Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Jayop

Quote from: In hiding on May 08, 2019, 06:19:37 PM
Quote from: Jayop on May 08, 2019, 06:12:39 PM
I've watched videos of Morgan sticking them over from serious distance without fail in training. Seems to have a mental issue when the pressure is on in big games. He maybe gets himself too hyped up. If he could solve that issue then he could be one of the best at 40+ yard frees in the country.
You've watched videos of Morgan at training!!
How'd you manage that

After training would be more accurate, or maybe even more accurately again would be ballsing about.

His instagram has quite a few videos of the types of drills he does specifically for different aspects of goalkeeping. It's very interesting.

Here's the 45's video.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/video-news/video-tyrones-niall-morgan-converts-nine-45s-and-one-55-in-less-than-90-seconds-30314451.html

Redhand Santa

Quote from: trailer on May 08, 2019, 04:59:15 PM
Morgan is about 10% from 40 yards+. I'd say I've a similar record and trust me no-one was calling for me to take frees.

A few points on this:

1) Where is the 10 per cent coming from? Pretty much all of Morgan's frees are 40 yards plus and he scored 9 points during the league. Are you suggesting he missed 81 other opportunities?
2) A lot of Morgan's efforts are 50 plus yards out and out on the wing.
3) Morgan's all round game has improved and he is a the best striker of a ball of the ground in Tyrone. I still think he could turn into an improved long range kicker. But I'd leave him to the 50 50 ones that others struggle with.

Jayop

The problem for me with a free taker is that if you only take him up for the stupid long stuff then he's not getting his eye in. Now I wouldn't be bringing him up for tap overs but if he's our man for frees then I'd be bringing him up for the first few shortish ones we get to get him going.

Quote from: Mikhailov on May 08, 2019, 03:38:06 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 08, 2019, 02:17:11 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on May 08, 2019, 02:07:08 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 08, 2019, 12:40:13 PM
Right footed free taker?
Could Sludden lose his place?
Meyler the most likely there I think to lose out.
We haven't had one in a long, long time. None since Peter the great on the right hand side - totally reliable, already accounted for in your head before he even gets into routine.

McShane had been taking the right footed free kicks in the league and doing reasonably ok.

Reasonably ok. Not the sort of phrase you hear associated with Dean Rock or Sean O'Shea. We must do better on this facet of our game. Admittedly McShane has been taking them but I have zero confidence in him to get 90%+ in every game this year unless they are in front of the posts. Free kicks are crucial, especially in the latter stages of the championship

I wasn't suggesting he was the answer to the problem, I was just suggesting who is likely to take the right footed frees on Sunday, based on the last few league games.

southtyronegael

Is tiarnan Mc cann fit again this weekend and does he deserve to start ahead of Rory Brennan or Michael Cassidy?

Angelo

Quote from: southtyronegael on May 08, 2019, 11:07:52 PM
Is tiarnan Mc cann fit again this weekend and does he deserve to start ahead of Rory Brennan or Michael Cassidy?

I'd like to see Cassidy get the start. McCann has been an important player over the past few years but has had a good few injury niggles in the past year or so and was not at his best during the league.

Cassidy came in for the Galway match and was superb so I think he deserves his place but it's a nice option for the manager to have between a proven performer and a player in form and it's type of competition that drives the squad. Given that it's Derry and we are strong favourites then I'd like to see Cassidy get the chance to continue that form?

I would have Rory Brennan in the best XV for Tyrone but I can definitely understand Harte's use of him particularly if we have a defender doing an important man marking job and we lose them to injury or a black card or they pick up an early yellow. Brennan has started a lot of games on the bench but came on early to do a man marking job which ge us very good at. He has also been deployed from the start to do a specialist job as he is one of the best markers on the team. Despite not starting regularly he see a big amount of game time.

Did Mulgrew see much action for Ardboe in April?
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

It looked to me during the league that Morgan has been given more licence to roam up the field when it looks like a suitable time. We all know he plays very well outfield for his club so I was wondering will we see more of this tactic this year that it will no longer be left to Niall himself but it could be a pre-planned strategy that at times he will push out and one of the defenders or half forwards covers the goal. If if he does lose the ball then, there's not a mad panic for him to abandon play and go rushing back to goal as he knows someone else will have that covered.
Let's face it GAA is not like soccer so any other player can use their hands to mind the goal.

Especially considering how well Niall can kick long range shots, it would seem very smart to use him sparingly out the field as we saw a few times this spring. Some on here have said would he be deserving of a place anyway out the field and maybe with Gallen as No2 now that will be an option.
I dont see ANY club football any more so I can't comment.

I for one no longer be too worried when Morgan makes a foray up the field. It would be some craic if he scored a goal v Derry wouldn't it.  ;D

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: Angelo on May 09, 2019, 09:39:01 AM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 08, 2019, 11:07:52 PM

I'd like to see Cassidy get the start. McCann has been an important player over the past few years but has had a good few injury niggles in the past year or so and was not at his best during the league.

Cassidy came in for the Galway match and was superb so I think he deserves his place but it's a nice option for the manager to have between a proven performer and a player in form and it's type of competition that drives the squad. Given that it's Derry and we are strong favourites then I'd like to see Cassidy get the chance to continue that form?

I would have Rory Brennan in the best XV for Tyrone but I can definitely understand Harte's use of him particularly if we have a defender doing an important man marking job and we lose them to injury or a black card or they pick up an early yellow. Brennan has started a lot of games on the bench but came on early to do a man marking job which ge us very good at. He has also been deployed from the start to do a specialist job as he is one of the best markers on the team. Despite not starting regularly he see a big amount of game time.

Did Mulgrew see much action for Ardboe in April?

I don't think he's played any. Unless he took a game for Ardboe v Eglish last time out.

GaelTheGael

1. Niall Morgan
2. Padraig Hampsey
3. Ronan McNammee
4. Rory Brennan
5. Michael Cassidy
6. Colm Cavanagh
7. Kieran McGeary
8. Richie Donnelly
9. Brian Kennedy
10. Conor Meyler
11. Niall Sludden
12. Tiernan McCann
13. Cathal McShane
14. Peter Harte
15. Mattie Donnelly

Numbers may not match up but thats the positions I expect Tyrone to line up in.
McKernan got an awful roasting by Mattie Donnelly in an inhouse game recently, so I would expect him to not get the start. So will come down to R Brennan or HP McGeary and hope to see Brennan establish himself.
Played McCann at wing forward because I think hes a weak link defensively but offers too much of an attacking option to leave out.
Hopefully we continue the tactics used towards the end of the league.

skeog

Why name these dummy teams. Pointless. May as well name the '95 team for fucks sake. Makes as much sense.

Goals_Will_Come

1. Niall Morgan,
2. Padraig Hampsey,
3. Ronan McNamee,
4. Michael McKernan,
5. Michael Cassidy,
6. Ben McDonnell,
7. Tiernan McCann
8. Richard Donnelly,
9. Brian Kennedy;
10. Matthew Donnelly,
11. Niall Sludden,
12. Frank Burns;
13. Cathal McShane,
14. Peter Harte,
15. Conor Meyler

16. Benny Gallen
17. Lee Brennan
18. Rory Brennan
19. Colm Cavanagh
20. Kyle Coney
21. Conor McAliskey
22. Conall McCann
23. Aidan McCrory
24. Darren McCurry
25. Hugh Pat McGeary
26. Liam Rafferty

Angelo

Happy enough with that.

K McGeary must be carrying a knock or injury of some sort. Good chance for Cassidy, McDonnell and Kennedy to further their claim.

Personally I don't see Harte's obsession with Conall McCann, I think there are better placed players there on the panel who could be making an impact.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

southtyronegael

I'd be more worried about Aiden Mc crory wasting a place on the subs bench .

bigpackiechestout

Glad to see Cassidy get his chance. He's been on the panel for a few years now biding his time and he deserves a start after his performance v Galway.

I'm surprised Cavanagh hasn't been named to start, did he miss any games for the Moy in April? I thought it was noticeable that whenever he came back into the team v Galway that he automatically resumed his sweeping role, playing very deep in front of the full back line, when we hadn't really been operating that way in the previous few games. We probably don't need to set up like that against Derry and maybe Harte thinks he doesn't have the legs to play as an orthodox midfielder. In any case, it is a great opportunity for Kennedy.

In relation to someone saying about dummy teams, the team Harte names for the first round game is generally accurate enough. I'd be surprised to see many changes now prior to throw in.

Regarding the lads that haven't made the bench, does anyone know if the likes of Grugan, Loughran, McClure are carrying injuries?