GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Derry => Topic started by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 18, 2010, 09:54:32 PM

Title: Derry Hurling
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 18, 2010, 09:54:32 PM
Just throwing a line out there to see if there is any interest at the minute in Derry hurling. The Derry board has has spent 10 years trying to kill Derry hurling- fact.
The stalwarts in the Derry's hurling pockets are as good a hurling men as anywhere in Ireland but they have little or no support
Title: Re: Derry Hurling
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 18, 2010, 11:35:03 PM
Massive interest in Kevin Lynchs Dungiven.
Huge work being done on the underage - with myriads of people now involved in hurling who have no hurling background prev.
Post by: fer fox ache on September 19, 2010, 01:23:07 AM
Yeah it's the football community's fault hurling's in such a state. Quit yer cryin
Post by: ha ha derry on September 19, 2010, 07:35:53 AM
The standard of Derry hurling at underage needs to be seen to be believed. Bodes well for county hurling in 6 - 7 years time.
Post by: Mac hinery on September 19, 2010, 01:37:56 PM
Quote from: fer fox ache on September 19, 2010, 01:23:07 AM
Yeah it's the football community's fault hurling's in such a state. Quit yer cryin

I don't think FBNS said the football community were at fault for the state of Derry hurling.  The county board however has not given the development of hurling the same level of commitment that other county boards in Ulster have. 

When you see other counties development squads being taken to national tournaments and being put up in hostels the night before the tournaments and then compare that with Derry underage hurlers being asked to meet at 5am in the morning travel to the likes of Laois and Mullingar, get off a bus and play 3-4 games then you have wonder what effort the county board(and I'm talking about the administrators here) really put in to the development of hurling. 
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 19, 2010, 03:44:07 PM
Thank You Mac. I never blamed football community, i am a GAA man, I love to see both codes do well although I just happen to prefer hurling. Hurling doesnt get the support it deserves or needs in Derry-show me the evidence that it does and I will shut up. Lynches are flying underage and I admire them a lot but I think county board need to do more to get weaker clubs up to their level, a few new underage clubs would be a good thing too.
Post by: the colonel on September 19, 2010, 05:21:31 PM
How helpful has it been for Lynches to be in the N.Antrim underage leagues?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 19, 2010, 07:30:38 PM
Without a doubt Lynches have benefited from antrim. But not all Derry teams are as well set up as Lynches to travel weekly to Antrim.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on September 20, 2010, 09:40:56 AM
Have a keen interest myself, but as said before you need new hurling clubs to be forming and increase the volume of players playing the game.
Post by: theskull1 on September 20, 2010, 10:27:00 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 18, 2010, 11:35:03 PM
Huge work being done on the underage - with myriads of people now involved in hurling who have no hurling background prev.

Thats a very difficult thing to do LB due to the very technical aspect of the game, but all the KL underage teams I've seen in the past couple of years have had excellent technique so ...........Just how did youse go about making that happen?......when I say "that happen", I mean firstly how did you convince non hurling people to become involved and secondly how are youse able to achieve the high technical standards given the fact alot of the mentors can't demonstrate good technique
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 20, 2010, 02:40:24 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 20, 2010, 10:27:00 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 18, 2010, 11:35:03 PM

Thats a very difficult thing to do LB due to the very technical aspect of the game, but all the KL underage teams I've seen in the past couple of years have had excellent technique so ...........Just how did youse go about making that happen?......when I say "that happen", I mean firstly how did you convince non hurling people to become involved and secondly how are youse able to achieve the high technical standards given the fact alot of the mentors can't demonstrate good technique
not sure what Kevin Himphey's official title is or who employs him, but he is like a director of hurling for the underage.
There have been parents that have been roped in by their kids playing as nippers and got the bug and help out with the menial non-hurling tech side of things, whch takes a lot of pressure of the people that know hurling and can teach it.
Some drills they can assist with and its certainly a large socialistic democracy - if that isnt a contradiction in terms !!
Other elder statesmen and ex players have done a hell of a lot for the club and still do. Ex managers, their brthers, former players, former chairmen etc etc - they pass on their knowledge and it is a massive help to the rest of the mentors and parents.

I found it hard to believe myself - as an exile- with so many people now involved in the club that prev you wouldnt have associated their families with sport let alone GAA or football without even thinking of hurling.

Certainly the 'success' of KL's getting to ulster finals and having some local heroes has done a lot to encourage and bring people and their kids into the fold. Keeping them I'd have thought would have been harder, but Dungiven post 'war' times needed and still needs as many social outlets for the citizens and their kids as possible - the hurling club is almost like a fashion in the town and while there are still loads of dual players, the KL senior side would not be as 'dual' anymore as say Lavey are.

Even if KL's dont have as much success as they have experienced, I hope the underage thing plus the interest locally in theclub continues- as its fantastic to have this sporting/social outlet- but being honest, I want the success too and there are plans for expansion to look forward to...
Post by: sameoldstorey on September 20, 2010, 09:46:34 PM
is lynch s the only hurling club in the county.btw. how long is it since they have win feile in derry.
if my info is correct the same club have won it 5 times in succession and it was nt lynch s.
again if my info is correct the same club have a lad who has participated in all 5.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on September 20, 2010, 09:58:24 PM
The only other hurling club is Na Magha in who are based in Derry City.

The Derry feile Na nGael results from previous years.

A COMPETITION

2010 Slaughtneil
2009 Slaughtneil
2008 Slaughtneil
2007 Slaughtneil
2006 Slaughtneil
2005 Ballinascreen
2004 Ballinascreen
2003 Lavey
2002 Swatragh

Post by: Carnview on September 20, 2010, 10:35:52 PM
Derry Hurling Clubs?

Ballinascreen
Banagher
Eoghan Rua's, Coleraine
Lavey
Kevin Lynchs
Na Magha
Swatragh
Slaughtneil

Post by: youbetterbelieveit on September 20, 2010, 11:09:34 PM
O'Cathain's are there now aswell, only at underage. Covers Limavady, Magilligan & Ballerin area.
Post by: DoireGael on September 21, 2010, 12:17:25 AM
Quote from: youbetterbelieveit on September 20, 2010, 11:09:34 PM
O'Cathain's are there now aswell, only at underage. Covers Limavady, Magilligan & Ballerin area.

Great to see  :)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 21, 2010, 12:42:20 AM
Great to see new club!
Stop and think what it must be like to hurl in Derry City (Na Magha)
You very rarely hear any complaints from these guys, they just get on with, although unless you live in the city you could not grasp how difficult it is to compete against soccer, yet Na Magha battle on and on and on-true Gaels.
They have only been provided 3 games this year at senior in league-JOKE
They p[layed c'ship 5 weeks ago and have heard nothing about semi-JOKE
They prepared for c'ship with the hope that if they were lucky and won through that they might get into Ulster. Wait for this. They were told LAST WEEK only that they cant go into Ulster because they won junior in Derry last year. Fair enough you might say but Derry Board never told them nor regraded them for Ulster. This means that they are the only club in Ulster that have not been given opportunity to play in competition that would lead them to Ulster-MASSIVE JOKE
How will hurling in county progress if these guys are kicked and kicked again.
Post by: joecanning on September 21, 2010, 01:52:33 AM
eoghan rua for an all ireland title in hurling...u heard it here first
Post by: nrico2006 on September 21, 2010, 08:55:45 AM
Quote from: joecanning on September 21, 2010, 01:52:33 AM
eoghan rua for an all ireland title in hurling...u heard it here first

Not a chance.  Nowhere near good enough.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 21, 2010, 09:00:50 AM
That's a real kick in the balls for Na Magha. How did that happen?
Post by: johnneycool on September 21, 2010, 09:07:47 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 21, 2010, 12:42:20 AM
Great to see new club!
Stop and think what it must be like to hurl in Derry City (Na Magha)
You very rarely hear any complaints from these guys, they just get on with, although unless you live in the city you could not grasp how difficult it is to compete against soccer, yet Na Magha battle on and on and on-true Gaels.
They have only been provided 3 games this year at senior in league-JOKE
They p[layed c'ship 5 weeks ago and have heard nothing about semi-JOKE
They prepared for c'ship with the hope that if they were lucky and won through that they might get into Ulster. Wait for this. They were told LAST WEEK only that they cant go into Ulster because they won junior in Derry last year. Fair enough you might say but Derry Board never told them nor regraded them for Ulster. This means that they are the only club in Ulster that have not been given opportunity to play in competition that would lead them to Ulster-MASSIVE JOKE
How will hurling in county progress if these guys are kicked and kicked again.

Is Mrs Sands still involved with them?

I can't see that sort of thing happening on her watch.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 21, 2010, 07:23:10 PM
Lecale 2

Here is how I see it and why I think Na Magha have been well and truely shafted!

Donegal-Everyone goes into Senior Championship and winners go into Ulster Junior. Proper Board backing them all the way

Down- 3 grades within county, everyone knows the score at the beginning of the year, and everyone gets chance to progress to Ulster. Proper Board backing them all the way

Fermanagh-Senior C'ship winners go into Ulster Intermediate and losers go ino Ulster Junior. Proper Board backing them all the way, everyone getsa chance.

Antrim-3 grades within county, everyone knows the score at the beginning of the year, and everyone gets chance to progress to Ulster. Proper Board backing them all the way

Armagh-Bit complicated but basically they have 3 grades in Ulster and every club has a chance at some level to progress to Ulster at soem level. Proper Board backing them all the way

Cavan-Every club gets chance to compete for county c'ship and progress to Ulster Junior. Proper Board backing them all the way

Tyrone-Every club play in same round robin competition and winners of overall c'ship go into Ulster Intermediate, other clubs battle out to go into Ulster junior. This year N Colmcille couldnt go back into Ulster Junior but their county gave them chance to compete to go into Ulster Intermediate  through county round robin. Proper Board backing them all the way

Monaghan- Bit complicated again but evey club got to play in c'ship within their own county which could lead them into Ulster. Proper Board backing them all the way

Derry-Na Magha too weak for Derry senior c'ship  and and not eligible for junior because they won it last year, although they play in it this year again it leads them nowhere. This means that Na Magha have no c'ship that would lead them to Ulster because Derry never regraded them to intermediate nor told them situation until end of last week!! I think this is unique in Ulster
Derry Board is a shambles and doesnt care about hurling in county at all never mind about hurling in the city
Post by: help-me-search on September 22, 2010, 03:03:44 PM
have Derry even got the players to compete with the downs and Antrim???
i cant think of 5 that wood get close to the antrim team?
on the other hand Armagh seem to be on the up but not Derry, which is good to see for ulster hurling.
what would be the best 15 in the county at the minute?
Post by: ha ha derry on September 22, 2010, 07:50:57 PM
It,s time hurling clubs got their act together and vote a hurling representative onto the county board. Someone who won,t be tramped on. The county board behave the way they do because they are allowed to. I think the current county  board would listen and respond to the proper voice.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on September 22, 2010, 08:37:50 PM
What should be done is a Hurling Board should be set up and should have the authority to look after hurling matters within the county.
Post by: Carnview on September 22, 2010, 09:59:59 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 22, 2010, 07:50:57 PM
It,s time hurling clubs got their act together and vote a hurling representative onto the county board. Someone who won,t be tramped on. The county board behave the way they do because they are allowed to. I think the current county  board would listen and respond to the proper voice.
Seem to remember J B Bradley being a hurling rep on the county board???
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 23, 2010, 12:16:03 AM
I agree with ha ha derry. The real hurling men in each club need to get their voice properly heard, we might stand a chance now that Mc Cloy has gone.

I dont think Anne Sands is involved with any club in Derry anymore, though I doubt if even her persuasive voice would be heard.

The guy who posted the comment about Armagh is bang on. The reason they are progressing is down largely to support from board. Derry have the hurlers but proper support structures are not in place within county and same degree of enthusiasim from board doesnt exist.

Latest example of disrespect for hurling is the farce/fiasco otherwise known as Derry Intermediate/Reserve/Junior C'ship-board not even sure what to call it anymore! I have seen all terms used on either Derry Website or press this year.
Only 2 fixtures have been played, Slaughtneil played q final approx 3 weeks ago - they had to arrange their own ref after appointed ref failed to show. This would never happen in football.Na Magha played their match 5-6 weeks ago and have heard nothing since.
The other fixtures have been fixed twice and cancelled twice not sure of reasons but-ome clubs are using football as excuse. Lads lets be realistic if you cant field in both codes why should everyone else suffer.
I heard that some of the remaining junior c'ship games this weekend might be off again because of football league games. Surely c'ship at any level come before league games
Post by: noskill on September 24, 2010, 01:38:00 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 23, 2010, 12:16:03 AM
I agree with ha ha derry. The real hurling men in each club need to get their voice properly heard, we might stand a chance now that Mc Cloy has gone.

I dont think Anne Sands is involved with any club in Derry anymore, though I doubt if even her persuasive voice would be heard.

The guy who posted the comment about Armagh is bang on. The reason they are progressing is down largely to support from board. Derry have the hurlers but proper support structures are not in place within county and same degree of enthusiasim from board doesnt exist.

Latest example of disrespect for hurling is the farce/fiasco otherwise known as Derry Intermediate/Reserve/Junior C'ship-board not even sure what to call it anymore! I have seen all terms used on either Derry Website or press this year.
Only 2 fixtures have been played, Slaughtneil played q final approx 3 weeks ago - they had to arrange their own ref after appointed ref failed to show. This would never happen in football.Na Magha played their match 5-6 weeks ago and have heard nothing since.
The other fixtures have been fixed twice and cancelled twice not sure of reasons but-ome clubs are using football as excuse. Lads lets be realistic if you cant field in both codes why should everyone else suffer.
I heard that some of the remaining junior c'ship games this weekend might be off again because of football league games. Surely c'ship at any level come before league games
Watch the lineout the Derry senior footballers put out next year. I bet there will be at lest 6 players that would make the hurling team
Post by: fiftyfiftyball on September 26, 2010, 05:50:29 PM
Quote from: Carnview on September 20, 2010, 10:35:52 PM
Derry Hurling Clubs?

Ballinascreen
Banagher
Eoghan Rua's, Coleraine
Lavey
Kevin Lynchs
Na Magha
Swatragh
Slaughtneil

This is probably why people in derry are more interested in football.  above is the list of hurling clubs and from the derry website this is the list of football clubs below.

Ardmore - St Marys
Ballerin - Sarsfields
Ballinascreen - St Colms
Ballinderry - Shamrocks
Ballymaguigan - St Treas
Banagher - St Marys
Bellaghy - Wolfe Tones
Castledawson - St Malachys
Coleraine - Eoghan Rua
Claudy - John Mitchells
Craigbane - St Josephs
Desertmartin - St Martins
Doire Colmcille
Doire Trasna - Na Pairsaigh
Drum - St Colms
Drumsurn - St Matthews
Dungiven - St Canices
Faughanvale - St Marys
Foreglen - O'Briens

Glack
Glen - Watty Grahams
Glenullin - John Mitchels
Greenlough - St Oliver Plunketts
Kilrea - Pearses
Lavey - Erins Own
Limavady - Wolfhounds
Lissan - St Michael's
Loup - St Patricks
Magherafelt - O'Donovan Rossas
Magilligan - St Aidans
Moneymore - Henry Joy McCrackens
Newbridge - Seán O'Leary's
Ogra Colmcille
Sean Dolans
Slaughtmanus - St Marys
Slaughtneil - Robert Emmets
Steelstown
Swatragh - Michael Davitts

Think this tells its own story. 
Post by: Carnview on September 26, 2010, 05:58:19 PM
Quote from: fiftyfiftyball on September 26, 2010, 05:50:29 PM
Derry Hurling Clubs?

Ballinascreen
Banagher
Eoghan Rua's, Coleraine
Lavey
Kevin Lynchs
Na Magha
Swatragh
Slaughtneil

This is probably why people in derry are more interested in football.  above is the list of hurling clubs and from the derry website this is the list of football clubs below.

Ardmore - St Marys
Ballerin - Sarsfields
Ballinascreen - St Colms
Ballinderry - Shamrocks
Ballymaguigan - St Treas
Banagher - St Marys
Bellaghy - Wolfe Tones
Coleraine - Eoghan Rua
Claudy - John Mitchells
Craigbane - St Josephs
Doire Colmcille
Drum - St Colms
Drumsurn - St Matthews
Dungiven - St Canices
Faughanvale - St Marys
Foreglen - O'Briens

Glack
Glen - Watty Grahams
Kilrea - Pearses
Lavey - Erins Own
Limavady - Wolfhounds
Lissan - St Michael's
Loup - St Patricks
Magilligan - St Aidans
Ogra Colmcille
Sean Dolans
Slaughtmanus - St Marys
Steelstown

It tells the real story that all those clubs have done nothing to promote all GAA sports!  Credit to those dual clubs for giving our youth the choice.
Post by: fiftyfiftyball on September 26, 2010, 06:03:47 PM
some clubs struggle to make underage or reserve football teams let alone hurling teams.  Its just the way it is - sure the all ireland ends with the football final.  It is just the more popular of the two.  Even though the hurling final was prob more exciting than the football one.
Post by: ha ha derry on September 26, 2010, 09:06:47 PM
Any word on how Coleraine and Kilrea got on in the Ulster camogie ?
Post by: Mac hinery on September 26, 2010, 10:52:11 PM
Derry Hurling Clubs?

Ballinascreen
Banagher
Eoghan Rua's, Coleraine
Lavey
Kevin Lynchs
Na Magha
Swatragh
Slaughtneil

Ardmore - St Marys
Ballerin - Sarsfields
Ballinascreen - St Colms
Ballinderry - Shamrocks
Ballymaguigan - St Treas
Banagher - St Marys
Bellaghy - Wolfe Tones
Coleraine - Eoghan Rua
Claudy - John Mitchells
Craigbane - St Josephs
Doire Colmcille
Drum - St Colms
Drumsurn - St Matthews
Dungiven - St Canices
Faughanvale - St Marys
Foreglen - O'Briens

Glack
Glen - Watty Grahams
Kilrea - Pearses
Lavey - Erins Own
Limavady - Wolfhounds
Lissan - St Michael's
Loup - St Patricks
Magilligan - St Aidans
Ogra Colmcille
Sean Dolans
Slaughtmanus - St Marys
Steelstown

The sub plot to that story however is the number of football clubs that have had or still have players that play(ed) hurling. 
Ballerin, Bellaghy, Desertmartin, Drum, Drumsurn, Foreglen, Glack, Glen, Glenullin, Greenlough, aerlik  ;), Limavady, Lissan and probably others
Post by: sheamy on September 27, 2010, 09:27:19 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on September 26, 2010, 09:06:47 PM
Any word on how Coleraine and Kilrea got on in the Ulster camogie ?
Coleraine won. Kilrea lost.
Post by: the wildebeest man on September 27, 2010, 09:35:00 AM
Quote from: Mac hinery on September 26, 2010, 10:52:11 PM
Derry Hurling Clubs?

Ballinascreen
Banagher
Eoghan Rua's, Coleraine
Lavey
Kevin Lynchs
Na Magha
Swatragh
Slaughtneil

Ardmore - St Marys
Ballerin - Sarsfields
Ballinascreen - St Colms
Ballinderry - Shamrocks
Ballymaguigan - St Treas
Banagher - St Marys
Bellaghy - Wolfe Tones
Coleraine - Eoghan Rua
Claudy - John Mitchells
Craigbane - St Josephs
Doire Colmcille
Drum - St Colms
Drumsurn - St Matthews
Dungiven - St Canices
Faughanvale - St Marys
Foreglen - O'Briens

Glack
Glen - Watty Grahams
Kilrea - Pearses
Lavey - Erins Own
Limavady - Wolfhounds
Lissan - St Michael's
Loup - St Patricks
Magilligan - St Aidans
Ogra Colmcille
Sean Dolans
Slaughtmanus - St Marys
Steelstown

The sub plot to that story however is the number of football clubs that have had or still have players that play(ed) hurling. 
Ballerin, Bellaghy, Desertmartin, Drum, Drumsurn, Foreglen, Glack, Glen, Glenullin, Greenlough, aerlik  ;), Limavady, Lissan and probably others

I've played hurling against teams from Ballerin, Bellaghy, Drum, Drumsurn, Faughanvale, Glenullin and Doire Trasna. And wasn't there a St Finbarr's team from the Loup?
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on September 27, 2010, 09:51:33 AM
The last two teams to disband their Hurling was Loup and Drum/Drumsurn.
Post by: theLoup on September 27, 2010, 09:57:33 PM
yeah the loup use to have a hurling team called st finbars. we just havnt got the numbers round the loup to have hurling team now
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 27, 2010, 11:02:51 PM
Sean Dolans used to have a hurling team too
Post by: Top of the hill on September 27, 2010, 11:47:30 PM
Doire Trasna had a team in recent yrs (last 10 yrs or so)

I also played underage hurling against teams from Glenullin and Faughanvale a good few years ago.
Post by: sameoldstorey on September 29, 2010, 08:23:08 PM
dont think there many hurling experts commenting  in this room. never read so much crap in my life
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 01, 2010, 10:04:46 AM
Quote from: sameoldstorey on September 29, 2010, 08:23:08 PM
dont think there many hurling experts commenting  in this room. never read so much crap in my life
the floor is yours...
Post by: Aerlik on October 02, 2010, 12:16:46 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 01, 2010, 10:04:46 AM
Quote from: sameoldstorey on September 29, 2010, 08:23:08 PM
the floor is yours...

couldn't have put it more succinctly myself.

Thanks, MacHinery for that wee bit of recognition when I aspired to walk in the footsteps of that other fine Kilrea man, Cuchulainn. ;)
Kilrea had a senior team in the 1970s for a season or two and I played U-12 with them in 1978.  Lavey beat us in a play-off for the title.
Post by: joecanning on October 07, 2010, 02:24:08 PM
forglen and steelstown have both got amazing hurling set ups put in place now! only a matter of time before portumna and the likes will be strutting their stuff up round this neck of the woods
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 07, 2010, 07:52:13 PM
Good luck to Lavey in Ulster Senior C'ship on Sunday. Tough match but hopefully we can do it
Title: Question about Kevin Lynch
Post by: Oraisteach on December 10, 2010, 08:38:03 PM
Do any of you Derry hurlers happen to know where I might get a picture of Kevin Lynch hoisting the cup in Croke Park after Derry U-16s beat Armagh in 1971 or 72, I think.  Was Kevin Lynch on the Derry U-16 team the year before, the one that lost to Armagh in Dungiven?
Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 10, 2010, 11:26:26 PM
I found this using Google image search..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/96665954@N00/518784766/
Post by: Oraisteach on December 21, 2010, 06:46:58 PM
Fantastic.  Thank you, Arthur.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2011, 10:26:45 PM
Any word on Derry hurling scene for 2011.
Will Lavey win another senior c'ship this year?
Any new players on county squad?
Post by: Poc me on January 18, 2011, 03:22:34 PM
Any one heard anything about the squad for the Derry Senior Hurling Panel??

hope their is a big effort this year to try and restore some pride. The county board should be doin g their best to try and bring Derry back above Armagh (we were beaten by Armagh in Senior, u-21 and minor last year).
Post by: fer fox ache on January 19, 2011, 10:16:11 AM
No reaction from any of ye ash-wielders to the appointment of our new hurling manager?
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2011, 10:18:14 AM
Quote from: fer fox ache on January 19, 2011, 10:16:11 AM
No reaction from any of ye ash-wielders to the appointment of our new hurling manager?
who...?
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 19, 2011, 10:24:30 AM
Rogie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=naw8vdMuQEY
Post by: fer fox ache on January 19, 2011, 11:25:43 AM
Ger Rogan
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 19, 2011, 11:33:09 AM
no its definitely martin
Post by: Poc me on January 19, 2011, 01:57:58 PM
Just seen on website that Ger ROgan has been appointed manager. Should be a positive appointment. I think we should thank James O;Kane and his team for putting their best efforts into the set up. The problem now is getting the best 30 hurlers in the county onto the panel. Some lads just don't want to play for their county. That isn't taking away from the lads their at the minute. Many of them deserve to be there and want to be there.

Would be grea to see full commitment from players and the county board backing Ger with whatever he wants to do. Parity with the footballers is all that is asked in terms of resources. Without that from your county board why would anyone be encouraged to represent their county?
Post by: Squareball71 on January 19, 2011, 03:01:31 PM
Quote from: Poc me on January 19, 2011, 01:57:58 PM
Just seen on website that Ger ROgan has been appointed manager. Should be a positive appointment. I think we should thank James O;Kane and his team for putting their best efforts into the set up. The problem now is getting the best 30 hurlers in the county onto the panel. Some lads just don't want to play for their county. That isn't taking away from the lads their at the minute. Many of them deserve to be there and want to be there.

Would be grea to see full commitment from players and the county board backing Ger with whatever he wants to do. Parity with the footballers is all that is asked in terms of resources. Without that from your county board why would anyone be encouraged to represent their county?

The problem is getting 30 players of any standard for the panel and no amount of work from managers, CB will sort this problem. What resources are you thinking of if the players and clubs aren't gonna buy into it  ??? ???
Post by: HiMucker on January 19, 2011, 03:26:17 PM
Im a football man but its obvious to see from the club hurling fixtures for championship and league that Hurling is treated with contempt, just my opinion, so I can see why hurlers would be a bit pissed off with CB
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2011, 04:00:12 PM
Quote from: Squareball71 on January 19, 2011, 03:01:31 PM

The problem is getting 30 players of any standard for the panel and no amount of work from managers, CB will sort this problem. What resources are you thinking of if the players and clubs aren't gonna buy into it  ??? ???
are you sayin we just dont have good enough hurlers
or
just that the hurlers we have couldnt be arsed ?
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2011, 04:03:04 PM

Is that the same guy that was in charge of Slaughtneil when they got the the Senior hurling final in 2009 that lost to KL's after a replay ?
If so, he is a good manager as he had them playing well and set up superbly that year and KL's needed all their exp and luck to win that !
Cant see the CB wanting to put too much behind the hurling as football is the foremost game in the county, but pro rata finances should def be given and 100% support.
if the fixtures are showing a certain 'contempt' as HiMucker is alluding to - then this is not a great start.
Post by: Squareball71 on January 19, 2011, 04:18:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2011, 04:00:12 PM
Quote from: Squareball71 on January 19, 2011, 03:01:31 PM

are you sayin we just dont have good enough hurlers
or
just that the hurlers we have couldnt be arsed ?

I heard there was training recently with only single figure numbers turning up for it. Very sad state of affairs. We have fallen very badly in only 10 years and i don't know if anyone can turn it around. The CB i'm sure will give it full backing as they have a hurling man in Mickey McCracken to push it and with him as Chairman of CCC i wouldn't imagine the hurling fixtures pushed to a corner.
Post by: Poc me on January 19, 2011, 04:33:57 PM
Well squareball,

One example, the Derry Hurling managers job has been vacant for weeks. Did you know about that? All of a sudden a new manager is named. When Damien Cassidy left the Derrry job no stone was to be unturned to try and get the best man for the job. inerview panels would have been set up and if no one was found they would have headhunted someone. Now you may say that there simply isn't the interest in hurling for this to be reported in the media but I could almost guarantee that the county board didn't do those things for the Hurling job. No advertisement or interview panels would have been held. In fact, i would say that the people who searched for a manager were probably people who are invovled in Hurling rather than the County Board itself. To comment on a previous post as well, the Hurling leagues and c'ships are treated with contempt. It is almost like a 'Footballing Parliament for a Footballing people' and no hurlers need apply!

Hopefully someone like Mickey McCracken can have a positive effect in there.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2011, 04:59:48 PM
anyone else think that rogan might be a good man at the Derry hurling helm?

One question though is he a money man as I heard in the past?
either way if he gets Derry ticking like the way he supercharged Slaughtneil the other season, I think its a step in the right direction for Derry senior hurling.
These men need paid too so I wont quibble about that aspect!
(thered be no quibbling about it if it were football !!)

Best of luck Rogie !
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 19, 2011, 10:46:24 PM
Think Ger is good man for the job, but so was James. The problem isnt with ciounty managers but unfortunately with lack of co-operation from dual clubs.
This isnt meant to be a football v hurling comment. But if the dual clubs encouraged hurling a bit more we would be on the up again.
I know a bit about Armagh club hurling and Derry club hurling. Derry club on average is slightly ahead of Armagh, I know Keady beat Lavey though. Armagh county hurling has overtaken Derry. This is because Armagh CB are 100% behind hurling team and i dont think the dual problem is a big factor in Armagh. it is a badge on honour to play hurling for your county in Armagh-not so in Derry
Post by: sameoldstorey on January 28, 2011, 04:59:42 PM
lets be realistic. jok mwas never going to make a good manager. different story coaching some college kids. not t oo many made the transition from schools   to adult. imo big adrian was the best coach in ireland at college level but never really made the breakthrough at adult level. 
Post by: doodaa on January 28, 2011, 05:59:27 PM
Is Ger Rogan the man to bring life back to Derry hurling?

"You better believe it!" - Quote from Martin Rogan today in West Belfast.....
Post by: treborstemme on January 30, 2011, 04:30:12 AM
I wish big Ger all the luck in the world!!! By god, will he need it! In fairness he overcome alot of hurdles in Slaughtneil at the beginning and came through in the end!

On another point, where have the Laveys and Screen underage teams vanished to these days! Always formidable opponents through the years! Only for Kevin Lynches, Slaughtneil struggle to find any formidable competition. Slaughtneil dominated U12s and down, won U14, U16, minors and U21s this year. Last year they won all bar minors and have been winning feile at their leisure. As much as we enjoy winning in Slaughtneil this is a sad state of affairs! What's the problem? Serious question...!!!
Post by: Owenbeg on January 30, 2011, 05:18:54 PM
Quote from: treborstemme on January 30, 2011, 04:30:12 AM
I wish big Ger all the luck in the world!!! By god, will he need it! In fairness he overcome alot of hurdles in Slaughtneil at the beginning and came through in the end!

On another point, where have the Laveys and Screen underage teams vanished to these days! Always formidable opponents through the years! Only for Kevin Lynches, Slaughtneil struggle to find any formidable competition. Slaughtneil dominated U12s and down, won U14, U16, minors and U21s this year. Last year they won all bar minors and have been winning feile at their leisure. As much as we enjoy winning in Slaughtneil this is a sad state of affairs! What's the problem? Serious question...!!!

Agree that Slaughtneil are dominating at underage from u14's up, but KL won the U13 at the end of the year and there is the simple matter of the kL u12 beating Slaughtneil 27-11 0-1 in the North Antrim League last year while KL are extremely strong at U10's and U8's so that trend might hopefully start to change. But totally agree that Slaughtneil have been the benchmark for underage hurling in Derry for the last 5 year and the standard of the other underage sides in Derry has been disappointing, KL included. Don't know where the problems are. We organised a U12 15 aside tournament last year and invited all Derry teams with only Slaughtneil taking up the invite. Banaghers seems to be a lack of numbers, Screen seems to have turned a corner- with Conor Murray at the forefront, but dont know where problems lies in the others, perhaps the fact that Slaughneil and KL play in the North Antrim league and are getting 10 more competitive 15 aside games against the Ballycastle, Loughgeils, Cushendalls, Dunloys of this world.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2011, 05:24:07 PM
Good result for hurlers today-was anyone at the match to give a short report
Title: Doire
Post by: drici on March 30, 2011, 04:32:55 PM
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/1a97d8d29d6b1334c6d17151a99f95bbef7bc7593d06b728acd2194b8221acf86g.jpg)

Anybody know the scéal?
Post by: Mac hinery on March 30, 2011, 09:25:56 PM
Anybody know the scéal?

I'm guessing St Pat's O'Keefe winning squad would probably have most of the Derry minor hurlers on it.
Title: Céill
Post by: drici on March 30, 2011, 09:37:34 PM
Quote from: Mac hinery on March 30, 2011, 09:25:56 PM

I'm guessing St Pat's O'Keefe winning squad would probably have most of the Derry minor hurlers on it.

Aha.
Title: Re: Céill
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on April 15, 2011, 10:40:02 PM
Quote from: drici on March 30, 2011, 09:37:34 PM
Quote from: Mac hinery on March 30, 2011, 09:25:56 PM

Aha.

still hard to believe that Derry didnt put out a taem
Post by: robertemmet on August 27, 2011, 12:25:35 PM
Here is an article I have put together about Dublin v Ulster Hurling - http://mal-sport.blogspot.com/2011/08/dublin-hurling-revolution.html
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 27, 2011, 08:15:04 PM
Very good article Robert Emmett. I am really worried for Derry hurling. In all honesty I think Donegal are catching us now as well. Nobody seems to care. Parochialism gets in the way of overall county development. All clubs need help. But I would be putting massive effort into trying to ensure Castledawson and O Cathans are kept going underage. I would be looking to form another 2 clubs apart from them. I would also try to give Eoghan Ruadh,Na Magha and Banagher an extra push.
Post by: robertemmet on August 31, 2011, 12:46:51 AM
A few Derry folk preview Sunday's big game from Croker - http://mal-sport.blogspot.com/2011/08/cats-to-beat-bookies.html

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 16, 2011, 07:16:29 PM
Great to see Derry have a team entered in Ulster Intermediate club hurling championship. Does anyone know who it is. In reality Derry club hurling standard has dropped slightly. I having been thinking for a while that the 2 beaten semi finalists in the senior should play off to qualify for intermediate.  Great to have 3 teams represent Derry this year.   
Post by: Aerlik on September 29, 2011, 03:52:34 PM
Best wishes to Lavey on Sunday.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 30, 2011, 11:36:40 AM
Best of luck to Kevin Lynch's this weekend against the old hurling enemy Lavey.
Hope it is a good sporting hard game and that we win !!

Pity I cant get up to it this weekend, though I wouldnt have as far to travel as Aerlik !!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 30, 2011, 02:05:59 PM
Should be a good game with Lynches just to shade it. On another note does anyone why Eoghan Rua are not in Ulster Intermediate anymore. They were on fixture list last week. Is this another kick in the stones for Derry hurling
Post by: robertemmet on September 30, 2011, 03:38:44 PM
A wee preview of the Derry Hurling Final....Lavey notn given much chance

http://mal-sport.blogspot.com/2011/09/lynchs-overwhelming-favourites-in-derry.html
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 30, 2011, 04:20:00 PM
Jeez Robertemmett - you must live next door to Karl McKaigue !!

I want K's to win it, but think that it might be a game too early for them as they have yet to hit form and have a few injury problems.

Frees scores will prob be the deciding factor.
Post by: Aerlik on October 01, 2011, 03:28:50 AM
Jaysus Lynchboy you've only a hundred or so miles to travel. I have awheen more. Get your arse up to Derry. Or are you expecting a loss ;-p

Now where did I put those county medals of mine? :-)
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 01, 2011, 09:13:09 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 01, 2011, 03:28:50 AM
Jaysus Lynchboy you've only a hundred or so miles to travel. I have awheen more. Get your arse up to Derry. Or are you expecting a loss ;-p
Now where did I put those county medals of mine? :-)
150 miles Aerlik !
tell you the truth, was holding out hoping for a win so I could take the next match and Craigbane's tilt at the intermediate final both in next weekend !
From the other thread , sounds like Lavey were the better side- as I feared they might be- but that game should hopefully bring the Lynch's on and closer to where they should be !
Post by: doodaa on October 08, 2011, 12:33:46 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 30, 2011, 02:05:59 PM
Should be a good game with Lynches just to shade it. On another note does anyone why Eoghan Rua are not in Ulster Intermediate anymore. They were on fixture list last week. Is this another kick in the stones for Derry hurling

You sure it wasnt Eoghan Ruadh Dungannon rather than Eoghan Rua Coleraine.

Didnt think we were in the intermediate Ulster, just not at that level anymore. We can't even win an intermediate Derry championship, what good would we be in ulster lol.

We now share representation of Derry in the Junior Ulster along with Na Magha, taken year about. Na Magha's turn this year and doing very well by the sounds of it.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 08, 2011, 01:25:46 PM
Quote from: doodaa on October 08, 2011, 12:33:46 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 30, 2011, 02:05:59 PM

You sure it wasnt Eoghan Ruadh Dungannon rather than Eoghan Rua Coleraine.

Didnt think we were in the intermediate Ulster, just not at that level anymore. We can't even win an intermediate Derry championship, what good would we be in ulster lol.

Deffo Coleraine dooda. They entered and withdrew. I think you would be good enough if all the footballers played, but first division football is very demanding so Id say that may have been the reason you withdrew. I think you will be back in junior next year

We now share representation of Derry in the Junior Ulster along with Na Magha, taken year about. Na Magha's turn this year and doing very well by the sounds of it.