GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on June 22, 2016, 07:00:11 AM

Title: Connacht minor championship
Post by: sligoman2 on June 22, 2016, 07:00:11 AM
Haven't heard much about this to be honest but I know we play Roscommon on Saturday and the winners play 4 days later.  I saw Roscommon hammer us back in March when we were without the summerhill lads.  I know we have some good players and should be able to give Roscommon a good test.  I assume it's Mayo and Leitrim in the semis.
Has anyone watched any challenges or have any news or predictions for this competition?  Personally I think it should be played on a league basis with the top two teams going to the final as one and done is unfair given the amount of time spent preparing for this, or else a backdoor system like the senior teams.
Title: Re: Connacht minor championship
Post by: Itchy on June 22, 2016, 09:44:56 AM
Maybe not playing the whole Connacht championship off in 10 days would be a good idea too.
Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2016, 11:04:23 AM
True Itchy.
It's a disgrace asking lads to play 2 massive games in 5 days.
No reason to have the Minor Final on with the Senior one at all.
Have an U16 Ted Webb game between Ros and one of the Galways.
We won the Connacht NFL mainly due to the results on the last day.
We hammered Mayowestros, gave Sligo a good trimming but could only draw with Longford and got well bet by Galway so no real guide there.
Sligo gave us an awful batin last year so while we have a better side thus year am not that hopeful.
Post by: barking mad on June 22, 2016, 11:27:13 PM
Think the tribesmen will come out of connaught draw good to them as well
Pure shambles having to play 3 days later for ros and Sligo
Professionals aren't asked to do it in euros and they have 17 and 18 year olds training guts of 7 months for a comp to be made into a farce.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2016, 11:38:27 PM
Who is the clowns behind that ridiculous scheduling?
Post by: moysider on June 23, 2016, 01:19:14 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 22, 2016, 11:04:23 AM
True Itchy.
It's a disgrace asking lads to play 2 massive games in 5 days.
No reason to have the Minor Final on with the Senior one at all.
Have an U16 Ted Webb game between Ros and one of the Galways.
We won the Connacht NFL mainly due to the results on the last day.
We hammered Mayowestros, gave Sligo a good trimming but could only draw with Longford and got well bet by Galway so no real guide there.
Sligo gave us an awful batin last year so while we have a better side thus year am not that hopeful.

Mayo will be interesting. Nobody from Ballina, Crossmolina, Ardnaree, Knockmore in the squad even though Ballina college were in last 4 of Connacht A championship. Had a great win over St. Jarlaths and their best players were minor. Players just dropped out for some reason or other. Leaving cert was an issue but..... Maybe the reality that many of the 2013 team have suffered chronic injuries is an issue as well? It appears to be a hard slog for several months for young lads for possibly/probably one game.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 23, 2016, 08:04:46 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2016, 11:38:27 PM
Who is the clowns behind that ridiculous scheduling?
head clown is from Ballyhaunis.
Post by: Rossfan on June 23, 2016, 11:05:47 AM
And the elected delegates from the Counties seem to be total sheep.......
Post by: larryin89 on June 23, 2016, 11:15:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 23, 2016, 11:05:47 AM
And the elected delegates from the Counties seem to be total sheep.......

Like all delegates , don't even know what purpose they serve at CB level tbh. (In Mayo anyway)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 23, 2016, 11:36:13 AM
delegates really only worked when there was no full time staff who dictate policy and run the show

full time staff is where the real power lies in any organisation with the volunteer delegates only rubber stamping the decisions the full time staff have already taken
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 23, 2016, 02:04:41 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 22, 2016, 07:00:11 AM
Haven't heard much about this to be honest but I know we play Roscommon on Saturday and the winners play 4 days later.  I saw Roscommon hammer us back in March when we were without the summerhill lads.  I know we have some good players and should be able to give Roscommon a good test.  I assume it's Mayo and Leitrim in the semis.
Has anyone watched any challenges or have any news or predictions for this competition?  Personally I think it should be played on a league basis with the top two teams going to the final as one and done is unfair given the amount of time spent preparing for this, or else a backdoor system like the senior teams.

Good idea, there's certainly an element of the luck of the draw here currently and especially with no backdoor system its a bit unfair.
Post by: Syferus on June 23, 2016, 05:57:15 PM
Hopefully the minors exact revenge for last year as the seniors did a few weeks ago. Big ask for the winners to beat a fancied and rested Galway the next Wednesday. This is a great competition and jamming it together like this is nonsense. If the timing was this bad the first round could have been played in May before the LC, the Leinster championship starts in March/April ffs.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2016, 01:03:12 PM
Two teams named for tonight's game.

Sligo

1 Eamonn Kilgannon St. Farnan's
2 Brian Cox Calry/St.Joseph's
3 Adrian Cummins Calry/St.Joseph's
4 Brian Mahon Owenmore Gaels
5 Stephen Mulligan St. Mary's
6 Rory McHugh Easkey
7 Luke Towey St. Molaise Gaels
8 Mikey Gordon Easkey
9 Patrick O'Connor (Capt) St. Farnan's
10 Sean Carrabine Castleconnor
11 Liam Gaughan Tourlestrane
12 Evan Lavin Eastern Harps
13 Gerard Perry Tubbercurry
14 Conan Marren Tourlestrane
15 Daíre Kearns Shamrock Gaels

Roscommon

1 Liam Cregg Michael Glaveys
2 Adam Whyte St Ciarans
3 Aidan Dowd Western Gaels
4 Damien Duff Clann na nGael
5 Lorcan Daly Padraig Pearses
6 Sean Fallon Clann na nGael
7 James Fetherstone Roscommon Gaels
8 Luke Mollahan Elphin
9 Conor Shanagher Kilbride
10 Keith Murphy Strokestown
11 Daniel Glynn Padraig Pearses
12 Michael McGloin St Dominics
13 Cathal Heneghan Michael Glaveys
14 Ciaran Lennon Clann na nGael
15 Cian McKeon Boyle
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2016, 01:05:57 PM
Staff party in Bray last night but up at the crack of dawn to make the train home for the match. Jaysis amn't I mighty.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 25, 2016, 02:36:16 PM
Great to see 5 of the starting fifteen are from the west division.  Well done to Easkey, Farnans and castleconnor.  We need players from all over the county and this certainly is encouraging.  I would expect us to give Roscommon a hard game and am predicting a close win for us.   Conan Marren at 6ft 5 will make an impact at full forward and is minor again next year.  We have a very talented forward line, and seem to have a well balanced team.  I know Roscommon are good but think we can take this one.

Will this be a rosexit or a sliexit?
Post by: galwayman on June 25, 2016, 08:35:04 PM
Ros 0-14 Sligo 2-7 ft.

We play Ros now on Wednesday evening in the semi final.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 25, 2016, 08:36:06 PM
Congrats Roscommon.  Well done ref another shambles by a ref.  Ross won with last kick of the game.

I'm sick of shit referring
Post by: galwayman on June 25, 2016, 08:48:51 PM
The game Wednesday is at a Roacommon venue is it?
Think the last time we played it was in Tuam in 2012
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2016, 08:52:49 PM
Kiltoom 7:30pm.

Some drama. Great bravery by Lorcan Daly to go for the winner. No expectations for Wednesday because we will need a performance on a level far beyond what we showed tonight to have a chance.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 25, 2016, 10:11:27 PM
Good gutsy win, improvement needed for wednesday evening, very unfair to ask these young lads to play a championship game against Galway 4 days after that hectic battle, Connacht council is a disgrace, should refuse to play it, player welfare must come first, whats wrong with next Saturday or Sunday or even next Friday evening? Central council should get involved here.
Post by: ck on June 25, 2016, 10:49:17 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 25, 2016, 08:36:06 PM
Congrats Roscommon.  Well done ref another shambles by a ref.  Ross won with last kick of the game.

Agree. Minors get a raw deal in reffing stakes as new refs used as Guinea pigs at this level. They can be very hit and miss.
Sligo very very hard done by
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2016, 11:05:56 PM
Quote from: ck on June 25, 2016, 10:49:17 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 25, 2016, 08:36:06 PM

Agree. Minors get a raw deal in reffing stakes as new refs used as Guinea pigs at this level. They can be very hit and miss.
Sligo very very hard done by

You two must be fûcking kidding me. He was handing out cards like candy exclusively to Ros players in the first half, including a near immediate black card to our captain and FB for a push. When a Sligo player tripped Lorcan Daly later on, a far worse offence by any reasonable messure, out came a yellow for the Sligo player. Laughable. He gave Sligo so many nothing frees I lost count. I was totally insensed at how lopsided his calls were.

He was very, very bad but it was clear to all that Roscommon were the team he was riding. The only good thing he did was eventually sending off Sligo's 4, a lad who spent more time rolling about on the floor pretending to be injured than he did on his feet.
Post by: ck on June 25, 2016, 11:30:58 PM
Are you suggesting the trip should have seen black? A trip is a yellow all day long.
He was bad all round but I felt we conceded frees that weren't fouls that ruined our momentum.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 25, 2016, 11:37:17 PM
Quote from: ck on June 25, 2016, 11:30:58 PM
Are you suggesting the trip should have seen black? A trip is a yellow all day long.
He was bad all round but I felt we conceded frees that weren't fouls that ruined our momentum.
Look up your rulebook
Post by: moysider on June 25, 2016, 11:42:33 PM

Who was referee?
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 26, 2016, 12:29:51 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 25, 2016, 11:42:33 PM

Who was referee?
LIam Devenney.  Sligo not scoring for the last ten minutes of each half cost them more than a referee.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 26, 2016, 01:27:15 AM
Ref brought ball in 3 times so they could score frees
Brian Mahon hit multiple times with no card
O'connor horse collared for a yellow card
4 mins extra time winner scored in the fifth minute

Syferus you are one dimensional all you see is Roscommon.  To be clear I congratuled ye on the win, I'm just sick of shyte refs ruining games including this one.
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2016, 02:06:04 AM
Fortunate win but we scored our attempt at a point while Shligo had hit 3 earlier ones into our goalies hands.
Ref not great but he let Shligo off with serious sh1te. The trip on Daly a yellow while our full back got a black for fcuk all.
We now have to play Galway 4 days after a testing game. We're talking 17/18 year old gasùns here.
Disgraceful Prenty and Ros/ Shligo delegates to CC.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2016, 02:35:17 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 26, 2016, 01:27:15 AM
Ref brought ball in 3 times so they could score frees
Brian Mahon hit multiple times with no card
O'connor horse collared for a yellow card
4 mins extra time winner scored in the fifth minute

Syferus you are one dimensional all you see is Roscommon.  To be clear I congratuled ye on the win, I'm just sick of shyte refs ruining games including this one.

You realise it's at least the allotted time a referee plays for injury time not that exact amount, I hope? One of his few correct decisions adding an extra minute as Sligo took over a minute in injury time to take a free they missed after all their arsing about trying to ensure to was the last act of the game.

Pot kettle to say the least.
Post by: Mano on June 26, 2016, 11:05:53 AM
Wasn't at the game and can't comment on the referee. But we were 1-5 to 0-3 points up at 30 minutes. To only score 3 times more to Roscommon 11 times in the remaining 42 minutes suggests we need to take a look at ourselves also.
Post by: moysider on June 26, 2016, 02:28:30 PM

You would have to suspect that this was a missed opportunity for Sligo this year after having the best 2 colleges teams in the province this year.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2016, 02:43:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 26, 2016, 02:28:30 PM

You would have to suspect that this was a missed opportunity for Sligo this year after having the best 2 colleges teams in the province this year.

They had a better side last year. We had a much improved side too even if two of our biggest players, Derwin and Murray, didn't start. We did win the league so it's a bit unfair to our lads - we had the second best schools team in Ireland last year and it mattered for nought come the summer.

We kicked too many long balls into the square with four defenders on two forwards. Would have won it relatively handily had we stuck with a running game using our wing-backs (Daly and Featherstone were two of our best on the night) and midfielders to carry it between the 45s in my opinion.

Sligo good on the ball but like last year they had no midfield and when they had to take their best inside forwards, Marren and Carrabine (who were causing real bother especially with our captain and FB black carded wrongly), out to the middle in the second half when we stopping giving them the free man as an outlet on kick-outs you got the feeling their goose was getting slow-cooked. Their attack became toothless mainly because of that switch.
Post by: Mano on June 26, 2016, 05:15:48 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 26, 2016, 02:28:30 PM

Most of the players from those 2 college teams were over age. With transition year college teams are not an accurate refection of that years minor team.
Post by: ck on June 26, 2016, 09:04:31 PM
Yea that's bang on. Last years Sligo minor team were as good as we've had in years. It would be stronger on paper than this years side. The two colleges sides would have been made up of last years minors mainly
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 26, 2016, 10:41:28 PM
Quote from: Mano on June 26, 2016, 11:05:53 AM
Wasn't at the game and can't comment on the referee. But we were 1-5 to 0-3 points up at 30 minutes. To only score 3 times more to Roscommon 11 times in the remaining 42 minutes suggests we need to take a look at ourselves also.
seems to happen to Sligo a lot

Post by: oliverkelly on June 27, 2016, 03:10:38 PM
Cant comment on this particular Ref as I wasn't at the game but I do agree with what has been said about shite refs been tried out at underage level its not fair on the lads. We have had no luck at underage with ref last few years.Some really pathetic stuff.  last year against Tyrone in u21 and this year against Mayo stand out in memory
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2016, 04:38:47 PM
Galway team

1    Cormoc Haslam
2    Eoin Deeley
3    Sean Mulkerrins
4    Eoin McFadden
5    Adam Quirke
6    Ernan MacDonncha
7    Fionnan Garvey
8    Sean Raftery
9    Ross Murphy
10  Barry Goldrick
11  Evan Murphy
12  Ryan Forde
13  Rob Finnerty
14  Finnian O'Laoi
15  Dessie Conneely

Hard to know with minors at the best of times but I have been told that the forwards are meant to be very good indeed. The backs not so much.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2016, 07:08:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2016, 04:38:47 PM
Galway team

1    Cormoc Haslam
2    Eoin Deeley
3    Sean Mulkerrins
4    Eoin McFadden
5    Adam Quirke
6    Ernan MacDonncha
7    Fionnan Garvey
8    Sean Raftery
9    Ross Murphy
10  Barry Goldrick
11  Evan Murphy
12  Ryan Forde
13  Rob Finnerty
14  Finnian O'Laoi
15  Dessie Conneely

Hard to know with minors at the best of times but I have been told that the forwards are meant to be very good indeed. The backs not so much.

Beat us well in the league. On such short notice and against a fine Galway team this would sit along our finest victories at underage if we pull it off.

This match is the difference between dying in June and dining in August. Beyond Connacht titles just getting to an AIQF is huge for a young team's development.
Post by: ballinaman on June 29, 2016, 01:36:46 PM
Leitrim Minor Team Announced

Darren Maxwell
Ballinamore Sean O Heslins

2 Leo Ryan
Melvin Gaels

3 Evan Harkin
Mohill

4 Fintan
Gallogly

Aughavas

5 Cillian
McGloin
Melvin Gaels

6 Jack
Gilheaney

Fenagh/St Caillins

7 Sean
Harkin

Mohill

8 Niall Mc Govern

Sean O Heslins

9 Eoghan Keegan

Cloone

10 Caleb Duffy

Allen Gaels

11 Shaun Chandler

Leitrim Gaels

12 Ethan Harkin

Mohill

Riordan O Rourke

Fenagh/St Caillins

14 Darragh Rooney

Melvin Gaels

15 James Glancy
Dromahair

Mayo Team
1.Adam Byrne - Aghamore
2. Cathal Horan - Kilmovee
3. Donovan Cosgrove - Kiltimagh(Captain)
4. John Cunnane - Ballyhaunis
5. Brian O'Malley - Westport
6. Matthew Macken - Claremorris
7. John Maughan - Castlebar Mitchels
8. Colm Murphy - Balla
9. Nathan Moran - Hollymount/Carramore
10. Paul Lambert- Westport
11. Ross Egan- Aghamore
12. Oisin McLaughlin - Westport
13. Colm Moran - Westport
14. Ryan O'Donoghue - Belmullet
15. Nathan McGhee- Shrule/Glencorrib

16. Patrick O Malley - Westport
17. Dylan Pinder - Louisburgh
18. Sean Kenny - Aghamore
19. Liam Kelly - Kiltimagh
20. Conor Stenson - Castlebar Mitchels
21. Stephen McGreal - Claremorris
22. Stephen O Malley - Ballintubber
23. Ethan Gibbons - Castlebar Mitchels
24. Tommy Conroy - The Neale

Post by: macdanger2 on June 29, 2016, 02:50:39 PM
Only 1 north Mayo club represented. Is that a fair reflection of the quality coming through??
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2016, 04:09:27 PM
Good luck  to our laddeens tonight.
They'll need all the luck they can get playing so soon again.
Will be pleasantry surprised if they do it.
Post by: galwayman on June 29, 2016, 05:06:45 PM
Wasn't too sure how the injury situation was for our lads but having seen the team there's 3 big players out - D'Arcy, Silke and Daly.
D'Arcy would have been midfield, Silke centre forward while Daly can play in backs or forwards.
The first named 2 could possibly be back for future games if we were to progress tonight whereas Daly is out for the season.

Would be a great result if we could compensate for those losses and get the win.

As ever it's very hard to predict at this level.
Who would have thought we'd trounce Mayo this time last year?
It's hard to call.
Post by: Syferus on June 29, 2016, 05:19:54 PM
Quote from: galwayman on June 29, 2016, 05:06:45 PM
Wasn't too sure how the injury situation was for our lads but having seen the team there's 3 big players out - D'Arcy, Silke and Daly.
D'Arcy would have been midfield, Silke centre forward while Daly can play in backs or forwards.
The first named 2 could possibly be back for future games if we were to progress tonight whereas Daly is out for the season.

Would be a great result if we could compensate for those losses and get the win.

It's hard to call.

The winner of this one should win the Connacht title.

Hopefully we force Galway to kick to our midfield because we have three good midfielders on the team this year and the more we get them involved the better our chances.

On the choo choo down to Athlone as I type. Wouldn't have it any other way.
Post by: galwayman on June 29, 2016, 07:55:36 PM
Galway 1-3 to 0-1 up after 22 mins.
Two of our forwards (both survivors from last year) have been black carded.
So so silly.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 29, 2016, 08:06:18 PM
Galway 2-7
Roscommon 0-2 at half time

Galway are rampant...

Galway CHF Evan Murphy getting a lot of good press on the radio.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 29, 2016, 08:10:16 PM
Galway playing with a strong wind? It was only 2 years ago Galway threw away a big lead against Mayo.
Post by: galwayman on June 29, 2016, 08:55:42 PM
Galway 3-11 Ros 1-7 full time score.

Galway v Mayo in minor final.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 29, 2016, 08:56:22 PM
FT

Roscommon 1-7 Galway 3-11

Tough on the Rossies having to play so soon after the weekend. Not sure it would have affected the result but not fair on young lads either way.
Post by: ck on June 29, 2016, 08:57:19 PM
Don't think it would have affected the result but it's crazy with the quick turnaround. Not on
Post by: sligoman2 on June 29, 2016, 09:01:32 PM
It's time to stop this nonsense - no game for 3 months then two in four days.

Why could the game not be this weekend?

Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 29, 2016, 09:02:03 PM
Good result for our minors but very unfair on the young Rossies to have to tog again so soon in a big game - scheduling badly needs to be revisited - will probably be adjusted again when the new age limits come into play.
Post by: larryin89 on June 29, 2016, 09:04:58 PM
Little  old mayo won too.
Post by: Mclf on June 29, 2016, 09:08:57 PM
Another group of galaticos to come out of this minor team for Roscommon no doubt,  so let the hype machine begin now......
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 29, 2016, 09:12:50 PM
I didn't have the clubs for the Galway team yesterday but have them all now for the curious.

Cormac Haslam (Glenamaddy)
Eoghan Deeley (Salthill)
Sean Mulkerrin (Oileain Arainn)
Eoin McFadden (Salthill)
Adam Quirke (Annaghdown)
Earnan McDonagh (Barna)
Fionnan Garvey (Monivea)
Sean Raftery (Glenamaddy)
Ross Murphy (Barna)
Barry Goldrick (Claregalway)
Evan Murphy (Salthill)
Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)
Robert Finnerty (Salthill)
Finian O'Laoi (An Spideal)
Dessie Conneely (Moycullen)

Post by: Maroon Manc on June 29, 2016, 09:22:29 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 29, 2016, 09:04:58 PM

You'll take some stopping according to your mate on twitter.
Post by: larryin89 on June 29, 2016, 09:29:45 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 29, 2016, 09:22:29 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 29, 2016, 09:04:58 PM

You'll take some stopping according to your mate on twitter.

? Twitter account wont let me in for some reason
Post by: larryin89 on June 29, 2016, 09:31:23 PM
Belmullet buck donoghue sounds a prospect.  Clean sweep is still on
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 29, 2016, 10:32:52 PM
Ridiculous turnaround for the Roscommon minors from the weekend match.

Only listened to it on GBFM but it sounded like Evan Murphy had quite the game for Galway.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 29, 2016, 10:38:17 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 29, 2016, 09:12:50 PM
I didn't have the clubs for the Galway team yesterday but have them all now for the curious.

Eoghan Deeley (Salthill)
Eoin McFadden (Salthill)
Adam Quirke (Annaghdown)
Earnan McDonagh (Barna)
Fionnan Garvey (Monivea)
Ross Murphy (Barna)
Evan Murphy (Salthill)
Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)
West of the county heavily represented.

Post by: Mclf on June 29, 2016, 11:08:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 29, 2016, 05:19:54 PM
Quote from: galwayman on June 29, 2016, 05:06:45 PM

It's hard to call.

The winner of this one should win the Connacht title.

Hopefully we force Galway to kick to our midfield because we have three good midfielders on the team this year and the more we get them involved the better our chances.

On the choo choo down to Athlone as I type. Wouldn't have it any other way.

You should have got the train to Carrick to see your real county play
Post by: moysider on June 29, 2016, 11:23:39 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 29, 2016, 10:38:17 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 29, 2016, 09:12:50 PM

Eoghan Deeley (Salthill)
Eoin McFadden (Salthill)
Adam Quirke (Annaghdown)
Earnan McDonagh (Barna)
Fionnan Garvey (Monivea)
Ross Murphy (Barna)
Evan Murphy (Salthill)
Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)
West of the county heavily represented.

Nobody from Tuam, Milltown, Dunmore, Corofin, Caltra.
Them's the swings I suppose. In Mayo only one player from the north. Nobody from the once dominant clubs, Crossmolina, Knockmore  and Ballina. Things can change quickly in football.
Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2016, 12:06:30 AM
Well we were bet out the gate and back in again tonight especially that first half.
We were slow,ponderous, like a crew who only met in the dressing room for the first time.
Galway were fast, decisive and played as a team.
To our credit we never gave up and had a lot of ball in the second half but no quality forwards to make it count.
I have to query how so many basic handling, passing and fumbling errors could be made by lads who've come through u14, u15, u16 and u17 development squads.
What happens or what  exactly is being "developed"?
And hadewe any game plan of any sort tonight?
I know the 4 day turnaround didn't help but Jaysus we were poor.
That Murphy buck was good, kicked some great frees - from the ground!! We were ballooning 90 foot high nonsense from the hands.
Not our finest hour  :(
Post by: sans pessimism on June 30, 2016, 10:13:31 AM
Think the Murphy lad is a cousin of Sean Army-Father from Mayo explains the football ;D
Post by: ballinaman on June 30, 2016, 10:24:07 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 30, 2016, 12:06:30 AM
Well we were bet out the gate and back in again tonight especially that first half.
We were slow,ponderous, like a crew who only met in the dressing room for the first time.
Galway were fast, decisive and played as a team.
To our credit we never gave up and had a lot of ball in the second half but no quality forwards to make it count.
I have to query how so many basic handling, passing and fumbling errors could be made by lads who've come through u14, u15, u16 and u17 development squads.
What happens or what  exactly is being "developed"?
And hadewe any game plan of any sort tonight?
I know the 4 day turnaround didn't help but Jaysus we were poor.
That Murphy buck was good, kicked some great frees - from the ground!! We were ballooning 90 foot high nonsense from the hands.
Not our finest hour  :(
Galway are no doubt a fine team but the game vs Sligo would have had a big bearing on the game last night. I wouldn't be hard on Roscommon, massive ask with only 3 full days recovery.

So it's
Cork vs Kerry
Galway vs Mayo
Derry vs Donegal

Laois vs Offaly
Meath vs Kildare

Connacht vs Leinster  and Ulster vs Munster in 1/4 finals. Winners play losers

Post by: Maroon Manc on June 30, 2016, 11:32:28 AM
Have all bookies stopped taking bets on minor games?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 30, 2016, 01:21:16 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on June 30, 2016, 10:13:31 AM
Think the Murphy lad is a cousin of Sean Army-Father from Mayo explains the football ;D

He's minor again next year I believe.
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2016, 01:31:38 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 30, 2016, 01:21:16 PM

Unless he's 16 this year he isn't. Remember the years are changing.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 30, 2016, 02:18:03 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 30, 2016, 11:32:28 AM
Have all bookies stopped taking bets on minor games?
I hope so
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 30, 2016, 03:55:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2016, 01:31:38 PM

I think it was agreed to have a minor and U17 championship next year. Galway forward Robert Finnerty is son of Anthony mixed feelings for him for this up coming Connacht minor final.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 30, 2016, 04:20:53 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 30, 2016, 03:55:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2016, 01:31:38 PM

Galway forward Robert Finnerty is son of Anthony mixed feelings for him for this up coming Connacht minor final.

Didn't know that although it makes sense given he plays for Salthill. Fair amount of Mayo parentage amongst the Galway lads then.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 02, 2016, 09:03:40 PM
I was at the game on wednesday and did not post here waiting to see what was said if anything about Galways tactics. They had 13 players behind their 45 mtr line a lot of the time. They were easily the better and stronger team but by a mile but they were the most sinacle minor team i have seen since the Tyrone team of 2013.
It really is a pity that these lads are being coached in this way and being an admirer of Galways football etos over the years I am saddened to see this development.
Galway would have won that game by much more if they had gone toe to toe and I feel if they continue with these tactics it could well cost them an all-ireland. They have a few excepional lads on that squad and they should take the shackles off and let them play.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 02, 2016, 09:11:57 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on July 02, 2016, 09:03:40 PM
I was at the game on wednesday and did not post here waiting to see what was said if anything about Galways tactics. They had 13 players behind their 45 mtr line a lot of the time. They were easily the better and stronger team but by a mile but they were the most sinacle minor team i have seen since the Tyrone team of 2013.
It really is a pity that these lads are being coached in this way and being an admirer of Galways football etos over the years I am saddened to see this development.
Galway would have won that game by much more if they had gone toe to toe and I feel if they continue with these tactics it could well cost them an all-ireland. They have a few excepional lads on that squad and they should take the shackles off and let them play.

I was at the game last year when Tipp minors beat Galway and I'd assume that defeat had a big impact on the way Galway play at this level going forward. Galway had the more natural footballers but for some strange reason they seemed intent on going for goals and it cost them in the 2nd half as Tipp defended with most of their players in their own half and hit Galway on the counter every time.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2016, 11:19:40 PM

Nonsense sour grapes. They weren't even as cynical as Sligo on Saturday.  A fine Galway side with excellent forwards who would likely have bet us if Prenty hadn't decided to set us up to fail.

Best of luck to them in the final and the AI series.  They could easily win it.
Post by: galwayman on July 02, 2016, 11:36:23 PM
Anyone know if D'Arcy, Molloy, Silke will be available for the final now?
John Daly obviously won't be.

The main thing I guess now is we have a guaranteed quarter final regardless.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 02, 2016, 11:37:23 PM
I think you will find that is called a system of play a gameplan that Galway management would have worked on for months. What was the Roscommon plan or system of play?  beaten by half time would suggest they had none.
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2016, 11:51:23 PM
We wouldn't have bet that Galway team no matter what.
However it was disappointing to see us looking like  crowd of lads who first met in the dressing room before the game.
What exactly were we " developing" since they were 14????
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2016, 11:54:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 02, 2016, 11:51:23 PM
We wouldn't have bet that Galway team no matter what.
However it was disappointing to see us looking like  crowd of lads who first met in the dressing room before the game.
What exactly were we " developing" since they were 14????

Murray has been eating his spuds and carrots anyways.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 07, 2016, 12:11:44 AM
The Galway Minor football team to play Mayo in Sunday's Connacht final is the same starting team that beat Roscommon in the semi final.
The Galway team is:

1.Cormac Haslam, Glenamaddy
2.Eoghan Deeley, Salthill/Knocknacarra
3.Sean Mulkerrin, Aran Islands
4. Eoin McFadden, Salthill/Knocknacarra
5.Adam Quirke,Annaghdown
6.Earnan McDonagh, Barna
7.Fionnán Garvey, Monivea/Abbey
8.Sean Raftery, Glenamaddy
9.Ross Murphy, Barna
10.Barry Goldrick, Claregalway
11.Evan Murphy, Salthill Knocknacarra
12.Ryan Forde, Annaghdown
13.Robert Finnerty, Salthill/Knocknacarra
14.Finian Ó Laoi, Spiddal
15.Desmond Conneely, Moycullen (capt)
Post by: Blowitupref on April 30, 2017, 03:15:25 PM
Connacht quarter final half time in Machale park. Galway 3-7 Mayo 0-7
Post by: maigheo on April 30, 2017, 03:21:50 PM
Have to laugh at the co commentator on mid west saying that Mayo are still in the game after Galway scoring the 1st point of the 2ind half to put them 10 clear.
Post by: maigheo on April 30, 2017, 03:30:38 PM
3.11 to 0.08.Another tanking for Mayo at minor level.Eoin Murphy running the show for Galway
Post by: Blowitupref on April 30, 2017, 03:33:05 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 30, 2017, 03:21:50 PM
Have to laugh at the co commentator on mid west saying that Mayo are still in the game after Galway scoring the 1st point of the 2ind half to put them 10 clear.

Has to keep the listeners interested? Galway dominating their province at minor level much like Kerry in Munster.
Post by: maigheo on April 30, 2017, 03:49:19 PM
3.15 to 0,10  time nearly up
Post by: maigheo on April 30, 2017, 03:50:23 PM
Mayo 0.11 Galway 3.15 FT
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 30, 2017, 04:00:44 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 30, 2017, 03:30:38 PM
3.11 to 0.08.Another tanking for Mayo at minor level.Eoin Murphy running the show for Galway

Evan Murphy I presume? Yeah he's a class player. I fear we're going to lose him to soccer though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2017, 04:06:07 PM

When this current Senior team split, we're fucked.
Post by: maigheo on April 30, 2017, 04:07:45 PM
Yeah meant Evan.,and it does look like he will be lost to the foreign game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 30, 2017, 04:14:28 PM
Very impressive from Galway minors once again against Mayo. Only for the poor weather conditions in Salthill last year i think Galway would have hammered Mayo 3 years in a row at this level.

The semi final line up for the end of June.

Galway v Roscommon
Sligo v Leitrim

Its looking like a repeat of the U21 final with a Galway to add a minor title to their U21 title already won this year.
Post by: joemamas on April 30, 2017, 05:37:15 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2017, 04:06:07 PM

You would think some of the rocket scientists involved might have got a small inkling of this over past five or six years.
Cannot really comment about this year, but as I have mentioned before, it is scary how little forward talent has been coached/harnessed/developed over past five to seven years from minor ranks to become potential senior forwards.
Meanwhile Galway and Kerry are developing forwards for fun.
Please don't use the tradition excuse.
This problem begins at u14 -u16.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 30, 2017, 05:46:15 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 30, 2017, 05:37:15 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2017, 04:06:07 PM

You would think some of the rocket scientists involved might have got a small inkling of this over past five or six years.
Cannot really comment about this year, but as I have mentioned before, it is scary how little forward talent has been coached/harnessed/developed over past five to seven years from minor ranks to become potential senior forwards.
Meanwhile Galway and Kerry are developing forwards for fun.
Please don't use the tradition excuse.
This problem begins at u14 -u16.

Mayo's All Stars last year were all defenders. It so obvious that forwards are in short supply. Another 2/3 points on Mayo performance in finals would have them winning two All Irelands in the last few years. 
Post by: Chimley on April 30, 2017, 07:19:01 PM
I've been looking at Mayo minor teams for the past three years (including this year). No starting player from Ballina, Crossmolina or Knockmore on any of those teams. What is happening in North Mayo to arrive at this sad state of affairs. When clubs like Kiltimagh and Aughamore are getting starters every year, it seems that something has gone very wrong in the development of young players in traditionally our strongest areas.

Post by: Syferus on April 30, 2017, 07:29:14 PM
Don't all start crying at once. Ye've won both a minor and U21 AI in the last three and a half years.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 30, 2017, 08:00:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 30, 2017, 07:29:14 PM
Don't all start crying at once. Ye've won both a minor and U21 AI in the last three and a half years.

Without speaking for the Mayo lads I imagine they might say that those wins were outliers in the overall trend.

Sometimes these runs can happen though. Towards the end of the 00's I think the Galway minors went 5 years without winning a single game in Connacht. Seems unthinkable now.
Post by: joemamas on April 30, 2017, 08:20:00 PM
Quote from: Chimley on April 30, 2017, 07:19:01 PM
I've been looking at Mayo minor teams for the past three years (including this year). No starting player from Ballina, Crossmolina or Knockmore on any of those teams. What is happening in North Mayo to arrive at this sad state of affairs. When clubs like Kiltimagh and Aughamore are getting starters every year, it seems that something has gone very wrong in the development of young players in traditionally our strongest areas.

A bit daft tbh. Mayo have won underage championships with a diverse club participation.

Knockmore have remained very competitive at senior and underage.

Ballina are in Div 2. Probably close to ten years since they won a county senior championship
Crossmolina had a golden era at senior level for probably close to a decade, but that ended around 2004 or thereabouts. Other than that group, Not sure they were ever a powerhouse ar underage level.

Bottom line, I couldn't give a shite what club a player is from. The bigger issue is coaching or the lack thereof.

We have just had a six year period where we have been a top six senior team, which should in normal circumstances breed underage success as most 12-14 year olds would aspire to play underage for Mayo. IMO we have got a poor return from underage in that timeframe, and as mentioned too many times, we have gotten a disastrous return with respect to forwards who can actually kick the ball over the bar from 30+ yards out on a consistent basis.

Is there somebody who is actually responsible for overseeing underage football. If so there should be a meeting called post haste and questions should be asked and answers demanded.

Post by: Chimley on April 30, 2017, 08:46:33 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 30, 2017, 08:20:00 PM

A bit daft tbh. Mayo have won underage championships with a diverse club participation.

Ballina are in Div 2. Probably close to ten years since they won a county senior championship
Crossmolina had a golden era at senior level for probably close to a decade, but that ended around 2004 or thereabouts. Other than that group, Not sure they were ever a powerhouse ar underage level.

Bottom line, I couldn't give a shite what club a player is from. The bigger issue is coaching or the lack thereof.

We have just had a six year period where we have been a top six senior team, which should in normal circumstances breed underage success as most 12-14 year olds would aspire to play underage for Mayo. IMO we have got a poor return from underage in that timeframe, and as mentioned too many times, we have gotten a disastrous return with respect to forwards who can actually kick the ball over the bar from 30+ yards out on a consistent basis.

Is there somebody who is actually responsible for overseeing underage football. If so there should be a meeting called post haste and questions should be asked and answers demanded.

It's not as you say a 'bit daft' to worry how a town like Ballina have fallen to division 2 from being AI club champions not so long ago and no longer able to produce any young players capable of getting on some of the poorest minor teams of the last thirty years. It's something that needs to be explained and analysed. If the county board have the attitude that there's nothing to see here, then that might explain why we're getting beaten so badly on a regular basis.

Are you happy that youth development and coaching is taking place on a consistent level throughout the county, and if so, why are so few players from North Mayo making the county minor teams? You say that you don't care what club a player comes from but if we're being honest, we need towns like Ballina with the population and history of producing great players to start to contribute again.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 30, 2017, 10:42:28 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 30, 2017, 08:20:00 PM

Do managers even want their forwards to attempt kicks at points from 30 yards?
I think they have been coached to keep possession by handbags and don't shoot unlesscertain of a score
Post by: larryin89 on April 30, 2017, 10:56:35 PM
"Do managers even want their forwards to attempt to kick scores from 30yards'

And this is the crux of the problem especially in mayo where it seems to be a complete no go area and goal scoring seems to be completely lost.

You only have to look at the Jason docherty who has completely alienated his natural game to adapt to mayos style . I have no doubt in my mind doc would of scored twice as much if it wasn't for this. And I'm not saying he's still not effective from his present role , I just don't believe we should of sacrificed his more natural talent to pouch and score.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2017, 10:06:31 AM
Ballina seem to have got their act together at young underage. Give them a few years they will compete again. If the players stick together that is. Success breeds success though so they have a chance.
Post by: cornetto on May 01, 2017, 10:52:37 AM
Listening to galway radio one of the commentators stated,because of mayo schools involvement in finals,they did not meet collectively until the first week in April, not sure how many players this would have involved.many of the mayo players seemed lost,where as galway seemed to have a better understanding of where to find each player.
Post by: Syferus on May 01, 2017, 11:13:36 AM
Quote from: cornetto on May 01, 2017, 10:52:37 AM
Listening to galway radio one of the commentators stated,because of mayo schools involvement in finals,they did not meet collectively until the first week in April, not sure how many players this would have involved.many of the mayo players seemed lost,where as galway seemed to have a better understanding of where to find each player.

We played a Mayo minor team with 12 of the 15 starters yesterday back in early March. Commentators more than likely getting inside info from the management who were making the excuses early for their own fück ups.
Post by: cornetto on May 01, 2017, 11:28:40 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 01, 2017, 11:13:36 AM
Quote from: cornetto on May 01, 2017, 10:52:37 AM

We played a Mayo minor team with 13 of the 15 starters yesterday back in early March. Commentators more than likely getting inside info from the management who were making the excuses early for their own fück ups.
Well  That's that theory shelved!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2017, 12:07:58 PM
Could be true. Only 1 competitive game played by all the players for their clubs since the end of the Connacht MFL.
Post by: galwayman on May 01, 2017, 12:10:35 PM
Yeah the schools players were definitely involved in the Connacht minor league.
The Ballinrobe school players didn't play in the Galway game as their AI final was on the following Saturday.
Then again you would expect management to be trying out lads in the league games anyway.
Certainly Steven Joyce has taken that approach to the league since he took over the reins.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 01, 2017, 04:26:36 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 30, 2017, 10:56:35 PM

And this is the crux of the problem especially in mayo where it seems to be a complete no go area and goal scoring seems to be completely lost.

You only have to look at the Jason docherty who has completely alienated his natural game to adapt to mayos style . I have no doubt in my mind doc would of scored twice as much if it wasn't for this. And I'm not saying he's still not effective from his present role , I just don't believe we should of sacrificed his more natural talent to pouch and score.

Remember a Kerryman telling me he thought Mayo were completely wasting Doherty in the role they had him playing - he was also of the opinion that he would have been contributing more on the scoring front if used differently - haven't seen enough of him to have an opinion either way but it stuck with me.
Post by: Syferus on May 01, 2017, 04:35:22 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 01, 2017, 04:26:36 PM

Remember a Kerryman telling me he thought Mayo were completely wasting Doherty in the role they had him playing - he was also of the opinion that he would have been contributing more on the scoring front if used differently - haven't seen enough of him to have an opinion either way but it stuck with me.

Doherty wasn't even worth starting playing his supposed natural role tbh. His new role has been his saving grace as regards making the Mayo team at all.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 01, 2017, 04:46:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 01, 2017, 04:35:22 PM

Doherty wasn't even worth starting playing his supposed natural role tbh. His new role has been his saving grace as regards making the Mayo team at all.

If a random person from Louth, Laois, Antrim, Wexford, told you the same thing would their opinion hold the same weight? What makes a Kerrymans opinion any more important?

Have to say I agree with Sy in regards Doherty. He'd not make the team in his original role.
Post by: Syferus on May 01, 2017, 04:56:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 01, 2017, 04:46:58 PM

If a random person from Louth, Laois, Antrim, Wexford, told you the same thing would their opinion hold the same weight? What makes a Kerrymans opinion any more important?

Have to say I agree with Sy in regards Doherty. He'd not make the team in his original role.

His ability to adapt should be commended before someone thinks I'm rubbishing him. A more talented FF in Freeman was unable to do likewise.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 01, 2017, 05:03:54 PM
I seen Jason Doherty play on the DIT Sigerson cup winning team 4 years ago. He scored 0-6 (5fs) in the semi final and 1-2 (2fs) in the final. The stand out feature of his play was his outstanding workrate and his ability to tackle better than most defenders on show.
Post by: larryin89 on May 02, 2017, 10:36:16 AM
Totally disagree.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 02, 2017, 11:05:25 AM
Mayo had a very bad start to this match but they were well on top around the midfield area for the last 15 minutes of the 1st half and were getting back into the game, the two goals just before ht were absolute back breakers for the young Mayo players and the game was only going to go one way after that. I don't think that the Mayo lads are as bad as this result would suggest and equally nor that Galway are that good. I will say that outside of the player talent levels on display, Galway looked to be way better setup and coached as a team.
One thing that really stood out was that Galway were far better with the decision making in terms of pass selection and execution, some of the Mayo hand and kick passing was abysmal, I used the phrase "hospital pass" several times to describe some of the Mayo attempts to find a team-mate. I would put the respective coaching levels on the block here, as the level of skill required to see and execute a 10 yard handpass competently is minimal compared to sticking the ball over the bar with a marker hanging off of you.

Hard to know what to make of Galway on the basis of this game, at no point were they were under any real pressure from Mayo.  As I've mentioned already, I would say that the Galway management have the team very well setup and drilled on their roles.
On the basis of the Connacht league results you would have to make Galway strong favourites to retain the Connacht minor title, though of course on the day though you never know with young players what way it will go.

Mulkerrin and Murphy are the obvious standouts for Galway that you could see making it as adult players down the road, but even if Murphy isn't lost to soccer I'm not sure how his skill-set would translate to the current type of game that is predominant at Senior level, he's a bit of a throwback in that he is looking to kick pass long into the FF line at nearly every opportunity, the space and time required to do that consistently well won't be there once he exits the minor grade.
It has to be said in all fairness to the lad though, that his two foot passes in the first half, one for the 2nd Galway goal and another to create a nearly exact same chance that was saved by the Mayo goalie about 5 minutes prior, were things of beauty. It would certainly make you nostalgic for the older man on man game that allowed these types of passes to be seen more often in Senior games.
Post by: rosnarun on May 02, 2017, 11:10:04 AM

A more talented FF in Freeman was unable to do likewise.

you've got tobe joking Freeman never delivered at intercounty level . he was just not at that standard . where as JDoc looked at home from the 1st time he put on the Jersey . remember his first year he was on almost a goal a game I think he got 6 in a row and has never let mayo down since

Post by: PW Nally on May 02, 2017, 12:16:17 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 02, 2017, 11:10:04 AM

you've got tobe joking Freeman never delivered at intercounty level . he was just not at that standard . where as JDoc looked at home from the 1st time he put on the Jersey . remember his first year he was on almost a goal a game I think he got 6 in a row and has never let mayo down since
1-4 in 2013 all Ireland semi final is not valued by you?
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 12:49:14 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on May 02, 2017, 12:16:17 PM

Freeman had ever chance of winnning an All-Star that year had Horan not had the masterstroke of subbing his FF off 15 minutes into the final.
Post by: joemamas on May 02, 2017, 01:09:31 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 02, 2017, 11:05:25 AM
Mayo had a very bad start to this match but they were well on top around the midfield area for the last 15 minutes of the 1st half and were getting back into the game, the two goals just before ht were absolute back breakers for the young Mayo players and the game was only going to go one way after that. I don't think that the Mayo lads are as bad as this result would suggest and equally nor that Galway are that good. I will say that outside of the player talent levels on display, Galway looked to be way better setup and coached as a team.
One thing that really stood out was that Galway were far better with the decision making in terms of pass selection and execution, some of the Mayo hand and kick passing was abysmal, I used the phrase "hospital pass" several times to describe some of the Mayo attempts to find a team-mate. I would put the respective coaching levels on the block here, as the level of skill required to see and execute a 10 yard handpass competently is minimal compared to sticking the ball over the bar with a marker hanging off of you.

Hard to know what to make of Galway on the basis of this game, at no point were they were under any real pressure from Mayo.  As I've mentioned already, I would say that the Galway management have the team very well setup and drilled on their roles.
On the basis of the Connacht league results you would have to make Galway strong favourites to retain the Connacht minor title, though of course on the day though you never know with young players what way it will go.

Mulkerrin and Murphy are the obvious standouts for Galway that you could see making it as adult players down the road, but even if Murphy isn't lost to soccer I'm not sure how his skill-set would translate to the current type of game that is predominant at Senior level, he's a bit of a throwback in that he is looking to kick pass long into the FF line at nearly every opportunity, the space and time required to do that consistently well won't be there once he exits the minor grade.
It has to be said in all fairness to the lad though, that his two foot passes in the first half, one for the 2nd Galway goal and another to create a nearly exact same chance that was saved by the Mayo goalie about 5 minutes prior, were things of beauty. It would certainly make you nostalgic for the older man on man game that allowed these types of passes to be seen more often in Senior games.

Thank you for taking the time to do that report.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 02, 2017, 01:31:32 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 01, 2017, 04:46:58 PM

I just thought that while a Kerryman wouldn't have seen a huge pile of Doherty, chances are he would have seen more of him given how often Kerry and Mayo have played the last while compared to a random person from Louth, Laois, Antrim, Wexford. Also there's the fact that most people would have Kerry and Mayo among the very top-level of contenders for Sam the last few years - it's nearly always insightful when you hear what an opponent makes of a rival team's players.  Anyway the Kerryman in question's main point was that Mayo weren't lacking forwards to win Sam, it was that they never knew how to develop them,coach them and set them up in order to get the maximum out of the forwards they had  - Doherty was one big example of this according to him. I didn't put a whole lot of stock on it myself but when I read larryin89's post I remembered it and threw it up.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2017, 02:14:06 PM

Murphy's range of foot passing is incredible. He can consistently land it on a sixpence from 50 yards away with the instep or curl it with the outside of the boot.  He doesn't score as much from play as you'd think but I think this is mainly because he loves going out the field and being the playmaker.

I think he can adapt his game to senior football alright. He's got the size and physique already but whether he gets the chance is another matter. He's the captain of the Ireland schools team so you'd imagine he could get trials over in England or offered soccer scholarships to the US.
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 03:24:36 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2017, 02:14:06 PM

Murphy's range of foot passing is incredible. He can consistently land it on a sixpence from 50 yards away with the instep or curl it with the outside of the boot.  He doesn't score as much from play as you'd think but I think this is mainly because he loves going out the field and being the playmaker.

I think he can adapt his game to senior football alright. He's got the size and physique already but whether he gets the chance is another matter. He's the captain of the Ireland schools team so you'd imagine he could get trials over in England or offered soccer scholarships to the US.

I hope he's very successful with the soccer.
Post by: ballinaman on May 02, 2017, 04:25:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 03:24:36 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2017, 02:14:06 PM

I hope he's very successful with the soccer.
I've heard a deal has been done whenever Galway exit championship.
Connacht title should be straightforward, losers of Ulster in 1/4. Munster winners in semi final likely.
Post by: galwayman on May 02, 2017, 05:06:24 PM
The Kingdom seem to have a serious side again this year.
Some conveyor belt down there
Post by: sligoman2 on May 02, 2017, 08:37:20 PM
Connacht title should be straightforward, losers of Ulster in 1/4. Munster winners in semi final likely

Hello..........
Post by: criostlinn on May 02, 2017, 09:39:18 PM

1 point from play and he's been living of that point ever since.....
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 09:58:15 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 02, 2017, 09:39:18 PM

He was the MotM that day if iirc. I guess Aghamore is too near the enemy for comfort for some in Mayo.
Post by: PW Nally on May 02, 2017, 11:10:32 PM

He nailed the frees that day and at least a few were from distance. No harm in giving credit when due, has had his bad days.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 03, 2017, 11:23:23 AM
Many of this Galway team eligible to play for the u17's this year?
Post by: criostlinn on May 03, 2017, 12:36:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 09:58:15 PM

He was the MotM that day if iirc. I guess Aghamore is too near the enemy for comfort for some in Mayo.

What are ya raving about now ya daft eagit
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2017, 01:05:57 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 03, 2017, 12:36:52 PM

Typical quality response from you.
Post by: criostlinn on May 03, 2017, 03:18:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2017, 01:05:57 PM

No seriously. What the f**k you on about. Why do you insist on trawling the threads on this board to post absolute gibberish. I've tried ignoring you but it doesn't stop. Everyday the same nonsense thread after thread.
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2017, 03:20:57 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 03, 2017, 03:18:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2017, 01:05:57 PM

No seriously. What the f**k you on about. Why do you insist on trawling the threads on this board to post absolute gibberish. I've tried ignoring you but it doesn't stop. Everyday the same nonsense thread after thread.

You really need to take a hard look at yourself before you go posting bile again.
Post by: larryin89 on May 03, 2017, 11:05:46 PM
Freeman had a decent game v tyrone in 2013 , got several chance before that and after that , didn't deliver .

To quote a former county from outside the county who's opinion I'd value " far too conscious of the hit coming in behind him" sin e
Post by: sligoman2 on May 04, 2017, 01:36:06 PM
Another good thread that has been hijacked by the Mayo v Roscommon non stop bickering. 

What has Alan Freeman's performance 4 years ago got to do with the minor championship?

I'm wasting my time....
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 02:55:39 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 04, 2017, 01:36:06 PM
Another good thread that has been hijacked by the Mayo v Roscommon non stop bickering. 

What has Alan Freeman's performance 4 years ago got to do with the minor championship?

I'm wasting my time....

Galway are going to hammer everyone in Connacht minor so I don't really see what you've got to discuss that's so pressing, besides the usual complaining.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 23, 2017, 05:24:02 PM
Semi finals next Wednesday the 28th, 7:30 pm throw ins

Sligo v Leitrim in Markievicz Park
Galway v Roscommon in Pearse Stadium

Post by: Rossfan on June 23, 2017, 06:46:50 PM
A Sligo Galway Final I suspect.
Post by: Syferus on June 23, 2017, 07:28:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 23, 2017, 06:46:50 PM

With a Galway pasting on the cards.
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 23, 2017, 07:38:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 23, 2017, 07:28:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 23, 2017, 06:46:50 PM

With a Galway pasting on the cards.
At least you'll get something out of the day so.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 27, 2017, 03:03:25 PM
Four teams named.

Galway: 1. O Burke (Corafinne) 2. E McFadden (Bóthar na Trá/Cnoc na Cathrach) 3. S Mulkerrin (C) (Oileán Arainn) 4. G Burke (Corafinne) 5. J Glynn (Baile Clár na Gaillimhe) 6. C Potter (Anach Cuain) 7. L Boyle (Cill Chloirín/Cluain Bheirne) 8. M Barrett (Leitir Mór) 9. S Fitzgerald (Bearna) 10. B Harlowe (Naomh Micheál) 11. D Silke (Corafinne) 12. M Kerrigan (An Fhairche) 13. R Cunningham (Naomh Brendán) 14. E Murphy (Bóthar na Trá/Cnoc na Cathrach) 15. P Costello (Dún Mór Mic Éil)

Roscommon: 1, A Brady (Elphin) 2. P Halpin (St Barry's) 3. E Flynn (Tulsk) 4. G Galvin (Tulsk) 5. P McManus (Clan na nGael) 6. C Kennelly (St Faithleachs) 7. D Gately (St Brigid's) 8. C Corcoran (Strokestown) 9. D Ruane (Michael Glavey's) 10. O Lennon (Clan na nGael) 11. C Heneghan (Michael Glavey's) 12. S Henry (Clan na nGael) 13. R Dowd (St Ciaran's) 14. B Derwin (St Brigid's) 15. C Fahey (C) (Tulsk)

Sligo: 1. A Davey (Eastern Harps) 2. E Lyons (Shamrock Gaels) 3. J Ellis (Enniscrone/Kilglass) 4. J Weir (St Farnan's) 5. B Cox (Calry/St Joseph's) 6. E Lavin (Eastern Harps) 7. O Conlon (Ballymote) 8. N Colsh (Ballymote) 9. B Gorman (C) (Coolaney/Mullinabreena) 10. R Anderson (Owenmore Gaels) 11. L Towey (St Molaise Gaels) 12. C O'Dowd (Enniscrone/Kilglass) 13. C Ryan (Tubbercurry) 14. R Óg Murphy (Curry) 15. K McKenna (Shamrock Gaels)

Leitrim: 1. E Gallagher (Gaeil na Meilge) 2. C Dwyer (Naomh Caillin-Fíonach) 3. S Harkin (Maothail) 4. E Harkin (Maothail) 5. C Cullen (Achadh na Sileann) 6. S Chandler (Gaeil Liatroma) 7. M Diffley (Naomh Muire- Cill Tochairt) 8. A Hoare (Achadh na Sileann) 9. R Sheridan (Gleann na Chairthe/Cluainín) 10. O McLoughlin (Naomh Caillin-Fíonach) 11. J Clancy (C) (Naomh Pádraig Droim Dá Eithear) 12. R O'Rourke (Naomh Caillin-Fíonach) 13. D Devanney (Gleann an Chairthe/Cluainín) 14. C Duffy (Gaeil na Hailne) 15. J Reynolds (Maothail)
Post by: sligoman2 on June 27, 2017, 09:36:59 PM
Very interesting sligo selection.  Great to see players from enniscrone, ballymote and shamrock gaels.  Very surprised that there's no player from Mary's or Tourlestrane or Johns and only one each from tubber and Curry.
Most of these players would be outside the Attractas and Summerhill. Catchment area, which is surprising and hopefully a good sign.
Post by: Mano on June 28, 2017, 11:49:03 AM
Two Tourlestrane lads didn't commit this year due to Leaving Cert and the distance to Scarden. One lad would have been a key starter having played last year.

What has happened Marys at underage. They were dominant up until a year or 2 ago and now playing in B level and don't have a player on minor panel?
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 28, 2017, 08:06:28 PM
Half times both low scoring games.

Galway 0-5 Roscommon 1-2
Sligo 0-5 Leitrim 1-4
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 28, 2017, 08:57:23 PM
The two favourites won.

Galway 1-13 Roscommon 1-6
Sligo 3-12 Leitrim 3-7
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2017, 09:00:59 PM
Galway will slaughter a Sligo side that leaks three goals to Leitrim.
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 28, 2017, 09:17:09 PM
You worry about your own impending slaughter that day and don't mind us, as you tend to boast you do.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2017, 09:28:01 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 28, 2017, 09:17:09 PM
You worry about your own impending slaughter that day and don't mind us, as you tend to boast you do.

Jaysis someone is a bit grouchy. If you think conceding a hat trick to Leitrim at home is good prep for one of the best sides in the country in their personal wind dome I don't know what to say. Shooting the messenger as usual for you.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 28, 2017, 09:52:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2017, 09:28:01 PM

Jaysis someone is a bit grouchy. If you think conceding a hat trick to Leitrim at home is good prep for one of the best sides in the country in their personal wind dome I don't know what to say. Shooting the messenger as usual for you.
Leitrim also scored a hat trick of goals against Roscommon minors this year. The Rossies didn't get slaughtered by Galway and probably deserved better than 7 point defeat tonight.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2017, 09:54:05 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 28, 2017, 09:52:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2017, 09:28:01 PM

Leitrim also scored a hat trick of goals against Roscommon minors this year. The Rossies didn't get slaughtered by Galway and probably deserved better than 7 point defeat tonight.

Not that it needs to be said, but the difference between league and championship is oceanic.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2017, 10:00:04 PM
Was actually a poor enough performance from Galway I thought albeit the pitch was like a skating rink from the rain today with players slipping and sliding all over the place like new born foals. Although little wind for a change. Roscommon led by a point with about 8 minutes normal time to play but Galway suddenly found their shooting boots and hit 1-5 without reply down the home stretch. Daniel Kenny was badly missed in midfield for Galway not that they did badly in that area but he's their best midfielder getting forward. I'm sure they hope he's back for the final.

Two best Galway players I thought were Burke and Boyle on the left side of the defence. Both had stormers. Not really a night for forwards although both goals had a lot to do with defenders slipping. And the missed penalty too.

Evan Murphy had 14 on his back but pretty much spent the entire game in midfield. I get the idea of getting your best player on the ball as often as possible but I thought the Galway attack seemed unfocused for long spells with him playing so deep. Thought they could have used him a bit further forward.

A repeat of that in the final and Sligo have a great chance to be honest.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2017, 10:01:18 PM
A brave effort by our unfancied and unsung minors tonight.
Certainly made Galway's threatened world domination look fairly shaky tonight for 50 minutes.
Lack of enough forward  edge, tiredness and concentration lapses gave Galway a most undeserved 7 point win.
And the Galway goalie saved a penalty very well.
Good to see a Ros team with some shape make and form about them - marking lads, defending tackling etc.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 28, 2017, 11:21:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2017, 09:00:59 PM
Galway will slaughter a Sligo side that leaks three goals to Leitrim.
I think this means we will win.

Thanks Sy
Post by: Blowitupref on June 28, 2017, 11:51:18 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2017, 10:00:04 PM
Was actually a poor enough performance from Galway I thought albeit the pitch was like a skating rink from the rain today with players slipping and sliding all over the place like new born foals. Although little wind for a change. Roscommon led by a point with about 8 minutes normal time to play but Galway suddenly found their shooting boots and hit 1-5 without reply down the home stretch. Daniel Kenny was badly missed in midfield for Galway not that they did badly in that area but he's their best midfielder getting forward. I'm sure they hope he's back for the final.

Two best Galway players I thought were Burke and Boyle on the left side of the defence. Both had stormers. Not really a night for forwards although both goals had a lot to do with defenders slipping. And the missed penalty too.

Evan Murphy had 14 on his back but pretty much spent the entire game in midfield. I get the idea of getting your best player on the ball as often as possible but I thought the Galway attack seemed unfocused for long spells with him playing so deep. Thought they could have used him a bit further forward.

A repeat of that in the final and Sligo have a great chance to be honest.

If i am not mistaken Murphy played a large portion of the quarter final against Mayo in the midfield area while Daniel Kenny played as a forward. Only 0-3 from play from the Galway starting 6 forwards tonight while the starting 6 forwards for Roscommon fared a little better with 1-4 like you said not a night for forwards but credit to both defences they were well organized.

As for the other semi final. A goalfest and this Leitrim group are well known for scoring goals especially Oisin McLoughlin. Sligo should not be underestimated they are making a habit of reaching provincial underage finals now and nearly always give a good account of themselves once there as this years U21 final proved.
Post by: cornetto on June 28, 2017, 11:53:00 PM
A big crowd from roscommon at the match tonight,in fairness roscommon done all the hard work in the first half,still tried to defend in numbers in second half and hit galway on the break,with the wind they could have commited more to the attack.Galway looked a very ordinary team and a connacht title would probably be their limit ,with minors you never know!!
Post by: galwayman on June 29, 2017, 09:04:17 AM
Is Daniel Kenny injured? I would assume so given he featured heavily in the league and scored 2 goals last time out against Mayo.
It's hard to know what the Galway side are like tandard wise in terms of the rest of the country.
Possibly we don't have the same level of individual talent as the last few minor teams we've had.
Post by: Buckass on June 29, 2017, 11:31:58 AM
The Sligo Leitrim came was full of excitement, naivete and passion last night. Leitrim enjoyed the lions share of possession but, full-forward, Caleb Duffy aside were very wasteful. They had at least a dozen wides and hit four on the trot when on the ascendancy with the game all square with ten+ to go.
Sligo's forwards looked more purposeful on less possession but over-elaboration saw some good goal chances slip away. Sligo showed great resolve to get on top of a game that looked to be going away from them especially when Red Og Murphy, who took his goal well, was black-carded.Conall Ryan got MOTM and he was very good, especially toward the end, but for me cb Evan Lavin from Harps was the stand-out performer. His powerful runs and 1-1 from play were huge factors. His goal came right after a Leitrim goal in the second half that looked like it could bring the visitors through.
Two of the Leitrim goals were of the U-12 variety..a harmless point effort caught behind the line in the first half and a wing back stripped of the ball when trying to play out too close to goal. Cummins' defensive switching worked out better for Sligo who looked more compact in the second half- the leitrim ff line had acres in front of them in 1st half.
Midfield and the half-lines will need to improve on possession from kick-outs however. The hard work & better bench saw Sligo home to an extent.
All-in-all it's a good way to be entering a Connacht Final. There'll be no expectation. All the players from goalkeeper Davey (who made one fantastic point-blank save) on will have something to work on and good points to take confidence from. As Sligoman said it's healthy to see the spread of less-fashionable clubs represented and it augurs well going forward.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 29, 2017, 12:45:45 PM
Is Conan Marren from Tourlestrane still minor age?

Is he one of the 2 lads you refer to Mano? 
Post by: Mano on June 29, 2017, 01:21:11 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 29, 2017, 12:45:45 PM
Is Conan Marren from Tourlestrane still minor age?

Is he one of the 2 lads you refer to Mano? 

Yea he is still minor. Big loss to this years group of minors.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 07, 2017, 09:30:57 AM
Good luck to our lads on Sunday. Tough ask but if they play up to their potential that's all that we can expect. Is there still All Ireland quarter finals at minor?
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 07, 2017, 10:24:36 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 07, 2017, 09:30:57 AM
Good luck to our lads on Sunday. Tough ask but if they play up to their potential that's all that we can expect. Is there still All Ireland quarter finals at minor?

Yes the losing team will play the Ulster provincial winners in a Q-Final, gaa.ie gives it as:
Connacht Winners versus Ulster Runners Up
Ulster Winners versus Connacht Runners Up
Leinster Winners versus Munster Runners Up
Munster Winners versus Leinster Runners Up
Post by: cornetto on July 09, 2017, 01:01:26 PM
Galway 1-9
Sligo      0-7
20 mins left
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 01:11:51 PM
3-10 to 0-08 in Galway's favour, and Galway are down to 14.

Anyone want to apologise for jumping on me for saying Galway would slaughter Sligo with goals now? I can hear crickets..
Post by: Mano on July 09, 2017, 01:22:32 PM
Wow you are a genius to have predicted that. What does Nostradamus predict for Roscommon Galway later?
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 01:24:26 PM
Quote from: Mano on July 09, 2017, 01:22:32 PM
Wow you are a genius to have predicted that. What does Nostradamus predict for Roscommon Galway later?

U mad?
Post by: Mano on July 09, 2017, 01:29:59 PM
I think everyone on here know who is the mad one. Hardly a surprise given their hammering of Mayo. So what is your prediction their for the Rossies
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 01:33:53 PM
Quote from: Mano on July 09, 2017, 01:29:59 PM
I think everyone on here know who is the mad one. Hardly a surprise given their hammering of Mayo. So what is your prediction their for the Rossies

Don't have one lad. Does that upset you?
Post by: Mano on July 09, 2017, 01:37:51 PM
Not too confident then about your own county you clown. Hope Roscommon do well myself as I supported them in the 80's (Roscommon mother).
Post by: magpie seanie on July 11, 2017, 09:17:46 AM
Was looking at the club minor league tables last night and bar St Molaise Gaels, there's no north division club in Division 1 of the minor competition and I know the best team by far in Division 2 is also not from the north. There's a tremendous problem in and around Sligo town that there seems to be an omerta about. I was chatting to a guy involved in a club in that area and he reckons he will lose 7 players next year off his excellent U-14 squad.....they may never play gaelic football again. It's brilliant to see lads from smaller clubs doing well on county teams but our major population area has to provide players or we're goosed. Gaelic games might always be second fiddle around Sligo town but at the moment it's getting a serious trouncing and that should worry everyone.