GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 45GoneShort on June 13, 2007, 04:55:38 PM

Title: Leitrim v Galway
Post by: 45GoneShort on June 13, 2007, 04:55:38 PM
Thought i'd get the ball rolling on this game.  From a Leitrim angle there were bet 1-11 to 0-8 by Westmeath last night.  Some injury doubhts over McKeon, Duignan and McCloskey but I'd still expect them to play regardless.  As usual Galway willl be favourites and rightly so but having said that it'll be a close game - but if we are to beat Galway we'll have to be able to close out the game if we are in front in the second half unlike last year against Mayo where we were wasteful - but then again you never know stranger things have happenned.
Title: Re: Leitrim v Galway
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 14, 2007, 10:19:09 AM

Heard that they were poor enough against Westmeath. Any idea what kind of a team was out and what was the tempo like?
Don't like to read to much into these challange games.

Still expect then to give Galway a good game of it. Main worry is have they enough in the center to frustrate Bergan and co.
Post by: 45GoneShort on June 14, 2007, 01:37:08 PM
While I was not at the game, I would imagine that players knowing that the team is already picked, they weren't going to push themselves too hard in a challenge game in case of injury only a week and half before a game they have been training for over six months for.  Would see the the winning of our own kickouts being vital with the use of Shane Foley and Maxwell as extra target men for the kickouts.
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 18, 2007, 11:44:56 AM

See the Sunday game all but ruled Leitrim out of this Game on sunday.... >:(
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2007, 11:51:25 AM
Don't mind the media. I didn't see one of them predicting our win either. I'm not saying Leitrim will win but I'd expect it to be pretty close. Intend being there to cheer on our minors. Should be a great atmosphere.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2007, 12:42:15 PM
It seems all the Galway posters ever appear whenever they play Mayo. Hopefully the team of theirs is in the same mind. It'd be nice to see a Sligo v Leitrim Connacht final for a change!
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2007, 12:51:35 PM
QuoteIt'd be nice to see a Sligo v Leitrim Connacht final for a change!

It would be the first time. Can you imagine! I'd only think it a good thing if we won it though!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 18, 2007, 12:54:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 18, 2007, 12:51:35 PM
QuoteIt'd be nice to see a Sligo v Leitrim Connacht final for a change!

It would be the first time. Can you imagine! I'd only think it a good thing if we won it though!

Well I know its the Final we would like to see in Mayo anyways. Send Galway into the Qualifiers so we can have another shot @ them, our turn to win.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 18, 2007, 01:12:14 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2007, 12:42:15 PM
It seems all the Galway posters ever appear whenever they play Mayo. Hopefully the team of theirs is in the same mind. It'd be nice to see a Sligo v Leitrim Connacht final for a change!
We just prefer the auld low key build up as opposed to that HYPE version that ye lads in Mayo have perfected over the years  ;)

No team ever gets anything soft above in Carrick and I expect nothing less next Sunday, however, I do expect us to come through by a few points and setup a final meeting with Sligo in Castlebar (?).  I reckon our lads should hit about 1-14 ish and I cannot see where Leitrim will match that based on the forward currently available to them and more so based on the preformances of our defence over the past 18 months.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 18, 2007, 01:57:35 PM

I just don't think there's much point of filling page after page with inane ramblings and gossip about a game. When the teams are announced then at least you have something to talk about.

For what it's worth I expect it'll be another tough encounter up in Carrick as they usually are up there. If we match Leitrim's work rate we probably win the game. Simple as that. Match their effort and we have the better footballers and the extra class that should get us over the line. If they don't put in the effort though (as you know the home side will) then it could get interesting.

I expect the Galway team won't be too different from the one that played against Mayo.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 18, 2007, 02:04:35 PM

With all due respect to Leitrim, it's not a game that's going to fire the imagination as much as a game against Mayo (last years All Ireland finalists, Johno in charge for 1st championship game since leaving Galway).

As for next Sunday, I don't imagine anyone in the media will give Leitrim a prayer and I think that's unfair because it's not based (I believe) on any fair appraisal of Leitrim's merits or weaknesses. The general standard of pundits knowledge outside of their own county and the top 6 or so counties is terrible. If Pat Spillane had questioned any of the 3 lads on last nights show about the Leitrim line-up you'd have got blank stares back. If I was paid for my opinions on teams I'd go out of my way to know more than the average punter. No such motivation in the Sunday Game studios.
Even when analyzing Galway all we heard was the usual clichés from Paul Curran (bar Bernard Flynn a contender for worst RTE pundit) about Galway forwards, nothing about our defence which is the part of the Galway team that is our strongest by far. All I heard out of Spillane was about Galway being "very physical" against Mayo, this was surprising for Pat, as he obviously expected us to not bother in a championship match against our biggest rivals.
Apologies for the rant but in terms of previewing one of their live games next Sunday, I thought it was woeful stuff.

Leitrim should have at least drew with us in the last championship meeting in 2005, a very poor game that didn't have much to offer in terms of entertainment to the few who bothered going. I was very impressed by the Leitrim full back line of Reynolds, McKeon and McGuinness that day and lamented the fact that we didn't have a defence to match them. This time around we have as good a set of backs as anyone in the country and I think that the team is in better shape now then June 2005.

It wouldn't surprise me at all if Galway lost next Sunday, it's in Carrick (got to be worth a few points to Leitrim), can't see many Galway fans bothering to travel so the Leitrim fans should well outnumber us, the Galway team is far too unpredictable to know whether it's going to be good or bad football from one half to the next, it's set up for Leitrim to have a really good crack at us.
All that said however, if by some chance we can get consistency, start to play to our overall potential and match the effort in terms of the work ethic and determination shown against Mayo then I honestly can't see Leitrim getting a win.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 18, 2007, 02:22:03 PM
To be honest I think the assorted Sunday Game pundits have very little time for Connacht football in general and their knowledge of it is absolutely appaling.

Last night we had Paul Curran saying how Galway had some "brilliant forwards" and they should be the winning of the game against Leitrim. Now while we do have some very good forwards the best performing unit of the team over the past two years has been the defence. He then mentioned Sean Armstrong as one of these brilliant forwards even though he has yet to even establish himself in the team let alone as one of the main men up front.

Maybe it's just my paranoia but I always get the feeling they are bluffing their way through previewing or analysing games in the Connacht championship.
Post by: mouview on June 18, 2007, 03:29:30 PM
*IF* it's a Galway - Sligo final, where will it be played? I think it's Sligo's call and after yesterday's good display in the Hyde they may go for a swift return trip (and Magpie Sean may finally get his wish of seeing Sligo defeat Galway in a c'ship game!) Hyde would suit me more than C'bar I must say as access would be that easier. That's all supposing we do the business next Sunday. Don't agree with An Fhairche, I think there'll be a decent Galway following; the season is well under way now and the fans will be hungry for a bit of action again following the long delay from the last match. Team will be much the same I'd say though there's doubts over Ja who didn't field for Tuam last week. Matt Clancy is unlucky again, he suffered hamstring damage in the recent Oughterard game having starred v. Kildare in a previous challenge game lately.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2007, 03:43:54 PM
QuoteMagpie Sean may finally get his wish of seeing Sligo defeat Galway in a c'ship game

If we go ahead and win it I couldn't care less who or where we're playing. In fact it might be better if Leitrim win the semi cos if we've to play Galway then no doubt it will be bucketing down! As for the final venue I'll admit I'm not sure how these things are decided but '02 was in Castlebar v. Galway. I personally prefer Roscommon as a match venue. Am at a wedding the day before so we'll probably organise a bus anyway.
Post by: pairc sean on June 18, 2007, 04:29:28 PM
I'd say Leitrim/Sligo will definitely be in the Hyde!!

Think the summing up of the situation from the Galway posters here is fairly accurate - our limit up front seems to be 1-10 to 1-12 even against poorer teams. But then you never know when Galway will hit an off day up front or when our fellas will get a few lucky goals to boost that 1-10 to 3-10!! We were pretty good against London (even if the scoreboard suggested differently) and I was quite happy with the performance.

Barry Mc Weeney will be back too, so I would think we'll line out: Gill, Mc Guinness, Mc Keon, Reynolds, Prio or Kennedy, Mc Weeney, Shane Foley, Mc Closkey, M Duignan, Regan, Maxwell, M Foley, Brennan, Glancy and D Duignan with cameos for Fintan Mc Brien, Shane Canning and Pat Gilmartin (possibly Colm Farrell or Philip Howard); would think Maxwell will be put in on the edge of the square at some stage as he didn't look comfortable at 11 in the London game.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 18, 2007, 08:30:09 PM
May as well bump this after all the county club threads being moved.
Post by: Duine Eile on June 18, 2007, 10:40:32 PM
Galway beat Kerry in a challenge last week, 4-11 to 1-19. Not a bad score to run up!. I think we'll win in Carrick but we won't have it all our own way. Team expected Thursday night I think, probably won't be any changes from Mayo game, Ja maybe but apart from that nobody deserves to lose his place really. Anybody hear anything about Niall Coyne's injury?

Fair point about Paul Curran there, Mike Meehan and Sean Armstrong Galway's dangermen? Meehan is having a serious dip in form lately and Armstrong hasn't kicked a ball for Galway yet this year, spoofer of the highest degree!
Post by: paddypastit on June 19, 2007, 12:30:14 AM
DE,  heard that Kerry challenge was a bit of a ding dong but that Galway only started playing after the row which started after Galvin lamped somebody off the ball (what a surprise). 

Contarary to your comment below, someone who was at the game told me that Meehan was keeping Galway alive up to that. 

Agree with you re Curran though... not that he's the only one of his crew afflicetd with that.  The commentator for the Sligo Rosc game introduiced the Sligo team saying that "midfielder Tony Taylor was out of the team afetr twisting his knee in the opening game against New York"  The lad bust he knee in a club match in March and hasn't kicked a ball since - where do they get them!!
Post by: magpie seanie on June 19, 2007, 08:48:45 AM
QuoteThe commentator for the Sligo Rosc game introduiced the Sligo team saying that "midfielder Tony Taylor was out of the team afetr twisting his knee in the opening game against New York"  The lad bust he knee in a club match in March and hasn't kicked a ball since - where do they get them!!

Yeah Paddy, watched my recorded version of the Sunday Game and was hoping we'd get a bit into the coverage before a glaring blooper but there one was right at the start. RTE are just class.
Post by: myball22 on June 19, 2007, 01:07:55 PM
Yeah maybe they could use a GAA person from Connaught to comment on these games as they should have a greater local GAA knowledge such as Anthony Tohill in Ulster.
Generally the standard of analysis from Connaught teams is quite poor but that holds for all teams as all we hear is
stereotypes such as Galway have no defence and Mayo have no forwards or they focus on the star name such as Matty Forde, Declan Browne or Eamonn O'Hara to show their knowledge of the "weaker counties".

Any word on Paul Clancy? He was playing for some soccer charity game recently so is he back from injury?

It will be interesting how Galway perform to be honest. It was easy to be motivated against Mayo but they may find Leitrim hard to
crack. That said it would be the shock of the championship so far if Leitrim were to win.
Post by: galwayman on June 19, 2007, 02:08:46 PM
Paul Clancy has been playing for his club since the start of the season (around mid-March).
As far as I know he's retired from county football now.
This is a big pity as he has a lot to offer Galway in the half forward line. Last year against Westmeath was not the real Clancy - he should not have been playing that day as he was not fit.

As for Sunday - Galway should win. We have better players and would expect to win against a side like Leitrim. They will undoubtedly put it up to us but it would be a big shock if we were to lose this one.
They gave us a very good game in Pearse Stadium 2 years ago where we went into a decent lead but almost got pegged back towards the end. Declan Maxwell was very impressive at full forward that day if memory serves me correctly.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 19, 2007, 02:41:32 PM
Quote from: galwayman on June 19, 2007, 02:08:46 PM
Declan Maxwell was very impressive at full forward that day if memory serves me correctly.

Indeed he was very impressive, the damage he did under the relentless high ball that was being pumped in to the full back line led to Finian Hanley being drafted into the Senior panel from the Under-21's the week after the Leitrim game, he started at Full Back in Galway's next match against Mayo in the Connacht Final and has been there since. Maxwell probably did us a favour long term in that game.
Post by: belleaqua on June 19, 2007, 09:10:33 PM
The standard of analysis is a joke for lads that are paid well enough to be properly informed. The day of the League semi final between Galway and Mayo I read Spillanes column in the Star and saw his lazy shite about Galway having no full back line. This could have been wrote around 2000/01 and maybe it could be argued was correct but i guarantee ya he wouldnt be too aware of Damien Burke and it appears the same with Hanley. Probably our most consistent line wev had the last couple of years.

The Meehan/Armstrong duo is another one they trot out from a couple years ago. Colm O' Rourke also seemed ill-informed in his newspaper column a few weeks back regarding Galway saying there were no new faces. Only Joyce and Fallon started the 98 final of the current team while Fitzy, Dec Meehan and Joe Bergin were the extras in 01.
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 20, 2007, 01:17:38 PM
See the leitrim team is anounced on leitrimgaa.ie. More or less as expected.

The Leitrim Senior Football team to play Galway in the Connacht Championship Semi-final on Sunday is as follows:

1 Noel Gill
2 Dermot Reynolds
3 Michael McGuinness
4 Barry McWeeney
5 Barry Prior
6 John McKeon
7 Shane Foley
8 Gary McCloskey
9 Michael Duignan
10 Colin Regan
11 Michael Foley
12 Declan Maxwell
13 Donal Brennan
14 James Glancy
15 Ciaran Duignan
Post by: pairc sean on June 20, 2007, 01:59:35 PM
can't really argue with that, though I would guess the defence might line out slightly differently (in a positional sense) - Mc Guinness to take M Meehan I would guess, Mc Keon at full back and B Mc Weeney at no.6.

Time will tell though
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 20, 2007, 02:28:55 PM
 Yep. Agree there pairc sean. Disapointed that Ciaran Kennedy didn't secure a place. Thought he might have got into the half back line.

Usual forward combination. Probably will be some positional chopping and changing there too.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 20, 2007, 05:29:31 PM
Rooting for Leitrim at this one, best of luck lads, ye gave us (Mayo) a scare last year for sure!!! Would be odd to see a Sligo v Leitrim final for a change!! But Galway'd be favourites regardless!

When was the last time neither Galway or Mayo were playing in a final??
Post by: 45GoneShort on June 20, 2007, 06:44:25 PM
I like the look of this team. Finally Prior has returned to defence where he is most effective. McKeon at no. 6 will be picking up Ja Fallon should give Mckeon some freedom - interestling this is McKeon usual playing position with drumreilly - he should be more of a presence here than mcweeney who will be no stranger to corner back. Interesting selection with Maxwell at Half forward can't see him staying there -  either he'll act as a third midfielder with a two man full-forward line or he will more than likely switch with Michael foley to centre forward.  Can't wait for this game - not a bit of pressure on Leitrim, as far as most outsiders would be concerned its Galway's to lose but i think this is as strong Leitrim team in years with absolutely no injuries.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 20, 2007, 07:04:41 PM
QuoteMcKeon at no. 6 will be picking up Ja Fallon should give Mckeon some freedom

He could end up picking up anyone really. Against Mayo all the Galway forwards seemed to swap positions fairly regularly. Both Joyce and Meehan spent a lot of time in the half-forward line.
Post by: 45GoneShort on June 20, 2007, 07:16:47 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 20, 2007, 07:04:41 PM
QuoteMcKeon at no. 6 will be picking up Ja Fallon should give Mckeon some freedom

He could end up picking up anyone really. Against Mayo all the Galway forwards seemed to swap positions fairly regularly. Both Joyce and Meehan spent a lot of time in the half-forward line.

If that is the case then it will be very crowded out round the  40 and midfield with leitrim possibly playing Regan in his usual third midfielder role, although i would be surprised if a team of Galways talent playing this system two games in a row - although it did work effectively against mayo - Leitrim defence would be of a better quality than mayos in my opinion, but if this were to happen then we can force Galway into shots from distance which will leave us in with a shout.
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 21, 2007, 09:58:45 AM

Just wondering, willl Emlin Mulligan, Philli McGuinness or Fintan McBrien be on the bench on Sunday or did some of those lads leave the panel earlier this year?
What sort of subs will we have in reserve.  I think a critical factor in this game may be what Leitrim can spring from the bench as I believe that there could be a major work rate required from some of the Leitrim forwards/backs during this game.

Hopefully there'll be no keeper substitutions this time!!
Post by: pairc sean on June 21, 2007, 12:08:08 PM
Fintan will be on the bench alright, but as far as I know Mulligan and Philly Mc have both pulled out. Latest addition to the panel is apparently Tomas Beirne from Eslin (he was midfield on the minors) Excellent prospect, but I don't see the point of bringing him in now. I would think Fintan, Jimmy Guckian and Ciaran Kennedy will be the most likely subs to make an appearance
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 21, 2007, 04:13:01 PM

Yep heard that rumour alright.  Great footballer. Excellent prospect for the future but think would lack experience if happened to be thrown in at the deep end on Sunday.
Himself and Shane Canning would make an interesting combination in the center.

It's disapointing when forwards of the form of Mulligan. McGuiinness etc can't establish themselves on the team and feel they are wasting their time on the panel. We realy can't afford that in Leitrim.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2007, 10:09:16 PM
Galway team v Leitrim

Paul Doherty (Tuam Stars)
Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin)
Finian Hanley (Salthill Knocknacarra)
Damien Burke (Corofin)
Michael Comer (Corofin)
Diarmuid Blake (Milltown)
Declan Meehan (Caltra)
Niall Coleman (Annaghdown)
Joe Bergin (Mountbellew/Moylough)
Nicky Joyce (Killererin)
Ja Fallon (Tuam Stars)
Derek Savage (Cortoon Shamrocks)
Michael Meehan (Caltra)
Padraig Joyce (Killererin)
Cormac Bane (Caherlistrane)

Subs

16 C King, 17 A Burke, 18 M Clancy, 19 B Cullinane

20 P Geraghty, 21 N Coyne. 22 G Sice, 23 D Mullahy

24 A Glynn, 25 B Dooney, 26 J Clifford, 27 F Burke

28 F Breathneach, 29 G Bradshaw, 30 S Armstrong.

Title: Galway Team Named
Post by: Duine Eile on June 21, 2007, 10:13:30 PM
Beat me to it GBB! I see we're persisting with Ja at centre forward.  :-\The team is starting to have a settled look about it though which is a good thing I suppose.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2007, 10:17:18 PM
I said for once I'd have the team up ahead of ya DE. ;D

Hope Ja goes well as I think we all feel he's past lasting the full pace of a championship game and would maybe be better served being used as an impact sub. I think we'll see the forwards moving about a bit though. Mike Meehan gave a great display in the challenge game against Kerry so hopefully he can get his form going again.
Post by: DJGaliv on June 22, 2007, 04:11:33 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2007, 10:09:16 PM
Subs; 16 C King, 17 A Burke, 18 M Clancy, 19 B Cullinane, 20 P Geraghty, 21 N Coyne, 22 G Sice, 23 D Mullahy, 24 A Glynn, 25 B Dooney, 26 J Clifford, 27 F Burke, 28 F Breathneach, 29 G Bradshaw, 30 S Armstrong.

That's a weakness that Galway have, not much strength in depth. If you take away Mattie Clancy, Seán Armstrong and maybe Niall Coyne then there's not much intercounty standard footballers to choose from.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 22, 2007, 06:00:14 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on June 22, 2007, 04:11:33 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2007, 10:09:16 PM
Subs; 16 C King, 17 A Burke, 18 M Clancy, 19 B Cullinane, 20 P Geraghty, 21 N Coyne, 22 G Sice, 23 D Mullahy, 24 A Glynn, 25 B Dooney, 26 J Clifford, 27 F Burke, 28 F Breathneach, 29 G Bradshaw, 30 S Armstrong.

That's a weakness that Galway have, not much strength in depth. If you take away Mattie Clancy, Seán Armstrong and maybe Niall Coyne then there's not much intercounty standard footballers to choose from.

True although I think you could say that about virtually any county bar a couple.
Post by: SuperMac on June 23, 2007, 06:27:37 PM
Is it true that nearly all the tickets are sold ?
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 02:43:28 PM
Half Time:
Galway 0-09 Leitrim 1-05
Great first half, Leitrim are putting it up to Galwayand playing really well. Im glad for them and if they keep it up in the second half, who knows?
Post by: thejuice on June 24, 2007, 03:06:44 PM
Carney is an awful commentator, hasnt a clue what he's on about. Galway doing enough to win this even not at their best. too many dangrous forwards.
Post by: stephenite on June 24, 2007, 03:12:23 PM
Two points in it - Leitrim just missed a goal chance and another two kickable points, expect Galway to pull away but the way Leitrim are playing it might not be so - c'mon Leitrim!!!!
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 03:38:08 PM
Full Time:
Galway 0-17 Leitrim 1-10

Leitrim didnt deserve to lose by as much as they did and perhaps should have gotten another 2 goals. Good game by Leitrim, and hard luck to them. Galway didnt play well at all compared to the game v Mayo.

Will Sligo do anything in the Connaught final??!  ::) :D ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 24, 2007, 07:41:09 PM
Well I guess that went much as expected. A narrow Galway win after a tough battle. Pretty much par for the course when you visit Carrick.

As I thought the Galway team seemed to struggle to replicate the hunger and motivation they had against Mayo. Having not played in 5 weeks they seemed a small bit rusty as well so a hard game should do them no harm.

The bad points are I guess that Maxwell caused havoc amongst our f**k-back line which has been very solid over the past while. He either caught every high ball pumped into him or at least broke it to someone else and generally made a nuisance of himself. Damien Burke was put on him but while Burke may be a great marker and defender he was giving away at least 3 or 4 inches in height to Maxwell. Not sure was Finian Hanley taken off due to injury or whether it was tactical?

Midfield after two great performances against Mayo was back to indifferent league form again. Bergin and Coleman didn't win a whole pile of primary possession and weren't as conspicious as they were against Mayo. Leitrim seemed to win more breaking ball (a sure sign of the hungrier team on the day). Barry Cullinane in fairness to him won three kickouts in a row after he came on near the end.

A real mixed bag up front. Cormac Bane and Mike Meehan were pretty anonymous. Meehan needs a good performance to get his confidence up as he hasn't given a really good championship performance since Sligo last year. Padraig Joyce was well marshalled early on by McKeon but grew in influence the longer the game went on and set up a lot of scores in the second half. Savo was pretty quiet but in fairness to him he came in for some rough treatment in the first half and it seemed to knock the wind from his sails. Ja did alright while he was on but he should have been taken off at least 15 minutes earlier as he was clearly knackered towards the end and even kicked a few wides out of sheer exhaustion. Expecting him to last a game at full championship pace isn't really on.

As for good points I though Paul Doherty went well in goal. The half-back line did pretty well. Nicky Joyce had a fantastic game. None of the Leitrim backs could get near him. Fair play to Nicky. He's really coming on this year. Definitly Galway's MOTM. Sean Armstrong looked pretty lively after he was introduced. Was direct and forceful. Kicked a few nice scores and should have had a couple more.

The ref I thought was pretty poor. Things didn't look good after he awarded Leitrim a free-kick for the first score of the game when it clearly should have been a free-out after a Galway defender was pushed in the back while attempting to pick the ball. I'm still scratching my head how Derek Savage didn't get a free when he was shouldered into the chest when two of them went in to challenge for the ball. However he was pretty poor for both teams. Far to whistle happy and pernickity for my tastes yet he still let some obvious fouls go.

Not a great performance but you won't get one every game. Probably better to have a good tough battle than a turkey shoot. I expect they'll work on things between now and Sligo and I expect we'll see better in the Connacht final as it'll have to be. Good luck to Leitrim against Donegal. A game they can win if they keep up their performance levels. I just hope they don't ease off now that they're in the qualifiers.
Post by: Duine Eile on June 24, 2007, 08:21:20 PM
According to Galway Bay FM the Connacht Final is fixed for Hyde Park on Sunday week. Rushing now so haven't time to comment but what did ye think of Padraic Joyce's goal that was disallowed? Didn't see anything wrong with it myself but then again I wouldn't would I! Oh and well done to the minors too.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 24, 2007, 08:30:06 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on June 24, 2007, 08:21:20 PM
Rushing now so haven't time to comment but what did ye think of Padraic Joyce's goal that was disallowed? Didn't see anything wrong with it myself but then again I wouldn't would I!

Didn't think there was much in it myself. Similiar to Graham Geraghty's disallowed goal against Dublin the first day and I thought that one should have stood. If you have two players under a dropping ball both of them are going to shoving and pushing each other to get into position. However the goalie is sacred these days it seems.
Post by: GallBoss on June 25, 2007, 08:55:15 AM
What probably caught Joycer was the fact he just looked at the leitrim Goalie before the ball dropped
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2007, 09:06:18 AM
Quote from: GallBoss on June 25, 2007, 08:55:15 AM
What probably caught Joycer was the fact he just looked at the leitrim Goalie before the ball dropped
Yeah, it looked like a harsh enough decision at the time but in fairness the ref was absolutely brutal and this was consistent with alot of baffling decisions from him all day.  Armstrong also had a perfectly good point disallowed which didn't cover the umpire in glory either.

Galway did just enough to win and to be honest I'm glad they got a really tough game from Leitrim as it will help to get a few lads tuned in for the Sligo game based on some of their performances yesterday.  Fair play to Nicky Joyce, he was by far galways outstanding player yesterday and some of his point taking was top class.  It was good to see the subs have a very positive influence when called into the action.  I thought Armstrong, Coyne and even Big Bad Barry did very well when introduced and the former two will be very close to the first 15 for the Sligo game.
Post by: GalwaySham on June 25, 2007, 10:21:52 AM
QuoteThe bad points are I guess that Maxwell caused havoc amongst our f**k-back line which has been very solid over the past while. He either caught every high ball pumped into him or at least broke it to someone else and generally made a nuisance of himself

Whenever, I have seen Maxwell play, he always has a stormer on whoever is marking him. He is a class act.

Thought taking Hanley off was a bit foolish. Dropping Blake back to play as a sweeper in front of the full back line would have been a good idea (Like they did in the last years league final) against Kerry.

Surprisingly, I thought Bergin was very very quiet while Coleman did some good work. Cullinane is an excellent sub to bring in when you are struggling to win the kick outs.

Forwards were poor, Meehan & Bane and P.Joyce will not be happy with their displays. Nicky Joyce had a superb game though (but he should stay away from the backs, he always does something daft when hes down there, yesterday, he gave a suicide pass to Blake that resulted in a Leitirm point). I like the fact that he is running directly at his opponents now, something he didnt really do before. I thought Ja did well yesterday as well too, but he got very tired towards the end.
Post by: myball22 on June 25, 2007, 01:07:02 PM
I think that's a fair analysis of this game. I don't think anyone thought this game would be a walk-over apart from certain lazy sections of the media. I thought Galway's attitude was reasonably good the forwards put a lot of pressure on the leitrim backs and made it difficult for them to come out with the ball.

We are still very suspect under the high ball, we seem a couple of times each game to half two of our backs jumping for the same ball leaving a free forward in front of goal. It happened in both Mayo games, in the leaue semifinal they got a goal, in the championship they hit the post. It needs to be sorted asap, one jumping and the other defending. I think Hanley as the full back needs to make the ball his.

We still struggling at mid-field though I thought Coleman did reasonably well particularly late in the second half when Bergin was anonymous and Cullinane did well when introduced. Ja doesn't have the legs for 70 minutes anymore and missed some chances near the end that could have been critical. We're still waiting for Meehan and Joyce to catch fire. Without them we won't win in Corke Park (if we get there!!) Nicky Joyce played very well and himself and Armstrong took up the scoring slack late in the second half
All in all a lot to do but the attitude looks right.

Just a word about the referee who had a nightmare of a game that shouldn't have been hard to ref. Ticks for everything and someone could have sent off for very little. Also is it too much to ask that the umpires used are not blind? The referee should be watching the play and make the call when his umpires have definitely made a mistake.

Post by: turk on June 25, 2007, 01:15:28 PM
That Cullinane lad looked like a good bit of stuff when he came on
Post by: magpie seanie on June 25, 2007, 02:46:12 PM
Cullinane is a huge man and ideal for the role of winning a few balls in the last 15. Wouldn't have the legs for the 70 minutes but a beat of a man.

Galway have that bit of class alright but like ourselves have plenty to work on. They'll be clear favourites for the Connacht final but I'm thinking we're well fit to give them a game of it. I rate our chances at 35 to 40% which some might think a little high but there you go. Armstrong concerns me. Looks a completely new and better player.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 25, 2007, 04:11:10 PM
Quote from: GalwaySham on June 25, 2007, 10:21:52 AM
Thought taking Hanley off was a bit foolish. Dropping Blake back to play as a sweeper in front of the full back line would have been a good idea (Like they did in the last years league final) against Kerry.

Agree 100%, couldn't understand why someone wasn't detailed to do this after it became clear that all the Leitrim ball was being pump long into Maxwell.

To be fair I thought that Leitrim had every chance to win this match, the reasons they didn't are:
1.No reliable free taker. Leitrim had 2 or 3 scorable frees in the 2nd half that would have been put away by a top class free taker.
2.Missed goal chances. For a team that isn't going to score 14 or 15 points over the course of a game, Leitrim had to take every goal chance to give them a total that would win the match. They didn't.

QuoteWe are still very suspect under the high ball, we seem a couple of times each game to half two of our backs jumping for the same ball leaving a free forward in front of goal. It happened in both Mayo games, in the leaue semifinal they got a goal, in the championship they hit the post. It needs to be sorted asap, one jumping and the other defending. I think Hanley as the full back needs to make the ball his.

That incident yesterday in the 2nd half was really concerning, it's happened every single game for the past few, surely it's past time to try and cut it out?

Bergin who had a great game against Mayo didn't perform at all yesterday and in fairness to Niall Coleman he was good for us around the middle of the park when it was badly needed. Meehan, PJ, Bane were well held by the excellent backs of Leitrim, although 17 (should have been 18 if the umpire wasn't blind) points is still a good score to put up.
Nicky Joyce was excellent and the obvious MOTM, continuing on from his good performance against Mayo he's certainly making a difference to the forwards this year. Armstrong looked very sharp when sprung from the bench, good to see.

I think that yesterday's game showed a more realistic view of Galway's standing in the overall scheme of All Ireland contenders; we'd beat most counties but are way off the current level of the likes of Kerry and Tyrone. Bottom line is that if we play like yesterday again this year in a match we will lose, be it a Connacht final, Q-final or qualifier.
Post by: SuperMac on June 25, 2007, 07:34:16 PM
Not taking away from Leitrim, but are Galway capable of upping it ? Put some money on Sligo yesterday, 7/2 for Conn. Champs. Reckon Sligo have to get the lucky break sooner or later.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 25, 2007, 08:13:26 PM
Quote from: SuperMac on June 25, 2007, 07:34:16 PM
Not taking away from Leitrim, but are Galway capable of upping it ?

They're definitely capable of playing a lot better. They did against Mayo. To be fair to them it was Galway's first competitive game for 5 weeks. I expect them to be sharper for the Connacht final after yesterday's tough battle.
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 25, 2007, 08:49:38 PM
 :(

Oh mother a God, I'm so sick of these what might have been stories with Leitrim! At least it wasn't another 1 point defeat!

At the end of the day it's down to one thing. We simply didn't take our scores from frees.  We owned the ball for a long period in the middle of the second half and only managed to get one point from it. In the same time we missed at least 1-3!

Any mistake or poor pass was punished by Galway. A few times, division 2 style football could be seen in Leitrims approach play and Galway frustrated Leitrims attempts to get quick ball into the forwards.

Ciaran Duignan disappointed. Thought he should have been switched long before he was or at least switched from free taker. He got some nice points from play but missed far too many posibilities from frees. He fluffed his first or second free and didn't seem to be on form for the rest of the game. We really needed to be converting every free we got.

Maxwell was amazing. Every ball that came near him caused major panic in the Galway defence. Class act and appears to be getting better every year.

Donal Brennan had possibly his best championship game ever.

Center field held their own against Bergan et al. Great goal from McCluskey. Thought we could have been more alert for breaking ball in the first half.
Great goal from McCluskey. I really thought it was game on when that went in, however we gave away the lead very softly.

Full back line was their usual outstanding selves. Yet again another top class forward line failed to deliver when marshelled by them. McKeon, Reynolds and McGuinness are a class act.

Half back line was our weakness. Didn't think Barry Prior had a great game. Probably the only line on the field where Galway had the upper hand for the full game. Shane Foley played well.   Thought Ciaran Kennedy should have been introduced earlier in order to strengthen this up.  We still managed to allow then to score 17 points even though Meehan and Bane were kept very quiet!

Not too sure why Guckian was brought in ahead of Canning at center field. Don't think he did to much when he came on. Perhaps it coincide  with the Galway switch also but they got the upper hand around the middle when Duignan was taken off for Guckian.

The Ref!! What can I say.... He made some strange decisions that affected both teams. How in the hell could he stop the game when Leitirm were breaking from defence.... to fix his bloody ear piece :-\ ???  Surely it could have f**king waited till the next break in play. Resulting hop ball gifter Galway a score and allowed them to stretch their lead at a point when Leitrim was eating away at their lead. But I guess them is the breaks.

Fintan McBrian could have done better with the last goal chance but was probably too little too late at that stage.

Sometimes the amount off handpassing out of defence was terrible. Time and time again we ended right back where we started after 6 or 7 hand passes with some of them only just getting to the intended player. This may have been down to the preasure being exerted by the Galway half forwards but it was awful frustrating to watch some times.

All in all a disappointing result from the Leitrm perspective. Really believe that Galway were there for the taking yesterday but we let them off the hook  with poor free taking and shooting!

It's Donegal in the qualifiers.. Another luck break for Leitrim on the quallifer root :-\
If we play with the same passion and work rate the we showed yesterday and tighten up the half back line and be more economical with frees etc then I see no reason that we cant take them in Carrick. Are they really much better than Galway??

We're due a break soon... After all the nearly stories maybe this is the big one!

"BELIEVE"

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 25, 2007, 10:46:34 PM
QuoteAre they really much better than Galway??

I don't think they are but much like many wondered would Galway be as up for the Leitrim game as much as they were for Mayo (they weren't) I'd wonder if Leitrim will be able to raise themselves for Donegal. If they can they could be in business but I'm not sure.
Post by: pairc sean on June 27, 2007, 10:54:05 AM
Still gutted since Sunday, but rather than post an Opus, I'll just say Hear Hear to AhFeckRef's comments and leave it more or less at that. I would add well done to Galway - a fair team and a footballing team; it was a game played in a great spirit. I would also say that Barry Cullinane had a massive influence in steadying the ship for Galway, as did Armstrong.

Hope it's a really good Connacht final and the Galway's will forgive us I'm sure when they hear we're all rooting for the Yeatsmen!