Favourite Song or Tune Associated With Your County?

Started by Oraisteach, June 18, 2013, 11:16:10 PM

QuoteI know of no Maydown in Armagh; in fact, the only one I've ever heard of is in Derry, which seems a long way to take dogs to go hare hunting.

There seems to be a Maydown House over by Benburb
http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,681891,851890,6,7

Oraisteach

Actually, tickle, I've often wondered if "Maydown" was a corruption of Mullaghbawn, somewhat like the fact that the song is sometimes sung as "The Hills of Greenmore."

Feckitt

You would need brave good dogs to go from Granemore to either Mullaghbawn or Benburb!

Oraisteach

Thanks Feckitt and armaghniac.  Never knew of the townland of Maytone, and if it's right near Tassagh it sounds like a good bet.  Also, can't believe that with all the times I traipsed off to Benburb Sunday I never heard of Maydown House.

Feckitt

Quote from: Oraisteach on June 20, 2013, 06:16:37 PM
Thanks Feckitt and armaghniac.  Never knew of the townland of Maytone, and if it's right near Tassagh it sounds like a good bet.  Also, can't believe that with all the times I traipsed off to Benburb Sunday I never heard of Maydown House.

It's a black hole

Oraisteach

Maybe the puss could have hidden in that black hole!

Oraisteach

Funny enough, Wikipedia lists Maydown as an Armagh townland.

Quote from: Oraisteach on June 20, 2013, 06:36:29 PM
Funny enough, Wikipedia lists Maydown as an Armagh townland.
Or maybe Maytown (with a "t")?

I know there's a Maytown Road which runs through Bessbrook (probably concocted when the Postcodes were introduced/Townlands were abolished).

And Wiki has this:
"Today the village of Bessbrook straddles the three townlands of Maghernahely, Clogharevan and Maytown"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bessbrook

Oraisteach

Thanks, EG, sounds plausible.  A Google search of Maydown says it was a townland in the parish of Eglish, just west of Armagh.

It's either this or Mary Duff .

Musically it's hard to tell the two apart to be fair. The differences are subtle.

jodyb

Quote from: screenexile on June 19, 2013, 12:09:41 PM
The Ballad of Hudy McGuigan (The first man who ever flew) - James McEldowney

When I was young I went to school, in a wee place called Tirkane,
Where they toul me that Davinci designed the aeroplane...
And me' history book said Orville, and the brother Wilbur Wright,
Their names were on the page, as the pioneers of flight...

But in last week's Ireland's Own, they said that wasn't true,
And 'twas a man from county Derry, was the first man ever flew,
His name was Hudy McGuigan, and he cam from Ballinascreen,
And to rise up like a bird, was Hudy's life long dream.

For when the other wanes were playing, on the ropes and on their swings,
Wee Hudy, he'd be praying to God, to give him wings...
And when they went a huntin' for the rabbit and the fox,
He'd be up around the mountain, talkin' to the hawks.

But when he toul them of his plan, the neighbours laughed out loud,
They said he was an eejit, and his head was in the clouds,
And the wife she was affronted, and she was sittin' in the draught,
And there was dung around the flure, and she was always givin' aff.

Fro the hens were in the cottage, at the fire getting 'warmed,
For Hudy had the two half dures, wan strapped til every arm,
him headin' for the doughal, the rooster roared and screamed,
As civil aviation was born in Ballinascreen.

Now the first flight it was short, for he forgot to flap,
He went flyin' past the cart, and hit the byre wall a slap,
But after a fit o' cursin', he straightened up the back,
And out came the wooden feathers , as he headed for the stack.

Like Icarus the Greek, he was destined for the sun,
But his legs were getting' wake, for the dures they weighed a tonne,
And the second flight was shorter, he was like a wounded sparra'
And the sow went runnin' squealin' as he collided with the barra.

But when he got the aff the crutches, all warnings were ignored,
And Hudy tuk his flying dream, back to the drawin' board,
And as the candle, it got duller, his ideas they got brighter,
The weight was in the wood, he needed somethin' lighter.

So he bought a pile o' geese and ducks and drakes in Draperstown,
And every time they lost a feather, sure it never hit the ground,
He was that determined, to better his design,
The farmyard, it was shinin', not a stick nor twig nor twine...

But the wife was still complainin' of her neck and of her head,
For Hudy had the pillas stripped aff the iron bed,
And he was robbin robin's nests, and all the feathers he could get,
And the hay was lyin' rotten and the farm goin' into debt.

As he fiddled and he futtured, and he hammered and he nailed,,
In the stable, on a table, he made himself a tail...
He shaped it like a fan, it was light, but it was strong ...
Twas six or seven fut in length, and as broad as it was long.

And the country people gathered, from Moneyneenagh to the plum,
As Hudy tuk his tail, and tied it to his bum,
Wi' a lovely pair o' wings, for the half dures they were cracked
Now the wife was standin' cryin' "Hudy, when will you be back?"

Now the rooster didn't know him, he was feathered and he was tarred,
He was like a bloody peacock, struttin' roun' the yard...
But the neighbours now luked up to him, to the steps beside the barn,
As he viewed the lovely Sperrins, from Slieve Gallion to the Carn..

And he gave the tail a wag, as he bended at the knees,
Then liftin' up his wings, he waited for the breeze...
And be God, this time he flew, he went floatin' through the air,
Flutterin' like a butterfly, dartin' here and there...

Swoopin' like a swalla' and sweepin' like a swift,
But the thorns were comin' closer, and he hadn't got the lift...
But Hudy was delighted, awe, he was on a high,
When they dragged him from the holly bush,
"DIDN'T I TELL YOUSE I COULD FLY!"

Now that was years and years ago, but twas never written down,
But Hudy, he's our hero, here in Draperstown...
And that's why we drink so much, for we're still in celebration
Of his humble contribution to modern aviation.

So when next you're on a plane, and they smile like Mr Sheen,
Tell them painted ladies, about the man from Ballinascreen...
And tell the pilot too, before he touches down,
If it wasn't for Hudy McGuigan, they'd never get aff the ground]
Screen, James has another one, 'The plastic fiver'. You don't have the words to it, by any chance?

Quote from: armaghniac on June 20, 2013, 06:09:52 PM
QuoteI know of no Maydown in Armagh; in fact, the only one I've ever heard of is in Derry, which seems a long way to take dogs to go hare hunting.

There seems to be a Maydown House over by Benburb
http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,681891,851890,6,7

As you go from blackwatertown to benburb, turn left at the site of the old ruc station. Down the hill and as you cross the river that's maydown bridge.

Given that blind harper Turlough O'Carolan grew up and composed his music in Roscommon, could go with any of his magnificent airs.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=EBiTDLpTUxY

Quote from: theticklemister on June 19, 2013, 06:09:20 PM
Quote from: redcard on June 19, 2013, 06:04:55 PM
There's no Sam Maguire in tyrone
There's no Sam Maguire in tyrone.........

Haven't heard it since 2003 though

Use to be a regular song of mine which I used to pick from the repertoire prior to 2003 at matches.

Our only comeback for

'There's no Londonderry in Tyrone!'

Reminds me of being outside renshaws and the breaking ball outside the bot .... long time ago