Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 08:30:13 PM

Title: Things that make you feel old...
Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 08:30:13 PM
Idea stolen from another forum.

Remembering Hugo Clerkin at his peak then seeing his son retire.
Groaning when sitting down and then when you get up again.
My date of birth is closer to the start of the First World War than it is to today :o :-[
Title: Re: Things that make you feel old...
Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 08:56:13 PM
Quote from: AQMP on November 04, 2016, 08:52:55 PM
40 years ago in August just passed since Abba released "Dancing Queen"

Jaysus :-\ :-\
Post by: Orior on November 04, 2016, 09:04:17 PM
Remembering that you've seen Colm McAlarney playing for Down. (Armagh didn't have a team at that time)
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 04, 2016, 09:05:31 PM
I'm working with people whose parents are younger than me.
Post by: seafoid on November 04, 2016, 10:04:21 PM
Trainspotting was 20 years ago
Post by: ONeill on November 04, 2016, 10:33:13 PM
Have yet to teach a lad whose da I taught. Until that moment all is well.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 04, 2016, 10:39:24 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 04, 2016, 10:33:13 PM
If you've worked there more than 10 years it's only a matter of time.
Post by: ONeill on November 04, 2016, 10:40:31 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 04, 2016, 10:39:24 PM
If you've worked there more than 10 years it's only a matter of time.

17 years....
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 04, 2016, 10:56:45 PM
When I started fancying mammies who came to my classroom to talk about their kids.
Post by: Red Hand Man on November 04, 2016, 11:46:22 PM
When you're filling in your details online and it comes to the date of birth with the scrolly thing. And you have to scroll down past the edge of the screen to get your year.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 04, 2016, 11:50:08 PM
When filling in surveys I'm no longer in the 30-39 group  :'(
Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 11:51:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 04, 2016, 11:50:08 PM

You're only a cub. Im two categories above that. :-\
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 05, 2016, 12:06:07 AM
Some of the ones in work today didn't know what The Big Breakfast was; they were even more confused when I mentioned Gaby Roslin.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 05, 2016, 12:14:16 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on November 05, 2016, 12:06:07 AM
Some of the ones in work today didn't know what The Big Breakfast was; they were even more confused when I mentioned Gaby Roslin. Ru

Gaby Roslin..hubba hubba...but the original Denise Van Outen without the plastic lips was deadly.

Rule 1.

(http://img.thesun.co.uk/aidemitlum/archive/01895/den_1895000a.jpg)
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 05, 2016, 12:19:33 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 05, 2016, 12:14:16 AM
Some of the ones in work today didn't know what The Big Breakfast was; they were even more confused when I mentioned Gaby Roslin. Ru

Gaby Roslin..hubba hubba...but the original Denise Van Outen without the plastic lips was deadly.

Sorry rule 1.

Now you're talkin'
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 05, 2016, 12:20:17 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 05, 2016, 12:14:16 AM

Rule 1.

Now you're chattin'!
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 05, 2016, 12:35:17 AM
(http://cdn.images.express.co.uk/img/dynamic/79/590x/secondary/Lynda-as-Wonder-Woman-264419.jpg)

Now we are truckin'
Post by: ONeill on November 05, 2016, 12:39:04 AM
(https://cbsmix1065.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/lynda-carter-wonder-woman-2013.jpg)
Post by: BennyHarp on November 05, 2016, 12:49:30 AM

Some of the lower sixths were born in the year 2000. That's just depressing!
Post by: seafoid on November 05, 2016, 08:21:56 AM
Young people who are too young to remember key GAA events such as the 98 pitch sitdown , the 2003 football final or the various sorrowful mysteries of Mayo. 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 05, 2016, 09:50:24 AM
Would ye give over the lot of ye...while there's a breath in your body and a rise in your pecker you're still young!!  Old is a state of mind and if you think you're old then you are!!
Post by: seafoid on November 05, 2016, 10:24:15 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 05, 2016, 09:50:24 AM
Would ye give over the lot of ye...while there's a breath in your body and a rise in your pecker you're still young!!  Old is a state of mind and if you think you're old then you are!!
I never heard "give over" outside Dublin. You know that sort of way?
Is it used in the north  as well?
Post by: ziggy90 on November 05, 2016, 01:09:05 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 11:51:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 04, 2016, 11:50:08 PM

You're only a cub. Im two categories above that. :-\

Same as that.
Post by: Hereiam on November 05, 2016, 06:14:38 PM
39 lads and still kicking points over the bar for the club. Still.a young cub yet.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 13, 2019, 11:43:42 PM
Local cinema is showing Fight Club to mark its 20 year anniversary!!
Post by: ziggysego on February 14, 2019, 11:13:39 AM
Some of the ones in work today didn't know what The Big Breakfast was; they were even more confused when I mentioned Gaby Roslin.

I was talking about Thundercats the other day at work and the new lad asked me what that was...  ???
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 14, 2019, 01:23:06 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on February 13, 2019, 11:43:42 PM
Local cinema is showing Fight Club to mark its 20 year anniversary!!

My eldest so is 20 years old...and I reckon I could still do a job on the square with 6 months training ;D
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 14, 2019, 01:27:49 PM
Jennifer Aniston of friends turned 50 a few days ago.
Post by: trailer on February 14, 2019, 03:13:52 PM
The price of Freddos.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2019, 07:20:56 PM
Sitting down to have a pee..
Post by: Dolph1 on February 14, 2019, 07:26:18 PM
Not getting at least 20 cards through the letterbox from all the local hotties on Valentines day.

Had to settle for 10 this year.
Post by: Ambrose on February 14, 2019, 09:04:00 PM
Being on the wrong side of 50 and the wife suggesting I start buying clothes from M&S  :-[
Post by: Orior on February 15, 2019, 12:10:35 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2019, 07:20:56 PM

It's more hygienic!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 15, 2019, 01:13:44 AM
My Back, Knees and pretty much any joint on my body.
Post by: whitey on February 15, 2019, 02:22:18 AM

I even have the Farmers Almanac (old Moore's Almanac for Americans) to read when I'm in there
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 07, 2019, 03:28:40 PM
The Karate Kid Daniel LaRusso turned 58 the other day. Next year will be thirty years since Margaret Thatcher resigned as Prime Minister and Nelson Mandela was released from prison.
Post by: omaghjoe on November 07, 2019, 04:13:35 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 15, 2019, 12:10:35 AM

It's more hygienic!

What could be more hygienic that giving the toilet area a quick spray with sterile acid?
Post by: sensethetone on November 07, 2019, 04:15:21 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 07, 2019, 03:28:40 PM
The Karate Kid Daniel LaRusso turned 58 the other day. Next year will be thirty years since Margaret Thatcher resigned as Prime Minister and Nelson Mandela was released from prison.

Probably remember more about Italia 90 than any other world cup.
Post by: Aristo 60 on November 07, 2019, 04:19:55 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 04, 2016, 10:56:45 PM
When I started fancying mammies who came to my classroom to talk about their kids.

do tell more
Post by: Aristo 60 on November 07, 2019, 04:25:43 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 14, 2019, 11:13:39 AM

I was talking about Thundercats the other day at work and the new lad asked me what that was...  ???

Saw a reg. plate for sale 'THII CAT' and for 10 mins thought that would be a marvellous purchase for resale until it dawned that not many remember them.

Did my best to get my nephew interested in them - but failed.

Post by: Aristo 60 on November 07, 2019, 04:27:04 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFKeS5UbNXQ
Post by: Dire Ear on November 07, 2019, 05:43:58 PM
Some things they should leave alone,  and this is one of them
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 07, 2019, 05:57:10 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on November 07, 2019, 04:27:04 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFKeS5UbNXQ

For the WTF thread!
Post by: BennyCake on November 07, 2019, 06:17:49 PM

Who calls her that? It's either Thatcher, Maggie or that aul ****.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2019, 06:24:07 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 07, 2019, 06:17:49 PM

Not Baroness Thatcher of Kesteven?
Post by: BennyCake on November 07, 2019, 06:38:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2019, 06:24:07 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 07, 2019, 06:17:49 PM

Not Baroness Thatcher of Kesteven?

Oh aye, I left that one out.
Post by: seafoid on November 07, 2019, 08:42:49 PM
Being the far side of Galway hurling's 29 year drought
Northern Exposure by Sasha and Digweed is over 20 years old
Don't like any of the music our teenager plays in the car
Can remember when Unionists never mentioned a United Ireland
Post by: Tyrdub on November 08, 2019, 09:02:59 AM
Quote from: Ambrose on February 14, 2019, 09:04:00 PM
Being on the wrong side of 50 and the wife suggesting I start buying clothes from M&S  :-[

Post by: illdecide on November 08, 2019, 09:39:04 AM
Just being told you have to get a full hip replacement at 46...and seeing the person hobbling out of the Doctors before you go in and them another clean shirt would do them. Always associated a hip replacement with pensioners although he did say i have the hip of a 70 year old :'(
Post by: lurganblue on November 08, 2019, 10:28:38 AM
Quote from: illdecide on November 08, 2019, 09:39:04 AM
Just being told you have to get a full hip replacement at 46...and seeing the person hobbling out of the Doctors before you go in and them another clean shirt would do them. Always associated a hip replacement with pensioners although he did say i have the hip of a 70 year old :'(

That's going to have a serious impact on the old riding
Post by: Joeythelips on November 08, 2019, 10:41:51 AM
Realising players like Phil Foden for Man City were not even born when Man United won the treble makes me feel like time has passed me by and I am just 40
Post by: illdecide on November 08, 2019, 10:44:52 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 08, 2019, 10:28:38 AM
Quote from: illdecide on November 08, 2019, 09:39:04 AM

That's going to have a serious impact on the old riding

Devastated man, but it is what it is. Surprisingly he told me he'll have me on a fixed bike after 6 weeks
Post by: tbrick18 on November 08, 2019, 10:46:39 AM
When people you're own age start dying with health issues.
When you only meet most of your family at weddings/wakes/funerals
When your children think you grew up in the olden times and ask questions like "what's a world book?"...and the answer is "google in a book".
When your children don't know of a time before internet/youtube/snapchat
When you mention the troubles and you children haven't a clue what you're on about (not a bad thing)
When your idea of a good night out, is a nice meal with a few glasses of wine, home in bed by 11.
When you consider buying a Jag as your next car as they look comfortable.
When the new house you bought when you got married, starts having age related issues.
When you're buying a pair of trousers, you automatically go for the expandable waist just in case
When you're having a haircut and the barber starts trimming your eyebrows without asking
Sh*t....I'm old :(
Post by: imtommygunn on November 08, 2019, 11:44:46 AM
What is a world book though??
Post by: tbrick18 on November 08, 2019, 02:01:30 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 08, 2019, 11:44:46 AM
What is a world book though??

If you're not old enough to know, then you're too young to be on this thread! But you could always Google it.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 08, 2019, 02:31:09 PM

To be fair I think I heard of them years ago and it was more my parents didn't want to buy them than they didn't exist when I was young!
Post by: Ambrose on November 12, 2019, 02:34:05 PM
On this day 30 years ago Washington Down by The 4 Of Us entered the Irish singles chart at #19.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBNqQJs7fIc

Like a good wine, the song has improved with age.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5mlI-yD47o&list=OLAK5uy_ld9u55qjAm4-He_7chuQAbuGKx9grYORo&index=4
Post by: Tyrdub on November 13, 2019, 03:33:25 PM
Quote from: Ambrose on November 12, 2019, 02:34:05 PM
On this day 30 years ago Washington Down by The 4 Of Us entered the Irish singles chart at #19.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBNqQJs7fIc

Like a good wine, the song has improved with age.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5mlI-yD47o&list=OLAK5uy_ld9u55qjAm4-He_7chuQAbuGKx9grYORo&index=4

I was at that concert in Thurles last year, thankfully I was one of the youngest there  ;) ;D ;D ;D
Post by: tbrick18 on November 14, 2019, 10:22:55 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 08, 2019, 02:31:09 PM

To be fair I think I heard of them years ago and it was more my parents didn't want to buy them than they didn't exist when I was young!

There used to be world book door-to-door sales men.
Basically you buy maybe 20-30 encyclopaedia size books that had all the latest details on various topics. For example, there might have been a geography book or a Science book. So when you were doing your homework and you needed help, you could look it up in the world book.
I think there was a couple of options when buying them, a 1 off purchase or a subscription where you got updated versions every year.

A different time.
Post by: armaghniac on November 14, 2019, 11:02:24 AM
The thing about this thread that makes me feel old is that 5Sams started it.
Post by: passedit on November 14, 2019, 12:43:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 14, 2019, 11:02:24 AM
The thing about this thread that makes me feel old is that 5Sams started it.

I was thinking the same thing.
Post by: seafoid on November 14, 2019, 04:22:50 PM
Groucho Marx , at the age of 81, said "I'm going to Iowa to collect an award. Then I'm appearing at Carnegie Hall, it's sold out. Then I'm sailing to France to pick up an honour from the French government. I'd give it all up for one erection."
Post by: armaghniac on November 14, 2019, 05:01:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 14, 2019, 04:22:50 PM
Groucho Marx , at the age of 81, said "I'm going to Iowa to collect an award. Then I'm appearing at Carnegie Hall, it's sold out. Then I'm sailing to France to pick up an honour from the French government. I'd give it all up for one erection."

the factory down in Cork will sort him out.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 14, 2019, 05:25:06 PM
That'll be very impressive if they can.
Post by: Gmac on November 15, 2019, 02:09:02 AM
When the barber says do u want me to trim your ear hair .
Post by: passedit on November 15, 2019, 11:15:44 AM
Quote from: Gmac on November 15, 2019, 02:09:02 AM

When it takes them longer to trim your eyebrows than your hair. Still the only thing worse than getting old is not getting old.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 15, 2019, 11:47:34 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 14, 2019, 10:22:55 AM

Basically you buy maybe 20-30 encyclopaedia size books that had all the latest details on various topics. For example, there might have been a geography book or a Science book. So when you were doing your homework and you needed help, you could look it up in the world book.
I think there was a couple of options when buying them, a 1 off purchase or a subscription where you got updated versions every year.

A different time.

They were great. Every house in Ireland had a set.
Post by: seafoid on November 15, 2019, 12:57:09 PM
It's 11 years since Tyrone won the All Ireland
Post by: balladmaker on November 15, 2019, 01:06:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 15, 2019, 12:57:09 PM

The scary thing is that it won't be a blink until it's been 21 years since they've won an All Ireland, time really does fly!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2019, 01:39:07 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 15, 2019, 01:06:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 15, 2019, 12:57:09 PM

The scary thing is that it won't be a blink until it's been 21 years since they've won an All Ireland, time really does fly!

Harte will still be manager
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 15, 2019, 01:48:12 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 14, 2019, 10:22:55 AM

A different time.

A different time indeed. My mam was an agent at one selling them so we had the deluxe set along with a set of Child Craft encyclopaedias. I used to sit and read them over and over again and was fascinated by them. I particularly used to love reading the sections on fish for some obscure reason. Loved the clouds of the deep sea fish!

Post by: Square Ball on November 15, 2019, 04:22:31 PM
When a lot of the new recruits in your office are younger than you youngest child.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2019, 07:03:12 PM
Sitting in a changing room before your match and the youngest player is 31 years your junior!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on November 15, 2019, 07:12:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2019, 07:03:12 PM
Sitting in a changing room before your match and the youngest player is 31 years your junior!

That's a very crowded referee's room!!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2019, 07:41:05 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on November 15, 2019, 07:12:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2019, 07:03:12 PM

That's a very crowded referee's room!!!

My last hurling game of the year  :(
Post by: playwiththewind1st on November 15, 2019, 07:46:53 PM
Ever pmsl.
Post by: Niall Quinn on November 15, 2019, 10:08:02 PM
Quote from: Gmac on November 15, 2019, 02:09:02 AM
I find them a fail-safe in gauging doorway width.
Post by: seafoid on November 18, 2019, 08:01:26 AM
Hong Kong trina cheile
Post by: seafoid on April 12, 2020, 06:30:58 PM
A decade since Gerry Ryan died
Post by: gallsman on April 12, 2020, 06:47:08 PM
Watching the 2004 Munster Final on TG4 this afternoon. So long ago yet so recent.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 12, 2020, 07:26:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 12, 2020, 06:47:08 PM
Watching the 2004 Munster Final on TG4 this afternoon. So long ago yet so recent.

I went down with 3 other players to Thurles that day! Brilliant day out and cracking road trip!

Our sec got me 4 tickets I was dead centre in the main stand! Great memories
Post by: marty34 on April 12, 2020, 07:29:39 PM

"I love my county"
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 12, 2020, 07:45:17 PM
I have friends with childer that were born in 2002. No memory of 9/11.
Post by: gallsman on April 12, 2020, 08:16:52 PM
Quote from: marty34 on April 12, 2020, 07:29:39 PM

"I love my county"

Me* county
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2020, 08:20:21 PM
I watched the 2003 Leinster Final Laois v Kildare today with my 8 and 5 year old, both thought it was great. Hard to believe it was 17 years ago though.
Post by: Aristo 60 on April 12, 2020, 08:43:16 PM
I bought a box of what I think used to be called sugar puffs as a treat to myself in lockdown and now I've never tasted anything less sweet.  When did that happen?

Post by: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2020, 08:56:30 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on April 12, 2020, 08:43:16 PM
I bought a box of what I think used to be called sugar puffs as a treat to myself in lockdown and now I've never tasted anything less sweet.  When did that happen?
Probably the dreaded sugar tax.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 12, 2020, 09:18:12 PM
I wouldnt go drinking Lilt anytime soon either if you havent had it for a while....
Post by: seafoid on April 12, 2020, 09:40:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 12, 2020, 07:26:05 PM

I went down with 3 other players to Thurles that day! Brilliant day out and cracking road trip!

Our sec got me 4 tickets I was dead centre in the main stand! Great memories

https://youtu.be/peAFdYkxbVo
Post by: seafoid on April 12, 2020, 09:42:16 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 12, 2020, 08:20:21 PM
I watched the 2003 Leinster Final Laois v Kildare today with my 8 and 5 year old, both thought it was great. Hard to believe it was 17 years ago though.
I think that may have been the year the Dublin Co Board decided to choose the nuclear option
The Dubs have won the vast majority of Leinsters since.
Post by: gallsman on April 12, 2020, 10:08:41 PM
Lost to Paidi and Westmeath the following year, didn't they.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 12, 2020, 10:22:04 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 12, 2020, 09:42:16 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 12, 2020, 08:20:21 PM
I think that may have been the year the Dublin Co Board decided to choose the nuclear option
The Dubs have won the vast majority of Leinsters since.

Westmeath won Leinster in 2004. That was the end of that bar Dublin getting caught by a flurry of goals by Meath in 2010.  The Leinster Championship was a vibrant animal back then. But the shite Leinster final crowd for Laois and Westmeath was no good for the GAA coffers. A strong Dublin was what the new Croke Park Stadium needed. The rest is history.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 04, 2020, 02:01:13 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D4V3oQlWsAA55uO?format=jpg&name=360x360)

The child from that famous sporting moment/image is 40 now.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2020, 02:26:34 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 04, 2020, 02:01:13 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D4V3oQlWsAA55uO?format=jpg&name=360x360)

The child from that famous sporting moment/image is 40 now.

Watched it last night, a very good doc and I remember that final very well!
Post by: smort on December 29, 2022, 06:44:12 AM
Have started crossing my legs when I sit down. When I was younger it was so uncomfortable but have noticed over Christmas that that I have started to do it

When veterans on sports teams are younger than you
Post by: armaghniac on December 29, 2022, 03:15:15 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on April 12, 2020, 08:43:16 PM

Increased emphasis on the puff rather than the sugar?
Post by: maddog on December 29, 2022, 04:00:16 PM
Havent read rest of thread so might have been mentioned before. The drop downs when you are booking something on the net and you look for your birthyear and scroll scroll scroll  :o
Post by: Gmac on December 29, 2022, 04:47:04 PM
Christmas number one was a big deal back in the day first one I remember was the caravan of love
Cliff had a few and band aid of course . Long time since flying pickets saw light of day.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2022, 09:34:57 PM
Aye it was massive. Earliest one I remember was Renee and Renato.
Post by: armaghniac on December 29, 2022, 10:03:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 29, 2022, 09:34:57 PM
Aye it was massive. Earliest one I remember was Renee and Renato.

Christmas hits used to be wizzard, altogether.
Post by: weareros on December 30, 2022, 12:30:44 AM
Earliest Christmas Number One I remember was Saint Winifred's School Choir with their "There's no one quite like Grandma." Awful awful stuff but even some of the hard chaws and cool dudes in the school ground were heard humming it back in 1980.
Post by: thebuzz on December 30, 2022, 12:53:12 AM
I was at a wedding in Belfast last week where the only people older than me were the bride and groom's parents.
Post by: seafoid on December 30, 2022, 06:26:15 AM
Famous deaths that are a very long way in the distance.  Ayrton Senna. Kurt Cobain.
Post by: armaghniac on December 31, 2022, 04:55:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 30, 2022, 06:26:15 AM
Famous deaths that are a very long way in the distance.  Ayrton Senna. Kurt Cobain.

John Lennon!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 31, 2022, 05:04:08 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 31, 2022, 04:55:45 PM

John Lennon!

Elvis! Was sitting in living room, not so much his death but my mum's reaction at the time..
Post by: seafoid on December 31, 2022, 05:28:04 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 31, 2022, 04:55:45 PM

John Lennon!
That december Saturday was awful. They stopped all the cartoons plus Anything Goes on RTE. Something similar happened after the Stardust fire.
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2023, 09:01:36 AM
stuart stevens
@stuartpstevens

Part of getting older is realizing there are people out there whom you assumed were perfectly normal who are actually lunatics
Post by: gawa316 on January 07, 2023, 12:06:55 AM
This made me feel old...

(https://scontent-lax3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/323640176_1128115857874939_896023880689274894_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=R6KAhfgwyuUAX__JPxh&_nc_ht=scontent-lax3-1.xx&oh=00_AfBzks0g-ugBOa7IgWE9HdflOFa4d7f3Plf3Y8kmPGp1Pw&oe=63BCE38A)
Post by: ONeill on January 07, 2023, 12:45:01 AM
When we all die, will the gaaboard survive? I think we need to offer scholarships and the like.
Post by: Square Ball on January 07, 2023, 12:00:44 PM
When most of new staff we get are younger than my youngest child.
Post by: smort on January 07, 2023, 12:06:23 PM
When you don't know some of the players on the preseason County panel
Post by: Windmill abu on January 08, 2023, 08:46:38 PM
Quote from: smort on January 07, 2023, 12:06:23 PM
When you don't know any of the players on the preseason County panel
\Fixed that for you.
Post by: Windmill abu on January 08, 2023, 08:51:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 07, 2023, 12:45:01 AM
When we all die, will the gaaboard survive? I think we need to offer scholarships and the like.
Sounds like a suicide pact. I'm in as long as I can be one of the survivors.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 08, 2023, 09:31:00 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on January 08, 2023, 08:46:38 PM
Quote from: smort on January 07, 2023, 12:06:23 PM
When you don't know any of the players on the preseason County panel
\Fixed that for you.
dementia?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 08, 2023, 11:13:34 PM
No, when you played against a no. Of their fathers lol.
Post by: tbrick18 on January 09, 2023, 12:09:29 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 08, 2023, 11:13:34 PM
No, when you played against a no. Of their fathers lol.

When you coached some of their fathers at under age!
Post by: armaghniac on January 09, 2023, 07:59:09 PM
As I get older I find that I only need 3 shops. Vision Express, Boots and Irwins bakery.

Specs and drugs and sausage roll