Started by seafoid, November 28, 2015, 05:55:05 PM

PadraicHenryPearse

Mick flannery.  Take it on the Chin

Ray: I put fifty fine dollars on this hand

Luther: I'm in.

Paulie: I'm out.

John: Not a chance.

Ray: So only one of you dolls wanna dance?
Boy, you'd better have some balls in those pants
Gimme two cards.

Luther: One card.

Ray: Oh look at that!
Try to fill a flush up to bite me in the ass.
Jese, you must think Lady Luck is up there hidin' in your hat,
Or you're tryin' to fuckin; fool me boy, we'll see about that.
It's a hundred to play now, we'll see what you weigh now,
The pot is getting hotter boy, we'll see if you stay around.

Chorus (Frank and Grace)
Oh, the road, the riverboat,
Take it on the chin and deal again,
Till your money's spent.

John: Jacks or better, deuces wild,
Man, I haven't won a round in while.
This whiskey must be cloudin' my mind.
I'm getting older, could be losin' my style.

Paulie: Hey John, I hear you're leavin' us
Headin' off to better parts.
Don't you go forget us now,
I hope you're gonna send a card.

John: Yeah, I'm headin' down south a while,
You know me, just the wife and I,
I hear the weathers mighty fine
Down by St Columbentine.

But God knows I need a break from these
And paying your kids college fees
You'll miss my money more than me
Hey, why don't the two of you calm down
You're acting like a pair of

Ray: Shut the f**k up, what the fucks it got to do with you
I don't see your money here so you don't get to contribute
Nothin' to this little battle me and the boy are havin'.

Luther: You gonna play or you gonna talk all day?
If you don't got the money, throw those cards aay.

Ray: Ah you're bluffin', you got nothin', I say read 'em and weep, cause I'm in.

Chorus

Repeat Chorus

(In the original recording)
Frank/Luther – Mick Flannery
Grace – Yvonne Daly
Ray – Andy Dunne
Paulie – Ricky Lynch
John – Aaron Dillon

a few for your consideration:

QuoteFreedom, well, that's just some people talking. Your prison is walking through
this world all alone.

QuoteFor what is a man, what has he got
If not himself, then he has naught
To say the things he truly feels
And not the words of one who kneels
The record shows I took the blows
And did it my way

Yes, it was my way

Quote" And in the streets the children screamed
The lovers cried and the poets dreamed
But not a word was spoken
The church bells all were broken
And the three men I admire most
The Father Son and Holy Ghost
They caught the last train for the coast
The day the music died"

QuoteEvery time I look in the mirror
All these lines on my face getting clearer
The past is gone
It goes by, like dusk to dawn
Isn't that the way
Everybody's got their dues in life to pay

Spinning on that dizzy edge
I kissed her face and kissed her head
And dreamed of all the different ways I had
To make her glow
"Why are you so far away?" she said
"Why won't you ever know that I'm in love with you
That I'm in love with you"
You
Soft and only
You
Lost and lonely
You
Strange as angels
Dancing in the deepest oceans
Twisting in the water
You're just like a dream

QuoteI woke up this morning,
Smiled at the rising sun,
Three little birds,
Sat on my doorstep,
Singing sweet songs

QuoteI have a secret to tell
From my electrical well
It's a simple message and I'm leaving out the whistles and bells
So the room must listen to me
Filibuster vigilantly
My name is blue canary one note* spelled l-i-t-e
My story's infinite
Like the Longines Symphonette it doesn't rest

Blue canary in the outlet by the light switch
Who watches over you
Make a little birdhouse in your soul

QuoteNobody knows why Elvis threw it all away
Nobody knows what Ruby had to hide
Nobody knows why some of us get broken hearts
And some of us find a world that's clear and bright
You could be packed up and ready
Knowing exactly where to go
How come you miss the connection?
No use in asking...the answer is nobody knows

QuoteSo take the photographs, and still frames in your mind
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial
For what it's worth it was worth all the while

QuoteAnd the cat's in the cradle and the silver spoon
Little boy blue and the man in the moon.

QuoteIf time is just a fighter
Who laughs at all his foes
He waits until we're smug enough
Then winds us with his blows
Expressions you can't fathom
The hand I cannot hold
For what was built in heaven
Is a statue I can't mould
With sense of loss surrounding me
With thoughts I cannot bear
I sing a little hymn for her

QuoteWhen your day is night alone, (hold on, hold on)
If you feel like letting go, (hold on)
If you think you've had too much of this life, well hang on

QuoteYou must remember this, a kiss is still a kiss,
A sigh is just a sigh;
The fundamental things apply,
As time goes by.

QuoteI love my love and well she knows
I love the ground whereon she goes
I wish the day it soon would come
When she and I could be as one.

QuoteThey sentenced me to twenty years of boredom
For trying to change the system from within
I'm coming now, I'm coming to reward them
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

QuoteGuess who just got back today?
Those wild-eyed boys that had been away
Haven't changed, haven't much to say
But man, I still think those cats are great
They were asking if you were around
How you was, where you could be found
I told them you were living downtown
Driving all the old men crazy
The boys are back in town

QuoteMama, put my guns in the ground
I can't shoot them anymore.
That long black cloud is comin' down
I feel like I'm knockin' on heaven's door

QuoteAfter my picture fades and darkness has
Turned to gray
Watching through windows, you're wondering
If I'm OK
Secrets stolen from deep inside
The drum beats out of time

QuoteSittin' here resting my bones
And this loneliness won't leave me alone, listen
Two thousand miles I roam
Just to make this dock my home, now
I'm just gon' sit at the dock of a bay
Watchin' the tide roll away, ooh
Sittin' on the dock of the bay
Wastin' time

QuoteOh Danny boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling
From glen to glen, and down the mountain side.
The summer's gone and all the flowers are dying
Yet you, yet you, must go and I must bide.

QuoteI'm just an ageing drummer boy
And in the wars I used to play
And I've called the tune
To many a torture session
Now they say I am a war criminal
And I'm fading away
Father please hear my confession
I have legalised robbery
Called it a belief
I have run with the money
And hid like a thief
I have re-written history
With my armies and my crooks
Invented memories
I did burn all the books

QuoteI was 18yrs old when
I went down to Dublin with a fistful
Of money and a cartload of dreams
"Take your time" said me father
Stop rushing like hell and remember all is not what it seems to be
For there's fellas that would cut ye for the coat on yer back
Or the watch that you got from your mother so take care me old bucko
And mind yourself well and will ya give this wee note to me brother

QuoteAnd he calls her the chocolate girl, Because he thinks she melts when he touches her, And she knows she's the chocolate girl, Because she's broken up and swallowed and wrapped in bits of silver

QuoteHis shoulders ache all over and his brain is sore
He pours a drink and listens to his body thaw
They're only red from all the thoughts unused inside my head
They're only red from all the things I could have done instead
So when you look into these eyes I hope you realize
They could never be blue

QuoteSo excuse me forgetting, but these things I do
You see I've forgotten, if they're green or they're blue
Anyway, the thing is, what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes, I've ever seen.

QuoteI was the one who let you know,I was your sorry-ever-after

QuoteYou get a shiver in the dark
It's raining in the park but meantime
South of the river you stop and you hold everything
A band is blowing Dixie double four time
You feel alright when you hear that music ring

You step inside but you don't see too many faces
Coming in out of the rain to hear the jazz go down
Too much competition too many other places
But not too many horns can make that sound
Way on down south way on down south London town

QuoteFather McKenzie, writing the words
Of a sermon that no one will hear
No one comes near
Look at him working, darning his socks
In the night when there's nobody there
What does he care

QuoteDid they beat the drums slowly?
Did they play the fife lowly?
Did they sound the death march as they lowered you down?
Did the band play the last post and chorus?
Did the pipes play the flowers of the forest?

QuoteStarry Starry night
Paint your palette blue and gray
Look out on a summer's day
With eyes that know the darkness in my soul
Shadows on the hills
Sketch the trees and the daffodils
Catch the breeze and the winter chills
In colors on the snowy linen land.

QuoteGive me the beat boys and free my soul
I wanna get lost in your rock n' roll
And drift away . . .

QuoteJust as every cop is a criminal
And all the sinners, saints
As heads is tails
Just call me Lucifer
'Cause I'm in need of some restraint
So if you meet me
Have some courtesy
Have some sympathy, and some taste
Use all your well-learned politesse
Or I'll lay your soul to waste
Pleased to meet you
Hope you guessed my name
But what's puzzling you
Is the nature of my game

QuoteTell me, did you sail across the sun?
Did you make it to the Milky Way
to see the lights all faded,
and that Heaven is over-rated?

QuoteI've heard there was a secret chord
That David played, and it pleased the Lord
But you don't really care for music, do you?

QuoteSon can you play me a memory?
I'm not really sure how it goes, but it's sad, and it's sweet ,and I knew it complete, when I wore a younger man's clothes.

QuoteWe passed upon the stairs
Spoken was and when
Although I wasn't there
He said I was his friend
Which came as a surprise
I spoke into his eyes
I thought you died alone
A long long time ago
Oh no, not me
We never lost control
You're face to face
With the man who sold the world

QuoteAnd the words of the prophets are written on the subway walls, and tenement halls, and whispered in the sounds of silence.

QuoteI drink to the death of her manhood
Those men who'd rather have died
Than to live in the cold chains of bondage
To bring back their rights were denied
Oh where are you now when we need you
What burns where the flame used to be
Are ye gone like the snows of last winter
And will only our rivers run free?

QuoteWhen your belly's empty and the hunger's so real
And you're too proud to beg and too dumb to steal
You search the city for your only friend
No one would you see
Ask yourself, who'd watch for me
A solitary voice to speak out and set me free
I hate to say it
I hate to say it, but it's probably me

QuoteAmazing grace! How sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

dammit- this was meant to be a ten minute post- it kind of spiraled

It was noon before she moved into the yards and pressed
her hair
With a hand yellowed, smooth, and shaking
She had pulled on a housedress over nothing but her
skin
And stood in the grass looking about her

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLqmynhNHyA

Yes, my guard stood hard when abstract threats
Too noble to neglect
Deceived me into thinking
I had something to protect.
Good and bad, I defined these terms,
Quite clear, no doubt, somehow.
Ah, but I was so much older then;
I'm younger than that now.

It's been 22 years since I set foot in Dublin
Me kids know to use the correct knife and fork,
But I'll never forget the green grass and the rivers
As I keep law and order on the Streets of New York
na na na na na na na nanana nanana

I'd type the lyrics of any Dexy's Midnight Runners song, but that would spoil the effect.

Quote from: Orior on December 01, 2015, 01:17:21 PM
I'd type the lyrics of any Dexy's Midnight Runners song, but that would spoil the effect.

Yes, you really need to post links to the song. Reading lyrics is like reading ingredients for beer.

Quote from: muppet on December 01, 2015, 01:49:50 PM

Yes, you really need to post links to the song. Reading lyrics is like reading ingredients for beer.

One poster on youtube said the lyrics sound gibberish, but that would be a complement!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJc_q8eH2ng

Quote from: Orior on December 01, 2015, 02:09:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 01, 2015, 01:49:50 PM

One poster on youtube said the lyrics sound gibberish, but that would be a complement!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJc_q8eH2ng

Great song!

mikehunt

Well I'm not the world's most masculine man,
But I know what I am and I'm glad I'm a man,
And so is Lola.
Lo lo lo lo Lola. Lo lo lo lo Lola.