GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Mayo => Topic started by: Peter Solan the Great on October 06, 2010, 09:46:43 PM

Title: Parke KC Connacht Junior Club Champions
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 06, 2010, 09:46:43 PM
http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=10989:islandeady-to-end-famine-against-parke&catid=14&Itemid=100008

Islandeady to end famine

Preview
Mike Finnerty

IT will be just like old times for the followers of Islandeady and Parke next Sunday as they make the short journey to McHale Park, Castlebar in search of silverware and, perhaps more importantly, the local bragging rights in their West Mayo constituencies.
It is a big day for both clubs; Islandeady, the slight favourites, bidding to win the McDonnell Cup for the first time since 1985, and Parke, without a county junior championship since the halcyon days of 1997. For one of these proud, rural clubs, the famine is almost over.
On the injury front, Islandeady will definitely be without Brian McCormack who sustained a 'bad' elbow injury against Castlebar in the quarter-final while Paul Ruane (groin and knee) is unable to start and is 'touch and go' to come off the bench.
Parke are planning without Richard O'Boyle but everybody else is fit and raring to go.
Islandeady manager Tommy Gibbons (whose selectors are his father, Tommy Francis, Gerry Feeney and Brendan Gibbons) knows his team have been tipped for outright honours since before a ball was kicked. However, he is under no illusions about the task ahead.
"The fact that we've been playing in Division 1B of the league means that we were in the spotlight a lot more than some of the other teams," he told The Mayo News. "We're also playing good quality sides week in, week out, and it's been a good division for our U-21s and minors to be playing in. It's helped them immensely.
"Plus, the fact that a lot of our more experienced players, like the Feeneys, Peter Collins, and Cormac Gordon were playing for West Mayo in the senior championship brought them on a lot as well. Expectations are higher as a result of all of that. That's something we've had to deal with.
"But Parke are a very settled, very experienced, and physically strong team. They'll present a huge challenge for us and I think there'll only be a kick of the ball in it."
Parke manager, Frank McHale, is quick to point to the arrival of Niall Dunne, Dwayne Flynn and Fintan McHale last year as being a big boost to his team's goals and objectives.
And despite knocking them out in last year's quarter-finals, he has plenty of time for his opponents too. "Islandeady are always a hard team to beat. They're tough, hard and clean, a fine young junior team.
"They're favourites," he continued. "They had eleven lads playing with West Mayo in the senior championship and they're operating at a higher level in the league than us. It's theirs to lose."
Understandably, Tommy Gibbons doesn't see it quite like that. He has had to build a team, twice, since taking on the job at the start of last season. Plus, Islandeady almost came a cropper against Castlebar B last month.
"We had to rebuild the team and, thankfully, there were a lot of new players coming through. Then we got hit hard with emigration and lost seven or eight players, the likes of Stephen Staunton, Brian Heraty, Joe Corcoran and David O'Brien.
"That meant we had to bring through U-21s and minors and, essentially, construct a completely new team again, bar the few regulars.
"The quarter-final against Castlebar Mitchels B was a very, very difficult game for us. We have an extremely poor record against their B teams in the last 20 years and winning that match got a monkey off our back."
Next Sunday, Ollie Feeney and friends should have just enough to finish the job.

Verdict Islandeady
Title: Re: Parke V Islandeady- County Junior Final
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 06, 2010, 09:48:27 PM
http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=10988:when-islandeady-beat-parke-to-win-the-west&catid=14&Itemid=100008

How the West was won

Islandeady's Shane Hopkins and Parke's Joe Flynn recall the 1990 West Junior final

Memory lane
Daniel Carey

ISLANDEADY and Parke face off next Sunday – 20 years after they met in the 1990 West Mayo Junior 'A' Football Championship decider.
Islandeady's Shane Hopkins got the 44th-minute goal which Pádraig Burns identified in The Mayo News as "the score that turned the game". Asked to reflect on it, the corner forward who was subsequently voted man of the match modestly puts it "down to luck", and jokes that the man who gave him the pass "ran out of options".
Parke goalkeeper Pat Flannery had made great early saves from Tommy Gibbons and Michael Horan. "The keeper had a massive game," Hopkins recalled. "Big man, and impossible to beat. I remember getting scolded at half time got not putting the ball over the bar!" Des Ryan made a super stop for Islandeady towards the end of the match.
Hopkins's goal was the second of the day, Joe Flynn having converted a first-half penalty for the opposition. "It was the only one I ever took for Parke in my time playing football," Flynn recalls with a laugh. It followed a foul on full-forward Martin Kilroy, who was "the real character of the team" according to Flynn.
Islandeady were, Hopkins explains, "a mixture" of young players like himself, Brendan Horan, Tony Collins and Tommy Gibbons, and more experienced guys like Jimmy McGreevy, Joe Moylette and Michael Sweeney – the latter two had won county titles in 1974.
"The West final was a special day," says Hopkins. "There was always a great atmosphere in Westport, and you were obviously playing a local team, guys you'd have gone to school with in Castlebar."
"It was a huge thing," Flynn concurs. "The West was always the hardest division to win. It was a really big day in Westport. There were always big crowds, they'd have the Achill Pipe Band there and a parade before the match."
Funnily enough, two earlier Parke successes came outside of Westport – they beat Mitchels in Castlebar in 1976, and defeated Achill in Newport in 1981. The '76 team was managed by Brian McDonald, later Mayo boss, whose words ("If you get nine or ten players playing well in a final, you'll probably win it) Flynn can still recall. Many of the players were also soccer team-mates at Barcastle and Castlebar United, while Danny Lawless (who missed the 1990 final due to injury, and was badly missed) regularly scored goals for Castlebar Celtic.
Islandeady won the 1990 final by 1-10 to 1-5 before losing the county semi-final to eventual winners Ballinrobe. It wasn't a classic – John Melvin reckoned videos of the match "may not be quite in the same demand as exit visas from Kuwait" (the Iraqi invasion had occurred the previous month). But it was a second West title in three years for Islandeady. That mean a trip to the Halfway "for a few Cokes and Lucozades – we didn't get a civic reception!" says Hopkins with a laugh.
That result followed a remarkable turnaround in the semi-final, where Islandeady beat Louisburgh despite conceding three early goals. "We didn't get the ball up into the forwards for the first 15 minutes," Hopkins recalls. "They had us on the rack". Goals from Hopkins, Paul McDonnell and Brendan Horan helped turn the tide.
Parke, for their part, had done well to see off a fancied Kilmeena side at the penultimate stage. Flynn thinks that was the day "practically all the teams" left a wedding in Castlebar to play the West semi-final, and having won the game, the Parke lads returned to the nuptials in good spirits. "The wedding was in the Welcome Inn, and Tony McHugh, God rest him, made sure there was a meal kept for us!"
Both of the current managers – Tommy Gibbons and Frank McHale – played in 1990. Gibbons's father Tommy Francis, then the Islandeady manager, is now a selector. Tony Collins is in the squad. The evergreen Brendan Horan is still playing.
"The young lads coming through have no fear," says Hopkins, who played until 2007. "There's greater dedication ... and a different attitude in Islandeady at the moment. The core of the team are demanding a higher standard from the fellas around them."
Flynn's nephews Dwayne and Darren will be involved, while Harry is currently recuperating after an operation. He was manager of the Junior B team this year, and expects a tight game.
"It's hard to call," he says. "The fact that some of the players played together for West Mayo will add a bit more spice to it. There's a lot of good players on each team, and a hop of a ball could swing it."

Islandeady
D Ryan; T Collins, M Heraty, S Barrett; J Moylette, E McCormack, P McDonnell; M Horan, M Joyce; D Conway, T Gibbons, J McGreevy; B Horan, M Sweeney, S Hopkins.

Parke
P Flannery; M Keaveney, M Lynch, Matt McHale; G Tierney, F McHale, S Lynch; P Kearney, Pádraig Reilly; P McHale, J Flynn, M Barrett; S Cloherty, M Kilroy, Michael McHale.

Subs used: Paul Reilly, G McDonagh.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 07, 2010, 10:29:02 AM
Really looking forward to this game. But is there a need for a separate thread Peter? It would be sound in the club thread.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 07, 2010, 01:26:29 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on October 07, 2010, 10:29:02 AM
Really looking forward to this game. But is there a need for a separate thread Peter? It would be sound in the club thread.

In fairness its a county final. I think each of the Finals from Senior down to Junior should get its own thread
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 07, 2010, 04:00:59 PM
So we'll get PSTG posting a new one every year then??
Post by: westmayo on October 07, 2010, 05:22:57 PM
Hopefully it'll be better than last years championship game between the two. The crowd actually jeering when Islandeady finally landed the only point of the first half a couple of minutes into injury time, was a particular highlight.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 07, 2010, 08:04:16 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 07, 2010, 04:00:59 PM

Whats wrong about posting a thread about a county final?
Post by: From the Bunker on October 08, 2010, 09:43:42 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on October 07, 2010, 08:04:16 PM

No harm in a seperate thread, jez it's a County final and of great interest to the GAA people of the greater Castlebar area.
Post by: Mayo GAA on October 08, 2010, 10:29:32 AM
Preview of Sunday's game is up on www.mayogaa.com
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 08, 2010, 06:58:21 PM

What I mean is, that will you post a thread for every single county final in the next 10 years? Also there is the Mayo Club Football thread.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 08, 2010, 11:56:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 08, 2010, 06:58:21 PM

What I mean is, that will you post a thread for every single county final in the next 10 years? Also there is the Mayo Club Football thread.

A whole county mayo forum and you want a single thread for all mayo club football. Whats wrong with having a county final thread? its a fooking county final for gods sake. If Knockmore were in one you would not be objecting.

Aquick edit would you mind fooking off if you have nothing to contribute except for complaining. Not my fault that anyone from outside west mayo couldnt make the final.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 09, 2010, 03:57:07 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on October 08, 2010, 11:56:42 PM

It's no harm having one PSTG, can always edit the team names next year in the Subject.

A whole county mayo forum and you want a single thread for all mayo club football. Whats wrong with having a county final thread? its a fooking county final for gods sake. If Knockmore were in one you would not be objecting.

Aquick edit would you mind fooking off if you have nothing to contribute except for complaining. Not my fault that anyone from outside west mayo couldnt make the final.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 09, 2010, 08:04:53 PM

No need to tell me what I should or should not do. It's not my fault either.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 09, 2010, 08:14:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 09, 2010, 08:04:53 PM

No need to tell me what I should or should not do. It's not my fault either.

No one has made any real contribution to this thread, me included, all I know about either team, is that I went to school with a few of the lads or they where a year above or below. So I'm pleased that they all getting a shot at a County Title. Has anyone actully watched either of these teams this year, last time I saw Islaneady play it was a few years back in a County Final V Achill I think (was Kiltimagh and Ballintubber in a Final on the same day?), last time I saw Parke was a challenge game against a Mitchels Junior team earlier this year.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 09, 2010, 08:20:43 PM
I was at Parke's semi-final against Lahardane. They were well desering winners of it. Lahardane were without Cormac Rowland however, and I was talking to a Lahardane person who said he never saw them play so poorly all year. Don't know much about Islandeady, but they plied their trade in Division 1B, Parke in Division 1C, so I imagine Islandeady would be slight favourites to win. There, I made some kind of constructive contribution. I also hope whoever wins this game goes as far as Kiltimagh did last Spring, this time win the AI final.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 10, 2010, 12:59:23 PM
These two met in the quarter-final last year. The Score was 0-0 to 0-1 in favour of Islandeady and the islandeady score came minutes before the half time whistle. One of the maddest games i was ever at.

Both clubs have (naturally) been focusing on winning the Junior title. Parke recrouted some old and some new players. While Islandeady used the West Mayo experiment (more willingly) to blood players.

Both clubs badly need the title today, and for the loser the effects will probably be detrimental.

Personally, i hope it is Parke KC (as they are my club), but if it turns out to be Islandeady, i will not begrdge them it (unless we have a Joe Sheridan finish).

Here's to a good day in McHale park.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 10, 2010, 07:38:14 PM
The Parish of Parke claimed another Junior Title this eveing. Have to say that the winning scoreline was a little flattering to say the least.

Turning point of the Match was the point black save made by Goalkeeper Brendan Coyle mid way through the second half, if that had gone in, the result may have been different.

Although Dwayne Flynn got MOTM. My choice would have been Paul Moran (parke's No. 4). Did nothing wrong all day.

For the defeated Islandeady, i was impressed with the dependable Ollie Feeney as well as his brother Martin and Cormac Gordan.

Score of the game had to go to Pat Lynch. Who scored one of the best points out the corner on the railway end of the pitch.

For (a younger) Islandeady this defeat will be tough, they have now tasted defeat in two recent Junior finals. They must believe they can (but are not entitled to) win the title soon.

For Parke the Connacht dream starts, it is always hard to know what standard awaits them in the weeks ahead.

Footnote:
Tom Prendergast (I Think) and Paul Jordan (Both Mayo set-up) were at the match taking notes.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 10, 2010, 08:29:35 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 10, 2010, 07:38:14 PM
The Parish of Parke claimed another Junior Title this eveing. Have to say that the winning scoreline was a little flattering to say the least.

Turning point of the Match was the point black save made by Goalkeeper Brendan Coyle mid way through the second half, if that had gone in, the result may have been different.

Although Dwayne Flynn got MOTM. My choice would have been Paul Moran (parke's No. 4). Did nothing wrong all day.

For the defeated Islandeady, i was impressed with the dependable Ollie Feeney as well as his brother Martin and Cormac Gordan.

Score of the game had to go to Pat Lynch. Who scored one of the best points out the corner on the railway end of the pitch.

For (a younger) Islandeady this defeat will be tough, they have now tasted defeat in two recent Junior finals. They must believe they can (but are not entitled to) win the title soon.

For Parke the Connacht dream starts, it is always hard to know what standard awaits them in the weeks ahead.

Footnote:
Tom Prendergast (I Think) and Paul Jordan (Both Mayo set-up) were at the match taking notes.

Congrats to Parke on their County Title, good to see that the Mayo management is taking a look at our Junior clubs, even if we got 1 or 2 players from this level it may make a huge difference, also encourages Junior players at Junior Clubs.
Title: Parke V Ballinasloe - Connacht Junior Club Championship
Post by: From the Bunker on October 11, 2010, 02:24:11 PM
From the grapevine, i am told that Parke will be playing Ballinasloe in Parke in two weeks time. Ballinasloe went down to a Maurice Sheridan inspired Salthill-Knocknacarra by 0-14 to 1-6. Salthill-Knocknacarra were down to 14 men for 50 minutes of the game. As this was Salthill-Knocknacarra's second team, Ballinasloe go onto represent Galway in the Junior Grade.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 11, 2010, 08:44:21 PM
Fair play to Islandeady. They lost 8 starting players to emigration in the middle of the season and had to replace them with Minors and under 21's and still made the final. It should be two teams coming out of Junior anyway. A competition with 40 teams in it. Its too hard to come up.

Lets not forget the penalty that never was at the very start and the point blank save from Brendan Coyle the Parke goal keeper who has strong Islandeady connections himself.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 11, 2010, 10:36:26 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on October 11, 2010, 08:44:21 PM
Fair play to Islandeady. They lost 8 starting players to emigration in the middle of the season and had to replace them with Minors and under 21's and still made the final. It should be two teams coming out of Junior anyway. A competition with 40 teams in it. Its too hard to come up.

Lets not forget the penalty that never was at the very start and the point blank save from Brendan Coyle the Parke goal keeper who has strong Islandeady connections himself.

Yes Islandeady have had a good season when you look at it like that. I know alot of the lads and would have been shouting for them if they had been playing anybody else but Parke.

There are really only 8 real teams in the Junior grade the rest are makie up 'B' teams and weak clubs. Just look at the preliminary round results over the last couple of years and you will see the hammerings that have been dished out.

I think you should have to win the Junior grade to get promoted to intermediate otherwise you are promoting losers. Losing the final does not say you are even the second best team in the competition, Ask Lahardane and Ardnaree. I don't think Islandeady would like to move up a grade without being champions.

PSTG - Can you change title to Parke v Ballinasloe - Connacht Junior Club Championship at the end of the week.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 11, 2010, 11:01:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 11, 2010, 10:36:26 PM

Yes Islandeady have had a good season when you look at it like that. I know alot of the lads and would have been shouting for them if they had been playing anybody else but Parke.

There are really only 8 real teams in the Junior grade the rest are makie up 'B' teams and weak clubs. Just look at the preliminary round results over the last couple of years and you will see the hammerings that have been dished out.

I think you should have to win the Junior grade to get promoted to intermediate otherwise you are promoting losers. Losing the final does not say you are even the second best team in the competition, Ask Lahardane and Ardnaree. I don't think Islandeady would like to move up a grade without being champions.

PSTG - Can you change title to Parke v Ballinasloe - Connacht Junior Club Championship at the end of the week.

Yes but what about teams in Intermediate doing the bare minimum to stay up and more deserving teams down in Junior. In fairness the two best Junior teams rose to the top this year.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 11, 2010, 11:50:57 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on October 11, 2010, 11:01:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 11, 2010, 10:36:26 PM

Yes but what about teams in Intermediate doing the bare minimum to stay up and more deserving teams down in Junior. In fairness the two best Junior teams rose to the top this year.

Agreed, there is a comfort zone. This exists in Senior aswell. Still if you are good enough, you should get out of your grade and vice versa, if you are not good enough you'll go down a grade.

Thanks for changing title. Especially the 'K' Part in Parke KC which is very dear to me.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 12, 2010, 11:25:23 AM

Not sure about the penalty. Am sure about one thing - the best team won. End of.
Title: Re: Parke KC v Ballinasloe - Connacht Junior Club Championship
Post by: From the Bunker on October 31, 2010, 10:24:26 PM
Good win for Parke KC against Ballinasloe, winning 2-11 to 2-7. Will be looking forward to the Final in McHale Park against Leitrim champions Eslin who beat Ballinameen from Roscommon in their semi-final. The winners have the added incentive of playing away to the British Junior Champions in the quarter final of the AI Championship. A good bonding weekend for any club.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 31, 2010, 10:32:21 PM
Were you in Ballinasloe FTB? I hear Parke were decent and they'll have to be big favourites for Sunday's final.

Bonding weekend? Knowing the Parke boys that means one thing only! I hope the game is on the Saturday
Post by: From the Bunker on October 31, 2010, 10:52:47 PM
Could not make it to match, had duties to attend to at home. Heard it was a great match, but then again they always are when you win. Parke KC will be favourites to win final, as Galway or Mayo are always favourites in Connacht. Yeah, As to the bonding (should that journey become a reality after next weekend), that will be done after the game.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 01, 2010, 02:57:45 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 31, 2010, 10:24:26 PM
Good win for Parke KC against Ballinasloe, winning 2-11 to 2-7. Will be looking forward to the Final in McHale Park against Leitrim champions Eslin who beat Ballinameen from Roscommon in their semi-final. The winners have the added incentive of playing away to the British Junior Champions in the quarter final of the AI Championship. A good bonding weekend for any club.

In fairness Ballinasloe are not great. They didn't even win junior in Galway. They won the north board title but I reckon there are 3 or 4 better junior teams in the west board if not more (junior in west a lot stronger hence Ballinasloe got hockeyed by Salthill B in final). It's actually a disgrace how little they contribute to Galway GAA considering it's quite a big town. Soccer and rugby are fairly popular there though.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 01, 2010, 09:52:25 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 01, 2010, 02:57:45 AM

In fairness Ballinasloe are not great. They didn't even win junior in Galway. They won the north board title but I reckon there are 3 or 4 better junior teams in the west board if not more (junior in west a lot stronger hence Ballinasloe got hockeyed by Salthill B in final). It's actually a disgrace how little they contribute to Galway GAA considering it's quite a big town. Soccer and rugby are fairly popular there though.

Yeah, knew already that B/sloe lost their county final, but this is Junior and all teams that were left in it have one thing in common. They all played in the third tier competition of their county. So like Parke and the other representatives no-one are world beaters. Parke KC did what they had to do. Realistically the teams you can meet after winning (or even losing) your county final when it becomes a connacht or AI championship is a lottery.

I see your point though, from what you say the West Championship is the stronger and there are two to three teams (in theory) who are better than Ballinasloe but on a tougher side of the draw. Maybe it's time for an open draw
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 02, 2010, 05:17:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 01, 2010, 09:52:25 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 01, 2010, 02:57:45 AM

Yeah, knew already that B/sloe lost their county final, but this is Junior and all teams that were left in it have one thing in common. They all played in the third tier competition of their county. So like Parke and the other representatives no-one are world beaters. Parke KC did what they had to do. Realistically the teams you can meet after winning (or even losing) your county final when it becomes a connacht or AI championship is a lottery.

I see your point though, from what you say the West Championship is the stronger and there are two to three teams (in theory) who are better than Ballinasloe but on a tougher side of the draw. Maybe it's time for an open draw

A divisional draw in senior, inter and junior championships this year might have given the other divisions a chance, seeing as only West Mayo teams made the finals of the three grades  :P
Post by: From the Bunker on November 03, 2010, 12:08:27 AM
From the Mayo News

Parke plough into final

Semi-final

Parke 2-11
Ballinasloe 2-7

Edwin McGreal
Ballinasloe

BACK in 1998, when Parke won the county Junior title, they went on to add the Connacht Junior championship the following spring. Now, they're sixty minutes away from another provincial crown.
Difficult though they might have made it for themselves at times, Parke were fully deserving winners in Duggan Park on Sunday. They did enough to keep the hosts at arm's length at the end, despite the Galway side having visions of a late comeback.
The end result was a four point victory and passage to next Sunday's Connacht final against Eslin of Leitrim in McHale Park (Parke won the toss for that game shortly after Sunday's final whistle).
They started in Ballinasloe as they meant to go on. From the throw-in Declan Neary palmed the ball down for Simon Cloherty, and he fed Niall Dunne who kicked over before the ten second mark.
Ballinasloe (whose litany of players not playing to their numbers could earn the club a fine)soon countered with a free from Paul Whelehan but Cloherty responded instantly with a point from play and Parke had their first goal after seven minutes.
Tom Walsh started the move before Niall Dunne fended off plenty of physical challenges, fed Chris Kerins, who popped a quick hand pass to Darren Durkan. The Mayo minor had an unimpeded run to goal and he slotted to the net.
Liam Lynch, who was a real threat with his storming runs from midfield, kicked points either side of a Cloherty free before two Dwayne Flynn frees, both from Chris Kerins' assists, had the visitors five to the good on 25 minutes.
Points from Darragh McCormack and Paul Whelehan had it back to three and, in between, Ballinasloe were denied a magical goal. Another mazy run by Lynch saw him slalom through the defence with some wonderful dummies before crashing a shot from 25 yards that had goal written all over it. Parke 'keeper Brendan Coyle had other ideas though and got a finger to it to tip the ball onto the bar.
Full-back John Cloherty then sallied forward to kick a point in injury-time and Parke led 1-6 to 0-5 at the break.
But, as if worried about Lynch, Parke pulled it back a notch in the second half as Richie O'Boyle came on, nominally at corner-forward, before sweeping back in defence.
His cousin Seanie McHale did push Parke five clear with a great point but then a score from Whelehan and a goal from substitute Mark Duffy — despite a half-block by Derek Hopkins — had Ballinasloe within one point.
It was time for Parke to show what they were made of. The next attack saw McHale fouled and Cloherty was calmness personified with the conversion from the left wing.
He followed that up with a fine point from play and Parke looked home and hosed with nine minutes to go when they got their second goal; Darren Durkan getting on the end of a smart move involving Hopkins, Flynn and McHale.
But Ballinasloe didn't fade away. Paul Whelehan pointed before Parke were punished for not clearing their lines; Mark Duffy poked the ball goalwards and Denis Glynn made sure from a matter of inches. There were two points in it, and it would be another eight minutes, including injury time, before the final whistle sounded.
To their credit, Parke once again showed their obduracy. Tom Walsh continued his faultless performance at centre-half back with a few key interceptions and he started the move which ended with Simon Cloherty somehow manufacturing space in a crowded zone to slot over. The insurance score came in the 62nd minute courtesy of the hardworking Chris Kerins and while midfielder Declan Neary received his second yellow seconds later, Parke had done enough.

Parke
B Coyle; P Moran, J Cloherty (0-1), S Duffy; P Dunne, T Walsh, D Hopkins; S Cloherty (0-5, 2fs), D Neary; D Durkan (2-0), N Dunne (0-1), P Lynch; D Flynn (0-2, 1f), S McHale (0-1), C Kerins (0-1).
Subs used: R O'Boyle for Lynch; J McHale for Duffy; F McHale for N Dunne.

Ballinasloe
N King Javaid; S Kelly, D Nevin, R Kelly; S Kelly, N Hynes, D Hayes; J Gallagher, L Lynch (0-2); D Hynes, J Twohig, P Whelehan (0-4, 3fs); D McCormack (0-1), M Colohan, D Gavin. Subs used: M Duffy (1-0), D Hope, D Glynn (1-0), B Cleary.

Referee: O Kelly (Roscommon)

Post by: muppet on November 07, 2010, 03:39:10 PM
Congrats to Parke, the new Connacht Junior Champions!
Post by: From the Bunker on November 07, 2010, 04:10:50 PM
Yeah, bit of an anti-climax of a game Eslin were out the door after 15 minutes of the game. Parke KC looked just to good and were (Really) scoring at ease. The Wind had a big bearing and if Eslin had it in the first half instead of Parke, the game would have been closer. Credit to the Leitrim side who never threw in the towel when all was going against them and to their superb support. Man of the Match went to Neary at Midfield, really hard to pick, as there were alot of stand out players for the Mayo Champions. For me Seanie McHale was Magic today. So now a bonus bonding away quarter final to the British Champions.
Title: Re: Parke KC Connacht Junior Club Champions
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 08, 2010, 08:49:55 AM
Congrats to the Parke biys. They were something else in that first half. They do have some set of forwards when they get going. Seanie McHale was on another level yesterday though. I hope they go all the way now.
Post by: westmayo on November 08, 2010, 11:18:23 AM
Great performance by Parke especially in the first half when their forwards ripped into Eslin. Two very well worked and taken goals, Seanie McHale was outstanding in the game as was Neary who bossed the midfield. They could go one step further than Kilitmagh last year.
Post by: inisceithleann on November 08, 2010, 01:57:01 PM
Parke now play St. Peter's Manchester in the All-Ireland Quarter Final. The game will be played the weekend of the 27/28th November in Manchester.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on November 08, 2010, 03:41:40 PM
Quote from: westmayo on November 08, 2010, 11:18:23 AM
Great performance by Parke especially in the first half when their forwards ripped into Eslin. Two very well worked and taken goals, Seanie McHale was outstanding in the game as was Neary who bossed the midfield. They could go one step further than Kilitmagh last year.

Isnt Sean McHale a Castlebar man?
Post by: From the Bunker on November 08, 2010, 05:10:25 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 08, 2010, 03:41:40 PM
Quote from: westmayo on November 08, 2010, 11:18:23 AM

Isnt Sean McHale a Castlebar man?
Yep, Sean McHale is from Castlebar. Better known for his soccer exploits for Castlebar Celtic. His father Frank McHale(Present Manager) is from Parke. Sean played underage for Parke, so there is no real question of his loyalties.

As to going one step further than Kiltimagh, there is more than likely a provincial winner of Senior quality hiding in the long grass.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 08, 2010, 06:15:01 PM
A few Mayo Lads on the St. Peters squad. Ronan Gallagher (Achill), Joe Corcoran (Castlebar Mitchels), Eoghan Vahey (Ballintubber), Shane Gallagher (Achill). Also they wear Black and Amber so there may be a collision of colours.

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4088/5005316646_8334985e29.jpg)
Post by: ludermor on November 08, 2010, 11:50:31 PM
where will this match be played? the 2 gallagher lads are first cousins from achill , big loss to  the club. Heard there was 2 other achill lads involved as well?
Post by: From the Bunker on November 13, 2010, 08:19:13 AM
Quote from: ludermor on November 08, 2010, 11:50:31 PM
where will this match be played? the 2 gallagher lads are first cousins from achill , big loss to  the club. Heard there was 2 other achill lads involved as well?

Game is in Manchester on the 5th of Deecmber. Has been put back a week due to Parke holding their 40th Celebrations on the weekending 27/28 November.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 19, 2010, 11:33:26 PM
Meaney & Gallagher lead Saints to British Glory
Irish Post, 12 November 2010 08:31

All-Britain Championship Final

ST. PETERS (Lancashire) 3-12 SEAN McDERMOTTS (Warwickshire) 2-04

AS DAYLIGHT faded in Manchester on Sunday, St. Peters rounded off a formidable performance to collect their first All-Britain title since 2004.

By the time Anthony McLoughlin blew for full-time, the Lancashire aristocrats were coasting with an 11-point advantage, but only minutes earlier they were made sweat for the coveted title.

With eight minutes left on the clock, McDermott's Eamon Hanlon finished to the Peters' net to narrow the gap to just three points. Despite being outplayed for almost the entire second half, the Birmingham side had given themselves a lifeline. But with forwards of the quality of Eoin Meaney and Donal Gallagher, the men in black and amber rolled up their sleeves to close out this all-action final.

At times, on Sunday, it seemed as though this decider would spill over, two players received red cards, one from each side, and there were a number of unsightly incidents, especially in the second half.

The only way to win finals they say is to let your football do the talking and thanks to the accurate free-taking of Meaney, the invention of Donal Gallagher and the colossal contributions of Joe Corcoran and Ronan Gallagher in midfield, the Manchester side held out.

In a cagey opening quarter, both sets of players appeared nervous. With so much at stake passes went astray, challenges were poorly timed and, from a Sean McDermotts point of view, chances went a begging.

Nigel O'Connor opened the scoring for McDermotts with hardly a minute elapsed but two minutes later a Sean McGeehan shot was tipped over the bar by David Tierney to level matters.

After John O'Neill was fouled Meaney converted his first score of the day for St. Peters in the 15th minute but at the other end the Midlanders were wasting valuable scoring opportunities.

Hanlon missed a brace of chances from frees, while John Dowling should have goaled instead of dropping the ball into the hands of a grateful Peter's net minder.

With just a point separating the sides, a goal now would open clear daylight and Donal Gallagher supplied it for the Lancashire men. A quick free was played to the full-forward, he looked up and lobbed the onrushing McDermotts goalkeeper.

St. Peters were now in their groove for the first time in this clash and two points in two minutes, firstly from the splendid Donal Gallagher, and then the tricky John O'Neill saw them race into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead by the 23rd minute.

A shell-shocked McDermotts side needed something to settle its nerves, and finally Shane Mulligan split the posts from a free on the half-hour mark.

As they huddled at the interval Sean McDermotts players and management must have been asking themselves how, after winning so many frees in front of the St. Peters posts, their grand total of scores from the opening half was a mere two points.

Within two minutes of the restart Clare native Meaney had knocked over two more frees to extend St. Peter's lead to seven, 1-6 to 0-2.

Winning everything around the middle of the park, Corcoran in particular was inspiring for St. Peters. There was now one-way traffic towards David Tierney's goalmouth and Donal Gallagher punched two points in the 36th and 38th minutes.

There was dismay a minute later when Sean McDermott's centre-forward Donald Dwyer caught St. Peter's Paddy O'Brien in the face with his studs after both tumbled over the sideline in pursuit of a ball. The referee Anthony McLoughlin did book Dwyer though those on the St. Peters' sideline expected the player to be given his marching orders.

Ironically, it was St. Peters who were reduced to 14 men in the 40th minute when corner-back Emmett McEvoy was shown a straight red for striking out against a McDermotts' player.

The game was now slipping away from the Warwickshire champions, but a converted free from O'Conor in the 44th minute gave their backs some respite.

Chris Hayden was red-carded in the 46th minute for kicking across the legs of a St. Peters defender erasing McDermotts numerical advantage.

Four minutes later, a ball in by Michael Hayden found Joseph Dowling in space and he punched to the St. Peters' net.

The green flag was raised again soon after when a free in by Mulligan was punched onto the bar by O'Connor. The ball rebounded to Hanlon who made no mistake from close range narrowing the gap to three, 1-9 to 2-3.

Despite playing second fiddle for so much of the final, McDermotts now had Peters on the ropes. The supporters clad in green and white raised the volume and you got the feeling that perhaps the Birmingham club's 35-year wait for this cup could be over.

But cool heads prevailed at the other end, Donal Gallagher fisting over another point with four minutes left on the clock. And the destination of this year's title was put beyond any doubt when Meaney bagged 2-1 in the dying minutes. Donal Gallagher fed the game's top scorer for his first in the 58th minute and two minutes into injurytime he finished into the top corner.

Sandwiched between those two three-pointers were points for St. Peters' Eoghan Vahey and Sean McDermotts' Anthony Moriarty.

The final whistle sparked joyous celebrations for the St. Peters club. This was a final hard won and they now go on to represent Britain in the All-Ireland Junior Club Football Championship.

For McDermotts the long wait for national glory continues for 12 more months at least.

St. Peters: J. Sheehan, S. Kincaid, E. Hansberry, E. McEvoy, K. Toohey, S. Gallagher, E. Vahey 0-1, J. Corcoran, R. Gallagher, P. O'Brien, E. Meaney 2-5 (0-3 f), M. McKenna, S. McGeehan 0-1, D. Gallagher 1-4, J. O'Neill 0-1. Subs: P. McMahon for K. Toohey, R. Hannah for P. O'Brien, F. Toohey for P. McMahon, S. Cheery for J. O'Neill.

Sean McDermotts: D. Tierney, T. Neville, J. Smith, L. Gilbride, I. Dooley, C. O'Riordan, M. Hayden, S. Mulligan 0-1 (1f), N. O'Connor 0-2 (2 f), E. Hanlon 1-0, D. Dwyer, John Dowling, C. Hayden, Joseph Dowling 1-0, A. Bennett. Subs: L. Donnelly for D. Dwyer, S. Moriarty for L. Gilbride, A. Moriarty (0-1) for T. Neville

Referee: Anthony McLoughlin. (Yorkshire)

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 20, 2010, 08:53:23 PM
Anyone know where the ground is in Manchester?
Post by: inisceithleann on November 21, 2010, 12:33:24 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 20, 2010, 08:53:23 PM
Anyone know where the ground is in Manchester?

The game is being played at Old Bedians which is in East Didsbury, south Manchester. The post code is M20 5QT.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 01, 2010, 04:24:31 PM
Game off due to weather I hear
Post by: From the Bunker on December 02, 2010, 08:30:06 PM
Yep game off, bit of a mess with flights and hotels booked. But sure what can you do? Rumour is that it will be nearly February till re-fixture.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 15, 2011, 12:16:54 PM
Best of luck to Parke tomorrow.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 16, 2011, 05:59:25 PM
St Peter's 2-9 | Parke/Keelogues/Crimlin 0-14
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 16, 2011, 06:08:27 PM
It would have to happen a Mayo team to lose to the British champs.
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 16, 2011, 07:49:04 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 16, 2011, 06:08:27 PM
It would have to happen a Mayo team to lose to the British champs.

Farr, the New York and London teams wont be the pushovers they once were with all this immigration going on. I would say there might be quiet the shock in the championship in the next year or two with one of those teams involved. Losing to the British champs is no disgrace these days.
Post by: clarshack on January 17, 2011, 12:12:37 PM
Are Parke an amalgamation of 3 clubs?

when we played Heston Gaels in the AI junior 1/4 final 6 years ago, they had no irish players whatsoever and we ended up beating them well.

i'd say the british junior team yesterday was probably full of irish players.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2011, 12:46:17 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 17, 2011, 12:12:37 PM
Are Parke an amalgamation of 3 clubs?

when we played Heston Gaels in the AI junior 1/4 final 6 years ago, they had no irish players whatsoever and we ended up beating them well.

i'd say the british junior team yesterday was probably full of irish players.

No, Parke is made up of two parishes. Parke and Keelogues. They threw Crimlin on (a half parish of Parke) to keep everyone happy. Known just as Parke though. There was 8 Mayo lads in the St Peter's squad. Parke are a very good Junior team so Peter's must be decent.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 03:39:18 PM
Any match reports online yet from the game in Manchester?
Post by: StoneWall on January 18, 2011, 12:06:48 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0117/1224287680319.html

Small piece at the end of the Cross report
Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2011, 08:24:12 AM
Mayo exiles plot Parke's downfall

Mike Finnerty

DESPITE crashing out of the All-Ireland junior championship race after conceding an own goal in injury-time, and having a player harshly sent off, Parke were 'making no excuses' according to their manager last night.
The Mayo champions were dumped out of the All-Ireland series at the quarter-final stage in Manchester last Sunday by the British champions, St Peter's, after losing by a point after extra-time.
Ironically, the winners were backboned by a cluster of Mayo natives, including Achill brothers Ronan and Donal Gallagher, their club-mate Bryan McGinty, Mayo Gaels duo Jason and Michael Hurst, Eoghan Vahey from Ballintubber and Castlebar's Joe Corcoran.
Speaking to The Mayo News, Parke manager Frank McHale admitted that luck had deserted his side from the outset but was magnanimous in defeat.
"We're not making any excuses and we'll take this defeat on the chin," he said.
"We're very disappointed. It was a difficult assignment on a terrible pitch but the conditions were bad for both teams. It was a fierce battle, nothing was asked or given, and I couldn't have asked for any more from our lads. They were colossal."
"It was a novelty for the Mayo lads in St Peter's to face a club from home, " explained Ronan Gallagher afterwards, " but it didn't really matter who we played today, we were going to give it our all. We never thought our chance was gone, even when they led in extra time."
The game was held up for 40 minutes in the first half after another Mayo-born player, Shane Gallagher, suffered a bad knee injury.
Frank McHale maintained that stoppage didn't help Parke's cause. "We were just starting to get on top when that happened, it killed our momentum. But the luck went against us all day. Dwayne Flynn was out with flu, Kevin Hall's sending-off seemed very harsh, and the own goal was a cruel piece of bad luck at the end."
Meanwhile, Joe Corcoran, whose late shot was deflected into the Parke net for the winning goal, paid tribute to his West Mayo neighbours.
"When they went two points ahead in the second period of extra-time I thought that might be it for us. To be honest, the shot was going wide but games like this are won with one kick." 

Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2011, 08:25:00 AM
Parke get caught in ambush

Quarter-Final
St Peter's 2-9
Parke 0-14

Graham Clifford
Manchester

MUD-SPLATTERED, dejected and forlorn, Parke's exhausted players fell to their knees at the final whistle. Two hours after referee Con Reynolds from Down had thrown in the ball at the start of this All-Ireland JFC quarter-final, an act of pure misfortune had denied the Mayo and Connacht junior champions a semi-final and a chance to reach Croke Park.
Parke led by 0-14 to 1-9 in Manchester with just seconds remaining at the end of the second period of extra-time when St Peters' Joe Corcoran, a native of Castlebar, fizzed a ball across the goalmouth only for substitute Michael Walsh to somehow send the ball into his own net.
It was a hugely unfortunate incident but ultimately one that would break Parke hearts. The irony was that Walsh had equipped himself well after being introduced. Fading light, awful conditions, a momentary lapse of positioning sense — at the final whistle trying to make sense of what happened seemed pointless for Parke's shattered players.
When the dust settles on this hugely disappointing defeat though Parke's management team will look back on this as a game that they could have easily lost in normal time. With just over a minute remaining at the end of the second half they trailed by two points, but somehow managed to force the game to extra-time.
Despite enjoying the majority of possession, Parke failed to make their superiority count on the scoreboard but had the game not been halted after 10 minutes following a serious injury to St Peter's Shane Gallagher, then perhaps they could have built up the kind of momentum needed to kill this game early.
Achill native Gallagher dislocated his knee when attempting to stretch for the ball and was stretchered off to hospital while both sets of players returned to the dressing room for almost 40 minutes.
Prior to this Parke had settled the faster of the two sides; Niall Dunne pointing well under pressure in the fourth minute.
A quick reply by John O'Neill two minutes later was quickly cancelled out by Simon Cloherty from a free.
Parke seemed to be getting into their groove but then the lengthy stoppage occurred.
Ryan Hannah replaced Shane Gallagher for St Peters and his height in and around the small square was causing a problem for the visitors. Hannah punched his first score in the 14th minute to level matters.
With Seán McHale impressing with his darting and intelligent runs, Parke looked dangerous and Darren Durkan kicked a super score after being released by Niall Dunne in the 20th minute.
Simon Cloherty bagged back-to-back frees soon afterwards and, with two minutes to go in the first half, Parke led by 0-5 to 0-2.
Holding that advantage to half-time was key but when Hannah out jumped Brendan Coyle in the Parke's goal to connect first with a dropping ball, the green flag was raised.
O'Neill pointed again at the start of the second half for St Peters to edge them in front for the first time in the game (1-3 to 0-5) and James Gillespie was called upon to replace Chris Kerins as Parke's sideline sought to steady their rocking ship.
The home side's lead was extended to three before Cloherty pointed another free in the 48th minute.
Far from dead and buried, Parke rallied and two great scores from Durkan and McHale saw parity re-established. Troublesome Hannah nudged St Peters in front again though after pointing from the tightest of angles with seven minutes remaining and Meaney had the home supporters in raptures when his thunderbolt from the right wing pushed Peters into a 1-7 to 0-8 lead.
Cloherty and Meaney exchanged frees and, with time almost up, the St. Peters sideline were preparing to celebrate.
But out of nowhere Parke found the will for one last push in normal time as Pat Lynch pointed from the dead ball with just sixty seconds remaining and, almost on the stroke of full time, Niall Dunne held his nerve and split the posts to send this intriguing clash into twenty minutes of extra-time.
The impetus was now well and truly with the Mayo champions and a point apiece from the Cloherty brothers, including a super score from John from way out on the right wing, saw them end the first period of extra time on a high, leading by 0-13 to 1-8.
Both sides were reduced to 14 men before the final ten minutes with Parke substitute Kevin Hall and St Peters captain Ronan Gallagher both seeing red.
Hall's sending-off was harsh in the extreme as the referee ruled he had initiated a frontal charge on Joe Corcoran but, if anything, the St Peters player was the one who was carrying the forward motion.
Parke were then reduced to 13 players moments into the last period of extra-time when Declan Neary picked up a second yellow card.
Achill's Donal Gallagher picked off a great score to keep St. Peters in the game with five minutes remaining but Simon Cloherty's accurate free a minute later seemed to have wrapped this game up for the visiting side.
With one last push St Peters forced their way up the left wing. The ball came to Joe Corcoran who dropped his right shoulder and jinked his way past two Parke defenders. He aimed, pulled the trigger, and as his shot was veering wide of Parke's left hand post, Walsh was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

St Peters
J Sheehan; P O'Shea, E Hansberry, S Kincaid; E Vahey, S Gallagher, M McKenna; J Corcoran (1-0), R Gallagher; S McGeehan, E Meaney (0-3, 3fs), P O'Brien; D Gallagher (0-1), J O'Neill (0-2), J Hurst.
Subs used: R Hannah (1-3) for S Gallagher (inj); B McGinty for P O'Brien.

Parke
B Coyle; M Marley, J Cloherty (0-1), P Moran; S Duffy, T Walsh,D Hopkins, D Neary, R O'Boyle; D Durkan 0-2, N Dunne 0-2, S Cloherty (0-7, 6fs); P Dunne, S McHale (0-1), C Kerins.
Subs used: K Hall for S Duffy; P Lynch (0-1, 1f) for R O'Boyle; J Gillespie for Kerins; M Walsh for P Dunne.