GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: mayo 4 eva on October 05, 2015, 10:50:08 PM

Title: Concussion in the GAA
Post by: mayo 4 eva on October 05, 2015, 10:50:08 PM
Was watching the documentary on RTE 1 about rugby and concussions and it got me thinking about our own game.  The very nature of our game would suggest that concussions are not as regular as in rugby but they still happen from time to time.  Have any posters had much experience of this area in both playing and coaching roles? 
Title: Re: Concussion in the GAA
Post by: From the Bunker on October 05, 2015, 10:56:19 PM
Quote from: mayo 4 eva on October 05, 2015, 10:50:08 PM
Was watching the documentary on RTE 1 about rugby and concussions and it got me thinking about our own game.  The very nature of our game would suggest that concussions are not as regular as in rugby but they still happen from time to time.  Have any posters had much experience of this area in both playing and coaching roles?

Gaa is not Rugby or that pansy game Soccer. 
Post by: mayo 4 eva on October 05, 2015, 11:09:48 PM
Never said it was the same game.  I suppose what i'm asking is are we in the GAA as stupid when it comes to this sort of thing as rugby ie do players get taken off etc when this this injury happens.  With players now and their developing strength standards I believe we should be aware of this issue.  Just speaking from experience I remember getting knocked out not so long ago (couple of years) to be told your grand, play on.  I'll never forget the headaches and puking after the game.  Horrible experience.
Post by: BennyCake on October 06, 2015, 01:46:21 AM
I'd be interested to hear more about the events which led to Ronan Clarke being put into a medically-induced coma.

Who was at fault there, if anyone?
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 06, 2015, 06:57:32 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 06, 2015, 01:46:21 AM
I'd be interested to hear more about the events which led to Ronan Clarke being put into a medically-induced coma.

Was a freak accident when he collided at speed with the goal post.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2015, 10:24:59 AM
Quote from: mayo 4 eva on October 05, 2015, 10:50:08 PM

I had 3 concussions in my playing days. Once I was going up to catch a ball and got taken out at the legs, so I fell back and hit my head on the ground. Ended up in Mullingar A&E because I couldn't remember anything.

Second time I had a head to head collision with a corner back as we both went for the ball. Never went near a hospital that time, just got taken off after I mused at half time why it was raining in the dressing room. (Someone had the showers on).

Third time was playing soccer, got an elbow in the back of the head, and was sat in the bath that evening trying to remember things like my wife's maiden name, with no success.

It's quite scary actually.
Post by: thewobbler on October 06, 2015, 10:47:09 AM
I got a junior B concussion. As you can imagine, it was handled with the greatest medical attention.

That morning I banged my head on the window sill while painting.

Drove from Belfast to Newry to play the Mitchels, and soon afterwards lined out in my usual 13 jersey (it was either 13 or 23 for me). Scored a point early enough, then couldn't get into the game at all - but as we had no subs I knew I would still be clear to rack up a bit of black type behind my name in the second half.

Shortly after half time, based on what people told me (I've no recollection), a ball went into the corridor of uncertainty, and I elected to try to head it into the net, and in doing so I shipped a heavy knock on the head. Lay down for 30 seconds, then got up and at it. Allegedly I played a blinder for 10 minutes or so, when I decided to take myself out to midfield and drive the team forward (I still don't believe that bit). Then I lay down in the midfield area and decided to go for a wee sleep. The reserve management duo (including 5 Sams), got me revived enough to drag me over to the side of the field, where I lay down and came in and out of silly talk and sleep for 10 minutes.

I do remember the final whistle going. I'll never forget that sound, for it also seemed to put me back into sound mind.

Except, I'd no memory of anything that happened that day. Didn't remember playing football, didn't remember coming from Belfast. My hands were covered in a yellow paint, and I'd absolutely no recollection of painting the house that morning. It took one of the players who I'd been chatting to before the game, to put that piece of the jigsaw together. And over the course of the next few hours, more of the lights started to come on.

Weird shit. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

- - -

My junior B soccer concussion was even better though. I went up to challenge for a header and got (accidentally) butted square across my left eye and nose.

Was knocked out cold, and woke up a few seconds later genuinely seeing tweetie-bird stars, with a gaping hole above my left eye, and my nose halfway across my face.

Anyway, we'd only 11 players that day, and realising that my absence would already push us down to 10 men, not one of the f**kers would take me to hospital, so I drove a couple of miles across Newry, with blood pissing from a head that was still attached, but not in sync with my body.

My clearest memory of that day is every single member of staff in Daisy Hill first castigating me for driving, before then checking on my injuries. I suppose they had a point.

-- -

Concussion is no craic. I've been extremely careful with teams I've been involved with since those incidents. It's one of those rare things in life that until you've suffered one, and all of the mad contortions that go with it, you've no idea just how vulnerable the person is.

Post by: BennyCake on October 06, 2015, 11:01:16 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 06, 2015, 06:57:32 AM

Aye but didn't he play on? Who allowed that to happen?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 06, 2015, 11:01:59 AM
I had a pretty bad one.  I got a bang on the head playing in a game,  nothing malicious just a heavy challenge.  I remember nothing about the game.  We were playing in Clones and on the way home I was feeling woozy so I lay down in the back seats of the bus.  I actually remember nothing else apart from waking up in Daisy Hill later that night.  I lost about 4-5 hours of the day and was kept in overnight for observation.  The crazy thing is I was back training that week and played the following week again!

Post by: thewobbler on October 06, 2015, 11:07:50 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 06, 2015, 11:01:16 AM

He might not have appeared concussed at the time. Or he might have answered the "how many fingers" and "what's your name?" questions, and the physios etc were just happy to see him up on his feet at such a crucial stage of the match, and never even considered concussion. Or he might have just said he wasn't coming off, regardless of medical advice. It's very hard for the GAA to apply protocols here, as unlike pro rugby, there isn't always trained medical staff - whose reputations are on the line - making a recommendation.

I remember watching an Irish rugby match a couple of years ago when Luke Marshall took a huge thump with a couple of minutes to go. He passed the doctor's tests to be able to stay on the pitch, but 10 mins later when he was being interviewed by the Beeb, you'd have got more sense from a two year old full up on Red Bull.

Post by: johnneycool on October 06, 2015, 11:15:52 AM
Got knocked spark out playing Wexford in a friendly, myself and a big FF had a bit of a disagreement a few minutes prior to the incident when running back towards my own goals, picked up the ball, and somehow turned directly into the putt of his hurl and don't remember much other than the physio standing over me laughing at how well I'd flipped right over. The big hoor got me some dig.

Couldn't play on and came off. I didn't sleep a wink that night, bit nauseous throughout and to make matters worse was meant to play against Dublin hurlers in a Walsh cup game the next day in Portmarnock, but told management I didn't feel right. Took it upon myself to go into the Dublin dressing room and their doctor had a look at me and told me he thought I'd mild concussion and a few stitches required.
Thank f**k I didn't play as a young Conal Keaney was running riot that day.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on October 06, 2015, 11:29:17 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2015, 11:07:50 AM

Or he might have just said he wasn't coming off, regardless of medical advice. 

Ronan tried to get up and was immediately unsteady on his feet and went to ground again. Both umpires and the Maghery goalkeeper and full back signaled urgently to the line. He received medical assistance and I was sure he was going to come off. However to my surprise he eventually played on and I subsequently heard it was because Ronan insisted on remaining on the field. His team, Pearse Og, were getting hammered at the time and he was their one and only threat up front.
Post by: BennyCake on October 06, 2015, 11:52:52 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on October 06, 2015, 11:29:17 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2015, 11:07:50 AM

Or he might have just said he wasn't coming off, regardless of medical advice. 

Ronan tried to get up and was immediately unsteady on his feet and went to ground again. Both umpires and the Maghery goalkeeper and full back signaled urgently to the line. He received medical assistance and I was sure he was going to come off. However to my surprise he eventually played on and I subsequently heard it was because Ronan insisted on remaining on the field. His team, Pearse Og, were getting hammered at the time and he was their one and only threat up front.

I thought there was protocols in place that took the decision out of the players hands? Like AOS in 2014 semi replay v Kerry.
Post by: Keyser soze on October 06, 2015, 12:28:36 PM
Had 3 concussions in my time. I think they ere cumulative too as it appears to be easier to sustain one after having had previous ones. Been through the hilarious not remembering anything, though I can remember not remembering if you know what I mean.
Post by: twohands!!! on October 06, 2015, 01:02:33 PM
I think that it has gotten a lot better the last few years in the GAA (and I'd say that some part of this is due to the issue in rugby) and the vast majority have moved past the "ah just a bang on the head, you'll be grand to play on" attitude.

On rugby I remember talking to a medical professional involved with one of the Irish provinces a few years back and he frightened me the stuff he came out with - even aside from concussion, the impact on professionals' bones and joints mean there is going to be carnage down the line in terms of stuff like hip replacements. He was saying that the sport with most in common was the NFL and he said that even there with much shorter professional careers the damage done to the players bodies was immense. After talking to him you'd almost feel a bit guilty even watching rugby on the TV now. He's moved away from the whole rugby area since and I have the notion that he has concerns about the whole pro rugby thing and the damage being done to the first generation of professionals in order to earn a living.
Post by: Declan on October 06, 2015, 01:26:05 PM
QuoteHe's moved away from the whole rugby area since and I have the notion that he has concerns about the whole pro rugby thing and the damage being done to the first generation of professionals in order to earn a living.

Yep sure didn't BOD basically say they were guinea pigs in terms of the impact it could have  on their futures?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2015, 01:50:49 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on October 06, 2015, 12:28:36 PM
Had 3 concussions in my time. I think they ere cumulative too as it appears to be easier to sustain one after having had previous ones. Been through the hilarious not remembering anything, though I can remember not remembering if you know what I mean.

i think there might be something to that. Certainly the concussions I had seemed to be for less serious collisions each time. The first one was a right hopper of the ground, the second was a head to head collision but nothing crazy, and the third was minor.
Post by: twohands!!! on October 06, 2015, 02:49:59 PM
Quote from: Declan on October 06, 2015, 01:26:05 PM
QuoteHe's moved away from the whole rugby area since and I have the notion that he has concerns about the whole pro rugby thing and the damage being done to the first generation of professionals in order to earn a living.

Yep sure didn't BOD basically say they were guinea pigs in terms of the impact it could have  on their futures?

Yeah - one thing is that at least with his parents (both doctors) BOD would have some idea of the risks he was taking. However I'd imagine for a lot of the first generation of professionals there was no real idea that they were risking serious long-term health issues.
Anecdotally I'd imagine amongst current OAPs, that those who played a serious amount of GAA are those with the highest number of bone and joint issues - the number of older/retired GAA lads who've had to have their hips done ot have similar issues is only phenomenal I'd say. My dad has issues with his joints and every time I take him to the specialist he seems to meet someone he played with or against. And that was well before the days of strength and conditioning and proper fitness and taking pain-killers to play though the pain. Really wouldnt be surprised if in a generation of two the rugby of nowadays is looked back on like boxing is viewed now.

The fact that BOD's uncle quit the IRB because he felt that the rugby authorities weren't doing enough to deal with the whole concussion issue is a massive red flag for me about rugby's attitude to the issue. A lot of the folk who seemed to be grand with the current status quo in rugby are those who have an awful lot invested in there not being any problems. Seems to be a fair bit of crossing the fingers and hoping for the best, which really isn't what you want with an issue of this nature.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 06, 2015, 03:11:23 PM
I still coach rugby and the guidelines are simple if you suspect a player has a concussion you remove him straight away, it's now built into the laws that if the referee suspects concussion he can remove the player.

Pretty much like helmets in hurling, mouth guards in rugby and GAA once consequences are known it makes it a lot easier to change the culture and common sense prevails. You will also have noticed in the WC that foul play around high tackles, shoulder hits towards the neck and head and head grabs in mauls are been picked up and punished immediately or citings are occurring.

The amateur game will be fine, the professional game though is results driven and if anyone saw Any Give Sunday and Laurance Taylor's character that's where professional rugby is heading, coaches want their best players on the pitch, players want to be on the pitch and medical teams will make that happen. As Paul Kimmage has highlighted Professional Rugby is about pain management and reducing recovery times. To become a Professional athlete in any sport you have a will to succeed and to be a winner, most athletes will do almost anything to be out on a pitch/track competing at the highest level. How do you change that culture?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2015, 03:34:32 PM
True Dinny. Actually I was very impressed in Thomond Park on Friday night. Don't know if you saw it on TV, but Felix Jones got tackled coming out side the Munster 22, and he got absolutely blasted. His head flew back and when he got off the ground he just didn't look right. He wasn't all over the place, or wobbly or anything, but he looked a bit 'off'.

I said it to the brother in law, and no sooner had I the words said than Dr. O'Sullivan was out, talking to him and he basically dragged him off the pitch and down the tunnel for concussion protocols. He never appeared for the second half, so Dr. O'Sullivan was obviously right. Felix was, as you mention, adamant he was staying on, and he wasn't happy when he was brought off, but I thought it was fantastic out of the Munster medical team.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 06, 2015, 03:51:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 06, 2015, 03:34:32 PM
True Dinny. Actually I was very impressed in Thomond Park on Friday night. Don't know if you saw it on TV, but Felix Jones got tackled coming out side the Munster 22, and he got absolutely blasted. His head flew back and when he got off the ground he just didn't look right. He wasn't all over the place, or wobbly or anything, but he looked a bit 'off'.

I said it to the brother in law, and no sooner had I the words said than Dr. O'Sullivan was out, talking to him and he basically dragged him off the pitch and down the tunnel for concussion protocols. He never appeared for the second half, so Dr. O'Sullivan was obviously right. Felix was, as you mention, adamant he was staying on, and he wasn't happy when he was brought off, but I thought it was fantastic out of the Munster medical team.

No I didn't see that but that's brilliant to hear, players really can be their own worst enemies.
Post by: winghalfun on October 06, 2015, 05:47:33 PM
Was there not a motion at congress this year to deal with this issue?

How far did it get?
Post by: 5 Sams on October 06, 2015, 07:28:46 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2015, 10:47:09 AM
I got a junior B concussion. As you can imagine, it was handled with the greatest medical attention.

That morning I banged my head on the window sill while painting.

Drove from Belfast to Newry to play the Mitchels, and soon afterwards lined out in my usual 13 jersey (it was either 13 or 23 for me). Scored a point early enough, then couldn't get into the game at all - but as we had no subs I knew I would still be clear to rack up a bit of black type behind my name in the second half.

Shortly after half time, based on what people told me (I've no recollection), a ball went into the corridor of uncertainty, and I elected to try to head it into the net, and in doing so I shipped a heavy knock on the head. Lay down for 30 seconds, then got up and at it. Allegedly I played a blinder for 10 minutes or so, when I decided to take myself out to midfield and drive the team forward (I still don't believe that bit). Then I lay down in the midfield area and decided to go for a wee sleep. The reserve management duo (including 5 Sams), got me revived enough to drag me over to the side of the field, where I lay down and came in and out of silly talk and sleep for 10 minutes.

I do remember the final whistle going. I'll never forget that sound, for it also seemed to put me back into sound mind.

Except, I'd no memory of anything that happened that day. Didn't remember playing football, didn't remember coming from Belfast. My hands were covered in a yellow paint, and I'd absolutely no recollection of painting the house that morning. It took one of the players who I'd been chatting to before the game, to put that piece of the jigsaw together. And over the course of the next few hours, more of the lights started to come on.

Weird shit. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Ha ha. Love it. Junior B concussion.  ;D ;D Remember it well. We just thought you were still pissed from the night before!
Post by: Declan on October 06, 2015, 09:26:10 PM
AZ /Dinny  - I thought the last sentence of the programme the other night was telling  when Conor O'Shea posed the hypothetical question re Paulie getting a knock in the head on the Tuesday before a WC final and would he play. I must admit listening to Dr McLaughlin from the IRFU on the programme I would 't have huge confidence in the right decision being made
Post by: ONeill on October 06, 2015, 10:24:33 PM
St Gall's had three players concussed during their All-Ireland final win. Was talking to one who said it was like playing in black and white.

Was also talking to a doctor who said the concussed player can easily play the next 20 mins or so as if they're ok - just going through the motions without actually doing anything with the ball.
Post by: snoopdog on October 06, 2015, 11:00:58 PM
Quote from: Declan on October 06, 2015, 09:26:10 PM
AZ /Dinny  - I thought the last sentence of the programme the other night was telling  when Conor O'Shea posed the hypothetical question re Paulie getting a knock in the head on the Tuesday before a WC final and would he play. I must admit listening to Dr McLaughlin from the IRFU on the programme I would 't have huge confidence in the right decision being made

I agree,  no disrespect to the man but he sounded like a yes man.
Post by: BenDover on October 07, 2015, 08:22:54 AM
I got this email re an ELEARNING CONCUSSION AWARENESS COURSE.

The above course is available to complete at learning.gaa.ie

When you enter the GAA Learning and Development portal you will need to register onto the system. This will take around 2 minutes and will require you to forward enter an email address and a password.

You will only have to do this once. Every time you revisit the site you will be asked to input your email and password.

Once registered click into the section Coach Education. (on your left hand side)

Then click into Ulster.

Then click into Armagh.

Then click Armagh Elearning Courses.

Then click the course which is named Armagh Concussion.
Post by: Hound on October 07, 2015, 09:15:18 AM
Here's a clip of the All Ireland final from 2013

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hC7Wa1slbiU

Go to 4.30, and check out Ger Brennan's late point for Dublin.
As the ball is going over the bar, watch the Dublin player who runs into the Mayo box. He'd got a good bang to the head earlier and I don't think he'd any clue where he was at that stage!
Post by: AZOffaly on October 07, 2015, 09:49:00 AM
Alan Brogan against Mayo seemed to get an awful bang as well, and it seemed to slip under the radar and I think he played the replay.
Post by: Declan on October 07, 2015, 01:13:09 PM

Rory O'Carroll has called for a change in attitudes towards head injuries.

The Dublin full back famously played on with concussion in the 2013 All-Ireland final against Mayo but he accepts that this was a mistake.

Speaking at the launch of Acquired Brain Injury Ireland's new smartphone app, Concussion Smart, O'Carroll said: "I suppose it was because it was the All-Ireland final and we had no substitutes left. I was recognised as concussion.
"It is about changing the culture. I was so determined to convince the doctor that I was okay, and the referee.

"The GAA and the rugby as well are seen as the bastion of masculinity within Ireland. When you play with a head injury and if you are bleeding and have a bandage wrapped around your head, you are seen as more of a man.

"The concussion or the blood injury are seen as a badge of honour. It's about kind of changing that culture, a shift, to use your head in these decisions. It isn't a badge of honour; it's a medical issue which could affect your life into the future."
Post by: Jinxy on October 07, 2015, 01:36:39 PM

This is pretty standard junior B behaviour.
Are you sure you had a concussion?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 07, 2015, 01:40:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 07, 2015, 01:36:39 PM

This is pretty standard junior B behaviour.
Are you sure you had a concussion?

It is funny, but it's an awful brain scrambler.  My first exposure to concussion was an U13 Leinster blitz up in Dublin. We had just played a semi final, and were waiting for the other semi to be played to see who we'd be playing. Then we noticed one of our lads, who had got a belt in the game but played on, crawling around on all fours, scrabbling with his hands on the dirt. We asked him what he was doing and he said 'What do you think? I'm getting a towel out of the hotpress to go for a swim'
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2015, 02:29:22 PM
Aaron Kernan was concussed yesterday.

The implications of bad concussion are really unthinkable

http://www.abiireland.ie/
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 27, 2018, 09:11:54 PM
Feely took a nasty knee in the head from MacCauly and never looked right after it today. It is an area where the GAA needs to offer players more protection and punish clumsiness.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 27, 2018, 09:43:09 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 27, 2018, 09:11:54 PM
Feely took a nasty knee in the head from MacCauly and never looked right after it today. It is an area where the GAA needs to offer players more protection and punish clumsiness.

He got an elbow then a knee in quick succession, if that was a rugby match the ref would have ordered him off. Kildare doc didn't look happy.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 27, 2018, 09:46:15 PM
As i said they can be quite clumsy at times for such excellent athletes.
Post by: BennyCake on April 13, 2018, 11:24:06 PM
Anyone got a link to what to look out for with concussion? Think there might have been a Gaelic Life article once but can't locate it.

A relative's youngster got a blow to the head, discharged from hospital. Just want to know what they should look out for over the next few days.
Post by: oakleafgael on April 14, 2018, 12:06:36 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 13, 2018, 11:24:06 PM
Anyone got a link to what to look out for with concussion? Think there might have been a Gaelic Life article once but can't locate it.

A relative's youngster got a blow to the head, discharged from hospital. Just want to know what they should look out for over the next few days.

http://learning.gaa.ie/Concussion
Post by: Cunny Funt on November 23, 2018, 12:55:48 PM
20 year old Roscommon footballer Conor Shanagher forced to retire. http://hoganstand.com/Roscommon/Article/Index/292879
Post by: Rossfan on November 24, 2018, 10:38:57 AM
Tough on the young lad but health and well being come first.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 25, 2018, 11:17:56 AM
Remarkable young man. 

https://www.the42.ie/conor-shanagher-roscommon-u20-gaa-retired-six-concussions-4357561-Nov2018/?fbclid=IwAR1LPdE0Lf3Bjmgz5R9zQRD7DIFadyYh7wOlbGcxMjay6dRyqXUQteXY8wA
Post by: manfromdelmonte on November 25, 2018, 12:36:01 PM
Are there more accidental concussions now?
Or is it because more players have extra bulk and players are moving at higher speeds?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 12, 2019, 01:06:43 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/cormac-bane--i-am-not-functioning-properly-since-i-got-these-two-bangs-930195.html (https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/cormac-bane--i-am-not-functioning-properly-since-i-got-these-two-bangs-930195.html)

There is a total lack of education surrounding concussion at GAA club level, according to former Galway footballer Cormac Bane, who has been forced to hang up his boots at the age of 35 following two bangs to the face which have considerably hindered the quality of his everyday life.

A message from Bane, posted on social media by his club, Caherlistrane, on Monday evening, outlined that medical advice has dictated he retire from the game with immediate effect.

"Hi guys, a disappointing day for me today. On medical grounds, I have to announce my retirement from football," he wrote.

"A serious and prolonged concussion injury last year has been followed by a similar one sustained versus Carraroe. Doctors have said that I can't continue. I just want to thank you all for your support and kind messages over the years. I really appreciated it."

Calling time on his 20-year adult playing career with Caherlistrane wasn't as difficult a decision as you might think. In truth, there was no decision at all. Bane has a wife and two children who rely on him. And as he was told by the consultant last week, a third blow would mean long-term memory loss, seizures, more severe mood swings, and, possibly, epilepsy.

"I was in a lift at work on Monday, I wanted to go to floor three, but I ended up going to the wrong floor. I'd be taking phone calls as part of my job and after I'd put down the phone, I'd have forgotten what the person said to me," Bane told the Irish Examiner yesterday, laying bare the implications of two separate concussions.

I am chatting to you now and it is going fine, but I could meet someone in five minutes' time, not be expecting to run into them, and I'll struggle to engage. It just doesn't come naturally anymore.

"Last week, I went down to the shop, but to get there, I had to cross the road. It is a quiet road but crossing was a bit of an issue for me. There were no cars coming, but it took me a couple of seconds to make the decision that you can go now. As I was crossing, I felt I was running across as I couldn't process what was going on.

"I feel worse today than I did the day after I got the second bang two-and-a-half weeks ago. All of this makes me uncomfortable. I am not functioning properly since I got these two bangs."

Bane has been playing adult club football for Caherlistrane since 1999 and yet it wasn't on the GAA field that he suffered his first brain injury. After stepping away from the inter-county scene in 2012, following seven seasons in the maroon shirt, during which he made 18 championship appearances, he threw his lot in with Corrib Rugby Club during the winter months to keep himself ticking over ahead of the GAA season starting back.

Full-back or centre is where he preferred lining out, but in February last year, he found himself at out-half as Corrib took on NUIG. Early in the second half, and having kicked possession downfield, Bane was "absolutely nailed" with an elbow to the face. After getting back to his feet and dusting himself down, the former Galway forward saw out proceedings.

But, as can be the case with a concussion, the symptoms were delayed in presenting themselves.

"When I got home, I started to struggle, didn't know where I was, got headaches, got dizzy, became nauseous," recalled Bane.

"I went into the doctor on the Thursday after, four days later. He said I was suffering concussion. After he did me up a letter of referral, we got talking about a Galway-Mayo game that had happened the previous weekend. Halfway through the conversation, I forgot what we were talking about. I said, 'Doc, I am after having a total blackout'."

From the doctor's surgery, he made for the Galway Clinic, where he spent a full week. The man who won a Connacht SFC medal from corner- forward in 2008, having kicked 2-1 the year previous to topple Mayo in a provincial semi-final, was six months sidelined due to this concussion.

He returned last September and didn't experience any difficulty until the first round of the Galway SFC on the final Saturday of last month.

"In the first minute against An CheathrĂș Rua, I got the ball, went to take on my man, and got a bang in the face. When I got up, I stumbled backwards. I said to myself, I'm in trouble here again. That was my last bit of football.

"Afterwards, I was standing at the car outside Clonbur GAA grounds and my brother went back in to get the keys as I couldn't drive. He was gone for all of 25 seconds, but during that time, I completely lost my bearings, didn't know where my brother had gone, didn't know which car was mine, didn't know where I was. I had to lean against the car because I was falling backwards. Next day, I felt I had to bang my head off the wall the pressure was so bad."

There followed more visits to the doctor and consultant, both informing him that he was putting himself at risk if he went back inside the whitewash.

"The depression last year and the depression since I got the latest bang is not good. It is linked in with the mood swings. You are up one minute and the next minute, for no reason at all, you are down." What concerns him is that the GAA community are not aware of such dangers stemming from concussion. Certainly, Bane wasn't until it twice landed on his doorstep. More must be done to educate club players, he believes.

"There are posters up around clubhouses in Galway and elsewhere detailing the symptoms of concussion. But a poster is not an education. We're way behind where we should be in relation to concussion education.

I don't believe concussion is taken seriously enough. The reason for that is people involved in the GAA, at club level, don't know enough about concussion.

The perception out there is that, after a bang to the head, you'll be grand a day or two later.

"I'm having conversations with people, telling them I'm concussed, and then they'll ask me, 'When are you back playing?' So you really have to explain to them what is wrong with you. You have to tell them, I cannot drive my car to work, I cannot carry out my functions as a father.

"What I've gone through, I wouldn't wish it on anyone."
Post by: grounded on April 28, 2023, 08:12:51 AM
Resurrecting this thread as i thought this was relevant.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-65397908

' Anyone with suspected concussion must be immediately removed from football, rugby and other sports and rest for at least 24 hours, under new guidance for grassroots clubs.

It says the NHS 111 help-line should be called and players should not return to competitive sport for at least 21 days.

The 21 day rule is probably the headline grabber. Not particular new news if you look at the previous report from Scotland in 2015.

Post by: Mourne Red on April 28, 2023, 08:17:03 AM
Quote from: grounded on April 28, 2023, 08:12:51 AM

' Anyone with suspected concussion must be immediately removed from football, rugby and other sports and rest for at least 24 hours, under new guidance for grassroots clubs.

It says the NHS 111 help-line should be called and players should not return to competitive sport for at least 21 days.

The 21 day rule is probably the headline grabber. Not particular new news if you look at the previous report from Scotland in 2015.

GAA already have concussion guidelines in place - https://antrim.gaa.ie/assets/documents/concussion/GAA-Concussion-Management-Guidelines-2013-2016-Amended-Jan-2015.pdf

Was made to follow the above by our club physio when I got concussed a couple years ago.
Post by: grounded on April 28, 2023, 09:00:42 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on April 28, 2023, 08:17:03 AM
Quote from: grounded on April 28, 2023, 08:12:51 AM

GAA already have concussion guidelines in place - https://antrim.gaa.ie/assets/documents/concussion/GAA-Concussion-Management-Guidelines-2013-2016-Amended-Jan-2015.pdf

Was made to follow the above by our club physio when I got concussed a couple years ago.

Yes, the GAA has already got an excellent information/guidelines on concussion.
    The more upto date guidelines are here

https://learning.gaa.ie/concussion

The 21 day no play rule is probably rhe most significant difference between the 2
Post by: twohands!!! on April 28, 2023, 11:31:04 AM
I still think the GAA should be doing more on this front.

While the problem in GAA looks to be a lot better than the situation in rugby or the NFL, the situation in both of those is so horrific and the stories of the players affected are so bad that the GAA should be hammering home the importance of this issue.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41126191.html

This article on hurling would seem to indicate there is room for improvement by the GAA.

QuoteAnalysing 82 inter-county hurling games across 2018 and '19, 183 potential concussion events (PCEs) were identified by author Mario Rotundo of Ulster University

That's an average of more than 2 potential concussion events (PCEs) in every game, which seems high to me especially compared to the number of times that players seem to be assessed properly.
Post by: AustinPowers on April 02, 2024, 09:47:36 PM
Different sport but  important nonetheless

Raphael Varane and concussion

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/68713327