Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magpie seanie on March 26, 2008, 03:37:37 PM

Title: Construction/plumbing issue
Post by: magpie seanie on March 26, 2008, 03:37:37 PM
Any help would be greatly appreciated here folks. Moved into our new house almost 2 years ago and did a lot of work on it and left some for now including the main bedroom and ensuite. Noticed over the time a bit of a pong in the ensuite which had all the sanitary ware installed but no tiling etc done. We assumed it was caused by not flushing to toilet or the ensuite not being used or something but its got kinda bad now. We're about to start tiling it and obviously now the potential issue has to be addressed. I am having trouble contacting the builder (probably no surprise there) but the home is covered by Homebond if its something they did badly wrong. My worry is if I get a plumber in to look at it without their say so that they might wash their hands of it.

What should I do? I really don't have a clue on these sort of things. Wife is mad to get this sorted and I do not like hassle, especially from her!

Title: Re: Construction/plumbing issue
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 26, 2008, 03:42:02 PM
check to see where the smell is eminating from...
try covering over the sink plughole or sticking down loads of domestos etc and see if the smell remains...

I reckon I know that 'new bathroom' smell that you are on about and it can take a while to disperse.

Had a under stairs toilet installed 16 months ago and the same craic happened us - but have narrowed it down to underuse and the smell coming from the sink plughole.

Yours is a bungalow ?
My guess is that the sink is near the outbound waste pipes and the smell is coming back up the pipe..

if not, I'd also like to know what the cause is!
Post by: Smokin Joe on March 26, 2008, 03:48:17 PM
I had a smell in my ensuite.  The cause of it was that the pipe which runs from the toilet down through the floor wasn't airtight, with the result that smells from the septic tank were rising up and were getting into the ensuite around the sides of the toilet pipe - if that makes sense.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 26, 2008, 04:28:16 PM
Thanks folks, something to work on. I think the smell is coming form the toilet.

Its hard to describe the shape of the house but suffice to say the ensuite bathroom has no windows. Maybe its not too serious but it needs to get sorted.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 26, 2008, 05:13:20 PM
Seanie

An ensuite with no windows? have you some ventilation, the paint will fall off the ceiling with no air. It will go very moldey, with the steam from the shower resting on the walls.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 26, 2008, 05:20:12 PM
There is an extractor fan alright but its never on cos its one of those that comes on when you turn on the light.
Post by: theskull1 on March 26, 2008, 05:38:26 PM
Same as LB
Had a downstairs toilet with a basin. The water in the u bend (on the basin) would get drawn out by what I assumed to be negative pressure in the drainage pipe as toilets elsewhere in the house got flushed and it caused a bit of a whiff as a result. Had to make sure I ran the tap every now and then to make sure the u-bend did it's job.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 26, 2008, 05:54:36 PM
Seanie..it's not your United top causing the smell is it?

Same as skull there is a possible cause. Is the ensuite up or downstairs?
Post by: ludermor on March 26, 2008, 06:02:39 PM
Dont even bother with homebond, they will only cover major works ( and even at that it is a struggle to get anything from them).
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 27, 2008, 08:08:12 AM
homebond is a load of bollix.

friend of mine lived in lucan in a 3 bed 2 floor semi. The showers in each of the 10 houses in his row all leaked and the water settled on top of the kitchen ceiling before eventually seeping through and bringing down the ceiling - or part of it.

Homebond was mentioned to the builders who replied 'fcuk off'.

it took the intervention of local FG TD Austin currie to get these house owners their ceilings and showers fixed.
This was only because the builder was in for more planning permission to build elsewhere nearby and obv didnt want this row scuppering his chances.

If there is a rpoblem and you think homebond will save you, think again.
You are still left up to the discretion of the builder (and their frequently shoddy work due to untrained unskilled cheap workers - note I didnt say tradesmen) and will have to go to the courts to try and prove the builder is responsible before they think of addressing your problem.

Best of luck Seanie, keep flushing , running the taps and see if there is any change in the smell.
Post by: tyronefan on March 27, 2008, 10:45:41 AM
If there is a shower in the room check it to see if there is water in the u bend. Some times when the shower isn't used for a while the water can evaporate and leave no water trap. The chances are that the shower waste is connected into the sewer so that when there is no water in the u bend the smell can come out of the shower plug hole.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 27, 2008, 10:51:30 AM
Great advice and I dare say you guys are right. Probably the shower or the sink. Cheers.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on March 27, 2008, 12:18:34 PM
What happened to a friend of mine and he had the exact same problem was that a mouse got under this shower tray and died there. He was only in his new house about 6 months when this happened. The smell lasted for over a year. Everything was checked pipes,water traps. It was only when he was changing the bathroom later that the problem was found.
Post by: theskull1 on March 27, 2008, 01:22:57 PM
If it's the water in the u-bend emptying then listen out for some sort of "gargling" from the plughole whenever a toilet is flushed elsewhere in the house
Post by: illdecide on March 27, 2008, 02:28:26 PM
Sounds like there is more than water stuck in the U bend. It's a turf spade you need ;) :D :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 28, 2008, 09:10:00 AM
Quote from: laoislad on March 28, 2008, 01:22:27 AM
Be a man and do the repairs yourself,Or are you one of these "penpushers" who hasn't hands to wipe their own arse  ::)
fecking hell
would you ask tradesmen to do the job of some of the posters on here?

Theres enough cowboys in the building trade these days unfortunately without us all giving it a shot.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 28, 2008, 11:29:02 AM
A sure way to make an idiot out of yourself is to try to do something you don't have the first clue about. You should bear that in mind sometimes LL.  ;)
Post by: ludermor on March 28, 2008, 12:47:46 PM
dont think this is the real LL, thought he was still on his sabatical?
Post by: Main Street on March 28, 2008, 08:54:28 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 26, 2008, 04:28:16 PM
Thanks folks, something to work on. I think the smell is coming form the toilet.

Its hard to describe the shape of the house but suffice to say the ensuite bathroom has no windows. Maybe its not too serious but it needs to get sorted.
As others have said,
usually its the smell coming back up the sink or the bath, if the outlets from the both of them join into the toilet drain at the back of the toilet and the plumbing design is suspect.
A careful nose test first thing in the morning would confirm it (if it is so).
Post by: magpie seanie on March 31, 2008, 10:19:08 PM
Goatlover/Goatlover wannabe - you'll be delighted to know I fixed it myself with the help of the advice of the guys here.

Thanks folks - seems to be sorted now.

Post by: tyronefan on March 31, 2008, 10:32:40 PM
well what was it  ???
Post by: magpie seanie on April 01, 2008, 09:55:14 AM
Smell was coming back up out of shower. Once I fired a bit of water down there a few times the smell went.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 01, 2008, 04:50:26 PM
See Seanie
that oul construction worker lark is dead easy !

send the cheque to me -
matius dziewokonwski
at
appt 23 , block b , ballymun towers, Dublin 11
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2008, 08:31:30 PM
One day Laois Lad you too can be a man.

Quote from: magpie seanie on April 01, 2008, 09:55:14 AM
Smell was coming back up out of shower. Once I fired a bit of water down there a few times the smell went.
Magpie, that tells me that the shower isn't a much used utility in your household  :o
Post by: magpie seanie on April 02, 2008, 01:04:23 PM
QuoteMagpie, that tells me that the shower isn't a much used utility in your household

Despite my inability to do "manly work" as our friend calls it I live in a house that has a main bathroom and an ensuite and (wait for it) - both have showers! Funnily enough, we use the shower that has the walls tiled round it and a shower door up all the time as opposed to the other one which is only getting done now.  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on April 02, 2008, 03:14:56 PM
Tell the truth, you're a mucky b*stard :D
Post by: magpie seanie on April 02, 2008, 07:50:44 PM
Stinkin.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2008, 08:04:04 PM
Our water pump at the borehole has stopped working now for 3 days.
No running water at all in the house and the rest of the family have moved out to the mother in laws.
That was a tactic used supposed to hurry me up to fix it.
I think it has backfired on them a I am enjoying the peace. ;D 
The inner workings of a centrifugal pump is not my forte.

Post by: Gaafan2 on May 14, 2020, 09:04:04 AM
Thinking of replacing the bathroom suite. My plumber has advised me to replace the gravity fed tank the roofspace with a hot water pressurised tank which will give much better hot water pressure throughout the house. He quoted me £1500 for these works alone. As I'm no plumbing expert, should I expect to pay that kind of money?
Post by: illdecide on May 14, 2020, 11:25:12 AM
Quote from: gaafan2 on May 14, 2020, 09:04:04 AM
Thinking of replacing the bathroom suite. My plumber has advised me to replace the gravity fed tank the roofspace with a hot water pressurised tank which will give much better hot water pressure throughout the house. He quoted me £1500 for these works alone. As I'm no plumbing expert, should I expect to pay that kind of money?

Is that for just his time or is that for all his plumbing work and the pressurised water tank?
Post by: Gaafan2 on May 14, 2020, 11:57:59 AM
Quote from: illdecide on May 14, 2020, 11:25:12 AM

Is that for just his time or is that for all his plumbing work and the pressurised water tank?
£1500 is for installation of the pressurised tank and the materials required.

The bathroom fit out will obviously cost over and above this.
Post by: snoopdog on May 14, 2020, 02:31:24 PM
Quote from: gaafan2 on May 14, 2020, 11:57:59 AM
Quote from: illdecide on May 14, 2020, 11:25:12 AM

£1500 is for installation of the pressurised tank and the materials required.

The bathroom fit out will obviously cost over and above this.
I  renovated the house last year and the pressurised system was 1500 euros additional. So your quote is sterling and a little bit more expensive .
Post by: bigfrank on April 28, 2021, 07:45:03 AM
Hot water issue!

I'm living in a house I bought two years ago,initially when we turned on the hot water for dishes/shower and turned it off after a few hours the water would store and stay hot in the tank for a few days,now when we turn the switch off the water seems to drain from the tank and goes down the drain under the outside tap,can see the steam coming off the hot water as it comes out the pipe. Also it seems to have to fill the tank each time with water if that makes sense as there is a fair bit of noise coming from the tank and pipes each time I use the hot water between pipes filling and draining.

Is this a stat problem/spark or a plumbing issue??
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 28, 2021, 08:55:32 AM
Is that pipe letting the water away not your pressure relief from your tank?
Post by: general on April 28, 2021, 09:13:04 AM
Put a box of Caustic Soda down drain and pour a bottle of vinegar - should clear up the drain of shower
Post by: sensethetone on April 28, 2021, 09:36:46 AM
Sound like you have to much how water and it over flows... Have you a hot water tank in the attic or a pressurised system?
Post by: bigfrank on April 28, 2021, 10:18:29 AM
Pressurised system,house was a turnkey purchase and only two years old.only me and wife live there and hot water used to stay in the tank for days at the beginning,now it's a case of turning it on daily just to wash dishes.tank never seems to just warm and then knock of,it's always draining or filling,can hear it thru the cupboard door,hard to explain I guess when I don't really know what I'm talking about lol
Post by: TabClear on April 28, 2021, 10:42:48 AM
Quote from: bigfrank on April 28, 2021, 10:18:29 AM
Pressurised system,house was a turnkey purchase and only two years old.only me and wife live there and hot water used to stay in the tank for days at the beginning,now it's a case of turning it on daily just to wash dishes.tank never seems to just warm and then knock of,it's always draining or filling,can hear it thru the cupboard door,hard to explain I guess when I don't really know what I'm talking about lol

I  had a similar problem where a motorised valve got stuck open. The valve was controlled by a thermostat and would open/close to let water into the tank as required. Motor had got stuck so was a simple cheap fix (when I got someone in who knew what to look for).
Post by: bigfrank on April 28, 2021, 01:16:12 PM
A plumbing friend suggested changing the 7 bar temperature and pressure relief value just from what I told him over the phone,I haven't got to a hardware store yet to get one,he said he would come over and take a look at what the system is doing when I turn the switch for hot water and then change that valve too.