Your Christmas family traditions, customs and memories

Started by AustinPowers, December 01, 2024, 12:17:20 AM

AustinPowers

Well, it's now  December, so we're allowed to talk about Christmas

We were just  talking about memories of past Christmas's and  the traditions/routines etc  that was part of your  family growing up , or with your own family/kids  now.

One tradition we  had in our house was on Christmas Eve, my Mother  would cook  the turkey.  With the   smell wafting  through the house all evening, you couldn't go to bed without tasting it. So, my  Dad would always wait up for a turkey sandwich. As we  got Older, we all followed  the tradition.

So, it wouldn't be  Christmas Eve  without our  warm turkey and stuffing sandwich.  Forget the Christmas Day dinner. The Christmas Eve turkey sandwich was  the real deal.

We've followed  that tradition in all our homes , and  we raise a drink and a sandwich in memory   of our Dad on Christmas Eve.

A good memory I have  of Christmas Eve  is of people calling to the house. Aunts, uncles, cousins, neighbours. Some before, some   after mass. The people  that was all around you growing up,  some of them gone now.   Sad to think of all the changes   the years have brought. But it's  another happy  memory when I  think of Christmas Eve.

What about  your own  Christmas traditions , customs or  just good/funny  memories?

Similar to that.

Then at about 9 we were ushered to bed and it sounded like the monster of all parties started at around 10pm Christmas Eve. Open door policy.

Christmas day was presents (selection box, colouring in and the odd thing like a football or a spaceship), dinner around 1. Trivial Pursuits around 6.

Christmas Eve takes much less time now the children are bigger as there is no building of toys and much less inserting of batteries. Sort of miss it a bit having a few drinks whilst building f**king toys til about 2am

Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 12:26:54 AMChristmas Eve takes much less time now the children are bigger as there is no building of toys and much less inserting of batteries. Sort of miss it a bit having a few drinks whilst building f**king toys til about 2am

Remember passing up Smyths Store charging €10 to assemble two Bicycles (€20 in all). Jez, it must have been 3am before I got them near being okay!

Nanderson

Quote from: From the Bunker on December 01, 2024, 01:03:11 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 12:26:54 AMChristmas Eve takes much less time now the children are bigger as there is no building of toys and much less inserting of batteries. Sort of miss it a bit having a few drinks whilst building f**king toys til about 2am

Remember passing up Smyths Store charging €10 to assemble two Bicycles (€20 in all). Jez, it must have been 3am before I got them near being okay!
"Sorry kids, Santa may be magical and all but he's no mechanic"

We had the open door policy at mine for a long time on Xmas eve, covid stopped it and I'm kinda glad as getting some feckers to leave was hard work!

Building stuff was mental and arranging the toys on the sofa was some craic at 2 am knowing you are up at 5!

Now we do the family Xmas for her ones, again covid and illness has hampered things but hopefully this year it's smoother than previous

She's been practicing the roasties carrots parsnips and gravy recently.

If I'm being honest though I'd prefer a chicken to turkey for dinner. But hey ho the turkey will be in the oven on Xmas eve. The kids will be home and it's the longest time of the year I'm off, so not good for my waistline.

AustinPowers

Where do we all stand  on  having Christmas crackers at  the dinner table?

And more importantly, do  ye wear the paper hats?

I always do, even  if I'm the  only one wearing one. What's  the point in having them otherwise?

Duine Inteacht Eile

Having read both your posts on this thread I'm convinced you are me.

Quote from: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 09:31:44 PMWhere do we all stand  on  having Christmas crackers at  the dinner table?

I always do, even  if I'm the  only one wearing one. What's  the point in having them otherwise?
Mandatory. I have a large head and I'm from a long line of large headed people, so more often than not they're ripped. Still maintain that competitive edge with the crackers and sneak a grip of the "barrel". Usually a row over it.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 09:35:48 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 09:31:44 PMWhere do we all stand  on  having Christmas crackers at  the dinner table?

Mandatory. I have a large head and I'm from a long line of large headed people, so more often than not they're ripped. Still maintain that competitive edge with the crackers and sneak a grip of the "barrel". Usually a row over it.

There are people who don't adopt this approach out there?  Absolutely hold the barrel and definitely wear the hate! 

1 present on Christmas Eve is a something that has developed in recent years.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 01, 2024, 09:35:40 PMHaving read both your posts on this thread I'm convinced you are me.

That sounds like  something I would have said.

I'll never do the tie on the head at a wedding, but the paper hat seems impossible to prevent, unless sober.