Your Christmas family traditions, customs and memories

Started by AustinPowers, December 01, 2024, 12:17:20 AM

Quote from: JoG2 on December 09, 2024, 10:27:56 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 09, 2024, 12:42:13 PMAh Jog.. . And we were getting on so well lol,

I will offer a stay of execution as they don't be on social media, Christmas spirit n all that 🤝

It was weighing me down too much, needed to share  :-[

It's ok. Just. But no more revelations I beg

My dad, God rest him, used to go soo slow on Xmas morn just to annoy hell out of us as we would all go down together,a traditional I've proudly carried on at much amusement to myself 😎😎

Look-Up!

https://www.thejournal.ie/live-animal-crib-dublin-green-party-6569402-Dec2024/

At least common sense won over this time with this tradition. That Nara spokesperson sounds like a right laugh.

Quote from: Look-Up! on December 12, 2024, 02:13:09 PMhttps://www.thejournal.ie/live-animal-crib-dublin-green-party-6569402-Dec2024/

At least common sense won over this time with this tradition. That Nara spokesperson sounds like a right laugh.

Driving the animals back and forth from Wicklow to city centre every evening and morning? That's just cruelty. Put a feckin statue in there. It's not like Jesus Christ himself is in there too.

Quote from: weareros on December 12, 2024, 03:05:30 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on December 12, 2024, 02:13:09 PMhttps://www.thejournal.ie/live-animal-crib-dublin-green-party-6569402-Dec2024/

Driving the animals back and forth from Wicklow to city centre every evening and morning? That's just cruelty. Put a feckin statue in there. It's not like Jesus Christ himself is in there too.

Of course he isn't in there, that'll happen on Christmas day.

Do you know nothing about cribs?

AustinPowers

Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 04:52:12 PM

Of course he isn't in there, that'll happen on Christmas day.

Do you know nothing about cribs?

I have to remind my mother about  that every year.  But it just seems  strange, all these  people and animals standing around doing nothing   for a month

gawa316

Crackers like hen's teeth here in the states. We head to the rich cousins for Christmas eve (usually on the 23rd) and they always have the crackers sourced...real good ones as well with funny jokes, trivia and/or interesting facts, and metal trinkets, none of that plastic shite! But in saying all that...the feckin savages pull their own crackers!! My kids know better as I've taught them well. You have to learn to lose in life and that starts with the old Christmas crackers. Oh and paper hats are worn regardless of own opinion on the matter.

Look-Up!

I'd say it's a lot tougher for the drivers than the animals.

AustinPowers

Any  Christmas films/TV shows you or the  family would religiously watch at  Christmas?

I would have to watch  Scrooged and Home Alone if they were on. I can't help it . Watched  Nativity  the last few  years as well. Great wee film 

Oh and the Father Ted  Christmas special.  "And now, we  move on to liars...."  ;D

Used to take the kids to QFT for Xmas movie night, home alone always gets a turn, but my favourite Xmas movie is Jimmy Stewart's It's a Wonderful life, and they refuse to watch it, cause it's in black and white!

Aristo 60

Quote from: AustinPowers on December 14, 2024, 01:38:33 AMAny  Christmas films/TV shows you or the  family would religiously watch at  Christmas?

I would have to watch  Scrooged and Home Alone if they were on. I can't help it . Watched  Nativity  the last few  years as well. Great wee film 

Oh and the Father Ted  Christmas special.  "And now, we  move on to liars...."  ;D

One thing about Scrooged that struck me recently is that the visions presented by the ghosts, and particularly the future ghost, are extremely short. The ghost of Christmas future shows the future in a sequence of no more than 1.5 mins.

Substandard

The Christmas card game on Christmas night.  It felt like a real rite of passage being called to the table with the grandfathers and uncles, playing 25, a game that's sadly dying out, it would seem.
Jesus,  it was like a bear pit at first though- you'd be absolutely scalded if you played wrong!!😅
 I'm still not sure if it was character-building or traumatising!!

Quote from: Substandard on December 14, 2024, 09:55:25 PMThe Christmas card game on Christmas night.  It felt like a real rite of passage being called to the table with the grandfathers and uncles, playing 25, a game that's sadly dying out, it would seem.
Jesus,  it was like a bear pit at first though- you'd be absolutely scalded if you played wrong!!😅

Oh yes you'd be eaten alive if you threw down the 5 of Trumps, thinking you were great, when someone else's card was already beating the person on 20.

Substandard

Quote from: weareros on December 14, 2024, 11:30:43 PM
Quote from: Substandard on December 14, 2024, 09:55:25 PMThe Christmas card game on Christmas night.  It felt like a real rite of passage being called to the table with the grandfathers and uncles, playing 25, a game that's sadly dying out, it would seem.

Oh yes you'd be eaten alive if you threw down the 5 of Trumps, thinking you were great, when someone else's card was already beating the person on 20.

As said in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas,  grim memories and bad flashbacks!!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2024, 09:02:34 AMUsed to take the kids to QFT for Xmas movie night, home alone always gets a turn, but my favourite Xmas movie is Jimmy Stewart's It's a Wonderful life, and they refuse to watch it, cause it's in black and white!

What about the colour version?