The Fine Gael thread

Started by Maguire01, October 16, 2012, 08:14:56 PM

Sinn Painers always give the impression their TDs and MLAs do it all for no pay. ::)

mikehunt

Quote from: weareros on October 24, 2015, 02:07:48 AM
Quote from: mikehunt on October 23, 2015, 04:16:34 PM
Quote from: weareros on October 20, 2015, 01:55:49 AM

Stopping upward only rents is a two edged sword as it stalls commercial real estate development, devalues commercial property,  leading to a lack of grade a commercial space for new business leading in turn to less jobs created and less outside investment. And then with less commercial real estate, rents go up anyway due to scarcity. Funny how the opposition fail to see that. Fine Gael actually learned that lesson the hard way.

Govt's decision was purely to keep NAMA's books look half way decent. The decision to include this clause in the first place show's the madness that went on. The decision to keep it shows that some people wanted the madness to continue. The "Grade A Commercial Space" bit was especially hilarious. Total spoof. You sound like a cross between Tom McParland and Karl Deeter.

A little learning is a dangerous thing. Office space is generally classed into A, B and C. And you need grade A if you want to attract investment into Ireland as high tech firms need a bit more than a Sinn Fein job of a printer in the corner and stolen ink cartridges. Plus in case you had not noticed there's been a scarcity of commercial real estate in Dublin driving up rents in double digit rates. To combat that, high quality commercial real estate needs to be developed and good news is that is happening because that equals more businesses and more jobs.

So you're one of those Blueshirts that prefer the easy option of FDI as opposed to local SMEs. Upward only rent has crippled indigenous business. You need only look at the main street of every town and city outside of dublin. The govt were elected to represent concerns outside of Dublin. They put Multi Nationals ahead of local business.  If anything local businesses should be given preferential treatment but upward only rents and crazy rates are the order of the day while multi nationals don't even pay the going rate.

POLL: SBP/Red C
(Mon-Wed, MoE ±3%)
FG 30 (+2 in 6 weeks)
Lab 7 (-3)
FF 20 (+2)
SF 16
Inds 20 (-4)
Greens 2
Renua 2
AAA-PBP 1
SD 1
Others 1

Quote from: mikehunt on October 24, 2015, 06:42:31 PM

Stopping upward only rents is a two edged sword as it stalls commercial real estate development, devalues commercial property,  leading to a lack of grade a commercial space for new business leading in turn to less jobs created and less outside investment. And then with less commercial real estate, rents go up anyway due to scarcity. Funny how the opposition fail to see that. Fine Gael actually learned that lesson the hard way.

Govt's decision was purely to keep NAMA's books look half way decent. The decision to include this clause in the first place show's the madness that went on. The decision to keep it shows that some people wanted the madness to continue. The "Grade A Commercial Space" bit was especially hilarious. Total spoof. You sound like a cross between Tom McParland and Karl Deeter.

A little learning is a dangerous thing. Office space is generally classed into A, B and C. And you need grade A if you want to attract investment into Ireland as high tech firms need a bit more than a Sinn Fein job of a printer in the corner and stolen ink cartridges. Plus in case you had not noticed there's been a scarcity of commercial real estate in Dublin driving up rents in double digit rates. To combat that, high quality commercial real estate needs to be developed and good news is that is happening because that equals more businesses and more jobs.

So you're one of those Blueshirts that prefer the easy option of FDI as opposed to local SMEs. Upward only rent has crippled indigenous business. You need only look at the main street of every town and city outside of dublin. The govt were elected to represent concerns outside of Dublin. They put Multi Nationals ahead of local business.  If anything local businesses should be given preferential treatment but upward only rents and crazy rates are the order of the day while multi nationals don't even pay the going rate.

Not a Fine Gaeler. Indeed you are the one spouting the same populist shite that Fine Gael was spouting before they got elected saying they were going to abolish upward only rent reviews only to discover that it contravened the property rights protected by the constitution. Commercial property owners are businesses too and like any business seek the best return on their investment.

Also you are now mixing up commercial leasing rates with corporate tax rates. The former is a private agreement between landlord and tenant. The government has no place in deciding private leasing rates. It sounds like you want a Nanny State. Try North Korea, you might be a lot happier there.

foxcommander

Quote from: Maguire01 on October 24, 2015, 09:09:17 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on October 23, 2015, 09:04:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 23, 2015, 08:41:19 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on October 23, 2015, 08:33:36 PM
Enda is already head of a criminal gang called Fine Gael.

At least he's not taking directions from the criminals.

You mean his party? Glassing fellas in pubs, assaulting protestors in the street and various  riduclous 'expenses' and salaries

Top 10 Cabinet salaries and expenses 2011-2015 (€)
Enda Kenny   Taoiseach   1,078,236.27
Simon Coveney   Agriculture   941,772.86
Michael Noonan   Finance   919,726.75
Leo Varadkar   Health   877,531.74
Jimmy Deenihan   Diaspora   864,664.67
Brendan Howlin   Public Expenditure   833,881.27
James Reilly   Children   813,250.31
Paul Kehoe   Chief Whip   785,869.69
Frances Fitzgerald   Justice   784,057.52
Alan Kelly   Environment   778,837.43

Who's the criminals again?
In 2014/15, Martin McGuinness had a salary of 120k and expenses of 67k. That's 187k in one year, or 935k over 5 years. That's €1.3m.

And on The Mirror article you took your stats from, SF (and other non government) TDs are all sitting close to 600k in salaries and expenses and they're not actually in charge of anything.

Statistics mean nothing out of context.

I take it this is your way of trying to weasel out of condemning the figures the irish government pay themselves. What's this got to do with Martin McGuinness??

Smoke and mirrors eh?
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

foxcommander

Quote from: Maguire01 on October 24, 2015, 09:03:24 PM
POLL: SBP/Red C
(Mon-Wed, MoE ±3%)
FG 30 (+2 in 6 weeks)
Lab 7 (-3)
FF 20 (+2)
SF 16
Inds 20 (-4)
Greens 2
Renua 2
AAA-PBP 1
SD 1
Others 1

So when FF and FG (and either lowry or labour with them) join together to create the next government perhaps then the illusion that there is or has been any real difference between them will be shattered.

Turkeys do seem to vote for xmas...

foxcommander

And 7% of the population will vote labour now? You are having a laugh.

Quote from: foxcommander on October 25, 2015, 04:27:15 AM

You mean his party? Glassing fellas in pubs, assaulting protestors in the street and various  riduclous 'expenses' and salaries

In 2014/15, Martin McGuinness had a salary of 120k and expenses of 67k. That's 187k in one year, or 935k over 5 years. That's €1.3m.

And on The Mirror article you took your stats from, SF (and other non government) TDs are all sitting close to 600k in salaries and expenses and they're not actually in charge of anything.

I take it this is your way of trying to weasel out of condemning the figures the irish government pay themselves. What's this got to do with Martin McGuinness??

Smoke and mirrors eh?
My point is simply that it costs money to govern. You have to pay people. You can't expect people to work for nothing and meet legitimate expenses from their own pockets.

And it wasn't a criticism of McGuinness at all, its simply pointing out that an alternative government from any party will cost similar money.

mikehunt

Quote from: weareros on October 25, 2015, 01:27:06 AM
Quote from: mikehunt on October 24, 2015, 06:42:31 PM

Not a Fine Gaeler. Indeed you are the one spouting the same populist shite that Fine Gael was spouting before they got elected saying they were going to abolish upward only rent reviews only to discover that it contravened the property rights protected by the constitution. Commercial property owners are businesses too and like any business seek the best return on their investment.

Also you are now mixing up commercial leasing rates with corporate tax rates. The former is a private agreement between landlord and tenant. The government has no place in deciding private leasing rates. It sounds like you want a Nanny State. Try North Korea, you might be a lot happier there.
I'm all for contracts and legislation to be adhered to but if markets dictate when times are good why should they not dictate when things are bad. Yes business were foolish to sign these contracts but they had no choice if they wanted to remain tennants. You have a short memory if you don't remember tax payers bailing out these banks and landlords. I don't remember siging that contract.

foxcommander

Quote from: Maguire01 on October 25, 2015, 07:33:55 AM

Smoke and mirrors eh?
My point is simply that it costs money to govern. You have to pay people. You can't expect people to work for nothing and meet legitimate expenses from their own pockets.

And it wasn't a criticism of McGuinness at all, its simply pointing out that an alternative government from any party will cost similar money.

So your hatred of sinn fein isn't the reason you brought up Martin McGuinness into a conversation that was about 26 county politics, Fine Gael and how much they are paid??!??!?

My point was merely that in these times of "austerity" some (i.e. fine gael TD's and ministers) don't seem to have tightened their belts too much like the ordinary joe taxpayer. If anything their compensation went upwards. That to me is criminal.

Fine Gael leaders may be all be bollockses without exception. However, their salaries were reduced by much more than most, and it is counterfactual to claim otherwise. There is enough to criticise them for without making it up.

Quote from: foxcommander on October 25, 2015, 05:53:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 25, 2015, 07:33:55 AM

Smoke and mirrors eh?

So your hatred of sinn fein isn't the reason you brought up Martin McGuinness into a conversation that was about 26 county politics, Fine Gael and how much they are paid??!??!?

My point was merely that in these times of "austerity" some (i.e. fine gael TD's and ministers) don't seem to have tightened their belts too much like the ordinary joe taxpayer. If anything their compensation went upwards. That to me is criminal.
Their pay went DOWN. The Taoiseach's salary is €185,350, cut from €214,187 (Bertie was on close to 300k in 06/07 if i'm not mistaken). All Ministers and TDs have also had salaries cut during the term of this government:
http://www.thejournal.ie/taoiseach-ministers-public-servants-pay-cuts-976714-Jul2013/

And I mentioned McGuinness because that's an indication of what SF would cost if they were in government in the south, i.e. the same as the other parties.

foxcommander

Pay cut?? They really really put themselves on the breadine in solidarity.
They'll be making up for it in expenses claims. Don't fret.

Nice to see the minister for emigration Jimmy Deenihan makes a nice living out of other peoples misery.
As for the social worker in charge of justice. Overpaid to spout a few buzzwords into a camera. Real value for money there.

and paying 4 grand a week for enda. let that sink in. then try justify it.

Quote from: foxcommander on October 26, 2015, 02:31:41 AM

Nice to see the minister for emigration Jimmy Deenihan makes a nice living out of other peoples misery.
As for the social worker in charge of justice. Overpaid to spout a few buzzwords into a camera. Real value for money there.

A social worker in charge of Justice... do you want to list the professional credentials of your alternative front bench?

And Enda gets just over €3,500 a week as Taoiseach. If you convert the currency, McGuinness is paid €3,200 a week as one of two First Ministers of an administration (not even a full government) for a much smaller jurisdiction. (Not to mention that the Taoiseach's salary will be subject to higher taxes in the south than the dFM's in the north.) Which would you rather justify first?

Quote from: Maguire01 on October 26, 2015, 06:38:56 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on October 26, 2015, 02:31:41 AM

A social worker in charge of Justice... do you want to list the professional credentials of your alternative front bench?

And Enda gets just over €3,500 a week as Taoiseach. If you convert the currency, McGuinness is paid €3,200 a week as one of two First Ministers of an administration (not even a full government) for a much smaller jurisdiction. (Not to mention that the Taoiseach's salary will be subject to higher taxes in the south than the dFM's in the north.) Which would you rather justify first?

All the CEO's of the semi-state companies named below now earn €250k a year. A ceiling was put on their wages not so long ago before that they earned the following

CEO PAY AT THE SEMI-STATES

1. ESB (electricity supply) €752,568
2. Dublin Airport Authority €568,100
3. An Post €500,000
4. Coillte (forestry) €417,000
5. Eirgrid (electricity transmission) €407,000
6. Bord Gáis (gas) €394,000
7. Bord na Móna (bogs) €392,000
8. RTE (national broadcaster) €326,000
9. Irish Aviation Authority €324,000
10. Dublin Port €317,000

Can you name any of these CEO's? Do you know what they look like? Are they democratically elected? Would they have a greater workload than the Taoiseach?