Casement Park in line for major overhaul - 40,000 all seater Stadium.

Started by Joxer, October 06, 2010, 02:42:28 PM

Quote from: bannside on November 19, 2022, 12:32:49 PM
All very positive.....bring it on. I expect it will be available as well for Antrim County matches and club finals etc as was the norm at the old Casement.
All dependent on what concerts are planned. Ulster GAA out of their depth.

Sportacus

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 20, 2022, 10:35:05 AM
Quote from: bannside on November 19, 2022, 12:32:49 PM
All very positive.....bring it on. I expect it will be available as well for Antrim County matches and club finals etc as was the norm at the old Casement.
All dependent on what concerts are planned. Ulster GAA out of their depth.
It's a scandal at this stage. Years upon years where a whole generation of young Antrim gaels had no stadium, and it's a white elephant into the bargain.  The people in power in the GAA and politics got ahead of themselves, and Antrim GAA made a historically stupid decision.

Ye could at least have kept using it until planning permission secured.

Quote from: Silver hill on November 19, 2022, 07:49:01 PM
you are 100% correct on this one Fear.  A bluffer of the highest order. Actually embarrassing now.

The lad before him was every bit as bad

Silver hill

Absolutely, the two of them were so busy jockeying to replace Danny Murphy they forget completely about the job in hand. Epic incompetence.

Quote from: Jimmy on November 19, 2022, 12:17:06 PM
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2022/11/19/news/casement_park_benefits_will_far_exceed_the_cost_reckons_ulster_gaa_s_stephen_mcgeehan-2910143/

Pretty much the exact same guff about economic benefits was said about Pairc Ui Chaoimh at the planning stage.

Any decent journalist would have asked McGeehan what's different between the Casement project and the Pairc Ui Chaoimh project and what lessons (if any) the Casement project learned from the Pairc Ui Chaoimh experience?

you are 100% correct on this one Fear.  A bluffer of the highest order. Actually embarrassing now.

Unfortunately I would fully agree with this.  The previous guy was the same.

They need realism here not bluffing. This will never get built with this level of bluffing. Is it really any further on than say half a dozen years ago?

Spike

Previous statements by Ulster GAA always sounded so categorical, not only about the money but also about Antrim's use of the venue.   Everything coming across as slightly woolly now .

To start to demolition process to leave the venue as unusable prior to granting of planning permission was the utmost insanity.   A bit of honesty needs to be given here.  If the GAA can't/won't make up the difference in funding then take whatever ringfenced money was earmarked for the scheme, build a new grandstand, repair the terraces, new pitch and move on.

Sitting here in limbo listening to waffle just deprives another generation of playing there and encourages attacks from those trying to get thefunds stopped from being sent to west belfast.

yup.

I see they expect work to commence next year with games being played in 2025.

Lads no way this will happen, do we not learn from the mess down in Cork. Original Estimate £77.5, last Year £110, Currently at Market value £136 million, this time next year it be £150+, so I doubt the GAA have to at least double their £15million at least before it even be looked at, and we haven't got that. f**k it, am happy enough lying in traffic in clones for 3/4hrs instead paying ridiculous ticket money for games to make up the huge whole it bring to gaa coffers.

Should went for something smaller, say 21-25k like Armagh set up. Would done Antrim the best plus a Ulster 1st rd and semi. With the finals remaining in clones.

snoopdog

The longer this drags out I'm beginning to think put up a new stand in casement. The other 3 ends new terrace. Spend the rest of the govt money on the 5 other county grounds. But clones would need some upgrade also. Casement will happen and the euros will speed it up if they get it.

Isn't Stormont money Casement or nowhere?
Put in pitch and one Stand.
If Soccer tourney goes ahead there will be  money provided for the grand Stadium.
If it doesn't use whatever money is left to do terracing etc.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 03, 2022, 12:47:30 AM
Should went for something smaller, say 21-25k like Armagh set up. Would done Antrim the best plus a Ulster 1st rd and semi. With the finals remaining in clones.

Clones is a f**king shithole. In the toilets the piss is running around your feet. It needs completely refurbished. There isn't even coverage from the elements on 3/4 of the stands.

We need a 40k seater, state of the art stadium to play GAA games in. I do not care if it costs £300m. We need it and the government has to pay for it. The money will only be spunked on something else. Why do we care about the cost? Look at the amount of money wasted on the A5, Covid PPE contracts etc.
The project has been steeped in incompetence. Time someone took it by the scruff of the neck and got on and got it built.