Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 09:17:59 AM

Title: Road deaths
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 09:17:59 AM
Pedestrian killed in Galway road crash
Wednesday, 27 February 2008 22:53
A pedestrian has been killed in a road accident on the outskirts of Galway city.
The man was struck by a car while walking at Oranswell on the Galway-Moycullen road shortly after 9.30pm.
Gardaí are urging motorists to avoid the area as a section of the road is now closed and diversions will remain in place for several hours.

Two die in Dublin & Cork crashes
Thursday, 28 February 2008 08:47
Two people have died in separate road accidents in Co Dublin and Co Cork.
A man died following a crash on the Naas Road, Baldonnell, at about 6.15pm last night.
The man's car hit a pole on the Naas Road and he was pronounced dead at Tallaght Hospital.
Gardaí are investigating.
Separately, a 35-year-old man died in a two-vehicle collision at Coachford, Co Cork, at about 7.30pm yesterday.
The crash happened at Roovesmore, on the Farran to Coachford Road.
A woman who was driving the car was taken to Cork University Hospital with minor injuries.

Jesus, another three people dead over-night, Lord Rest Them. I dont know whats going on.....if its drivers, roads, Road Safety Authority, Government or what is the root cause of all these unnecessary deaths by their actions or indeed, inaction. I know my own home county has had a ferocious time in the last fortnight with fatal road accidents. Whats the feeling on the board?
Title: Re: Road deaths
Post by: ardal on February 28, 2008, 09:31:33 AM
It is terrible.

You can widen roads, straighten bends, put in speed ramps, speed restrictions, increase cameras, and lots lots more, but at the end of day it's down to drivers driving safely. We drive too fast and dangerously, either we kill ourselves or some other innocent coming the other way.
Post by: ziggysego on February 28, 2008, 09:43:54 AM
The roads are far too dangerous. Rest in Peace to all the people who have lost their lives on the roads in recent days.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 10:08:25 AM
Some of my work involves attending road accident scenes and some of the things I have heard from people in the emergency services would make sure you though twice before overtaking on a bend, picking up your phone, bending to pick something off the floor, whatever.......
I commute 55km to work every day and not a day has passed since I started the job that some I havent seen someone doing something stupid. 7.30am and lads with no lights on, dangerous overtaking, tailgating, whatever. I dont know does things have to hit close to home before some people will cop themselves on.......
Post by: guy crouchback on February 28, 2008, 12:48:17 PM
Quotesome of my work involves attending road accident scenes and some of the things I have heard from people in the emergency services would make sure you though twice before overtaking on a bend,

if you have to think twice about whither or not you should overtake on a bend you should not be on the road in the first place.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 01:16:07 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on February 28, 2008, 12:48:17 PM
Quotesome of my work involves attending road accident scenes and some of the things I have heard from people in the emergency services would make sure you though twice before overtaking on a bend,

if you have to think twice about whither or not you should overtake on a bend you should not be on the road in the first place.

Yet people are doing it hand over fist...... Im not doing it, ive heard and seen too much to even think of doing it. And yes, anyone who does shouldn't be one the road but a driving test that lasts a half hour doesn't determine how a person will drive for the remaining 40/50 years on the road. Maybe some sort of refresher training every ten years on renewing the licence is the way forward? But I suppose they cant get rid the the backlog of tests in place now so how could they ever manage to do that?
Post by: J70 on February 28, 2008, 01:32:38 PM
People are complacent. They take chances and think that it will be all right and that it will never happen to them.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 28, 2008, 03:03:41 PM
Would it be fair to say that around half of road deaths in Ireland are pedestrians?
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 03:48:02 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on February 28, 2008, 03:03:41 PM
Would it be fair to say that around half of road deaths in Ireland are pedestrians?

Statistics for 2006 below. Its worrying to see the percentage of car drivers fatally injured who were male.......74%.

Cars
In 2006, 226 car occupants were killed in collisions accounting for 62 per cent of
all fatalities, and an additional 5,798 were injured. Sixty-five per cent of car
occupants killed were drivers and 20 per cent were front seat passengers. Most of
the car drivers killed were male (74 per cent).
Twenty-five per cent of car drivers and 9 per cent of front seat car passengers
involved in fatal collisions were not using a seat belt.

Motorcycles
The 29 motorcyclist fatalities that occurred in 2006 accounted for 8 per cent of all
fatalities. An additional 505 motorcyclists were injured.
Motorcyclists were 13 times more likely than car users to be killed and 3 times
more likely than pedalcyclists to be killed per vehicle kilometres travelled.

Pedalcycles
In 2006, 9 pedalcyclists were killed and additional 211 were injured in collisions.
Pedalcyclists made up 2 per cent of all fatalities. Seven out of 9 pedalcyclists killed
and 7 out of 10 injured were male. In 2006, 40 per cent of all the pedal cycle traffic
fatalities reported involved cars.

Pedestrians
In 2006, 73 pedestrians were killed. Forty-three per cent of the pedestrians killed
were aged 65 and over. Seven out of 10 pedestrians aged 65 and over were killed
in the hours of darkness.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 28, 2008, 03:59:19 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 03:48:02 PM

Statistics for 2006 below. Its worrying to see the percentage of car drivers fatally injured who were male.......74%.

Cars
In 2006, 226 car occupants were killed in collisions accounting for 62 per cent of
all fatalities, and an additional 5,798 were injured. Sixty-five per cent of car
occupants killed were drivers and 20 per cent were front seat passengers. Most of

Motorcycles
The 29 motorcyclist fatalities that occurred in 2006 accounted for 8 per cent of all

Pedalcycles
In 2006, 9 pedalcyclists were killed and additional 211 were injured in collisions.
Pedalcyclists made up 2 per cent of all fatalities. Seven out of 9 pedalcyclists killed
and 7 out of 10 injured were male. In 2006, 40 per cent of all the pedal cycle traffic

Pedestrians
In 2006, 73 pedestrians were killed. Forty-three per cent of the pedestrians killed

So you're safer riding a motorbike than walking along the road?
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on February 28, 2008, 06:07:39 PM
I drove to Waterford from Dublin early last Wed. morning. The weather was drizzly and visibility was poor. I have never seen driving as bad in all my life. from Portlaoise to Carlow was mental, the traffic heading for Dublin was heavy. The overtaking and speeding was unreal, how more people aren't killed is beyond me. Vans loaded with men and tools were the biggest problem....how people travel this road every day i dont know, i cover the country with my job,and this was the worst ever i was glad to get to Paulstown where the traffic eased.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 08:10:20 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on February 28, 2008, 03:59:19 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 03:48:02 PM

Cars

Motorcycles

Pedalcycles

Pedestrians

It seems that way. These are Road Safety Authority stats.....you can only assume they are correct.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 28, 2008, 08:34:28 PM
Im on the road a good bit everyday...These are just some of the things i see on a regular basis everyday
Drivers are too agressive..
Big powerfull cars just bully you out of the way
Younglads driving too fast with no fear or cop on what might happen..
Mothers dropping kids off at school seem to think they can pull in and out of a space whenever they feel like it with no warning or indication
Kids just running loose from their parents and running out onto the road
Cars passing cars out only to take the very next exit which was only a few hundred yards away,cue huge breaking and swerving
The amount of fools i still see using mobiles while driving is unreal,Parents with kids in the back  just driving along yapping on the phone,Going around roundabouts yapping on the phone

Im no angel on the road i would never claim to be the worlds most perfect driver but i have tried to slow down take my time and be overall more carefull..
Ever since i started driving a big van though drivers treat you in a new light,They just have to get past you,It doesn't matter if the trafic is only crawling they just can't sit behind a van even if that means breaking speed limits thru small villages etc
Post by: deiseach on February 28, 2008, 10:06:10 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on February 28, 2008, 08:10:20 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on February 28, 2008, 03:59:19 PM

It seems that way. These are Road Safety Authority stats.....you can only assume they are correct.

The statistics say no such thing. Motorcyclists represent a tiny fraction of road users, while millions of people are pedestrians at some point of every day of their lives. You might as well say that because sober people cause more accidents than drunks that you are safer driving while under the influence.
Post by: Cúig huaire on August 23, 2009, 08:10:35 PM
4 people have been killed in a car crash on the Tandragee Rd in Newry this evening.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 23, 2009, 09:27:50 PM
In a taxi the other night and the taxi driver was talking about the same subject.

He said people now are far too aggressive. I'd say he's about right. Everyone in a hurry to get everywhere so they go too fast.

There are also a lot of stupid people on the roads. Legislating for what some people could potentially do at times is difficult.

RIP to those involved in accidents.
Post by: orangeman on August 23, 2009, 09:30:55 PM
Horrible news. 5 killed today. RIP
Post by: gerry on August 23, 2009, 10:23:27 PM
Suprised their not more with some of the driving i see today on the way to and from the match.

Jasus whats your hurry
Post by: ExiledGael on August 23, 2009, 10:54:02 PM
Drove across the country up north today and the roads were absolutely treacherous. Some shocking showers had left a lot of surface water and flooding on even main roads.
Apparently they veered off course and hit a lorry so wouldn't be surprised if this evening's crash was just a freak accident.
Post by: fitzroyalty on August 24, 2009, 02:13:22 AM
RIP. Just passed by the place where it happened as the road was re-opened, it must have been closed all day. That corner is ridiculous
Post by: The Subbie on August 24, 2009, 10:40:57 AM
The four lads that died all worked for a Portugeese co working on the new T2 at Dublin airport, same place i work, the site is in a state of shock just now but do you think the DAA would close the place as a mark of respect no chance.

Very very sad all round, RIP.
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 24, 2009, 10:50:57 AM
I was coming back from Dublin when I heard about the tragic crash in Tandragree, one of the lads with me said as soon as we heard that its usually foreign nationals involved when there are multiple casualities like that.  Sadly he was proved correct, there has been a high incidence of accidents involving foreign nationals in recent times but I wonder is it disproportionate?
Post by: Sandino on August 24, 2009, 11:03:05 AM
Another sad stat is that 25% of road deaths are alcohol related. We still live in a country where people think they can take a powerful drug and get behind the wheeh of a car!
Post by: Orior on August 24, 2009, 12:09:48 PM
On my hols last week, and got a bus from the airport to my destination.

Through out the whole journey along winding coastal roads the driver had his mobile phone to his ear. I had to remind my self a few times to relax and that I'm on my holidays because I had a terrible urge to go up to the front of the bus and shove the mobile phone up the arse of the bus driver.

Orior's Request to all GAA Board Users
========================
Next time you phone a lorry driver, or bus driver on his mobile phone, could you please ask him if he's on the road before launching into a 60 chat? If he is driving, then please hang up.

Thanks awfully.
Regards
Post by: Ellie84 on August 24, 2009, 12:36:43 PM
people using their fone while driving really pisses me off. always always see it. had an argument with a friend of mine a few weeks back when, within the space of half an hour, she near went in2 the back of the car in front TWICE cos she was texting. she didnt see what the problem was and laughed about it. "i can text and drive at the same time, i hardly look at the fone" she said. i told her to never txt while im in the car with her and she laughed again. people just don't take the law seriously enough. laws are there for a reason.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 24, 2009, 01:44:00 PM
Speed, tailgating & dangerous overtaking, why people creep up behind you even though you are at the limit or safest legal fast speed you can go and then try and overtake you approaching a blind bend or a hump in the road when there is clearly not enough time if there is a car coming the other way.
Post by: Sandino on August 24, 2009, 02:49:54 PM
I think road safety is a very important issue and many posters may have been touched by accidents etc, I think it reflects on society in general there is so little discussion on this topic on this board but if it were about flags of kerbstones discussion would run to 20 pages.
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 24, 2009, 03:02:57 PM
Quote from: Sandino on August 24, 2009, 02:49:54 PM
I think road safety is a very important issue and many posters may have been touched by accidents etc, I think it reflects on society in general there is so little discussion on this topic on this board but if it were about flags of kerbstones discussion would run to 20 pages.
I started a thread on roads carnage a few months back and for whatever reason it provoked little or no debate.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12204.0
Post by: Sandino on August 24, 2009, 03:05:58 PM
Just checked that link and less than 2 pages of discussion. We need to have a major rethink about we drive on our roads in this country. 
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 24, 2009, 03:39:12 PM
have to agree, some of the driving on the roads is shocking.
even some of the tings tyou see people do on the way down to a game amazes me, with rash over taking and the like.Its not just boy racers either, we are talking about middle aged men/women with their families in the car out fo a day out at croke park.
if you cant take the time out to give up a whole day to go to a game with out rushing to/from the game endangering you and everyone else, then stay at home.
the atitude towards drink driving by alot of people pisses me off aswell, how some people can still see it as aceptable behaviour is beyond me
Post by: na cleirigh on August 24, 2009, 03:41:41 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on August 24, 2009, 03:39:12 PM
have to agree, some of the driving on the roads is shocking.
even some of the tings tyou see people do on the way down to a game amazes me, with rash over taking and the like.Its not just boy racers either, we are talking about middle aged men/women with their families in the car out fo a day out at croke park.
if you cant take the time out to give up a whole day to go to a game with out rushing to/from the game endangering you and everyone else, then stay at home.
the atitude towards drink driving by alot of people pisses me off aswell, how some people can still see it as aceptable behaviour is beyond me

This really boils my blood as well. I have a friend who said to me 'I'm taking it easy tonight cause I'm driving so I'm only drinking bottles'. Don't be drinking anything if your driving you muppet.
Post by: fitzroyalty on August 24, 2009, 04:31:10 PM
Coming into Poyntpass today i saw some f**king idiot in a landrover with a trailer overtake approaching a blind bend. Beggars belief, especially when you consider just hours before 4 lives were lost on up the road  >:(
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 24, 2009, 04:40:42 PM
Has anyone else noticed this that Young drivers speed, middle aged ones drink drive & old ones never learned the rules of the road, yes I know this a minority of each.

The amount of times I have been driving behind an elderly or older driver who is doing just say 70klm p/hr on a 100klm p/hr road, I'm doing say 90-100klm and decide I am going to overtake, then out of the blue while I have my indicators on they turn right, right across the road into a side road, then indicate 5 yards down the road to let me know they have turned. They seem to think its etiquette not a warning , they obviously have not checked behind them either or they would have saw me indicate, would they have still turned if I was overtaking them, probably.

Lucky that I drive under the speed limit & lower if its appropriate, but what chance would that person had, if a boyracer was overtaking them at 120-140klm, I could slow and react but some of those twats haven't a hope in hell of stopping.
Post by: maggie on December 17, 2009, 02:40:38 PM
Three people have died after a road accident in County Down.

Two cars collided on the Killinchy Road near Comber shortly after midnight. Two men and a woman travelling in one of the cars were killed.

Their names have not yet been released, but it is understood one of the men was from Killyleagh and the woman from Downpatrick.

It was the third crash on the road in the last month.

One of the cars was left very badly damaged in the crash - part of it ending up in a field - while the other was much less so.

The road is likely to be closed for most of the morning between the Tullymagee Road and Quarry Road junctions.

Strangford MP Iris Robinson said she was deeply saddened by the accident.

This stretch of road is especially perilous and there have been several fatal accidents on it

Councillor Joe Boyle
"The roads around Comber can be very dangerous at this time of year, especially in the dark," she said.

"I appeal to anyone travelling at anytime of the day to be very careful on these roads as we do not want to see anymore fatalities this year."

Alliance Party assembly member Kieran McCarthy said the deaths were "heartbreaking".

"This is simply devastating for the families of those who died in this tragedy and the community is reeling at this horrendous news.

"Three more families will be without treasured loved ones this Christmas," he said.

SDLP councillor Joe Boyle said: "This stretch of road is especially perilous and there have been several fatal accidents on it.

"I urge the Roads Service to investigate, as a matter of urgency, this route and determine whether any further precautions can be taken to prevent any further loss of life."

Just saw this on the BBC website-horrific.
One of the cars, half of it was 30 metres away in a field.
The carnage on our roads is getting worse.
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 17, 2009, 02:42:32 PM
Terrible tragedy alright Maggie, did anyone see newsline the other night also?  The hit and run in Mullaghbawn where the woman was carried for 150 Metres up the road by the car!
Post by: gerry on January 07, 2010, 07:11:20 PM
just heard they were young lads who crashed while overtaking a tractor.  may they Rest In Peace

Two killed in Tyrone road crash

Two people have been killed in a car crash just outside Omagh in County Tyrone.

It happened on the Killyclogher Road, close to Main Road, at about 1500 GMT on Thursday.

It is understand a third person has been seriously injured. Police have not released any details about the two people who died.

Part of the road remains closed following the crash.

Post by: armaghniac on January 07, 2010, 08:13:57 PM
A notable statistic is that fatalities in the Republic were 240 last year, down 39 from 2008. In the North the fatality rate was up to 115. This means that the rate per 100,000 is about one sixth lower in the South and is the same as the UK generally. I am not sure if this happened before, but if it did it was a long time ago. it is all a big improvement on the 1970s when 600+ were killed in the South when the population was lower and there were many fewer cars. 
Post by: randomtask on January 07, 2010, 08:55:02 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 07, 2010, 07:11:20 PM
just heard they were young lads who crashed while overtaking a tractor.  may they Rest In Peace

Two killed in Tyrone road crash

Two people have been killed in a car crash just outside Omagh in County Tyrone.

It happened on the Killyclogher Road, close to Main Road, at about 1500 GMT on Thursday.

It is understand a third person has been seriously injured. Police have not released any details about the two people who died.

Part of the road remains closed following the crash.

two young lads who played for killyclogher at minor level R.I.P
Post by: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 01:06:50 PM
NI has first month without road death since 1986 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8546531.stm)
Post by: gerry on November 13, 2010, 12:52:24 AM
another death on our roads. when you read the story it makes you think whats life all about

Father loses last child in County Tyrone lorry crash (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11743296)
Post by: Aerlik on November 13, 2010, 02:40:28 AM
there are shocking statistics for road deaths over here.  DUI is a major contributor but speed is the main factor.  Then again, when you are able to get insurance for a v8 6-litre car at 18, it doesn't take alot of einsteins to wonder why.  Western Australia has big, wide, straight roads and too many dipsticks driving like they're fcukin invincible.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 17, 2014, 09:58:03 PM
Another road death this evening just outside Meigh in South Armagh. Crazy stuff so far this year and all the road safety folk seem to want to do is place speed vans at Banbridge and Dromore on what are now practically the safest sections of road in the North since the flyovers were put in
Post by: Nally Stand on January 18, 2014, 12:12:35 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 17, 2014, 09:58:03 PM
Another road death this evening just outside Meigh in South Armagh. Crazy stuff so far this year and all the road safety folk seem to want to do is place speed vans at Banbridge and Dromore on what are now practically the safest sections of road in the North since the flyovers were put in

Patsy McCreesh. A brother of Ray, who died on Hunger Strike. RIP.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 18, 2014, 12:18:42 AM
A decent man. His partner Liz is the mother of Ciaron O'Hanlon the young Killeavy and Armagh footballer. It's tragic. RIP