GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Tyrone => Topic started by: Fuzzman on May 03, 2017, 05:52:49 PM

Title: Tyrone v Derry rivalry
Post by: Fuzzman on May 03, 2017, 05:52:49 PM
Back in the 90s the Tyrone v Derry rivalry was probably at its peak with a lot of high profile games including the famous 1995 semifinal where Tyrone won with 13 men, which many Tyronians would say was their favourite win over the Oakleafers. I particular enjoyed that game as I drove to it with 2 Derry friends from UUJ and another Tyrone lad, having also went to school in Derry.

1992 though was my first real memory of beginning to dislike our friendly neighbours as I travelled to Croke Park for the first time for the National league final. Seeing exciting young players like Canavan, Cush, McGleenan and Paul Donnelly join the older stalwarts from 86 like Plunkett Donaghy and Co was very exciting.
Alas Tohill and Brolly spoiled the day and it was a long trip home as one of our travelling party was a Derry cousin.

Back then I didn't realise that there were lads up along the loughshore who were also near neighbours to the Derry crew and shared our feeling back in the 90s.

I was just wondering what were people's favourite memories from those years and also worst days out against the aul enemy. 2006 was certainly a low point having won Sam the Sept before. I can also remember a bad defeat to them in Clones but not sure what year it was.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRmguVTP8oY&spfreload=5

Title: Re: Tyrone v Derry rivalry
Post by: Rawhide on May 03, 2017, 06:24:34 PM
Tyrone posters always mention the 95 semi won with 13 players, they remind me of the DUPs and conviently forget Derry played with 14. A great game with intensity everywhere except in the Derry team who were on a downer after what only we in Derry can do best, hit the self destruct button.
Among time since we put it up to you, was it 2008 in Omagh?
Post by: Helpline on May 04, 2017, 10:56:48 AM
Was it 2008 in Omagh that Tyrone didn't score in the first half?
Post by: Localexpert on May 04, 2017, 11:16:02 AM
Quote from: Helpline on May 04, 2017, 10:56:48 AM
Was it 2008 in Omagh that Tyrone didn't score in the first half?

It was 2006 Tyrone didn't score.... in 2008 Tyrone won their 3rd all Ireland ;)
Post by: Tyrone Gaa on May 04, 2017, 11:16:49 AM
Great days out against the old enemies but unfortunately the rivalry is currently dead along with the Armagh rivalry.  It could be argued that all counties are going through a transition period but the current crop shouldn't consider Derry or Armagh as rivals.  It couldn't be claimed as a major success scoring a victory against these sides in their current state. 

Tyrone need to look at Dublin, Mayo, Kerry and Donegal as rivals and look to avenge some of the recent defeats to these counties that stand between them and success.

Of course a victory is good for bragging rights in the pub that evening but it wouldn't stretch further than that.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 04, 2017, 11:20:38 AM
It was 2006 folks. We only scored 5 points in total with Hughes getting sent off after 17 mins and Sean Cavanagh stretchered off
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2006/0528/205141-derry/

Derry management were obviously watching how the Dubs approached the league game in the battle of Omagh as did Fermanagh and many other league teams that year.

Do many of you remember the 1986 first round game in Ulster?

Yeah Tyrone Gaa, Donegal have probably become our latest big rivals and our record against them isn't great of late. Ever since McGuinness give them a good shake down they seem to have got rid of the beer mentality and are a much more professional set up now.

Post by: redhandefender on May 04, 2017, 11:32:01 AM
The heat that day in 95, sweltering and Seamy Mc Callan with the collar up, going home and trying to iron my tyrone jersey like his collar
Post by: Club Rossa on May 04, 2017, 11:32:53 AM
My favourite game against them was the 95 semi final,when it looked like a lost cause at ht.Noel McGinns late goal to beat them in 86 also stands out.92 league final was a sore one as was the 01 quarter final.Derry haven't beaten Tyrone for 6 years now but I would never take anything for granted against them.
Post by: screenexile on May 04, 2017, 11:55:37 AM
My favourite was the National League in 1991. Tyrone had been beaten in the AI U21 the year before and had just won it the few weeks previously (iirc)  and they looked to be well on their way at Senior level for the year with a victory over Derry at Croke Park.

Tyrone were in control towards the end and atmosphere had gotten a little nasty in the stands and there was a lot of gloating going on directed at our family (The cousins and Uncles all sitting together). Suddenly Plunky rose high to pluck the ball out of the sky and came down with nothing and the ball in the net. It knocked the shite out of Tyrone and Derry got the next 2 scores to win

First League crown in 40 odd years over our near neighbours was a great one and I'm convinced it spurred the team on over the next few years to become the best team in Ireland. We played Tyrone a couple of weeks after that Final in the first round of the Championship and came back to beat them again. Good times!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8HbynMBoXo

1995 was an anomaly. . . a bit like Leicester winning the Premier League it took you lads a while to get to the required level.

10 years after us I suppose :)
Post by: Club Rossa on May 04, 2017, 12:00:20 PM
And then like the London buses,3 came along in a short space of time!
Post by: sensethetone on May 04, 2017, 12:12:49 PM
'97 Ulster semi final Derry gave Tyrone a 12pt beating, near pissed meself when Cavan beat them in the final- getting a wide for a point lol.

'96 beating Derry was also good craic, great goal by Canavan late on, Derry got a goal early on never really got going after it.

Still have UTV highlights of the 95 match(got it transferred onto DVD) Tony Scullion was distraught after the match, Moran wanted to come out against 15 men in the second half.

Just want to forget 01, 03 was ok Cavlan was unreal, 06 was shite, 09 was ok Derry had no midfield, last year was alright.
Post by: Taylor on May 04, 2017, 12:13:27 PM
Looking at the respective set-ups and the players it will be a long way off before there is any type of rivalry again.

Disappointing as it was always great when we were going hammer and tongs at it with them.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 04, 2017, 12:44:01 PM
Screenexile it was 1992 not 91 that ye won that league final.
It was an interesting time for Ulster football as Down had won the AI in 1991, Derry beat Tyrone in the league final in 1992 with Donegal going on to win Sam that year and Tyrone putting back to back U21 titles.
1993 was the break through year for Derry with Donegal losing out to Dublin in the league final
1994 Down came back again to win Sam with Armagh making it to the national league final losing to Meath.
1995 of course was Tyrone's turn to win Sam but of course the Dubs said No it was their turn
1996 saw Tyrone return to Croker again but this time Meath walked all over us.

I must say after 1996 I thought Tyrone would never win an All Ireland
Post by: Estimator on May 04, 2017, 12:48:39 PM
I was in Omagh in '91 when Damien Cassidy's late goal basically won the game for Derry.  Although the thing that stands out about that day was the wild celebrations from the Tyrone minors after beating Derry.  I know Derry had won the previous two Ulster Championships, but this was a completely different team.  Big Geoff McGonigle missed an absolute sitter in the minor game, after the Tyrone keeper gifted him the ball from the kick out.

1992 – National League Final, Plunkett's big moment!! In fairness, the 45 from which Tohill scored the goal, came from a point blank save by McConnell from a Bateson shot.  I thought that was our last opportunity gone, but Plunkett didn't see it like that.  I don't remember Brolly playing a major role in that NFL performance in '92.

1992 – Ulster Championship. All ticket affair at Celtic Park.  Didn't get a ticket for that.  Thankfully the game was televised on BBC. Gary Coleman scored an own goal, the first time I ever seen an own goal scored in Gaelic Football, and don't remember too many since.

1995 & 1996 – The less said about these two games the better.  Abiding memory from the '95 game, was the scorching hot game and everyone in the O'Duffy Terrace sitting down on the concrete steps.  One man didn't get the message and was asked by a number of people to sit down as he was blocking their view, he refused.  Another gentleman decided that this was not good enough and knocked him out with one punch and walked away as if he'd done nothing wrong.

1997 – Great day out for the greatly outnumbered Derry fans 2-15 to 2-03. Tyrone scored first with a goal and after that it was all Derry.  McGleenan scored a great goal in the second half and decided to blow angry kisses to the crowd.  Maybe because Brolly had been blowing kisses after scoring a goal earlier in the game.

2001 (x2) Missed the Ulster Championship game. Was in Clones for the Quarter Final.  Wee Pete got himself sent off for punching McBride in the stomach.  If it happened now, McBride would probably get a black card for blocking the run.

2003 (x2) Tight enough affair in Clones.  Tyrone got themselves outta jail.  Fergal Doc hit a wide that would have put us 4 or 5 up in the second half but went badly wide. Tyrone reeled us in and won the replay easily.  Remember that one from leaving O'Duffy Terrace on the final whistle and running the length of Clones to get back to the car and away.  I was met by a couple of Tyrone hallions who clearly hadn't made it to the game, and were definitely inebriated.   Shouting at me to go "Back to Britain" and something incoherent about  L****Derry .

2006 – All Ireland Champs held scoreless for the first half.  Master class of tactical fouling. Liam Hinphey had a super day at the office.  Hub Hughes hit him a dig and Tyrone were down to 14men.  Big Enda scored the goal.

Went to work in England not long after that, I don't think I've been to a Derry/Tyrone Championship game since then.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 04, 2017, 03:31:11 PM
I can remember when we driving away from Dublin after the 92 final hearing Brolly doing an interview on the radio.
He said something to the effect of "We were out played in defence, outplayed in midfield and outplayed in attack and we still won."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_w8HsFx3Ls

Derry seemed to beat Tyrone a lot more in Omagh that Tyrone did in Derry.
Post by: sensethetone on May 04, 2017, 03:56:22 PM
Most of their matches where in Clones even when it was the first round of the championship, then semi finals would have been neutral.

Forgot about 04 and 02.