GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 12:42:48 PM

Title: Muineachán v Baile Átha Cliath - AIQF
Post by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 12:42:48 PM
A massacare! A whitewash! A rout! 10 points? 20? 30?!
To be honest, I can't see us winning by that margin, but you never know!

Monaghan have to go into this with the intention of winning. There'll be absolutely no pressure. There's no expectation. But there's no point in beating Kildare just to be hammered by Dublin - with that attitude, we'd have been better having Kildare pip us last night. We don't intend to be there just to make up the numbers. We'll give it a go, and at the very least put it up to Dublin. It will be a real test of whether we are close to the top table. We have form in going into games as massive underdogs and deposing reigning champions - Armagh in 2003 and Donegal in 2012 - it's hope more than expectation, but where there's hope...
Title: Re: Muineachán v Baile Átha Cliath - AIQF
Post by: Nigel White on August 03, 2014, 12:49:36 PM
Last night would have lifted a huge monkey off your back. You'll give Dublin their fill of it
Post by: J70 on August 03, 2014, 01:05:39 PM
The winners of the Donegal-Armagh game will be watching this VERY closely.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 01:47:48 PM
Dublin 1/16, Monaghan 15/2 on PP.
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2014, 01:52:21 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 01:47:48 PM
Dublin 1/16, Monaghan 15/2 on PP.

Wow! I've seen more balanced odds in the Armagh championship!
But the bookies have a shedload of money on Dublin for the AI, if Monaghan relieve them of that burden they won't mind paying out.

Arguably, Monaghan haven't really performed that well when expected to win, we'll see if the lack of pressure brings a battling performance from then.

Also Monaghan 9/1 on Boylesports, shades of 2003!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 01:56:54 PM
Theres absolutely no hope, there be 10Pt's in it unless Monaghan play like the Ulster final to stop the other team scoring, either way Dublin will win pulling up
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2014, 01:58:03 PM
Unfortunately from a Dublin perspective I can't see Monaghan being as difficult a challenge as I thought they would be earlier in the championship....if they concede 2-10 against Kildare in shocking conditions they'll really struggle stopping Dublin scoring a big total
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 03, 2014, 02:01:10 PM
Monaghan lads to get frustrated at being totally outplayed early in the second half and to start swinging elbows and targeting key Dublin players to try and injure them.
Post by: Boycey on August 03, 2014, 02:05:47 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 03, 2014, 02:01:10 PM
Monaghan lads to get frustrated at being totally outplayed early in the second half and to start swinging elbows and targeting key Dublin players to try and injure them.

Ah feck it why wait til the 2nd half maybe we'll revert to type and do it straight from the off..
Post by: babarino on August 03, 2014, 08:37:27 PM

Judging by a few of your comments you come across as a particularly smug jackeen. Is your da a senior partner in KPMG by any chance?
Post by: J70 on August 03, 2014, 09:57:42 PM
Quote from: babarino on August 03, 2014, 08:37:27 PM

Judging by a few of your comments you come across a particularly smug jackeen. Is your da a senior partner in KPMG by any chance?

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 03, 2014, 10:02:02 PM
Quote from: babarino on August 03, 2014, 08:37:27 PM

Judging by a few of your comments you come across a particularly smug jackeen. Is your da a senior partner in KPMG by any chance?

Did one get knocked back for a job with said company ?  ;)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 03, 2014, 11:06:30 PM
'bleedin Jaysus...
Post by: Hound on August 03, 2014, 11:27:12 PM
Thought Monaghan were poor against Donegal and below par again v Kildare.

Very lucky in truth to get ove Kildare. The lillies having nobody to kick a free from the right side, and then getting so many from that side, was very fortunate. Also Emmet Bolton getting himself black carded was very unfortunate for Kildare and a big blessing for Monaghan. The final free at the end of the 70 was debatable - I would have given it too, but I'm certain a good few refs wouldnt have.

Having said that I think Monaghan are superior to Kildare, and if the game had gone to replay I think they'd have won by 6 or 8 points. I think Monaghan may have been a little bit guilty of looking one game ahead. More important was the huge emphasis on the 80/90 year timeframe since Monaghan last won in Croker in championship. I don't remember any mention of that last year in the build up to the Tyrone game but it seemed centre piece of all build up this year. That was a huge monkey off the back.

A big positive for Monaghan is the way their leaders showed up when it mattered. Dessie Mone brilliant throughout. Hughes at midfield was a pale shadow of what he can do with the ball, but ran himself into the ground and his block towards the end was inspirational. And that word wouldnt do justice to the full back Wylie's fabulous point at the end.

Now Monaghan have absolutely nothing to lose. Nobody gives them a chance, they can play without any pressure and I'm sure they'll have a gameplan to worry the Dubs. I think its going to be a fascinating game and it'll be nothing like any other Dubs game in the championship under Gavin
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 11:29:33 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 03, 2014, 11:27:12 PM
Thought Monaghan were poor against Donegal and below par again v Kildare.

Very lucky in truth to get ove Kildare. The lillies having nobody to kick a free from the right side, and then getting so many from that side, was very fortunate. Also Emmet Bolton getting himself black carded was very unfortunate for Kildare and a big blessing for Monaghan. The final free at the end of the 70 was debatable - I would have given it too, but I'm certain a good few refs wouldnt have.

Having said that I think Monaghan are superior to Kildare, and if the game had gone to replay I think they'd have won by 6 or 8 points. I think Monaghan may have been a little bit guilty of looking one game ahead. More important was the huge emphasis on the 80/90 year timeframe since Monaghan last won in Croker in championship. I don't remember any mention of that last year in the build up to the Tyrone game but it seemed centre piece of all build up this year. That was a huge monkey off the back.

A big positive for Monaghan is the way their leaders showed up when it mattered. Dessie Mone brilliant throughout. Hughes at midfield was a pale shadow of what he can do with the ball, but ran himself into the ground and his block towards the end was inspirational. And that word wouldnt do justice to the full back Wylie's fabulous point at the end.

Now Monaghan have absolutely nothing to lose. Nobody gives them a chance, they can play without any pressure and I'm sure they'll have a gameplan to worry the Dubs. I think its going to be a fascinating game and it'll be nothing like any other Dubs game in the championship under Gavin

I think it could be like every other Dublin game this year.
Post by: Jinxy on August 03, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
Dublin are decent enough this year.
Post by: thewobbler on August 04, 2014, 08:34:54 AM
I'm guessing Malachy O'Rourke will invest a fair chunk of time this week in trying to get his side to set up a bomb proof bunker for the 3rd quarter.

While unfortunately I can't see Monaghan having the firepower to beat Dublin, if they can prevent the Dub generating their post halftime momentum, there could be a squeaky bum or two here.

Referee will be crucial to that all happening. If he's handy with the blacks and yellows, forcing Monaghan to play less on the edge, it won't be competitive. Here's hoping it's a hurling ref.
Post by: straightred on August 04, 2014, 08:56:53 AM
Monaghan woke up yesterday morning and were able to declare mission accomplished. They are now in bonus territory having got promotion and made it t a 1/4 final. The only black mark so to speak would be the ulster final and avoiding the dubs for another few weeks. The whole croke park jinx is a bit of joke and was only invented this week - they won their league titles this year and last year in Croke Park. That's hardly a jinx ! Actually going straight from d3 to d2 to d1 in consecutive years and getting to successive AI 1/4 finals is impressive. Other small counties take note!

You can't see them (or anyone) doing a job on the Dubs. They simply don't have the subs. Even if it is tight say 1/2 way through the 2nd half then Dublin will be able to empty the bench and kick on.
Post by: thebandit on August 04, 2014, 09:32:54 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 04, 2014, 09:10:38 AM
Has anyone got a table showing how much money each county has received over this last 10 years?

An excellent point.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 04, 2014, 12:59:22 PM
Has anyone got a table showing how much money each county has received over this last 10 years?

Always the nordies with their excuses ready.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 01:02:55 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 04, 2014, 12:59:22 PM

And the Jackeen's are always ready to try and divert attention from the elephant in the room.
They say money talks, but the Dublin contributors here try to make sure that it not heard.
Post by: beer baron on August 04, 2014, 02:10:00 PM
Why would any Dublin fan be worried about how much money is spent on their side? They're winning and playing some of the best football you're ever likely to see.
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2014, 02:20:24 PM

Here's the table showing how much money Dublin received.

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/01/15/article-2262803-16F43DE9000005DC-484_634x423.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on August 04, 2014, 04:11:33 PM
Jayz yer man must've been on the curry the night before.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2014, 04:26:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 01:02:55 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 04, 2014, 12:59:22 PM

And the Jackeen's are always ready to try and divert attention from the elephant in the room.
They say money talks, but the Dublin contributors here try to make sure that it not heard.

Thats rich coming from an armagh man, sure one of yours nearly bankrupted the bloody kildare horde recently ..............................dont worry you can cheer for monaghan on saturday after your lot are bet
Post by: J OGorman on August 04, 2014, 04:30:17 PM
whats with all the dots in your posts squire?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2014, 04:32:11 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 04, 2014, 04:30:17 PM
whats with all the dots in your posts squire?

Im not sure bucko..........Im sure Hardy will have something to say though.........................hes a sucker for dickaction.....................I mean diction
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 04:51:14 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2014, 04:26:44 PM
Thats rich coming from an armagh man, sure one of yours nearly bankrupted the bloody kildare horde recently ..............................dont worry you can cheer for monaghan on saturday after your lot are bet

Indeed other counties without the largesse shown to Dublin may come under financial pressure from running their teams.
The Dub "GAA fans"  won't be cheering for anyone in our game, they'll only arrive 5 minutes into the second game.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on August 04, 2014, 06:33:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 04:51:14 PM

Indeed other counties without the largesse shown to Dublin may come under financial pressure from running their teams.
The Dub "GAA fans"  won't be cheering for anyone in our game, they'll only arrive 5 minutes into the second game.

As ever youre talking thru your hole! You spout some amount of anti Dublin drivel.
Post by: Main Street on August 04, 2014, 07:12:54 PM
I hear Gavin has given the squad the week off training,
probably to make sure they don't peak prematurely.
Post by: heffo on August 04, 2014, 07:14:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 04, 2014, 07:12:54 PM

A fella I know told me all the Dublin players get picked up by helicopter for training.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 07:30:23 PM
The Jackeens are getting the flags out
(http://cdn1.independent.ie/life/home-garden/homes/article29923828.ece/2174c/ALTERNATES/h342/PRO_2014-01-17_LIF_002_30294097_I1.JPG)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2014, 08:26:21 PM

Im a season ticket holder, and I will be in for both games tell us were your sitting and Ill wander over to your for a chat
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 04, 2014, 09:28:29 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 07:30:23 PM
The Jackeens are getting the flags out
(http://cdn1.independent.ie/life/home-garden/homes/article29923828.ece/2174c/ALTERNATES/h342/PRO_2014-01-17_LIF_002_30294097_I1.JPG)

Armagh man + flags = kettle + pot + black
Post by: Aoise on August 04, 2014, 09:36:42 PM
Lads could ye post this to as many GAA boards, supporters boards as you can?  Have a read of this..

http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/gaza-garvaghy-armagh-croke-park.3655/

Lets fill it with them on Saturday, for two reasons...1 - In solidarity with the people being slaughtered in Gaza (obviously) 2 - To show that cretin Rupert Murdoch that he doesn't control the Irish people, especially in Croke Park.
There are 4 teams this Saturday, please get this to as many Armagh, Monaghan, Dublin and Donegal supporters as you can.  What would they do if thousands of people showed up with one?  Never mind the spectacle it would be to the rest of the world.  C'mon Irish people awake from the slumber!  :)
Post by: Hound on August 05, 2014, 11:03:51 AM
I wonder who got blamed for removing banners before games were televised by Sky!

There was a "Free Gaza" banner on the Hill in the Leinster final.

Of course, the Jewish community in Dublin 6 are big Dubs supporters too. They bring this flag along
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/26/Israel_Air_Force_Flag.svg/150px-Israel_Air_Force_Flag.svg.png)
Post by: Main Street on August 05, 2014, 11:33:23 AM
I suppose the game could resemble a pageant of sorts, with the Dubs as the Israelis and Monaghan the beleaguered Palestinians, under siege.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 05, 2014, 11:36:43 AM
Quote from: Main Street on August 05, 2014, 11:33:23 AM
I suppose the game could resemble a pageant of sorts, with the Dubs as the Israelis and Monaghan the beleaguered Palestinians, under siege.

other way round perhaps http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/how-monaghan-tops-defaulter-list-with-316k-average-payment-30483094.html
Post by: Main Street on August 05, 2014, 11:49:54 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 05, 2014, 11:36:43 AM

other way round perhaps http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/how-monaghan-tops-defaulter-list-with-316k-average-payment-30483094.html
How does that bit of news affect perceptions?
My bookkeeping  survived a stringent tax audit and came out with a clean bill of health,  does that make me more Palestinian or Israeli?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 05, 2014, 01:43:19 PM
What's the consensus on Hughes, will he be sanctioned for his petulance or when would be find that out??

Malone broke his thumb in the Armagh replay so I doubt we'll see him. Apparently Clerkin picked up an injury on Saturday too. We could do with them all! (and a hape more if we had them...)
Post by: INDIANA on August 05, 2014, 01:44:18 PM

5 minutes after. Wars of attrition don't interest anyone bar the participating counties.
Post by: charlie linkbox on August 05, 2014, 01:48:06 PM
I'd line Monaghan out as follows;

Rory Beggan   Gerard McCaffrey
     Ryan Wylie   Kieran Duffy   Drew Wylie   Colin Walshe   Conor Boyle
Dessie Mone   Vinny Corey   Darren Hughes   Fintan Kelly   Karl O'Connell
                               Kieran Hughes   Gavin Doogan

Conor McManus

Hopefully this could make it the most painfully unwatchable game in the history of gaelic football and I'll go with a scoreline of;
Monaghan 0-5 (R. Beggan 0-5 frees)
Dublin 0-4 (S. Cluxton 0-3 frees, B. Brogan 0-1)
Post by: heffo on August 05, 2014, 01:51:56 PM
"That's not his problem, so it's not."

Hughes 'blasts' back

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=221876&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Post by: yellowcard on August 05, 2014, 06:52:52 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 05, 2014, 01:51:56 PM
"That's not his problem, so it's not."

Hughes 'blasts' back

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=221876&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Some 'blasting' alright! What is the story with Eoin Lennon, is he out injured for the season? Has been a big miss for Monaghan this year.

Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2014, 06:56:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 04, 2014, 07:14:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 04, 2014, 07:12:54 PM

A fella I know told me all the Dublin players get picked up by helicopter for training.

Rubbish.
They each have their own helicopter.
Post by: Itchy on August 05, 2014, 07:53:44 PM
I see Ireland's No 1 ref has been assigned. Could make the lottery out of the game that Monaghan need.
Post by: cluaineois on August 05, 2014, 10:09:31 PM
posted on HS/ Class

Choose Monaghan. Choose losing Division 4 NFL matches in the rain. Choose to go AWOL for a week after winning Ulster. Choose heartbreak and raw emotion. Choose Sean McCaffrey's commentary. Choose death notices 5 times daily. Choose to remember Fergal O'Hanlon but forget Eoin O'Duffy. Choose a Donaghmoyne lady footballer. Choose to never watch the Kerry 2007 game again. Choose to get lost on the way to B league match in Currin. Choose Nudie there. Chose to lose the plot listening to JP Graham. Choose Harte Peat. Choose Blayney hurlers. Choose the Spinner on a Sunday night. Choose Mona yogurt and Champion Milk. Choose Deccy Mone to keep the score. Choose dinner in Leslie to impress the woman. Choose Gerry's for a real feed on the way home. Choose picking mushrooms and catching turkeys. Choose to write off the Polo Grounds as ancient history. Choose the N2. Choose to park in Iona road. Choose green diesel, washed diesel, choose Derv. Choose to shout for Cross but not Armagh. Choose to give Banty €15 at 2am to get into an empty Fiddler's. Choose Ballybay for weanlings and stripper cows on a Saturday. Choose wrapping bales on a hanging hill with a Ford 7000. Choose an empty Clones over a full Inniskeen any day. Choose a pitchfork on your shoulder, less for use than for devilment. Choose Gerry Murphy's wardrobe. Choose neither Olly Callan nor Mario. Choose to die watching Pip Duffy miss easy frees against Cavan. Choose a spin to the Glen for dancing. Choose a spin to the White Horse for fighting. Choose to go by the back road through Drum and count the flags on match day. Choose Jap's left foot. Choose Ray McCarron's sidestep. Choose to buy Ivomec off Gerry McCarville. Choose Tommy's last point in 2013, the sweetest one. Choose Mark Ward on the goal-line. Choose to make a habit of beating Meath. Choose the isolation of Knockatallon. Choose Packie Willie's for a session. Choose the Latton boys to grind out a win. Choose Vinny at full forward. Choose Vinny at full back. Choose to witness ritual slaughter in Croke Park. Choose to resolve it won't happen again. Choose to come out fighting against hopeless odds. Choose to believe it can happen. Choose to roar them on. Choose Monaghan.
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2014, 10:29:35 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 05, 2014, 07:53:44 PM
I see Ireland's No 1 ref has been assigned. Could make the lottery out of the game that Monaghan need.

As long as it's not Joe McQuillan they have a chance.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 06, 2014, 07:32:43 AM
Referee: Martin Duffy. Don't mind to be honest, he lets the game flow which will be needed..
Post by: heffo on August 06, 2014, 08:22:46 AM
Quote from: cluaineois on August 05, 2014, 10:09:31 PM
posted on HS/ Class

Choose Monaghan. Choose losing Division 4 NFL matches in the rain. Choose to go AWOL for a week after winning Ulster. Choose heartbreak and raw emotion. Choose Sean McCaffrey's commentary. Choose death notices 5 times daily. Choose to remember Fergal O'Hanlon but forget Eoin O'Duffy. Choose a Donaghmoyne lady footballer. Choose to never watch the Kerry 2007 game again. Choose to get lost on the way to B league match in Currin. Choose Nudie there. Chose to lose the plot listening to JP Graham. Choose Harte Peat. Choose Blayney hurlers. Choose the Spinner on a Sunday night. Choose Mona yogurt and Champion Milk. Choose Deccy Mone to keep the score. Choose dinner in Leslie to impress the woman. Choose Gerry's for a real feed on the way home. Choose picking mushrooms and catching turkeys. Choose to write off the Polo Grounds as ancient history. Choose the N2. Choose to park in Iona road. Choose green diesel, washed diesel, choose Derv. Choose to shout for Cross but not Armagh. Choose to give Banty €15 at 2am to get into an empty Fiddler's. Choose Ballybay for weanlings and stripper cows on a Saturday. Choose wrapping bales on a hanging hill with a Ford 7000. Choose an empty Clones over a full Inniskeen any day. Choose a pitchfork on your shoulder, less for use than for devilment. Choose Gerry Murphy's wardrobe. Choose neither Olly Callan nor Mario. Choose to die watching Pip Duffy miss easy frees against Cavan. Choose a spin to the Glen for dancing. Choose a spin to the White Horse for fighting. Choose to go by the back road through Drum and count the flags on match day. Choose Jap's left foot. Choose Ray McCarron's sidestep. Choose to buy Ivomec off Gerry McCarville. Choose Tommy's last point in 2013, the sweetest one. Choose Mark Ward on the goal-line. Choose to make a habit of beating Meath. Choose the isolation of Knockatallon. Choose Packie Willie's for a session. Choose the Latton boys to grind out a win. Choose Vinny at full forward. Choose Vinny at full back. Choose to witness ritual slaughter in Croke Park. Choose to resolve it won't happen again. Choose to come out fighting against hopeless odds. Choose to believe it can happen. Choose to roar them on. Choose Monaghan.

Didn't understand a word.
Post by: Thisonegoesto11 on August 06, 2014, 10:57:58 AM
Combo ticket available again for €55 if ye are confident Dublin/Monaghan will make the semi final  :) Went for the hill myself.

Watched Meath game again last night and really was too easy for Dublin. Monaghan at the very least will be better organised. If focus is right , can't see Dublin not winning on Saturday.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 06, 2014, 04:26:20 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on August 06, 2014, 07:32:43 AM
Referee: Martin Duffy. Don't mind to be honest, he lets the game flow which will be needed..

he does in his hole..........................loves the cameras to be trained on him, watch his graceful bended knee and sweep of the hand to demonstrate a player picking the ball of the ground
Post by: jmk on August 06, 2014, 05:33:18 PM
Also his 100 metre runs up the pitch with his arm in the air as he spots a pull on a forward while not being able to see the same foul from 5 metres.
Post by: Syferus on August 06, 2014, 06:20:35 PM

Lolololololololololololololol.

The stories I could tell you.
Post by: StephenC on August 06, 2014, 06:21:56 PM
Duffy has the most-tapped right heel in Ireland.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 06, 2014, 07:42:51 PM
Quote from: jmk on August 06, 2014, 05:33:18 PM
Also his 100 metre runs up the pitch with his arm in the air as he spots a pull on a forward while not being able to see the same foul from 5 metres.

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 06, 2014, 07:43:59 PM
Quote from: StephenC on August 06, 2014, 06:21:56 PM
Duffy has the most-tapped right heel in Ireland.

;D ;D
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 06, 2014, 10:15:50 PM

I was thinking it would draw that kind of response...  ;)

Post by: haranguerer on August 07, 2014, 08:12:58 AM
It is actually a disastrous appointment for Monaghan, at the risk of provoking the ire of the dubs and appearing to be a nordie with a chip on his shoulder, any time I've seen him ref the dubs I've thought hes been good to them, and any time I've seen him ref an ulster team hes been bad to them.

I think Monaghan will have to play on the edge to have a chance, and with this p***k they won't be able to.
Post by: INDIANA on August 07, 2014, 09:21:00 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 07, 2014, 08:12:58 AM
It is actually a disastrous appointment for Monaghan, at the risk of provoking the ire of the dubs and appearing to be a nordie with a chip on his shoulder, any time I've seen him ref the dubs I've thought hes been good to them, and any time I've seen him ref an ulster team hes been bad to them.

I think Monaghan will have to play on the edge to have a chance, and with this p***k they won't be able to.

Monaghan play past the edge every week. On the edge ? Give me a break
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 07, 2014, 09:43:11 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 07, 2014, 09:21:00 AM

Trite, and out of date...  ::)
Post by: babarino on August 07, 2014, 11:31:09 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on August 07, 2014, 09:43:11 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 07, 2014, 09:21:00 AM

Trite, and out of date...  ::)

+1 GMF.

It's the tired old cliché - upstarts should know their place.
Post by: southdown on August 07, 2014, 11:35:08 AM
Just a heads up, tickets are on ticketmaster for the semi final of whoever wins this v winners of Armagh v Donegal on 31st August. Cusack 302.

Just in case any of you are confident of winning and wish to avoid the ticket rush after this weekend :)
Post by: ONeill on August 07, 2014, 11:36:24 AM
Go for goals. Fcuk the points.

Monaghan 6-2 Dublin 2-20
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 07, 2014, 11:48:42 AM
Good news for Jonny Cooper who seems to have shaken off his injury and will be fighting for a place.

http://www.dublingaa.ie/news/cooper-declared-fully-fit-ahead-of-all-ireland-sfc-quarter-final
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 07, 2014, 12:16:26 PM
http://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dubs-meet-monaghan-for-first-time-in-sfc-since-1923

"They meet in the championship for the first time since July 1923, when Dublin beat Monaghan by 2-5 to 0-0 in the All-Ireland semi-final in Dundalk. Dublin also won the previous two championship meetings between the counties in 1921 and 1908."

Two more massive hurdles for Monaghan: score more than the last time i.e 0-1 and beat Dublin for the first time in championship football...  ;)
Post by: illdecide on August 07, 2014, 02:18:20 PM
Guys i have a spare Hill ticket if anyone would like to purchase it of me...£200...only messin just what its value (think they're 20 Euro?)
Post by: dubsfantom on August 07, 2014, 09:44:48 PM
Dublin team for Saturday

Cluxton
Mick Fitz
ROC
Phily
Nicky D
Cooper
Jamsey
Cian
MDMA
Flynn
Kev Mc
Dermo
Alan B
EO'G
Berno
Post by: muppet on August 07, 2014, 10:06:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 05, 2014, 11:49:54 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 05, 2014, 11:36:43 AM

How does that bit of news affect perceptions?
My bookkeeping  survived a stringent tax audit and came out with a clean bill of health,  does that make me more Palestinian or Israeli?

Probably an Anglo.  ;)
Post by: Zulu on August 07, 2014, 10:45:47 PM
Monaghan (SFC v Dublin): Rory Beggan; Conor Boyle, Drew Wylie, Colin Walshe; Dessie Mone, Vinny Corey, Fintan Kelly; Dick Clerkin, Darren Hughes; Paudie McKenna, Paul Finlay, Kieran Hughes; Thomas Kerr, Chris McGuinness, Conor McManus.
Post by: rrhf on August 07, 2014, 10:49:01 PM
Quote from: dubsfantom on August 07, 2014, 09:44:48 PM
Dublin team for Saturday

Cluxton

Mick Fitz
ROC
Phily
Nicky D
Cooper
Jamsey
Cian
MDMA
Flynn
Kev Mc
Dermo
Alan B
EO'G
Berno
The bitin' irish
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 08, 2014, 07:45:42 AM
Come on Monaghan - we're right behind you.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 08, 2014, 09:32:28 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 08, 2014, 07:45:42 AM
Come on Monaghan - we're right behind you.

Where, where??
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 10:50:46 AM
I would love to see Monaghan striking a blow for the little true GAA Counties by winning this.
However it will be Dublin by hopefully less than ten.

PS - I heard Jin Gavin refer to Dublin's "coaching staff" yesterday. Doesn't staff mean paid employees?
Where's Don't Matter when you need him?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 08, 2014, 12:26:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 10:50:46 AM
I would love to see Monaghan striking a blow for the little true GAA Counties by winning this.
However it will be Dublin by hopefully less than ten.

PS - I heard Jin Gavin refer to Dublin's "coaching staff" yesterday. Doesn't staff mean paid employees?

No, see the definition of the word: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/staff?s=t (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/staff?s=t), there's no mention or inference of payment in the definition.

Anyhow, I can't see Monaghan starting with that 15 to be honest. As has been stated, a good start is imperative (as is the last 15mins, as is the whole match come to think of it..  :o) Conor Boyle went missing a few times early on last week and I that feel Ryan Wylie or Kieran Duffy would be a better option (purely based on their experience). R Wylie definitely settled the defence when introduced last week. McKenna starts in the forwards to act as a second sweeper I've no doubt; I would however have Jack McCarron on ahead of Kerr. I know having McCarron to bring on is useful but to me this is his type of game i.e. a bit more open and faster paced than what can be 'stop start' Ulster football. He is a class act and needs to be fired into a game like this, I think he'd relish it..

Post by: Thisonegoesto11 on August 08, 2014, 12:43:24 PM
Dublin team for Saturday

Cluxton
Mick Fitz
ROC
Phily
Nicky D
Cooper
Jamsey
Cian
MDMA
Flynn
Kev Mc
Dermo
Alan B
EO'G
Berno

Reckon 13 of the 15 will start. Think Jack McCaffrey will start and EOG will be kept as impact sub.

Post by: Jinxy on August 08, 2014, 01:05:38 PM
Could be similar enough weather to last weekend.
That should narrow the gap a bit.
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on August 08, 2014, 01:24:42 PM

Do you reckon John Evans is driving up from Kerry to manage your lot because he likes the beautiful boggy Roscommon scenery. And what about John Maughan and Tommy Carr?

Glasshouses!
Post by: muppet on August 08, 2014, 01:41:58 PM
Quote from: Michael Schmeichal on August 08, 2014, 01:24:42 PM

Do you reckon John Evans is driving up from Kerry to manage your lot because he likes the beautiful boggy Roscommon scenery. And what about John Maughan and Tommy Carr?

Slasshouses!

Slouché!
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 08, 2014, 02:54:37 PM
So Michael Schmeichal reckons Glasshouses Slasshouses? Interesting..  :o
Post by: INDIANA on August 08, 2014, 03:10:25 PM

Glasshouses!

You forgot the bus too.
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 03:33:33 PM

Glasshouses!
We can't afford STAFF End of story. We certainly can't afford 5 bucks with laptops for our U21s like one big County can( hint - they won the U21 AI this year).
Johneen Evans gets EXPENSES as provided for in GAA rules.
Our Bus is "cost neutral".
I dont mind slagging etc but the mention of the 2 Army Bucks is a step too far.
Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2014, 03:35:58 PM
Laptops? So last decade. Fergal's already moved on to tablets.
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 03:46:08 PM
If he takes over the U21s it will be a big advance on Woggy's wirebacked notebook  ;D
Post by: heffo on August 08, 2014, 03:52:00 PM
If an alien was to read a bunch of threads here he'd swear Roscommon were at the centre of the sporting universe.
Post by: muppet on August 08, 2014, 04:07:31 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 08, 2014, 03:52:00 PM
If an alien was to read a bunch of threads here he'd swear Roscommon were at the centre of the sporting universe.

The Big Baa?
Post by: Jinxy on August 08, 2014, 04:14:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 08, 2014, 03:35:58 PM
Laptops? So last decade. Fergal's already moved on to tablets.

I don't blame him.
Post by: INDIANA on August 08, 2014, 04:39:30 PM

Or on the cusp of solving the Middle East crisis.
Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2014, 04:53:01 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 08, 2014, 04:39:30 PM

Or solving global flooding: http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/Business/News/article630921.ece

Haters gonna hate.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 08, 2014, 05:03:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 08, 2014, 04:53:01 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 08, 2014, 04:39:30 PM

Or solving global flooding: http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/Business/News/article630921.ece

Haters gonna hate.

Imagine that head on top of your sister or your mother though
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 05:07:05 PM
Good bit of deflecting from the "Coaching STAFF" issue lads  ;) Well done.
Post by: heffo on August 08, 2014, 05:12:22 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 05:07:05 PM

Firstly post the link to the quote then please give us a euphemism for the position of John Evans.
Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2014, 05:26:07 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 08, 2014, 05:12:22 PM

Firstly post the link to the quote then please give us a euphemism for the position of John Evans.

Can't believe the Dubs are actually going on the offensive on the financial battleground.

Lads, this is about the only thing ye can't win this year.
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 05:31:45 PM

I heard Gavin say that on the RTE radio sports bulletin last night at 11.05 pm.
John Evans is the Team Manager. He gets expenses in accordance with the official going rate. I expect he gets fed like the rest of our volunteers involved in County teams. I expect he gets expenses when coming to watch club games to try and spot a bit of talent.
Post by: The Aristocrat on August 08, 2014, 06:29:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 05:31:45 PM

I heard Gavin say that on the RTE radio sports bulletin last night at 11.05 pm.
John Evans is the Team Manager. He gets expenses in accordance with the official going rate. I expect he gets fed like the rest of our volunteers involved in County teams. I expect he gets expenses when coming to watch club games to try and spot a bit of talent.

Sure he does!

Lets not turn this into a Dont Matter thread again. At least wait for the match to be over and then you all can say that it was Dublins finances that won them the game, resources, Cooked meals, warm showers, M50, Ipads, development squads and then the Dubs will defend each post and so on and so on.

Im off to train kids (Free of charge as a Volunteer with no mileage fee) at the last of our summer hurling evening camps.

Enjoy the match all.

Dont Matter, il talk to you Saturday night xxx
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 08, 2014, 07:53:11 PM
Monaghan looked a tired team when they overcame kildare in extra time. They could have done with another weeks rest however they should still give Dublin a better game than any in Leinster did this summer.
Post by: armaghniac on August 08, 2014, 08:11:25 PM
We'll see how Dublin performs in a cold shower tomorrow, Monaghan put in a training session for this last week.

If there are any true Monaghan faithful out there, you can get 120/1 on Befair for the All Ireland, which isn't bad for playing 3 games!
Post by: babarino on August 08, 2014, 09:03:19 PM
A bit of pre-match nerves about this one. Last time I felt like this before a game was pre-Ulster Final 2013 and the lads calmed them on the throw in.

I'd feel a lot happier with Lennon fit as he's the best fielder we have. We're pulling players in to compensate for his absence since he went off in the League Final against Donegal with a dodgy ankle. Our last big performance.

No doubt we'll give it a lash. There is a better performance in us than has been shown in the championship to date. McManus looks to be back to himself and our leaders will really relish this challenge.

I've enjoyed league games against Dublin in Parnell Park, among true Dubs, but witnessed a recent mauling of Derry in the League Final. Underdogs do have their day, so here's hoping we see a GAA equivalent of Ireland v Italy USA '94. 
Post by: Thisonegoesto11 on August 08, 2014, 09:09:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 08, 2014, 08:11:25 PM
We'll see how Dublin performs in a cold shower tomorrow, Monaghan put in a training session for this last week.

If there are any true Monaghan faithful out there, you can get 120/1 on Befair for the All Ireland, which isn't bad for playing 3 games!

Imagine Dublin have trained in the rain the odd time though . Not always tropical weather down in the capital.  :)
Post by: Thisonegoesto11 on August 08, 2014, 09:13:53 PM
Quote from: babarino on August 08, 2014, 09:03:19 PM
A bit of pre-match nerves about this one. Last time I felt like this before a game was pre-Ulster Final 2013 and the lads calmed them on the throw in.

I'd feel a lot happier with Lennon fit as he's the best fielder we have. We're pulling players in to compensate for his absence since he went off in the League Final against Donegal with a dodgy ankle. Our last big performance.

No doubt we'll give it a lash. There is a better performance in us than has been shown in the championship to date. McManus looks to be back to himself and our leaders will really relish this challenge.

I've enjoyed league games against Dublin in Parnell Park, among true Dubs, but witnessed a recent mauling of Derry in the League Final. Underdogs do have their day, so here's hoping we see a GAA equivalent of Ireland v Italy USA '94.

Ye are in an all ireland QF as underdogs so nothing to lose. Agree Monaghan can play better than last two games but  least ye have had tough games.

Us Dubs are hoping it goes to form. No certainities in knock out football so we will be cautious until we see how the game unfolds...
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 08, 2014, 09:17:47 PM
Come rain or shine tomorrow - best of luck to the Dubs.

Rain did not cause us any problems in 2011 QF when we hammered Tyrone.

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/0608111818-dublin-v-tyrone-report/
Post by: Hound on August 08, 2014, 11:07:43 PM
Quote from: Thisonegoesto11 on August 08, 2014, 12:43:24 PM
Dublin team for Saturday

Cluxton
Mick Fitz
ROC
Phily
Nicky D
Cooper
Jamsey
Cian
MDMA
Flynn
Kev Mc
Dermo
Alan B
EO'G
Berno

Reckon 13 of the 15 will start. Think Jack McCaffrey will start and EOG will be kept as impact sub.
I don't think Gavin trusts McCaffrey defensively after the semi and final last year. If we were playing Mayo or Kerry, I think it'd be very unlikely that Jack would start. Though he'd have more of a chance of playing versus a defensive team where you might get more room. In any event, in games he doesnt start he'll see action when the game opens up.

Personally I'd always hold one of O'Gara or KevMac back as they both offer something completely different. I think either Rock or Costello will start instead of EOG.
Post by: Fuzzman on August 09, 2014, 12:21:59 AM
I don't think Monaghan are going to win but I think they're gonna give the Dubs a damn good battle of swarm, fighting for every ball, lack of respect and really get in their faces.
I can't see them ask questions of how disciplined the Dubs are. If they can take MDMA out of the game they remove the power house heartbeat of this team.

If they try to play football and outscore them then forget it.something I've noticed at all Dubs game this year, watch how often they force forwards to shoot from the right corner.
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on August 09, 2014, 09:29:01 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 03:33:33 PM

Glasshouses!
We can't afford STAFF End of story. We certainly can't afford 5 bucks with laptops for our U21s like one big County can( hint - they won the U21 AI this year).

Expenses my hole! I doubt even you believe that and by the way it wasn't the laptops that kicked 2-20 in the first half of the A Ireland u21 Final.
Post by: fearsiuil on August 09, 2014, 09:40:25 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 09, 2014, 12:21:59 AM
I don't think Monaghan are going to win but I think they're gonna give the Dubs a damn good battle of swarm, fighting for every ball, lack of respect and really get in their faces.
I can't see them ask questions of how disciplined the Dubs are. If they can take MDMA out of the game they remove the power house heartbeat of this team.

If they try to play football and outscore them then forget it.something I've noticed at all Dubs game this year, watch how often they force forwards to shoot from the right corner.
MDMA gets away with throwing his weight about the pitch unpunished more than any player I remember, maybe today the Monaghan boys will get under his skin and he will see red?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 09, 2014, 09:47:49 AM
Quote from: Michael Schmeichal on August 09, 2014, 09:29:01 AM

Glasshouses!

Expenses my hole! I doubt even you believe that and by the way it wasn't the laptops that kicked 2-20 in the first half of the A Ireland u21 Final.

I think you boys need to start a separate thread as this has f00k all to do with this thread, please and thank you.
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on August 09, 2014, 10:05:49 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on August 09, 2014, 09:47:49 AM

I think you boys need to start a separate thread as this has f00k all to do with this thread, please and thank you.

Fair enough but he started it!
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on August 09, 2014, 10:46:24 AM
Jaysus. 7 more hours of feeling like this. Lord knows how the players are feeling.
All the best to the players and MOR. I hope youse put in the performance youse deserve.

UPMONAGHANSAYSWE!!
Post by: babarino on August 09, 2014, 11:13:21 AM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on August 09, 2014, 10:46:24 AM
Jaysus. 7 more hours of feeling like this. Lord knows how the players are feeling.
All the best to the players and MOR. I hope youse put in the performance youse deserve.

UPMONAGHANSAYSWE!!

As MOR said before the Tyrone game. "There are 1.5 billion people in China that don't give a shite about this game."

(Part of me wishes I was Chinese)
Post by: heffo on August 09, 2014, 11:59:36 AM
This is going to be unpleasant for all concerned. Opposition game plan will centre on trying to get two or three of our players sent off, three quarters of the crowd will be pressuring the ref for same

The Dublin two week training camp in San Diego has backfired big time and the climate controlled training pitches are now shown for the folly there are now they have to play in the rain

The quicker we get this over with the better
Post by: Thisonegoesto11 on August 09, 2014, 01:10:41 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on August 09, 2014, 09:40:25 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 09, 2014, 12:21:59 AM

MDMA gets away with throwing his weight about the pitch unpunished more than any player I remember, maybe today the Monaghan boys will get under his skin and he will see red?

Ridiculous. 'More than any player i know' ... pure nonsense. Great player who give 100% every game.
Post by: Thisonegoesto11 on August 09, 2014, 01:13:04 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on August 09, 2014, 09:47:49 AM
Quote from: Michael Schmeichal on August 09, 2014, 09:29:01 AM

Glasshouses!

Fair play. Same stuff repeated regardless of the thread/match in question.
Post by: laoislad on August 09, 2014, 01:53:36 PM
Best of luck to Monaghan.
Post by: armaghniac on August 09, 2014, 01:54:41 PM
Fight to the last man, Monaghan. We'll see you in the Semi.
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 02:12:01 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 09, 2014, 01:54:41 PM
Fight to the last man, Monaghan. We'll see you in the Semi.

Didn't know the draw for Ulster had been made already.
Post by: armaghniac on August 09, 2014, 02:46:42 PM
Syferus, you are losing it!
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2014, 02:51:03 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 09, 2014, 02:46:42 PM
Syferus, you are losing it!
he never had it to lose it!
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 02:58:08 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 09, 2014, 11:59:36 AM
This is going to be unpleasant for all concerned. Opposition game plan will centre on trying to get two or three of our players sent off, three quarters of the crowd will be pressuring the ref for same

The Dublin two week training camp in San Diego has backfired big time and the climate controlled training pitches are now shown for the folly there are now they have to play in the rain

I thought San Diego was the genetic modification trip and La Manga was the climate controlled training pitches?
Post by: ballinaman on August 09, 2014, 03:14:29 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 09, 2014, 02:58:08 PM

I thought San Diego was the genetic modification trip and La Manga was the climate controlled training pitches?
Heard the same, at least the teleporters cut down the jet lag..
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 03:16:05 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 09, 2014, 03:14:29 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 09, 2014, 02:58:08 PM

Heard the same, at least the teleporters cut down the jet lag..

That was for the cryogenics treatment in Warsaw. C'mon lads, let's get the facts right at least.
Post by: thejuice on August 09, 2014, 05:56:55 PM
live streaming anywhere???
Post by: mick999 on August 09, 2014, 05:59:43 PM
http://cricfree.sx/sky-sports-3-live-stream-uk.php
Post by: Main Street on August 09, 2014, 06:11:06 PM
Quote from: mick999 on August 09, 2014, 05:59:43 PM
http://cricfree.sx/sky-sports-3-live-stream-uk.php
I think this one is better quality
http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/274442/1/watch-gaa:-donegal-vs-armagh.html (http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/274442/1/watch-gaa:-donegal-vs-armagh.html)
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2014, 06:16:44 PM
Also time4tv.com. Select Sky Sports 3. You have to x-out a rake of ads but it's good when you get there.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2014, 06:20:27 PM
Nearly twenty minutes gone and no Dublin score from play, when did that happen last?
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 06:20:44 PM
Marty's time will come in this game.....
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:21:28 PM
Great point from McManus. Worth waiting for
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:27:01 PM
Quote from: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:21:28 PM

Diarmuid Connolly - Footballer of the Year 2014???
Post by: Whitnail on August 09, 2014, 06:32:14 PM
Monaghan getting whoopased tbf
Post by: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 06:33:44 PM
This 2-3 in six minutes thing is a feature of the Dubs.
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 06:36:24 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 06:33:44 PM
This 2-3 in six minutes thing is a feature of the Dubs.

Yip, this is long over.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2014, 06:38:29 PM
Very harsh scoreline on Monaghan. Just a matter of how much Dublin will win by now.
Post by: thejuice on August 09, 2014, 06:38:38 PM
Cheers for the links.

Good to see someone else getting tanked by the Dubs. Was starting to think that there might have been something wrong with Meath.
Post by: glens73 on August 09, 2014, 06:39:33 PM
Dublin defend from the front really well, it'll resemble a rugby match when they're in Donegal's half!
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 09, 2014, 06:43:04 PM
This will be worse for monaghan as they try to chase the game. They could be bet by 15 or 20 points here.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 06:43:32 PM
Walsh firefighting on his own in there.

The power, pace and movement from the Dubs is something to enjoy.

They've even made a footballer out of O'Gara.
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:45:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 06:43:32 PM
Walsh firefighting on his own in there.

The power, pace and movement from the Dubs is something to enjoy.

They've even made a footballer out of O'Gara.

Let's not get carried away!
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 06:53:08 PM
Quote from: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:27:01 PM

Isn't he already after winning the club AI with Vincent's?
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:59:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 06:53:08 PM
Quote from: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:27:01 PM

Isn't he already after winning the club AI with Vincent's?

He sure did and was outstanding in the final. Another good performance and he'll be nailed on
Post by: From the Bunker on August 09, 2014, 07:01:58 PM
There will be slaps here yet!
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 07:04:39 PM
At least Marty never fails to entertain.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 09, 2014, 07:08:38 PM
Really boring!
Post by: Fuzzman on August 09, 2014, 07:14:43 PM
his is the 4th Dub game I've took my lad to this year.
Every time I feel cheated that I actually paid money to watch this shite.
Its like paying to watch Man city v Shamrock rovers every game.
Do the Dubs like watching this themselves?

Boring boring boring after the first goal went in.
A wee Donegal lad asked his dad here what colour is Dublin's away jersey
Post by: From the Bunker on August 09, 2014, 07:18:45 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 09, 2014, 07:14:43 PM

That's a good one!  ;)
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 07:30:14 PM

Is Fuzzman Jr. being seduced by the mighty Jackeens?
Post by: Main Street on August 09, 2014, 07:31:53 PM
A very professional performance from Dublin (and their staff).
They are looking good for a two in a row.

Post by: mylestheslasher on August 09, 2014, 07:36:01 PM
Amazing to say score line flattered Monaghan, Dublin should have had 3 more goals in the second half. Only frees kept their score count ticking at all.
Post by: heffo on August 09, 2014, 07:38:51 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 09, 2014, 07:31:53 PM
A very professional performance from Dublin (and staff)

Ouch.  A mate of mine told me Malachy does the Monaghan gig for a packet of rich tea after each session
Post by: From the Bunker on August 09, 2014, 07:39:35 PM
Lets hand over the Cup now! The pick of Mayo, Kerry and Donegal would not beat that team. Foregone conclusion. You have to admit they are untouchable at home!
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2014, 07:42:50 PM
Sad to see Monaghan drop their heads after the second goal. No defensive system for Dublin to break down in that second half all too easy for them.
Post by: J OGorman on August 09, 2014, 07:45:24 PM
Dublin hammering rings round them. How many players in the counties, regarded as some of the best in the country, but well below Dublin, be thinking if all the training is really worth it to go out and be inevitably stuffed?

Dublin will blow Donegal away a la Mayo last year plus VAT
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 07:51:24 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 09, 2014, 07:45:24 PM
Dublin hammering rings round them. How many players in the counties, regarded as some of the best in the country, but well below Dublin, be thinking if all the training is really worth it to go out and be inevitably stuffed?

Dublin will blow Donegal away a la Mayo last year plus VAT

So they'll beat them by a point?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 09, 2014, 08:42:28 PM

Ill take it whilst its going but the games have a strange feel to them, even in the season ticket section there are too many pre occupied with waltzing in and out, going for shites and buying stuff to shove down their gobs .....................................event junkies

I had a Monaghan lad in front of me today lean over his seat for 20 mins and debate the looks of the various players on all the panels in his match programme with four fat dublin girls that wouldnt get a ride in a battle
Post by: larryin89 on August 09, 2014, 09:06:47 PM
Wonderful team that are so far ahead of the rest its frightening. Why people are saying Donegal will be a test of some kind is beyond me, they are rubbish and will be beat by 10 points plus.

Honestly deflated after watching that , just can't see how they can be beat, Kerry might come up with something to keep it tighter , still don't think they will break sweat in retaining Sam.

A lad just told me that he could only get 5/1 on them doing four in a row.
Post by: Jinxy on August 09, 2014, 09:43:49 PM
Maybe the standard in Leinster in general is no worse than anywhere else.
If Dublin were in the Ulster championship they'd mince everyone.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 09, 2014, 09:47:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 09, 2014, 09:43:49 PM
Maybe the standard in Leinster in general is no worse than anywhere else.
If Dublin were in the Ulster championship they'd mince everyone.

Post by: Fuzzman on August 09, 2014, 09:48:54 PM
Fair play to you Squire for your honesty. Wish there were more like ya from the capital.
I used to hate going to any Leinster games as there was no excitement, controversy, passion, debate on who us gonna win.
It's now like that all games and it's a borefest.
Reminds me of when I went to Madison Sq gardens to watch ice hockey and nobody watches the game.
I actually recorded some of the Armagh and Donegal fans near the end of their game and the passion and excitement they have is great to see.
Dublin will win it outright this year but whilst of course ye will all take it every day. How empty and weird will it feel?
My kids loved it again today but they can't understand "why I won't change to the best team in Ireland if not in the world "

Off to the pub now to annoy some of my Dub mates. Think I'll blame the ref.
Post by: Rossfan on August 09, 2014, 11:21:08 PM
They may as well present Dublin with Sam now and stop boring everyone and wasting their money by playing the remaining 3 games in the Championship.
I really fear for the future of football at National competition level with the big colossus created by the GAA.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 09, 2014, 11:42:48 PM
Some counties simply don't belong in Croke Park.
Post by: babarino on August 09, 2014, 11:55:52 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 09, 2014, 11:42:48 PM
Some counties simply don't belong in Croke Park.

Dublin supporters of your ilk don't do Parnell Park.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 09, 2014, 11:57:44 PM
Well done lads – but it's still only the quarter final. The focus is now Donegal and they won't turn up just to act as sparring partners. The will be a mighty obstacle.

But back to today – your performance was phenomenal and a joy to watch for any Dublin supporter. You rank as one of the best bunch of lads to represent the county and for Dublin GAA supporters this is a golden era. The spirit with which you play the game is a credit to yourselves and your management. You deserve everything that you achieve.

Go raibh míle maith agaibh go léir
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2014, 12:55:57 AM
What are the odds on Dublin doing the 10 in a row at this stage? By winning every game by double digit margins?
Post by: muppet on August 10, 2014, 01:09:46 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2014, 12:55:57 AM
What are the odds on Dublin doing the 10 in a row at this stage? By winning every game by double digit margins?

If we can scrape past Kerry, by a point, with an own goal in injury time, I think it couldn't be better set up for us. Honestly.
Post by: larryin89 on August 10, 2014, 01:52:12 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 10, 2014, 01:09:46 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2014, 12:55:57 AM

If we can scrape past Kerry, by a point, with an own goal in injury time, I think it couldn't be better set up for us. Honestly.

Ssshhhh, honestly you think im jokin but it really is better if we keep on blowing dublin up . Im not suggesting they're not great but wouldnt it be fantastic if the whole all ireland 2014 became about how unbeatable dblin are . It will help Kerry in the final of that i am certain.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 10, 2014, 02:00:56 AM
so much for my prediction, DUblin by 10 pulling up, i have to revise in future
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 04:29:48 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 09, 2014, 11:21:08 PM
They may as well present Dublin with Sam now and stop boring everyone and wasting their money by playing the remaining 3 games in the Championship.
I really fear for the future of football at National competition level with the big colossus created by the GAA.

Football is fucked. If its not the Dublin juggernaut that destroys it, it'll be Jim McGuinness!
Post by: Syferus on August 10, 2014, 04:46:27 AM
Quote from: J70 on August 10, 2014, 04:29:48 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 09, 2014, 11:21:08 PM

Football is fucked. If its not the Dublin juggernaut that destroys it, it'll be Jim McGuinness!

But what happens if Mayo wins? They'd write plays about that one.
Post by: Dont Matter on August 10, 2014, 10:14:27 AM
One step closer to the split.  ;D
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 11:31:02 AM
Lot of scaremongering as usual here.

Funny the most ironic comment in the media was from Fergus Connolly a Monaghan man and elite athlete expert who has worked with Dublin

"I rang the Monaghan county board to see if they would let me help out with their coaching and structures and they never returned my call". He then went to work with other counties and is now the elite coaching director at the San Francisco 49ers.

I had to laugh at that- other counties have had opportunities to work with these people and ignored them.

On the game itself. I said pre the game Monaghan wouldn't have the legs after extra time last week and it proved to be true. what people don't realise is how much extra time drains a team and burns off any energy reserve you might have after a game.

I think Malachy o Rourke has done an immense job with an average enough bunch but the facts are Monaghan have been poor all season. Likes of Daren Hughes is only playing at 20 percent if what he's capable of. Yesterday's result was an easy one to predict. A tired out of form team versus a fresh inform team.

There was only ever going to be one result
Post by: larryin89 on August 10, 2014, 12:25:03 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 11:31:02 AM

Funny the most ironic comment in the media was from Fergus Connolly a Monaghan man and elite athlete expert who has worked with Dublin

"I rang the Monaghan county board to see if they would let me help out with their coaching and structures and they never returned my call". He then went to work with other counties and is now the elite coaching director at the San Francisco 49ers.

I had to laugh at that- other counties have had opportunities to work with these people and ignored them.

On the game itself. I said pre the game Monaghan wouldn't have the legs after extra time last week and it proved to be true. what people don't realise is how much extra time drains a team and burns off any energy reserve you might have after a game.

I think Malachy o Rourke has done an immense job with an average enough bunch but the facts are Monaghan have been poor all season. Likes of Daren Hughes is only playing at 20 percent if what he's capable of. Yesterday's result was an easy one to predict. A tired out of form team versus a fresh inform team.

You had to laugh !!!  a county with a 60k population and you had to laugh because they wouldnt have the dollars to pay such a coach.

Some irony in when i think of a Monaghan man managing a dublin club getting paid too.

Its off the fooking richter scale the difference in resources Dublin have over the rest, you keep telling yourself there is no truth in what the average joe is saying and laugh it off as high stool nonsense but we all know its true .

Im absolutely sick of it and is it the realisation that Dublin cant be beat , too right it is . Of course this is now where one starts to question , why are they so far ahead , why in gawds name do they get to play at croke park all the time every time.

On one hand the Dub will say population is not an advantage because it fizzles down to the same as the country because of options of other sports, diversity etc etc then out of the other side of their mouth they will tell you they need  20 fold the amount of paid coaches because of the difference in population.

Look Dublin inter county scene is professional , sin e.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 10, 2014, 12:31:58 PM

"Qu'ils mangent de la brioche"
Post by: Zulu on August 10, 2014, 12:41:02 PM
Where in the article does it say Monaghan would have had to pay for Fergus's help? I've met him a few times and would be certain he would have helped out his county for a very affordable fee, especially as he sought them out. If I was a county chairman and saw a missed call from Fergus Connolly the least I would have done is call the man back.

I'm utterly sick of the bellyaching from lad around here when it comes to the Dubs. They are wonderful team, playing football as it should be played and they are a county aiming to maximise their resources which is exactly what they should be doing. I shudder to think what football would be like if if we didn't have them as most everybody else seems to want to get everybody into their own half and play damage limitation (Mayo being a notable exception). Hopefully Dublin take Donegal apart in the semi final. Any team that uses one of the best forwards of his generation as a half back deserves to be beaten by a team that plays football like it should be played.

On a side note, Duffy was a shambles yesterday when the game was in the pot, does the man think football is non-contact?
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 12:45:38 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 10, 2014, 12:25:03 PM

You had to laugh !!!  a county with a 60k population and you had to laugh because they wouldnt have the dollars to pay such a coach.

Some irony in when i think of a Monaghan man managing a dublin club getting paid too.

Its off the fooking richter scale the difference in resources Dublin have over the rest, you keep telling yourself there is no truth in what the average joe is saying and laugh it off as high stool nonsense but we all know its true .

Im absolutely sick of it and is it the realisation that Dublin cant be beat , too right it is . Of course this is now where one starts to question , why are they so far ahead , why in gawds name do they get to play at croke park all the time every time.

On one hand the Dub will say population is not an advantage because it fizzles down to the same as the country because of options of other sports, diversity etc etc then out of the other side of their mouth they will tell you they need  20 fold the amount of paid coaches because of the difference in population.

We are so far ahead Larry because when people like you were calling us bottlers for 10 years we were re-arming.

Now the shoe's on the other foot and you don't like it. Fergus Connolly also said in his interview its about time other counties started looking from within and stop looking at the big bad wolf.

And he's right too. Dublin can be beaten and may well be before the season is out.

Dublin haven't played  a Div 1 team yet. Those of us (like myself) who are emotionally dethatched from proceedings tend to analyse things rationally rather then looking at the worst hyperbole from media outlets and the trollers on here.

Dublin could get to an AI Final without playing a Div 1 side. That says everything about the structures of the competition.

Post by: larryin89 on August 10, 2014, 01:04:08 PM
Its just pointless arguing over and over on an internet forum, you are just never going to admit to an ounce of unfairness .its very common in Irish society to get away with a lie whilst both parties know fine well its a lie from political rouges to our  practices in the GAA from paying coaches to what we are talking about.

Sometimes i feel i should just join the liars and life would of been a lot simpler .
Post by: Zulu on August 10, 2014, 01:12:03 PM
Mayo have enjoyed over 100 years of unfairness too, you compete in a province where you have significant population advantages over most of your competitors but I can't ever recall you or any Mayo man raise the unfairness of Mayo competing against Leitrim or getting to All Ireland semi finals out of a 5 team group while Ulster and Leinster teams had to get to the same position from bigger groups.
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 01:19:36 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 10, 2014, 01:04:08 PM
Its just pointless arguing over and over on an internet forum, you are just never going to admit to an ounce of unfairness .its very common in Irish society to get away with a lie whilst both parties know fine well its a lie from political rouges to our  practices in the GAA from paying coaches to what we are talking about.

Sometimes i feel i should just join the liars and life would of been a lot simpler .

Dont' blame Dublin for all those AI Finals Mayo have blown over the years.

It's also a symptom of Irish society to blame everyone else  for other's shortcomings.
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 01:27:40 PM

Funny that I played golf with a Prominent Mayo man yesterday morning and he told me underage football in Mayo is booming. And judging by your recent minor teams he can't be too far wrong.

Post by: Dont Matter on August 10, 2014, 01:27:59 PM
Oh no, it's that time again. The Dubs and their hangers on are talking nonsense so I have to take out me table.

(http://i59.tinypic.com/i57yar.jpg)
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 01:35:17 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on August 10, 2014, 01:27:59 PM
Oh no, it's that time again. The Dubs and their hangers on are talking nonsense so I have to take out me table.

(http://i59.tinypic.com/i57yar.jpg)

But sure that was proven wrong a few weeks back when it was proven the 2011 AI had nothing to do with it.
Post by: Jinxy on August 10, 2014, 01:35:30 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 01:27:40 PM

Funny that I played golf with a Prominent Mayo man yesterday morning and he told me underage football in Mayo is booming. And judging by your recent minor teams he can't be too far wrong.

Was it Enda?
I can't think of anyone else.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on August 10, 2014, 01:38:53 PM

You are a doom & gloom merchant. Always spouting negative overstated shite re your own county and at every opportunity re Dublin. Like most of the Dub haters on this sad excuse for a forum you spout lies, half truths and baseless gossip as a means of making your points.

Dublin have once in a generation team with special players who won't be replaced with the same same quality when they finish. We play open super, skillful football with positive, sporting attitude. I for one am enjoying every minute and will do for as long as it lasts. If we don't win All Ireland this year I will still be v proud of this bunch of sportmens. Now with that you and your ilk can piss off back into the hovels you inhabit.
Post by: muppet on August 10, 2014, 01:58:55 PM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on August 10, 2014, 01:38:53 PM

You are a doom & gloom merchant. Always spouting negative overstated shite re your own county and at every opportunity re Dublin. Like most of the Dub haters on this sad excuse for a forum you spout lies, half truths and baseless gossip as a means of making your points.

Dublin have once in a generation team with special players who won't be replaced with the same same quality when they finish. We play open super, skillful football with positive, sporting attitude. I for one am enjoying every minute and will do for as long as it lasts. If we don't win All Ireland this year I will still be v proud of this bunch of sportmens. Now with that you and your ilk can piss off back into the hovels you inhabit.

We'll bate yiz!

(http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/David-Brady-2006.jpg)
Post by: Dont Matter on August 10, 2014, 02:13:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 01:35:17 PM
But sure that was proven wrong a few weeks back when it was proven the 2011 AI had nothing to do with it.

;D No it wasn't. The backbone of the team was produced by the money.
Post by: shawshank on August 10, 2014, 02:23:03 PM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on August 10, 2014, 01:38:53 PM

I agree entirely with your post except the bit in bold , three alledged biting events in the the recent past wouldn 't support your analysis, granted the one in the Meath game I wouldn't knock to much, what was O Gara meant to do
Post by: Throw ball on August 10, 2014, 02:31:54 PM
Stayed to watch this match after the Armagh game. Dublin are a fantastic team but too many Monaghan players quit after Dublin scored their goals. From my seat in the upper level was surprised to see Dublin starting with a sweeper as I was led to believe they didn't do that. Donegal will get in their faces and knock them back. Will be interesting to see if they can keep this sporting attitude mentioned. If they stay too soft Donegal will bully them. Should be a good game but think Dubs will pull away in final ten.
Post by: heffo on August 10, 2014, 02:37:58 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on August 10, 2014, 02:31:54 PM
Donegal will get in their faces and knock them back. Will be interesting to see if they can keep this sporting attitude mentioned. If they stay too soft Donegal will bully them.

We were told Monaghan were going to do the exact same thing. Hopefully a game of football might break out at some point.
Post by: The Aristocrat on August 10, 2014, 04:42:55 PM
Haters going to hate, Brilliant by the best footballing team ever, win or lose this years AI, they are winners for their beautiful football.

Post by: From the Bunker on August 10, 2014, 04:49:18 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 10, 2014, 02:37:58 PM
Donegal will get in their faces and knock them back. Will be interesting to see if they can keep this sporting attitude mentioned. If they stay too soft Donegal will bully them.

We were told Monaghan were going to do the exact same thing. Hopefully a game of football might break out at some point.

Hopefully not or we well have another borefest like yesterday!
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2014, 05:28:09 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on August 10, 2014, 04:42:55 PM
Haters going to hate

Is this the most inane phrase repeatedly parroted on this board?
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 10, 2014, 05:31:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 10, 2014, 04:49:18 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 10, 2014, 02:37:58 PM

Hopefully not or we well have another borefest like yesterday!

"Borefest"! I'd never get bored watching a team play like Dublin did yesterday. It was like looking at a work of art.
Post by: Syferus on August 10, 2014, 05:32:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 10, 2014, 05:28:09 PM
Haters going to hate

It's actually pronounced haters gonna hate.

Haters gonna hate, herb muncher.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2014, 05:32:43 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 10, 2014, 01:19:36 PM

Dont' blame Dublin for all those AI Finals Mayo have blown over the years.

It's also a symptom of Irish society to blame everyone else  for other's shortcomings.

We're not. The collective rest of us that is.
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 10, 2014, 06:11:22 PM
Haters going to hate

Bit of a comment on the nature of some of the posts.
Post by: The Aristocrat on August 10, 2014, 09:09:10 PM
Its a fact lads, When I come on this forum after Dublin games all i see is the same posters from the same counties saying the exact same negative posts about Dublin, Its pure jealousy and its embarrassing at how people hate to see the Dubs do well and are on top and have changed the game for the good forever but they will never admit it because of pure hatred and jealousy and that the games are not close enough so you can enjoy it watching it on T.V, that's not how sport works, The Dubs are miles ahead of everyone else except for the top 3 to 4 teams and heavy defeats are going to happen like in all sports. Post something analytically about the games and style of play rather than verbal diarrhea for a change, then some people might come back to this forum and make it interesting again.
Post by: The Aristocrat on August 10, 2014, 09:20:09 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 10, 2014, 12:25:03 PM

Please read. - http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/fergus-connolly-still-believing-in-dublin-virtues-1.1891541
Title: Dublin Black Card
Post by: samwin08 on August 11, 2014, 01:56:51 PM
Did any one else the clear Black Card which O Gara should have received for a definite trip on the Monaghan defender early in the first half.

Went completely unnoticed / ignored  by Sunday game panellist.

some great pictures in papers of Armagh tactics on Saturday--catch them by the throat stuff
Title: Re: Dublin Black Card
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 11, 2014, 02:15:27 PM
ffs
Post by: Fuzzman on August 11, 2014, 02:27:07 PM
What paper was that Samwin?
Is it online?

Never saw the trip from O'Gara but as the Donegal lads said to me, you'd imagine Monaghan backs would have thought to charge at him with the ball in order for him to get a second yellow as he's so clumsy and physical.
I thought in fairness to him he played well.
Did the simple things well like win primary ball and lay it off. No fancy stuff.
Post by: Estimator on August 11, 2014, 03:50:34 PM
Quote from: samwin08 on August 11, 2014, 01:56:51 PM
Did any one else the clear Black Card which O Gara should have received for a definite trip on the Monaghan defender early in the first half.

Went completely unnoticed / ignored  by Sunday game panellist.

some great pictures in papers of Armagh tactics on Saturday--catch them by the throat stuff
Definitely a black card, intentional trip on a runner breaking from defence. Duffy let play continue before returning to the offence and booking O'Gara. But ultimately it would have meant Rock or Costello replacing him which wouldn't have impacted upon Dublin at all. It certainly wouldn't have changed the outcome
Post by: Sleater on August 11, 2014, 04:16:08 PM
I'm just about over the disappointment of that thrashing. Hats of to the Dubs, they are a team of many talents and deservedly favorites for the all ireland. The six day turn around was always going to be tough for Monaghan against a fresher more prepared Dublin team. Would a longer prep period have helped Monaghan? - it would have but probably in only making the result closer, which is painful to admit.

Once I seen the Monaghan line out , I knew we were fucked. I was talking to lads at work the week before hand and i said if we didn't break even in midfield, we'll get wiped out. After O'Gara's disallowed goal, Dublin won 3 Monaghan kick outs and scored 2-1. That won the game, right there and then and knocked the stuffing out of Monaghan. Dick Clerkin has been a great player for Monaghan but I felt the Dublin game was the wrong game to start him. But our options were limited with Lennon injured & Doogan not fully match fit either. Donaghy on Devereux was a complete mismatch - Donaghy is a whole hearted scavenger and worker but has the footballing skills of a junior footballer. Not starting Finlay was also a mistake - sure he's not the most mobile but he is the supply line to the attack. Dermot Malone was another big miss for Monaghan.

The season took it's toll on Monaghan. Hopefully some new blood can reinvigorate the team next year. The dubs have set a bench mark the rest have to aspire too.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 15, 2014, 06:06:52 PM
Fecking hell, no wonder the Monaghan defence opened up after his injury!

Monaghan's Colin Walshe suffers cruciate ligament tear

Defender sustained injury in first half of Dublin defeat but played remainder of the game

Fri, Aug 15, 2014, 17:23

Monaghan's Colin Walshe will spend the next six to nine months on the sidelines thanks to a cruciate ligament injury.
The defender sustained the injury early in the first half of the All-Ireland quarter-final defeat to defending champions Dublin on Saturday but did not leave the pitch.
Walshe, in fact, played the remainder of the 2-22 to 0-11 defeat after receiving treatment.

It has now been confirmed the 2013 All Star tore the knee ligament in the incident and he now looks likely to unavailable to Monaghan and his club Doohamlet O'Neills until well into 2015.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/monaghan-s-colin-walshe-suffers-cruciate-ligament-tear-1.1898318
Post by: J70 on August 15, 2014, 08:34:58 PM
And people were claiming that Karl Lacey playing on with a hamstring pull had to be bullshit!
Post by: moysider on August 15, 2014, 10:03:04 PM

Not true -  at least not everywhere in Mayo. The county s most successful club in history hasn't had a minor panelist last 2 years. Same club had to ring around to try and field an u16 team for championship. Hammered at u14. How does this happen to a club with easily enough players for 2 teams u12. Probably lack of proper coaching a factor. Still relying on volunteer coaches. In other words pushy Daddies. That's where a bit of money comes in. We re losing young players like a drain.
Post by: Zulu on August 15, 2014, 10:15:14 PM
If pushy unqualified parents are the issue then money won't solve it. I don't think any Dublin club have paid U12 coaches but they have adopted best practice and are getting the rewards now. It sounds to me like Ballina are a very poorly run club and if they got in some people with vision and enthusiasm then they could turn it around very quickly.
Post by: INDIANA on August 15, 2014, 10:18:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 15, 2014, 10:03:04 PM

Not true -  at least not everywhere in Mayo. The county s most successful club in history hasn't had a minor panelist last 2 years. Same club had to ring around to try and field an u16 team for championship. Hammered at u14. How does this happen to a club with easily enough players for 2 teams u12. Probably lack of proper coaching a factor. Still relying on volunteer coaches. In other words pushy Daddies. That's where a bit of money comes in. We re losing young players like a drain.

Not possible the two best minor Mayo football teams I've ever seen are 2013 and 2014.
Post by: moysider on August 15, 2014, 10:38:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 15, 2014, 10:18:49 PM

Not possible the two best minor Mayo football teams I've ever seen are 2013 and 2014.

It s hard to tell with minor at county level and it remains to be seen if we get any senior players from these lots. But the current management have to be given credit.
Maybe your golfing mate was talking about teams representing the county underage? He s still wrong. Our u16 poor this year and our u21 unmentionable poor for some years.
Some important clubs have a problem underage with players quitting in droves.
Post by: Syferus on August 15, 2014, 10:41:02 PM

The 2014 team isn't better than the one that lost an AI final a few years ago, certainly not on this year's performances so far. Gilvarry has actually made moves that would make you think he was quite worried about this panel, but it's a testament to his management that they're in a position to make another AI final.
Post by: moysider on August 15, 2014, 10:48:28 PM

It s hard to tell with minor at county level and it remains to be seen if we get any senior players from these lots. But the current management have to be given credit.
Maybe your golfing mate was talking about teams representing the county underage? He s still wrong. Our u16 poor this year and our u21 unmentionable poor for some years.
Post by: INDIANA on August 15, 2014, 10:54:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 15, 2014, 10:48:28 PM

New clubs replace old clubs. Same in Dublin. I wouldn't worry about that end of it. U16 county level is an anomaly anyway. Always lads missing during the summer when the competitions are played.

When you've crap minor teams I'd start to worry. And that certainly isn't the case.
You've had teams in the all ireland minor, all ireland senior and all ireland club finals. A crisis it isn't.
Post by: moysider on August 15, 2014, 11:43:44 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 15, 2014, 10:54:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 15, 2014, 10:48:28 PM

New clubs replace old clubs. Same in Dublin. I wouldn't worry about that end of it. U16 county level is an anomaly anyway. Always lads missing during the summer when the competitions are played.

When you've crap minor teams I'd start to worry. And that certainly isn't the case.
You've had teams in the all ireland minor, all ireland senior and all ireland club finals. A crisis it isn't.

No crisis no. But the new clubs replacing old not accurate either. Ballintubber and Breaffy have emerged strongly in recent years but cant be compared with likes of Crossmolina, Knockmore and Ballina that were capable of winning AIs.
Mayo is suffering from rural depopulation. Ballina will have more players available U12/U14 than many country clubs would have in - pick a number more than 10. The rural clubs amalgamate to give lads football - often in lower divisions. The urban club loses talented players hand over fist. I don t want to labour the point any further but it is an issue.
Mayo s recent senior and minor success is incidental. A football mad county we will always be competitive. Both highs can largely be attributed to respective management teams rather than any great plan. In recent times Mayo have gone from zero to almost hero in no time. Bit like putting a pub team together .85, 96, 2004, 2011.
Right now the clubs can t wait to see the back of Horan because they think the club scene would be better off without him. That s the shite we re dealing with. 
Post by: orangeman on August 16, 2014, 08:43:47 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 15, 2014, 06:06:52 PM

Defender sustained injury in first half of Dublin defeat but played remainder of the game

Monaghan's Colin Walshe will spend the next six to nine months on the sidelines thanks to a cruciate ligament injury.
The defender sustained the injury early in the first half of the All-Ireland quarter-final defeat to defending champions Dublin on Saturday but did not leave the pitch.
Walshe, in fact, played the remainder of the 2-22 to 0-11 defeat after receiving treatment.

It has now been confirmed the 2013 All Star tore the knee ligament in the incident and he now looks likely to unavailable to Monaghan and his club Doohamlet O'Neills until well into 2015.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/monaghan-s-colin-walshe-suffers-cruciate-ligament-tear-1.1898318

No wonder is right. After Walshe got the injury Monaghan fell apart and we now know why.
Post by: ballinaman on August 16, 2014, 09:08:13 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 16, 2014, 08:43:47 AM

No wonder is right. After Walshe got the injury Monaghan fell apart and we now know why.
Not surprised by this.

Big misconception re cruciate tears is that you are rolling around in agony after it happening, not always the case depending on the angle of the tear and if any cartilage is involved.
Post by: heffo on August 16, 2014, 09:27:52 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 16, 2014, 08:43:47 AM

Very unlucky for Walsh and Monaghan
Post by: seafoid on August 17, 2014, 12:09:16 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 10, 2014, 05:32:00 PM
Haters going to hate

It's actually pronounced haters gonna hate.

Haters gonna hate, herb muncher.
There is also

haters keep hating
f**king these models

http://rap.genius.com/Dj-antoine-vs-timati-welcome-to-st-tropez-lyrics#note-559983
Post by: Jinxy on August 17, 2014, 02:21:49 PM
'Haters going to hate'.
He's not called the Aristocrat for nothing.  ;D