GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: quiganmaster on July 18, 2016, 06:28:16 PM

Title: Derry vs Tipperary, Breffini Park, Sarurday 23rd July 5pm, Live on Sky
Post by: quiganmaster on July 18, 2016, 06:28:16 PM
Thought I'd get the discussion going. Derry have done well so far since the Tyrone embarrassment and It's a great chance for us to get to a first quarter final in 9 years, but Tipperary will be no pushovers. PP have Derry as short as 1/2 to win, which I think is ridiculous and Tipp at 11/5 might be worth a tenner or 2.
Title: Re: Derry vs Tipperary, Breffini Park, Sarurday 23rd July 5pm, Live on Sky
Post by: twohands!!! on July 18, 2016, 06:51:11 PM
Waterford 1-7 Tipp 1-15
Cork 2-16 Tipp 3-15
Kerry 3-17 Tipp 2-10

In the league (Division 3) Tipp's record was 2 wins 3 draw 2 loses

Derry 0-12 Tyrone 3-14
Derry 1-18 Louth 2-10
Derry 1-14 Meath 1-11
Cavan 0-18 Derry 1-17

In the league (Division 2) Derry's record was 2 wins 2 draw 2 loses

In the Kerry game, Tipp looked like a side who were happy enough with their win over Cork. Also Cork seem a side who look wildly inconsistent so beating them might not exactly be the achievement it once was.
Derry have recovered from the Tyrone game and while they haven't been beating any world-beaters they have been winning games.
Title: Re: Derry vs Tipperary, Breffini Park, Sarurday 23rd July 5pm, Live on Sky
Post by: rrhf on July 19, 2016, 07:20:35 AM
Has Derry ever been on sky before?
Post by: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 08:50:52 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 19, 2016, 07:20:35 AM

Probably not a serious question. But yes, at least twice that I know off  (donegal and galway last year).

Post by: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 08:55:27 AM
Quote from: quiganmaster on July 18, 2016, 06:28:16 PM
Thought I'd get the discussion going. Derry have done well so far since the Tyrone embarrassment and It's a great chance for us to get to a first quarter final in 9 years, but Tipperary will be no pushovers. PP have Derry as short as 1/2 to win, which I think is ridiculous and Tipp at 11/5 might be worth a tenner or 2.
Those odds make little sense to me. I'd  see this as a 50/50 game.

We have massive problems with our kick outs and winning ball at midfield. It will cost us at some stage. To be honest it should have been our downfall on Saturday but thankfully cavan were wasteful in the first half.

We need to play from the start this time, instead of waiting to half time when damage is done. A big opportunity to get to a quarter final for both teams. I'd like to think there would be no over confidence in the Derry set up, as frankly its not warranted....and if there is, then the only word which needs mentioned is Longford
Post by: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 08:57:08 AM
The draw is available at 8/1....could be some value in that
Post by: skeog on July 19, 2016, 09:03:38 AM
breffni park is worth a couple of points to derry due to their familiarity with it surely derry are good enough to reach the last 8
Post by: Real Talk on July 19, 2016, 10:03:26 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 08:55:27 AM

We have massive problems with our kick outs and winning ball at midfield. It will cost us at some stage. To be honest it should have been our downfall on Saturday but thankfully cavan were wasteful in the first half.

We need to play from the start this time, instead of waiting to half time when damage is done. A big opportunity to get to a quarter final for both teams. I'd like to think there would be no over confidence in the Derry set up, as frankly its not warranted....and if there is, then the only word which needs mentioned is Longford

This is the key to our problem plus a new CHB will have to be chosen .... who in the team/panel can give us stability, intelligence, leadership and drive in that role ?  .....
Post by: TheOptimist on July 19, 2016, 10:42:28 AM
Quote from: Real Talk on July 19, 2016, 10:03:26 AM

This is the key to our problem plus a new CHB will have to be chosen .... who in the team/panel can give us stability, intelligence, leadership and drive in that role ?  .....

Thinking McAtamney maybe with Bradley in midfield? From memory in the league last year McAtamney played a class game against Cork around that position.
Post by: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 10:44:43 AM
Quote from: TheOptimist on July 19, 2016, 10:42:28 AM

Thinking McAtamney maybe with Bradley in midfield? From memory in the league last year McAtamney played a class game against Cork around that position.

Thats could be worth a shout. We're not blessed with options in there. Times like this you really feel the absence of McBride, Sean Leo, Craig and Johnson....those 4 available would have given us plenty of defensive options
Post by: AZOffaly on July 19, 2016, 10:47:37 AM
The Cork win was a real boost for Tipperary football, but the Kerry performance still shows how far away Tipp are from the top table. They are a Division 3 team for a reason, and while this year will have helped broaden the base of inter county player in the county, which is great, I think the defections are still a major concern and will hold Tipperary back, and probably cost them this game. If Steven O'Brien, Colin O'Riordan, Seamus Kennedy, Jason Lonergan and the rest were on the squad for this game, then I'd fancy Tipp, and in fact I'd fancy them to give Kerry a much more serious test. They should be a Division 2 team at least with those players.

However if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle, so Tipp has to deal with what they have, and in fairness they have done that well this year. Lads who wouldn't even be in the named 30 are starting, and have improved as the year went on, so that is a very heartening sign, and will be a good thing in the long run.

Tipp are at their best when they move at speed. They need to dominate possession and attack at pace. They like to mix it up, and feed Quinlivan and Sweeney with direct ball, mixed in with fast breaking 'shoulder' runners like Acheson and Brian Fox. They are quite proficient at getting goals due to this pace, but when it goes wrong they get very slow and ponderous, and are prone to turnovers. I'm not sure how Derry would set up, but Tipp would struggle, in my view against anything approaching a blanket defense.

At the back, they will match up well against strong lads, but great movement (a lá Kerry) really hurts them. They can be run at as well, and will give up goal chances when that happens, but isolated defenders against really fast, tricky forwards is the big weakness.

i'd be surprised if Derry don't win this, but I think Tipp will give a good account of themselves, and if they can keep the pace in their game going forward, they may well beat Derry.
Post by: thebuzz on July 19, 2016, 11:14:04 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 08:50:52 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 19, 2016, 07:20:35 AM

Probably not a serious question. But yes, at least twice that I know off  (donegal and galway last year).
Whether it's a serious question or not I can't remember us winning too many televised games. We lost both of those last year. With our record this year there is no way we should be complacent or have any right to be. Tipperary could easily beat us. We need to do much better on our own kickouts. Barton also needs to drum it into the players that there's no point in complaining to the ref or getting in the way when a free kick is given against us. There were at least three frees on Saturday which Cavan scored due to them being moved forward.
Post by: AhNowRef on July 19, 2016, 12:28:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 19, 2016, 10:47:37 AM
The Cork win was a real boost for Tipperary football, but the Kerry performance still shows how far away Tipp are from the top table. They are a Division 3 team for a reason, and while this year will have helped broaden the base of inter county player in the county, which is great, I think the defections are still a major concern and will hold Tipperary back, and probably cost them this game. If Steven O'Brien, Colin O'Riordan, Seamus Kennedy, Jason Lonergan and the rest were on the squad for this game, then I'd fancy Tipp, and in fact I'd fancy them to give Kerry a much more serious test. They should be a Division 2 team at least with those players.

I didnt know about defections in Tipp .. is that to Hurling or whats the craic with these players ? ... I thought O'Riordan was a super player.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 19, 2016, 12:33:28 PM
Colin O'Riordan is in the AFL.
Steven O'Brien is on the extended Tipp hurling panel.
Seamus Kennedy is starting with the hurlers.
Paddy Codd and Barry Grogan aren't playing this year
3 other lads went off to the US after the league.

All good players that would be at least on the panel, and probably 6 or 7 starters.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 19, 2016, 01:42:29 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 10:44:43 AM

Thats could be worth a shout. We're not blessed with options in there. Times like this you really feel the absence of McBride, Sean Leo, Craig and Johnson....those 4 available would have given us plenty of defensive options

Are they all gone for the year?
Post by: AhNowRef on July 19, 2016, 01:49:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 19, 2016, 12:33:28 PM
Colin O'Riordan is in the AFL.
Steven O'Brien is on the extended Tipp hurling panel.
Seamus Kennedy is starting with the hurlers.
Paddy Codd and Barry Grogan aren't playing this year
3 other lads went off to the US after the league.

All good players that would be at least on the panel, and probably 6 or 7 starters.

Ah right .. disappointing for Tipp !!

Is that the same "O'Riordan" lad who starred for Tipp U21 last year?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 19, 2016, 01:51:37 PM
Yep, himself and Steven O'Brien, and Jason Lonergan were all on that team.
Post by: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 02:06:54 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 19, 2016, 01:42:29 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 10:44:43 AM

Are they all gone for the year?

I dont know. Craig and Johnson haven't been seen since they played for Dungiven against managements wishes

Sean Leo had a long lay off, not sure what his time frame is

McBride went back to play for the club before the meath game to get some football under his belt, the talk then was he'd be back if we got over meath. The Cavan game fell on the same day as a wedding he was attending so don't know if that means he'll be back for tipp game or not
Post by: AhNowRef on July 19, 2016, 02:11:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 19, 2016, 01:51:37 PM
Yep, himself and Steven O'Brien, and Jason Lonergan were all on that team.

Yeah thats tough on Tipp for sure .. Thats O'Riordan lad would have been a serious asset by himself !!
Post by: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 03:47:12 PM
I was surprised at the venue. But he's talking nonsense if he thinks you could do Derry to cavan in an hour and a half. He also completely contradicts himself then asking for galway. Breffni is a lot more neutral than galway is

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=258382
Post by: Estimator on July 20, 2016, 04:32:08 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 03:47:12 PM
I was surprised at the venue. But he's talking nonsense if he thinks you could do Derry to cavan in an hour and a half. He also completely contradicts himself then asking for galway. Breffni is a lot more neutral than galway is

He's having a laugh there surely, with both his estimates. It's, at the very least, a 2hr journey from a couple of South Derry Clubs, and upwards of 3hrs from the N.Derry clubs. And a brief look at google maps it would suggest something similar in Tipp. Based on times from Roscrea and Carrick
Post by: southderryman on July 21, 2016, 09:21:47 AM
I see the referee is listed as M Duffy. Anyone know is its marty or Michael?

Either way, both sets of players, management and supporters are in for a frustrating day with some ridiculous decisions. Just hope whichever one it is, he's equally poor to both teams and has no impact on the outcome
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 21, 2016, 09:27:09 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 21, 2016, 09:21:47 AM

Either way, both sets of players, management and supporters are in for a frustrating day with some ridiculous decisions. Just hope whichever one it is, he's equally poor to both teams and has no impact on the outcome
Marty I'd say, not sure if Michael is on the panel this year or not but haven't noticed him getting any gigs if he is.
Post by: southderryman on July 21, 2016, 10:03:56 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 21, 2016, 09:27:09 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 21, 2016, 09:21:47 AM

Marty I'd say, not sure if Michael is on the panel this year or not but haven't noticed him getting any gigs if he is.

You could be right, haven't seen Michael this year. Marty was running the line last weekend
Post by: quiganmaster on July 21, 2016, 01:01:33 PM
Is be expecting a similar team that lined out against Cavan, but with Rodgers unavailable it might mean that Bradley gets the nod at midfield.

Mallon
Mckinless.
Mckaige.   
Mckaige.
Mcfaul.     
Mcatamney. 
Mullan
Holly
Bradley
Heaven
Bradley
Toner
Kielt
Lynch
Mcguckin

Would be an option or else perhaps we could see lynch going CHB like he played a couple of seasons back with the midfield staying the same and Loughlin starting? Will be interesting to see when the team is announced. Gutted that I won't be able to get to this one, but will be keeping a very close eye
Post by: tbrick18 on July 21, 2016, 01:03:26 PM
Quote from: quiganmaster on July 21, 2016, 01:01:33 PM
Is be expecting a similar team that lined out against Cavan, but with Rodgers unavailable it might mean that Bradley gets the nod at midfield.

Mallon
Mckinless.
Mckaige.   
Mckaige.
Mcfaul.     
Mcatamney. 
Mullan
Holly
Bradley
Heaven
Bradley
Toner
Kielt
Lynch
Mcguckin

Would be an option or else perhaps we could see lynch going CHB like he played a couple of seasons back with the midfield staying the same and Loughlin starting? Will be interesting to see when the team is announced. Gutted that I won't be able to get to this one, but will be keeping a very close eye

Whats the odds on Gerard O'Kane being a direct replacement for Rodgers?
Post by: quiganmaster on July 21, 2016, 01:42:11 PM
I hadn't thought of that, that is also a very real possibility. O'kane is a good player, but hasn't played that much this year for the county. He'd be a leader and an experienced head in that half back line and central part of the pitch. That could be important on
Saturday for a relatively inexperienced Derry team.
Post by: southderryman on July 21, 2016, 02:27:53 PM
Quote from: quiganmaster on July 21, 2016, 01:01:33 PM

Mallon
Mckinless.
Mckaige.   
Mckaige.
Mcfaul.     
Mcatamney. 
Mullan
Holly
Bradley
Heaven
Bradley
Toner
Kielt
Lynch
Mcguckin

I think you'd be mental to move lynch at this stage. He's kicked 7 points v cavan and 6 points v meath. I don't think Mark has the capability of getting up and down the pitch from CHB for 75+ minutes any more. Leave home where he is, where he can get a breather when he needs it and can conserve his energy to hopefully do enough damage to get us over the line

McAtamney would be my choice at CHB with emmet Bradley in midfield. Niall Holly needs to up his game considerably this weekend

Brown and Sammy Bradley probably haven't don't enough recently to merit a start. Lynn must be in contention at this stage. Loughlin toner and forrester have done well recently and must pushing for a start although it seems Barton likes to hold a few of these back as impact subs
Post by: southderryman on July 21, 2016, 08:56:31 PM
Unchanged team again. Thought Rodgers was unavailable?

1. Thomas Mallon (An Lúb)
2. Gareth McKinless (Baile an Doire)
3. Chrissy McKaigue (Sleacht Néill) (C)
4. Karl McKaigue (Sleacht Néill)
5. Ciarán McFaul (Gleann)
6. Brendan Rogers (Sleacht Néill)
7. Ciarán Mullan (Eoghan Rua)
8. Conor McAtamney (Suaitreach)
9. Niall Holly (Eoghan Rua)
10. Daniel Heavron (Machaire Fíolta)
11. Christopher Bradley (Sleacht Néill)
12. Eoghan Brown (Baile Eachaidh)
13. James Kielt (Cill Ria)
14. Emmett McGuckin (Machaire Fíolta)
15. Mark Lynch (Beannchar)
16. Conor McLernon (Machaire Fíolta)
17. Neil Forester (Baile Stíl)
18. Liam McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
19. Michael McEvoy (Machaire Fíolta)
20. Cailean O'Boyle (Leamhaigh)
21. Oisín Duffy (Forghleann)
22. Niall Toner (Leamhaigh)
23. Niall Loughlin (Grianloch)
24. Emmett Bradley (Gleann)
25. Enda Lynn (Grianloch)
26. Gerard O'Kane (Gleann an Iolair)
Post by: Estimator on July 21, 2016, 09:02:05 PM
I really don't think that this will be the starting line up!
Post by: southderryman on July 21, 2016, 09:11:26 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 21, 2016, 09:02:05 PM
I really don't think that this will be the starting line up!

Neither do I.  But then I didn't think it would be last week either. Would expect 3 changes to that team
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2016, 09:58:58 PM
Excately how crap to you have to be to get benched on this Derry team, that's 3 games running 4 or so lads are under performing and should be dropped but get continually picked, whats that saying to the other lads on the bench.
Post by: southderryman on July 22, 2016, 08:52:56 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2016, 09:58:58 PM
Excately how crap to you have to be to get benched on this Derry team, that's 3 games running 4 or so lads are under performing and should be dropped but get continually picked, whats that saying to the other lads on the bench.

I can see the logic in holding some guys back to make an impact with their pace when teams are tiring and to finish with their strongest team to get them over the line.

The problem we have is that we're thin on the ground on forward areas in particular if we want to do this.

I expect Lynn to start with the 2 niall held in reserve again for the last 20 or 25 mins depending how things are going
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 22, 2016, 01:17:17 PM
I be more concerned with midfield and center half back, we been very poor in these positions
Post by: southderryman on July 22, 2016, 02:13:17 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 22, 2016, 01:17:17 PM
I be more concerned with midfield and center half back, we been very poor in these positions

I agree and the keepers kick outs have only added to the problem; but the point I was making about holding players back was in relation to forwards, the reality is we don't really have many options in midfield or defence
Post by: lenny on July 22, 2016, 03:04:57 PM

Barton and scullion seem to like the idea of themselves as master tacticians who bring on 4 or 5 subs who change the game. Our second half team is on average 6 or 7 points better than our first half team. As always in this kind of scenario Barton will look like a chump if we go in at half time 9 or 10 points down but our subs bring us back to a 2 or 3 point defeat. It's good to have one or 2 really good subs to bring on but we also need to strengthen the starting team as our first half performances haven't been good enough.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 08:54:04 AM
Best of luck to the Derry men today.
Post by: rikihuntar24 on July 23, 2016, 10:01:06 AM
Watch Live =>  http://sports-newshd24.com/Gaa/

======================================
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 23, 2016, 01:25:12 PM
Derry have good momentum from their Cavan,Meath comeback wins they should have the edge in this game. Better for Roscommon to win the other game so that Derry avoid Kerry.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 23, 2016, 02:51:30 PM
Is the reward for winning this game a quarterfinals with Galway or Kerry. You would imagine Roscommon will beat Clare so it could be Derry v Galway. Will be some crack if it ends up being Derry v Tyrone semifinal.
Post by: Franko on July 23, 2016, 03:05:08 PM
Quote from: lenny on July 22, 2016, 03:04:57 PM

Barton and scullion seem to like the idea of themselves as master tacticians who bring on 4 or 5 subs who change the game. Our second half team is on average 6 or 7 points better than our first half team. As always in this kind of scenario Barton will look like a chump if we go in at half time 9 or 10 points down but our subs bring us back to a 2 or 3 point defeat. It's good to have one or 2 really good subs to bring on but we also need to strengthen the starting team as our first half performances haven't been good enough.

Can't speak for Barton but if you knew anything about Tony Scullion you wouldn't be saying that.  Scullion does his best for Derry, whatever way he sees fit.  He doesn't give a flyin fcuk what way others think of him.
Post by: Conallach on July 23, 2016, 04:03:40 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 20, 2016, 04:32:08 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 19, 2016, 03:47:12 PM

He's having a laugh there surely, with both his estimates. It's, at the very least, a 2hr journey from a couple of South Derry Clubs, and upwards of 3hrs from the N.Derry clubs. And a brief look at google maps it would suggest something similar in Tipp. Based on times from Roscrea and Carrick

After listening to Kearns' moaning I pulled up Google Maps and checked the travel times from the club of each starter (or the village in question) to eah venue that he suggested. Now this is quite a tricky match to set, I'll give you that, but I'm not sure why Kearns feels that his the fixture planners have done a poor job here.

The average differential for Cavan was around the three quarters of an hour mark. The only venues more suitable than Cavan were Navan & Parnell. Tipp refused to travel to Parnell as they have lost matches there before, and Navan, no offence intended to the Meath posters on here, is an awful, awful ground. The venues suggested by Kearns leaned heavily towards Tipp, and some of them were particularly ludicrous, with two venues suggested by Kearns having an average travel time differential of over two hours in favour of the Premier County boys.

I really doubt that Kearns is unaware of this, surely a man repeatedly chosen as an intercounty manager has to be a little more on the ball than that, so I guess that it must be a deliberate 'motivational' tactic, similar to his statements about columnists before the Munster Final. That's fine, whatever. But it's quite disappointing that no pundit on either GAA preview show that I listened to pulled him up on it. Instead you have Mossy Quinn nodding along and suggesting halfway points that approach the three quarter way mark.

Anyway, if I was from either county I'd be more concerned with the wildcard that is your ref for the afternoon.  ;D
Post by: southderryman on July 23, 2016, 04:36:12 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 23, 2016, 02:51:30 PM
Is the reward for winning this game a quarterfinals with Galway or Kerry. You would imagine Roscommon will beat Clare so it could be Derry v Galway. Will be some crack if it ends up being Derry v Tyrone semifinal.

Clare just about home and dry.

If Derry win it's kerry. If tipp win it's  galway
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 05:00:45 PM
McKinless injured in the warm up.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 23, 2016, 05:18:51 PM
Derry off to another 'sluggish' start (0-06 to 0-03 behind)?
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 23, 2016, 05:23:24 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 23, 2016, 04:36:12 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 23, 2016, 02:51:30 PM

Clare just about home and dry.

If Derry win it's kerry. If tipp win it's  galway

If Derry win is it not an open draw between Clare and Derry to see who gets Kerry and who gets Galway? There are no provincial finalists to seperate?
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 05:26:59 PM
Yeah, I think that's it.
Post by: titlysarker1 on July 23, 2016, 05:27:54 PM
CLICK HERE===>>> http://sports24livestream.com/all-games/ (http://sports24livestream.com/all-games/)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 05:35:38 PM
Danny Heavron has been fantastic, great footballer.
Post by: titlysarker1 on July 23, 2016, 05:39:12 PM
CLICK HERE===>>> http://sports24livestream.com/all-games/ (http://sports24livestream.com/all-games/)
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2016, 05:46:34 PM
Now, titlysarker....
Post by: macdanger2 on July 23, 2016, 06:01:41 PM
Anyone know if there's somewhere I can click to get a stream for this match?
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 06:03:53 PM
What the hell was the throw in for and what the hell was Dick Clerkin talking about??? The keeper touches the ball on the ground and both Marty Duffy and Dick Clerkin think that's a throw in?
Post by: Main Street on July 23, 2016, 06:09:28 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 23, 2016, 06:01:41 PM
http://ifirstrow.eu/watch/451093/1/watch-gaa---tipperary-vs-derry.html (http://ifirstrow.eu/watch/451093/1/watch-gaa---tipperary-vs-derry.html)
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 23, 2016, 06:14:44 PM
Munster football buzzing.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 06:16:25 PM
Derry have subbed three of their best performers in the second half.

Bizarre.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 06:18:31 PM
Marty Duffy showing why he is the worst ref in the country.
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 06:20:20 PM
Jesus Marty!!! I thought he was very harsh on some of the over carries but that was a daft decision.
Post by: galwayman on July 23, 2016, 06:25:37 PM
How is this guy actually an inter county referee?
He's consistently terrible
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 06:41:09 PM
If ever a game was lost on the sideline that was it.

He took Heavron, Holly, Lynn and Kielt off at crucial stages when they were all going well and showing no signs of flagging.

The guys coming on did well but there were guys there who were offering little and should have been hauled off.

Ciaran Mullan is as far removed from a county player as I've seen.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2016, 06:43:22 PM
3 Munster sides in the last 8 and the possibility of 4 if Cork beat Donegal.

Galway v Tipp
Kerry v Clare
Post by: AZOffaly on July 23, 2016, 06:44:33 PM
Lads that is brilliant. What guts. Absolutely out on their feet.
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2016, 06:45:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 23, 2016, 06:44:33 PM
Lads that is brilliant. What guts. Absolutely out on their feet.
What a stunna from Tipp to go with beating Cork and the Munster club.
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 06:47:31 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 06:41:09 PM

He took Heavron, Holly, Lynn and Kielt off at crucial stages when they were all going well and showing no signs of flagging.

The guys coming on did well but there were guys there who were offering little and should have been hauled off.

Heavron seemed to be injured, Holly, Lynn and Kielt were doing little or nothing though I'd have kept Kielt on myself. Tipp were the better team and I'm delighted for AZ and Tippabu (and other Tipp linked posters) who are battling against the tide and today was a great day for all Tipp football people.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 23, 2016, 06:47:38 PM
Fair play to Tipp. Some performance! Clare, Kerry and Tipp and in quarters with potentially Cork too. Munster football is alive and kicking
Post by: omagh_gael on July 23, 2016, 06:49:19 PM
Tipp will give Galway their fill of it in the QF!
Post by: time ticking away on July 23, 2016, 06:52:55 PM

Didn't take you long to put the boot in.
Horrible individual imo
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 06:53:41 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 06:47:31 PM

Heavron seemed to be injured, Holly, Lynn and Kielt were doing little or nothing though I'd have kept Kielt on myself. Tipp were the better team and I'm delighted for AZ and Tippabu (and other Tipp linked posters) who are battling against the tide and today was a great day for all Tipp football people.

Holly was a dominant figure at midfield, made plenty of tackles and won a few great catches.

Lynn has pace to burn and you'd imagine with how open the game was this would be crucial.

Heavron didn't seem to be injured, he was just after kicking a great score to put them 2 up.

Kielt had already hit two point and was a guy who could hit crucial scores as well as being one of the most experienced players on the team.

McGuckin should have been off a lot earlier. Mullan should have been taken off, Loughlin didn't have a kick second half. They were bizarre changes.
Post by: skeog on July 23, 2016, 06:57:46 PM
mr barton got his come uppance after his arrogant resign comments during the week maybe he will regret his remarks
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 07:03:45 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 06:53:41 PM

Holly was a dominant figure at midfield, made plenty of tackles and won a few great catches.

Lynn has pace to burn and you'd imagine with how open the game was this would be crucial.

Heavron didn't seem to be injured, he was just after kicking a great score to put them 2 up.

Kielt had already hit two point and was a guy who could hit crucial scores as well as being one of the most experienced players on the team.

McGuckin should have been off a lot earlier. Mullan should have been taken off, Loughlin didn't have a kick second half. They were bizarre changes.

Disagree, Derry certainly weren't dominant at midfield and Heavron was limping when coming off though I don't know if he was injured. Lynn did nothing all game and Kielt kicked one score from play and I recall little else. Like I said, I would have kept Kielt on myself as he can kick a score but most subs made a contribution and I don't think it was the winning or losing of the game. You can always second guess substitutions but I wouldn't say they made much of a difference.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 07:04:04 PM
Quote from: time ticking away on July 23, 2016, 06:52:55 PM

Didn't take you long to put the boot in.
Horrible individual imo

Would you prefer a cuddle, pal?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 23, 2016, 07:04:37 PM
Cracking game for the neutral, well done tipp
Post by: macdanger2 on July 23, 2016, 07:05:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 23, 2016, 06:09:28 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 23, 2016, 06:01:41 PM
http://ifirstrow.eu/watch/451093/1/watch-gaa---tipperary-vs-derry.html (http://ifirstrow.eu/watch/451093/1/watch-gaa---tipperary-vs-derry.html)

Cheers main street although my comment was tongue in cheek
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 07:08:26 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 07:03:45 PM

Disagree, Derry certainly weren't dominant at midfield and Heavron was limping when coming off though I don't know if he was injured. Lynn did nothing all game and Kielt kicked one score from play and I recall little else. Like I said, I would have kept Kielt on myself as he can kick a score but most subs made a contribution and I don't think it was the winning or losing of the game. You can always second guess substitutions but I wouldn't say they made much of a difference.

They were bizarre at that time.

Holly had a very good game, he was winning plenty in the middle and making a number of great tackles, working hard and being a presence. I thought they fell away badly in that sector after he came off. Just look at the dominance Tipp had in midfield in the closing 20 minutes. Heavron is your best player and the one who had shown leadership throughout. So why on earth would he take him off with the game in the melting pot and a few minutes to go?

The subs were mental and cost Derry the game, IMO.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 23, 2016, 07:08:26 PM
Superb response from Tipp when they went 2 down with not much time left. They'll be a tough match up for Galway next weekend, they'll fancy their chances to get to a semi-final but I hope the Q-final is as far as they go this year.
Post by: lenny on July 23, 2016, 07:11:00 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 23, 2016, 07:08:26 PM
Superb response from Tipp when they went 2 down with not much time left. They'll be a tough match up for Galway next weekend, they'll fancy their chances to get to a semi-final but I hope the Q-final is as far as they go this year.

Fair play to tipp. Better team so no complaints. We really struggled to win our kickouts throughout.
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2016, 07:13:34 PM
Delighted for AZ. Even if Liverpool are mediocre Tipp are going places
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 07:18:22 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 07:08:26 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 23, 2016, 07:03:45 PM

They were bizarre at that time.

Holly had a very good game, he was winning plenty in the middle and making a number of great tackles, working hard and being a presence. I thought they fell away badly in that sector after he came off. Just look at the dominance Tipp had in midfield in the closing 20 minutes. Heavron is your best player and the one who had shown leadership throughout. So why on earth would he take him off with the game in the melting pot and a few minutes to go?

The subs were mental and cost Derry the game, IMO.

Well it's a matter of opinion I suppose but it isn't unusual to take of midfielders and get fresh legs on and I think you're being generous on Holly's performance. If Heavron was injured that explains that though if he wasn't I'd certainly have left him on too. Substitutions are often about who you want to put on as opposed to who you want to take off so perhaps the management felt they lads they wanted on could do similar to the lads being taken off.
Post by: Main Street on July 23, 2016, 07:20:30 PM
That was a heart warming gutsy performance from Tipp especially after Derry looked to have finally clawed back the game into their grasp.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 07:21:00 PM
The bottom line is they left lads like Mullan and McGuckin on who were way off the pace instead of better peformers and more dangerous players.
Post by: whiskeysteve on July 23, 2016, 07:24:29 PM
Heavron was quite clearly hurt and on the verge of going down with his limping after his final score, obviously needed to be subbed. Or you could just jump to the conclusion that suits you.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 23, 2016, 07:29:28 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 23, 2016, 07:13:34 PM

I'm delighted for tippabu and the other Tipperary die hards. This has very little to do with me, but it is a massive boost for everyone involved in trying to promote Tipp football. I'm delighted.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 07:32:43 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on July 23, 2016, 07:24:29 PM
Heavron was quite clearly hurt and on the verge of going down with his limping after his final score, obviously needed to be subbed. Or you could just jump to the conclusion that suits you.

It wasn't quite visible at all.
Post by: Jeremiah O on July 23, 2016, 07:41:54 PM
Well done and thank you Tipp!!
Post by: 45 on July 23, 2016, 07:44:44 PM
Fair play to both teams playing football the way it should be. I would rather my team get beat playing  like that than playing that super over defensive muck.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2016, 07:53:29 PM
Great win for Tipp, looked Derry would go on to win but Tipp deserve an enormous amount for credit for kicking 3 scores and keeping Derry scoreless. A nice open and enjoyable game of football.

Heavron was clearly injured. Both defences looked suspect when ran at.
Post by: whiskeysteve on July 23, 2016, 07:55:05 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 07:32:43 PM

You weren't watching it then as it was completely obvious. Even the commentators mentioned it as he limped off. You're sticking the boot in with one eye on the game.
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2016, 07:57:50 PM
That was a great game. Unfortunate slip by the keeper.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2016, 07:59:03 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on July 23, 2016, 07:55:05 PM

You weren't watching it then as it was completely obvious. Even the commentators mentioned it as he limped off. You're sticking the boot in with one eye on the game.

Easy petal.

Post by: imtommygunn on July 23, 2016, 07:59:37 PM
He very clearly hobbled off.
Post by: tippabu on July 23, 2016, 08:45:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 23, 2016, 07:29:28 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 23, 2016, 07:13:34 PM

I'm delighted for tippabu and the other Tipperary die hards. This has very little to do with me, but it is a massive boost for everyone involved in trying to promote Tipp football. I'm delighted.

I was at a funeral today i could never miss......first game in a long time i missed, delighted for the lads and yourself, will say more when i get the proper chance to see it back
Post by: AZOffaly on July 23, 2016, 08:46:44 PM
Nothing to do with me  :) my involvement with the seniors is limited to saying hello in Dr. Morris Park 😃
Post by: tyroneman on July 23, 2016, 08:56:39 PM
What a great game. Serious bottle from both sides to claw the game back when it looked over.

As entertaining a game as I've seen in years.  Credit to both sets of players.

Ulster rival notwithstanding I thought Tipp marginally deserved it but well done to all involved
Post by: yellowcard on July 23, 2016, 08:58:14 PM
Fantastic result for Tipp, it is great to see new counties making a breakthrough and to make the quarter final weekend in Croke Park is a fantastic achievement. I suspect that Galway will be content tonight though, it looks like it could be an almighty showdown with them and Tyrone. Galway have always been a team capable of coming from nowhere to win an All Ireland and they are the only side who can prevent Tyrone making the final imo.
Post by: tyroneman on July 23, 2016, 09:02:18 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 23, 2016, 08:58:14 PM
Fantastic result for Tipp, it is great to see new counties making a breakthrough and to make the quarter final weekend in Croke Park is a fantastic achievement. I suspect that Galway will be content tonight though, it looks like it could be an almighty showdown with them and Tyrone. Galway have always been a team capable of coming from nowhere to win an All Ireland and they are the only side who can prevent Tyrone making the final imo.

Mayo are a real hurdle for Tyrone. We won't be thinking of Galway yet.
Post by: lenny on July 23, 2016, 09:14:33 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 23, 2016, 08:56:39 PM
What a great game. Serious bottle from both sides to claw the game back when it looked over.

As entertaining a game as I've seen in years.  Credit to both sets of players.

Ulster rival notwithstanding I thought Tipp marginally deserved it but well done to all involved

I agree, it was a very entertaining match. Great open football. Mckindless was a massive loss, getting injured in the warm up. Also Dermot mcbride would have made a real difference if fit but tipp are misding great players to hurling and emigration. both teams had their spells of domination but good luck to tipp in the qfs. I've heard a good few people criticising Martin Duffy. I think he wasn't too bad overall, at least he seemed to be consistent. One free near the end though given against ciaran mullan was a terrible decision. We'll not use it as an excuse though, I just felt tipp deserved their win.
Post by: yellowcard on July 23, 2016, 09:20:34 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 23, 2016, 09:02:18 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 23, 2016, 08:58:14 PM

Mayo are a real hurdle for Tyrone. We won't be thinking of Galway yet.

Don't see it myself, Tyrone and Mayo are going in opposite directions, one improving the other going backwards. In any case I think Tyrone could well be facing Cork as I think Donegal will find it very hard to get back up for a last 12 tie. Dubs will beat Mayo easily and Tyrone can manage a game better than any county in Ireland this year and their system will not suit Cork at all.

Two mouthwatering semi finals. Kerry v Dubs and Tyrone v Galway.
Post by: southderryman on July 23, 2016, 09:38:42 PM
Deeply disappointed to say the least. Horrible to lose a game having clawed ourselves into a winning position. Although to be honest we would have stolen it. Tipp were the better team.  Kicked some great scores and showed some balls to grind it out at the end.

A massive result for all those in Tipperary people who've done massive work promoting football. It's a real shot in the arm for them to reach a quarter final and to be honest it was hard to begrudge them their victory when you seen the celebrations at the end.  I wish them well in the quarter final against galway and hopefully from their perspective it will encourage other lads to have a real crack at the football instead of defecting to the hurling

From a Derry perspective, disappointing to lose, but as I've been stressing to people all week, I honestly saw it as a 50/50 game. Our defence is extremely poor and you simply cannot concede 1.21 and hope to win a game of football. Maybe a blessing in disguise, who knows what kind of score we may have shipped in croke park.

Felt sorry for the lads as they've put in a massive effort all year. Plenty of mistakes were made but at the end of the day it's an amateur sport and nobody goes out to have a bad game. We are where we are at present, we need all our best players available. Hopefully we can work on that next season with a full panel. I've plenty of complaints/issues about the game but that can be discussed later. Fair play to tipp.

I'm away for a well deserved beer
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 23, 2016, 10:32:32 PM
 Heavron was injured, could barely walk, though Holly and Kielt were poor looking from the stands myself. but again Derry didn't start their strongest team and that was always going to bite them in the ass somewhere down the line.
Post by: clarshack on July 23, 2016, 10:38:48 PM
i think tipp will beat galway.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 23, 2016, 10:52:15 PM
So does James Horan, I was happy enough to hear that and I hope Tipp are talked up to the last for the week.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on July 23, 2016, 11:37:15 PM

To be honest it was obvious he was struggling badly, Gutted at the result but Tipp had some outstanding players today
Post by: southderryman on July 23, 2016, 11:45:29 PM
Interested to hear any neutrals views on marty Duffy?

Not sour grapes on my behalf as I do feel tipp were the better team and at the end of the day you can't give up the scoring chances we did and expect to win.

But....and there's always a but....it seemed to me (biased off course) that tipp got a serious amount of handy frees within  13-30 metres out. I'd estimate the free count was somewhere in the region of 3:1 in Tipperarys favour. Happy to be proved wrong with any impartial views or stats
Post by: Minder on July 24, 2016, 12:23:34 AM
Is this tweet from an Irish News journalist in relation to this thread ?

@CahairOKane1 The GAABoard really should be shut down. A forum for faceless men to have low cuts at amateur players who bust themselves every week #cruel
Post by: Newbridge Exile on July 24, 2016, 12:48:05 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 23, 2016, 11:45:29 PM

Not sour grapes on my behalf as I do feel tipp were the better team and at the end of the day you can't give up the scoring chances we did and expect to win.

But....and there's always a but....it seemed to me (biased off course) that tipp got a serious amount of handy frees within  13-30 metres out. I'd estimate the free count was somewhere in the region of 3:1 in Tipperarys favour. Happy to be proved wrong with any impartial views or stats
According to Cahair  Okane Free count was Tipp 33 Derry 12
Post by: larryin89 on July 24, 2016, 12:48:33 AM
Yellowcard, very strong on the whole mayo are fnished thing.youre adamant on this and have said so in past posts too.

I respect people are entitled to form an opinion obviously but id like to know what you and your ilk will do if we beat both westmeath and qf opponents ? What happens then , how can you and tommy carr et el be so wrong. The disrespect shown to this group of mayo players is fuckn disgraceful . People need to take a good look at themselves , five aisf appearances on the trot ffs man , some of ye need chokin i swear.

Post by: screenexile on July 24, 2016, 12:58:48 AM
Quote from: Minder on July 24, 2016, 12:23:34 AM

@CahairOKane1 The GAABoard really should be shut down. A forum for faceless men to have low cuts at amateur players who bust themselves every week #cruel

Some sensationalist muck being talked on the Derry GAA thread a load of c***ts happy to knock the County in favour of their clubs. Truth be told we lacked in a lot of areas today. Oh and neutrals are loving that we went man for man today but in today's game it is just not acceptable to leave the space in your defence that we did today. Tipp had acres to attack into and we were caught badly not least when they had a stonewall penalty disallowed before HT.

When Donegal/Tyrone/Dublin/anybody lose the ball they have at least 11 retreat to defend. For some reason we thought 6/7 men was enough to keep Tipp out but they have some great forwards in Quinlavan and Sweeney so we got nailed and rightly so. That's before you get to our midfield getting destroyed.

Tipp the better team but I thought Daniel Heavron was MOTM. He was exceptional throughout with 4 from play and the assist for the goal.

We're badly short midfielders and possibly 2/3 defenders and a GK but in reality Galway would have eaten us in CP (unfortunately I think Tipp are in for a hiding). Having said that today was a game e should have won and should be looked upon as such in any analysis of the year. Barton deserves his reprieve as he claimed 2 good results against Cavan and Meath but he will be judged much more harshly  next year and rightly so.

Good luck to Tipp v Galway!
Post by: screenexile on July 24, 2016, 01:01:45 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 24, 2016, 12:48:33 AM
Yellowcard, very strong on the whole mayo are fnished thing.youre adamant on this and have said so in past posts too.

I respect people are entitled to form an opinion obviously but id like to know what you and your ilk will do if we beat both westmeath and qf opponents ? What happens then , how can you and tommy carr et el be so wrong. The disrespect shown to this group of mayo players is fuckn disgraceful . People need to take a good look at themselves , five aisf appearances on the trot ffs man , some of ye need chokin i swear.

Nobody's doubting the team Mayo have been the past 5 years Larry but it's looking like they aren't up to the same level this year. Personally I hope they have one more kick in them but if they can't beat Galway at the 2nd attempt what chance do they have against the Dubs???

Post by: JoG2 on July 24, 2016, 06:57:58 AM

Yer man is absolutely right.  Prob the Derry thread itself.....Full of tubes who wouldn't have a notion about the game and what it takes to compete.  I'd say there's not another county in the country with the levels of negativity that Derry has, it would suck the life out of ye.
Post by: Hound on July 24, 2016, 08:30:12 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 24, 2016, 01:01:45 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 24, 2016, 12:48:33 AM

Nobody's doubting the team Mayo have been the past 5 years Larry but it's looking like they aren't up to the same level this year. Personally I hope they have one more kick in them but if they can't beat Galway at the 2nd attempt what chance do they have against the Dubs???
Of course if they lost to Galway a second time, they have no chance of beating the Dubs. But if Mayo do play Galway again, they'll win easily. In the first game Mayo were coasting to victory in 2nd gear. Then when the Galway 1-1 came, Mayo found they were stuck in 2nd gear. No chance of that happening if they get another chance, plus Diarmuid OConnor will be playing, unlike the last time, which will make a huge difference.

Mayo v Tyrone or Dublin will be a cracking and close quarter final
Post by: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:04:35 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on July 24, 2016, 12:48:05 AM

Thought it would have been something in that region

Now I'm not for once second second saying they weren't all frees, God knows I know how some of our lads try to tackle, very niaive at times, but there was a spell in the second half when they were constantly getting frees within 30m of our goal, you just knew when a tipp man got the ball it was going to be a free

In the long run its probably better that this happened as we'd have conceded a cricket score in the QF but it is still hard to take in a game what you lose by 1 point. In addition, tips last point in first half came in the 4th minute of injury time, he signalled 2. He wasn't as generous at the end of the game despite the time wasting off the tipp keeper and the disgraceful tackle their man got black carded for (that tackle shows how ineffective the back card is.... it was no loss to tipp losing a man at that stage, but the damage was done and it allowed tipp time to get every man back, the team who were wronged ended up with the disadvantage at the most crucial stage)

And before anyone accuses me of looking for excuses I'm not. We should never have lost a game from 2 points up like that. And we directly gave tipp 1-4 from stupid mistakes never mind poor defending so only have ourselves to blame there. But somebody in croke park needs to look at marty Duffy and take the man off the inter county circuit, he hasn't a clue what he's at half the time, players put in savage effort all year and he could end up costing one of the big teams an all ireland if he's put in charge of any games down the line. A complete liability.
Post by: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:12:07 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 24, 2016, 12:58:48 AM

Some sensationalist muck being talked on the Derry GAA thread a load of c***ts happy to knock the County in favour of their clubs. Truth be told we lacked in a lot of areas today. Oh and neutrals are loving that we went man for man today but in today's game it is just not acceptable to leave the space in your defence that we did today. Tipp had acres to attack into and we were caught badly not least when they had a stonewall penalty disallowed before HT.

When Donegal/Tyrone/Dublin/anybody lose the ball they have at least 11 retreat to defend. For some reason we thought 6/7 men was enough to keep Tipp out but they have some great forwards in Quinlavan and Sweeney so we got nailed and rightly so. That's before you get to our midfield getting destroyed.

Tipp the better team but I thought Daniel Heavron was MOTM. He was exceptional throughout with 4 from play and the assist for the goal.

We're badly short midfielders and possibly 2/3 defenders and a GK but in reality Galway would have eaten us in CP (unfortunately I think Tipp are in for a hiding). Having said that today was a game e should have won and should be looked upon as such in any analysis of the year. Barton deserves his reprieve as he claimed 2 good results against Cavan and Meath but he will be judged much more harshly  next year and rightly so.

Good luck to Tipp v Galway!

You make it sound like we lines up with the traditional 6-2-6....I must have been watching a different game

There were long spells today when we had 10/11/12/13 men behind the ball. It didn't make any difference as they have no idea what they're supposed to be doing. We get loads of bodies back but no one is actually doing a job. It actually leaves us worse of as players mark space and not men.

It was absolutely criminal the way a tipp constantly found gaping holes when we had that many men back.

You either do go man for man, our you organise yourselves properly to defend. We made half arsed attempts at both at various stages.

Agree with most of the rest of your post
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 24, 2016, 10:19:41 AM

From a neutral perspective I felt that Derry got a few very harsh frees given against them yesterday, one tap over free in the second half straight in front of the posts was a particularly bad decision by Duffy.
I would say that Derry put themselves in a winning position but Tipp showed fantastic resolve to hit the decisive scores at the end.
I thought that Tipp just shaded it as the better team but Derry weren't very far off them, despite the loss Heavron should have got the MOTM nod, outstanding from start to finish.
Post by: skeog on July 24, 2016, 10:22:51 AM
marty is a clown not as big a one as his brother michael who thankfully has been banished to the stands marty needs to follow suit dont expect to see marty again this year
Post by: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:27:07 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 24, 2016, 10:19:41 AM

From a neutral perspective I felt that Derry got a few very harsh frees given against them yesterday, one tap over free in the second half straight in front of the posts was a particularly bad decision by Duffy.
I would say that Derry put themselves in a winning position but Tipp showed fantastic resolve to hit the decisive scores at the end.
I thought that Tipp just shaded it as the better team but Derry weren't very far off them, despite the loss Heavron should have got the MOTM nod, outstanding from start to finish.

I'd agree with all of that tbh. Tipp did deserve it. Just disappointing how much we gifted to them but hopefully we'll learn from it. Still a fairly young team we have there.

Agree about Danny, thought he was outstanding, brilliant composure on the ball
Post by: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:32:12 AM
Quote from: skeog on July 24, 2016, 10:22:51 AM
marty is a clown not as big a one as his brother michael who thankfully has been banished to the stands marty needs to follow suit dont expect to see marty again this year

Like all players he's an amateur and doesn't have to do it. I've probably been harsh on him above but at the end of the day, if a player isn't good enough to be on the inter county scene he won't be selected.  The same should apply to Duffy, he'll end up costing a team an all ireland with his inept displays and if it gets that far it could be another Martin sludden incident. Obviously that would be extreme and wrong, but if a team lose an all ireland by a point after one of his gaffes some lunatic will.take matters into his own hands
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2016, 10:39:03 AM
I think there was harsh frees on both sides to be honest, but yes Tipp seemed to get a lot of them close to goals. I suppose that could also have been a product of Tipp running direct at Derry. There'll be collisions/tackles then, and that will also give the ref a chance to give a soft free.

A by product of that style, which was not seen so far all year, was how strict he was on the overcarrying. I'm sure Tipp thought they had another couple of frees but ened up been blown up for over carrying. Probably correctly in fairness.

The Sweeney incident with the goalkeeper was bizarre, and could have been a right cluster f**k. Instead of playing advantage when Sweeney recovered the ball after the brilliant work by the goalie, he gave a free because he thought the goalie touched it on the ground. When he realised he didn't he had to throw the ball in. Luckily for him, or probably *because* he missed the advantage, he gave Tipp a soft free in to score anyway.
Post by: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:49:59 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2016, 10:39:03 AM
I think there was harsh frees on both sides to be honest, but yes Tipp seemed to get a lot of them close to goals. I suppose that could also have been a product of Tipp running direct at Derry. There'll be collisions/tackles then, and that will also give the ref a chance to give a soft free.

A by product of that style, which was not seen so far all year, was how strict he was on the overcarrying. I'm sure Tipp thought they had another couple of frees but ened up been blown up for over carrying. Probably correctly in fairness.

The Sweeney incident with the goalkeeper was bizarre, and could have been a right cluster f**k. Instead of playing advantage when Sweeney recovered the ball after the brilliant work by the goalie, he gave a free because he thought the goalie touched it on the ground. When he realised he didn't he had to throw the ball in. Luckily for him, or probably *because* he missed the advantage, he gave Tipp a soft free in to score anyway.

Fair enough comment. And I wouldn't dispute that tipp got a lot of frees by running at us. I've seen it a million times before and we simply can't cope with it it. No question plenty of them were frees. But it was very frustrating the times our defence and done well to stop runners and pushed men out that he gave frees for next to nothing.

It's the nature of the free count that galls me more than anything. I really don't think a team merited 3 times as many frees as another. Really wasn't that type of game.

The last example you state I agree with entirely, but because he made the wrong call to begin with he shouldn't give a free just for a sake of it. Shows up how bad a ref he is.

On another note, and I'm prepared to be corrected on this....if a free is taken too short, is it not a hop ball?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 24, 2016, 11:12:40 AM
Yes the free taken too short has always been a hop ball, couldn't understand that decision or the one he blew for thinking the keeper touched the ball on the ground when he had not, but they may have changed the rules, constant rules changes is hard to keep up with.
Post by: johnneycool on July 25, 2016, 10:51:35 AM
Quote from: Thastheball on July 24, 2016, 12:18:44 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:32:12 AM
Quote from: skeog on July 24, 2016, 10:22:51 AM

Like all players he's an amateur and doesn't have to do it. I've probably been harsh on him above but at the end of the day, if a player isn't good enough to be on the inter county scene he won't be selected.  The same should apply to Duffy, he'll end up costing a team an all ireland with his inept displays and if it gets that far it could be another Martin sludden incident. Obviously that would be extreme and wrong, but if a team lose an all ireland by a point after one of his gaffes some lunatic will.take matters into his own hands

Let's get one thing straight, refs are not amateurs, especially intercounty ones, they get well looked after in the 'expenses ' category

Serious, those referees don't have  full time jobs other than refereeing?

When was this rule changed?
Post by: TheOptimist on July 25, 2016, 11:06:21 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:49:59 AM

Fair enough comment. And I wouldn't dispute that tipp got a lot of frees by running at us. I've seen it a million times before and we simply can't cope with it it. No question plenty of them were frees. But it was very frustrating the times our defence and done well to stop runners and pushed men out that he gave frees for next to nothing.

It's the nature of the free count that galls me more than anything. I really don't think a team merited 3 times as many frees as another. Really wasn't that type of game.

The last example you state I agree with entirely, but because he made the wrong call to begin with he shouldn't give a free just for a sake of it. Shows up how bad a ref he is.

On another note, and I'm prepared to be corrected on this....if a free is taken too short, is it not a hop ball?

Im pretty sure its a free the other way. I remember the semi final in 2001 we were caught out with at an important time of a game. Such a stupid rule, as it robs the advantage from the team that was fouled, and most refs let it go.
Post by: TheOptimist on July 25, 2016, 11:07:38 AM

He blew up for overcarrying 8 times, yet missed the 8 steps for Tipps goal. I was the far end of the pitch and called it from there.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2016, 02:50:53 PM
I thought he took a lot more than 8 steps for the goal and as Duffy had been blowing all day for over carrying I was surprised he let it go.

There were plenty of odd decisions in the match but the other 2 that stood out were when he didn't award Tipp a pen at thend of the first half when Austin clearly had his jersey pulled and then when the Derry keeper touched the ball on the ground when he gave the hop ball. Both defences struggles when ran at but Tipp certainly did more running at Derry hence why the free count was higher.

Tipp deserved their win, they showed great character in the last few minutes but Heavron was the best player on the pitch and should have been mentioned by The Sunday Game. He was outstanding and kept taking the game to Tipp.
Post by: skeog on July 25, 2016, 03:07:01 PM
marty is great at the spotting the full back pulling the full forward from distance races up the pitch like a greyhound, he also measures the distance conleth gilligan was the beneficiary one day in ballybofey when he scored a wonderful point from out the sideline from a free given by marty for the ball not travelling far enough
Post by: southderryman on July 25, 2016, 03:27:52 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2016, 02:50:53 PM
I thought he took a lot more than 8 steps for the goal and as Duffy had been blowing all day for over carrying I was surprised he let it go.

There were plenty of odd decisions in the match but the other 2 that stood out were when he didn't award Tipp a pen at thend of the first half when Austin clearly had his jersey pulled and then when the Derry keeper touched the ball on the ground when he gave the hop ball. Both defences struggles when ran at but Tipp certainly did more running at Derry hence why the free count was higher.

Tipp deserved their win, they showed great character in the last few minutes but Heavron was the best player on the pitch and should have been mentioned by The Sunday Game. He was outstanding and kept taking the game to Tipp.

Definitely took a lot of steps, he blew men up for a lot less

Thought that was a penalty and wad surprised when he pulled it back for a free, but mallon didn't touch the ball on the ground. He hopped the ball because he made an arse of the original decision

I agree tipp did more running, but a 3:1 free ratio was ridiculous imo

Danny had a great game. Felt very sorry for him afterwards,he looked devastated
Post by: southderryman on July 25, 2016, 03:31:11 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on July 25, 2016, 11:06:21 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 24, 2016, 10:49:59 AM

Im pretty sure its a free the other way. I remember the semi final in 2001 we were caught out with at an important time of a game. Such a stupid rule, as it robs the advantage from the team that was fouled, and most refs let it go.

Maybe it is, I just always thought it was a hop ball. Either way, it was an incredibly silly thing for the players to do and directly cost us 2 points

Remember  that alright, was it Gilligan and Niblock? That was a painful day
Post by: Mrs mills on July 27, 2016, 12:26:08 AM
I do feel that the Derry senior team did make progress this year in terms of attacking and scoring, though this has come at the expense of an effective, miserly defensive system. It is extremely difficult to successfully engage the two at the one time; a very easy thing to discuss but a huge task to complete.
In order for a team to become adept at attacking, while also being noted for its unyielding defence the manager has a lot of big calls to make. He must be prepared to discard those players without genuine pace and the ability to sustain that pace. To work as a unit, moving forward swiftly and covering back equally quickly in sufficient numbers, there can be no room for the talented but ultimately lazy/tired/slower player. Another big call for the manager is to identify those who are prepared to sacrifice the game they play at club level, for the one demanded on a much bigger stage. Such players are not in plentiful supply.
When it comes to backroom staff, the manager must also be ready to add to his team, regardless of how a present incumbent feels about his role being compromised. If the proven needs of a county team (eg a more watertight defensive system) cannot be delivered by coaches who will 'give it a go', then it's time for them to put their hands up and ask for help from a known and recognised defensive coordinator (be he from within the county or without).
Loyalty, be it to players or to management, is laudable; but it remains 'the elephant in the room' if the manager thinks....I know change is needed, but I can't be disloyal.
If he values loyalty above necessity, then he must settle for mediocrity for the foreseeable future.
Post by: Gold on July 27, 2016, 12:46:57 AM
Just seeing this.  Couldn't believe some of the frees Tipp got.

Weaker teams need to win by fair means or else what's the point ?

Ref was awful
Post by: lenny on July 27, 2016, 08:32:07 AM
Quote from: Mrs mills on July 27, 2016, 12:26:08 AM
I do feel that the Derry senior team did make progress this year in terms of attacking and scoring, though this has come at the expense of an effective, miserly defensive system. It is extremely difficult to successfully engage the two at the one time; a very easy thing to discuss but a huge task to complete.
In order for a team to become adept at attacking, while also being noted for its unyielding defence the manager has a lot of big calls to make. He must be prepared to discard those players without genuine pace and the ability to sustain that pace. To work as a unit, moving forward swiftly and covering back equally quickly in sufficient numbers, there can be no room for the talented but ultimately lazy/tired/slower player. Another big call for the manager is to identify those who are prepared to sacrifice the game they play at club level, for the one demanded on a much bigger stage. Such players are not in plentiful supply.
When it comes to backroom staff, the manager must also be ready to add to his team, regardless of how a present incumbent feels about his role being compromised. If the proven needs of a county team (eg a more watertight defensive system) cannot be delivered by coaches who will 'give it a go', then it's time for them to put their hands up and ask for help from a known and recognised defensive coordinator (be he from within the county or without).
Loyalty, be it to players or to management, is laudable; but it remains 'the elephant in the room' if the manager thinks....I know change is needed, but I can't be disloyal.
If he values loyalty above necessity, then he must settle for mediocrity for the foreseeable future.

Thoroughly sensible post.
Post by: southderryman on July 27, 2016, 08:41:24 AM
Quote from: Gold on July 27, 2016, 12:46:57 AM

Ref was awful
Ref was poor alright but I think you're being disrespectful there.

What makes tipp a "weaker" team than Derry?

They've made great strides at underage level....done a hell of a lot more in that regard than we have. They have some very good footballers and are missing a few others.

They also beat cork....would we beat cork in championship football? Would we have faired any better against kerry than they did?

We're what I would call a second level team, and Tipp aren't much different.

Being honest about it, tipp played some very good football on Saturday and were the better team, we almost nicked it with that late scoring burst.

Yes it horrible to lose by a point when we were 2 up after 70mins and the ref gave them some very soft frees but being honest I'd have to say they deserved it.
Post by: tippabu on July 27, 2016, 10:27:13 AM
Quote from: southderryman on July 27, 2016, 08:41:24 AM
Quote from: Gold on July 27, 2016, 12:46:57 AM

Ref was awful

They've made great strides at underage level....done a hell of a lot more in that regard than we have. They have some very good footballers and are missing a few others.

They also beat cork....would we beat cork in championship football? Would we have faired any better against kerry than they did?

Being honest about it, tipp played some very good football on Saturday and were the better team, we almost nicked it with that late scoring burst.

Yes it horrible to lose by a point when we were 2 up after 70mins and the ref gave them some very soft frees but being honest I'd have to say they deserved it.

Will agree 100% we got some very soft frees, dont think it was the winning/losing of the game though. Duffy made a very big mistake when he thought derry keery touched the ball on the ground and blew up even though sweeney had the ball in his hands, also some of the overcarrying calls against us you would have gotten away with too other days. Over on premierview its duffys circus he is reffered to now....we can all agree hes not the best. We have certainly felt on munster over the years us "minnows" dont get anywhere near the rub of the green, some refs just dont want to be upsetting the superpowers affecting their chances at getting the big games. We can probably all agree this was near enough the game of the year so far, not that thats much consolation at this stage
Post by: Keane on July 27, 2016, 12:41:51 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 27, 2016, 08:41:24 AM

A very good assessment I think