Football qualifier route 2019

Started by Blowitupref, May 22, 2019, 01:45:27 PM

meathie

Quote from: BennyCake on June 11, 2019, 10:45:00 PM
Yer man with the Offaly jersey wasn't behind the goal in Tullamore at the Offaly London qualifier. Or is it Portlaoise he's always at?

He has got himself a stewards job!

Ball Hopper

So we are down to 12 still standing. 

Leinster have 3 left - Dublin, Meath and Laois

Ulster have 3 left - Donegal, Cavan and Tyrone

Connacht have 3 left - Roscommon, Galway and Mayo

Munster have 3 left - Kerry, Cork and Clare.

Such equality between the provinces is rare.  Pity the winner is so easily chosen.

Unless the draw puts some of them together in Round 4 the last 8 most likely to be Tyrone, Mayowestros, Galway and Cavan plus the 4 Provincial Champions.

An Fhairche Abu

Galway playing like they did in the Connacht final when Roscommon made it a real championship match in the second half wouldn't beat any of them, collapsed like a house of cards, absolutely wretched stuff.
We'll see if there's any kick in them but I was waiting all year to see what would be the championship form, so far it's been extremely disappointing to say the least.

Ball Hopper

If Tyrone v Galway and Mayo v Meath OR  Tyrone v Meath and Mayo v Cork

A Group of Death will likely appear...

Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone, Mayo   OR   Dublin, Roscommon, Tyrone , Mayo

Meath can't meet Laois again. Would love to play Mayo. It's been too long since we last met in a championship game.

Quote from: thejuice on June 30, 2019, 07:52:36 AM
Meath can't meet Laois again. Would love to play Mayo. It's been too long since we last met in a championship game.

Of course you would. Ye keep beating us.

Very wary of all four teams. All could land the fatal blow to Mayo this year.

giveballaghback

Ros/Dub group is already the group of death with realistically only one semi final spot between ros and whoever the 2 qualifiers are, first qualifer up gets a tanking from dublin thats for sure and then ros have their match at a neutral venue against dubs in cp.
The last thing we need is to see tyrone or the green and red again but I suppose when you are in the so called super 8s you are at the sharp end. 

True ballagh.
No easy games....but then again Laois , Meath and Clare are only 70 minutes from the last 8.
And of course we get 2 away games but it would be mean spirited  to complain when 2 thirds of the Congress said that's OK.

grassHarrow

No team will be afraid of being in Kerrys group after the Cork display AND now that  PK&TG are taking the training sessions. (MF&DB in the stands looking on ... great  view)

Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on June 30, 2019, 01:05:34 AM
Galway playing like they did in the Connacht final when Roscommon made it a real championship match in the second half wouldn't beat any of them, collapsed like a house of cards, absolutely wretched stuff.
We'll see if there's any kick in them but I was waiting all year to see what would be the championship form, so far it's been extremely disappointing to say the least.

Very much look like a team where the manager has run out of road in the championship this year and a new voice is needed.

I can't help but shake the notion that, like Monaghan and Kildare, some of the squad might not be all that pushed about getting to the Super 8 again this year.

Halfquarter

Quote from: grassHarrow on June 30, 2019, 11:43:39 AM
No team will be afraid of being in Kerrys group after the Cork display AND now that  PK&TG are taking the training sessions. (MF&DB in the stands looking on ... great  view)

I think Cork are being underestimated, they have turned a corner, they could cause plenty trouble for someone yet.

Quote from: Rossfan on June 30, 2019, 11:00:00 AM
True ballagh.
No easy games....but then again Laois , Meath and Clare are only 70 minutes from the last 8.
And of course we get 2 away games but it would be mean spirited  to complain when 2 thirds of the Congress said that's OK.

Complain away.

Its not your fault that two thirds of the Congress are f**king idiots.

Meanwhile, I'm sure plenty of those two thirds whine away about the advantages and favouritism the Dubs enjoy.

Quote from: twohands!!! on June 30, 2019, 11:51:39 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on June 30, 2019, 01:05:34 AM

Very much look like a team where the manager has run out of road in the championship this year and a new voice is needed.

I can't help but shake the notion that, like Monaghan and Kildare, some of the squad might not be all that pushed about getting to the Super 8 again this year.
Galway got a bigger beating in the 2017 Connacht final v Roscommon and recovered to win the round 4 tie v Donegal 4-17 to 0-14.  They should beat Clare,Laois if drawn against them and if paired v Mayo it could go either way. I can't see Galway beating Tyrone though. Kevin Walsh has done 5 years now he will likely have to reach another AI semi final to be kept on for a 6th year.

Monaghan couldn't have notions of reaching the last 8 again when they couldn't produce any decent run of form this summer.  Kildare and Cian O'Neill had one big win last year and that win v Mayo wouldn't have happened but for a siege mentality was built up what followed was a very winnable round 4 tie. Any notion was gone for them this year when drawn v Tyrone.