Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 08:19:33 PM

Title: Lunches
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 08:19:33 PM
Fairly sick of Hang sandwiches for my lunch,anyone any suggestions..?
Did try and experiment with Pitta breads a few times but its a pain making them at night.
Don't want to fall back into the trap of buying lunch everyday as your looking at at least €15 a day so it all adds up over the week/month.
I hate making lunches the night before and I'm never in form to make them in the morning.
Title: Re: Lunches
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2010, 08:27:52 PM
15 euro a day!! what the hell are you buying?

I bought lunches there every day for the last 2 months - dread to think how much money I wasted (and I was only spending 3 or 4 quid LL!) but since last week I'm back to making them.  I'd love some ideas too.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 08:32:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2010, 08:27:52 PM

I bought lunches there every day for the last 2 months - dread to think how much money I wasted (and I was only spending 3 or 4 quid LL!) but since last week I'm back to making them.  I'd love some ideas too.

Sandwich about €5
Bottle Water/Coke €2
Chocolate €2
Tayto €1
Another sandwich later on €5
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2010, 08:36:30 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 08:32:34 PM

Sandwich about €5
Bottle Water/Coke €2
Chocolate €2
Tayto €1

The last time I was at home I got a manky sandwich in Dublin airport and it cost about 5 euro, I thought the ridiculous price was down to it being at the airport but the price of things in the south is f**king ridiculous.
You could do without the second sandwich though.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 08:39:10 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2010, 08:36:30 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 08:32:34 PM

Sandwich about €5
Bottle Water/Coke €2
Chocolate €2
Tayto €1

The last time I was at home I got a manky sandwich in Dublin airport and it cost about 5 euro, I thought the ridiculous price was down to it being at the airport but the price of things in the south is f**king ridiculous.
You could do without the second sandwich though.

I set off a 7am most mornings with no breakfast(never in form for it) so have first sandwich around 10am the next at around 2pm.
Was working near a big shopping centre last week full of Burger Kings and Maccy D's etc,it was torture first few days not going to one at lunch but I eventually broke and went on thursday and friday  :-[
I wouldn't mind but I had hang sandwiches in the van for lunch on both days..
Post by: winsamsoon on August 18, 2010, 08:45:03 PM
Wing a bit of chicken and cheese with a few Peppers and seasoned lol into a Pita. Invest in one of them sandwich toasting bags (cheap as in tesco) . If you have access to a toaster 3 mins then it's the dogs charlie . Careful of the knuckles :D ;)
Post by: lurganblue on August 18, 2010, 08:45:53 PM
Lads I hate making lunches too but the last few weeks I've been trying to change it about a little. Get the microwave pasta dishes from tesco - 3 for a fiver or something like that. I like the microwave rice too and of course some soup and bread. All dependent on kitchen facilities at work of course.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 08:48:38 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on August 18, 2010, 08:45:53 PM
Lads I hate making lunches too but the last few weeks I've been trying to change it about a little. Get the microwave pasta dishes from tesco - 3 for a fiver or something like that. I like the microwave rice too and of course some soup and bread. All dependent on kitchen facilities at work of course.

Don't have a microwave in the Cafe de Renault Trafic....
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2010, 08:50:58 PM
You need to get some salad into your sandwiches and a bit of something spicy. Some of those sandwich fillers like Mexican chicken, chilli chicken etc with salad are tasty. Roast beef or turkey. Mix up the types of bread too. Soup in a flask etc. is tasty, especially coming into the colder weather.

I'm a fan of leftover pasta, curry, chilli etc. but at a wild guess I'd say you don't have a microwave in the van! Maybe you could cook something on the engine!!!
Post by: paco on August 18, 2010, 08:53:14 PM
It's not that hard to make a few sandwiches then throw in a few pieces of fruit, biscuits or whatever you like, or is it? Agree with Tony, I get Mexican chicken and that Piri Piri chicken out of Tesco and they're both very nice.
Post by: Orior on August 18, 2010, 09:34:01 PM
"Lunch is for whimps"
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 09:40:50 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on August 18, 2010, 09:39:57 PM
Can you not claim lunch as an expense?

As in putting it against my vat returns?
I must send Shamrock Shore a text.....
Post by: Hereiam on August 18, 2010, 09:59:38 PM
Have been making lunches for the last year and a half. Would not go back to buying at work. Best thing I ever did. I usually just stick with the ham as it requires no pre thought but when the wife makes them it shows you what they should be like.
Post by: screenexile on August 18, 2010, 10:06:08 PM
Buy my lunch every day and after making my own lunch I can see no real saving in it. By the time I buy a drink, few bags of crisps, chocolate bar and my actual lunch I'm spending £5 a day anyway so I may as well enjoy someone else making it for me.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 10:31:34 PM
Best Avatar ever Hereiam  :o...fair play

Post by: Puckoon on August 18, 2010, 10:32:21 PM
Ah ffs - this thread was safe for work.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 10:33:17 PM
Sorry Puck...back to being safe...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 10:37:35 PM
Grilled a few sausages tonight and made sandwiches with them for lunch tomorrow,I don't mind eating them cold so will be a change from ham
Post by: Orior on August 18, 2010, 10:39:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 10:31:34 PM

Do you think you'd ever get fed up sticking your face in those?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 10:44:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 18, 2010, 10:39:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 10:31:34 PM

Do you think you'd ever get fed up sticking your face in those?

I don't see how it would be possible to get fed up..
Post by: lurganblue on August 18, 2010, 11:12:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 10:37:35 PM
Grilled a few sausages tonight and made sandwiches with them for lunch tomorrow,I don't mind eating them cold so will be a change from ham

That's the ticket. The old ham sandwiches start to get boring after a while. A wee tub of some left over pasta would do the job too. I'd have no bother eating that cold either
Post by: Wee Shea on August 18, 2010, 11:16:19 PM

I have done that before with sausages and bacon, it is good.

I am spending a fortune at work these days getting out of this bakery/bistro near work which is expensive enough (Palomo for all the Lurgan posters, they will know).

If I don't get breakfast (most mornings) I would get french toast with sausages and bacon out of it. Add in a bottle of Fanta and that is £6.75, no joke.

Then for lunch I get a sandwich (£3.45), Fanta (£1) and a bun (£0.90).

So some days that is £12 odds. Other days it is at least £6ish if I don't get the breakfast as I will go to the shop to get crisps or something to tide me over.

Thinking about this while I type is making me wanna get back into making lunches, that is ridiculous money to be spending.
Post by: ziggysego on August 18, 2010, 11:17:29 PM
There's a sandwich I like to make the odd time.

Brown bread
Beetroot
Cheese
Ham
Salad Cream.

Lovely :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2010, 11:22:11 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on August 18, 2010, 11:16:19 PM

I am spending a fortune at work these days getting out of this bakery/bistro near work which is expensive enough (Palomo for all the Lurgan posters, they will know).

If I don't get breakfast (most mornings) I would get french toast with sausages and bacon out of it. Add in a bottle of Fanta and that is £6.75, no joke.

So some days that is £12 odds. Other days it is at least £6ish if I don't get the breakfast as I will go to the shop to get crisps or something to tide me over.

Thinking about this while I type is making me wanna get back into making lunches, that is ridiculous money to be spending.
That breakfast most mornings can't be good for your cholesterol either!
Post by: Wee Shea on August 18, 2010, 11:26:13 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2010, 11:22:11 PM

That breakfast most mornings can't be good for your cholesterol either!

I know but you should taste it, the best French Toast I have ever had!

I was in a good routine for a while, get up 15 mins earlier in the morning, have a bowl of Alpen then bring my own lunch in, but a couple of Monday mornings with a hangover ruin the whole thing as you don't want to get up in time and you are playing catch up the rest of the week.

As for the lunches when I do try to make them, the Tesco sandwich fillers are nice. I would have alternated between them and then the boring lunches of ham or roast beef. Then if I was feeling frisky I would grill some sausages or bacon the night before and have them cold in a bap!

I just can't be bothered with the effort most of the time. There's no such thing as a free lunch though, learnt that in my first Economics lecture.
Post by: lurganblue on August 19, 2010, 12:14:42 AM
Shea Palomo is a rip off. If you insist on eating out why not get a sandwich from subway next door, the cookery nook or that one in north street.
Post by: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 12:23:06 AM

You must be earning serious money to be eating that a day before dinner time! That is a serious amount of grub.

When I go to the effort of making myself a sandwich - I bring a yogurt too - and I can barely get the yogurt finished - and I am a hungry hewer - where do you get room for a bun?
Post by: ziggysego on August 19, 2010, 12:33:37 AM
This thread is making me hungry.
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 19, 2010, 04:39:20 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on August 19, 2010, 12:14:42 AM
Shea Palomo
didn't he do goals for Ecuador?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2010, 08:20:19 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 12:23:06 AM

You must be earning serious money to be eating that a day before dinner time! That is a serious amount of grub.

When I go to the effort of making myself a sandwich - I bring a yogurt too - and I can barely get the yogurt finished - and I am a hungry hewer - where do you get room for a bun?
You struggle to finish a yogurt and a sandwich - are you a 4 year old girl?  :-\
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 19, 2010, 08:51:24 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2010, 08:20:19 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 12:23:06 AM

You struggle to finish a yogurt and a sandwich - are you a 4 year old girl?  :-\
he's in the US so it's probably a 6 foot sub.
Post by: lolafrola on August 19, 2010, 10:18:05 AM
Have you lads got no imagination.

Ham sandwhich
Ham & Cheese Sandwhich
Cooked Chicken from Tesco's (£2.99) to make Chicken Sandwhich and bring the leg of Chicken with you for a Brucie Bonus
Wheaten bread and a banana
Bacon & or Sauceage sandwhich
Flask of soup and some bread or wheaten
Soda or Wheaten farl with a fill from any of the above (throw in a bit of bacon too)
Tesco's sell small Tortilla wraps with a selection of fillings for £1.99

I could think of more but haven't time. All of the above comes with apple, yogurt, pear, orange and an other
Post by: flog the lot on August 19, 2010, 10:37:16 AM
the obrien's chicken tikka or chicken + stuffing sandwich fillers from dunnes are hard to beat
add in some chese and crusty brown rolls for a tasty lunch

or add in some chilli sauce to the plain ham and cheese sandwich for a bit more tatse..

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2010, 12:04:10 PM
Hate making sandwiches unless it's for there and then. Worked a summer in the fields in Holland years ago, we started off making sandwiches with ham, cheese, tomatoes & onion the night before, that quickly moved on to making them as we were heading out the door in the morning and at the end of the summer were we sitting in the back of a Renault 5 at 11 o'clock with a loaf of bread, a tub of butter, some jam and a knife...
Post by: southdown on August 19, 2010, 12:53:10 PM
New Pizza Hut open accross from me, one of the collection only shops, lunch time offer of a 9 inch plain pizza for £1.99, couldn't beat it with a big stick.
Post by: Wee Shea on August 19, 2010, 01:37:57 PM
Shea Palomo is a rip off. If you insist on eating out why not get a sandwich from subway next door, the cookery nook or that one in north street.

Subway is the biggest rip off about. For a footlong, crisps and a drink its about £6.50 or £7. It isn't even that nice!

Puck - I am not in the vicinity of making serious money! I am pretty good at wasting serious money. I don't have that many outgoings and just waste the rest.

I think if you have microwave facilities the best thing to do is make extra for your dinner then take it in with ya the next day. Pasta, soup, stew, lasagne - all great the next day.
Post by: spuds on August 19, 2010, 01:48:04 PM
EUROSPAR, HARTSTOWN, DUBH LINN

Walker prawns cocktail crisp €0.60
Litre milk €1.27
Gov. bag levy €0.22
Large tae €2.20
Portion curly chips €1.65
Salad roll €4.04
Banana *2 €0.64
Apple €0.49
Muffin wild blueberry €1.99

TOTAL.        €13.10
Post by: southdown on August 19, 2010, 02:53:22 PM
Jeez spuds, looking at your avator there................................i could eat some of that
Post by: 5 Sams on August 19, 2010, 02:55:27 PM
Quote from: southdown on August 19, 2010, 02:53:22 PM
Jeez spuds, looking at your avator there................................i could eat some of that

Dead right....imagine being between those two baps!!! :o
Post by: DoireGael on August 19, 2010, 03:24:47 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 19, 2010, 02:55:27 PM

'Livin the dream!'  :o  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2010, 04:22:54 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on August 19, 2010, 03:24:47 PM

With a bit of mayonnaise on them for licking....
Post by: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 04:34:30 PM
Quote from: spuds on August 19, 2010, 01:48:04 PM

Litre milk €1.27
Gov. bag levy €0.22
Large tae €2.20
Salad roll €4.04
Banana *2 €0.64
Apple €0.49

TOTAL.        €13.10

Thats what you eat for lunch? Or even during the work day?

Jesus.

Tony - 'Baloney' just a regular turkey, cheese, coleslaw, jalapeno sandwich on wheat bread. Not a monster 6inch sub.

When I buy a sandwich out though - it is a 1 footer!
Post by: spuds on August 19, 2010, 04:42:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2010, 04:22:54 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on August 19, 2010, 03:24:47 PM

With a bit of mayonnaise on them for licking....
She does be always on about my lunchbox......mine and Linford Christie's !  :-X
Post by: spuds on August 19, 2010, 04:48:02 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 04:34:30 PM

Litre milk €1.27
Gov. bag levy €0.22
Large tae €2.20
Salad roll €4.04
Banana *2 €0.64
Apple €0.49

TOTAL.        €13.10

Jesus.

Tony - 'Baloney' just a regular turkey, cheese, coleslaw, jalapeno sandwich on wheat bread. Not a monster 6inch sub.

That does me till dinnertime, might leave the bananas till the morrow for between breakfast and lunch.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 19, 2010, 05:36:14 PM
Just experimented with a new sambo combination that went down well...Corned beef, nice slice of mature cheddar cheese and a dollop of Mayo on brown bread. Yum yum.
Post by: lurganblue on August 19, 2010, 05:46:34 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 19, 2010, 05:36:14 PM
Just experimented with a new sambo combination that went down well...Corned beef, nice slice of mature cheddar cheese and a dollop of Mayo on brown bread. Yum yum.

I'll have to give that a go. I tend to be a lazy f**ker when it comes to making lunch sandwiches so the easier the better.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 19, 2010, 05:54:59 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on August 19, 2010, 05:46:34 PM

I'll have to give that a go. I tend to be a lazy f**ker when it comes to making lunch sandwiches so the easier the better.

Washed down with a mug of good strong tae. Hard to beat.
Post by: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 06:06:06 PM

Thats corned beef from a can, right?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 19, 2010, 06:09:58 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 06:06:06 PM

Some gear on a sandwich with brown sauce. Seems to be only men that like it though.
Post by: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 06:10:40 PM
Ah - real corned beef is the ticket. That stuff tastes like shite.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 19, 2010, 09:12:51 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 06:10:40 PM
Ah - real corned beef is the ticket. That stuff tastes like shite.
I'm no connoisseur of shite so I'll have to take your word for it.
Post by: The Worker on August 19, 2010, 09:21:24 PM
Subway. 6 inch sub, pack of space raiders, and a pint of milk, 3.50
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2010, 09:25:09 PM
A 6" Subway isn't enough for me to calm the hunger pangs,I prefer the foot long(thats what she said) with the Italian herb bread
Maybe you pen pushers who sit at a desk all day don't work up the same appetite that I would..
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2010, 09:41:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2010, 09:25:09 PM
A 6" Subway isn't enough for me to calm the hunger pangs,I prefer the foot long(thats what she said) with the Italian herb bread
Maybe you pen pushers who sit at a desk all day don't work up the same appetite that I would..
same here, has to be foot long
Post by: omagh_gael on August 19, 2010, 10:25:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 19, 2010, 06:06:06 PM

Not from a can puck. Was good posh stuff from M&S in a nice fancy pack. Tasted good!
Post by: tyssam5 on August 19, 2010, 11:10:08 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on August 19, 2010, 01:37:57 PM

Subway is the biggest rip off about. For a footlong, crisps and a drink its about £6.50 or £7. It isn't even that nice!

Puck - I am not in the vicinity of making serious money! I am pretty good at wasting serious money. I don't have that many outgoings and just waste the rest.

I think if you have microwave facilities the best thing to do is make extra for your dinner then take it in with ya the next day. Pasta, soup, stew, lasagne - all great the next day.

'$5 footlong' here. Work from home, can be boring at times, but this thread made me calculate how much I save in food and  transport. Very nice. Just made myself a nice wee lunch there, potatos, onions, peppers and fried egg. 3pm now, suppose I should think about having a shower soon, maybe a wee w**k break first to relieve the day's stress. :)

Post by: gawa316 on August 19, 2010, 11:27:03 PM
Put a bit of grilled chicken ina bowl and mix it up with mayo and curry powder, comes out a bit like coronation chick. WHack in a couple of bits of cold bacon and you've got a lovely sarnie
Post by: The Gs Man on August 19, 2010, 11:42:47 PM
9p noodles from Tescos, in between a coupla rounds of bread.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 19, 2010, 11:46:05 PM
Quote from: spuds on August 19, 2010, 04:48:02 PM

Litre milk €1.27
Gov. bag levy €0.22
Large tae €2.20
Salad roll €4.04
Banana *2 €0.64
Apple €0.49

TOTAL.        €13.10

Jesus.

That does me till dinnertime, might leave the bananas till the morrow for between breakfast and lunch.

Why don't you 'bulk' buy the bananas in somewhere like, for example, Dunnes, Superquinn, Aldi, LIDL, etc. They last a fair while in the fridge, and fair bit cheaper than that. Same for the apples, and crisps.

And why don't you have a reusable bag, lazy git  ;)

There, that's €2 taken off your daily bill. That's a €10 per working-week you owe me (as your financial adviser, obviously, leaving a bit for yourself of course).
Post by: supersarsfields on August 20, 2010, 09:54:57 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 19, 2010, 11:46:05 PM

Litre milk €1.27
Gov. bag levy €0.22
Large tae €2.20
Salad roll €4.04
Banana *2 €0.64
Apple €0.49

TOTAL.        €13.10

Jesus.

Why don't you 'bulk' buy the bananas in somewhere like, for example, Dunnes, Superquinn, Aldi, LIDL, etc. They last a fair while in the fridge, and fair bit cheaper than that. Same for the apples, and crisps.

There, that's €2 taken off your daily bill. That's a €10 per working-week you owe me (as your financial adviser, obviously, leaving a bit for yourself of course).

You shouldn't refridgerate bananas!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2010, 10:14:45 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 20, 2010, 09:54:57 AM
You shouldn't refridgerate bananas!!

Who says? I prefer them when they're yellow, not brown  :P
Post by: supersarsfields on August 20, 2010, 10:29:07 AM
well I suppose if your buying in bulk then you might need to. But over here the majority of bananas are ones that need to ripen well at room temp. Your only meant to refridgerate when they at they're yellowest. But most will have that greeny look to them and need a bit o time at room temp.
Post by: spuds on August 20, 2010, 10:46:16 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 19, 2010, 11:46:05 PM

Litre milk €1.27
Gov. bag levy €0.22
Large tae €2.20
Salad roll €4.04
Banana *2 €0.64
Apple €0.49

TOTAL.        €13.10

Jesus.

Jeez.....I pay €0.64 for bananas and €0.22 for bag and you can save me €2/day ! Are you a government economist ?  :-\
Or are you going bananas !  :-[
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2010, 10:48:41 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 20, 2010, 10:29:07 AM
well I suppose if your buying in bulk then you might need to. But over here the majority of bananas are ones that need to ripen well at room temp. Your only meant to refridgerate when they at they're yellowest. But most will have that greeny look to them and need a bit o time at room temp.

True ss, refrigeration actually slows down the browning, but you're right in that when they're green they're not particularly good for you (too acidic).
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 20, 2010, 10:49:30 AM
Stopped buying lunches about a year ago and now save myself a fortune to waste on other things like booze and gambling!
I try and bring left overs from the previous nights dinner where possible, so today I am on the spag bol (well pasta bol) few mins in the microwave and *ping* a feed fit for a king!

Post by: spuds on August 20, 2010, 10:51:27 AM
Early start this morning.
Brambles in Pavillions Swords Co Dublinnia

A feckin ham quiche with 2 salads €9.95
Pot a tae (exactly 1 small cup full) €2.00
Total                                                  €11.95

Still hungry. Banana republic time.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2010, 10:51:42 AM
Quote from: spuds on August 20, 2010, 10:46:16 AM
Jeez.....I pay €0.64 for bananas and €0.22 for bag and you can save me €2/day ! Are you a government economist ?  :-\

1. If I was saving you that money (or more correctly, extorting that as a tax from you), and then giving it to a lost cause like, say, a hopeless and worthless bank then I'd probably be overqualified to be a government economist. But I wouldn't, so I'm not  ;)

2. Quite possibly.
Post by: Overthebar! on August 20, 2010, 10:52:16 AM
would never put bananas in the fridge myself....personal favourite for lunch is chicken marinaded in yeos chilli sauce cooked in cream with pasta eaten cold, maybe even with some tobbaco onions!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2010, 10:55:17 AM
Quote from: spuds on August 20, 2010, 10:51:27 AM

In there most days myself, will keep an eye out for you  ;)
Post by: spuds on August 20, 2010, 10:55:49 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2010, 10:51:42 AM
Quote from: spuds on August 20, 2010, 10:46:16 AM

1. If I was saving you that money (or more correctly, extorting that as a tax from you), and then giving it to a lost cause like, say, a hopeless and worthless bank then I'd probably be overqualified to be a government economist. But I wouldn't, so I'm not  ;)

2. Quite possibly.
Good reply  :D
Post by: spuds on August 20, 2010, 11:09:46 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2010, 10:55:17 AM
Quote from: spuds on August 20, 2010, 10:51:27 AM

In there most days myself, will keep an eye out for you  ;)

Great spot for spotting the foreign ladies !

IKEA a mighty spot for cheap and tasty food.....and for milf shopping too.  :)
Post by: southdown on August 20, 2010, 12:55:12 PM
Every Friday I go to Wetherspoons with the boss across the road, £3.99 for beer and burger meal.  The quality isn't great but it's a good deal nonetheless.

When I worked in Belfast a Centra sandwich was a must.  And then there was Longs fish and chips, sensational feed in there.
Post by: Puckoon on August 20, 2010, 03:47:18 PM
Just thinking about it here - those footlong subs are 12x2.5x2 in most places.

That is a lot of grub.
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 20, 2010, 03:48:29 PM
Quote from: southdown on August 20, 2010, 12:55:12 PM
Every Friday I go to Wetherspoons with the boss across the road, £3.99 for beer and burger meal.  The quality isn't great but it's a good deal nonetheless.

When I worked in Belfast a Centra sandwich was a must.  And then there was Longs fish and chips, sensational feed in there.
Does your own boss not want to come along as well?  :P
Post by: Trout on January 11, 2011, 11:08:59 PM
Corned beef, cheese and branston pickle for tomorrow. Get in there. And I still have too tins of Steiger to polish off tonight.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2011, 11:21:56 PM
Quote from: Trout on January 11, 2011, 11:08:59 PM
Corned beef, cheese and branston pickle for tomorrow. Get in there. And I still have too tins of Steiger to polish off tonight.
Corned beef with HP sauce is the business. Gives me wild heartburn though.