GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 12, 2013, 01:22:14 AM

Title: Time to split Tyrone?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 12, 2013, 01:22:14 AM
Eight million Euro? They must be stopped!!

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/tyrone-garvaghey-project-1124677-Oct2013/?utm_source=facebook_short (http://thescore.thejournal.ie/tyrone-garvaghey-project-1124677-Oct2013/?utm_source=facebook_short)

Title: Re: Time to split Tyrone?
Post by: islandchampions08 on October 12, 2013, 09:22:24 AM
I don't like tyrone personally but everyone who had the foresight for this has to be applauded. what vision they had to build something like this in this economic times, The younger members of tyrone gaa will reap the rewards of this for many years to come. well done tyrone gaa.
P.S Derry GAA have also got outstanding facilities in owenbeg. pity Down gaa are f**king clowns building our county pitch in Armagh with no room to swing a cat. Which means 70%+ of down gaa members have a 40+minute drive to get to the county pitch which is also beside a slaughter house lovely smells .   
Post by: snoopdog on October 12, 2013, 09:42:03 AM
Quote from: islandchampions08 on October 12, 2013, 09:22:24 AM
I don't like tyrone personally but everyone who had the foresight for this has to be applauded. what vision they had to build something like this in this economic times, The younger members of tyrone gaa will reap the rewards of this for many years to come. well done tyrone gaa.
P.S Derry GAA have also got outstanding facilities in owenbeg. pity Down gaa are f**king clowns building our county pitch in Armagh with no room to swing a cat. Which means 70%+ of down gaa members have a 40+minute drive to get to the county pitch which is also beside a slaughter house lovely smells .

While i agree Down are behind the likes of Tyrone, lack of  facilities doesnt prevent Dublin winning All Irelands.
What are you on about. Pairc Esler is in Down. Where would you suggest Down have their county ground and what size should it be?
Down have excellent facilities at St Colmans if they would use them.
Post by: islandchampions08 on October 12, 2013, 10:04:03 AM
You must be a south down member wat if a hurler from ards wants to play football for down st Coleman's Newry is an 90min one way drive hardly fair ! county ground should have been castlewellan!
Post by: Feckitt on October 12, 2013, 10:36:31 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 12, 2013, 09:42:03 AM

While i agree Down are behind the likes of Tyrone, lack of  facilities doesnt prevent Dublin winning All Irelands.
What are you on about. Pairc Esler is in Down. Where would you suggest Down have their county ground and what size should it be?

Ah Jaysus, come on Snoop Dogg, You must be in denial.  Not this old chestnut again.  Surely by now everyone knows that Pairc Esler is half in Armagh and half in Down, and as for Downs facilities at St Colmans?  County Armagh.
Post by: armaghniac on October 12, 2013, 10:44:14 AM
In fairness, the changing rooms in The Marshes are in Down.
Post by: BennyCake on October 12, 2013, 11:06:23 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 12, 2013, 10:44:14 AM

I thought the canal is the county boundary, meaning Pairc Esler is in Down?
Post by: Feckitt on October 12, 2013, 11:22:56 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 12, 2013, 11:06:23 AM

The counties were there long before the canal was ever built.  The river is the county boundary as it flows right down to Carlingford Lough.

The Marshes is all reclaimed land from that portion where the river becomes lough, and the county boundary runs down the middle of it.  Hence half of Pairc Esler is in County Armagh.
Post by: snoopdog on October 12, 2013, 08:32:03 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on October 12, 2013, 11:22:56 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 12, 2013, 11:06:23 AM

The counties were there long before the canal was ever built.  The river is the county boundary as it flows right down to Carlingford Lough.

The Marshes is all reclaimed land from that portion where the river becomes lough, and the county boundary runs down the middle of it.  Hence half of Pairc Esler is in County Armagh.
Ye will be looking to share our 5 All Irelands next
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 12, 2013, 09:04:12 PM
Louth has a good set up at Darver between Dundalk and Ardee. It was obviously built during the boom   The facilities are excellent but last time I was there, which was last year, the Tarmac hadn't been put down giving the complex an unfinished look. Hopefully that's been sorted now
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 12, 2013, 11:29:03 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on October 12, 2013, 01:22:14 AM
Eight million Euro? They must be stopped!!

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/tyrone-garvaghey-project-1124677-Oct2013/?utm_source=facebook_short (http://thescore.thejournal.ie/tyrone-garvaghey-project-1124677-Oct2013/?utm_source=facebook_short)

"It was funded by the GAA and Tyrone patrons with the support of a number of political and development bodies."

What political bodies are funding this ?
Post by: bigpaul on October 13, 2013, 12:29:38 AM
Every County Council on the 'Island of Ireland' contributes to a pool that funds capital projects undertaken by community based organisations in Northern Ireland, part of the GFA. 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 13, 2013, 01:24:56 AM
That's a nice little scam ye have going there. Get funding from your competitors  ;D
Ye have some neck.
Post by: cadhlancian on October 13, 2013, 02:24:13 AM
f**k up Sheehy , ye ballbag!
Post by: Flutehook on October 13, 2013, 02:31:08 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on October 13, 2013, 01:24:56 AM
That's a nice little scam ye have going there. Get funding from your competitors  ;D
Ye have some neck.

I trust they used the Kerry Co Co monies for the pisspots and the sh*tters.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 13, 2013, 08:38:41 PM
Typical foul mouthed response from the Tymoanies.

The red handout county have gotten very cranky now that the good days are over.
Post by: orangeman on October 13, 2013, 10:04:06 PM
Be careful what you wish for.....................

Tyrone have invested a lot of money in this new facility but I'm not sure that everyone is happy with the development as the costs to maintain and manage a facility like this and other similar places will be enormous and a heavy burden to carry.
Post by: screenexile on October 14, 2013, 09:38:30 AM
Quote from: orangeman on October 13, 2013, 10:04:06 PM

Tyrone have invested a lot of money in this new facility but I'm not sure that everyone is happy with the development as the costs to maintain and manage a facility like this and other similar places will be enormous and a heavy burden to carry.

Indeed! I think our model of having the 2nd County Ground there helps to shoulder a bit of the pain but it's not easy to keep something like that afloat!

Lack of facilities?? In Dublin?? They train in DCU which has unbelievable facilities. Just because the CB doesn't own it doesn't mean they don't have access to the top facillities in the Country!
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 14, 2013, 09:52:10 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 14, 2013, 09:38:30 AM

Indeed! I think our model of having the 2nd County Ground there helps to shoulder a bit of the pain but it's not easy to keep something like that afloat!

Lack of facilities?? In Dublin?? They train in DCU which has unbelievable facilities. Just because the CB doesn't own it doesn't mean they don't have access to the top facillities in the Country!

Where is Tyrones official 2nd county ground? Is it still Dungannon or would it not meet the modern standards required??
Post by: snoopdog on October 14, 2013, 03:36:02 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 14, 2013, 09:38:30 AM

Thats what i meant, Dublin dont have their own facilities as they can use other ones. Same as in Down, what is the point in a financial burden if they can use the facilities at the Abbey or St Colmans.
Although i did see Mr Moyna saying last week that dublin should use the money from AIG to build their own facilities
Post by: johnneycool on October 14, 2013, 04:18:09 PM
Down hurlers use the facilities in the red high in Downpatrick which is only 15 minutes from the boat. I don't think too many of the ards hurlers are complaining about it TBH.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 14, 2013, 05:43:24 PM

I hope you're only messing because I really hate negativity like this. If we all thought like this we'd (all) still be living in caves.
Post by: parttimeexile on October 15, 2013, 08:53:58 AM
The only problems I have with the Garvaghey project is the fact that its nowhere near the middle of the County and that its very high meaning that it may not be the best for winter training. Maybe they couldn't get a more suitable site. Anyway don't be biting my head off for actually having an opinion. I do think apart from those two issues it is an excellent facility.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 15, 2013, 09:14:54 AM
I agree with your point about it being very high and windy and there will mostly likely be issues in the winter up there, but i would have said Ballygawley was about as central and easily accessible as you could get?
Post by: sensethetone on October 15, 2013, 09:24:46 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 15, 2013, 09:14:54 AM
I agree with your point about it being very high and windy and there will mostly likely be issues in the winter up there, but i would have said Ballygawley was about as central and easily accessible as you could get?
apparently if you make a cross to find the centre of tyrone its mountfeild or there abouts, not saying the county board should have built a facility there just saying its more central.
Post by: LeoMc on October 15, 2013, 10:10:40 AM
I would have thought the height would be of benefit for drainage in the winter. I was up around it last weekend and the back pitches seemed quite sheltered (relative to the front ones) though there was not much wind.
Post by: sensethetone on October 15, 2013, 10:21:05 AM
its some set up, i'm sure the county board have planned for the costs involved in keeping such a project in the black.
Post by: EC Unique on October 15, 2013, 10:21:45 AM
Quote from: sensethetone on October 15, 2013, 09:24:46 AM
apparently if you make a cross to find the centre of tyrone its mountfeild or there abouts, not saying the county board should have built a facility there just saying its more central.

If you look at a road map of Tyrone all major routes meet up at Ballygawley roundabout. It also has Kelly's Inn beside it which is a massive help for catering purposes. It is a grand location IMO and when the hundreds of trees mature they will provide a bit of shelter from the elements.
Post by: God14 on October 15, 2013, 10:36:02 AM
I mind reading somewhere in the promotional gumph that they had allowed for 8000 trees to be planted. That sounds like a crazy OTT figure, hence it stuck in my head.
Post by: BennyHarp on October 15, 2013, 10:43:12 AM
I'd be pretty sure that the people who were forward thinking enough to bring this project to fruition would hardly have overlooked the small matter of keeping the thing running.
Post by: LeoMc on October 15, 2013, 02:37:29 PM
Quote from: God14 on October 15, 2013, 10:36:02 AM
I mind reading somewhere in the promotional gumph that they had allowed for 8000 trees to be planted. That sounds like a crazy OTT figure, hence it stuck in my head.

Not that excessive. Trees planted 2m apart would have a density of 2500/ha so we are talking about 5 acres of reasonably spaced trees.
Post by: parttimeexile on October 15, 2013, 02:46:25 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on October 15, 2013, 10:21:45 AM
Quote from: sensethetone on October 15, 2013, 09:24:46 AM

If you look at a road map of Tyrone all major routes meet up at Ballygawley roundabout. It also has Kelly's Inn beside it which is a massive help for catering purposes. It is a grand location IMO and when the hundreds of trees mature they will provide a bit of shelter from the elements.

Dont agree with the "all major routes" point but can see the benefit of having somewhere like kellys inn close to it. There was no location which would suit everyone but wouldnt fancy headin from west/north of the county to training a few times a week to it. Anyway hope it helps football/hurling to develop within the county. I presume they will try to make it the second county pitch everntually also.
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 15, 2013, 02:49:58 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 15, 2013, 02:37:29 PM

Not that excessive. Trees planted 2m apart would have a density of 2500/ha so we are talking about 5 acres of reasonably spaced trees.

2m is a bit tight there :)
Post by: Stall the Bailer on October 15, 2013, 04:01:37 PM
Time to split Tyrone?

I thought this already happened. Sure half of Derry today, used to be in Tyrone.
Post by: LeoMc on October 15, 2013, 09:01:24 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on October 15, 2013, 02:49:58 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 15, 2013, 02:37:29 PM

2m is a bit tight there :)
It is the minimum stocking density for the current forestry grant schemes ;)
Post by: orangeman on October 16, 2013, 12:32:58 AM
How long till clubs get invoiced for £200 a month for upkeep of Garvaghey ?

The Louth County GAA Board has billed the Ladies GAA Board €11,080 for the use of Darver GAA training grounds.

The Ladies GAA Board has described the charge as "excessive and inappropriate".

A meeting was held between the executives of the two boards in August 2012 regarding the cost for the upkeep of Darver GAA Centre of Excellence.

At this meeting, the Ladies Board acknowledged that some form of payment towards ground costs was necessary.

However, the Ladies Board claims no agreement was reached at this meeting regarding the proposed cost.

It is believed that letters were sent from the Ladies Board to the Louth County Board requesting the costing details.

In February 2013, the Ladies Board received an invoice from the Louth County Board for the cost incurred by the ladies county teams using the Darver facilities.

The cost for the use of a pitch with lights for one hour was €150, while the use of a grass pitch was calculated at €100.

A letter sent from the Louth Ladies County Board to the ladies clubs in the county stated:

"The Board feels that the charges invoiced are excessive and inappropriate.

"Research has been carried out with other centres of excellence around the country and no ladies county team are paying these kind of costs."

The letter also revealed how the Ladies Board contacted Louth County Board offering to pay €100 for a pitch with lights.

However, the Ladies Board felt it was inappropriate to pay for grass pitches.

According to the letter, the Ladies Board calculated that an appropriate amount would be €3,200 as the Ladies used a pitch with lights 32 times in 2013.

The Ladies Board are willing to pay the fee of €100 per pitch with lights for this year.

However, the Ladies Board object to being categorised as a club team.

The letter states: "We do not agree with the Men's County Board categorising the Louth Ladies teams as club teams. No club in the county would ever need to use Darver as many times as the Louth Ladies teams."

The Ladies Board requested the letter to be read at club meetings "so that all clubs can have a clear view on the matter".

"We would also ask all clubs to support the lady footballers of this county. These girls are all part of a club, and they deserve the support of their club."

The Dundalk Democrat contacted representatives from both county boards. Neither were willing to make a comment.

But there has been a strong reaction from some clubs.

Tommy Burns, secretary of Glyde Rangers GFC said: "At our club meeting it was unanimous that we support the Ladies Board on this matter. The ladies are willing to pay a fee for the use of Darver. The fee from the Men's Board is outrageous."

Marie Prendergast of Stabannon Parnells said: "We support the Louth Ladies Board in their attempts to resolve this issue. Darver was built to support Louth teams under the umbrella of the GAA."

Aidan Connor, chairman of the Dreadnots, hoped that a resolution can be found as soon as possible.

Every club in the county pays €200 a month for the upkeep of the facilities at Darver. If a club wants to use the facilities at Darver, they must pay the fee of €100 or €150 with lights.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 16, 2013, 12:59:36 AM
How much do clubs/organizations have to pay for use of the Garvaghey facilities at the moment ?