The Fine Gael thread

Started by Maguire01, October 16, 2012, 08:14:56 PM

Quote from: foxcommander on December 28, 2014, 04:05:18 PM
and this is why we need water charges

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/tribunal-fiasco-politicians-and-developers-will-be-paid-100m-30865794.html

Nope, we 'need' water charges because we socialised the banks debt and agreed to introduce them when we signed the bailout deal with the troika.

The Uachtarain signs loads of Bills into Law. He can only call the Council of State to advise him if he's concerned about Constitutionality of a Bill. Not because SF or loony lefties think he should.

foxcommander

Quote from: muppet on December 28, 2014, 05:19:10 PM
Nope, we 'need' water charges because we socialised the banks debt and agreed to introduce them when we signed the bailout deal with the troika.

So the premise that we need water charges to fix the leaky pipes and deliver a world class water service is a crock of shite then? It's only to satisfy the troika?

and for all you who think the fees are miniscule. What happens to any commodity when it's fee based? Prices can be raised at will. But you are happy enough to go along with it because you can afford it.

Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Quote from: foxcommander on December 29, 2014, 04:33:25 AM
Quote from: muppet on December 28, 2014, 05:19:10 PM

So the premise that we need water charges to fix the leaky pipes and deliver a world class water service is a crock of shite then? It's only to satisfy the troika?

and for all you who think the fees are miniscule. What happens to any commodity when it's fee based? Prices can be raised at will. But you are happy enough to go along with it because you can afford it.

http://irishpoliticsandmedia.blogspot.ie/2013/12/text-of-fianna-fail-agreement-with.html

Joan brutal is making inda kinny look great right now!

She will kill the Labour Party singlehandedly

Gilmore was a good politician and decent man and the clowns got rid of him!

Quote from: foxcommander on December 28, 2014, 04:04:36 PM
Our great president signs up without a whimper

http://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2014/1228/669307-president-signs-water-services-bill-2014/

Fail to see the point in this role now.
You clearly didn't understand it in the first place.

Quote from: Maguire01 on December 30, 2014, 08:31:21 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on December 28, 2014, 04:04:36 PM
Our great president signs up without a whimper

http://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2014/1228/669307-president-signs-water-services-bill-2014/

Fail to see the point in this role now.
You clearly didn't understand it in the first place.

+1.
Some people think he's some kind of CEO or the like.

foxcommander

Good article on the start of the next election. The cuter hoors out there will try to bluff their way back in by saying nothing and hope the electorate buy it.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gene-kerrigan/the-man-with-a-neck-of-cold-blue-steel-30897855.html

Leo Varadkar has said that he is gay.
Had heard that in the past few months. Fair play to him, hope this doesn't start to define him "Leo Varadkar, Ireland's first openly gay minister..."
I think the country has moved on enough that it won't really be an issue for the vast majority

Quote from: Tubberman on January 18, 2015, 11:23:41 AM
Had heard that in the past few months. Fair play to him, hope this doesn't start to define him "Leo Varadkar, Ireland's first openly gay minister..."
I think the country has moved on enough that it won't really be an issue for the vast majority

I disagree, I think it's a announcement that will torch any ambitions he had of being leader of FG and/or Tainaste or Taoiseach.

And that disappoints me, he's a grounded, young politician who doesn't use the wanton hyperbole of opposition TD's but not full of the weasel words of the reigning parties. If he ran in my constituency I'd vote for him and I would have been glad to see him make it into a position of real power because he seems to have some of the rarest commodities in politics; perspective and common sense.

Quote from: trileacman on January 18, 2015, 12:26:57 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 18, 2015, 11:23:41 AM

I disagree, I think it's a announcement that will torch any ambitions he had of being leader of FG and/or Tainaste or Taoiseach.

And that disappoints me, he's a grounded, young politician who doesn't use the wanton hyperbole of opposition TD's but not full of the weasel words of the reigning parties. If he ran in my constituency I'd vote for him and I would have been glad to see him make it into a position of real power because he seems to have some of the rarest commodities in politics; perspective and common sense.

It won't change his ability to become leader in much of meaningful way. The world where that wasn't possible is gone now. He could be leader before the election after next comes around, he's clearly the best candidate in my eyes.

If Gerry can be a party leader..

If Enda can be Taoiseach........

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Our health minister up here is just away with the fairies
"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

foxcommander

If this was a diversion tactic it's fairly lame. Please get back on topic and sort out the health crisis in the country and stop worrying about your plans as future Taoiseach.

He must be planning out the night of the longs knives for Enda if this is a necessary step to his coronation.