he need to do next season to retain that value given that he will be a year older plus cover his wages for the year??
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2014, 08:27:59 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 26, 2014, 08:21:10 PM
If John Henry tried to sell him with the poor squad Liverpool have and with a ban reducing any asking price he is the highest calibre of idiot. Someone who runs a franchise as good as the Red Soxs should know better.
Depends what you value him at Syferus. I would have him at 45-50max today. What would he need to do next season to retain that value given that he will be a year older plus cover his wages for the year??

How many players do you need to replace the second or third best footballer on the planet? We're talking elite talent here. Spurs found out that 90m wasn't enough to replace a lesser player. Liverpool need to detach themselves from the babble and look at what they have. They have Sturidge and potential in Sterling. I wouldn't rate anyone else at Liverpool better than b-tier premier league players. It's a roster that without Suarez looks very ugly.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 08:36:20 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 26, 2014, 08:16:58 PM
Of course they will have him back, just as the equally immoral mancs welcomed Cantona back.

Cantona was out of order, but massive difference when a player bites someone for getting the better of him during a game, than someone hurling abuse, Also Cantona did it only once, 3 times is pure scummy

I wonder has Simmons ever give abuse after that
Post by: clarshack on June 26, 2014, 08:46:31 PM
did cantona not get involved in a few controversies in france?, sure isn't that why he ended up in england cause noone else would touch him?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 08:48:51 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 26, 2014, 08:46:31 PM
did cantona not get involved in a few controversies in france?, sure isn't that why he ended up in england cause noone else would touch him?

He didn't kick any fans twice beforehand, and Utd I'd say were very glad he played in England
Post by: Rossie11 on June 26, 2014, 08:53:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 26, 2014, 08:27:59 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 26, 2014, 08:21:10 PM

How many players do you need to replace the second or third best footballer on the planet? We're talking elite talent here. Spurs found out that 90m wasn't enough to replace a lesser player. Liverpool need to detach themselves from the babble and look at what they have. They have Sturidge and potential in Sterling. I wouldn't rate anyone else at Liverpool better than b-tier premier league players. It's a roster that without Suarez looks very ugly.
He's not in the top 3 to start with. Currently with him out until November they will struggle to make champs league and as that was the priority last year I presume it's the same this year.
Due to Suarez actions the target for this season is now 4th place. Its disappointing for us pool fans but that is the reality.
You take the money and hit the restart button. There is plenty of value out there who can slot straight into that team and give 4th a good crack. Sanchez for example can be had for 25m. He won't get the number of goals but he is class and his work rate is an equal with Suarez. They can do cope without some of the goals he got last year if they strengthen the defence.
I think keeping him will only lead to more trouble sooner rather than later
Post by: J70 on June 26, 2014, 09:00:03 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 26, 2014, 07:42:50 PM
A liability. His ban probably cost Liverpool last years title. He'll miss longer next season. Out ta feck, Nibbles.

How could he have cost Liverpool the title when he was the primary reason they were in contention?

It's pretty clear what he is - an absolute genius who will win you a shitload of games but will miss ten games every 18 months or so through suspension. The question for Liverpool, Barcelona et al is whether the whole package is worth it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 09:29:52 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 26, 2014, 09:00:03 PM

How could he have cost Liverpool the title when he was the primary reason they were in contention?

It's pretty clear what he is - an absolute genius who will win you a shitload of games but will miss ten games every 18 months or so through suspension. The question for Liverpool, Barcelona et al is whether the whole package is worth it.

Would you ever get your knob out of Suarez's hole ffs!!
Post by: deiseach on June 26, 2014, 09:43:26 PM
I don't answer when-did-you-stop-eating-your-wife questions.
Post by: foxcommander on June 26, 2014, 09:48:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 26, 2014, 08:27:59 PM
It's a roster that without Suarez looks very ugly.

Jesus - if he's the best looking of that bunch.....
Post by: J70 on June 26, 2014, 09:56:03 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 09:29:52 PM

What have I said that is not true?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 10:16:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 26, 2014, 09:56:03 PM

Do you think if Suarez was available the whole season they would have won the league? Utd lost the league in 95, I firmly believe had Cantona been playing Utd would have won the league instead of losing it against West Ham on the last day (while Liverpool beat Blackburn)
Post by: J70 on June 26, 2014, 10:22:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 10:16:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 26, 2014, 09:56:03 PM

Do you think if Suarez was available the whole season they would have won the league? Utd lost the league in 95, I firmly believe had Cantona been playing Utd would have won the league instead of losing it against West Ham on the last day (while Liverpool beat Blackburn)

Cantona, yes.

Suarez... maybe they might not have lost at home to  Southampton, but who knows? They lost, miserably, to Hull with him in the side. Liverpool won 3 and drew 1 of the five games he missed.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 26, 2014, 10:28:24 PM

Glenn Hoddle springs to mind? >:(
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 26, 2014, 10:33:44 PM

And the equally immoral Spurs backed Defoe for biting Mascherano.
Post by: Bingo on June 26, 2014, 10:35:32 PM
Roll on October and Luis will be back banging them in for the Reds.

And he'll be angry.
Post by: muppet on June 26, 2014, 10:39:19 PM
Quote from: Bingo on June 26, 2014, 10:35:32 PM
Roll on October and Luis will be back banging them in for the Reds.

And he'll be hungry.

Fixed that. :P
Post by: reddgnhand on June 26, 2014, 11:20:03 PM
I think Liverpool will appeal this and win. If player's are banned from playing for their clubs because of something that happened on international duty then clubs will not release their player's. FIFA won't want that.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 11:24:47 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on June 26, 2014, 11:20:03 PM
I think Liverpool will appeal this and win. If player's are banned from playing for their clubs because of something that happened on international duty then clubs will not release their player's. FIFA won't want that.

It's already been done before, will Liverpool defend Suarez on this?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 26, 2014, 11:38:35 PM
While the fella obviously has a screw loose it's very harsh for a club to lose a player like this. Who pays his wages for the 2 months?

More to come on this i think. Like someone said dangerous precedent by fifa. What if clubs start refusing to release players?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 11:39:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 26, 2014, 11:38:35 PM
While the fella obviously has a screw loose it's very harsh for a club to lose a player like this. Who pays his wages for the 2 months?

More to come on this i think. Like someone said dangerous precedent by fifa. What if clubs start refusing to release players?

Has it not been done before?
Post by: EC Unique on June 26, 2014, 11:45:15 PM
This is FIFA. They won't give 2 fcuks about Liverpool and may even increase the ban if appealed. The wages one is tricky. Liverpool should not have to pay them when he is suspended. This could get really messy before it is finished and I suspect he will never kick a ball for Liverpool again. In the long run the club would be far better off without him and most sensible fans recognise this.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 26, 2014, 11:52:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2014, 11:39:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 26, 2014, 11:38:35 PM

Has it not been done before?
Not 100% sure...Dangerous i think anyway though.

Clubs are reluctant enough to release players.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 27, 2014, 12:03:31 AM
Liverpool will not get rid of Suarez unless a massive offer comes in - the biting incident has not changed this. Clubs don't just boot out £80m assets and the long term impact on Liverpools reputation will depend on what he helps them win in the future and not on what he did at this World Cup. Anyone looking to football to uphold the moral fabric of society are a little bit naive.
Post by: TabClear on June 27, 2014, 06:48:14 AM
The club vs country row is going to go up a notch here. I think everyone accepts that Suarez deserves everything he gets. Uruaguay to a much lesser extent because it happened on their watch, he was representing them. What is clear is that Liverpool are very much the innocent party (this time) and are getting hit the hardest. i.e. costs them the most financially ad he misses the  most games for them.

Why would a club release a player for an international who can get injured/banned for something they have no control over. I am fairly certain FIFA can require clubs to release players but contract negotiations might get a bit more interesting around international breaks. A few more phamtom injuries in future.

If Real/Barca/Bayern get involved here (which they could well do) FIFA could have a real problem.

On the Liverpool having him back there is no  doubt they will, even if its like last year to repair shortterm damage to asset value and sell. He is simply worth too much
Post by: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 09:00:40 AM
Quote from: TabClear on June 27, 2014, 06:48:14 AM
The club vs country row is going to go up a notch here. I think everyone accepts that Suarez deserves everything he gets. Uruaguay to a much lesser extent because it happened on their watch, he was representing them. What is clear is that Liverpool are very much the innocent party (this time) and are getting hit the hardest. i.e. costs them the most financially ad he misses the  most games for them.

Why would a club release a player for an international who can get injured/banned for something they have no control over. I am fairly certain FIFA can require clubs to release players but contract negotiations might get a bit more interesting around international breaks. A few more phamtom injuries in future.

If Real/Barca/Bayern get involved here (which they could well do) FIFA could have a real problem.

On the Liverpool having him back there is no  doubt they will, even if its like last year to repair shortterm damage to asset value and sell. He is simply worth too much

He is their employee and they should have control over him. Discipline should be part of his contract.
What is lacking here is that if a player messes up at one club other clubs wait like vultures to get him on the cheap. As a result the player gets no real punishment.
There should be unity between clubs on this and FIFA should be the ones leading it.
Not a hope of that though
Post by: johnneycool on June 27, 2014, 09:16:03 AM
Wee Gordon Strachan hit the nail on the head last night we his wee rant about this false indignation on the Suarez biting thing, as he says after his ban he'll be roundly clapped onto the field by the fans especially if it means they're more likely to win games. Lesser players will be made an example off, but not Suazez, he's probably Liverpools most valuable asset, he'll be going nowhere on the cheap because he's a bad boy.

They'll suck it up, say all the right things and come October he'll be drafted in right away, same as every other club.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 27, 2014, 09:21:28 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 09:00:40 AM

He is their employee and they should have control over him. Discipline should be part of his contract.
What is lacking here is that if a player messes up at one club other clubs wait like vultures to get him on the cheap. As a result the player gets no real punishment.
There should be unity between clubs on this and FIFA should be the ones leading it.

What control does your employer have over you when you are away from work?
Post by: laoislad on June 27, 2014, 09:23:18 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 27, 2014, 09:16:03 AM
Wee Gordon Strachan hit the nail on the head last night we his wee rant about this false indignation on the Suarez biting thing, as he says after his ban he'll be roundly clapped onto the field by the fans especially if it means they're more likely to win games. Lesser players will be made an example off, but not Suazez, he's probably Liverpools most valuable asset, he'll be going nowhere on the cheap because he's a bad boy.

They'll suck it up, say all the right things and come October he'll be drafted in right away, same as every other club.
The little ginger shite must read the gaaboard because I said exactly the same thing two days ago!
Post by: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 09:59:24 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 27, 2014, 09:21:28 AM

As in if I smashed someone in the street ended up in court with my name on the paper? I have no doubt I would be looking elsewhere for work..
Personal responsibility comes into it also but in alot of cases the employer has a certain amount of control over their employees
Post by: Bingo on June 27, 2014, 10:06:14 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 09:59:24 AM

As in if I smashed someone in the street ended up in court with my name on the paper? I have no doubt I would be looking elsewhere for work..
Personal responsibility comes into it also but in alot of cases the employer has a certain amount of control over their employees

This is the nonsense that gets thrown about a lot. If you are good at your job and will be hard to replace or cost money, you'll not lose your job.

I've seen lads go on the drink for days when they should be working, seen lads in sales jobs get done for drink driving and told to get something sorted while on their ban, seen lads in court over various physical altercations in the public and kept their job, seen lads damage company cars through their own fault, lose work tools, fall out with the boss etc etc etc. All manner of "sackable" offences and none of them lost their job. Why? Because their were good at their job.

I've seen some lads let go for very little but that because they weren't up to it in the first place.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 10:22:46 AM
Quote from: Bingo on June 27, 2014, 10:06:14 AM

This is the nonsense that gets thrown about a lot. If you are good at your job and will be hard to replace or cost money, you'll not lose your job.

I've seen lads go on the drink for days when they should be working, seen lads in sales jobs get done for drink driving and told to get something sorted while on their ban, seen lads in court over various physical altercations in the public and kept their job, seen lads damage company cars through their own fault, lose work tools, fall out with the boss etc etc etc. All manner of "sackable" offences and none of them lost their job. Why? Because their were good at their job.

I've seen some lads let go for very little but that because they weren't up to it in the first place.

An internal person can get away with this sort of thing and it happens every day. Its extremely difficult for a sales type person or someone representing the company to keep their job.
Obviously some do but its not the norm.
Have seen it where the customer has instructed the company that they no longer wish to have a certain guy back on site after an incident.
How good he was had absolutely nothing to do with it. The decision was taken away from his employer who had no choice but to let him go.
Post by: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 10:23:32 AM

Jeysus Bingo. You need to have a look at the circles you move in.  :o
Post by: laoislad on June 27, 2014, 10:24:25 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 10:22:46 AM

An internal person can get away with this sort of thing and it happens every day. Its extremely difficult for a sales type person or someone representing the company to keep their job.
Have seen it where the customer has instructed the company that they no longer wish to have a certain guy back on site after an incident.
How good he was had absolutely nothing to do with it. The decision was taken away from his employer who had no choice but to let him go.
He was some bucko alright!..if it is the same guy I'm thinking of...
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 27, 2014, 10:25:01 AM
So are you saying you think Liverpool should sack Suarez?
Post by: Bingo on June 27, 2014, 10:25:46 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 10:23:32 AM

Jeysus Bingo. You need to have a look at the circles you move in.  :o

Mountjoy was the best 6 months I ever had  ;)

I should have added, small town Ireland would all have similar tales.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 10:40:25 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 27, 2014, 10:24:25 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 10:22:46 AM

He was some bucko alright!..if it is the same guy I'm thinking of...
Wrong Man Laoislad... Mores the pity...  Suarez would had fair chewing on him!!! Thanksgiving and Xmas rolled into one!!!!  ;D
Post by: illdecide on June 27, 2014, 10:51:28 AM
I don't support any team in England and TBH I'm not sure what i think of the incident, my initial thought was we scum bag...ban him and whatever else he gets he deserves!!! but the more i think about it and ask myself what damage was he going to do to the player? Is it any worse than Roy Keanes tackle that ended the City players career? Or when a player goes in with malice to break another players leg...which is worse? What bans have players got for hurting another player on the pitch?

I know Suarez done wrong and he deserves some form of punishment but I'm not so sure the time fits the crime

Post by: laoislad on June 27, 2014, 10:57:02 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 27, 2014, 10:51:28 AM
I don't support any team in England and TBH I'm not sure what i think of the incident, my initial thought was we scum bag...ban him and whatever else he gets he deserves!!! but the more i think about it and ask myself what damage was he going to do to the player? Is it any worse than Roy Keanes tackle that ended the City players career? Or when a player goes in with malice to break another players leg...which is worse? What bans have players got for hurting another player on the pitch?

I know Suarez done wrong and he deserves some form of punishment but I'm not so sure the time fits the crime
;D time to take cover illdecide the mob will be after you soon!
Post by: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 10:58:55 AM

It is not all about the crime, it is more the fact that he is a repeat offender and has obviously not learned from previous incidents. 3 times now he has bitten another player. Mental stuff especially when it is on such a world wide stage.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 27, 2014, 11:01:46 AM
A liverpool supporter said the same thing to me. Keane should have got life to be honest.

A big word for tackles is intent. YOu can go in hard, lose control etc and it can go wrong.

In the Suarez scenario there is intent but it's not going to maim the guy as per a very malicious tackle.

The main feeling I would have, and I think most would have, on the Suarez incident is that the guy is quite clearly not right in the head. Biting someone like that is not the action of a sane person.

The life thing is not specific to Keane either. Razor Ruddock broke Andy Cole's two legs with a tackle - yes two! There's a sheffield united guy(or he was wanyway) Chris (Morgan I think) and he has done some serious damage in his time too. I would question whether he would have been allowed to play again.

Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 27, 2014, 11:16:11 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 10:58:55 AM

It is not all about the crime, it is more the fact that he is a repeat offender and has obviously not learned from previous incidents. 3 times now he has bitten another player. Mental stuff especially when it is on such a world wide stage.

The thing is, the action was so ridiculous, you cant be sure he will learn from this either.
It just seems to be a red mist takes over and he does it before he can stop himself.
I certainly think he should be punished for it, but i dont think a longer ban will male him less likely to do it again.

From  a Liverpool point of view, and as a liverpool support, i think they should cash in as long as a decent offer is there.
if they could get 40/50m plus sanchez from Barca, i would take it and dont look back
Post by: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 11:18:51 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 27, 2014, 11:16:11 AM

The thing is, the action was so ridiculous, you cant be sure he will learn from this either.
It just seems to be a red mist takes over and he does it before he can stop himself.
I certainly think he should be punished for it, but i dont think a longer ban will male him less likely to do it again.

From  a Liverpool point of view, and as a liverpool support, i think they should cash in as long as a decent offer is there.
if they could get 40/50m plus sanchez from Barca, i would take it and dont look back

How much is Sanchez worth in today's market?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 27, 2014, 11:21:43 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 11:18:51 AM

£30 million
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2014, 11:23:44 AM
I don't think there's any doubt that getting a leg broken, or an ACL done, on the back of a bad tackle is far worse than what Suarez did. Ask anybody who plays any sport would they prefer an opponent to 'do them' and badly injure them, or bite or spit on them. The answer will always be they'd prefer the bite or the spit.

However that's not really the point with regard to Suarez, in my opinion. It's not that he has harmed anyone, but the fact that this action is absolutely despicable in society, and the fact that he has been done for it twice already and seems unable or unwilling to change his behaviour.

I'm not listening to the howl about banning him for life, that's ridiculous, but what is clear is that he has serious problems controlling his frustration when it builds up, and his reaction is to bite.

Eric Cantona's stamp on John Moncur was worse. Roy Keane's stamp on Gareth Southgate was worse. His tackle on Haaland was worse. Steven Gerrard has done far worse on a field than Suarez, in terms of the potential to injure an opponent. There's been a few tackles in this world Cup that are worse than what Suarez did in terms of potential to injure.

But none of that is relevant in my eyes. Suarez knows you can't do it, he knows you can't get away with it, and he knows himself, his team and his club will be punished, and he still does it. That's just mental.
Post by: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 11:29:40 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 27, 2014, 11:21:43 AM

£30 million

So £70-£80M for Suarez? That would seem about right given his talent and the fact that the likes of Bale went for similar. If Suarez was squeaky clean he would demand a world record fee but he is damaged goods. A risk for any club to buy but one thing is guaranteed..... Goals.

Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 27, 2014, 11:31:34 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 11:29:40 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 27, 2014, 11:21:43 AM

£30 million

So £70-£80M for Suarez? That would seem about right given his talent and the fact that the likes of Bale went for similar. If Suarez was squeaky clean he would demand a world record fee but he is damaged goods. A risk for any club to buy but one thing is guaranteed..... Goals.

And suspensions  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2014, 11:33:16 AM
And a huge Colgate bill.
Post by: johnneycool on June 27, 2014, 11:52:10 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 27, 2014, 11:33:16 AM
And a huge Colgate bill.

Listerine are an official sponsor of the 2014 World cup. Their advertising department should be onto this like Paddy Power would be.
Post by: Bingo on June 27, 2014, 11:55:28 AM
http://giorgiochiellini.com/site/newsdetail/Eng/My-words-after-Italia-Uruguay.html (http://giorgiochiellini.com/site/newsdetail/Eng/My-words-after-Italia-Uruguay.html)

Good man Chiellini.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 27, 2014, 11:57:36 AM
During this four months ban I think Suarez mental health needs to be looked into, to bite once could be a spur of the moment thing however to do it for a 3rd time clearly serious issues is going on in his head.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 11:58:49 AM

Totally agree but think the bidding (if there is any) will start at 30 + Sanchez Or worse.. 35 + Pedro!!!
Was in contact with a Barca season ticket holder yesterday who reckons they dont have the money this season and they need to get centre halves as a priority.
Fans are still sore over the Neymar fiasco so any buy needs to be a non controversial one..
Post by: Syferus on June 27, 2014, 12:20:52 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 27, 2014, 11:58:49 AM

Totally agree but think the bidding (if there is any) will start at 30 + Sanchez Or worse.. 35 + Pedro!!!
Was in contact with a Barca season ticket holder yesterday who reckons they dont have the money this season and they need to get centre halves as a priority.
Fans are still sore over the Neymar fiasco so any buy needs to be a non controversial one..

If the ladeen takes his Brazil form back with him they won't be slow to forget about any controversies. Not unlike Suarez.
Post by: illdecide on June 27, 2014, 12:42:22 PM
People will have different opinions on what his punishment should be, i dunno if banning him will stop him re-offending as he could possibly do it again. I don't think he sets out to do it but something just comes over him and he lashes out with the fangs (and what a set of fangs he has too). What is best to help stop him doing it again? I dunno but someone needs to help (take his teeth out...lol).

All that said i still think it wasn't as bad as the punishment he recieved
Post by: Bingo on June 27, 2014, 12:45:33 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 27, 2014, 12:42:22 PM
People will have different opinions on what his punishment should be, i dunno if banning him will stop him re-offending as he could possibly do it again. I don't think he sets out to do it but something just comes over him and he lashes out with the fangs (and what a set of fangs he has too). What is best to help stop him doing it again? I dunno but someone needs to help (take his teeth out...lol).

All that said i still think it wasn't as bad as the punishment he recieved

Roddy Collins has apparently suggested they do just that - remove his front teeth!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2014, 12:47:15 PM
Pity someone wouldn't remove Roddy's vocal chords.
Post by: ballinaman on June 27, 2014, 12:50:15 PM
Major tourist attraction on Copacabana beach...queues of people supposedly. Did my best finding best looking bird I could....I'd be sound like that.

(http://www.airvibez.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/925905_1505174643031629_771023812_n.jpg)
Post by: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 11:17:52 PM
Looks like he has indeed kicked his last ball for Liverpool. He gone!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2014, 11:20:07 PM
Source?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2014, 11:34:05 PM
No. I'm asking where he heard it.
Post by: EC Unique on June 27, 2014, 11:37:49 PM
SkySports reporting that negotiations with Barca are on going. Talk of £50m plus Sanchez.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2014, 11:41:52 PM
So by "he gone" you meant "he not gone"?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 28, 2014, 12:04:59 AM
Has he f*ck. If he has kicked his last ball for Liverpool it will be because he decides to move. If Liverpool lose him they can kiss goodbye to any league title aspirations.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2014, 12:07:59 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 28, 2014, 12:04:59 AM
Has he f*ck. If he has kicked his last ball for Liverpool it will be because he decides to move. If Liverpool lose him they can kiss goodbye to any league title aspirations.

They would have struggled this year with CL and PL to contend with
Post by: imtommygunn on June 28, 2014, 12:50:56 AM
Is shit just being made up here? Source of sky sports?

Sky sports reporting that his odds to stay have now been slashed. That is all they are reporting.

Post by: StGallsGAA on June 28, 2014, 12:08:05 PM
Today's odds on him staying = 5/6

Today's odds on him going = 5/6

Liverpool fans in for a sweaty-togs summer!  Don't stand downwind of one :o ;)
Post by: Shrewdness on June 28, 2014, 02:21:26 PM
Even allowing for all the slagging that goes on between Liverpool and United fans, we'd have to agree that Suarez will be a massive loss to Liverpool if he leaves. At times last season, his form was matching that of Ronaldo and Messi. Where will they get an adequate replacement? No way will they be title contenders next season without him.
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2014, 05:18:27 PM
Apparently he is saying now that he lost his balance and accidentally bit him?

Why say that now, several days later? After days of Uruguayan denials?

Sooner or later he is going to have to grow up and accept responsibility for his actions.
Post by: tyroneboi on June 28, 2014, 06:04:50 PM
That was in the letter to FIFA on 25 June when he was asked for his side of events. He lost his balance and his face hit Cheilini in the shoulder. Which is a load of rubbish really!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2014, 10:50:06 PM
Luis Suarez has sensationally claimed he 'lost his balance' and 'in no way' bit Italy's Giorgio Chiellini, having been slapped with a four-month ban from football by governing body Fifa.

Pictures clearly show the Uruguay striker commit his third biting offence in four years during Tuesday's World Cup match against Italy, leading to a strong-ish punishment from Fifa.

Suarez will miss tonight's last 16 tie against Colombia, but in the written defence he submitted to the governing body, maintained his claim that the incident has been misunderstood. LOL.

'In no way did it happen how you have described, as a bite or intent to bite,' he wrote.

'After the impact ... I lost my balance, making my body unstable and falling on top of my opponent.

'At that moment I hit my face against the player leaving a small bruise on my cheek and a strong pain in my teeth.'

Sure pal...
Post by: EC Unique on June 28, 2014, 10:59:45 PM
It takes a mental type of madness to bite somebody on 3 different occasions but it takes a cowardly type of low human to deny it even happened. I felt sorry for him at the start but now I'm glad he got a big ban.
Post by: Kidder81 on June 28, 2014, 11:02:48 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 28, 2014, 10:59:45 PM
It takes a mental type of madness to bite somebody on 3 different occasions but it takes a cowardly type of low human to deny it even happened. I felt sorry for him at the start but now I'm glad he got a big ban.

He must be reeling after hearing of this about-turn
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2014, 11:17:22 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on June 28, 2014, 11:02:48 PM

He must be reeling after hearing of this about-turn

If he stays at Liverpool he'll be doing some serious PR exercises for sure, visiting children's hospitals and the like trying to paint a better image. Plenty of scope for TV ads also I'd presume, toothpaste be a big one, dog food another. Every cloud.......
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 29, 2014, 03:28:08 AM

suarez tonite is reportedly suicidal. no, barcelona havent changed their stance and are still interested, but it is EC (OHSOVERY) Uniques change of heart which has caused this latest bout of e treme desolation.

catchyerselfuckinondontevenknowwhyimtypinthis
Post by: Zip Code on June 29, 2014, 02:08:09 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 29, 2014, 03:28:08 AM

suarez tonite is reportedly suicidal. no, barcelona havent changed their stance and are still interested, but it is EC (OHSOVERY) Uniques change of heart which has caused this latest bout of e treme desolation.

That post made me laugh - EC proves time and time again what a tool he is!
Post by: Boycey on June 29, 2014, 03:20:25 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on June 29, 2014, 02:08:09 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 29, 2014, 03:28:08 AM

That post made me laugh - EC proves time and time again what a tool he is!

In 86 posts you have achieved the same quite a few times  ;)
Post by: Zip Code on June 29, 2014, 04:50:00 PM
in 1174 posts you made 1174 must have been totally irrelevant as this is the first I have noticed you.  ::)
Post by: Boycey on June 29, 2014, 07:20:22 PM
Posters like you (whoevers alter ego you are) are the reason I don't come on here much anymore. On three different threads I've been on you have been there shouting people down with rude and obnoxious language at times. Here's an idea try a bit of reasonable debate?

Post by: Zip Code on June 30, 2014, 08:17:46 AM
Missing you already!
Post by: J70 on June 30, 2014, 06:34:19 PM
Finally, an apology from Suarez and a vow never to do it again.

Hopefully he really means it and really gets it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2014, 06:36:01 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 30, 2014, 06:34:19 PM

Yeah, really difficult to get addicts to admit to their problem, once that's done they can get the therapy required
Post by: J70 on June 30, 2014, 06:43:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2014, 06:36:01 PM

Yeah, really difficult to get addicts to admit to their problem, once that's done they can get the therapy required

Jokes aside, he should have apologized last week.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2014, 06:46:46 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 30, 2014, 06:43:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2014, 06:36:01 PM

Jokes aside, he should have apologized last week.

Yep I left a smiley out ;). Hey when you have let down your team mates in, supporters and everyone else it's the hardest thing to do and admit you have done that. It's done now, he'll just have to do the time and move on, be best to stay at home and let the dirty british media come to South America to take pictures and make stuff up about him
Post by: rodney trotter on June 30, 2014, 06:55:17 PM
Barcelona are suppose to be opening talks with him this week. They made a statement a few days ago that they wanted  Suarez to apologize so maybe its linked to that
Post by: Kidder81 on June 30, 2014, 06:59:38 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 30, 2014, 06:55:17 PM
Barcelona are suppose to be opening talks with him this week. They made a statement a few days ago that they wanted  Suarez to apologize so maybe its linked to that

Twittersphere reckons Barcelona insisted on the apology, or no deal.
Post by: laoislad on June 30, 2014, 07:11:55 PM
Chiellini wants ban reduced apparently.
Post by: Kidder81 on June 30, 2014, 07:18:51 PM
"@martynziegler: Way maybe open now for FIFA appeal panel to make part of Suarez 4-month ban suspended for up to two years, conditional on good behaviour."
Post by: EC Unique on June 30, 2014, 08:25:27 PM
He is doing what Barca have instructed.
Post by: laoislad on June 30, 2014, 08:40:30 PM
Suarez won't be going anywhere unless Liverpool get the price or player plus money deal that they want.
They proved last year when they told Arsenal to go fcuk themselves that them and only them will decide what happens with Suarez.
Barca can tell him all they want to apologise( if they even did that) but it won't matter unless they come up with the big bucks that Liverpool are happy with.
As a Liverpool fan I'd be happy with €50 Mill plus Sanchez.
Post by: moysider on June 30, 2014, 08:47:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 30, 2014, 08:40:30 PM
Suarez won't be going anywhere unless Liverpool get the price or player plus money deal that they want.
They proved last year when they told Arsenal to go fcuk themselves that them and only them will decide what happens with Suarez.
Barca can tell him all they want to apologise( if they even did that) but it won't matter unless they come up with the big bucks that Liverpool are happy with.

I d go along with that. A suspension of the ban or a reduction would be worth a few more million - a good few.

Cheque would help sign Shaquiri and hopefully Valbuena as well.
Post by: J70 on June 30, 2014, 09:02:08 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 30, 2014, 08:25:27 PM
He is doing what Barca have instructed.

Whatever is behind it, it is about time.

I don't know if he is surrounded by sycophants and yes men or what, but someone needs to break through to him and make him realize that HE, and not the media, is ultimately to blame for his troubles. If the apology is genuinely meant (and it can't have been easy after the nonsense of the past week), its a start.
Post by: J OGorman on June 30, 2014, 09:17:19 PM
Question for non Liverpool soccer supporters esp I suppose the Man Utd ones who seem more interested in Liverpool than Utd. But, as all of you will say, Liverpool, with or without Suarez have little to no chance of winning the league and will at best finish 4th. Would you not rather see the magic of Suarez play week in week out in the league you follow? one of the finest footballers on the planet who is prone to throwing a wobbler in any game. Win win?
Post by: laoislad on June 30, 2014, 09:25:42 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 30, 2014, 09:17:19 PM
Question for non Liverpool soccer supporters esp I suppose the Man Utd ones who seem more interested in Liverpool than Utd. But, as all of you will say, Liverpool, with or without Suarez have little to no chance of winning the league and will at best finish 4th. Would you not rather see the magic of Suarez play week in week out in the league you follow? one of the finest footballers on the planet who is prone to throwing a wobbler in any game. Win win?
I find this hilarious. It's almost as if they think if Liverpool get €80 million or whatever for him they won't be allowed to spend the money on anyone...
Post by: J OGorman on June 30, 2014, 09:38:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 30, 2014, 09:25:42 PM
I find this hilarious. It's almost as if they think if Liverpool get €80 million or whatever for him they won't be allowed to spend the money on anyone...

Will be interesting to see how it all plays out.
Post by: EC Unique on June 30, 2014, 09:58:10 PM
I would rather he stayed. Entertains on many levels not least his footballing ability.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2014, 11:09:48 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 30, 2014, 09:38:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 30, 2014, 09:25:42 PM

Will be interesting to see how it all plays out.

I'd rather he stayed also, he is (said before many times) a cracking player and what the PL needs, if they get the swap in the deal he'll be as good for Liverpool as Suarez. Liverpool supporters have been having plenty to say about Utd team/supporters all season, if you can't work that out then you need help!!
Post by: Applesisapples on July 01, 2014, 12:15:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 30, 2014, 08:40:30 PM
As a Barca fan I'd rather have Sanchez any day of the week. Suarez is a good player but will he fit the role of support act to Messi and Neymar?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 02, 2014, 02:36:59 AM
Cant wait to see Messi when Suarez losses the head every time he doesn't pass to him.  Can't see it working myself but good luck to him.
Liverpool will have to make sure Sanchez is in the deal and if not then 80 Million cash or sling your hook Barca.  I wouldn't want Sanchez if he is being forced into the move either.
Post by: gallsman on July 02, 2014, 01:16:40 PM
Letting go of Sanchez after the season and WC he's had would be madness from Barca. Finally proved himself.
Post by: Bensars on July 02, 2014, 01:25:07 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on July 02, 2014, 02:36:59 AM
Cant wait to see Messi when Suarez losses the head every time he doesn't pass to him.  Can't see it working myself but good luck to him.
Liverpool will have to make sure Sanchez is in the deal and if not then 80 Million cash or sling your hook Barca.  I wouldn't want Sanchez if he is being forced into the move either.

Of course hes being forced into move. Who at Barcelona/Real Madrid etc wants to be demoted  and to move to a wet cold working class town ?

Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 02, 2014, 01:27:38 PM
If suarez is to go (and it looks like he is), hopefully they can get it done quickly and get the replacement(s) in early rather than a long running transfer saga.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 02, 2014, 01:54:20 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/t1.0-9/s526x395/10502011_10152524983719914_6810065753751298654_n.png)
Post by: laoislad on July 02, 2014, 04:12:50 PM
Want.

(http://bmtpromotions.co.uk/bmt/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/The-Suarez-bottle-opener-370x492.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on July 02, 2014, 04:53:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 02, 2014, 04:12:50 PM
Want.

(http://bmtpromotions.co.uk/bmt/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/The-Suarez-bottle-opener-370x492.jpg)

Are you sure? That looks suspiciously like a Dublin kit he's wearing (FAO EC Unique: it's really a Uruguay kit)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 02, 2014, 05:44:01 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 02, 2014, 04:53:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 02, 2014, 04:12:50 PM
Want.

Are you sure? That looks suspiciously like a Dublin kit he's wearing (FAO EC Unique: it's really a Uruguay kit)

I agree, I don't think it is Saurez,  I think it's MD McAuley!