GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2019, 08:03:02 PM

Title: All Ireland U20 2019
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2019, 08:03:02 PM
Not up to speed on other provences this year but Tyrone comprehensively beat a fancied Derry team this evening 4-13 to 1-10.

A look over on gaa.ie shows the following games in a fortnight:

Galway v Leinster winners
Tyrone v Munster winners

I'm assuming Kerry must be big favourites with all those minor wins. Any idea on who is best placed to challenge them?
Title: Re: All Ireland U20 2019
Post by: Angelo on July 14, 2019, 08:06:33 PM
Still no sign of Matthew Murnaghan or Mark Hayes?

Have they any hope of playing a part this year?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2019, 08:58:37 PM
It's Galway v Dublin or Laois anyway in one semi.
Post by: dublin7 on July 14, 2019, 09:03:55 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2019, 08:58:37 PM
It's Galway v Dublin or Laois anyway in one semi.

Dubs v Laois on this Friday night in Tullamore. TG4 are showing it live
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 09:04:45 PM
Good win for Tyrone against Derry who won the Ulster U18 title in 2017 and reached the AI final. Tyrone won the U17 All Ireland that year out of interest how many of that team is now starting for Tyrone's U20s?

Post by: twohands!!! on July 14, 2019, 09:29:58 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 14, 2019, 08:03:02 PM
Not up to speed on other provences this year but Tyrone comprehensively beat a fancied Derry team this evening 4-13 to 1-10.

A look over on gaa.ie shows the following games in a fortnight:

Galway v Leinster winners
Tyrone v Munster winners

I'm assuming Kerry must be big favourites with all those minor wins. Any idea on who is best placed to challenge them?

Kerry are missing David Clifford and Diarmuid O'Connor from the U20 team.
They'd still probably be a decent enough team I'd imagine but no way near the overwhelming favourites if they had those 2 available.
Galway won the round robin group that had Dublin, Kerry, Kildare and Cork in it so I'd expect them to be serious contenders/possible favourites.
Post by: Angelo on July 14, 2019, 09:35:46 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 09:04:45 PM
Good win for Tyrone against Derry who won the Ulster U18 title in 2017 and reached the AI final. Tyrone won the U17 All Ireland that year out of interest how many of that team is now starting for Tyrone's U20s?

Derry would have lost a couple of that minor side to the AFL if I am correct?
Post by: inroundthesquare on July 14, 2019, 09:38:35 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 09:04:45 PM

4 or 5 in the starting 15 from that team. Another 2 or 3 on the bench.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 09:45:42 PM
Quote from: Angelo on July 14, 2019, 09:35:46 PM

Derry would have lost a couple of that minor side to the AFL if I am correct?
Yeah Callum Brown for one.

Quote from: inroundthesquare on July 14, 2019, 09:38:35 PM

4 or 5 in the starting 15 from that team. Another 2 or 3 on the bench.

Thanks.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 18, 2019, 08:52:47 PM
Galway v Dublin or Laois
Tyrone v Cork
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 18, 2019, 08:55:55 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 14, 2019, 08:03:02 PM

Cork perhaps?
Post by: shark on July 18, 2019, 08:58:18 PM
Jeez Cork were impressive.
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2019, 09:49:20 PM
They were surely Sharkeen.
Post by: johnpower on July 18, 2019, 11:44:14 PM
Don't think Kerry fans were carried Away with the 5 in a row and realize that not all the teams were equal in terms of future potential talent, indeed the amount of Kerry fans (myself included) did not bother to turn up to watch the mini (myself included )
Post by: Blowitupref on July 19, 2019, 08:03:41 PM
Lenister final half time. Dublin 1-11 Laois 0-8.  The contest was 0-6 each on 20 minutes. The goal was poor kick out 5 minutes before the break.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2019, 08:08:00 PM
Laois keeper must wish he had that kick out back. Terrible error.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2019, 08:36:30 PM
Dublin clinical with their goal chances. Laois have had 3 decent goal chances in the 2nd half and not taken any of them. 

Laois fans not too happy with the ref. With some justification I feel.
Post by: fearsiuil on July 19, 2019, 08:42:31 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2019, 08:36:30 PM
Dublin clinical with their goal chances. Laois have had 3 decent goal chances in the 2nd half and not taken any of them. 

Laois fans not too happy with the ref. With some justification I feel.
Tomás Ó Flaithearta sees no wrong by ref when it comes to giving Dublin decisions. Dublin better team clearly.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 19, 2019, 08:52:42 PM
FT Dublin 4-18 Laois 0-17. Very comfortable win for Dublin, their first U20 title and no doubt the first of many in the years to come.

Post by: Blowitupref on July 20, 2019, 01:57:44 PM
Saturday 27 July
Galway v Dublin, Pearse Park, Longford, 5pm

Sunday 28th of July
Cork v Tyrone, O'Connor Park, 4pm

Both semi finals part of triple headers.

All-Ireland MFC quarter-finals on Saturday
Mayo v Dublin, Pearse Park, Longford, 3pm
Kildare v Galway, Pearse Park, Longford, 7pm

And Sunday

Kerry v Tyrone, O'Connor Park, 2pm
Monaghan v Cork, O'Connor Park, 6pm

Post by: Angelo on July 20, 2019, 08:41:28 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 20, 2019, 01:57:44 PM
Saturday 27 July

Sunday 28th of July

And Sunday

Will the u20 games be televised?
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 20, 2019, 11:32:33 PM
Despite the scoreline, Dublin weren't that impressive last night. A few nice footballers scattered throughout the team, with Archer the stand out. However, a few players who I'm not sure will cut it against Cork or maybe even Galway.

Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 01:33:01 AM
Quote from: Angelo on July 20, 2019, 08:41:28 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 20, 2019, 01:57:44 PM
Saturday 27 July

Sunday 28th of July

And Sunday

Will the u20 games be televised?

U20 semi finals if i recall right were screened live on the TG4 youtube challenge last year.
Post by: Hound on July 22, 2019, 10:41:13 AM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 20, 2019, 11:32:33 PM
Despite the scoreline, Dublin weren't that impressive last night. A few nice footballers scattered throughout the team, with Archer the stand out. However, a few players who I'm not sure will cut it against Cork or maybe even Galway.
Galway hammered the Dubs 2-17 to 1-7 in the John Kearns Cup in mid June.
Not sure what the teams looked like as it was effectively a dead rubber, with Galway already having the Cup sewn up, although from the very brief match report on dublingaa.ie it said Archer scored 1-5, so our top forward clearly started. Not a great sign for the Dubs, but maybe we've more in the tank.

Some other results from the JK Cup in May/June, out of interest:

Cork 0-19 Kerry 1-16
Dublin 1-18 Cork 1-18
Galway 1-11 Cork 0-12
Dublin 0-7 Kerry 1-7
Galway 1-10 Kerry 1-8

So the other games involving Galway, Dublin, Cork, Kerry were all very close, kick of a ball between them, so maybe (hopefully) the hammering was an outlier and not a true reflection
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 22, 2019, 05:40:13 PM
Dublin U20s have conceded some big scores this year and while Galway have held every team they played so far in league and championship to a consistent low score 0-10 v Kildare,0-12 v Cork,1-8 v Kerry,1-7 v Dublin,1-7 v Roscommon and 0-10 v Mayo. John Divilly clearly to the fore with defensive stats like that.

Going by the odds the winner of Galway v Dublin semi final will win this AI but given their ability to win underage titles Tyrone look like the best value odds.

Dublin 9/4
Galway 9/4
Cork 11/4
Tyrone 3/1

Looks like only deferred coverage of the two semi finals on TG4.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2019, 09:04:00 PM
TG4 will cover the two semi finals live on their you tube channel
Post by: Hound on July 22, 2019, 10:00:09 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 22, 2019, 05:40:13 PM
Dublin U20s have conceded some big scores this year and while Galway have held every team they played so far in league and championship to a consistent low score 0-10 v Kildare,0-12 v Cork,1-8 v Kerry,1-7 v Dublin,1-7 v Roscommon and 0-10 v Mayo. John Divilly clearly to the fore with defensive stats like that.

Going by the odds the winner of Galway v Dublin semi final will win this AI but given their ability to win underage titles Tyrone look like the best value odds.

Dublin 9/4
Galway 9/4
Cork 11/4
Tyrone 3/1

Tyrone are the wildcard in that they've no form v the other 3. But if I was told I had to put a €50 bet on, I'd definitely go Cork at those odds.
Post by: Angelo on July 22, 2019, 10:20:11 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 22, 2019, 05:40:13 PM

Dublin 9/4
Galway 9/4
Cork 11/4
Tyrone 3/1

That's probably the tightest 4 ways odds I've seen at a semi final stage before. The bookies obviously think it's the equivalent of picking a name out of a hat.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2019, 12:30:14 PM
Galway U-20 football manager Pádraic Joyce & his selectors have named their starting team for Saturday's All-Ireland U20 football semi-final vs Dublin in Longford (5pm)

1. Oran Burke (Corofin)

2. Ross Mahon (Corofin)

3. Sean Mulkerrin (Capt) (Oileáin Árann)

4. Eoin McFadden (Salthill Knocknacarra)

5. Liam Boyle (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)

6. Ciaran Potter (Annaghdown)

7. Jack Kirrane (Milltown)

8. Matthias Barrett (Cumann Peile Naomh Anna)

9. Brian Harlowe (St Michael's)

10. Matthew Tierney (Oughterard)

11. Darragh Silke (Corofin)

12. Tony Gill (Corofin)

13. Padraig Costello (Dunmore MacHales)

14. Liam Costello (Milltown)

15. Rory Cunningham (St. Brendan's)
Post by: galwayman on July 23, 2019, 01:16:53 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2019, 12:30:14 PM
Galway U-20 football manager Pádraic Joyce & his selectors have named their starting team for Saturday's All-Ireland U20 football semi-final vs Dublin in Longford (5pm)

1. Oran Burke (Corofin)

2. Ross Mahon (Corofin)

12. Tony Gill (Corofin)

Two changes there - Harlowe and Gill in.
I was very impressed with Gill for the u17s last year at centre back.
Post by: redhandefender on July 23, 2019, 02:01:16 PM
I don't think Tyrone u20's have been beat this year. This age group won the first u17 All Ireland and they have the son of God playing. Hopefully cork underestimate them
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2019, 02:22:46 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on July 23, 2019, 02:01:16 PM
I don't think Tyrone u20's have been beat this year. This age group won the first u17 All Ireland and they have the son of God playing. Hopefully cork underestimate them

Or vice versa.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 23, 2019, 02:24:17 PM

1. Oran Burke (Corofin)

2. Ross Mahon (Corofin)

12. Tony Gill (Corofin)

Does the inclusion of Gill at 12 suggest that Galway might be going a bit more defensive for this game, any time I've seen him play it's been in defence.
Post by: Angelo on July 23, 2019, 02:55:55 PM

Next year's team is the one that won the U17 title.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 23, 2019, 03:26:50 PM
Ah jaysus!
Post by: galwayman on July 23, 2019, 06:41:36 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 23, 2019, 02:24:17 PM

1. Oran Burke (Corofin)

2. Ross Mahon (Corofin)

12. Tony Gill (Corofin)

Does the inclusion of Gill at 12 suggest that Galway might be going a bit more defensive for this game, any time I've seen him play it's been in defence.
Hard to know. Saying that he's replacing Gavin Burke who played corner back for the Galway minors.
He's also quite a stylish footballer so maybe he'll be able to adapt to playing further up the pitch.
It's a nice triple header on Sat.
Post by: galwayman on July 23, 2019, 06:47:31 PM
10 of that starting team started against Dublin in the pre season John Kerins tournament.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 24, 2019, 06:56:15 PM
Quote from: galwayman on July 23, 2019, 06:41:36 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 23, 2019, 02:24:17 PM

1. Oran Burke (Corofin)

2. Ross Mahon (Corofin)

12. Tony Gill (Corofin)

Hard to know. Saying that he's replacing Gavin Burke who played corner back for the Galway minors.
He's also quite a stylish footballer so maybe he'll be able to adapt to playing further up the pitch.
It's a nice triple header on Sat.

That's true and Gavin was playing a deeper role rather than the centre forward position, spent a lot of time around midfield and half back in the couple of games I saw. I thought Conor Newell might get the nod to start after his display in the Connacht final, good option to have himself and Gavin Burke to bring in though.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 27, 2019, 05:07:03 PM
Great start for Dublin 5 minutes gone 1-1 to no score ahead.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 27, 2019, 05:08:58 PM
Another goal for Ciaran Archer. 2-1 to no score ahead now.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 27, 2019, 05:19:36 PM
Galway goal a fine finish. Dublin 2-1 Galway 1-2  18 minutes played.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 27, 2019, 05:35:21 PM
HT Dublin 2-6 Galway 1-4.
Post by: skeog on July 27, 2019, 05:36:24 PM
Has anyone the link to get TG4.ie in Tyrone. i keep getting message that its not available.Thanks.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 27, 2019, 05:58:30 PM
Good start to the 2nd half for Galway just a 1 point game now. Dublin 2-6 Galway 1-8. 40 mins played.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 27, 2019, 06:08:23 PM
Galway leveled it up but three points in a row for Dublin since then.  2-9 to 1-9  with 10 minutes to play.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 27, 2019, 06:22:39 PM
FT Dublin 2-14 Galway 1-10. Dublin good value for that win, got off to a great start and were very impressive at how they closed out that game.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 27, 2019, 06:35:22 PM
Regardless of the great start for the Dubs, 1-10 wont win you too many games. 
Thoroughly deserved win for Dublin.
Post by: passedit on July 27, 2019, 06:45:13 PM
Quote from: skeog on July 27, 2019, 05:36:24 PM
Has anyone the link to get TG4.ie in Tyrone. i keep getting message that its not available.Thanks.

I got the same in Down. More partitionism. Hard to fathom as I got the minor game before it
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 27, 2019, 08:21:55 PM
Hard luck to the U-20's. Dublin had a marked physical advantage around the middle of the field. Especially with their two midfielders who were huge men. Then the two early goals were a killer even though they did well to battle back from 7 down to draw level at one stage. Think it left them with nothing the tank though towards the end. Archer is fairly handy alright. He's often not in the game at all for long spells but when he sniffs a goal chance he's lethal.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2019, 08:38:43 PM
Well done Dublin. Your volunteers have really upped their game the last 15 years (or is it 16 now?).

Post by: galwayman on July 27, 2019, 08:43:18 PM
Dublin full value for the win. Our lads only really played for 15 mins - essentially the third quarter of the game and that was it.
I did suspect that this team wasn't as good as some were making them out to be.
This particular group doesn't have too many stand out players.
Post by: Hound on July 27, 2019, 09:34:07 PM
Joyce taking a lad off after 6 mins was way harsh. Ridiculous to be honest.

Not a great Dublin team, but some strong players. The lad who got man of the match was clearly a lovely lad (judging by the interview) but IMO he won't play senior for the Dubs. His midfield partner probably will. The bould Blaithin Ni Chofaigh's son.

Archer's a class act, as is one of the other corner forwards. Although not sure either have the outright pace that the current Dubs have. Half backs handy enough. Half forwards are more runners than footballers, and I didn't fancy them as future seniors. But silly to judge just on one game.

Archer played soccer for a lot of his youth, so never had the benefit of a GDO. Didn't start with the Dublin minors. Not that any of the other lads got any GDO benefit anyway, given the GDOs aren't let near the elite players.

Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 27, 2019, 09:34:49 PM
Galway ate alive at midfield, won't win too many matches taking that into account along with the terrible start.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 27, 2019, 10:03:10 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 27, 2019, 09:34:07 PM

Not a great Dublin team, but some strong players. The lad who got man of the match was clearly a lovely lad (judging by the interview) but IMO he won't play senior for the Dubs. His midfield partner probably will. The bould Blaithin Ni Chofaigh's son.

Archer's a class act, as is one of the other corner forwards. Although not sure either have the outright pace that the current Dubs have. Half backs handy enough. Half forwards are more runners than footballers, and I didn't fancy them as future seniors. But silly to judge just on one game.

Archer played soccer for a lot of his youth, so never had the benefit of a GDO. Didn't start with the Dublin minors. Not that any of the other lads got any GDO benefit anyway, given the GDOs aren't let near the elite players.

These f*cking GDOs are stealing a living by the sounds of it  ;D
Post by: larryin89 on July 27, 2019, 10:08:53 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 27, 2019, 10:03:10 PM

Hahaha sure they only help out with the third teams
Post by: Hound on July 27, 2019, 10:27:06 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 27, 2019, 10:08:53 PM

Don't go near the third teams! Or any other adult teams.

You really are clueless as to what they do.

Of course there are the odd exception, but the vast majority of GDOs would not be in the top 10 in terms of ranking of coaches at a club. They look after the toddlers and aren't involved in any teams.

The GDOs are young people who by and large have no experience of coaching , but who have gone through the GAA training to get their qualifications to get this low paid job.  They get a 'teach by numbers' guide from the GAA and they follow that to teach the babies and to give parents coaching drills that they can use for the teams the parents train. You'll find a direct correlation between successful underage teams who have managers who played at a decent adult level, and didn't go near a GDO for a train the trainer type course.

The weaker you are as a young player, the more likely you are to have direct interaction with a GDO.
Post by: Dire Ear on July 28, 2019, 09:13:56 AM
Just got the Firestick set up, can't wait now to see the Sean Og and God Og combo for Tyrone
Post by: dublin7 on July 28, 2019, 09:36:55 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 27, 2019, 08:38:43 PM
Well done Dublin. Your volunteers have really upped their game the last 15 years (or is it 16 now?).
Stramgely our minor and now u17s are far less successful. U17s didnt even win Leinster and will go another year without an All Ireland. Maybe counites should look athe dublin template to see how they can produce 2 footed footballers and successful u20/u21 teams despite not being successful at minor level.
Post by: An Watcher on July 28, 2019, 12:09:34 PM
What channel is this on lads?
Post by: Dire Ear on July 28, 2019, 12:20:42 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on July 28, 2019, 12:09:34 PM
There's a good answer on the Tg4 thread , re smart tvs etc
Post by: thebackbar1 on July 28, 2019, 01:17:54 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 27, 2019, 10:27:06 PM

Of course there are the odd exception, but the vast majority of GDOs would not be in the top 10 in terms of ranking of coaches at a club. They look after the toddlers and aren't involved in any teams.

The GDOs are young people who by and large have no experience of coaching , but who have gone through the GAA training to get their qualifications to get this low paid job.  They get a 'teach by numbers' guide from the GAA and they follow that to teach the babies and to give parents coaching drills that they can use for the teams the parents train. You'll find a direct correlation between successful underage teams who have managers who played at a decent adult level, and didn't go near a GDO for a train the trainer type course.

The weaker you are as a young player, the more likely you are to have direct interaction with a GDO.
The 50% funding of a GDO allows Dublin clubs to spend money on other coaching initiatives where urban clubs outside of Dublin must 100% fund their GDO before they can fund other coaching initiatives. Its not Dublins fault but why can't every large club have access to 50% funding for a GDO?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2019, 01:30:59 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on July 28, 2019, 12:20:42 PM

The U20 game cannot be viewed in the wee six. Confirmed.
Post by: delgany on July 28, 2019, 02:02:35 PM
Www.tg4.ie/en/live/sport-sunday
Post by: Dire Ear on July 28, 2019, 02:40:57 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2019, 01:30:59 PM

Watching it now Norf on Firestick on tv , minors leading 6-3 htime
Post by: inroundthesquare on July 28, 2019, 02:43:39 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2019, 01:30:59 PM

Tg4 fella saying on twitter that it will be available on the tg4 website, just not on Youtube. But i don't think this was the case yesterday for the Dublin Galway game
Post by: passedit on July 28, 2019, 03:22:01 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2019, 03:18:54 PM
The minor game is working fine on YouTube.
No issues with minor games yesterday either. U20 not available as it's a rights issue.
Post by: PMG1 on July 28, 2019, 04:09:11 PM
Is the TG4 website down, I can't seem to load it
Post by: qz on July 28, 2019, 04:11:21 PM
agree its not loading
Post by: TF15 on July 28, 2019, 04:13:53 PM
Sure the wee six don't matter anyway. Absolute joke.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 28, 2019, 04:16:35 PM
f**k it anyway. What the hell is wrong woth their website?!!
Post by: Dire Ear on July 28, 2019, 04:19:43 PM
 >:(
Post by: inroundthesquare on July 28, 2019, 04:21:40 PM
Shouldn't have been advertising it if their website was not going to cope
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 28, 2019, 04:25:33 PM
Cant find it on either the tg4 app or youtube
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 28, 2019, 04:26:34 PM
I guess i'm not the only one that can't get the TG4 website to open for the Tyrone v Cork semi final, why don't or didn't they stream it onto youtube?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 28, 2019, 04:27:13 PM
Sounds like a class match too!!!
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 28, 2019, 04:39:52 PM
Its Tyrone 1-10 Cork 1-6 at half time.  Cork led 1-3 to 0-2. 
Post by: delgany on July 28, 2019, 04:40:41 PM
Link running again
Post by: inroundthesquare on July 28, 2019, 04:44:38 PM
No picture on it though?
Post by: Angelo on July 28, 2019, 04:49:58 PM
Seems to be working.
Post by: fearsiuil on July 28, 2019, 04:51:14 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 27, 2019, 10:27:06 PM

You do yourself a real disservice coming out with this crap.

Johnny Magee is a GDO as is his brother Darren. Dotsy O'Callaghan also. These are serious GAA men who take their roles very seriously. Coaching the coaches and going into the schools. Invaluable work. Vital.

Maybe they don't earn 100k p.a. but hardly on the breadline jobs either. If it was as casual as you infer the clubs and the county board would be redirecting resources to more effective areas.
Post by: PMG1 on July 28, 2019, 04:55:36 PM
Can someone post the link, website up n going now but can't find link to the game
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 28, 2019, 04:56:58 PM
Quote from: PMG1 on July 28, 2019, 04:55:36 PM
Can someone post the link, website up n going now but can't find link to the game

https://www.tg4.ie/ga/beo/caineal-2/ Tyrone 1-13 to 1-6 ahead now
Post by: PMG1 on July 28, 2019, 04:59:31 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 28, 2019, 04:56:58 PM
Quote from: PMG1 on July 28, 2019, 04:55:36 PM

https://www.tg4.ie/ga/beo/caineal-2/ Tyrone 1-13 to 1-6 ahead now

That's bringing me to a basketball game
Post by: Blowitupref on July 28, 2019, 05:04:27 PM
40 minutes played Tyrone 1-13 Cork 1-9
Post by: Blowitupref on July 28, 2019, 05:13:15 PM
Tyrone midfielder send off for striking and a 2nd Cork goal within a minute.

Cork 2-11 Tyrone 1-15 49 minutes played
Post by: Blowitupref on July 28, 2019, 05:29:35 PM
FT Cork 2-17 Tyrone 1-18. A great come back win for Cork helped along with a real foolish red card.
Post by: tyroneman on July 28, 2019, 05:31:51 PM
Stupid, stupid, stupid red card.. Had the free with the game under control and gave it all away needlessly.
Post by: Angelo on July 28, 2019, 05:33:08 PM
Really silly from Oguz and ultimately it cost Tyrone the game.

We look to have some really good forwards in that team, including the likes of Conroy and Jordan who came off the bench. A shame we could not have gotten more out of Murnaghan rather than a few minutes in injury time. Tyrone looked to be very weak at the back.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 28, 2019, 05:39:19 PM
A great comeback win by Cork, from 1-13 to 1-6 behind to outscore Tyrone 1-11 to 0-5.
Post by: under the bar on July 28, 2019, 05:56:42 PM
The lad Oguz will be disappointed but these are the moments that turn games and all the players will learn a lot from it. 
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 10:01:20 AM
All Ireland Final Dublin v Cork in O'Moore Park Portlaoise 4pm this Saturday. Game will be live on RTE.

Edit* Gaa.ie seem to have made a press error, game will be live on TG4 as those underage games tend to be.

Post by: ck on July 29, 2019, 11:42:31 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 10:01:20 AM
All Ireland Final Dublin v Cork in O'Moore Park Portlaoise 4pm this Saturday. Game will be live on RTE.

Edit* Gaa.ie seem to have made a press error, game will be live on TG4 as those underage games tend to be.

Dublins conveyor belt rolls on
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2019, 11:58:02 AM
But but but.... I thought it was just one special bunch who luckily all came along at the one time....
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 29, 2019, 12:36:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2019, 11:58:02 AM
But but but.... I thought it was just one special bunch who luckily all came along at the one time....

Can you guys not just lay off the young lads at least and let them enjoy their day in the sun. There'll be no talk about conveyor belts if Cork win on Saturday - just as there was no talk about it at the weekend when Mayo beat the Dublin minors.

Miserable begrudgers.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 12:55:08 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 29, 2019, 12:36:06 PM

Can you guys not just lay off the young lads at least and let them enjoy their day in the sun. There'll be no talk about conveyor belts if Cork win on Saturday - just as there was no talk about it at the weekend when Mayo beat the Dublin minors.

Miserable begrudgers.

I say Rossfans dick gets hard talking about the jackeens. Is forever hijacking threads with Dublin stuff.  It a All Ireland 20 thread there is another 20 threads on the dubs
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2019, 12:57:08 PM

Dublin won't win AI's once the likes of Alan Brogan, Bernard Brogan, Connolly, Paul Flynn, O'Gara, Bastick, Eamonn Fennell, Barry Cahill, Kevin Nolan, Bryan Cullen, Ger Brennan, Darren Daly, Nicky Devereux from the once off golden generation fade away.

Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 29, 2019, 01:04:18 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2019, 12:57:08 PM

Dublin won't win AI's once the likes of Alan Brogan, Bernard Brogan, Connolly, Paul Flynn, O'Gara, Bastick, Eamonn Fennell, Barry Cahill, Kevin Nolan, Bryan Cullen, Ger Brennan, Darren Daly, Nicky Devereux from the once off golden generation fade away.

Can you not save your boring rants for the many other threads that you and your types have polluted? Leave the underage threads to the young lads.

Miserable begrudgers.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 01:16:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2019, 12:57:08 PM

Get a bit of sun into you. It not healthy taken all that anger out on that keyboard
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2019, 01:26:23 PM
Some lads getting very cranky, meself and Bunker must have hit a paranoid nerve there ;)
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 29, 2019, 01:31:13 PM
Quote from: galwayman on July 27, 2019, 08:43:18 PM
Dublin full value for the win. Our lads only really played for 15 mins - essentially the third quarter of the game and that was it.
I did suspect that this team wasn't as good as some were making them out to be.
This particular group doesn't have too many stand out players.

Think a few of us on here mentioned it wasn't as strong a group as some were suggesting, last years panel was stronger.

There's certainly a noticeable gulf between the two sides in S & C. I'm not sure what they've done to Mulkerrins but he always looked very quick whenever I've seen him before but looked very slow on Sunday and no ways nears ready to play senior football next year based on that. I thought McFadden had a good game as did Liam Boyle although but apart from Tierney I wouldn't put any money on any of the midfielders and forwards making the step up. Tony Gill did very well and even more so given he has another 2 years at this level.

The kickout strategy was baffling, they did excellent on Dublins kickouts but it was appalling stuff on their own.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2019, 01:34:16 PM
Why Portlaoise?

Surely Semple Stadium would be a better venue and more neutral.
Post by: Hound on July 29, 2019, 01:52:56 PM
Gas how the morons think when Dublin do well at underage it's down to money! But if Kerry, Tyrone, Cork, Mayo, Kildare, Galway have success, it's down to having good players!

Dublin have a very good development system, which was zero to do with Games Development Funding. Although despite our huge playing numbers, we can't get a good run of success at minor.

At this stage, all out of our U20s would have plenty of games under their belt at senior club level. This is a huge advantage over most other counties, because the standard is so high, and in particular, so deep in Dublin. Every team littered with culchies to, which again helps increase the standard.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2019, 01:34:16 PM
Why Portlaoise?

Portlaoise tends to get more of these football semis and finals than Semple for some reason?
There's a double header on this time. Don't know who with and whether that might explain or further confuse the decision.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2019, 01:59:01 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 29, 2019, 01:52:56 PM
Gas how the morons think when Dublin do well at underage it's down to money! But if Kerry, Tyrone, Cork, Mayo, Kildare, Galway have success, it's down to having good players!

Dublin have a very good development system, which was zero to do with Games Development Funding. Although despite our huge playing numbers, we can't get a good run of success at minor.

At this stage, all out of our U20s would have plenty of games under their belt at senior club level. This is a huge advantage over most other counties, because the standard is so high, and in particular, so deep in Dublin. Every team littered with culchies to, which again helps increase the standard.

Why Portlaoise?

Portlaoise tends to get more of these football semis and finals than Semple for some reason?
There's a double header on this time. Don't know who with and whether that might explain or further confuse the decision.
Nothing to do with money at all
Who does all the athletic development and S&C with these lads in clubs and county panels?
I'd love to get a few of these Dublin GAA volunteers down our way. They must be miracle workers

And yet, and yet almost no player from a minority background has come through onto the county panels in Dublin.
Where is all participation money being spunked?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 02:49:08 PM
Why Portlaoise?

+1 should be on in Gaelic Grounds
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 02:54:06 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2019, 01:59:01 PM

Why Portlaoise?

Who does all the athletic development and S&C with these lads in clubs and county panels?
I'd love to get a few of these Dublin GAA volunteers down our way. They must be miracle workers

And yet, and yet almost no player from a minority background has come through onto the county panels in Dublin.

When don't your clubs spend money on GPO rather than 200 euro a session to outside manager on adult teams? In kerry we went back to basics and looked at plan for our elite young players. The Currans is excellent training facility. Look.at our minor teams in recent years
Post by: dublin7 on July 29, 2019, 03:09:50 PM

Why Portlaoise?

Bryan Cullen is in charge of the S&C progammes for all Dublin football teams senior and underage (not sure about hurling) He was originally with Leinster and in charge of their S&C
Post by: Tubberman on July 29, 2019, 03:16:05 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 29, 2019, 03:09:50 PM

Why Portlaoise?

Bryan Cullen is in charge of the S&C progammes for all Dublin football teams senior and underage (not sure about hurling) He was originally with Leinster and in charge of their S&C

Must be getting a nice few bob so...
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 29, 2019, 03:18:05 PM

Why Portlaoise?

Top man to volunteer like that.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 29, 2019, 03:20:15 PM

Why Portlaoise?

Interesting on that note that Tyrone's S&C coach has went the other way into rugby and that is the academy as opposed to the "full" setup.
Post by: dublin7 on July 29, 2019, 04:21:11 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 29, 2019, 03:18:05 PM

Why Portlaoise?

I'm sure all backroom staff and all managers for county and club teams are as equally generous with their time and do it purely for the love of the game without taking a cent from the county board/club.

Post by: thebackbar1 on July 29, 2019, 04:39:32 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 29, 2019, 03:18:05 PM

Why Portlaoise?

In fairness Cullen seems to be doing a good job, and probably getting less money than Lukasz Kirszenstein who is doing the S&C for the Galway hurlers.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 05:19:04 PM
Why Portlaoise?

If it was a Kerry instead of Cork in the final it would be played in a Munster venue as that seems to be the case for most of these neutral county underage and club matches. Cork more often or not seem to get Tullamore or Portlaoise for these games.
Post by: Ball Hopper on July 29, 2019, 05:42:11 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 05:19:04 PM
Why Portlaoise?

If it was a Kerry instead of Cork in the final it would be played in a Munster venue as that seems to be the case for most of these neutral county underage and club matches. Cork more often or not seem to get Tullamore or Portlaoise for these games.

So where in Munster did Kerry minors play Tyrone yesterday?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 05:52:36 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on July 29, 2019, 05:42:11 PM
Why Portlaoise?

A rare occurrence and no doubt the traveling Kerry support were bemused that they had to travel outside of Munster for such a game.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 05:59:05 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 05:52:36 PM
Why Portlaoise?

A rare occurrence and no doubt the traveling Kerry support were bemused that they had to travel outside of Munster for such a game.

Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story. More anti Kerry drivel as usual.  People do nothing but moan on this forum.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 06:24:26 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 05:59:05 PM
Why Portlaoise?

Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story. More anti Kerry drivel as usual.  People do nothing but moan on this forum.

I don't do anti anything. I'm one of the most fair and balanced posters on here. You on the other hand are a WUM.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 07:27:11 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 29, 2019, 06:24:26 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 05:59:05 PM
Why Portlaoise?

I don't do anti anything. I'm one of the most fair and balanced posters on here. You on the other hand are a WUM.

Hardly!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2019, 09:18:04 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 29, 2019, 02:54:06 PM

Why Portlaoise?

When don't your clubs spend money on GPO rather than 200 euro a session to outside manager on adult teams? In kerry we went back to basics and looked at plan for our elite young players. The Currans is excellent training facility. Look.at our minor teams in recent years
How much did Kerry group give for that facility?

Our club team is managed by a former player and he doesn't take a cent
Same with all our underage
All volunteer, we haven't seen a GPO at our pitch in years
We pay a coaching contribution to the county board every year but we never see the worth of it either in the local schools or the few lads who we encourage to go onto a county underage panel

There is no matching funding available for us to get a gpo, even if we teamed up with 4 neighbouring clubs.
The club barely runs from year to year as fundraising is a drain on every community and we don't have any businesses  jn the area capable of giving us a decent sponsorship
Post by: Rossfan on August 02, 2019, 11:16:28 AM
Could u20 only have a 2 year existence?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/review-set-to-urge-u19-as-only-inter-county-under-age-grade-941408.html
Post by: blanketattack on August 02, 2019, 11:30:55 AM
Why Portlaoise?

2015 Minor 1/4 final: Kerry v Sligo. Venue: Tullamore
2016 Minor 1/4 final: Kerry v Derry. Venue: Croke Park
2017 Minor 1/4 final: Kerry v Louth. Venue: Portlaoise
2018 Minor 1/4 final: Kerry v Roscommon. Venue: Limerick
2019 Minor 1/4 final: Kerry v Tyrone. Venue: Tullamore
Post by: Ed Ricketts on August 03, 2019, 02:32:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 02, 2019, 11:16:28 AM

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/review-set-to-urge-u19-as-only-inter-county-under-age-grade-941408.html

Should have went down this road when originally changing the grades. Minor grade has lost a lot of its appeal as it involves kids too early on in their development. 15 and 16 year olds five or six years away from adult football. Then the jump from this grade to U20 is unnecessarily challenging. Only exceptionally developed kids are ready for U20 football straight out of the U17 grade. Sticking this barrier in at the exact age range where drop out rates are already highest does not seem very wise.
Post by: thewobbler on August 03, 2019, 02:38:07 PM
The underlying point of moving minor to u17 was to clearly differentiate between adult and juvenile players, and therefore alleviate the burnout of talented youngsters. It also had a nice knock on effect of reducing football commitments during final exams period.

So for the life of me I cannot understand how anyone could support the creation of an under-19 tournament, which simply would add all this crap back in again, and and for two full years for the more talented players.

Madness.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2019, 03:47:17 PM
I'd loved the U21 championship the best and most competitive championship we had and I would never miss a game when on TV.
Only for Ed Ricketts post I would have forgotten completely about this All Ireland final and I'm sure not the only one that nearly forgot about this game. Thanks to Páraic Duffy we have this devalued replacement tournament that holds little interest to the general public and already there is talk about a change to U19 championship now  ::)
Post by: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 04:15:47 PM
A lively opening 15 minutes. Dublin 1-6 without reply then Cork with 2-1.  Dublin 1-7 Cork 2-1
Post by: dublin7 on August 03, 2019, 04:19:15 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 04:15:47 PM
A lively opening 15 minutes. Dublin 1-6 without reply then Cork with 2-1.  Dublin 1-7 Cork 2-1
Dubs have outclassed Cork and yet Cork get 2 goals in a minute and scores are level.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 04:22:39 PM
22 minutes played.  Dublin 9 scores from 13 attempts and Cork 7 from 9. Dublin 1-8 Cork 3-2
Post by: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 04:33:27 PM
Some half of football and some come back by Cork to lead by 2 points.  HT Cork 3-6 Dublin 1-10.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on August 03, 2019, 04:34:53 PM
Cork should win handy
Have the wind for second half. Cork by 6
Post by: dublin7 on August 03, 2019, 04:39:07 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 04:33:27 PM
Some half of football and some come back by Cork to lead by 2 points.  HT Cork 3-6 Dublin 1-10.

Really entertaining game. 2 quick goals settled Cork and both teams playing attacking football. Cork FF line is lethal and there are more goals coming in the 2nd half. Cork with a strong breeze in their favour as well
Post by: befair on August 03, 2019, 04:42:15 PM
Great match; show's what a brilliant game GAA football can be without the unimaginative defensive tactics
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2019, 04:45:55 PM
Quote from: befair on August 03, 2019, 04:42:15 PM
Great match; show's what a brilliant game GAA football can be without the unimaginative defensive tactics

Great game in the terms of attacking play but can you imagine the current Dublin senior team defending as loosely as that U20 team?
Post by: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 04:56:39 PM
42 mins played Cork hold a 3 point lead.  Cork 3-9 Dublin 1-12
Post by: themac_23 on August 03, 2019, 05:03:45 PM
This is the way football should be played
Post by: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 05:04:50 PM
A six point lead for Cork 50 minutes played.  Cork 3-13 Dublin 1-13.

Post by: Baile an tuaigh on August 03, 2019, 05:07:44 PM
I'd say the Tyrone boys are kicking themselves.
Post by: dublin7 on August 03, 2019, 05:08:48 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 05:04:50 PM
A six point lead for Cork 50 minutes played.  Cork 3-13 Dublin 1-13.
Cork FF line has won this game. All been lethal and have hardly missed. Dubs down to 14 men and ref done Dubs no favours. Must nice for the Cork footballers to play in front of a crowd for once.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 03, 2019, 05:18:20 PM
Congrats to Cork a first underage AI title for i think 10 years.  FT Cork 3-16 Dublin 1-14.  For the Dubs not often at any level where you see them lead a game by 9 points and end up losing it by 8 points.
Post by: Gael85 on August 03, 2019, 05:22:55 PM
Well done to Cork. Better team, well deserved.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2019, 05:40:53 PM
13-72 for Cork in 4 Under 20 games this year some scoring by them in fairness.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 04, 2019, 08:37:49 AM

Miserable begrudgers.

Any comments lads?
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 04, 2019, 08:55:33 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on August 04, 2019, 08:37:49 AM

Miserable begrudgers.

Any comments lads?

Take them outta Dublin.  ;)

Was shocked with the result as I listened to the first few minutes and Cork were all over the place at the back. Do you think Dublin will get many from this team at senior level?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 04, 2019, 09:56:27 AM

Miserable begrudgers.

Any comments lads?
The Dubs should play more games out of Dublin
They were out-footballed and a lot of the Dublin players shown up to be very good athletically but not as good skill wise
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 04, 2019, 11:47:07 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 04, 2019, 08:55:33 AM

Miserable begrudgers.

Any comments lads?

Take them outta Dublin.  ;)

Was shocked with the result as I listened to the first few minutes and Cork were all over the place at the back. Do you think Dublin will get many from this team at senior level?

Very impressive display by the Cork lads. Well done to them.

It's very hard to predict with young lads how many of them might make it at senior level. There are so many factors that have to be considered. All we can hope for is that most of them will keep playing and we'll see what happens from there.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2019, 12:28:37 PM
I thought Dublin were very naive in how they approached the game, reminded me of Kildare in 2009 v Dublin, gave no support to their full back line but very enjoyable game. Cork support made a massive difference, referee did Dublin no favours, Dublin's big men couldn't buy a free.

Archer will play senior, a classy footballer and Peadar O'Cofaigh Byrne he was a superb full back at minor.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 04, 2019, 01:31:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2019, 12:28:37 PM
I thought Dublin were very naive in how they approached the game, reminded me of Kildare in 2009 v Dublin, gave no support to their full back line but very enjoyable game. Cork support made a massive difference, referee did Dublin no favours, Dublin's big men couldn't buy a free.

Archer will play senior, a classy footballer and Peadar O'Cofaigh Byrne he was a superb full back at minor.

Peadar O'Cofaigh Byrne is with the seniors at the moment.

As you know yourself the next few years will tell as to how these lads will progress.

Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2019, 01:46:20 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on August 04, 2019, 01:31:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2019, 12:28:37 PM

Peadar O'Cofaigh Byrne is with the seniors at the moment.

As you know yourself the next few years will tell as to how these lads will progress.

Dublin will manage them well though, too many counties are in a rush to play their young bucks, Dublin allow their players develop not just physically but emotionally and socially at their own pace. Clifford is already starting to be dogged by little niggles and injuries, Meath throwing in Shane Walsh, Oisin Gallen for Donegal, that was throwing a boy into a wildfire, he was destroyed why?  What's the rush?
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 04, 2019, 01:55:05 PM
I suppose nobody should be that shocked after the manner that Cork beat Kerry who was team full of minor AI winners managed by a top manager in Jack O'Connor.  The way Cork didn't panic when 9 points down was most impressive and for the remaining 49 minutes or so they totally dominated that game and outscored Dublin by 17 points.

The Cork manager Keith Ricken came across very well in his after match interview, talked about how the players had to manage themselves on the field of play and always be focused on the next play, He also blamed himself for going 9 points down and you don't see many managers doing that.  He was only appointed on Jan 31st, Gene O'Driscoll unexpectedly stepping down the week before proved to be blessing in disguise for Cork.

Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 05, 2019, 01:56:42 AM
That lad Doran was their standout player at minor level but moving him from 11 seems to have regressed him
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 05, 2019, 08:46:35 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 05, 2019, 01:56:42 AM
That lad Doran was their standout player at minor level but moving him from 11 seems to have regressed him

A very impressive minor, he is now the definition of a head's down footballer.
Post by: johnnycool on August 05, 2019, 09:23:56 AM
U20 football is much like it's U20 hurling counterpart if that game yesterday was anything to go by.

Much less about defending and more about going out and attacking and far more enjoyable to sit down and watch.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 29, 2019, 02:54:28 PM
Early February start for this competition in 2020 with the All Ireland final to be played on the last weekend of March. An improvement on the June to August schedule of the last two years?
Post by: marty34 on October 29, 2019, 02:58:07 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 29, 2019, 02:54:28 PM
Early February start for this competition in 2020 with the All Ireland final to be played on the last weekend of March. An improvement on the June to August schedule of the last two years?

Football and hurling?
Post by: five points on October 29, 2019, 02:58:14 PM
Hasn't been the same since they got rid of the U21s.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 29, 2019, 03:11:56 PM
Quote from: marty34 on October 29, 2019, 02:58:07 PM

Football and hurling?

Football as this thread is about. Not sure on hurling schedule.
Post by: Angelo on October 29, 2019, 06:24:24 PM

Even worse again.

U21 was a great grade from a viewer's perspective, the quality on show was good and it was a great bridging gap to senior.

Even at U20 in the last couple of years, you can see it's a fair bit off what the U21 level was and a million miles off senior level. As the game has got so physically demanding, there are very few players who are ready for senior football at 19 or 20 which is why u21 was so important in developing these players.

You will have the rare case of a guy like Clifford being catapulted into senior before he's 21 but people like him, who have all the skills and the frame to handle senior football are few and far between.

It should be brought back to u21 but the gatekeepers of the game are completely out of touch with the average player, fan and even the coaches.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 29, 2019, 06:36:16 PM
Quote from: Angelo on October 29, 2019, 06:24:24 PM

Even worse again.

U21 was a great grade from a viewer's perspective, the quality on show was good and it was a great bridging gap to senior.

Even at U20 in the last couple of years, you can see it's a fair bit off what the U21 level was and a million miles off senior level. As the game has got so physically demanding, there are very few players who are ready for senior football at 19 or 20 which is why u21 was so important in developing these players.

You will have the rare case of a guy like Clifford being catapulted into senior before he's 21 but people like him, who have all the skills and the frame to handle senior football are few and far between.

It should be brought back to u21 but the gatekeepers of the game are completely out of touch with the average player, fan and even the coaches.

Yes it would be worse. The logical thing to do for 2021 is to bring back the U21 championship however I can't see those at the top doing that as they won't want to admit they were wrong with scrapping that championship.
Post by: MayoBuck on October 29, 2019, 07:10:12 PM

This should mean all the best players are in the U20 competition. Senior intercounty managers will hardly prevent lads playing U20 championship just to play league games.

I also can't understand why it wasn't left as U21 however.
Post by: Rossfan on October 30, 2019, 11:31:27 AM
Them Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups to be played in January next year.
Also AI  Club Semis and  Finals in January.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 30, 2019, 02:50:51 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on October 29, 2019, 07:10:12 PM

This should mean all the best players are in the U20 competition. Senior intercounty managers will hardly prevent lads playing U20 championship just to play league games.

I also can't understand why it wasn't left as U21 however.

With college football finishing in January it will probably be midweek games for the majority of U20 championship games I can imagine.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 30, 2019, 03:15:11 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 30, 2019, 02:58:45 PM
intrigued to hear your views, but do you posters think its a good or bad move with the universities not being in the mckenna cup anymore?

Probably have run their course. All finished bottom in their groups without winning a game this year i think.
Post by: Angelo on October 31, 2019, 10:33:24 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 30, 2019, 03:15:11 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on October 30, 2019, 02:58:45 PM
intrigued to hear your views, but do you posters think its a good or bad move with the universities not being in the mckenna cup anymore?

Probably have run their course. All finished bottom in their groups without winning a game this year i think.

It's probably an even bigger scheduling nightmare now for both the players at county managers.

Counties would be looking at fresh blood in late Dec and January, a lot of the new players tried out for the year by counties will be college students probably getting geared up for Sigerson so it will be yet another tug of war for the player. The county manager wanting to have a look at him before deciding on a squad for the league campaign and a niversity manager wanting him at training as they get closer to the start of its flagship competition.

The player probably caught in the middle trying to keep both happy and his physical welfare being jeopardised.
Post by: Maroon Manc on October 31, 2019, 12:23:42 PM
Do Galway play Mayo in February? Not a great draw especially considering Galway don't even have a manager yet.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 31, 2019, 01:12:21 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on October 31, 2019, 12:23:42 PM
Do Galway play Mayo in February? Not a great draw especially considering Galway don't even have a manager yet.

Yes. Nominations in place for that management role and just a matter of picking between the current Galway Minor football manager Donal O'Fatharta of An Spideal, former Galway minor football manager Stephen Joyce of an Fhairce and Mick Culhane of Salthill/Knocknacarra who was a selector this year with the U20's under Joyce.
Post by: Rossfan on October 31, 2019, 03:05:43 PM
I wonder when did U20 team managenents find out the Championship was coming in February instead of June?
I presume there wont be time for the Keagues that were played this year?
Post by: Blowitupref on October 31, 2019, 03:52:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 31, 2019, 03:05:43 PM
I wonder when did U20 team managenents find out the Championship was coming in February instead of June?
I presume there wont be time for the Keagues that were played this year?
Same time as senior managers found out about the introduction of the second tier. Unlikely to be leagues with the sigeron Cup played off in January.
Post by: Rossfan on October 31, 2019, 04:06:14 PM
The 2nd Tier was being talked about for 12 months or more beforehand.
The U 20 was sprung a few days ago.
Post by: Esmarelda on October 31, 2019, 04:17:08 PM
What was the original thinking in moving it to the summer and what has changed?
Post by: Rossfan on October 31, 2019, 05:00:56 PM
Original thinking was that you could only be on 1 Co panel so all 3 Football Championships could be played simultaneously.
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 31, 2019, 05:16:04 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on October 31, 2019, 04:17:08 PM
What was the original thinking in moving it to the summer and what has changed?

Was little thinking at all, silly scheduling that should have changed after the first year and now its moved back to similar schedule as the U21 championship was.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 31, 2019, 05:30:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 31, 2019, 04:06:14 PM
The 2nd Tier was being talked about for 12 months or more beforehand.
The U 20 was sprung a few days ago.

Was talks about the displeasure of the June to August U20 championship since it was introduced. My point was the change was made in the recent Cork congress the same congress that brought the 2nd tier in.
Post by: Rossfan on November 08, 2019, 10:55:39 AM
One man not happy with the new schedules.
While he has a personal "hat" in the issue it is
hard to develop u20s in February alright.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/ricken-fears-sigerson-and-u20s-will-suffer-from-schedule-changes-962587.html
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 08, 2019, 01:51:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 08, 2019, 10:55:39 AM
One man not happy with the new schedules.
While he has a personal "hat" in the issue it is
hard to develop u20s in February alright.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/ricken-fears-sigerson-and-u20s-will-suffer-from-schedule-changes-962587.html

It's a pity in 10 years time, a fella who played U20 county can't be able to look back and say he played alongside or against David Clifford.

June schedule had its issues also, matter of fact some players opted out of county U20s panels to focus fully on their studies and having the latter end of the U20 championship clashing with the the super duper 8s was poor scheduling also

In the terms of sigerson cup one solution could be playing it November, December while the college league currently played at the moment moved back a month.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 20, 2019, 03:53:17 PM
Short straw for Armagh.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EJwxSTWXYAAjHfG?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Rossfan on November 20, 2019, 04:32:43 PM
Should a real off the cuff competition this year as no training allowed till 1st April ;D
Post by: Cunny Funt on November 20, 2019, 04:40:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 20, 2019, 04:32:43 PM
Should a real off the cuff competition this year as no training allowed till 1st April ;D
I can imagine such a rule was scrapped once the schedule was moved back to the spring.  Underage competitions are mostly off the cuff compared to senior level as the latter is bogged down with tactics and low risk football.
Post by: Rossfan on November 20, 2019, 06:35:21 PM
If the rule is in the TO it will have to go to Congress to be changed ;D
I heard the CC meeting at the weekend will give a dispensation though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 20, 2019, 07:04:41 PM
Omagh gael, change the title to 2020.